1) Michelle & Ethan
2) Do1nk and bbG
3) Doggiebb and Thaddie
4) qing and Mr Q and Barbie?
5) Dustee and Pomfret
6) Steph and Elliot
7) Holly, Mr H and Bosco!!!

anymore?

both my kids have runny nose but it's due to sensitive nose n not contagious ya.. in case we do go polliwogs n u mummies get worried.. they have runny nose very often whenever weather changes

haha michelle. i think this craving needs more than lying on the floor and crying. it is still a dream though. and one can dream. i will go buy the local lottery tomorrow. just in case. la de da

morning mummies

do1nk
thanks for the concern.. his fever is gone le.. I used the suppository when his fever hits 39 degree at night. The indication was to use it if >39 degree.

dustee
wow... your mil is really a control freak:p

polliwogs
it's only $8 for unlimited play!!!?? where is it though? maybe can find a day to bring hao ran to play

Serene,
Jace in Taipei still issit?

Rayna,
OH NO!! WHY? LOL!! Miss her already eh.. =( i still tot of burning her bdae pics n video into a disc for u.

Chumint,
Is at East Coast Park. The Burger King there.
Yes, is unlimited play de.

wah... dustee, your MIL is lucky she doesn't have mich as DIL leh..sure got post-it-war wan.. haha

pink auntie.. when r u coming back to eat char kway teow?

polliwogs.. so wanna go.. someone organise on weekends?

bibinogs

10 Oct 330pm@ UE Square

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) Do1nk and bbG
3) Doggiebb and Thaddie
5) Dustee and Pomfret
6) Steph and Elliot
8) batgirl, batman and wuffy!!

10 October is gg to be a real busy day for me!! chiro in the morning, birthday party during lunch, bibinogs in the afternoon, wedding dinner at nite!

Phew!!

Polliwogs sounds so good! let me call my parents, dunno if the window grilles have been completed. fixing the window grilles today...hohoho...

Just call Polliwogs, for the unlimited play for toddler area price is the same. $8/entry (include weekday & weekend)

did the lantern gathering on 3/10?

holly,

bo pian lei. weather not good. then i sure kena flu and cough lor. actually recovered once liao. but still get it now.

so got to avoid going today lor.

don't worry, i'll bring her out to play when i recover ok.

Rayna,
speedy recovery. take care

Pre-war conserved shophouse:
Dustee, Pb, check out my "Postcards from Singapore" photo album on FB. you will love a couple of photos i took some years back of a row of beautiful restored shophouses!
i used to stay in one of these during the 70s. they were all demolished in the 80s. but don't think i'd like to stay in one now coz most will have pre-war stories. and the beams on the ceilling are supposedly bad for fengshui. hehe...

Polliwogs:
shucks... gonna miss it coz last minute have to come into office. can't remote access office PC from home. mommies & babies have fun and take lots of photos to share

cellow,
i also extremely "ghian" for #2 to be a girl. but given the 2% risk of Trisomy 18, i just wish for a healthy baby now. Daughters are just so different from sons lah... we can share anything under the sun with our mothers. and being a mother myself now, i just feel even closer to my mum. but not towards my mil leh...so biased hor?! hahaha...

gynae visit this morning
tis a ..... single baby! yes that's the 1st thing the gynae told me fm the scan, i see only one baby. i told him... haha, with a toddler in the hse, it better be only one bb... haha.

and bb is 33 mm, 10 weeks old liao. which means... the horizontal tango which worked was late jul.

weather is extremely good now! maybe i shd take a walk to polliwogs to meet the bbs and the mummies. C1 is napping now.

i give up on the to be continued. too many posts to respond to.... war of the post-its and living in shophouses and lotteries! may all our dreams come true....

wow so many mummies going today..missed the fun again...somehow always missed the polliwogs one. i have been trying to go there!!

bbp
u working now? how come have meetings?

dustee
your mil really weird..what kind of satisfaction does it give her to be such a control freak?

cellow
haha you are so funny...good to hear that everything is ok!

dor
almost missed your post abt the book

oh dear, hope D gets well soon or his bday celebration will be so sad...

dustee
i want to go to yor house too!

bbg, SY

wanna go polliwogs tml?
i wan to bring kayden there if the weather is good.

Cellow
how??excited as the 1st time anot???
i so love goin to the gynae for scans...

