(2008/07) July 2008

smiggle
oh my gosh! a stranger popped a gummy into kayden's mouth??

thanks girls. sigh. really la. this is the only place i can rant.

i'm not being anal about feeding poppy but like doggiebb says, the kids have their whole life to eat junk food and it's so grrr when someone else 'open sesame' for me.

sigh, yes only 4 more weeks. but 4 weeks of concentrated MILness. guess what. today we bumped into her friend and she did not even introduce me. just went ahead and talk talk talk. then i walked away, and she beckoned us (me, hubby and poppy) to go over. only then did she intro me. after hubby, after poppy.

maybe i am being too sensitive. maybe not. 4 weeks, 4 weeks. ommmmmm

Pb,
my son has the toy in English & French. mil bought it from Robinson at Centrepoint many months ago. not sure if they still have it. i don't mind lending it to you but the backside part can't make any sound now after my son kept throwing it on the floor.

you are very lucky coz mil stays on the other side of the globe. mine stays with me... so its almost 24/7 and best part is she is the 99.9% give in & super doting type of grandma. if my hubby lets her, she'll probably let my son sample everything she's eating. at the same time, sad to say, my mum does this too when i'm not around!!! the fact that my son has eczema and his daddy has childhood asthma didn't scare the 2 grandmothers!

everything seems quiet recently... even on FB... hahaha...

Finally I got time to BREATHE and not thinking of work!!

Polliwog, what is that ah? quite cheap hor, 8/hr?

bbp, how are u gg to let declan play the paint? cofine in a small corner? I think if cleaning up also shiver liao. haha .. not only the child but the floor and everywhere leh!

PB, Just rant here!!! Ren! Ren! Ren! 4 more weeks only!! Do more activities to take ur mind away from that.

Michelle, oh no! Hope Ethan is well. Hmm but wow its the first time he is sick. Mine fell sick for the first time at <2m old lo ... i felt so lousy then ... Take care!! And seems like Ethan is all grown up yah! Wanting to sleep in his room only. Great that he is settling well in his own room. Maybe u move a ti lam into his room and sleep with him so that it is easier to pat him back to sleep?

Holly haha i only remember u asked me someting from taipei. but hor, i totally dun remember what was it! I tot u wanna me buy some stuff.. haha still a lousy brain i have.

Preggie colli,
Just being kay poh. My colli is due to give birth next month. THen guess what? SHe is still so thin lo! only put on 7kg and all the limbs are still looking fantastically thin! Hmmm hope i can be like her next time! haha... but hard la. I so tam jiak.

Work,
Haiz hope it will die down soon. I am so swarmed ... sob sob sob

Re PD vs GP,
I personally prefer PD. Because there was once bbx had diarrhoea, so my mum brought her to the GP downstairs, spent 50+ bucks and then sill didnt cure bbx. We brought her to the PD after 1 day or 2 and just 2 doses of medicine and she was cured. but of coz price higher.. so from then on, i just bring bbx to PD... haha my own experience. But now she older think can go GP hor..

thanks steph but i think i will buy it
if anyone goes to robinsons can help me check if still got please? gam xia!!

update! we brought poppy swimmming here. heated swimming pool is great! and so funny, she had to wear swimming cap. we too. we looked like idiots but she looked so funny.

it's so family friendly. got family changing room, and special timings for baby swim time cos there are baby trained (in case of emergency) lifeguards on duty at those times.

i thought poppy must weigh more but she's only 10kg. unless there is something wrong with the weighing scale.

wow jacelyn, only put on 7kg! baby is tiny?

michelle
is ethan better now?

MIL
at least you girls don't have to deal with 'racist' MIL
poppy blabbers alot of gibberish and MIL says 'she must be speaking chinese cos i dont understand anything'. i think that's quite rude la. i said 'it sounds arabic to me'. she said 'it sounds chinese to me.' so i just said 'well not to me!' like joking a bit. humpf!

i'm always the one feeding poppy and giving her milk. when she's fussy, hubby and nobody else takes over. but when i take a break and someone else feeds her, if they cannot manage, if i don't take over, it becomes ME the bad parent. what....????

