(2008/07) July 2008

RP lunch how? Dunno where leh, thot ONI me and SY. I going playclub with eboy till 11am. If there's something can SMS me?

Does your kid seem to have endless energy? Eboy can't sit still not even for a second, on the move all the time and I feel so tired, especially first day of aunty arrive!! Working from home today but bringing eboy to class later lah. Sooooo tired.

Any good sticker books to recommend? Ytday lunch we went subway and I gave eboy a sticker album with star stickers. Kept him quiet throught lunch. Bliss!!

I can do a quickie lunch but no idea where to eat.. (must decide everyday.. already a chore)

will try to get a list going:

1) michelle
2) SY
3) do1nk
4) jacelyn?
5)

SY: how are your two kids doing? hope the party went well.. hang in there.. get your hb to send in resumes and look for new job?

have a terribly painful tailbone now like I had a bad fall on my butt.. and I think it's from the wrong slinging of bbG on sat nite for an hour or two (my hips were hurting when I slung him) can barely sit and bend and do anything now!

cant login over the weekend...
how was everyone??
i went to did the 18mth questionaire from the hospital.. Kayden failed in his communication and barely passed his fine motor skills.. haiz..

SY
u changing maid again??

Cellow
u flew over the weekend??
how's amsterdam??

RP Lunch
1) michelle
2) SY
3) do1nk
4) jacelyn?
5) smiggleprincess

i try to make it if can confirm soon..

PB,
Yes, I, for one, am so excited about the possiblity of you going to Sweden. From what I've heard, the education system is a more rounded one, with much less emphasis on results. Meanwhile, me me me will be stuck here cos of hubby's business.

Michelle,
Yah, taking care of the kiddo during auntie times is a very trying time. I will request hubby to come home on time (before 8pm) so that he can at least take over the bathtime and sleeptime routines so that I can get more rest.
Sticker book - No recommendations. I just use those pasar malam kind. Seems to satisfy the boy, so suibian la.

smiggle,
Kayden failed the test? That must suck. But never mind, he will get there soon. Did the docter advise anything?

Self-entertaining:
Mommies, I need advise. What can I give the kiddo so that he can sort of entertain himself? The TV works, but I hate using the TV to babysit him. I would play with him, but I'm rushing out some freelance work.

bbp
the questionnaire was given out by the doc mths ago.. did it at home..

same here.. stuck here cos of hubby's biz.. how to migrate biz??

Im using the leapfrog learning pad to keep kayden entertain.. he loves flippin the pages and listening to the narration.. that can last him 30min i think???

checking in to see if lunch is still on...

where you girls wanna eat? did you all do asiankitchen previously? If not, we can go there..

Batgirl so qiao!!! Ur hubby same birthday as me! hee hee and we did the same activity! haha great minds think alike

Couldnt log in to the forum for a few days... didnt realise Lunch is today! I cannot!! .*sobz* how? tomorrow??

re RP lunch
how abt changing it to a day when everyone can make it? today seems so last min...

PB
sambucus is like some immune support liquid. i find it quite good leh. cut down on their runny noses and coughing.

do1nk
party went well.
kids had fun.....but i really can't stand my maid. instead of helping out, she was just chatting and laughing away non stop with another maid. and i was standing right in front of her too! she din even bother to go help look after the children or clean up.

smiggle
yeah m thinking of changing. a lot of reasons. main reason is she's not good with kids. plus her ultra seive like mind can't remember things.

PB
wow working in sweden sounds good. i think that wd be nice...i always ask hb to get overseas posting but he kept saying difficult so never apply

bbp
i use books to entertain jx. like now, she is reading books by herself. she has a few fav books that she can sit there and flip for quite some time. i notice recently she likes lift the flap and touch and feel books a lot.

Lunch
ok with tml i think..
is asiakitchen cramped and packed??
anywhere that is like the don pie got lots of space??

SY
oh.. i haven got my maid too. main thing i dont have time to train new one..

Ok Rp lunch to tomorrow. Ok for me.

