(2008/07) July 2008

hihi morning mummies... haven't been posting for a while... have been down with sinusitis and on mc for 3days... lucky ryane only ganna a bit of flu only...

oh ya sorry west mummies can't join u guys for lantern celebration on 3 oct liao cos my MIL went to buy tixs for those neighbourhood lantern celebration thingy for us w/o checking with us...then only tell me yesterday that she bought tixs for us liao so got to go...

but pple 4th oct got babies day out at Hort Park organinse by mother n babies mag... u all going? we can meet there also... tink they start 8.30am till 12.30pm

morning mummies

ronnie
hope you are feeling better le.. think it's the weather (sudden hotness & sudden heavy rain) that's why alot of babies and mummies down with flu

smiggle
sounds like kayden down with stomach flu. Better get him to the PD soon as it's highly contagious.

steph
don't feel bad.. there bounce to be falling and bruising at their age. Sometimes hao ran can fall before my eyes and I couldn't respond fast to catch him.. And I'm not pregnant at all.. just tired from work :p

pb
maybe bluebunny's family don't like to take photos? Anyway good that you don't feel sim tiah.. Enjoy your mini holiday

sayang steph and elliot... hope he feels better now! and dun feel bad, accidents happen too fast for us to catch anyway, that is why they are called accidents.. someone here said before, Hard knocks makes a baby grow! hugs.

Feng Shui, I also asked a feng shui master for my new house, and the things he recommend is based on ba zi and direction etc... $688 nia, and things to buy to be placed are all very cheap solutions lah... and hor, so far, ethan has been healthy, and we have been striking 4D like once a month, but hor, its $250 kind cos the feng shui master say we got direct wealth (zheng chai) but no indirect one (heng chai).. so no toto or 4D luck one, only need to work and work to make sure steady income.. sigh..

dustee, me went peekaboo on sat evening (Damn lousy) and then polliwogs ytday morning (damn good but very very crowded)... haha, me also scaredy cat, dun dare to let ethan do the slide initially (the one at the ball pool right at the end), until bosco showed me he can do it one, then i let go.. but my heart jumped a few beats when i let him go... haha... but after a few tries, he expert liao lah... btw, our weight and baby weight different, for us, its very fast speed, for baby not so fast lah... but if you carry baby and slide down, it is even faster loh.. must make sure you standby sterilising baby wipes, once get out of the place, wipe and wipe and wash hands.. of course during playing, make sure they dun put things in their mouth... so that means, constant following and monitoring.. which is very tiring.. but at least it will prevent them from getting sick after going polliwogs...

ronnie, hope you feel better now...

PB, maybe its one particular shot that they want to take.. like generation thingy.. i can totally understand that.. but if it is for ALL shots.. then of course it feels very excluded!!.. I would love for my FIL-hubby-ethan to take a shot too!~ so dun put it to heart.. that doesn't mean they dun treat you family lah.. you know, like sometimes we take "mummies" pic only, something like that???

Psst.. ethan is walking more often liao.. I hope he can walk holding his lantern by next week.. hahaha..

Anymore for bibinogs, 1 more and we can get 10% discount liao... lai leh, lai leh...

10 Oct 330pm@ UE Square

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) Do1nk and bbG
3) Doggiebb and Thaddie
4) qing and Mr Q and Barbie?
5) Dustee and Pomfret
6) Holly, Mr H and Bosco!!!
7) batgirl, batman and wuffy!!
8) Youpi & L
9) Jace + Mr Jace + xun girl

good news, after several rounds of negotiation, the centre agreed to only get 50% deposit (non-refundable) as opposed to 100% full payment upfront. max to a class is 10, so we still need 1 more.. also to qualify for the 10% discount..

so if less than 10 babies, we pay $48.80 nett each. If >10, we pay $46.20 nett. minimum for 5 babies (thus deposit non-redundable)... I will pay the 50% deposit first, then those who attended, pay me on that day, or transfer over after class.

so, am I not the "trial organising queen", you tell me? muahahahaha

Anymore for bibinogs, 1 more and we can get 10% discount liao... lai leh, lai leh...