SY,
Working freelance now on a monthly basis. Sigh, but now the boss say they don't have enough work to keep me on full-time, asking me whether can do part-time or something.

dustee,
your post really cracks me up... :p

haha, i did get outta hse to go to polliwogs in the end... and ended up eating double cheeseburger at McD's w Holly/B and Serene/K.

SY,
tis not me that's funny, tis the gynae.
the thot of multiple bbs din even cross my mind till he uttered that sentence....!

smiggle,
well different feeling when i see C2 on the screen. like deja vu, but different bb ya. smthing inside me softened and melted inside when i saw her/him/it move.

Hi mummies, there's a lady who is selling the SSO baby prom tickets on 11/12/09, 1215pm show. She's selling 6 tickets in T row. I only need 2-3 tickets. She prefers to sell all 6 at one go.

Baby under 2 is foc. Anyone of you keen to share the tickets with me? We will be seating together coz in the same row mah. If so, please PM me quick so i could respond to her offer fast. Thanks. $18.10 each ticket, i think. Around that price, can't remember exact figure now.

bibinogs

10 Oct 330pm@ UE Square

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) Do1nk and bbG
3) Doggiebb and Thaddie
5) Dustee and Pomfret
6) Steph and Elliot
9) Youpi & L

Property dreams
There are some nice ones for rent just next to Newton Hawker Centre, with high ceilings and large-ish balconies. I think they're under Premas, which also used to lease College Green (where Nadya Hutagalong stayed and which I LOVED) until the uni took it back recently. Wait, I'll check... Okay, see this webby for what they have now...
http://www.ugl-premas.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=271&Itemid=362

LOL Michelle to Dustee on Post-its war!

Bbp
You and hb running around like headless chickens? Can't fathom that. You seem to be very together and with it whenever I see you with Declan. And the three of you always look like you're having a lot of fun together, which is great!

Dustee
I also want to go for messy play at your house!

Cellow
All the best for a healthy Clarice
So which gynae do you go to now?

Steph
Can add me to your FB? I want to see the pictures too.

yayy to a healthy little clarice..

smiggle: I gotto work tomorrow leh.. dats why suggested weekends..

hannah: I'm going for the 1030 session for babies prom and got lousy seats! maybe I should sell that off and join you hor...but it's bb's lunchtime leh..

cellow, u r making me so excited over your pregnancy!!

do1nk, i dun know abt the seating arrangements leh. Row T good har? Will be great if you can join me!! Let me physically own the tickets first before you sell off yours leh. That timing also Celeste's lunch time. I'll try to adjust her makan time on that day. Maybe drink milk first, go home then eat her porridge. 1 hr show nia lah.
Then got to be flexible a bit, since no choice also.

Yeah! I am officially back mentally and physically (physically touched down last night but took a day to recover from the trip coz of all the walking ...)

First thing:
bibinogs

10 Oct 330pm@ UE Square

1) Michelle & Ethan
2) Do1nk and bbG
3) Doggiebb and Thaddie
5) Dustee and Pomfret
6) Steph and Elliot
9) Youpi & L
10) Jace + Mr Jace + xun girl

Serene, sorry couldnt make it for polliwogs today

Cellow wow 10 weeks le! So fast!!! So EDD when?? hope is C gal!

Qing, LOL on ur hard work. hope it worked!

do1nk, good to hear that bbG recovered. U are not the only one that is gan jiong. My PD and his nurses all know me le ... and i will keep calling the doc to ask questions hee hee.. better be safe than sorry! It pays off!! Imagine (touch wood) that when u brought bbG to the doc and the doc told u he got something else which requires immediate medication? Just thinking of that is enough to make u rush down to the doc at any time!

batgirl, hi5.. my back is also aching.. why why why haiz

Property talks.
wow u all now talking abt property? Me cannot sell my HDB .. another 2 years more. Hope by then the market is better and i got more money!

Simggle, wow how happened to the toilet piping? So lousy? Complain!!

Dustee, all i can say is u have a high level of tolerance.. if its me, i will have done something else long ago. i canot stand this kind of treatment so i kudos u for this!

A funny conversation with MIL today:
MIL: see the father (my FIL) and son (my HB) walking so fast infront (they are a good 10m in front of me and MIL). after marriage he will walk in front ...
ME: yah lo! i always complain then he will slow down.
MIL: I almost wanted to take a chair and sit down to see if he (FIL) notice it when he walks so fast infront
ME: (almost burst out laffing) I will walk a opposite direction to see if he (my hubby) notice. anyway he say i walk too slow
MIL: thats why u are a lady!

