(2008/07) July 2008

what is this Christmas Rock Compilation CD $28? sorry i missed the earlier posts. its music cd?

sy,
which CC jh and jx wil be going?

serene,
i heard polliwogs is fun too but its in the east...v far for me. ;p

YAY! let's hit 20pieces, then can get 20% discount. Orders in by Friday 28 Aug 2359 hours please.

1) Cellow
Christmas Rock Compilation CD $28
Nuritious Facts tee, size S, colour Vanilla White, $25 http://www.rebelbabble.com/shop/nutritious-facts

2) PB
Beatles CD $28 http://www.rebelbabble.com/shop/lullaby-renditions-beatles

3) Ronnxer

4) Youpi
Queen CD $28 (X2) = $56

5) do1nk
Queen CD $28

6) JSP

7) the adorable dustee
nutritious facts tee, size S, colour charcoal grey $25
radiohead cd $28
beatles cd $28

Total number of pieces = 11 (9 more to go!)

serene
i wan to go. my fren was telling me abt it. when u planning to go?

missy
i haven decide which cc yet. still checking out my options. may put them in different kindergarten instead so that they go to sch at different times

Dor Dor
I kaypoh-ed and called The Little Gym.
The new term begins in the week of 13 Sept. Each term is 12 weeks. Cost for the class is $488, plus a yearly membership of $55 (nett). There is an early bird discount if you register by this Sunday, 30 Aug. You get 5% off the price. But must pay by cash, nets, or cheque. The class is on the same day, at the same time. ie. Thurs 1.05pm. Same teacher as well.

cellow,
hope you're feeling better already.

one of the reason why i opt to work part time is also coz being with son 24x7 will really drive me crazy hehehe. so i'm lucky in a way i guess.

SY,
can PM / email me the school you mentioned? i'm staying near that area too. am considering to put son in childcare after he turned 18 months. coz #2 will be born around that time. and don't think helper can cope with 2 kiddos esp when i have to go office. thanks in advance.

GUG trial at united sq - 14 sept
1) michelle and ethan
2) qing and barbie
3) holly and bosco (i wan go there tk ethan's pic again!) =P
4) batgirl and wuffy
5) do1nk & bbG
6) bbp & declan
7) sy and jx
8) steph & painter boy

YAY! let's hit 20pieces, then can get 20% discount. Orders in by Friday 28 Aug 2359 hours please.

1) Cellow
Nuritious Facts tee, size S, colour Vanilla White, $25 http://www.rebelbabble.com/shop/nutritious-facts

2) PB

3) Ronnxer

4) Youpi
Queen CD $28 (X2) = $56

5) do1nk
Queen CD $28

6) JSP

7) the adorable dustee
radiohead cd $28
beatles cd $28

8) steph
coldplay cd $28

Total number of pieces = 10 (8 more to go!)

1) Cellow

2) PB

3) Ronnxer

4) Youpi
Queen CD $28 (X2) = $56

5) do1nk
Queen CD $28

6) JSP

7) dustee
radiohead cd $28
queen cd $28 (changed this. was a typo earlier)

8) steph
coldplay cd $28

Total number of pieces = 12 (8 more to go!)

GUG trial at united sq - 14 sept
1) michelle and ethan
2) qing and barbie
3) holly and bosco (i wan go there tk ethan's pic again!) =P
4) batgirl and wuffy
5) do1nk & bbG
6) bbp & declan
7) sy and jx
8) steph & painter boy
9) dustee and pomfret

is it my lousy memory (did you already announce)..steph, u r expecting #2? congrats!! how r u feeling? totally didn't realise when we met!

polliwogs.. kinda like gogo bambini? still wondering if all those tunnels and slides are a bit too advanced for our little ones.. esp mine who can't even stand unassisted yet...

he's not really keen to sleep too, recently n will cry when his milk is finished and it's time to shut the eyes haha.. good opportunity for me to make MORE milk for him.. round 2 to feed him til he's really sleepy..then won't fuss but will slowly toss about and doze off!

who removed the "adorable dustee" from the rebelbabble BP leh?? hee hee..

sorry mummies to disappoint you, GUG MD has replied that they do not do private trials and each lesson they can only accomodate 3 trials babies (+ their regulars). BOO!

it was fun going together huh? anyone keen to go this sunday..we signed up for the 4pm (or is it 430pm) class!

polliwogs
i feel it more suitable for those who can walk.tess only enjoy the slide.
there will be discount for ocbc card holder,i think its 25% off .