10 Oct 330pm@ UE Square

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) Do1nk and bbG
3) Doggiebb and Thaddie
4) qing and Mr Q and Barbie?
5) Dustee and Pomfret
8) Youpi & L

Cellow, need your help to bring a cheque down th bibinogs. can you pleasee.... pretty preggie mama plllleeeaasseee ???

Brought my bb to GUG on Sat and Gymboree on Sun, he was super active! Now my back is protesting ah.

i think i need a break from weekend :p

thank you all mommies for your kind words. i am feeling so much better
just wanted to share our outing yday.

we went out with hb & his friends for brunch gathering w/out helper. it's been quite a while that we had to look after son ourselves during an outing. but it felt really nice. 3 of us only. it was really quality bonding time despite having to bring boy out of restaurant coz he was getting cranky. and the "best" part was we had to change his dirty diaper at the stair way coz there were NO baby room or changing station in the toilets anywhere in that hotel! So, mommies heading to Carlton Hotel next time, remember that it's not baby friendly at all!

Michelle,
so sorry abt the bibinogs! me too no ToTo & 4D & gamling luck. that's why didn't buy ToTo last week. have to work my butt off till my boy old enough to sign on with SAF hehehe...

steph
it's not only carlton hotel, hotel rendezvous also not baby friendly. I remember I have to change hao ran's soiled diaper at the space between basin.. lucky he was only a month old that time.. now changing diaper = battle with hao ran:p

michelle - thanks!! i will go learn hw to write a resume soon.. my sch seems quite firm.. they will reject our full load.. n doubt MOE will even help since they always say such things are to discretion of P..

Update on photography course. This is what my ex-colleague responded.

Just read your email as I was away for holidays.
Taking pics for toddlers is really challenging as they are very active and do not pose for you. Many people think they just need to upgrade their cameras to DSLR and will be able to produce beautiful and sharp pics. They are wrong. One needs to understand how the camera works, how lights are metered and some photography basics and composition techniques in order to capture the facial expression of the toddlers in split seconds.

I have a systematic skill development program for people who want to master good photography skills. It's better to do it progressively. I offer a special basic photography package comprising 2 lectures and 2 practical sessions plus a photo critique session at an attractive package price. The package course is conducted over 1-month period. I also offer Intermediate level training on Toddler, Macro and Bird photography. Details can be found in the attachment

I conduct photography courses for small group of participants at my residence in Bedok Central, usually during weekends or weekday evening. The minimum class size is 5 paxs and maximum is 8.

If you are keen, get a group of friends ( group learning is very enjoyable) and let me know the courses that you wish to attend and the dates that you are available. I'll try to oganise the courses to fit your schedule.

Thank you for your interests in my photography courses.

Hi mummies.. how was your weekend? Mine was tiring.. not onli is bbG rejecting his expensive stroller, but he doesn’t wanna be carried in our arms now either! His new word: DOWN .. he wanna come down and walk though he can’t walk unassisted yet!!

Michelle: whoa! You strike 4D almost once a month??? How much do you spend per month? Well.. I didn't get a single cent from the recent toto draw.. haiz.. would have been contented wiv juz $1m and not even $9.7m! haha

Wat’s peekaboo? Another playgym for our babies? slides @ polliwog: we go down the slides wiv bb? I must go!

Soiled diaper: urr mummies.. if your bb’s poo-ed in public.. do you need water and basin to clean bb or juz wet wipes? N not everywhere has basin for bb bums (some pple may frown if we use the normal basins in washrooms?)

For those still hunting for lanterns: do you know they now make those traditional looking paper lanterns but minus the pesky music and in place of dangerous candles and real fire, they have a batt operated bulb inside instead… perfect for our little babies.. :D

Lately .. Very very tired..my dad's case is rather bad last stage of cancer.. No medication to help... Now only pray that it will notbe too painful for him...may have only 3 months or less to be treated..