Jacelyn,
Gp vs Pd.
To me they are the same in terms of costing due to medication.. Only thing cheaper is consultation.. But my pd charge me lower already coz the no. Of times I see her is very scary.. She once commented that pp who have 4-5kids also dun see me as much as you..

I think pd or not depend very much on kid ..

PB,
hehe i saw it at robinsons (centerpoint) today .......... but cant rember how much .........

Kitchen Sets,
those who want to get the kitchen sets toys r us is having sales check it out ......... think it $79.90 .......

smiggle,
no i din take. was thinking if we all can gather abt 6 babies together, den the 6 mummies can split cost. if not the nx trip i go i will tk it up. hubby like the place coz they have a cafe just right beside the playground. n my in laws can rest. oh! coffee and tea is free!

sy,
i dun think so. the price is for babies under 2... think jh can't share...

jace,
is a playground. uploading the photos in my FB maybe tml. u gals can take a look at the place.

haha.. u already very wu xim to remember i asked for something. =)

15sep,
going where? i wanna join in can?

pb,
mil again.. my mil gave bosco chips to eat when 1 min before she did so, she told me "babies dun eat too much junk food la."

enjoy ur trip lo.. negative tots just throw at the back of the mind ok? =)

Michelle,
You should be glad that Ethan likes his own room! This shows he is independent! I wish Declan would just continue sleeping in his cot lor. But he always wakes up at least once during the night to complain and we will just bring him to our bed cos we are too tired/lazy to tahan his nonsense while we are half asleep.

Jacelyn,
Haha, everybody has been asking that question. I'm going to let him play in the porch lor. Then cleaning up will no longer be an issue mah. Haha. If HDB flat right, then play in the corridor lor.

PB,
I think I would have told MIL "I'm VERY sure she's not speaking Chinese, cos I don't understand her either."

Rena,
Open house when? Cos I'm THINKING of going KL Wed-Sun but haven't decided.

holly
are you talking about 6 mummies sharing polliwogs? when you girls going? if after mid oct then can count me in!

bbp
haha i think i may have said something like that too in addition to 'it sounds arabic to me!'

thanks everybody. Ethan's cough is gone. Jus last night was complaining to hubby why the doc gave ethan a minty spicy cough mixture (ethan still take it like its sweet) and not those sweet ones for kids. Then whole of last night din hear him cough liao. Hubby say dun care its sweet or spicy. As long as it cures. Ha ha. But glad its over so fast. This gp is our family doc and we like him. Dunno how much it costs tho cos my hubby company pay.

Pb, why you din joke back. ' you think its chinese? Wow, if it is, poppy, you are such a clever gal!' hee hee...

Dunno where to go on 15sep yet but lets go somewhere! Hee,

Yes, i know i should not complain that ethan can sleep on his own in his room. Jus that i thot putting him to sleep with us is his 'privilege' mah, furthermore, when he sick mummy would like to sayang him more and be there with him loh. As it turns out, having him in our room is our privilege instead. Ha ha.

Michelle,
horray that ethan is better.. How is his finger? Poor boy..
Btw what is the name of the medication tat your gp gives?
Actually I perfer spicy than sweet.. Coz sweet has sugar content..

Pb,
actually ang MOHs are racist.. Well it's in their nature..
I really like the temperature over at your side....

His finger also heal quite fast, the peeled skin now got a piece of brown skin over.. doesnt bother ethan tho.. like not painful liao..

the cough mixture is Mucolexin, green colour one.. its for cold cough i think cos ethan only coughs at night and doesnt sound like got phlegm. but hor.. thought just now heard some phlegm in him.. so i will keep monitoring.. doc also gave some nose drop for just in case it develops into flu or blocked nose...

rena
it is 16 degrees now but doesnt feel like it! sigh yes very racist cos alot of them think they are superior

michelle
ya hor i should have joked back! but it takes alot of control just to refrain from rolling my eyes!!!!

