(2008/07) July 2008

37.5 is borderline fever for them right? Monitor n see how he is?

Juz witnessed a horrifying scene.. A little girl's hand got caught as e train station doors opened n she was screaming n crying in pain for a few mins til rescue came! Mummies.. Must always be careful wiv such stuff like elevator doors n escalators too! Cannot imagine if it was my baby! Shaking fm e thought of it!

Michelle,

monitor the fever , do not give the medication till temp is 38.. Coz if you give on slight feverish the tough to determin if it is viral or not..

If you feel uneasy best bring him for scan.. Coz back of head dun play play.. Elijah fell very badly last time.. I know how it feel.. Plus 2 time so best to play safe than sorry

how are ethan and c1 now? ok, i hope

DD
this reminds me of a time a kid's hand got caught in the lift door (on the side, not in between) at my old work place. luckily my colleague had singer oil with him and managed to slide the child's hand out. phew.

so scary.

seems like many bb getting hurt these few days....blessings to all bb!

michelle
slightly over 37 not really fever yet but do monitor. if really worried, best to see a doc. when jx fell and cut her lips badly i went to c doc cos i wanted to be sure her teeth were ok! a bit ks but just wan to be sure. so maybe just bring him in to c a doc?

cellow
poor C1, sayang ...it always looks worse than it actually is so dun worry too much. the swelling goes away fast too. jx had 3 ulcers from her fall and the next day it already went down a lot.

bbp,
do u give the fresh milk cold? can their stomach take it?

PB
u have a lot of recipes! when u give fresh milk at night, u give it cold or u will warm it?

u sound really calm! think your hb must be secretly impressed but won't admit one...hee

hope poppy is ok now.

in the end, my hb din quit yet. he told his boss and his boss asked him to wait for reorg which will be announced soon....i kinda guess he won't take that step. he still hesitating....but actually i really dun mind him taking that step.

DD
oh my, the accident sounds terrifying...cannot imagine...jx likes to put her fingers near the elevator door, always had to drag her fingers back

tested negative...phew...

All the poor babies... accidents shoo shoo...
its so heartpain seein babies hurtin.....

re JN
i totally agree with cellow..
i hate such hypocrites..i just told my hubby i will make sure kayden change his surname too!

u know sometimes i wish im powerful enuff...
like maybe a hero, superman/spiderman.. can prevent all the children gettin hurt.. save all the kids from perverts and accidents and poverty... this afternoon saw a hearse pass by and i can see a small white coffin.. so sad.. and the news today on the pervert dad rapin his 2 daughters.. and those kids bein kidnap to be beggers..Why did e world become so sick?

SUPER ANGRY AHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!

I think this I wun name her as my friend anymore. ARGH!!!!

Months ago, this gal, A, she was preggy with a boy and she asked me got pass-on clothes anot. I passed her ALL bosco's old clothes which he wasn't able to wear.

Just now I got nuthing to do n I was surfing around, I went to her blogspree to see if anything I can get from her. I saw her posting the clothes selling it off!!!!! I only remember telling her that those stained clothes she can dispose if she dun wan. I never say I dun wan the rest of the clothes.

Immediately i msg her, manage my anger and told her off nicely. WTH man!!

Tot pass to her I can get it back coz fren ma.. who knows.

those clothes are carters flew in from US one ley! damn angry lo!

Michelle/DD
how are they now? feeling better?
sayang both of them

holly
don be too angry? did she manage to sell anything? can take bk?

DD
yes,the finger accident will alway comes to my mind when tess playing near that area.maybe cause seen too many sure cases hapenning already

Last night was bad as expected. E temp went up as high as 38.9 once. Avg around 37.9 so woke him up to feed medicine. His nosebwas completely blocked so he can't sleep well, crying every 15min or so.

Today suppose to go sentosa to stay over. Dunno how. Medicine can control fever still need to see dr??

The super chill man at home say, i'm pretty sure it's teething, no need to see dr. Ya choose this time to be Dr Mich loh. As if...

Sy,
I let it sit for a while if it's really really cold. But most of the time, I just put it into my bag, walk to the restaurant then give dec the milk already.

Mich,
dun think it's just teething if the fever can spike to 38.9
anyway, dec has the flu too and according to hubby, dec woke up at least 8 times to show his utmost displeasure at his stuck nose. I was in another room sleeping.

For this, the donkey has been forgiven.

