(2008/07) July 2008

I think I am really too protective and not adventurous... somehow I still worry about things that goes into Ethan's mouth.. worry abour allergy etc.. it was my MIL who started giving him her breakf, like bread, steamed chee cheong fan.. at first I grumble, then i caved and let her decide.. so at least now Ethan is starting to take some "adult" food... that day I went to thai restaurant and they ahve this prawn keropok which we were happily eating, and my MIL gave him a piece! i opened my eyes wide open, but upon seeing Ethan happily chomping down the crackers.. i could only keep my mouth shut.. at least the next day, no allergy or anything happen..

so, maybe I am indeed too Kia Si.

I bought the pigeon porridge to try last friday.. cannot leh.. Ethan needs at least 3 packs... each pack costs me $4.20! like that, i very broke leh! haha

wow biangz, my colli got fever (plus her hubby colli are being quarantine) so now doc ask her to go home and watch her temperature... pray hard nothing is wrong.

Michelle, hmmm no other plain porridge? i remember i mixed the pigeon with plain porridge. or with a food jar.
then if not give cereals!

me like u la. very kia si one. but my mum and dad very open to giving adult food. my dad will share whatever he eats with my 15MO niece and bbX. they share fruits, dried food, snacks, fish rice etc. but of coz not alot.

the onlye 1 time i was worried was when i gave bbX the tutu kueh with peanut.

michelle
basically barbie is eating whatever we eat.
like chicken fish rice soup.
those i think she can eat one i give liao.

if we go chinese restaurant, we will order soup for sure and rice.
maybe some fish or chicken or veggie.

if jap rest., i give her eat chawanmushi, or salmon/cod fish without the sauce of cos.

just mixed around loh.

pigeon porridge not bad lehz.
quite nice better than jar food.

Pb
mine the best liao.
i think got all 12 animals.
rem, my grandma give birth to 12...

LOL on the conversation...
what did poppy wear?

Michelle, think of the expensive food for your bb like this: you also eat about $5 a meal at food court. So $4.20 for bb should be ok. My hb told me that when I screamed "expensive" for a 2kg japanese rice at $28 bucks.

Qing,
Same same... Emma also more interested in adult food. She's even eaten french fries and coke. *rolls eyes*

aiyo.. $4.20 per pack, means each meal $12plus.. too ex lah.... i think i bring my own pot to cook better wor.. but than i will be stuck in hotel most of the time. LOL. and then need to bring food flask.. aiyo.. headache..

SD
ya loh,
she love fries loh.
haven try coke yet. don dare...

michelle,
actually u can try rice.
u mash them first then add a lot of soup.
barbie loves it.

I haven quite let bbX eat a full adult meal with me. Usually i bring out cereal + food jar or porridge or plain porridge + food jar :p

michelle, i think rice + food jar ok leh. + soup.

I think of the MSG in soup outside, plus cannot control the way they cook.. errr... and this is in Spore! imagine in Penang night market... errr.. no offence, but even my stomach cannot take it..

michelle

me too lah. talia is 2.5 and only recently, she started to eat outside food. and even so, if its soup noodles, i will dilute the soup with plain water, if its saucy things, i will wash it first with plain water. and i will choose healthier food like yong tau foo, salmon steak etc

even our recent trip to perth, i brought along a thermal pot to cook soft rice for her. well! my thoughts are she has her whole life to eat junk food, if i can still control and inculcate a good eating habit now like no junk food, less salty food etc, i will try to do.

wah liao... so many posts...

Thanks for the birthday wishes! I havent got the time to post the pictures of Wu Feng's party. The pictures are also mostly on my sister's friend's camera too.

Qing, jia you on your #2! I also want..but hubby not keen. He want to get a dragon baby. Wah liao.. I will be very old by then cos I am also a dragon!

Michelle, I also got the sterilising tablets and the microwave bag too. can pass to you.

Jacelyn, bbX's cake is beautiful!