PB, she can't be racist cos she has you as a DIL! anyway, nex ttime, convert all her racist remarks to praises instead, and she will stop saying it in front of you.. at least that makes you less irritated hopefully.. haha

so poppy enjoying herself so far??? Other than the MIl factor, are you enjoying yourself???

holly
u mean the 6x can use at one at,meaning one mummy buy the 6x then immediately transfer to the other 5 mummies ?u get wat i mean?

Hi mummies.. having a good weekend?

Realized that the leapfrog walker is not as good coz bbGs legs keep kicking the wheels as he tries to walk.. n the Vtech one seems better coz wheels not in the way..

Cellow: are you going for those farm stay or little country house stay? Perhaps they have pots n pans so u dun have to lug rice cooker along? Coz u need stuff like knife to chop up the ingredients (cannot fly wiv knife right?) planning to shop for rice and all at the supermarts there Im sure?

Anyone driven long distance wiv bb yet? Dun dare take up the challenge yet as bbG starts to fuss after 45 mins in car.. thinking of buying those portable dvd player .. anyone knows of good lubang or brand to look out for?

Wah didnt know there were so many autistic kids out there.. and wow! Wufeng &amp; Declan had theirs already? But good lah, at least they r fine.. no need to worry about this liao..Im gonna wait.. as long as I can.. keke

Poor ethan: unwell for the very first time! Hes one healthy little fella! And the poor little kiap-ed finger.. happened to bbG before too.. esp when our doors super heavy wiv the pulley thingy too!

PB: oh no.. we all thought you had the perfect MIL everyone loved.. think most of us all would react and feel the same way as you..take a deep breath.. but we cant possibly control everything.. and a little wont kill.. dats how Im trying to console myself.. and learn to accept that there are stuff I gotto let go of sometimesbut of course must know where to draw the line too lah haha.. but dor is right.. shes across the big round globe the rest of the year.. mines in the same room sniff

Esquare: your ILs stay wiv you too?

Messy paints: how about diluting it a bit if you wanna pour out lots for them to play wiv.. I dun think I can bring myself to let bbG play wiv dat leh,. Think u all could see I was one of those at the side and not right in the middle of the paints dat day hehe..

Jacelyn: slim down big butts? No idea though Ive got one too.. not in proportion to the rest of my body.. duh!

15 sep sounds happening! Haha maybe I should take leave too!

Juz attempted to trim bbGs fringe again and yikes.. hbs gonna flip when he gets back

my gym open house at tampines
gals, my gym is having open house at tampines junction,free trial lesson.

Bbg
me too trim T's fringe, she stop moving when she finally understand wat i trying to do but too late.

phyphy,
ya

PB,
think i will go again when u are back.

bbG,
we drove bosco to sunway lagoon. he whole trip also never fuss much. 4 hrs trip think he fuss for less den 45 min.

i am dying soon... bosco is teething again and apparently this time seems worst. last night he slept at 12am. woke up at 3am, 5am, 6am, 8am, 10am. me n hubby are both dying soon.....

Esquare,
i dunno also. my mil heard from her friends Leapfrog magnet good and educational so she bought lor. so far i only seen English &amp; Spanish for other Leapfrog toys.

not all ang mohs are racists lah... if they are, we won't see so many mixed marriages and cute Eurasian babies around
but so far, personally, i find those French-speaking ang mohs a bit more discriminating.

Holly,
we can shake hands liao. my boy has been doing that for weeks till i lost count liao. he slept almost 9pm.. woke up at 12, 2+, 4+, 5+ then 6+ for his morning milk... that's why i said i'm on the verge of asking for sleeping pills hehe...

Michelle,
does Ethan tend to have phlegm often? my mil bought "hou zhou san" (cantonese) for my boy coz he had been having a lot of phlegm since birth. i started giving him weekly dosage when he's around 8 months old. he's much better now and i reduced to fortnightly dosage recently. i heard it's not cheap. a dosage cost around $40.

do1nk,
did you use a bowl? hehehe... remember to take photo of bbG's new hairstyle? :p

bbp,

*pat pat* it is ok... I think the PDs have their reason to give the jab so early. It is probably nothing. From what I think and see, it is more of genetic link that causes it. In fact wuffy also took his chicken pox jab liao. so we just jab and jab him. :p

PB, stay calm...u will be back to sunny, warm ASIA soon!