1) Cellow

2) PB

3) Ronnxer

4) Youpi
Queen CD $28 (X2) = $56

5) do1nk
Queen CD $28

6) JSP

7) dustee
radiohead cd $28
queen cd $28 (changed this. was a typo earlier)

8) steph
coldplay cd $28

9) batgirl

nutritious facts tee, size S, colour vanilla $25

U2 cd http://www.rebelbabble.com/shop/lullaby-renditions-u2 $28

Total number of pieces = 14 (6 more to go!)

Ehh U girls make me soooooo tempted to join leh but hor has anyone heard the cds before??
What does it sound like??? They make it so boring it lulls the bb to sleep or what?.....hehhee

Youpi
THANKS!!! *muacks*
Saved me a phone call I should have made days ago....hehe
Thanx thanx, then I shall go down n make payment on Sunday....hehe

do1nk,
Not sure about Polliwogs but Declan enjoyed Go Go Bambini just before he turned 1. He definitely couldn't walk yet, but loved crawling around in the tunnels and around the "obstacles".
His favourite was a yellow tunnel which he kept Peekaboo-ing out of both sides

polliwogs
how much do we pay? from the pictures it does look very "advanced"!

birdpark
anyone brought their little bundle of joy to the birdpark yet? i read on the website they have a wet play area too ( a bit like the zoo one, but on a smaller scale) been trying to convince hb to bring pomfret but i've just been getting a very reluctant "huh?" from him.

rebelbabble
oh yeah i dropped "the adorable" coz maybe a bit shameless to call myself adorable when we have so many true blue adorable babies here. still working on my self-affirmations coz pomfret and her crying tantrums are really wearing down my self-esteem. so weird right? but it really affects me way too much. everytime she throws one of her tantrums i'd just end up feeling "oh no i've done something wrong in parenting again".

morning all..

me sld be gg down to polliwogs today! anyone else wanna go too??? depends if i can get my lazy bum movign also lah.. coz it is v far frm my place

dustee - hugz n kisses to u.. i can truly understand how u feel as my #1 is really difficult till today.. in class ssometimes he wld hit his fren.. he totally refuses to share his toys even at hm n he throws the scariest tantrums (ppl who witness can affirm tt).. another parent even commented tt he has PMS n basically many many ppl have said tt we spoilt him etc tt's y he is like tt.. so sad rite.. n i think only his parents wld find him lovable which i so worry abt.. but i am hanging onto my beliefs tt if we continue to give him love etc he will turn out ok eventually.. since u r SAHM u can be consistent in ur care with promfret.. we are unable to n tt spometimes really makes me v upset.. so just hang in there.. sorry i so long winded..

Dustee

mi went to bird park with ryane national day.Quite nice cos they love to look at birds flying ard so he enjoyed those bird show.And he get to feed the duck. tink when u go they will give u those suggested itinery, they got a few good show to catch. Oh ya and he love the penguine place. The water ard quite small nia nothing much and in a quite ulu area. try to go early morning cos aft very very super hot.

bbG
ryane is attending the sun 4pm class at GUG so will prob catch u there.

bb nap
ryane now also like dropping to 1 nap a day nia.. dunno if he get enough sleep.. n he teething so very cranky too

JG
michelle..will they have wkend trial, if have then i can go

hey good morning Ronnxer!

SAHM laundry concern - the weather has been so wet recently that my clothes dun dry! hopefully tis a sunny day today, otherwise all the clothes go into the dryer.
Been staying away fm office so that I dun spread the germs. Thankful that C's runny nose is cleared and YAY, he slept thro the night.

dordor,
you can listen to samplers of the music here http://rockabyebabymusic.com/ then decide. tinky tonky music, my HB calls it.

