(2008/07) July 2008

Anyone keen for toddler photography? $20, 2.5hr lecture.

Toddlers and young children are fun to photograph. Most toddlers learn to walk around 9 to 12 months and become very restless.

As soon as they are able, children constantly explore their environment.

Because they move around so often and fast photographing them can be exasperating.

Helping you see your children through photographs is the goal of this course. You will learn how to set your cameras to make candid photographs that show the genuine child, capturing a range of emotions and spontaneous moments that show delight, puzzlement and even stubbornness. Candid photos require great patience, lots of anticipation and shots, and a certain amount of luck.

This 2.5-hr course will provide you with 15 tips to create incredible portraits. The content covers equipment, exposure control and selection, composition techniques, background control, and how to make great pictures at various scenarios such as at playground, swimming pool, meal time, bath time, in the swimming pool and when the child first learn how to walk, just to name a few. Course notes provided.

michelle
i'm keen on the course! but it's a monday night? alamak. anyway, how to find out more?

rayna
sure, PM me your email address

missy
err no i am trying not to get her into disney princesses! hehe. anyway i think it's more suited for older girls.

do1nk
good luck with your new helper!

ok i know i am prob the only super suaku one here but will someone tell me what babies prom is?

serene, dordor, missysz,

thanks!! serene has passed me her contact liao!!

do1nk,

happy driving! hope the dvd player can keep him occupied! it is indeed a looonnng journey! and good luck on the maid!

Qing,

I got an Ergo Sport with 2 sucking pads. Hardly used. you want to buy over from me? It is the same one that do1nk is using. let me know okie?

pb,
haha..i also paiseh to ask this question leh..wat is babies prom? go there to see baby concert? i think youpi has contact or something. ;p

qing,
when u were having barbie, did u kena morning sickness? try to keep some crackers in ur bag so that u can eat when u feel nauseous. do u wish to have a boy or gal for #2? hee

PB
u referrin to the SSO Babies prom??

Qing
how the gynae visit???

Cellow
C1 is normal. Kayden is 10 times more worse, and that's on an everyday basis..
Did i mention at Atlantis, he went to the christmas tree, took off a glass decor ball and smash it into pcs... my fault also la, i tot plastic mah..

Kayden makes me look like a lousy parent.. i really get exasperated at times..

But he's so cute now.. he damn vain like girl..
He likes me puttin my hairband on him and tell him he's handsome lor. he will make me do it again and again and go show everyone, waitin for them to tell him he's Handsome!!!

Qing, woa she even go to the extend of packing your lingerie. But since you stayed with her, wouldn't she would have already seen them when you hang up to dry?

Dor, you tilt Ember's head when she's standing?

Cellow, quick plan for #3!! Can see that you're not that firm in saying NO to it liao! LOL

Qing, since you're expecting, would you still want to carry barbie in the ergo? What design are you looking at?

Rayna, somehow i feel that it's easier to bathe using bath tub/pail of water leh.

Woa, talking abt suan mei makes me drool loh

bbp, you only plan to have 1 child?

alamak, hannahi,
now you are starting to sound like my parents and ILs.
my dad best, last weekend can tell me, wah you not married 3 years yet, already have 2 kids. *faintz

Hannah,

use shower head faster mah. no need to wait to fill up the tub. then at least if she's in the must carry mode, it's easier. carry her and fill up the tub takes alot of skill. cos my hse shower hose not long enough to just place on the tub hahaha...

i also like suan mei alot. but when pregnant, i don't take it. hahaha....