Thats quite true too. Ok so just so that u have a peace of mind and ensure that ethan's stomach dun suffer, bring
pot to cook porridge or
cereal or
mix plain porridge with pigeon porridge or
plain porridge with food jar

i think if i were u, i will bring the small pot, boil the plain porridge and put into the tiger thermal jar. can eat anytime with food jar!

wau lau so many posts... my post become history liao... i never keep in touch lo...

qing, keke i was the one who post the ralph lauren... act it for PB okie... dun blame me

Sy, thxs for the info. maybe i go check out... me super lua to do but guess it time... haha

michelle, u gotta travelling? how long? I also got those tablets, only use 2. so if u wan, can give u too. i personally feel use hot water is v good liao. cos those tabelts got choride smell.. yucks lo... feel hot water even more clean. ya agree outside food got salt n sugar which our toddler shld try not to take too much. but G still like to eat our food... hehe amazed tat this gal can eat rice n biscuits faster than my son...

michelle, if only few days, no need to bring cooker la... bring jar food (if normal rm temp just open n give, but if it quite cold, better to warm it lar as we also like our food warm rgt), or cereal (just add FM or water simple, got iron n minerals too), or u can give coarse rice w si sen (do u have that?) that one just cook w FM can liao, not much prep.

then hot water get from outside. i sure they can give u... of cos dun go to those ulu places to get lo.

if not, imagine u taking the food jar n thermos flask everywhere... heavy ley... us ure dun enjoy 1...

u all make me feel like a bad mummy lehz.
i have always been feeding barbie outside lehz...
i seldom cook for her only on sunday.
saturday is the only day we eat out.
sometime she will eat food jar if not outside food.

michelle
i don't warm up the jar usually. if at room temp i will just give straight but if it's cold (like in aircon room) i will heat up

what my friend did when she went to bintan with her 9 month old son was to bring a bunch of bananas! does ethan like? or maybe avo? those no need to puree, no need to cook fruit.

i think i will bring small yoghurt cups (petite miam) up the plane in avent thermal bag.

doggiebb
if you can find the dress/es tonight, can i collect from you tomorrow during lunch? if can then DOES ANYBODY WANT TO DO AN RP LUNCH?

hee.. i reach home liao... ethan eating his sumptous dinner.. pasta (with his milk cos guess what, he din drink milk again), steam fish, carrot and brocolli.. he jumping and jumping for more.. looks like the homecooked standard is hard to meet at penang.. i will settle for a small pot to cook porridge and mix the pigeon vege stew with it, good enough liao.. hopefully there is big supermart nearby, then i can buy something else to go with it.. haha

oh, i din know food jar dun need to heat up one.. cos they store at aircon room mah.. feels cold leh.. so i normally scoop half up from the jar, put in a small container, then add some hot water in to make it a little warm, then put both in bowl to heat, faster mah.. haha..

so much hassle, that is why i need such a big back pack! haha

Julia Gabriel Trial Class
i'm very interested also leh. but pomfret is a late riser, so don't know 11am she will be screaming her lungs out at the class or not....

sterilising
oops i have stopped sterilising anything for pomfret already....in fact am thinking about keeping the sterilizer back into the box already

michelle
check with holly! she went phuket that time she said she also brought rice cooker! and rice! and broccoli!

egg yolk
you know how i was saying i haven't yet let pomfret try egg? then i realized that pigeon 'man tou' biscuits have egg yolk listed as an ingredient. duh.

having #2
yeah mummies should consider earlier. my elder brother and i are 6 years apart. once he started sec sch and was busy with his sports and other activities, it got very lonely for me! so i would like pomfret to have a close-in-years sibling, but then again, i'm scared having to look after two myself will drive me crazy (again kudos to those SAHMs looking after two themselves! you are an inspiration!) (or even mums with 3, like hannah, you're amazing)

qing
my dim sum also postponed. so in the end from 2 dim sum dates, i got none!!! :S

dustee
oh my gosh that is a very bad link to post here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

lol dustee can ask for bigger discount some more. not scared you kena tokked on the head ah?

i have some poppy and max books hehe. my hubby's name is max

yeah coz her price includes courier delivery to your place. so i figured, i buy $50, she already courier, if i buy $100, she's earning the "courier" fee extra right? : P

also coz my budget is super busted lah, for this month. so gotta be thick skinned a bit hehe.

BUT she ignore my post leh

LOL! Michelle, you are bringing potatoes and carrots to penang? bring bottled food, cereal, and snacks lah..things like plain bun or bread or pao should be ok too.. sterilise bottle: juz boil water in jug then blanch bottles lor.. our bb's are old enough for us to stop this actually.. but I'm still carrying on, since I have the steriliser at home.. wonder if I'm juz wasting electricity..milk without hot water... urr we've been doing dat for quite long liao coz was too lazy to bring hot water out and discovered FM still can dissolve haha

wah.. the things barbie and emma ate.. made me eyes go big! bbG has not had any adult food yet.. except his cake today.. and only the buttery spongy part..

