(2008/07) July 2008

POSTING ON BEHALF OF CRYSTAL!

BUGIS Little Neuro Tree is having a 44% discount if sign ups are before August!

Mummies interested in sending their lil' ones to LNT, do check it out!

Steph
Congrats! I totally didn't realise either

Waiwai
My #1 and #2 sleep in the same bed as me too. Both have been woken by each other before, but as time passed, they got used to it and will now fall back asleep quite easily.

SY
I still use the hugs and kisses for #1. If that does not work I use physical humour, like carrying him up over my shoulder and running around, or carrying him and spinning around, or carrying him and turning him upside-down, or tickling him, or playing my fingers along his body, or kissing him all over... or a combination of these. Yes, a lot of carrying is involved as he likes that. He also likes it when I turn his wails into gibberish or make funny sounding words out of them. Then he'll do the same and the funny/strange word game begins. Generally the humour style works quite well on him. And erm, we've started 'shooting' at each other too. I am not a fan of this, but he's a boy and sooner or later he'll be playing cops and robbers so might as well start now lor.

When everything does not work, I resort to threats or bargains, which I'll try to couch in positive mode, eg: I'll not switch off the light if you stop wailing. But I also tell him often (and he knows it well), that "even when I am sad or angry, I still love you very much". And he will tell me when we are at a stand-off, "You still love me very much even though you are angry".

Aiyah, with #1 I tried to be the perfect mum. But it's not possible for me so I just do what I can lor. Realise it's not about being perfect it's about being there for them, and having them know that. It's important - to me - that my boys know that they have support from me and hb. That we are their absolute back-up, and always will be, no matter what. So even when he is tantrum-ing at his very worst, he knows that daddy and mummy still love him. It's easier to get the message across to them when they know that. So I preface and end all the 'discipline' conversations with I love yous, hugs, and kisses.

BUT he still misbehaves lah!

Batgirl, Crystal
Does LNT do trials?

signing in from montreal! we had a fantastic flight to london, spent a glorious 4 hours going to tower bridge and big ben in london (i sacrificed shopping!) and met a lovely SAHM from mauritius on the london-montreal leg. poppy slept though most of both flights BUT when she was up, the whole plane knew.

weather is perfect. we are currently staying at my BIL`s place where there is a swimming pool in his backyard! but it is too cold for swimming. 21 degrees

Youpi - saw you walking from One raffles into marina square yesterday..i called but i think too noisy :p

kite event - might head there on sunday..hmm, but where to park if the main parking lots are full?

PinkB - great to hear that you all arrived safe..21 degress is brrrr.

TGIF!

TGIF!!

PB, enjoy your holiday!

Baby Tantrum
Wow, wise words from all the mummies here... I just realised that Ethan seldom throw tantrums. really very rarely. when he does, he normally just whines a while and I think he accepted that is not going to get him what he wants... at times when he is upset, I will distract him with the tickle, or the "slide" down my legs, he will be happy again... hee.... I will keep Youpi's method in my mind....

LNT
THey do trials, in sets of 3 lessons, 1 english, 1 jap and 1 chinese. $150.

Pats
SY, i selected Pat's as most of my niece and nephew went to pat's and they are so confident and independent.. the school does not focus tooo much on academic, but more of character and confidence building which I thought is important.. and the teacher to student ratio is good, all the teachers speaks proper english. I am also considering Chiltern House, but unfortunately they do not have stuff like D'Story club where I can start ethan there earlier... Chiltern house only takes in 3 yrs and above, i think... so leave my options open, but definitely one of these two. CHiltern house is within walking distance and it has a really really huge playground and kids get to play at the beach and field too.. i like it that it is very open. Pat's schoolhouse at katong is smaller than halifax, but it has a park by the side so I think they get outdoor play too.. I like Ethan to play outdoor cos can "break free" and really explore the nature... and also fresh air, healthier..

aww.. how cute of S to say: You still love me very much even though you are angry

actually that’s how I’d like to bring bbG up too.. and I must really strive to do more OOMMMM’s and remain calm.. coz I tend to be very panicky and easily flustered.. I must not end up being a hysterical screaming mom!

already getting antsy worrying about what bbG is being fed or if he's drinking his milk or sleeping enough while I'm at work.. think I gotto re-read the book I just finished.. the tao of poop... haha

PB: good to hear you guys had a good flight and stopover at London.. LOL on poppy making it known to flight people dat she’s awake.. did she totter around and talk to all of them? Or was she doing the soprano? U have a good time there ok?