Cellow,

tell your dad, fast fast give birth fast fast suffer, then fast fast enjoy life later mah.

qing
the last time my mil packed my room, my hb got very angry and started banging cupboard doors and putting everything back where they used to be.... hahahaha even her own son cannot tahan her.

another grief with mil
-- she never gets to the point immed
eg today
dustee "ma, so are the walls in my room finished? or still need to paint some more?"

mil "y'know, this uncle keong always give us the best. he will do everything very good. he's been our contractor for very long. so (blah blah blah, dustee screensaver running in brain already) then blah blah blah... so , i don't know, i just got home, you better ask papa"

dustee thinking "why can't you ask me to ask pa IMMED?"

dustee "so pa, is the painting finished?"

fil "need to paint two coats, so...."

mil interrupts "so, walls need two coats to make it better. then it will really last and really look good. so your bedroom is finished. but i think the piano/comp room is still not done. but i don't know, tmr i have hair appt. you better ask pa"

dustee thinking "but you interrupted pa what...."
dustee "so pa, tmr how?"

fil "yeah so tmr paint the piano/comp room again"

and on and on it goes with my mil interrupting and telling some grandmother story....

i do believe in the two years i've stayed here, that i've aged four. and brain cells attrition rate has doubled as well. coz they have died. from. extreme. nagginess.

me and my mil grief
the thing is, on one hand i wish i really could be 'free' of my mil. but mostly, i feel very poor thing that her son doesn't talk to her (and yet she can't let that go, and always hints about how she misses when he was young and talked a lot to her) and i guess to some extent i feel that my hb is wrong to not to talk to her. so it's like i'm on double duty like that.

so i keep telling myself, i chose to stay here too, to some extent it's also my decision.... but it's just so hard getting over my own feelings of inadequecy when she starts judging every action....

ugh. next time hor, when our beloved babies grow up and start their families, will we be griping about their spouses???? will be be oomz and keeping quiet like what steph's grandma say or will we become monsters-in-law ourselves? shudder.

and then my own mum says "have more babies lah. then you're too busy to even hear what your mil is saying"

mummies of more than 1 babe, do you agree?

Updates:
only can see sac no heartbeat yet. Suppose to be 6 week le but sac is only 5 week big... Going back next sat。worried!!!!
Aug thread one mtb same LMP as me can detect heartbeat Liao but mine only sac Nia...

qing what is LMP? hey don't worry unnecessarily ok?

dustee
you are too kind la. i really don't think i can tahan living with your MIL

it has suddenly dawned upon me - we may find it easier to flare up at our own mothers (sadly) at the smallest of things but with our MILs, we feel that as dutiful (ha!) DILs, we have to control our temper and be subservient etc. thus leading to this deepening internal rage.

or it may just be me, the unfillial horrible daughter.

FYI on Doulos
The Doulos has been certified not sea-worthy and will be de-commissioned on 31 December 2009. This means it cannot sail anymore. It is only 2 years younger than the Titanic and it is in Singapore! It will open for the last time for public-viewing during the period 15-26 December 2009 at Vivocity. Do go to their website for further details - www.doulos-last-port.com

They sell books at discounted prices. Not the most up to date, but there are a lot of kid books, and tons of Christian books.

Qing
Don't worry too much, k? For one of my boys (can't remember which one, me the bad mother!) it was also like this. Sometimes 5/6 weeks is just too early.

PB,
No! You are SO right! Because we (mother and daughter) have gone through so many years, we know that flare ups will go away and will not hurt the relationship. But it's not like that for MIL-DIL, so we have to keep it and so the poor hubbies kena la.

qing
dun worry. for both my kids, can only see heartbeat ard week 8 or later. relax and dun worry too much.

dustee
you r really nice leh. hee, 2 kids will really give u no time to listen to your mil. sometimes when mil calls or ask me things like why i never pick up phone, i will tell her that i m not very free cos of 2 kids. with 2 kids u won't be able to listen to her nagging!

maybe she bullies u cos she knows u won't argue back with her? sounds like she is taking advantage of u. while u feel sorry for her, must also remember that she has a part to play in how her son treats her now. so dun feel too sorry for her!