Michelle,
use your finger to touch his gums? Or see if it is super red coz viral may cause spike in fever too. Give him vit c and lots of water if fever hits 38.2 or so then give fever medication.. If he seem uncomfortable or letargic Then better see dr.. Give lots of water.. Poor e boy.. Auntie rena sayang

Michelle,
is he still active? if yes,then still ok
have u try giving nose drop for block nose?
try to let him stay indoor,where it is cool n ventilated.
take care

phyphy,
what is nose drop for blocked nose? C1 also needs. where to buy?
*panicked mummy*

bbp,
Mr C also woke up many x to take care of blocked-nose C1. also forgiven for any past, present and future transgressions

mich,
38.9.... hmm quite high. bring to doc for your own peace of mind! ignore chill man who is so chilled that his brain prob frozen liao.

smiggle,
haha, if only there were such a magic wand.

holly,
dun angry dun angry... no good for bb#2.
just turn up at her house and take back bosco's good clothes fm her.

dd,
super LOL funny rite... i finished the book last night.. hehe. hope all is well on the home and work fronts now.

cellow
tess's doc give her this:
brand:iliadin
name:nasal decongestant solution
but this solution cannot be use continuously for more than 7 days n got to discard after 7 days.

i told her off n ask her stop selling. i wan it back. she sell she pocket the money. i get really pissed with this. even if i dun wan, u dun have the authority to sell off stuff i gave u. at least u ask whether u can sell n if i say yes, tt's fine.

mich,
i dun think is a good choice to bring Eboy out with this kinda situation ba. Teething's fever will not be that high and normally it subside after a day or so. Just monitor closely.

when bosco had block nose, doc gave us some saline spray to clear his nose. maybe u should bring him to the doc with regards to his block nose.

Seen dr. Confirm viral infection. Mucus in nose and both eyes, green and sticky!! Phlegm when cough. Definitely nit due to fall. Yes dr gave nose drop also eye drop to clean out mucus in eyes. Poor eboy, the worse sickness so far. We came to sentosa so now chilling in a super big and luxurious room!!

SY
haha i think you are right about hubby possibly refusing to admit that he was impressed. thanks, poppy was already ok before we left the restaurant. she's fine now too. phew.

milk can be given cold but from what i've heard, alot of babies don't like things too cold. also depending on fridge. i warm up the milk for pop in microwave then add formula

smiggle
small coffin?

michelle
poor eboy. lucky you brought him to doc for peace of mind la. better to appear silly if nothing is wrong than to worry yourself silly ;)

sayang all sick babies!

training the newbie
i told him he better try making porridge one day when i am still home. so he's making her dinner. i pretend pretend go into the kitchen to take things but just want to spotcheck on him and saw that he had taken veg, salmon and capsicum out of the fridge. capsicum? in porridge?? so i just geh geh and said 'what's the capsicum for?' and he calmly replied 'porridge la, what else'. pengsan. so quick rectification and now he knows capsicum does not go into porridge. ten min later he asks 'do you think the salmon should be in smaller pieces?'. sigh. i already cut everything into small pieces to make his life easier. then he said 'how about the onion, must they be in smaller pieces as well?'. ONION IN PORRIDGE? and this is all AFTER he has read my handover manual of sample ingredients to put into porridge. argh. i'm not surprised if he were to call me at work and say 'poppy now does not like porridge'. i wouldn't wonder why.

BUT one thing very sweet - yesterday before he left work (his last day) he came to kiss me while i was still in bed and said 'you have done a great job'. or something like that, i was half asleep. not bad. after 524 days of being SAHM, he finally realised

babyG got milky cheesy mushroom pasta and he thought it was not bad! :D but wonder if the heat from cooking would destroy the nutrients in the milk?

poor e-boy.. hope he's recovering while relaxing in sentosa now... all that greenish mucus.. sounds heaty.. give him barley?

juz wondering if we can still go for trials if we have been before? at JG?

PB,
Eh, I DO put capsicum in Dec's porridge and he's a-ok with it. Not too much of cos, but I do think it gives it flavour. Esp the red/orange ones since they are the sweet ones. Heh heh.
Haven't put onion before though

dd,
Well, I can always tell JG that I attended the trial when they were of a smaller age group. Then maybe say "Gasp! You mean the content of the 2 different age groups are the same???"

Cellow,
Wah, past, present AND future? You are TOO good la. I only willing to forgive past and present.

bbp,
okok ONE future transgression.

pb,
LOL on you checking up on bluebunny's preparing porridge. i also havent put onions beore in porridge.

Hope C1 and E-boy is feeling ok now! Wuffy had a fall in his cot, and got a cut on his eyelid too. I got a shock when i saw blood at his eye! but he is ok liao... fussed for a while, after that went on to his usual terrorist mode...hoho..

I put onions in the porridge. a receipe that I learnt from SD. it is only for the stock, i do not let him eat it though.