Wow .. thats the sentence of the century!

smiggle
tmr cannot. think will let jx rest for this week. better not bring her out first.

bbp,
so u r working free lance now? since they can offer u part time, why not go for it? so who looks after declan when u r working?

hannah: so you are gonna take up all 6 tix from the lady though u need only 3? or have you found kaki's for the rest?

though mine are further seats.. .dun dare let go in case I can't find replacement tix haha

do1nk, think i need 4, coz i may want to bring my maid along. Dun want to lug a heavy, bulky bag with kids
Haven decided how many tickets that i need though. Maybe nearer to the date when i'm more confirmed then i release the extras.

U need how many tickets from me?

Good morning Singapore! Today brought poppy to the lantern festival which is in the Chinese gardens which is in the botanic gardens. So funny cos I have never been to SG’s Chinese gardens nor lantern festival!

LOL on post-it war!!!

Do1nk
Coming back 10 oct.

Steph
You believe in fengshui? I also heard that sleeping under beams are not good but dunno why. Hehe all got post war stories one ah? Will go check out your pics but… will make me more gian or not? Keke

Bbp
Congrats on going back to work… I guess? I mean congrats I guess? You don,t sound too happy about it

Youpi
Yes!! I love those too. They also have at portsdown. Sigh. All I can do, is dreeeeeeam…. Dream dream dream…

Cellow
Yay congrats on only one baby! LOL. Keep little C growing well!

Jacelyn
I also have another 2 more years to go but that isn’t stopping me from dreaming lol. Hubby even better, humour me and say ‘well we can rent ours out and rent somewhere for ourselves’. Maciam like playing chess like that, moving pieces around

i was just thinking.... when will my SAHMness end? i wonder if i have unknowingly let myself be removed permanently from the working world. what happens after my yet-to-be-conceived #1 turns 18-24 months? the 2 of them go to childcare? or if i wait till they both go to school then what happens after school ends? sigh. all these questions, i never think of. just pop a baby only. anyone in the same predicament or is it just me with bad (no) planning

PB
i also think alot (worry unnecessarily?). I am a FTWM, and my boy is taken care by bbsitter. But there are days i will think how long will this arrangement last? All the way till he goes pri sch? who will be at home to recv him after sch? do we put in childcare even at that age?

and that's ONE child oni leh. cant imagine double the guilt + worry when another comes along...ideally would be gd if can work only half day everyday, but no company will welcome me rt? And i dont think my current company will grant me that too, partly job nature not possible, and partly boss attitude lar. i still rem how my boss told me he was being very gracious to give a good appraisal for last yr liao. Reason being i was only ard for 75% of the time due to ML, so in no way i could perform better than the rest of the colleagues who are giving in full-time effort. *Faint* to think my team won an award for our proj just before i pop! Geez

gosh your boss actually said that?! geez indeed!

just to share. it's 7 bucks a day( plus $1 more if you want diapers) for childcare in montreal. that's so cheap! and that's after 1 year of ML, after which, the co is obliged to take you back. sigh.

PB
that's what i call pro-family measures leh! can ask u something? Have u ever consider working there, cos sounds like a more balanced work-family life there rt?

Geez, i usually more of a silent reader. but reading PB's post resonates alot of tots in me. Cant help commenting here..so hope u all dont find my this 'sudden on-ness' intrusive hor :p

urghz.. we also have "pro family" govt here wat.. MOE always say teachers can take flexi workload etc.. bull!!! been told my part time teaching application nt likely to be approved for next yr! so now i have to either go back full time or resign?! i cannot afford to resign lor.. sighz..

wat's e point of having all these options which are not options anyway?? the reason given for the non approval is also v lame.. coz manpower changes will keep occurring so cannot afford to have an officer on half load?!

sorry just needed to rant a bit.. my sch sux

anotehr classic example... my P actually will reject our cc leave if we cannot provide adequate reason or like documents.. so a few of the applications for cc leave to celebrate child's bday kena REJECTED! coz not good enuff a reason.. teachers got no AL lor.. n by rite the cc leave no need to give reason one wat!! urghz.. it's for us to spend with family rite? n if we have prepped work for e class, no loss wat.. we also r responsible human beings lor

hullo straw! U suddenly pop out haha..