Hope the weather holds up well for the kite events! Some people park along the perimeter of the dog run (but must beware of traffic aunties) but I'm not sure which part exactly will the kite event be at…

kite event.
what time will you all be there? early birds get free kites... since I will be at CCK area in the afternoon, maybe can drop by west coast park on way home.... want to meet up?

oh LNT does trials too? have you tried it? coz had a bit of reservations about sending bbG to places like LNT or schicida..but was thinking I could find out more first from trials or the preview talks they hold before making a decision..

r they giving out free kites? I know they have a make-your-own-kite sessions...we r probably going on sat evening..bringing both sons along.. 4 legged and 2 legged (who's walking on fours haha) ;)

yes, Ethan did the LNT trials and now started his second term at LNT liao... in the first term when he was barely 8 mth old, he could only sit still for first 20 minutes, then the remaining 40minutes were a blur. so I stopped and recently let him try again. He can now sit still and interact with teacher for the full 1 hour (only english class, jap and chinese he also blur but can sit still). It also helps that he is signed up for weekday class and my MIL brings him there every fri morning, and there are only 2 kids in the class. so a lot of attention and very interactive.. hee hee.... he loves the singing and music with flash cards..

the class will start with singing and flashing cards according to the songs ( he loves!), and then play memory game (like show him a blue photo for 5 secs, then bring out red and blue and let him choose) - he always choose both haha. then they will have games to play according to the theme set for that day.. then spend 5 minutes doing flash cards for household items, maths, numbers etc.. the flashing are done with very animated theathetrical voice so again, ethan likes... the max to a class is 6, and the kids need to be seated in the chair throughout...

Attending LNT does not develop his social skills and social behaviour, so I am thinking of JG or GUG or D'Story club to focus on his survival skills.

He is signed up for Play Gym which will develop his motor skills and be less a scaredy cat (i dun want a cry baby).. Everytime he comes back from Gym class, he will have the confidence to release his hands to stand on his own.. but only immediately after class.. then after that, dun want liao... I am still puzzled how to build up his confidence to let go his hands and start walking.......

wow that's a lot of classes..but can see you are trying to expose him to diff things..

and how did you decide between LNT and schicida?

schicida is forever fully booked and it is very far. LNT is just opposite my MIL house so she can bring him there, logistic wise easier, and instead of spending so much time at home, just bring him to LNT to spend the useful 1 hour once a week loh... so din consider Shichida yet. LBT is in shichida, i think... can ask her.. cos I recall her comparing LNT and shichida before... and I think she said shichida is better...

but for convenience, i just signed him up for LNT, no loss mah.. hee hee..

michelle,
may i know the fee for LNT pls?

kite event,
planning to go too but should be on sun. any mommies going on sun too? i dont have any kites at home and don't know how to fly one too. ;p

youpi,
u sound like a very cool mama! must learn from u!

pb,
enjoy your holidays! do blog abt it when u have the time.

oh ya, and it helps that my MIL understands english and she does what we asks her to do, so I can fang xin let my MIL bring Ethan to such classes then she can also learn how to flash cards at home.. hahaha... but for classes like gym and JG type, think will be too siong for her to carry ethan to play for 1.5hours.. she is after all, not young anymore..

so therein lies my dilemma, work and deprive ethan of JG class, or bring ethan to JG class once a week at the expense of work... still considering... seriously...

Weekday classes at $550 for 12 weeks. there is an additional $50 for annual membership. the one at parkway, now having 10% discount and 1st timer sign up full term will get additional 3 lessons free (i.e. $540 for 15 lessons).

thanks Holly, bbG, youpi.. that's why i brought my helper along that day. nowadays can't cope with boy alone esp when he's cranky and doesn't want to sit in his stroller.

Michelle,
if that's your mil at JG the other day, she doesn't look past 55! and she's a very attractive & poise lady. and no wonder your son is so sociable and smart... you sign him up for several activities. you're so lucky to have such a "sophisticated" mil whom you can trust your boy with

bbG,
me too like you... i'm 1 kan jiong spider and can sometimes get myself so hyped up i lose my patience. haiz... wish i can be more like youpi..

pinkbunny,
have fun!! my cousin just came back from canada, and i saw the photos... very nice!! looking fwd to wowing over your photos

gtg... bring boy & nephew to gymboree this afternoon so now heading to my parents' place for lunch first. mommies & babies, have a great weekend ahead!

Kite fest
We'll probably be there by 4pm tomorrow, if the weather holds. Do sms me if any of you are there so that we can meet, k?

PB
Glad to hear that you all arrived safely and had good flights. Have fun! I'm looking forward to seeing the pictures too.

Cin_bunny
Issit?! I went to sign #1 up for Little Gym.

Michelle
Wow, Ethan is getting a lot of exposure. That's great!

Missysz
Thanks! I think we all try to be happy mummies to our darlings lah.