Cellow,

Next tues lunch sounds good...and prawn mee SOUNDS really good. Got a big craving for it the past week but did not manage to eat it. hohoho... TUES on!

DD,

Sat 9 am at Evans road was full the last time i checked. not sure if there is slots for the next term. I will probably go trial when the new term starts. You in a hurry to go to the trial? We can arrange next month after the new term starts if it is ok with you.

holly
your fren really terrible. she shd at least ask....that was really bad of her...selling off pple's things!!

michelle
lucky u went to see doc. usually if fever quite high, it's usually viral. cos teething dun cause high fever. hope he gets well soon!

cellow
the nose drop that i use is otrivin. it can be bought at pharmacies and even some medical halls. use for abt 3-4 days, stop using for 2-3 days then u can start using again. but not all situations will work well. if u wan it to work better, get the nasal sea water spray sterimar, spary the nostril first to clear the nose a bit before u use the nose drop. if the mucus is very thick, the nose drop may not work well.

my years of experience with jh and jx....jh used to get block nose very often but he hates the nose spray and nose drops. jx likes the nose spray so jh started liking it too!

PB
your hb really sweet. my hb dun really say such things to appreciate me. in fact, always comparing abt how other pple have double income....that is an obvious jibe abt me not working right? sigh...

bbp
wil the milk spoil when u bring it out? so u will pour out from the carton and bring out?

your hb really good...dun think mine will let me sleep in another room without jx!

re porridge things
i personally dun like capsicum but onions go into the stock to make porridge. but now i dun make stock for jx anymore.....

another thing to add on blocked nose. get some tea tree oil and sprinkle on the pillow or bed when they sleep. supposed to help.

chope, yes i put onions when making stock but not directly into porridge

bbp
really? capsicum in porridge! interesting! maybe bluebunny got the idea from you? telepathy?

batgirl
oh no poor wuffy! sayang sayang

sleepless in singapore
C1 woke up and cried abt one hour ago. Since Mr C was not feeling well, he slept in the other room. And now i m sleepless in singapore.....

batgirl,
oh dear, sayang wuffy! yea you must have gotten a shock too.

C1's cut lip, swelling subsided. And haha, his upper lip now looks like the Red Queen's makeup in Alice in Wonderland. Mr C was the one who first pointed it out....! LOL

SY,
smtimes men just say things w/o thinking. but give him the benefit of the doubt... most likely not jibe la.

I really want to cry. Now with medicine his temp still 37.5deg. Din eat, din drink. Dunno is it sore throat or what. Coupled with teething so he kept biting his finger. Nose still runny, eyes still watery, since Friday!!! Tonight should bring him to kkh?

The the stupid man dunno wat is he thinking. Of all days he chose to touch up paint in e boy's room. I only realized later after eboy nap. Stink up the whole room how is the little sick boy going to sleep tonight? When I asked, he still dare tell me he cannot find any other free time to do it. As though I not stressed enough!! What us the goondu thinking?? Really want to pull out my hair!! Who let the stupid goondu donkey out?

My helper was great. So caring So helpful so sacrificial everything think of eboy comfort first. What am I going to do when she go back??

So you see, I am crying as I am typing this. Sobs.

SY,
Oh, what I meant to say is that for example if I wanted to let Dec drink the milk in the Waraku at Central that day, I will just go to the supermarket at B1, buy it, then bring it to Waraku and let him drink there. Hope it's clearer. I definitely won't bring from home. Easier to buy from the supermarket directly.

Michelle,
Usually after a siong night, they will get better. That's what happened to Dec. So monitor a while more, cos I think 37.5 isn't very high.
And sorry to say this, your donkey really is an idiot this time. If my donkey had done it, I would have taken his head off too.
But relax a little... your little boy should be turning the corner soon.
Oh, my MIL said barley water helps to bring down temperature... wanna try?

On way to kkh. The stupid me been using forehead thermometer and kept showing 37.5 but he felt so warm. Switched to ear thermometer it showed 38.7. Sob. And I had to fight to get the donkey to bring him to kkh. He said ' I dunno wat else the dr there going to tell us things we don't already know or have. I picked eboy up and asked. You coming or not? Damn angry!!! This is going to last a long time, the angry and cold war, I tell you.