PB: you managed to find lanterns in montreal? haha I have yet to get one for bbG

hannah: so you took all 6 tix from the lady liao? I only need one leh coz hb working.. so it's juz me and bbG..anyone else here keen?

haha where got intrusive. no la.

oh believe me i have given it alot of thought. you know, i even have a business plan all thought up!

it is very pro family yes. ML is 1 year to be shared between husband and wife. medical bills (including big operations like my MIL's knee replacement surgery) are all free for citizens.

houses are cheap too yes (my MIL's 'bungalow' by SG standards *ie no fence* with front and back garden, 2 bedrooms, living and kitchen upstairs, 1 bedroom and den in basement plus 2 bathrooms is cheaper than my humble 3-room tiong bahru flat). BUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUT i cannot deal with the discrimination (we know of non-white but still french speaking people who have been looked down upon at the work place and given second class treatment. what more me), and the cold makes me miserable. i will miss t-shirt and slippers for 8 months out of 12.

transport is also a big problem. in SG we think nothing about sticking our hands out to take taxi cos it's so cheap. and buses and trains are so frequent. the bus that goes by my MIL's house for instance comes 4-5 times a day. miss it and you just have to stand at bus stop and freeze till the next one comes.

the other day we went to meet a friend for lunch - we travelled SEVEN hours in total just for a 2 hour lunch. with a baby, it's very taxing. and on the metro it is very stuffy. i usually feel like fainting. and expensive. bus rides and train rides are all flat at $3 per trip. for us to go to town we take 1 bus plus 1 metro ride so to-fro is $12. imagine if we live not downtown (where it is mostly apartments, not 'landed property' unless you are very rich) but work downtown where most of the offices are... how much we spend on public transport every month!

cars are cheap but parking is not. and is it funny to feel depressed cos buildings here are mostly grey and boring? and how i miss quick, cheap and easily available food.

so yes i would love to have my little house with a little garden where poppy can play on slides and sandpit and go to school and be stress free but it's the little things that make me feel that SG will always be my home. strangely my hubby also does not want to come back to montreal.

it's lovely to experience winter but it's really yucky when more than half the year is cold (winter has the highest suicide rates!). want to go out to throw rubbish also must wear many layers and coat and boots.

like what we've been talking about ... hubbies are usually not so close to family, whereas we, the daughters are. so i would feel more comfortable with my family support group near, even if we may not necessarily see each other all the time. but to my hubby, it doesn't matter much if his family is far away

so it seems like our decision is more in SG's favour. and besides, montreal got no peranakan shophouse LOL!!!

sorry for MY outburst hehe. i am but a lowly cow, considering which side's grass is greener

crystal
my friend used to work for sec school and worked 3 days a week nia. i think it varies from school to school?

do1nk
yes! i got one in chinatown. $1 :D paper kind, not the music kind haha. at first poppy looked at it curiously, then she walked around holding it for about 10-15 mins then smashed it up into a paper ball LOL

didn't know you were a PT teacher crystal (SY applied to be one too right? or was dat in the past) guess that's the trade off for working PT? for us.. can take AL & CC but cannot work PT.. sigh

my dream job is one dat pays thru the roof, yet easy and no stress.. n can bring doggie n bb to work! haha

LOL on montreal not having peranakan shophouses..

though I wish for a nice big garden too like back at home, but I'm thankful of the fantastic transport system and safety in SG actually.. n love it being neat, clean and systematic actually..

pb - yupz.. tt's y i say i hate my sch.. n MOE is not better in tt they will just say everything is at discretion of sch.. so nowhere for us to go to.. u noe wta i mean? anyway a lot of these pro family stuff.. v fake one lor..

do1nk - i no longer will be a PT teacher liao.. altho govt claims got such things and tt it is all v flexi it sitll dep on sch... n my sch sux

crystal, why not apply to change school, cannot? how about just do tuition? at tuition centres? think they pay alright? I think you can write in to MOE also..

where i work here.. realyl flexi and really good.. AL and CC all no need reasons... and I was not penalised for my ML, and that i take time off to go for enhancement courses etc... you know where i work right? I think lbt and bluey will agree with me.. that is why I got a shock when LBT put up on her FB that she is quitting on monday. hahaha :p there are pro-family org here in spore one.. and also very much dependent on your boss.... write in to forum and see if ppl scared? :p

btw, seems like a lot of teachers mummy here in this thread hor... enough to raise a coup? (gosh what is wrong with me and getting ppl to fight a war)... no lah.. just vent here loh...