Rayna
If you dun feel like filling the tub for M then do shortcut lah.....hehe
When I dun feel like filling the tub and the kids make noise for the tub I jus put down the tub, let them sit inside n shower them sitting lor....hehe
Fill the tub with the water from their shower nia to abt half the tub. But it helps that I have 2 kids in the tub la so easier to fill it...keke

My showerhead also not long enough to jus leave it in the tub so I put the showerhead into a small bucket and into the tub.....hehe

Michelle
Forgot to ans ur KS qns. I forgot hw much exactly but I remember it was cheap less then $100. But hor cannot find anymore cos its very past season. I got it from the BP from Annie.
And its good cos E cannot open the flap so she can't play with my phone when its in it.....hehe

Hannahl
I tilt Ember's head even for shower or bathtub. Else hw to wash hair.....hehe
But dun force when she's standing lah I will talk to her too when I ask her to lookup so she will tilt up cos she look at me, then I shower or pour water over her hair.
Then everytime I say 1,2,3 then I let go so she can tilt back down n I wipe watever water that flows to her face. So she feels more confident as she knows what to expect and know I will let go once I count to 3 and will wipe for her if there is water on her face.
If still got shampoo then do another round until all washed clean.
Now she's so used to it I tell her wash hair she will let me do it and if water on her face she's still quite okie already.
Slowly lah cos they must be sure that its okie then they won't fuss anymore.

dustee
No leh, have more bbs = more headache with the inlaws cos imagine 1 boy n 1 girl. Then u also the kind to think so much like me so will have more stress n problems lor. Not to mention your own worry if you will dote on 1 more then the other. Hw abt your inlaws?? If they really spoil 1 of the kid only then hw.....hehehe
Okie I think I better stop here.

And hor you think if u were staying with your mum instead. Will still have some grouses 1 right?? I for 1 really dread it when my parents said they might be moving in with me(get this they say they NEVER ask). Cos 1 thing I know is my kids will be spoilt rotten(never mind that they really do love them alot) and it will be hard to redo this kind of things u know.

Qing
Dun worry so much k.......relax........means you can go see gynea n bb again rather then waiting another mth then see bb......hehe
Okie the facts, other ppl LMP and your LMP same is not big deal. Your cycle and hers may not be the same. Your cycle may be longer which is why your bb is smaller.

And on the inlaws topic hor:
Actually I find that my hubby gives me more headache then my inlaws.
My hubby(like yours dustee) dunno how to zuo ren. Think cos they are all spoilt by their doting mum(who even scraps icecream for her 23 yr old).
My hubby doesn't buy presents for his dad(but he remembers his mum on some days) during bdays or father's day nor do we pay for the dinner(but their dinner always include alot of 'other' ppl cos they haolian ma) cos I think he knows that someone(mum ofcos) will do it for him. I try not to bother lah cos its 'his' family and if that's hw he does it then I leave it.
But sometimes really I think abit too bochap lor so when I buy stuff for my mum and I can still afford it, I will get another for my MIL too.

And another grouse I have on him today........
He called hm while I was getting the kids into the bath and he can hear everything cos I put him on speaker(I always do cos hw to hold the phone n handle 2 kids at the same time).

N he ask me "Can you go check my bag see if my wallet is inside?"
I told him flat "NO". Then inbetween the kids screaming shouting when taking out clothes and filling the tub.
Hubby: "You help me check already?? Is my wallet inside?"
Me: "NOOOOOOOO"
Hubby: "Why?? Why cannot help me check?"
Me: "What do you think I am doing?"
Hubby: "Bathing the kids lor"
Me: "Then you think I am so free to go and check your wallet in the next room? i'm not free i gotta bath them. Bye."

See lah n he always say he knows its very hard to take care of the 2 kids alone n then he always calls back and expect me to immediately help him do something. Or he will call back when the kids are asleep(then the ringing wakes them n then ask me "They sleep already??"
Men aah....BTH.

dor dor,
Oh yah, your calling back when the kids are asleep reminds me of how my hubby always kena from me when he does that.
Now, I just unplug the phone line.

dordor, bbp,
my hp is still on the one beep for msg and one ring for phone calls. has been liddat since confinement.
my whole family knows better than to call me (esp my mum who somehow has horrible timing) and expect instant response.

qing,
5/6 weeks a bit early... tell bb#2 that you want to hear heartbeat next time ok, in the meantime, guai guai grow up tall and strong

PB,
when i stayed with my mum, yes lor, it happens... flareups over the smallest things.. budden now that i m staying apart, smtimes have to use my sisters to guage mood also. just like i use my HB to guage MIL mood. so now... same same already.

qing now may be too early.. go by LMP not "zun" want... cycle also not zun one mah... dun worry unnecessarily.. btw, when see gynae again? two weeks?

dustee, call me wierd or what, I am soooo looking forward to have a chance to seeing your MIL and talking to her... I have come up with a million and one ways to irritate her, i tell you.