E Sq
Sorry to hear that. Hang in there. It will be tough. Our prayers will be with you and your family.

Baby accidents
I watch his reaction. If he gets up and continues, I'll keep quiet and continue playing with him. If he makes noise, I'll offer comfort etc.

Playgyms
We went to Gogobambini at Dempsey yesterday afternoon and it was a complete madhouse! Note to self: never on a weekend ever again! Polliwogs is quite clean, I thought? When we were there, there were people cleaning it all the time - not the play structure, but the baby area, and outside, they were cleaning the balls. Peekaboo: is small and not as well-maintained as Polliwogs. But we had the place practically to ourselves (only two other kids) so it was enjoyable.

Dustee
Nope, did not give S any other milk after he weaned. He was (and still is) taking yoghurt and/or cheese almost every day. His main drink is water.

Steph
No, not a full-on feng shui follower or believer. I just like the way it's centred on a balance of all the elements. That makes a lot of sense to me. The feng shui guy we had did do the usual calculations, but we already knew where we wanted to place our things. He also gave us dates to move in, and told us how to move in (must use rice or salt or something?) but we never did any of that.

Michelle
You strike 4D once a month! Wah!

Dor Dor
How was D's par-tay? Happy Belated Birthday to him!

Is it me or is it amazingly hot tonight!?

sick mummy checkin in..
i got sick after lunch..
threw up 3 times.. last nite diarrhea..
tihnk kayden pass the virus to me...
On my first day off work still... on mc tml...
Never felt so miserable, i no strength and lay on the floor to cry...

Sorry abt not readin posts.. its sucky bein sick...

think kayden shld be better after seein the doctor again...

Haiz, my health so weak.. how to give birth again?

BTW, the other company wanted to hire me so much they counter offer.. and wants me to break contract! How how... im in such a confusion.. cos its a female boss there la..

do1nk
Ya I really like the sambucus cos the 1st time I tried was becos Damien had a bit of running nose n no other symtoms. So I didn't wanna bring him to the pd for that. N after taking for 1-2 days his running nose stopped n he actually didn't see the doc for the next 6 mths. Then another 1 yr while I was preg with Ember. Not sure if it was cos he was older so immunity is better too but I'm sure the sambucus helped alittle.
His last minor flu I jus let him take sambucus intensively till he recover which is abt 2 wks. I also let Ember take it now when she has abit of running nose.
But my Pd like dun really like sambucus. She always give Kolaba which she say is good for flu but it doesn't seem to work for D. She says Sambucus is more for cough n lungs.

I buy the Nature's Way 1 from drugstore normally. Other then sambucus hor I dun self medicate the kids. Even fever I jus use the left over panadol given by pd or polyclinic if I have to or jus rush to PD......hehe

Steph
Dun feel bad la.....sometimes our reflex not fast enough ma.
Not only child will have that kind of syndrom lah. My hubby has 4 other siblings lor n I always have to remind him our family consist of me n the 2 kids while he jus come back n sleep nia. Like hotel lor. But he does the chores every night when he comes back lah but becos its the same things he does every night. He is that constant lah he dun do extras lor n I must spot check every now n then 1. Worse then a maid lor.

Serene
Oh dear, poor Kacey. Hope she gets well soon.....hmmm caught from Polliwogs?? Think alot of kids there that's why easy to catch bug.

PB
Aiyoh!!! Hw can they do that?? Ain't poppy apart of u?? Wat the..............