Wai wai, the best enrichment classes eboy attended is the Julia Gabriel one. The teachers are great, the programme is very fun and engaging. And it's cheap, about 40 for 2hr lesson. We had fun today and eboy could follow the lesson for the two whole hours. The only thing I din like is the big class size, any 10 altogether. But they have 3 teachers each class so still manageable tho not ideal.

missy
me too! i absolutely love sweden! everybody so friendly. work culture so nice. but but... very little sun throughout the year.

bbp
haha i am also veyr excited about the prospect! of course will keep you girls updated la but it's a long long shot

when i have to do the dishes or cook, i will ask poppy to read a book. she'll sit on her playmat and flip through books or ransack through the toy box. or she'll just push her cars around. if she really wants my attention she'll hang around the safety gate at the kitchen and talk to me. or read her books there. but i try to do things when she's having her pm milk while on the high chair watching baby einstein. killing many birds with one stone!

do1nk
how's your helper? your MIL scared her off or not? keke

meyday meyday!
anyone knows the recipe for the tea we use in tea ceremony? my cousin is getting married this weekend so of course kalang kabut. TIA!

RP lunch tomorrow:

1) michelle
2) SY
3) do1nk
4) jacelyn?
5) smiggleprincess

where n when do you wanna eat girls?

PB: things wiv helper going ok for me... no major complaints..

tea for tea ceremony? not sure but i know they have red dates and longan inside? sounds like confinement drink now haha

tea for tea ceremony? not those normal chinese tea meh? I think normal drinkable tea can liao right?

RP lunch, where? can the RP-ers decide where is a good place?

think those tea for tea ceremony got longan to make it sweet right? hee, really sounds like confinement drink.

re RP lunch
can sms me tmr? cos i will go out early so may not be able to access and know where to meet.

missyz
ok will order that for u.

hi mummies! forum was down on my end the past 3 days :p

cellow - hv fun! and keep warm

michelle - yes, agree with you tt JG is good fun esp now that the kids are more aware. soph enjoys her 2 hours too..but forum on sunday at 2pm only has 6-7 kids..and 3 teachers so lots of attn!
zoo on weekday - is this on?

youpi - you sure do a lot with your 2 boys..good for you!
babies saying No
- sophie's fav word at the moment is No. yesterday i was reading papers and she came up to me, said No and removed the papers from my hand and put on the floor and then promptly squeeze herself onto me and sat facing me on my lap..and smiled :D..guess tt's her way of saying : mummy, pay attn to me..not the newspapers!

Soph soooo cute! I wish eboy cud utter some meaningful words. He's still ahh ahh-ing alot.

HELP! I dunno how to potty train. Started letting him go diaperless and told him to tell us when he need to pee. That was after his dinner and his poo. Who knows, he rewarded us with another pool of his gold in the middle of the living room, and after that attempted to hit it with his tennis racket. Argh!!! Pls advise how you train and if there is any good book to read about it. Thanks a lot.

RP Lunch
i only know wendy's is e new kid on e block..

PB
its red date longan tea.. can just but the Yeo's packet one la... did the same for my sis's weddin..

yesterday my boy almost drown in the pool.. So I decide to pit him in swimming lessons.. Anyone keen..? The instructor will start a new class if there are minimum 4 student. As young as 3 years old..
Any mummies?
Venue is at Bishan swimming pool..

E Sq
Yikes! How did that happen? Is E1 okay? Swimming lessons: interested! Conducted by who? Which day and what time? (depends on that too) How much?

michelle
hilarious! hitting it with his tennis racket!!!

thanks girls, for the tea recipe

rena
oh no! what happened! hope everything is ok!

cin bunny
i am keen on zoo! or farm! who wants to go! i can make it on fri
poppy says no no no noooooo with the wagging finger haha. the answer to everything is 'no no'.

do you want to do-do (sleep)? nono
do you want to go to the market? nono
do you want a snack? nono
do you love mama? nono.

rena! saw yr msg on FB..good that he is OK! hugs.

michelle, smiggle - LOL..i am super cringing yet tickled :D

fluffy ears - this friday i cant..off down under for a good friend's wedding..but next week wed for zoo ok?

soph also..everything no no . our fav is everytime she farts, she just looks at us and says no no..very indignantly (cos she knows we are going to ask her if she wants to poo poo) lol.

sorry mich - i hv no idea how to potty train..i hope my mom who is visiting this weekend will potty train sophie :D

batgirl:
it has been 1 week and XP still has fever, went to see PD again today and PD gave her anti-biotics

cellow:
enjoy your trip

michelle:
thanks for your info on JG... where is it?

cin bunny:
XP's fav word now is "bu yao" (don't want)..