Cellow,
So observant again. Couldn't sleep la. Then Declan couldn't sleep at 4plus. He struggles to fall back to sleep these past 4 days at around the same time, making me a very tired mother.

ooh, michelle,
save me a front seat when you do that.
does that make me weird too? hahaha

bbp,
then watcha doing awake now.... go back to sleep! unless you have pressing errands to attend to, or work to do.

this must be the night of the sleepless mummies. i had a nightmare (nonsensical i tell you) that C was being picked on by bullies in a tennis court and being pelted by tennis balls till his face kena blue black. then i stormed into the toilet where the bullies were hiding... before i did anything to them, i woke up with a start at abt 4/5am!
HB this morning told me that i was very restless last night.

Cellow.. LOL on the nightmare! lucky you woke up before you start hitting on the bullies (i.e. your HB sleeping beside you).. haha...

talking about tennis, E-boy's favourite playground is the tennis court, he takes his tennis racket and start hitting and chasing the tennis ball... i think I have a tennis player in the house... he stops to watch tennis, he reach for his tennis racket the moment he step into the house (both own and MIL's) and he stares at the rackets hung when in royal sporting house.... maybe should let him trial at the tennisfortots starting 2yo.. haha

michelle
eeeks! cannot irritate my mil! sigh. coz if you guys come over, by association, she won't think highly of you coz you're my friends. then if you irritate her, again by association she'll think it's my fault. then my life just gets worse and worse......

pb
oh yeah but our own mums love us unconditionally! so by token i try not to flare up at her but always tell her why i don't want to do what she asks me to. and coz she loves me then she will also listen to me. what i say has weight. but with mil, when i start talking she hardly listens. whatever nice thing i do for my mum, such as bringing her out for just a coffee, she appreciates my effort. with my mil..... she just thinks i'm wasting my hb's money (coz i have no income and am a burden on her poor son....) sigh.

ugh. so much mil angst.

dustee, maybe I should ambush and then irritate her as a passerby-A...... no association with you.. no association...

dustee? who is dustee? do i know her?

qing meimei: dun worri too much..u noe based on my last period, doc oso cannot detect heartbeat at supposed 8 weeks.. den end up he says cos period cycle nt so regular..n u noe wat, i saw bb kicking w heartbeat at 10 weeks..

bb crying in de nite: dun noe wat happened, bbD suddenli woke up in de nite crying 4 milk..it has nt happened for the past few months n i wonder what has happened to him..

mil angst: moi #1 is in CC..so MIL says 2 stay over w us..in my mind i was tinking, i sent bbD 2 CC coc cun stand her ways of spoiling my kid n still let her stay over?? i muz be siao, man..den becos i juz got preggy den i agreed..else HB will nt let me send bbD 2 CC, he worries i cun cope..end up, i agree, let bbD go CC le..den recentli i told hb," nw i onli nid 2 cook 4 bb, u shower him n i put him 2 sleep, dun tink nid ur mummi la.." n haha..i was so lucki tat hb agrees all of a sudden..else..i tink i will stay away fr hm lots of time.. like dustee's mil, she oso like to finger my lingerie, clothes..n often rearranges how i put things in bbD's rm.. cun stand her..

dustee,
then wat abt i say the things that michelle plans to say... but i mention first that i know AH (you know who)... so she will think of me first as his fren... not yours. hehe.
idea ah.

starxin,
*patz*

dustee,
my granny's comment was meant for others... she herself can't resist the urge to comment when opportunity arised. so you see, in a way, your mum may be right. have more than 1 child, everyone will be busy coping and forced to work together and have less time to ee-ee-orh-orh...