Cellow
How was your rosemary chicken?

michelle
wow ethan attends a lot of classes! it helps that your mil can help to bring him or else weekends will be very busy

i think pat depends on branch. my fren went to visit one before and she din like it. said that one was not very clean. did u consider brighton monte? i heard more good stuff abt them then Pat.

youpi
u r good. i lose my patience with jh easily. maybe cos of the lack of sleep or what...but m trying not to scold him so much though sometimes he really ask for it....my hb also look at him and shake head

Ethan enjoys his gym class alot... every time we tell him we are going to gym, he will be flapping his arms and scream... when he reaches there.. aiyo... run wild.. haha... but some swings he doesn;t like he will cry, but I will make him do it over and over again until he stop crying, cos I really dun want him to be scared of the slightest thing...

oh, and now he is beginning to like to play tennis. ya, bought him tennis rackets and he will ask my hubby to play with him.. he will first throw the ball, then pick up the racket to hit in the air.. then throw the racket to chase the ball, and repeat over and over again.. hahaha

michelle,
dun worry abt walking. eventually he will walk. so just chill. enjoy the time he hasn't start walking. coz when he starts, ur backache and headache will start too. Bosco is giving me both now.

PB,
Enjoy!! Take loads of pics to let us see ok?

whahahahaha! TODAY LAST DAY AT SHOP LE!!!!! Yesh! Yesh!!!! I wanna bring Bosco go enjoy wat he missed this 4 weeks. Hooray!

Holly,
Yay on today being your last day at the shop!

I GOT MY VERY OWN ZOMBIE!!!! he started ystday to be more confident n can now walk the entire hall length by himself b4 laughing then falling down on his butt.... really v funny

Michelle,
chill la. he is learning other things. mayb walking is not his thing yet. Ethan boy is after all learning so many other things now.

youpi,
physical humour works w C too.... i play aeroplane, spin him round n round while he is on my shoulder, or turn him upside down (this upsets all the elders, parents + ILs + my aunt, so only when at home alone)
rosemary chicken din hv enuf rosemary! nvm, try agn

PB,
21 degrees is lovely weather in Montreal!

Yay to C walking!!! clap clap..

Ethan is cruising for a long time liao... but when i hold his two hands to walk, he will want to sit down and crawl.. and will keep trying to break free loh...

back with internet finally..

stil sick and coughin.. so cant bring kayden out for anythin...wish i can bring him for classes too.

seems like qing has been mia too..

What Kite festival?? where is it???

Now that kayden can walk, im just busy chasin him down up and down.. this fella can dont wan mummy and just walk away

Michelle, u are good leh. expose ethan to so many things! every weekend, me and hubby will be thinking of where to go and enjoy (for ourselves) then just bring bb along, hoping she will be sleeping then we can chill...

well sounds like i should consider bringing her to some classes ... she is always nua-ing at home!

though a kancheong spider, but I'm taking a chill pill and letting bbG learn and discover at his own pace..

yayy to cedric walking down the hall

and

yayy to holly gaining SAHM status again! :D

smiggle: oh no.. not feeling well? drink lots of fluids and rest well!

kite festival this weekend at west coast park

Michelle
not to worry...my frn bb also walk only at 16mth...diff bb develop in diff ways ba

Smiggleprincess
yup kite festival at west coast park tis sat and sun 4-7pm

Holly
yeah... last day of work liao...

Kite Festival

Mommies going on sat
-ronnxer
-youpi

Mommies going on sun
-missysz

See u guys at west coast... dunno if i should bring doggy alone.....

oh,
never been to west coast before lei..
these few days raining, stil can fly kites???

Tantrums
how to pull kayden away when he wants somethin??
Now that he is walkin, the only way is to carry him away.. what happens if my hands are full??
and he is the type to sit and the floor and scream and cry...

smiggle,
put down your things and carry him away? at least you are calmer and able to deal with his tantrum in a quieter place, w/o added pressure of being in a public area.

some weeks ago when at a fren's place, C wanted to pull smthing of theirs off the table to play. I told him 'no' firmly then he started to wail, so I put him lying down on the floor and walked away (was too hyped up myself to try the distraction method). With youpi's words of wisdom, now I would have told him 'mummy loves you even when i m angry w you. you lie down there until you decide to talk nicely and stop yelling'... think I did tell him the second part.... memories are hazy now.

His godpa, who was also present, looked at me walking away and said 'wow, mummy is very fierce', then picked C up (only after he flipped over and stopped yelling) to distract him with the scenery outside.

That was the only tantrum he ever threw in public.

