(2008/07) July 2008

cellow
my friend asking me y T is still not talking n ask me y i didnt teach her to talk. Really don know how to ans this question.

wow.. just came back from the morning CC. Bosco did well! haha... maybe just lucky. Brought him to sch and while i was putting his lil shoes in the cabinet, he held the hands of a teacher n went in... n never came out. HAHA!

we spy on him now n den, he kept playing and think he forget his parents. when we went to fetch him, the teacher had to chase after him coz he din wanna leave. until he sees us den he willing to leave. came out smiling to me and when i ask him does he likes sch, he nodded his head. i ask him wanna come again tml? he nodded again. daddy ask him, u wanna come everyday? he nodded. hehe.

hope this can last as long as possible.

*phew*

Cellow,
Hmm.. Bosco call mami very loud n clear. but papa can b his papa, can b his baobao, can b he is scare, can b he is full.. so dunno. LOL!!

wah bosco loves school huh? good for you holly!

cellow: try daddy? last nite I asked babyG if that person in bed was papa.. he said no.. that's daddy hahahaha!

holly,
hooray for no-heartache for you.... bosco so guai, big hugs for him!!

papa vs mama vs daddy
initially i thot C1 was being mischievous, but ystday in car ride back to my mum's place, he really wanted us to turn on the radio... i asked him to call papa many times (pointing to mr c), but he only called mama louder and louder and got more edgy each time.
then later my maid told me, mam, during the day, he practices the m sound more than the p sound.

i think i need to teach him phonics soon. where and how to start?? other than my method now, which is to haphazardly aaaay, eeeee, iiii, ooooo and youuuuu at him.

phyphy,
my standard answer is oh, what did YOU do then to make your child talk at 20 months? and then listen.
usually the questioner sputters at this point, and shuts up. but smtimes they got good ideas too.... depends on the person.
but generally.... i hate unhelpful comments like that.

cellow

do you have the leapfrog fridge magnet thingy? i think thaddie learn his alphabet, phonics and singing the ABC song from that. if you don't have that, could perhaps consider getting it.

It seems that eboy din turn the corner. Fever still at 38.4 whole day, cough, green mucus both eyes and nose, blocked nose, no appetite, no sleep. My heart so pain, so so pain. Why let my baby suffer like that???

Cellow,
alternatively you can get letterland cd and play it in the car too. That was our lifesaver when dec got edgy in the car.
Also, make sure he looks at your mouth when you're teaching him the sounds.

Mich,
oh no

you hang in there ok?

Mich,
just hang in there. Will be better de. try to wrap him up n stay away from crowd and air conditioined area. he will recover soon.

michelle, it will pass, it will pass. Drink lots and lots fluid, make him some fresh apple juice? Vit C will help strengthen his immune system. You take care okie?

cellow,

yea, i think it helps to recite the alphabets. I also notice Wuffy staring intensely at my mouth when I pronounce the words. He will attempt to pronounce the words, but hehehe...his pronounciation a bit "lao hong". kekeke...

Lunch @ Zion, Cellow ...looks like it will be the 2 of us liao
anybody else keen?

Cellow

that's the one although mine looks different as mine's the older version. Toy r us is selling I think S$45 thereabouts. Mine was bought at about S$30. Great investment for both my Ts!

phy
actually it's good that they puke cos the phlegm will come out with the milk. one reason i feel jx takes longer to recover from cough is cos she dun puke out her milk with the phlegm. my neighbour's pd said it's good thing for them to puke out. so rather than prevent it, get ready to catch the puke so no need to clean.

michelle
it takes time for them to recover. so dun be too anxious. just make sure temp dun go too high. actually suppository works really fast and well. jh took once and his temp went down really fast.

if fever dun trend down after 2-3 days, maybe go back to do a follow up? it's impt that it trend down. even if fever not completely gone, most impt is that it shows signs of going down

cellow
i let jx watch the leapfrog dvd and she loves to sound the letters. it's funny cos she will do the letter sounds more when jh ask her. when he ask her, she will do from a-h effortlessly. but when i ask her, she will always do 'ah'.... she will do 's' and 'm' sounds also.

actually mama supposed to be harder to say than papa. hee the old folks will say that if they say mama first, it means that they sayang mama more!

quick update: all 3 of us survived my first day at work without any crying. and i'm happy to know and share that just 2km from my office, there lies a version of civilization

michelletan
HOPE Eboy gets well soon.....

Grrrrrr.. My poor boy has been suffering with lots of lots bruises all on the face oni..
Last two wks..he fell n hit his forehead with baluku/blue back (dao bao)..N it happened right infront his daddy care..
Then almost recovered..last wed..again he kana a bruise near the eyes..which i don know where he hit it..
Yesterday he kana a blue black on the lower lip while playing @ my mum hse..
N Juz now in the bathrm he slipped n fell(after i bathed him) Then hit his upper lip with oozz of lots of blood .. Then i realised its from his upper front bugs left tooth is abit shaky(loose) n tis tooth is second time hurt liao-Firstly it kana abit chipped off bcos J threw tantrum n hit hard on the floor...Ouch..
kao_sad2.gif
//.. He looks never ending fells for tis few wks... I m blaming myself not taking gd care of him for preventing all these..
N J has juz came back from KK review refer there bcos he has been passing out watery/sourish stools since 1yr old .. N he's a brave boy when nurse poke n drew blood(4 small tubes) from his arm, he din struggle or cry/scream.. N on wed get to go back again to c the specialist(gastro) n oso pass his stools for tests..Hopefully he pass out some stools tat day...