at their age, it's not easy for them to change their behaviour. like my mum, she always gives negative remarks and throw wet blankets but she meant no harm. but still, won't feel good hearing her comments. but becoz she's my mother, the stuff she says seldom bother me. but if the same things come out of my mil's mouth, then different story loh.

pb,
same same lah... easier to tell my mum off than mil. like so infilial like that... but we don't hold grudges against our own mothers, not that i hold any against my mil lah.. i'm the type, like farting: loud and smelly but once out diffused into the air and won't keep bad air inside body. can fart in front of my parents but not in front of mil leh

dustee,
if you mil so judgemental, then we all dress up prim & proper, speak Julia gabriel standard English when we visit you and start talking about classical music classes, having high tea when and where, bringing our kids to here and there, etc etc... you think this will give her a new take on you? and will it help if she finds out you have so many friends to back you if she's nasty to you!?

Qing,
don't worry too much ok.

Any update from ronnxer?

think i'm the werid one... i actually like my mil to pack my drawer of clothes for me. all very neat and tidy. i can't be bothered to fold my clothes and put into cupboard neatly. but mil does a great job ironing and folding the clothes

and my mil has nicer & sexier lingerie than me siah.... hahaha...

dustee,
do you watch Hong Kong TVB serial dramas? there's one - 我的野蛮婆婆 - you must watch and learn from the dil in the show eg standing up to the mil.

cellow, when i read abt your nightmare, just can't help but want to share with you.

Becoz of the screw up by the tour agent on my honeymoon tour to NZ, we have to last minute decide on an alternative plan. We went to Bali and Thailand free and easy. And coz only 2 of us, and we hardly travel before marriage, my hubby was always on the lookout for possible danger around us.

I think it was really stressful for him, though most of the time i was happily wandering around. And lo and behold, you know what. I think he had a nightmare one nite that we're really being ambushed. So in his dreams, he gave a solid punch out. You know where his punch ends up? On my CHEEKS!!!!!! Ouchiee..

Wah piang, painful man. Lucky never genna my eyes.. He was apologetic. I didn't scold him lah, only disturb him occasionally, coz can see how stressed out he was then. But that cheek was painful for quite some time leh.

Funny hor

hannahi,
hahahaha. my nose and my HB's elbow have connected a couple of times liao. all by accident and all happened on the bed.
- i shall leave the rest to your imagination -

am cooking macaroni and cheese for the first time today from a googled recipe. wish me luck!
smtimes just sooooo sick of eating the same few dishes that i know how to cook.

hihi...

juz did my CVS test n on 3 days HL...
but result will only be out next week... hopefully bb will be healthy
If everything turn up well bb will be july bb again haahaa

Dustee
u r really kind hearted...to tahan ur mil... n a wonderful wife...to compensate for ur hubby attitude towards ur mil...3 cheers for dustee

tink not easy to win ur mil...so come in n vent ur anger here ya...n dun take it too hard on urself.. juz know that she is the unreasonably mil n u already trying ur best...

Qing
Congrats n dun worry too much... cos quite common not to see bb heartbeat at 6 wks... n u too have a monstrous mil...so scary ramaging thru ur stuffs n giving them away...

Hannah
yup ths for the bb prom tixs and ryane would have love it not tink he really too sleepy tat day so stoning away...my hubby n me find it really interesting to intro bb to classical music...nice meeting u n ur family tat days.

steph n other mummies trying for rabbit bb
all the best ya

travelling
mi n hubby also planning a chinese new year trip to bintan with my family n my PIL hopefully all turn out well... only headache now is to tink of where to put my doggie during tat period...

bb mares
actually tis few day ryane also wake up in the middle of the nite... dunno tummy ache or teething or nite mares we got to entertain him for bout 1hr...then he will take milk n sleep...hopefully juz a passing phase...

bb hair wash...
i juz use shower head for him.. stary with real small water for him at the begainning n tink now he got used to it liao no more crying... those who attend the aquaduck remember they will scope water with habd n pour over bb haed n say 'shower time' i tink that helps too...when i bring ryane for swim i always does tat with him n say shower time... n at home during shower time i will do the same to him n say shower time n he love it

oooo i will bring popcorn and sit next to cellow in front row (got sofa and all like GV gold class?) when michelle talks to dustee's MIL!

lol on cellow's nightmare! and on hannah's husband's nightmare!

super lol on steph's farting analogy!

good luck to ronnie and qing .. don't worry, bb will be gorgeous and healthy! happy mummy = happy baby!

how did cellow's mac and cheese go?