Polliwogs
OH it is soooooo near my place! but still lazy to go.

bbp,
LOL on declan playing peekaboo using the slide!

dustee, crystal,
identifying with our child is ok, but not everything they do or dun do reflects on us. I hv been reading some ancient wisdom books fm the buddhist tradition recently, so here is my distilled version
the ego deceives one to think
1. I m what I have
2. I m what I do
3. I m what others think of me
and 4.... (this one I added myself) I m what my child behaves like.
As parents, we have to guard our children agst 3 especially. And ourselves agst 4. So when a new event comes (child's tantrum), deep breath, accept the situation as is, observe wat is happening and put some distance between self and the situation, then the response is likely to come out of our higher self. OHMM!

All v philosophical.. let's see how i react when C throws a tantrum in public ;)

dustee! bird park has one for one till end of august so if you wanna check it out..go b4 month end
..night safari also has the same deal so last night we brought the little bunny there and I think she enjoyed la.past her bedtime also she was not grumpy..hehe.

and dont be so hard on yrself..i think pomfret is very well behaved..all babies have tantrums..they like testing our patience :D

Dustee: do you think our little kiddos are going thru a stage coz bbG does dat quite a lot too, lately! (Cry when he doesn’t get what he wants!) and felt lousy when hb said: see lah.. you are spoiling him and not disciplining him enough!

Ronnie: in case I do not recognise you.. must come up and say hi ok? Hehe.. have always wondered how you pronounce ryane’s name.. like RYAN or rye-anne?

Crystal: have not met your #1 yet.. so do they both fight over toys a lot?

kite festival this weekend @ west coast park, mummies! :D http://www.act3international.com.sg/kitefest.htm

dustee
dun feel so bad okie... i think different bb behave differently... pomfret is probably just being "sai nai"... ernest also have his not so guai days... where he would throw tantrums at every single small things... so i guess they r just testing our patience and see what our response is like...

bbG
i think its normal for all parents to spoil our kids especially our 1st child... but i also strongly believe in disciplining them when they can understand... so now i just try to distract ernest as he wont understand even if i were to scold him...

bbG,
J is the same. he will wail out loud when he doesnt get what he wants and nowadays when he gets hold of soemthing (i.e camera, hp), i can forget abt taking back from him til he is sick of the 'toy'. last nite, he was playing w my camera and refused to return me. still said "ehhhh" when i tried to grab from him. :\

dustee
i went bird park before. pretty nice. a lot better than wat i expect n the shows are quite good

re kite festival
any mummies going? i m planning to go...

SY,
thanks for the email, I will go check it out!

bbs who test the limit
from their point of view, limited vocab, little control over their environment, plus a pure display of all the emotions ranging from joy to sorrow to disappointment... so throw tantrums lor!

do1nk,
if it were my HB saying that, i would hand C to him to gao tiam and remove myself to another room to read my book. better be prepared to back up what he says orrh. dun all talk, no action orrh.

JSP,
^5! distraction is the best, but only works sometimes w C.

do1nk,
Declan is definitely crying and throwing a tantrum when he doesn't get what he wants. He doesn't just cry, he stiffens his body and gets so angry his entire body turns red. Of cos after that follows a gigantic crying bout.

Cellow,
Agree that they don't really get the scolding/discipling part. But it still doesn't stop me from trying it occasionally when I lose my patience.

bbG
thanks for the west coast kite event info...i'll prob pop by on sat since near my place.
Btw wat's ur bb and ur name then can find u at GUG class...ryane pronounce same as ryan... juz find ryan a bit common so we named our boy ryane with a extra 'e' for excellent haahaa... and it stary with "R" and end with "E" just like daddy RonniE.

wow cellow
u r really 'chiam' haahaa

BB throwing tantrum
Jia you mummies...think it's juz a stage...terrible 2 coming...jia you jia you and dun take it too personal...deep breath...count to 10

ok side track a bit bcz need to be ah sum for tonight's dinner... i got chicken and i got rosemary in the kitchen. any1 got a good recipe to combine the 2? yoohoo youpi?