Maybe you can distract Kayden with smthing that he really likes. C has a book of cars that he really likes to flip, so that's my emergency stop tantrum kit!

michelle

mine isn't walking also. and isn't attempting to stand up on his own too considering the fact that he flipped early and crawled early too. and has been cruising for the longest time. but i figured anyone would eventually learn how to walk, just when, so i am going to just let him take his own sweet time. when he's ready, he's will walk i guess.

tantrums

my #1 is quite mild. and has not had any public tantrums. when she can't get her way, she will just cry pitifully but she can be easily coaxed and distracted. I have realised that the boy is harder to distract but still do-able. and he obeys instructions. when he wants to climb the stairs and I say NO, he will stop there and cry pitifully. then i wave something interesting and distract him and he would forget to cry.

michelle... my gal isn't walking too, and only stand independently for a few seconds. she can cruise around using my study chair. my mum says i started walking late when i was a baby. don't worry lah

my #2 is 3.1kg at 37th week! feel so heavy...

PB... enjoy your trip

cellow... congrats to Cedric for walking

oh doggiebb, cry pitifully not equals to tantrums? then C has not thrown any tantrums at all! i have a low threshold for what constitutes a tantrum then..... :p
always listens to instructions but only obeys smtimes. he is easily distracted by his cars anyhow. throw him a car with wheels to turn and he is a happy camper.

michelle,
picked up my gym's brochure when I went to botak jones for lunch. looks interesting, but had to endure HB's hmmmmmphzzz at the $300 for 8 45-min lessons. maybe bring C for trial class first. Another thing to get off my butt and do!

waiwai,
anytime now! jiayou!
for my own peace of mind, i stopped asking gynae(or rather asked gynae to stop telling me) how much bb weighs from 32 weeks onwards. just whether he is growing ok anot.

hmm.. so I should take the chill pill too.. haha...

btw, MIL just told me, today's LNT jap class, ethan only sit still for 20mins... then bored liao.. aiyo... just as I was saying he can pay attention for the full 1 hour... haha.. jinxed myself... hee hee....

michelle

Jayden oso hasnt start walking also... has been cruising ard with support by grabbing things. but i guess sooner or later he will learn to let go n start walking by himself..Juz let him take his own sweet time. when he's ready, he's will walk i guess. Bcos his ko ko oso starts walking late ard 15mths plus..

tantrums

my #1 he will go 'mad' n super cranky if he doesnt get sufficent sleep at noon nap bcos if i brings him out at noon w/o any nap from late noon he will start his nonsense outside by irritate mi n start to give u blur blur look walking ard in his own world ..then watever i talk to him he wouldnt listen ..Plus Now he's is passing pharse of the stage Terrible Twos..n Hope in two mths time when #1 turns 3yr old all the naughty horrible terrible 2s goes away Soon...

waiwai,
hang in there! soon u will b abt to see the lil junior! excited for u. i wish... here i go again..

cellow, bbG, Ronnie,
thanks for Hooray'ing for me. Feel kinda relive. ho ho.. 1 hr + more i am officially back to a SAHM! Yesh!

Kite Festival
feel like going but nowadays so rainy.. my gal needs a run too.. let me think abt it.

jace,
is good to let bbX go for some classes to know more frens and enjoy more. I still thinking what kinda class should i bring Bosco go. I quite like JG after the trial though. But find it very tiring... FOR ME. =P or maybe was just that day coz i went to tend the shop after lesson.

anymore outing coming along?

serene,
u just nice choose a date that i need to go for a body check up. -.-" can wed? or fri? i dun wan to miss it again.... LOL!!

dunno why.. i had the feeling u will wan it on that day. argh!

6 visits ah.. sounds good to me.. hehe.. but actually abit far from my place.. let me talk to hubby first. shouldn't b a problem la. explorer kidz i also member liao. LOL!!!

re kite festiva
i wan to go but then hor, these few days the weather so bad...so i think i will give it a miss....or maybe will go on sun...

serene
hey was going to ask u when to go gymboree!!
wed think i can't join cos i need to go for recruitment talk at moe so prob will join on fri instead.

Gymboree Free Play (Harbourfront)
Date : 2 Sept
Time : 12-2pm

1) Kacey
2) Bosco

Polliwogs (east Coast)
Date : 4 Sept
Time : 1pm
see map for location
http://www.thepolliwogs.com/

I have check the rates $39.90 for below 2yr old
6 visit unlimited hrs

1) Kacey
2)Bosco
3) sy

can we go a bit earlier? so that i dun need to rush back...

michelle
my hb walked at 17 months only!!

cellow
i do that to jx actually. when she can't be pacified, i will put her on the floor and let her cry. i never had to do that with #1.....

youpi
Must learn more from you. My patience is really drawing very thin with this boy of mine by the day......sigh

cellow
Congrat to C for walking.

Tantrums
Jus cross fingers I dun have to faces these esp major ones.

smiggle

that rate for older kids?i remeber i pay only less than $8 for tess.

if go on actual day,will it be very crowded?