Youpi,
if I can get about 4 or 5 it's 50 dollars for 4 times but due to Elijah's fear the coach is starting him on private then change to group after he is able to curb his fear..it is 240 for 4 times on Tuesday 5pm

dear mummies,
Elijah is ok .. Really thAnk God

bbp
Hw bout giving him a crayon n a BIG piece of paper??
That entertains Ember for quite awhile.

rena
Aiyo so scary. I'm cheapo thinking to wait till pri sch swim class......hehee

Toilet training
---------------------------------
Ummmmmmm I belong to the super lazy kind. Cos you know there is this window period that the kids will actually be ready to toilet train. N if you do it during that window it will go VERY VERY smoothly n easily. No stress for both parties. But then if you miss it then back to square 1 lah......keke
K I read on bb center recently abt checking if ur kid can control his/her bladder alittle already. Which is by checking the diaper, after you change if they can hold the pee for abt 3 hrs, means he/she can control her bladder already. So you can start.

N hor......dun ask me hw I did it for D hor. Cos I tried once off for abt 1-2 times n he jus pee out so I take it that he's not ready n dun wanna waste my time cleaning pee whole day. 1 fine day after D's bath, I was still bathing E so D sat on the bed waiting for me to come out. He suddenly screamed "MAMA SHI SHI!!!!"
I tot "SH*T!! Bed flooded liao", quickly bring him to toilet to pee come out n see....ehh my bed no pee at all. So from then on I start n he dun actally have any accidents. Maybe only pee abit on undies cos he urgent. So I believe in waiting till they show that they are ready.

N hor.....Ember is really potty trained liao for Poo. Cos the past few times she would catch my attention when she is going to poo. Then i gotta rush her to the toilet kind. But just now....actually on the way home she already said something about Poo poo. But when I ask her she will tell me alot of things, so I not very sure if she's for real.
N just abt 1 hr ago.......she told me Put put. I asked her if she wants to go toilet n Put Put. She told me long story again about Ge Ge put put(point toilet), Mama put put(point toilet again), Papa Put Put(point toilet again).
So i took her to toilet n let her sit there, her willingness to sit made me wait with her cos she's the kind who wants to get off the toilet once her poo gets out kind. I sat there n waited n waited with her while she told me abt the toilet brush, touch Gege's toy and we blow abit of bubbles.
N finally few mins later she really did her business. Wah I so proud of her man. But so far she has not peed at all even when doing her business......so.....the pee will have to wait then......sigh

rena
glad that he is ok. how did that happen? better that they learn how to swim. jh started on swimming lessons since mar last year. initially he is afraid to put his head in water but now he is quite good.

re RP lunch
is it confirmed?

rena, oh my... glad everything turned out OK! so scary!! Better let them learn to swim soon!! But having said that, even tho they have learnt to swim, never leave the kids in the pool alone lah... to be safe...

wah, potty training got window one ah.. din know that.. so I suppose I should wait till eboy can say shi shi, then train him? now he also cant speak yet..

bbp
I am also surprised Ember can tell me she wants to poo before she actually does it cos I always have to pick her up when she's already doing halfway n rush her to sit on the toilet. N her very irregular poo schedule is unpredictable as she dun poo everyday too.
And I was afraid she doesn't like to sit on the toilet bowl cos she will immediately want to stand up the moment her poo drop inside the toilet bowl kind.......haha
Hopefully I get lucky again when its time for her to toilet train for Pee.

And fyi boys normally ready for toilet training late then girls. D was toilet train at abt 2 yrs old.
But he was fast cos he sort of self train I didn't have to really do anything. Once he was toilet trained for daytime he automatically dun pee in his sleep at night already. So i'm really really lucky.....hehe

Oh yah n talking abt this, better to get those mattress protector when toilet train.....cos ummm u never know huh.

Finally..what a day!...

Im now maidless!!!