Dustee
Then maybe we gotta try to sanitise our kids ourselves more often. Normally if I remember I will spray their hands when we get out of those kiddy areas cos E still will put her finger in her mouth on n off. N definately before eating will sanitise hands.
N now I abit kiasi to go Polliwogs liao......hahaha

Steph, Chumint
Actually I realise quite alot of hotels are not baby friendly. I BF D outside with a shawl during 1 wedding dinner n I had to change his poo filled diaper in the stroller during another wedding dinner.

do1nk
BbG sure talks alot!! I'm still waiting for Ember to say more words. But seems that cos we can understand her well enough, she doesn't seem to want to talk although she could easily. Cos I did Sssss with D n she picked it up n keep saying. Then I said SHOES n she did. But it was never repeated lor.....arghhhhh

Lantern
U mean the very very small jus nice for our bbs size 1?? My hubby got those n Ember had a fun time banging n throwing hers while the other kids n D hold theirs with the real candle.....hehe

Rena
Try to let him live the rest of the mths happily and do whatever he wants instead??
Look more on the bright side okie every cloud has a silver lining. Chin up!!

Baby accidents
I normally go "Its okie" (I guess) cos D picked it up n always go "its okie" to meimei when she cries.

bbG,

I normally use wet wipes outside. agree tat ple might not like if u use common basin. unless it really dirty n no availble hose. but then i dun really wash cos it really cold n u had to do it quick.

Rena: *big bear hugs* stay strong and hang in there ok? Make the most of the precious time you have with your dad and make him happy.. we are always here if you need a listening ear..

Smiggle: you poor thing… did you eat something bad? Drink lots of fluids n rest.. u will be ok… and hey.. u r so young.. lots of time to recuperate and boost your health to prepare for no. 2.. dun worry!

Juz read about the difference between sambucus and sambucol.. wonder why they say Echinacea may not be right for babies or nursing moms.. coz I’m currently giving bbG dat! Anyway wanna get a bottle coz heard it’s good for mild flu and fever.. bbG has downed so many bottles of baby panadol

Dor: you sanitise the kiddos’ hands with those alcohol hand santisers that dry up on its own? Do we need to worry that the younger bb’s still stick their fingers in mouth and will ingest it?

bbG all set for mid-autumn festival!
3042929.jpg

drowning in emails after last week's leave.

such a cute pix of bbG!

esquare,
prayers are w you and family during this difficult time.

smiggle,
you and kayden get well soon!

random musings
lately bcz of C2 making me lie horizontal as soon as i m home, i have been giving C1 a lot less attn. big time guilt gnawing at me! how do mummies with more than one cope w this feeling?

cellow

*pat pat* when i was in my first 3 mths, talia was about 1 years old. I had to be on my back most of the time too as I was too tired and I didn't dare to carry her too much, esp the first few mths. but what i do is i lie down on the sofa NEXT to her and interact with her even though I can't move much! haha!

and after thaddie boy came out, i battled with this guilt constantly, even now. but it does get better because the things i can do with the girl, i can do with the boy now, for instant, read to both together, let them play toys together. Hang in there!

bbG

wow so cute the lantern.... i only manage to get those super noisy one for ryane...ultraman

emmm got diff btw sambucus and sambucol ah... so which is better? Dor will u be ordering soon... can help mi order if u ordering cos i also heard that sambucus and sambucol much better than panadol...so thot of buying to standby...bout how much huh?

michelle
at least you strike quite often.
i have never strike 4D before let alone toto...
i have got totally no luck.

bbG
that so cute.
barbie has one similar shape, different pattern.
and she has 3 lantern liao.
the other 2 are super annoying ones.

esquare
hug hug

smiggle
seen a doctor?
i also kanna the LS virus few weeks ago. in fact whole family got it loh...
so must be really carefully. get ur helper to disinfect the whole house before someone else caught it again.

i'm super pissed~~~~~

i tried my first pumping this morning immediately after latching, only got little milk.
then my CL commented "pump only so little?"
Me: just after latching what
CL: why not u wait till full then pump?
Me: wait till full then baby is hungry liao

I really hate people who don't understand breastfeeding much to comment so much. how much and when i want to pump is none of their business!!!

then she always keeps asking me i feed ji3 li4 (how many "balls"), initially i would answer her one side or both sides. then she went on to comment one side only where got enough. but my baby drinks until he spit out my nipple! baby knows he is full or not what.

the first week when baby took a few attempts to latch on successfully, she always stood there and watch, like watching soccer game and kept saying "eat liao" when baby was still struggling. i was so pek chek that baby couldn't latch and she was so irritating. then finally baby latched on, she was like watching soccer went into goal and commented.