Firstly i hope his blood tests r out normal ..Plus shooooo away the ugly bruises on his face..... Looks like my POOR boy has been suffering all the pain....

Eboy has lost his voice but he smiled today!!!! So happy to see him finally smiling after 4 days.

Anyway, on way to kkh cos fever still dun want to go home. Sigh. Wish me luck. Wish eboy speedy recovery!! It's been 4 days of pain for him. Enough already!!!

sending get well vibes to Eboy and J!

Tue 16 Mar lunch at Zion Road hawker centre (opp Great World City) 12noon
1. batgirl
2. cellow

Today's lunch only batgirl and myself? Anyone else up for lunch?

Mich,
Oh no! But definitely good job on you for detecting the infection early. Mummy does know best after all. Now that E is under the care of the nurses and doctors, do take care of yourself more so that you can take care of him when he returns ok?

Michelle take care. rest assure, the care in hospital is much better than home so i am sure e boy will recover soon! remember xun gal was hospitalised last year? She recovered very fast, much faster than at home. So i was really grateful to the doc for admitting her.
But one thing though, if it is a shared room, must take note. coz scarly the children got other viruses then might spread to e boy. Of coz best to get single room. but will be expensive.

*send lotsa get well vibes to eboy*

mich *pat pat*

mummy's instincts are always right! good thing you caught the infection early. eboy will be on his way to recovery very soon!

GET WELL SOON ETHAN!!!

michelle, *hugs*, dun worry....lucky you discovered the infection early. Now under professional care, E-boy will be up and running in no time! You do take good care of yourself okie? need a strong mummy to take care of sick boy.

hi sorry to interrupt
I have a BNWT Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Stevie (Black) selling at S$288 only and Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Jillian (pink) selling at S$268 only. All items are BNWT, comes with original Kate Spade dustbag, care card and hanging tag. For fast deal, please email [email protected]. Prices nego. Thanks

Thanks for all the well wishes. The wait for the admission was so long, Ethan din get medicine till 3pm, by then his temp shot up to 39.5. Now after medicine go down back to 38.2. Still there but at least better. He is drinking so am trying very hard not to put him on drip. However, dr say likely still need to poke for anti biotics. His oxygen level was not enough so need to hook on the oxygen mask and machine to monitor. I tend to think hospital do such things to make situation look worse than it is. While Ethan was crying with no voice , I cried uncontrollably and they sent a nurse in to counsel me. Now much better already. Will keep you posted.

Eboy is back to his usual self and smiling. Fever went down to 37.3!!!! So fast!!!! I hope we can go home tomorrow. Keep fingers and toes crossed!!

Michelle hang in there! U r right to say all that tubes n needles look scarier than they really are.. But I'm sure it's for e good of E-boy n he'll be in tip top shaPe again really soon!

U rest well n stay strong ok?

Michelle...
poor e-boy...
for his lungs, keep his room fresh k.. no dust no powder...
let him sleep in non-aircon first...

give him food for his lungs.. dont let me cry and strain his lungs.. poor baby.. i can remb when kayden cry with weak lungs.. i know e feelin..

u just need to make him laugh.. it wil encourage him to laugh out loud to get his voice back..

Michelle
Poor E boy, hope he gets well soon n dun have to poke poke anymore.

Cellow
Its easier for them to say Papa actually cos D started with all the B/P sounds n only called me when he turned 1 yr.

I bought the letterland CD n the kids listen to it in the van. E learns alot of sounds from there but not sure if it helps with making her speak more words though.
I have the leapfrog fridge thingy too n D definately learnt alot from it but not E.....she doesn't like it much.

michelle
glad that e boy is better. did the doc give antibiotics initially? lucky u sent him to hospital early. once they get the right med they will recover fast.

hope he goes home soon!

u also take care too!!

michelle
been wanting to ask u. how e boy finish $55 worth of fish each week? he eats fish for every meal? my kids finish only abt $30 worth of fish every week.

michelle,
glad to hear that eboy is better.... hope you got some rest in last night.

dordor,
you are back from HK trip! how ws it?
C1 started with the M sounds, seem to be easier for him. and haha, i like to think that wat SY shared is true, that he would sayang mama more!

amazon
anyone wants to buy anything? now i v gian to spree amazon for the letterland CDs and magnetic alphabets. hehe. see if can reach USD150 anot la.

cellow
i'm interested in the leapfrog fridge magnets too... wanna give it as a gift to #1 from mei mei... what is the price including shipping huh??

cin,
That's not the book right? I think it's just the CD.

Cellow,
Dec's first word other than Mama and Papa was ball. Yup, he loves balls. So if C1 loves balls too, wanna give it a shot?

cin,
But the link you gave doesn't say activity book anywhere leh. Unless we are talking about 2 different links?
Were you referring to this link?

Cellow,
Just to note, there are a few Letterland song CDs. If you are getting the CD, be sure to get the one titled "Alphabet Songs". Don't get the action songs or the handwriting songs.

Mich,
Stay postive! It's better to let the doctors and nurses clear Eboy of all nasty phlegm, viruses, etc at the hospital. Easier for him also.

Cellow,

aiyah..told you my bro going to the US, he just kenna cancelled. Going to Moscow instead. If not can buy the leapfrog stuff for us.

Michelle,

Yay! E-boy is getting better. Just a little while more and his nasty phlegm will be got rid off! U take care of yourself too!