Haiz... i realli cannot tahan..
blew up my top when i saw her throwin away abt 3 scoops of milk.. and found the washin machine on for 30mins with 2 pc of bumwear at 11pm..
scream at her and sent her packin.. all my previous resentment all came out.. leavin my son alone at home, walkin my dog with her BF!..

RP
sorry i missed it.. how was lunch??
we were actually at RP at 12pm to pick up smthin.. realli tempted to join in..

Rena
thank GOd..

Potty train
i had to leave it to maid and nothin came out of it..

Wah.. Leaving Kayden alone is a big no-no
how long has she been wiv u?

Sy: thx for passing me the stuff
hope jx's mood improved after dat.. Did u go Jalan jalan or went straight home?

Jace is looking good! Keep us posted on ur little bb's progress ok?

mich next time must take public transport to RP area

smiggle
oh dear, then who's going to look after kayden the next few days?

re potty train
jx is impossible to train. she will scream and cry if i make her sit on potty. jh was so much easier.

bbG
no problem. i went home after that. she was ok but she not in a fantastic mood today. just now knocked out before 8pm!!!

yeah agree that jace is looking good

E Sq
Which swim school is the coach from?

Dor Dor
Wow, E is very smart, especially to be able to say that she wants to poop!

Potty train
I did it late, when S was talking and could understand what I wanted of him. The good thing is, it did not take long and there were very few accidents. Bad thing is, I spent a lot on diapers. But overall, no regrets.

Cellow
Just realised from reading the posts that you are in Amsterdam now. Enjoy!

PB
Farms I want!

PB
i think i should make more effort to bring pomfret to exciting places (instead of going J8 or orchard or toa payoh all the time) count us in!

potty train
eh, so what kind of 'apparatus' does one need? is it worthwhile investing in those that really resemble a mini toilet bowl seat type? i got a cheap one that's just a round bowl, and pomfret can't sit on it comfortably

ears
i can see the ear wax building up inside, but don't dare to clean. how? just leave it?

bbp
hey do you wanna get around to maybe putting declan up on JG waiting list? maybe pomfret and declan can do the same weekday class? michelle and doggiebb and cin's review of it is really quite something.

smiggle
should have sacked the maid the first time she left kayden alone! that poor boy!

waiwai
my friend actually switched her 2yo to diff cc after she kept falling sick at the 1st cc. sometimes that makes a difference but then i think she almost doubled her original cc budget! poor xp. is it roseola?

miscarriage
eh i know this is ultra freaky, but sometimes when i'm really sad i wonder if God took the baby away coz when i found out i was pregnant i was thinking "how will i cope with two?"

swimming pool props
at 18mths, are your kiddos enjoying the swimming pool floats/cars/boats type of thingie? pomfret only wanted to sit on the steps and splash. was wondering if at 18mths she could fit into those float thingies and let her kick around

youpi,
And how old was S then? Honestly, I want to do it that way too, but everyone (one generation up) keeps asking me "Has he been toilet-trained? Has he been toilet-trained?". So I've tried, and it's been more misses than hits. Diapers are cheaper than my patience.

PB,
Me for Zoo too!

dustee,
Yeah, I've finally made the effort to email JG about prices and vacancies and such, but guess as busy as they are, they haven't replied me yet. I'll keep you posted? Or you want to call them?
Ears - don't need to clean one right? Occasionally I see specks in Declan's ear, so I just stick my finger in and hook it out. That's all, nothing intrusive :p
Miscarriage - Don't be silly! It just wasn't meant to be. It probably wasn't the right time. And I'm pretty sure I would have wondered how I would be able to cope too.
Swimming pool props - Eh, are those float thingies those that Gordon and Thaddeus has? If so, yes, Pomfret can so do them cos they have been using them for the longest time!

bbp
me also not toilet training jx yet.
my mum kept asking me abt it but i said i can't force her. anyway just to share, last time jh's principal also said that when they are ready they are ready, she also din make it a point to specially train her son. and her son self trained himself! she feels that no point forcing them. she did try but it din work so she just left it. for jx i also can't force her. so leaving it aside at this moment

re zoo/farm
er so when is it? i wan to go too! but need to be morning cos i need to rush back by 4pm....

dustee
dun think that way!! it is pretty normal to wonder how to cope with 2. that tot definitely crossed my mine before....

rena, thank goodnees Elijah is ok! I can imagine the panic! I also saw wuffy sinking down onto the bottom of the pool, and I jumped into the pool ( I wasn't swimming that day). Lucky my fren was nearer to him and she quickly pulled him out! Wuffy was swimming with my hubby and 2 of my fren's kids. My hubby turned his head for a little while to fix the float of the other boy and the next moment, wuffy walked away and as his legs could move very well in the water, his knees buckled and he sank right into the water!