Back already. Temp still 38.7. Dr say eboy has got sore throat so he's on anti biotics. Plus ibuprofen for high fever. Hope he recovers quickly!! I still have lots to rant but simply too tired out. Mil is here so now I going to take a short nap in preparation for another long and trying night comforting my baby.

michelle, what did doc say for the cause of the fever! hope you and hub get talking again soon. it's tough to be on cold war when baby is sick. hugs. you are a great mummy!

men really act weird when there are emergencies

mummies, those of you who pray, say a prayer for me for tomorrow ok? i need STRENGTH! i just realised that i may not be able to interact with poppy until tomorrow evening!!!!

michelle - sayang to you and hope e-boy gets well fast..dont upset with yr hubby too long oki..you need each other's support to get e-boy well fast fast.

pinkB - sending super energiser bunny strength to you. get bluebunny to send you mms so you still get to see your darling poppy
..i do that for jin_bunny and he seems like enjoy getting the mms of her in the middle of a work day.

Michelle,
let eboy wear loose n apply bb vick rub on his chest, back n his sole he feel comfortable e other time my gal I do that she sleep through ..... If possible cook some ling yang for him tomolo to drink if he doesn't wandrink add into his milk .....

PB,
u can call bluebunny during ur lunch time than let poppy talk to u .... Nwdays kacey will bring e phone to me n say 'pa pa' I will dial for her she will talk to her daddy in her way like "Wai Wai pa pa wo eat eat" than her fav line would be "Dora Dora " than " byebye" than follow by flying kiss to her daddy ....

Anyone know where I can order those big bottle of eucalyptus ess oil ???

michelle
dun fret. at least u made a good decision to bring him to doc again. a few things that u can take note to roughly tell whether it is sore throat or not. when having sore throat, they tend to eat less and drink less. i noticed that if they have sore throat they dun really wan to drink water esp when using straw.

the other thing is when giving nurofen (iburofen), must give after drinking milk. avoid giving on empty stomach as it is not very good. or u can alternate btwn calpol and paracetemol to control the fever.

i try not to give nurofen /iburofen unless fever is above 38.5

hope e boy gets well soon!

cellow
i know he may not mean it that way but u know the way he says it...arrgghh...and he always brings ti up.

PB
i also do the MMS thing too. will take pic of jx and then MMS to hb if it's a funny pic....

serene
u can get it from iherb. they have big bottles of the ess oils.

re sick bb
our kids will fall sick less often after 2 years old. some PD say once they hit 12kg, they fall sick less often. which i find it to be true for JH.....so hang in there mummies...they are all hitting 2 soon!!

Think the anti biotics is working. Eboy finally opened his mouth to eat cereal!! Yay!! Last night fever shot up to 39.3. Now still hovering around 38.2. Will keep monitoring.

I am down with sore throat, flu and headache and bone ache. I think I cud be getting what eboy caught. Hope I dun pass it back to him.

hey mich... take lots of vit c and fluids yourself ok? wash hands many times and don't share water/food? and try to rest when e-boy rest..

do you bathe him when his temp goes up? I did that many many times (even at night, but with lukewarm water) when babyG used to fall ill..his highest temp was 40.8deg!.. did PD give you any suppositories to standby?

hang in there ok?

Kkh dr said since eboy willing to take medicine, she din give suppository. Jus two types of fever medicine loh. It's difficult to rest cos of his blocked nose, he is up every 10min or so, need to carry him. Last night he din sleep from 2-5 so kept watching tv. Lucky thing is my mil came over and helped out so I actually did get some sleep. Mil also jus recovered from sore throat and cough but she said she's feeling better already.

michelle
gd to hear that he is eating n im sure he will recover soon.

need some advice. T is having cough n runny nose,these few days,after she finish her milk(fm or bm),she will cough n puke the milk out.

Anyway to prevent this?

Michelle,

you take care too, if you fall sick.. Then it will be tougher to take good care of e boy.. Pop lots of vit c and take some inflamation medication for throat..
Try to get some nose drip from the pharmacy .. It will relive him from the nose block hence letting him sleep better.

If not you can get korval from pharmacy to put on his pillow or shirt.. The aroma of the capsule will unblock his nose..

Pink bunny,
will keep you in prayers...

Sy,
my 2 boys still fall sick often even when they are over 12 kg long time Liao leh... Haiz...

michelle,
wat a trying 2 days for you and eboy....
do rest when eboy sleeps. and thank heavens for your MIL!
v difficult to cold and angry war w donkey when our lil ones are sick, so ignore donkey first la. try to make up soon after this.

phyphy,
oh dear, sayang T!
thanks for the advice. C1 seems to be better now, only phlegmy.

Tue 16 Mar lunch at Zion Road hawker centre (opp Great World City) 12noon
1. batgirl
2. cellow

question
for your toddlers, is papa harder to say than mama? C1 still cannot get papa out properly, he has to stop and try many x. but mama is easy for him to say.

worrywart me is now wondering if he needs speech assistance.