ronnxer,
ya la, early morning chim-ness only. i promise not to inflict anymore during the day.... hahahaaaaha.

bbp,
i trick myself not to lose it by mentally singing a silly song (itsy bitsy spider seems to work, change the spider to C's name, then visualise him climbing the wall, wahahahahaa) and then i m still able to smile at C when he is doing the stiff-body-giant-pathetic-wails-i-dun-fren-everyone tantrum. usually he is done by the time i finish 2 verses of the song. hehe.

yay! rebelbabble BP onz for 10% already, quick quick another 6 more to go, so that we hit the 20% discount.... I lurrrrrve shopping with all of you.

Tantrums etc

L is not tantrumy - yet. But here's my 2 cents: From birth to two just give love. They probably don't understand discipline as we do, so distraction, as some mummies have mentioned, is best. I read once that the more badly your baby/toddler behaves, the more love he needs. Tried that out with #1 and it worked quite well 'cos it's a form of distraction that is welcome.

Eg: when he's screaming and struggling, I just ask him to "come over so that I can give you a hug and a kiss" and voila! He comes over quietly, we hug and kiss a lot, and then we can talk about the incident. Basically the 'give even more love when you're feeling stressed, uptight, and angry' philosophy works for me

bbG
haa got ur sms...yeah hor the current class got 8 bbs and ryane is the only boi boi in class, yeah tis wk got gordon to gan ho with him liao...haa

rebelbabble
yeah... save 2.80 liao haahaa...tks cellow for the BP.. ya hor the link dun have the christmas rock sample hor..

re kite festival
ishd be going too! hee, look out for each other....if can't make it on sat i will pop by on sun. saw the prog. looks fun!

youpi
for #1 what kind of discipline do u use? jh is totally ignoring me at times until i wan to burst man....

cellow
just surf online for recipes. usually i will look thru and pick the easiest one...

Rosemary chicken... goggle and you'll get some recipes, like this:
ROSEMARY CHICKEN

Serves 6.
• 31/2 lb. chicken, thighs, drumsticks or wings
• 2 tbsp. lemon or lime juice or 1/4 c. dry vermouth or gold rum
• 1 tsp. salt
• Freshly ground black pepper
• 2 garlic cloves, crushed
• 1 to 2 tbsp. finely chopped fresh rosemary, or 2 tsp. dried rosemary
• 2 or 3 tbsp. vegetable oil
• 2 onions, thinly sliced

Directions
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.
Trim excess skin and fat from chicken and discard. Rinse the chicken under running water, drain and pat dry with paper toweling. Rub all over with the lemon or lime juice, vermouth or rum. Sprinkle with the salt and black pepper. Then, rub the chicken all over with the garlic and rosemary.

Lightly oil a large roasting pan. Place the chicken in the pan, not touching. Drizzle the oil over it. Set the pan on the lower shelf of the oven and bake for 20 minutes or until the pieces are lightly brown, turning over at least once with long-handled tongs.

Lower the oven to 350 degrees. Scatter the onions over the chicken and bake, turning a couple times, 20 to 25 minutes longer, or until the chicken is golden brown, the juices run golden when pierced with a knife and an instant-read thermometer inserted into thick pieces reads 175 degrees.

Boy now I'm hungry!!

oh you can also search Rosemary Chicken on youtube!

This one looks pretty easy. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IY_UHzPNU5w
the recipe is in japanese, but I guess just the basic stuff like olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper and rosemary.

tantrums...
my gal also throwing tantrums nowadays, e.g. she wants to play and refuses to eat. everytime i would change my tone to a firm tone, look into her eyes and talk to her, then praise her when she behaves well. but my MIL always tells her "i beat u if u are naughty". like that what should i do??

mummies with 2 and more kids... do your kids sleep in the same room when the youngest one is just born?

i'm still thinking the bedroom arrangement for xuan pei and #2. 37th week pregnant liao still have not decided on this :p

Waiwai,
Now my #1 and #2 sleep in the same room. #1 is on a bunkbed with study table below, #2 on baby cot. Sometimes if #2 is awake in the middle of the night, I'll put her on our bed.