SmiggleP,

your maid is terrible! Leaving Kayden alone at home??!! She is so irresponsible! Good riddance!

Dustee,

Don't be too hard on yourself. Like bbp said, it probably wasn't meant to be. Think positive ok?

bbg
she came very good until she had her off day then went downhill.. had her for 1yr.. cos she beg me not to send her off until her bond ended..
i too soft-hearted..
last nite when i clean my house, realise its in a mess.. she obviously was cutting corners..
but did i really give her too much work???
5rm only..

SY
now shuttling between both parents.. simei and amk!!
but the problem is i dont like their way of taking care of kids.. how??
my in-laws see no issue in givin choco bar and sweets!!
and kayden is so active, they might not have their eye on him all time..

Zoo
i wanna go again, but can only weekends lei..
i can get corporate passes from my mum.. 8 pax go in for free. anyone?

Farm
been to the goat farm at hay daries.. nothin much.. Bollywood Veggies was good though.. their banana cake, i tell u.. its a well-kept secret.

Birdpark.
kayden loves birds la..

Dustee
i believe in positive thinking.. i have a colleague who has been tryin, but when she's finally pregnant, she's not that excited.. i am not in sync with her.. i dont get it maybe? to some its not the biggest thing..
no matter wat, i tried not to do neg thoughts.. its not easy, but cos after i was in coma, i sorta feel that i can hear what was around me, so my baby in me will also hear me..

Potty train
Kayden likes his toilet seat from ikea.. though he hates sittin on it when we make him..

Ear wax
i used calendula cream on the cotton bud..

Oh dustee dustee
Whatever the reason, I believe it’s for the better. Maybe you’re right. Maybe He feels that two would be hard for you to manage? Whatever the case, look forward and hold Pomfret tight along the way

Bbp
Good one – diapers are cheaper than your patience. Nobody has asked me yet, about her being potty trained. But I have a cousin’s wedding to attend this weekend so I guess that’s when the questions will start. Maybe I could say something like ‘when shall I bring her over to your house for training?’ hahaha. I’m not really consciously trying either. //lazy parents, we are//. But she tells us when she does a poo (sometimes false alarm) and she points to the potty and says ‘caca’. But when I put her on the seat she squirms and struggles to get up. Sometimes, and if I may borrow the wise miss qing’s words, I think I might have scared the sai back in.

Cleaning ears
I don’t like doing it but hubby cleans Poppy’s ears with baby cotton buds after every time he bathes her. Which isn’t too often.

Farm visit
Can I suggest we try to meet early (I know, I am not a morning bird either, but… ) so that it won’t be so hot, then we can walk around and have lunch, possibly at Bollywood (smiggle I love that place too!), and then head on home with konked out kiddos in tow?
Tentative date and time: 27 Jan, next wed, at kranji mrt station (either 9am or 1030am – buses are only at those times)
1) Pinkbunny and poppy
2) SY
3) BBP
4) Dustee
Who else!

http://www.kranjicountryside.com/
the bus schedule is here: http://www.kranjicountryside.com/kranji_express_schedule.pdf
the bus goes round trip from farm to farm BUT I’m not sure if we’ll have the time to go to all the farms. I suggest that once we firm up this group we decide on a maybe 2 farms and miss the rest?
Older kids may enjoy this: http://www.prkidskampong.com/

sounds like fun! and near my place too! but i'll probably be working my butt off at work

potty training: not yet..

didn't catch the near miss that elijah had, but glad he's ok!

dustee: dun go punching yourself again.. I'm sure God has His reasons which we may come to understand one day... meanwhile Trust in Him and stay strong!

smiggle how? look for new maid now? can your own parents helP?