PB: haha maybe I didn't put it the right way.. normal bicycle must pedal mah.. this one looks like a 2D piece of wood where the kiddos must use their two legs to push against ground to get going wan..

pb
make u drool the whole week liao.
since last week when u suggest loh. oh my...

dustee
lucky i am not into books now...
ahahha...

and PB u really buy the poppy and max book?
LOL.
don really in real life max is not a dog.

qing
yes it's very funny. when i got the book i was very excited then i asked my hubby to read it to her (before me) then he said 'eh what is this joke man!' when he found out that he was a dog lol lol.

do1nk
oh you mean like the kiddo has to 'scoot'? i understand what you mean but i cannot picture the toy haha. i want to go to this kidsloft place!!!! anyone going this weekend?

RP lunch on thursday 23 jul 12pm
i am meeting doggiebb for the dresses. anyone wants to join us for lunch?

1 - doggiebb
2 - pinkbunny

can an RP person please suggest where to eat? cos it's so not my area!

ya lor qing. i drool until my floor all slippery liao. speaking of floor, my magic clean 'broom' broke! that shows how much sweeping i've been doing! lol

dustee
i wonder why the books are so cheap ah. really suuuuuuuuuper cheap leh. plus courier some more. hmmm. what's the catch? sekali we find out 'congratulations, you have now gotten the right to browse the online versions of these 10 books!'

Boo Hoo hoo.. ethan just got his first hard knock, fell right on the coffee table and there is this huge baluku on his forehead. my heart broke. boo hoo hoo...

BBG:
Hehe Emma tried a lot of stuff, including durian, spaghetti we ate at restaurant, etc. But only minimal amount like 5 spoonfuls. The only one she loves is that congee from crystal jade. she can eat half of the porridge serving bowl, which is quite big. Now at home we cooked soft rice for her, no more porridge. We also gave her meesua, beehoon etc. but of course all are cooked with chicken soup. Once in a while we'll give her jar food. But yes, we do let her tried our food like chicken rice, ice cream, fries and soft drinks.hehe

Dustee:
Hmmm that link for the books BP very tempting! But how come it's so cheap ya...

Michelle:
Sayang Ethan. Hope he is okay!!! Last time when Emma got the bump, we quickly boiled egg and apply on her forehead.

I'm tempted to go to kidsloft this saturday leh... want to buy a toy storage box

michelle
sayang ethan...poor thing....hope he gets well soon.

actually u can go to the supermart to buy stuff to cook for him if u really want. but i think since your trip is so short, get more bread that u can feed him. and maybe get cereal for him to eat. for my first trip with jh we stayed at service apt so we can cook. i went to supermart to buy rice, vege and chicken. and just use the pot to boil water to sterilise bottle.. but actually since they are more than 1 year old, just use hot water to rinse is good enough.

dun worry too much abt his meals.
enjoy your trip!

re #2/#3
i wan #3 but hb dun wan. i really dun mind though child care arrangement wd be another headache. i told hb if we really ahve #3 it's his turn to stay home..haha

re hb bringing out kids
my hb must be at the bottom of the list somewhere. he has never bathed the kids, seldom changed them and never brought any of them swimming!! i bring the 2 of them swimming alone..... and i go out with the kid alone without helper if possible cos i dun like someone to be ard me while i try to spend quality time with my kid. i always get scolded by my mum abt it....haha...

but hb is quite sweet at times to me so can close one eye lah. but of cos if i ask him to pack diaper bag, i m sure half the things won't be right.

SY
if your hub is the stay home dad, you will trust him or not? haha

michelle
poor ethan! sayang sayang.

do1nk
you asked a long time ago about different dishes for chicken? still want? anyway i post in case anyone wants. today i tried spaghetti bolognase at home and since hubby don't eat beef, i used minced chicken instead

instead of poppy eating our food, now usually i will cook large portions from her (kiddy) cookbooks and we big guys will eat too. you see, who's the boss....

stir fry diced carrots, onions, celery, garlic in unsalted butter for about 10 min. add minced chicken (or beef as the original recipe calls for) till browned/cooked. then add chicken stock, tomato paste (i used those small can one, without salt. forgot the brand), and tomatoes (de skinned and de seeded*). bring to boil then simmer for 10 min. i also added dried herbs.

after that just add cooked spaghetti (today i used angel hair) and can eat liao

* easy way to de-skin tomatoes: poke holes in tomato with fork. then put in boiling water for about 5-10 mins. then soak in cold water and peel

Michelle.
Did you put zambuk for him? Poor ethan .. Aunty Rena sayang..

Pb,

Check with you .. Do you still blend the food for poppy?