Michelle, glad ethan's fingers and cough are all ok! Wuffy also fell and scrapped his knee at east coast park today... he rubbed his knee cap and complained for a while, after that he is up and walking again... boys will be boys...

so fast take MMR? I thot 18 mth? act I forgotten... haha

poor PB, u back to hb hometown? at least u can rant here... now mummy the greatest, always can do almost anything... once hb take over, is a mess 1 cos they not really so handson... haha

last wkend I went batam w fren! hurray! finally took a good break, with massage and my pedicure... hehe

Free trial my gym: anyone wanna organized a trial class of our own? :D phy phy u going?

LOL on holly dying soon from teething woes.. still no sight of new erupting teeth from bbG whose 8 has been around since jun

Steph I didnt use a bowl..tried to do what hairstylists do leh.. which is to lift and snip.. first few snips.. cant see a diff. snip snip some more and it was OOPS! Now he does look like I used a bowl!

Mummies whos been away from baby: did it feel horrible? Think I got major separation anxiety issues.. have not even gone away yet and Im already feeling terrible..

Batgirl: so wuffy is going for the sat 4pm class this week? :D

Morning mommies,

wanna ask, if we delay the MMR jab, then what abt the rest of the jabs? Are they also delayed?
cos i realise after the MMR jab, M still got 2 more jab. one is her last dose of pnuemmoccos, and another is don't know what booster jab. if i delay MMR, will these 2 jabs be delayed as well?

do1nk,
on my first night away fm C in JKT (biz trip), I cried and cried during the night before going to sleep. however hearing C's happy voice and calling HB helps. tis normal to have anxiety pangs. but u will survive....

holly,
heng arh, those teeth come in spurts. think C's prev nite wakings were due to his teeth sprouting. i can now see 4 more in additional to the original 4 bugs bunny teeth. so rest assured, it will pass. might take a couple of weeks la.

steph,
since you are preggers, then tis the perfect reason to let HB take care of E boy when he wakes during the night, no?

bbp, batgirl,
your PDs would know whether declan and wuffy can tahan the MMR jabs anot la. i pat you both on the back - tis gonna be alrite one.

PB,
i feel for you abt the MSG laden chicken and choc chip cookies and poppy's PJs. tell bluebunny he better take your side in public, else he gets hell fm you in private. but tis normal that he ll turn into a little boy in front of his mum. even mine does.
4 more weeks, 4 more weeks, ooooommmm.

YAY to garfield's batam break!

thanks for the advice on porridge cooking on the go in Perth, doggiebb and SY. is the thermal pot small enuf to lug out? what does it look like, and what price should i pay for it? i suaku. googled and the smallest is 4.5L (??! so big??)
http://www.bizrate.com/tiger-thermal-pot/

still feeling pretty bleah over the lingering flu. now helper has a rash ALLLL over her body, but bo pian, still gotta take care of C while we are at work rite. minimise contact by using nappy cloth while carrying him lor.
and... hor... PB's story reminds me - HB actually called his mum for advice on how to deal w helper's rash. sian. just proves wat i said abt apron strings being always there. i def dowan 30+ year old C to call me and ask me how to deal w a rash!!!! haiyor.

gooooooooooood morning singapore!!!
sigh yes i agree with cellow. hubbies tend to turn into little boys when their mothers are around.

to top it all off, my poor eyes and nose are feeling yucky cos i'm allergic to cat hair. have i already complained about the cat hair? let's just say i have to be extra careful and re-wash spoons before using to feed poppy. sigh.

lucky MIL lives in a double storey place so we have the basement all to ourselves.

poppy now has 12 teeth! gosh!

do1nk
how long you going to be away from bbG?

PB tell me abt it man. My MIL also chu pattern.