JTS
there is an NTUC chalet at sentosa! went once and it wasn't half bad. don't remember if it was child friendly but there's a pool and the room was not half bad. plus it's so cheap. $224 incl tax (no breakfast) for 3D2N!!! we're going in jan for hubby's birthday. poppy too. then can explore sentosa without rush

michelle
now i just have image in my head of you jumping out of the bushes outside my house suddenly.....

cellow
ah, cannot lah. my mil is super nice to AH's wife so i think these points are not applicable. hehe. of coz on another hand, AH's wife really knows when to put her foot down. i'm not half as assured and steady as she is.

steph
it is a scary thought that your mil has nicer lingerie than you do. and i hope you don't mean that she has those sexy negligees and stuff....

me and my mil
but again you know, i'm not angelic and so virtuous to be the perfect dil. only why i'm trying my best to be nicer to my mil is coz of the circumstances of me getting pregnant before we were married.

mummies of boys, i mean, you wouldn't even think about the possibility of your sweet little angels getting a girl pregnant before they got married right? if that really happens, isn't it easier to believe that the girl is some immoral, slutty, sleazy, badly-brought-up girl who seduced your innocent and well brought up boy?

i'm sure when my hb was a cute little toddler, she would never have thought of this possibility. and then out of the blue "ma my gf is pregnant and i'm marrying her" and she's got that whole "we're very respectable indonesian immigrants in singapore" thing going.... so i do understand to some extent where her animosity stems from.

she thinks i 'baited' her sweet little boy hehe. but do i look like those girls who go around baiting indonesian boys to you?!@!!!!!!

so you see, i also pity her lah. i did make a mistake after all. so must try to

dustee,
as a mummy of a boy, i do think abt that possibility of my sweet little C one day telling me that he's got his gf pregnant and wants to marry her. *blink
i would say good for you, son, at least you know your respty.
a bb takes 2 pple to make, you know... C must be baitable also...

wow. my tired brain cannot do the fast forward of 20 plus years so quickly. but since i am a parent of a girl, i shudder to think about the possibility of poppy being on the other end of the pregnancy relationship.

i guess i will just tell her what my mum told me? 'you're old enough to do whatever you want, just make sure you do it responsibly'

looking forward to my hol....but then hor dun think i can go for any rides at ocean park or disneyland with jx sticking to me!!

dustee
why do u feel tat u need to make up to your mil? if i m the boy's mother, i will feel angry at my son instead! when such things happen the gal suffers more ( i feel) so my son wd have to bear more responsibilty for it.

re lunch
yes yes i need to join a lunch..got a lot of stuff to pass ard

i m in 2 minds abt this. i received my posting for sch today. wondering whether i shd reject it totally and just do relief teaching or call them to try to postpone my starting date. i still want to try out teaching. it is my interest but then i feel that a lot of things not settled yet....jx's sch, jx's flat feet issue, maid....just not the right time.

Dustee
Hehehe u made me remember something a friend once said.
Cos we both only had boys then and she was saying that to a mummy with a girl.
"We only have 1 penis to worry abt, you have ALOT of penis to worry about!!"
Which is so darn true....hehehe

But the worry on the getting someone preg part, I'll worry when it comes to that but dun think I would blame the girl cos I'm sure I didn't bring my son up to be so brainless...

Ummmmmmm u thinking too much again huh....hehe

Dustee, at this era now, ok maybe not that acceptable yet but in 20 yrs time, (hope it's 20 and not 16) things are different. Having said that I worry more on the dil character more than anything I must make sure Ethan finds the right one not anyone.

SY, answered your own question. U're not ready. Teaching can wAit, missed your babies critical years u cannot turn back. I'm Sure u know what u want to do. In this case go with ur heart if finance is not an issue.

Lol dor, wat u said so true!