Ouch..Jayden yesterday got a hard knock, fell right on the floor when crawling and there is this 'blue black on the right cheek. boo hoo hoo...sayang.. N the past few daz he's rather bumpy n knocking here n there while crawling..I hope all the blue black goes off soon if not he looks ugly or not handsome on his 1st birthday party tis sunday.tru tis wk he's taking slow intake of FM.. Plus oso he's a very 'fishy' mickey mouse any moment seeing the room door open he will b very 'kan cheong' to escape..he's never keep still on siting down..likes to roam ard on the floor like my doggie...

I also have to join the "heartpain" group today.

My hubby so engrossed in his news on TV just now that my boy fell right in front of him. He knocked at the edge of the door and now have a red line by his left eye.

Pain and Angry!!

Outside food ... my boy like chawamushi blend with japanese rice. That is in addition to the instant pigeon baby food we always pack for him

1 single pack of pigeon baby food can't satisfy my FZ.

SY
Infront of other ppl I will say CANNOT totally. Then when he pleads or I see him kelian then I will give. On my own lor jus dun let those ppl know that I do give my son sweets else they will jus keep giving 1.

PB
Its at kidzloft everything 50% full price. But then must be withing bday mth. Check out their website but think nw dun have details for the 1st bday offer but its still valid cos I jus went last Sat.

Check out ON, they have these tees with a flag every yr is different.

do1nk
Now my mentality is "Its his kids too so he must suffer no matter what".....kekeke
Cos father of 2 kids liao lor still saying he LEARNING so I let him learn lah, see still dare to say learning anot.

Qing
Actually hor u know those compulsory jabs for bb r all FREE???? But at polyclinics lah n seperately its free cos compulsory ma.
Jus that cos we want to take them together instead of making our bbs suffer more jabs by taking individually then we gotta pay lor.

Baby talk
Ember can say Gege, Mama, Papa, Dogdog, Duckduck, tete(trying to call my dog) and alot of Ter Ter, Ta Ta n pointing to whatever......hahaha

the books bp
the books are cheap coz she's actually ordering from thebookpeople.co.uk. so if you compare, she's charging that website price then plus approx a 75% markup for int shipping and local courier. so it's not really "cheaper" in that way. doggiebb was trying to do a spree for that website earlier but we just couldn't get enough lah.

dor_dor
you mean at the polyclinics, we would get, for eg, maybe the 4-in-1 plus 2 more extra jabs, that is free. but coz at pd we opt for 6-in-1 so we pay? yeah now i vaguely remember someone told me that before. but but but, queueing at polyclinic can really take very long!

candy and other stuff
well i suppose i should learn to put my foot down if ppl feed my baby snacks/stuff. i really don't appreciate ppl feeding pomfret things without asking me first, assuming she won't have an allergic reaction. to date she's already allergic to two items via my breastmilk, so i feel perhaps its better i am a bit more paranoid about this? what is it about other parents who just assume your child can eat what their children eat?

bbG
how's bb Gordon now?

pat pat to bb zhunlin, bb ethan, bb jayden... lots of sayangs and hugs to your little balukus....

sy
my god! you want a #3! *admiration*

books in BP: hard cover or soft cover?

lunch @ RP: what time r u girls meeting? SMS me... if timing right, can join u all! :D

anyone knows wat r the opening hours for kidzloft?

PB: thanks for the recipe.. almost the same as my beef stew.. juz minus tomato..
herbs.. i put oregano and mix herbs (or is it mix spice?) and black pepper

i better stop blending bbG's food... but he eats very slowly if i dun leh.. lazy mama..

sayang babies wiv baluku's...

dor: i always use this phrase on my hb: hey.. he's YOUR son too. and you are the other HALF of the 2 parents he has....

dustee: bbG's good now..dunno why he got this horrid fever for a day and went off after dat...

the book people

i was hollering until blue in the face but only dusty and cellow were interested and we couldn't get a decent amount to share the shipping.

dusty

better we do ourselves cos these pple doing sprees they will fixed an exchange rate as opposed to us using the exact exchange rates as per the credit card.

PB

shall we just go meixin? that foodcourt below golden shoe where the kolo mee is? i wanna eat the italian anti pasti! yumz!

Re: #2/#3
My MIL always said 不是你要就有 which i agreed cos as your age increase, fertility will drop. quick! those who wants should start trying liao.

Heart ache Heart ache!! The bruise looks bad and there are two red lines now... and Ethan woke with swollen eyes, rashes and red nose. Wonder what he ate ytday, MIL said nothing new. heart ache heart ache!

eh... the sia-ing on online shopping is already very strong... now even got sia-ing for #2 or #3!!! LOLOL... this thread is terrible!

doggiebb, you found the swim shorts? thinking of driving to vivo to look see look see leh later....