PB ah PB, come back to spore.. spore need you.... come back, come back..... have #2 first then think lah... everything will fall nicely when the time comes...

bbG better oredi?

michelle
you just reminded me what my uncle said to me at CNY. quote 'you being a SAHM is a waste of your talent. the economy needs you'. it still makes me roll my eyes.

i think by the time i have #2, no time to think liao. will be busy with dirty diapers and cooking and milking all over again!

which reminds me, would be nice to work for an educational institution then can apply for cheaper courses hehe. i'd really like to take a course now, to 'prove' to future employers that i have not been 'idle' all the time i was a SAHM.

do1nk
i read too fast, thought you want to bring doggiebb to work LOL

labbit quit? ya i also thought there was very flexi

ya, LBT gave all of us a shock when she posted she will quit her job on monday.. actually she meant she will strike TOTO tonight.. hee hee...

no no.. being a SAHM is impt cos we are educating and preparing for the future of Spore... it is the most worthy job to do.. even my DIR who is a General, says HE HAS THE MOST RESPECT FOR SAHM and MOTHERS! I love that statement.. (cos that time i told him i need to take 6 days leave to be a temp SAHM haha).. so, dun undermine the worth of a SAHM. In fact, I think we should strive towards being a SAHM so as to prepare Spore with a better future (poppy could be the next PM? :p)

hee hee....

so no matter what, COME BACK TO SPORE!!!! THere is no place like home here....

think lbt dreaming of striking toto too.. for a while i was shocked...dare to post dat? later kena sacked like dat ang mor girl (was in the news?) how haha

mich: bbG's fever gone liao.. dalmatian spots also gone.. :D this time round not so bad... only 5 days ... no cough/phlegm/runny nose and scary 40deg either..

haha! dun think doggiebb wan me to bring her to work.. though we work very nearby now!

imagine dustee's MIL coming home to a totally plastered door wiv notes from the dustee supporters!

crystal

i have same thought as u. i talked to my HOD about applying PT, she said no. of classes will be fewer, but no guarantee shorter working hours, all depends on time-table, which means i can have a class at 8am, then rot till 4pm for another class.

as for maternity leave, i was pissed that i must take 16 weeks in one go, cannot break. some more Dec school holiday is also counted inside. we don't have annual leave, by right Dec school holiday is our annual leave, why should they eat up our annual leave. so this time before they eat me, i eat them first, i took maternity leave 3 weeks before my EDD, so by end of 16-week maternity leave, then Dec school holiday. but my friend's dad who is a principal says it depends on the principal to approve the breaking of maternity leave... too bad my P and HOD are law-by-law people.

as for childcare leave, i just type one sentence to P: I need to take care of my child as the care-giver is not available on that day. but my HOD also very troublesome, keep asking why i take childcare leave. i just say "to take care of child lor" LOL

michelle - ur org hiring?? keke.. can rec me in anot?? hee.. my hb also told me to trf to ur org actually.. u mean lbt n bluey also working there??

waiwai - i got a D last yr.. coz of too many MCs.. my P actually asked me for proof of MIL being not avail to take care of kid.. meaning like MC/passport?? siao rite!!! u teaching JC? i on half load now.. n my school is so stinky.. only cut the no of classes.. all other admin duties status quo!!!!

to all mummies who are teachers,
Dint know that MOE/sch is so not-pro-family (equates anti-family?)...what's the pt of allocating CC to people who cant use it for caring their child? Reminds me of those companies who bosses frown on staff that are on mc

Michelle
Ur dir is a General? U working in army ah? Agree with u that it all boil down to your boss. Think my previous boss will have no issue granting me part-time and will definitely be more appreciative of my contribution despite my '3mths absence'

Dustee+post-it notes
U gals better restrain yourself from decorating the whole house with post-it notes. Then again, now sticky comes in so many colors, makes a pretty mosaic haha

I hate bosses to ask for reasons for leave/MC/CC. I mean, we are responsible adults. AL/CC are our entitlement, we take it at the time we want, as long as work is not compromised. I am not sure of school, i mean, i can totally understnad if you are not around, then the students how? do they bring in relief teachers in that case? or the kids get to sit in class and read a book? cos it seems like being teacher, your absence is very obvious and impactful, as opposed to office work, time is more manageable...

Crystal, PM your resume, and I see what is suitable here..