Yesterday left xun girl with her the whole day because we had to help my mum paint the house ... went over for dinner and guess what, she told me she put xun girl in the yao lan! And I have already specifically told her not to do it 2 weeks back because we dun want her to sleep in the yao lan anymore ... so my first reaction was: huh. I tot i told u dun put her in the sarong le?
reply: but she dun wanna sleep in the bed. keep crying. so i put her in the sarong and yao .. so that she will sleep.
me: just coax her in the bed.. thats what we always do. wait she want sarong back at home again!
MIL: no la wun one...

Who is she to say that? Who takes care of xun girl during normal days? My mum. Who will suffer if xun girl wants sarong again? My mum! She just dun get it!

Was burning with fire almost. After we left, the first thing i told hubby was abt this. And guess what is hubby's reply: i knew u will say that. She (as in my MIL) just forgot .. its ok...

What the... ...

It just makes me feel that there will be 101 differences if she takes care of bb...

PB
i have long give up hope liao...
so if you notice, i prefer to give her 'adult food' first when we hang out.
we are so desperate to be the no 1 in everything she do. so long i can control i want to be the no 1.

and lets do i count down for you...
ahahah

and whats thay toy..
look interesting. i want too..

Ethan
get well soon ok. the next time we meet, i will get barbie to sayang your little hand.
don play with door again huh...

bbG
i just did that fringe cutting on sat.
before bath time when she is naked on the bathroom floor
i had a super hard time cutting loh.
she keep looking down. i almost wanted to lie down on the floor liao.
and the end result a little too short.

PB
12 teeth, wow..
barbie still stuck with 8 with a lot of drooling...

15 Sept
HOW? i am going to the zoo.
anyone of you interested?

michelle,
are we having another trial class?

qing
that toy is very cool. stick on the fridge then the baby has to match the front and backside of the animal then if correct, the sound of the animal will come out.

here's a pic of my little NI GU when we went swimming. we laughed until stomach ache.

2898789.jpg

Jacelyn

Your MIL only think of easy way to comfort xun girl.

Josh is also still sleeping in sarong day and nite. How did you wean xun girl off from sarong? Does she still nap in the morning?

yoohoo,
rebelbabble mummies! Pls PM me your name to put on the envelope, mailing address + email. only do1nk and batgirl did so leh. you know who you are....

PB,
Sometimes MIL are just like that. Just take it easy and just tahan for another 4 weeks. My MIL - sigh- she approached my #1 when she's doing her homework and ask her something, but my #1 didn't answer her immediately. Wah she got so angry and complain to me that her other grandchildren would never ignore her, always respect her, bla bla bla etc. My daughter got so scared and she apologized immediately but my MIL was still angry. Then she continue on and on like he got so many sons, my husband is not the only son she has bla bla... I'm sure my hb will be sad if he heard all that. So petty over some small things. MIL always complain that my daughter doesn't like her cuz she seldom talks to my MIL. How could you expect one to be close to you when you don't even give affections to them? She sorta expected it just because she's the grandparent. CRAP. Sorry for the rant. I just need to get it off my chest.
She's a pretty good MIL, but then lately she's overly sensitive. Maybe because she's older now? she's behaving like a kid sometimes. Hmmphhhh
Smiggle.
OMG that old man who gave a gummy to Kayden!!!! *faints* Did you tell him off?

MMR
Thanks for all the info about MMR. Emma is scheduled to have it at 15 months. I will delay till 2 years old. Err can MMR jab be taken individually? Like Measles only, Mumps only and rubella only?

Cow's milk
Any bb drink that yet? We had to spoon fed her milk and she refused to drink her morning feed. When we have her the cow's milk - she would ask for more.