BF-ing is my and my baby's affair, even my hubby doesn't comment so much, keep giving me encouragement. i really hate other people (even my MIL) to comment so much when i BF or pump.

just now i told CL don't ever comment on how much other people pump, though she apologised, i still feel very angry

cellow
don't feel guilty... then i should be more guilty coz i was pregnant when XP was only 6-month old... i wanted to much to be the one who holds her hands to teach her walking, but i couldn't as my tummy got bigger.

i usually sat down or lie down to play with her, talk and sing to her... when she crawls away, then i would take out another toy to make her come back to me.

cheer up

cheer up waiwai! she will be gone soon.

one of the reasons i like my CL so much was that she has very high EQ and because she breastfed her 5 kids, she knows the issues with bfing. i didn't have too much milk initially too and she was very encouraging, helping me to get baby to latch and keeping her mouth shut when she should.

most pple talk too much when it is not necessary! hope yours will shuddup now that she knows you don't like it! if not, give it to her again! grrrr!

Esquare,
it must have been really tough on you. does your mum know yet? i remembered you mentioned didn't tell your mum abt your dad's condition. most important thing now is to spend more time with him i guess. birth, old-age, sickness & death are things in life no one can escape. you take care!

smiggleprincess,
hope you & kayden are feeling better today. and erm... not all female bosses are mean and un-sympathetic lah. some male bosses can be quite nasty and heartless too! most important is nice work environment and nice boss, male or female doesn't really matter. good luck

dor_dor,
at least your husband does his share of the house chores. positive reinforcement may encourage him to do a better job next time?! it's fun having 2 kids around isn't it?

Cleaning BB outside:
unless there's a baby room with tap else it's just wiping clean with wet wipes only. think our hotels here shd learn from some of the shopping malls!

do1nk,
great shot of bbG you have there! and the lantern is very nice too. my mil bought a helicopter lantern for my boy c/w techno music and blinking bright lights. gave me headache only

cellow,
me too. i've been trying to be as loving to #1 as i possibly can and whenever i can. but it's just so trying on my physical & mental states now. sometimes i have no choice but to tahan and turn a blind eye and let my helper take over.

oh, mummies
any one interested in sharing the CB calendula cream?
my supply running low liao. need to top up liao.
anyone want to share.

$9.99 USD each (i need minimum 6)

Qing,
I wan 1. Thanks.

Rena,
be strong. He needs ur support. Know is hard on u, but do wat's best for him now. =)

smiggle,
hope the two of u are feeling better now.

serene,
how's kacey? Bosco still have mucus but is drying up. But he is having cough now. haiz. just dun seems to end. Been coughing thru nights already.

bbG,
BbG looks so handsome! hehe..

Dor,
Belated happy birthday to D. How's the party? he manage to smack to pinata? lol!

cellow,
nx time if u decided to give us a surprise visit must bring cedric along k?
anyway, bosco dun seems to like the rice cracker already and i have one pack unopen. u wan?

and hor,
calling pettygal,
you havent collect ur items lehz.
when can we meet huh?

and doggiebb
do u still want the CB cream. urs is still with me. got 2 i think.