Tantrums
Well Emma is also throwing tantrums nowadays, especially when she wants something, she will do all means (cry, scream) to get it. Sometimes distraction doesn't work. She really got a temper. My #1 was quite mild so I was really surprised that #2 was like this. I'll try Youpi's method. Sounds good.

reporting frm polliwogs.. haha

youpi - like tt jialat.. my no 1 super short of love lor.. coz he is so so so badly behaved..
we tried e hug n kiss thingy.. din work.. sighz.. sometimes really wonder y he so insecure lor..

bbg(do1nk),
hehe.. yes i kinda announce when i saw waiwai's post. my #2 edd is mar2010. but omg.. i've put on some 3kg within these 12 weeks... you were bz with bbg, that's why didn't notice my "bump"

Waiwai, when are you due? next week? boy or girl? me too stressing about sleeping arrangement. not really willing to let #1 sleep with maid / mil. but if #2 sleeps with us in same room and cries in the night, will definitely wake #1 & daddy who has to wake up early to go to work. and #1 still sleeping in his cot which can be converted to toddler bed. hb was saying get a new toddler bed for #1 and he sleep with maid while #2 sleeps in cot with us. haiz... i need another bedroom!!! but properties prices have put everything out of our reach.

bb tantrum vs discipline:
my boy cries too over little things. and oh my.. he cries like damn poor thing lor.. but once i realised his tricks, i hardened and ignored him. if i'm in the mood (pregnancy hormones are worse for #2) i'll distract him. DISTRACTION is indeed the most useful tool! after he calms down, i'll try to explain to him slowly the situation lor. not sure if he understands, but sometimes i think he does. so, i think we shouldn't be too hard on ourselves. like what's written in many parenting book, our babies now are old enough to understand many things, but their emotions and speech are not that developed yet. so when they can't express what they want/don't want, they get frustrated too. and since they can't complain in a language we adults understand, they'll resort to the only communication they know... cry & scream! then after they get into that mood, they dunno how to calm down themselves. youpi's advice on hugs & kisses will work wonders here.

youpi,

I will try your method. My hubby always say i should be more patient with my boy.

Cellow,

I will also remember your philpsophy! :D

Kite festival,

I am also keen! but it is always impossible to find parking there...hmmpphh...

Steph... congrats to u! think i should deliver within 2-3 weeks ba, #2 is a boy
really headache... thought of putting 2 kids in same room, but scared they will wake each other in the middle of night. my bedroom not much space to put baby cot. maybe put them in separate rooms for the first few months.

re sleeping arrangement
during confinement month, #2 slept with confinement lady and #1 continued to sleep with us. after confinement month, all of us squeezed in one bedroom until i decided to shift #1 out of the aircon room cos he was coughing. so i shifted to another room with both #1 and #2. so everytime #2 cries i must quickly make her quiet so the bad habit of latching her to sleep started....

batgirl
is it hard to find parking there? i was planning to go....

oh.. i din realise steph was preggy.. congrats! must b hard on u lo. tt day at JG i kept seeing Elliot running away..

i still dun have the courage to get preggy yet. lol..

dustee
Bring pomfret out for walks bah maybe that will make her less cranky?

Crystal
Ohh...hug hug. The fact that you know ur son's problems means you didn't spoil him. Hopefully its the terrible 2s which will *shooo shoooo* go away soon. I am definately crossing my fingers it goes away soon. 1 more mth till my #1 turn 3.
N he's sort of turning a deaf ear to what I say mostly.....arghhhhh
Really acting very much like my hubby(so I have 2 extra walls at home) cross fingers its not hereditry n jus the terrible 2s still at work.

Waiwai
My #1 n #2 sleeps on the same bed with us....yes from birth till now with a little bit of in between on the bb cot. But mostly still a permanent fixture. It helps that my #1 is dead to the world when he sleeps so no matter hw loud #2 cries or hw many times she wake it will not wake my #1.
But it does not work the other way round. If my #1 so much as wake n talk #2 confirm will wake too.