Batgirl, me me! gg for the GUG trial class this sat too! see you!!

cow's milk
yah same here. xun girl will ask for me when it is cow's milk..

star, yah i know but hor, there must be other ways right?? why must do the way i already told her not to? haiz... but well i still appreciate it that she will help to take care of nottie xun girl when there is no one available like yesterday la..

about MIL...
that day my MIL gave XP eat creamy bun, then she got diahorea after that. i wonder what other funny things MIL gave XP to eat when i'm not around. a few days ago, MIL opened drawers to take something, then XP put her hands there, MIL kept talking and closed the drawer, poor XP's hands got "giap"! she cried as it must be very painful. lucky it is plastic drawer, else i can't imagine... i couldn't say anything, so heart pain.

then i'm going to deliver this week, see what my gynae says when i see him later... i do appreciate MIL's help to look after XP during my confinement, but i can't help to keep worrying about XP after all these incidents.

PB... Poppy has 12 teeth already! XP still only has 2...

waiwai,
you funny la. clean anus from front to back, so that the sai wont go onto the penis area. usually poo wont kena his penis. usually.
oh, penis clean separately... hmm. how to clean... *scratch head* usually i clean penis fm bottom to top.

even my own mother will do strange (in my opinion) things when she takes care of C. so i cannot fault MIL / FIL when they care for C while we are at work or doing other things. at least they bother lor.

i m grateful.
OMMMMMM to all the things that they do! grin and tell myself it will pass. C is happy and well taken care of - that's the most impt.

cellow yah i know ... i will always pull myself back when i am firing and ask: do i prefer it if MIL is not available and xun girl got no one to take care of? the answer is no ... so i know i must appreciate their help.. but cant help it when there are so many differences ... *haiz*

MIL say cannot bathe bb twice a day. only once. coz it is too 'cooling' for their small body... but singapore is so hot mah ...

FIL gave the wang wang biscuit right in front of my eyes when i specifically told him no too salty. but he still let xun girl take a bite! After that i said firmly no then he take away ..

MIL gave toufu that was soaked in salt to xun girl during dinner ... ...

and the list goes on and on ...
Haiz ...

batgirl,
Same same, Declan also took his chicken pox jab liao.

do1nk,
Nope, I haven't been away from Declan before. Does 2h at night when he's asleep count? Haha. Why are you having separation anxiety anyway? Are you going anywhere?

Cellow,
Thanks... actually you reminded me that I don't really like Declan's PD. She's very pro-meds, which I'm not. After he took his MMR jab, she actually asked us to give one dose of the fever meds first as a precautionary measure. Of cos I didn't follow her advice la. My thinking is, not sick anyhow take meds for what? Then in the end, Declan didn't have fever of any kind at all! In fact, hubby was wondering if Declan actually got jabbed or not cos he didn't react during the jab too!

Jacelyn,
I feel for you. It's even worse for me because I am the one that has to suffer any consequences. So I totally understand.

Sd,
Yup, I remember Sophie has started on fresh milk already and also asks for more.

Waiwai,
You must experiment and see which style suits you. My style is anyhow wipe - front to back, back to front, side to side. As long as the poo comes off. :p

Re food:
My thinking is that we have a very different style of toddler food nowadays as compared to our mothers timing. Cos even my mother comments sometimes that the porridge/fish/etc so plain, that's why Declan doesn't like to eat. But after that she just keep quiet cos she still listens to what I want to do. But you all know what I mean la.

Oh no.. all of us mummies are freaking out wiv things not being done our way! And all these IL woes too.. is this something that we will always have to struggle wiv? Sigh..I need to do lots of OOOMMM too, to stay sane.

LOL on qing almost lying on the floor to trim barbies hair! bbG was playing in the living room with his toys before I had a chance to.. and even with that, he wont let me touch his hair.. kept swatting me away!

PB: poppy looks so cute! Like those professional swimmers leh coz of the cap! How did you find one small enough for her

Away from bb: gonna be a week for me in Dec.. =(

How did you girls train your bb to wear a bib ah? Mine juz hates it and will keep yanking it off

Ok must go read that thread on jabs

declan didn't react to jab?? bbG will major cry for 5 seconds haha

I feel like I'm in a strait-jacket, wiv a big masking tape over my mouth *stuggle* beware in case I let loose and blabber nonstop when we next meet up...