10 Oct 330pm@ UE Square

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) Do1nk and bbG
3) Doggiebb and Thaddie
4) qing and Mr Q and Barbie
5) Dustee and Pomfret
8) Youpi & L

10 Oct 330pm@ UE Square

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) Do1nk and bbG
3) Doggiebb and Thaddie
5) Dustee and Pomfret
8) Youpi & L

I will ask my SIL wanna bring my nephew there anot. hehe.

thanks, doggiebb, waiwai and steph!

waiwai,
she will be gone before long... bfdg is very personal, i know how i will explode too if sm1 says smthing like that to me.

this morning, HB said if my milk not enuf for #2, then he ll feed FM to C2. wah, make my blood boil only.

holly,
sure! we talk by PM ok. since unopened, i buy fm you la. i dun think i will be hefting C1 around for sm time, at least until my 1st tri is over.

cellow,
ho ho ho.. ur 1st trimester is going to b over soon wat. whahaha...

ur hb is trying to b nice by saying that la. he dun wan u to be too stress ma. cool ok?

no need buy la.. haha.. just pass to u when i see u lo. =)

waiwai
i will explode too like cellow.
they never do it before they wont know one.

holly
u even help cellow keep track of her pregnancy lehz.... heehee

and hor...

it has been very very very long since we have a <font color="ff0000">lunch gathering</font> liao.

opening one.
this week or next week.

Date: Friday, 2 Oct 2009
Time: 12pm.
venue: erm.... any recommendation. cannot be too far lehz.

1) QING

qing,
last week met her n she say 10weeks ma. LOL!!!

friday lunch ah.. tell me the venue n i'll confirm again. need to bring mooncake? haha. try not nx week la. nx week my monster mom is ard. i think i wun be free.

hi hi... was out the whole morning..
E2, take care of yourself take it easy hor...

wai wai, think it is good that you ask her to keep her comments to herself.. must stand up for your own right.. afterall, her job is to make things easy for you, not to make you feel worse.. else return ang pao give small small ah! haha... kidding lah. hope you feel better after venting..

cellow, dun need to feel guilty, its for C2 mah... make sure you still spend time with him on some less strenous activities, like reading, playing toys etc, plus, this week you all leaving for perth liao, right? (then your helper how?)... i have a friend, tummy sssoooooo big already, still carrying her 2yr old around and squating up and down playing with her when they came over to my house.. wah.. pei fu....

qing, any good news so far? :p

LOL on holly tracking cellow's preggy timeline..

bibinogs on 10 Oct.. anymore any more??? the deposit paid liao so it is confirmed liao loh..

thank you cellow for going down to make the payment...

holly,
since i went to bibinogs this morning to make payment.... the class is from 7 mo to 17mo. yes the 11mo def can join the class!

10 Oct 330pm@ UE Square

1) Michelle &amp; Ethan
2) Do1nk and bbG
3) Doggiebb and Thaddie
5) Dustee and Pomfret
8) Youpi &amp; L
10) Jasmine(Holly's fren) + JanJan

that makes it 10!

waiwai
how to find out which are the 'good' schools? i got the revised offer already. pay not very good. still thinking whether to take it up....

help!!!jx has been really bad tempered lately! me going nuts with her temper. screaming away non stop and refuse to let me put her down. refuse to do anything also. only wants to be carried yet when i carried her she will struggle to come down...the only time she is better is when we go out...

my new maid also driving me up the wall....imagine, she wanted to put jx's apple into the sterilizer to steam!! almost faint. i told my hb he can go tell his boss he cannot come home too late this week or he will be a widower as his wife will burst an artery due to blood pressure shooting up from the maid's antics...

qing
next week lunch can? this week i got appt liao..plus next week maybe can have car cos hb got overseas trip..hee

holly
think at this age, they recover slowly from cough and running nose. esp with bad and hazy weather, it is worse!

bbG
jx has the same lantern!! i shd post her pic with it too. i took a shot of her with her lantern also...

smiggle
oh dear, must clean all the toys. sanitise everything regularly. i remmeber when jh small and he got LS, we quickly ask maid to clean everything with dettol.

dun worry sure can give birth again. my health also terrible esp after giving birth to jh....so i make sure i do a good confinement after giving birth to jx.

waiwai
your CL really irritating....good that u told her off or else she won't know how irritating she is