(2008/07) July 2008

I am too embarrassed to say my limited repertoire of nursery rhymes but I like this one..

Its raining its pouring
The young man is snoring
He went to bed with a bump on his head
And he couldn’t get up in the morning

Haa..like so evil right?

JG Trials
crystal, i'm also interested in that... can count me in if u organising??

jaceyln
aiyo... bb xun so poor thing leh... auntie nancy sayang lor...

bbG
was gg to ask u abt the blankie budden super busy recently... u still got any left?? can email me if still got?? thinking of weaning Ernest off his pacifier lor...

cellow
cedric so cute lor... will only get lured by food... clever boy... Ernest on the other hand can nvr stay in one position for long lor... just a blink of the eye only he's at another location liao...

jacelyn: I didn't do any comparison on brands but juz got what my SIL recommended for colostrum: http://www.iherb.com/ProductDetails.aspx?pid=10630&at=0

missyz: haha some nursery rhymes are funny huh.. like rockabye baby too.. so scary! cradle fall off tree wiv baby!!

I actually had a good laugh reading this book http://www.amazon.com/Autobiography-One-Year-Old-Rohan-Candappa/dp/055338130X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1240393484&sr=8-1

looks like food's cedric biggest motivation to move.. bbG will crawl for my hp or the remote control...

cin_bunny - i think e balls are 15 bucks.. or 12.. can't rem..

gals signing up for kinder.. rem to say caitlyn lee, tues, 1030am clas hor?! wahahhaa..

JG TRIAL

seems like most of u keen? i will write in tmr.. hopefully they will do it again for us.. hee

Dor Dor
Yessssss I have books with SY. I'd almost forgotten about them. Thanks for reminding!

SY
Calling SY... how can I collect my books from you? Will you be in town this Friday? Or is it convenient for you if we meet at White Sands one afternoon? Ooh just remembered that your #1 is going for his op next week right? Just let me know when you're free then. You have my number, right?

PB, Michelle
Yup, my #1 can be very sweet. But he can also be a complete terror! :D When your babies grow up, they will say these heart-melting words to you too

Crystal
JG trial - interested!

SY: how's JH doing?

youpi: whenever I think of your #1, the picture of him wiv a guitar slung across him... cool little boy!

doggiebb's CL is very popular, i called her some time ago for my sep confinement and she was already booked liao

my grandma-in-law found one CL for me, her friend's friend... even though i dunno that CL good or not, i can't reject grandma-in-law's offer. but one problem, that CL can do my confinement a few days after my EDD. seem i have to cater confinement food for 1 week... any recommendation of good confinement food catering? thanks

btw, will be going for detail scan next week. the last visit to gynae, it seems that xuan pei may be having a younger brother

wow many posts to catch up!

anyone interested in trial at kidsloft? personally between JG, GUG and kidsloft, i like kidsloft best. GUG second and JG last. feel JG really depends on teacher and a bit overpriced.

youpi
yes your books still here. my son going for op on fri but then he has runny nose now! dunno whether they will let him go or not...

missy
i forgot to bring your books to my parents' place last week. will ask my sis/bro to bring back this weekend.

waiwai
u must be happy...

re trial
any one doing weekday trial? if not, i can't join leh

hi hi gals !!

greetings from vegas ! it's 730am now and I've just finished expressing milk. getting ready to go for my last day of conference, yeah !!

oh u know, i have been drinking my own EBM. even hubby had a taste of it too. Well, not too bad when we drink it fresh .. a bit sweet somemore. but supply seems to have dipped, but never mind, will do more to incr it when I am back in SG.

jacelyn
no pt looking backwards. You have done ur best to BF bb xun. Just practise good hygiene and I am sure she will be stronger.

as for the colostrum powder, I am giving my #1 the same thing too. I bgt it from GNC, brand is CHILDLIFE. It seems to work. after taking it, she seldom fall sick though she attend childcare everyday. I've not given it to rianne since she is on total BF.

SY

I think ur doc may postpone the op. My coll's son seems to have the same prob as ur boy and the op has been postponed for months cos her boy seems to cough every now and then. poor thing leh ..

PB

enjoy urselves ya ! besides food, i think u need to bring distilled water there to make poppy's milk. Never trust the water supply overseas and poppy's immune system is still not matured. Just my 2-cents tot ....

Pb,
Water is a must.. So better buy from reliable source .,

Wai wai,
Confinement catering is ex leh.. Why you cl can only come few days. After??you pay deposit already or not? What if you give birth early?
Now with no2 you better get a good cl coz you no1 will be attention seeking ..

cellow, woa ur hubby actually keeps track of all the family expenses. Gd!!! Thumbs up!!!

Michelle, cam see ur in laws really dote on ethan
Boys can be very sweet one. Like my boys, esp the elder one, will say i love u mummy quite often. And sometimes when our eyes meet, he'll send a peck on my cheeks. Heart sure melt one

Jacelyn, heart pain for bb xun. Did u bring her out to crowded places? How she caught the bug? U know? I'm not sure if bf will prevent all these. Coz bf bb do fall sick also. But they do recover pretty fast? Did pd say why is she like this? Juz hang in there, so when u hv #2, bf as long as u can. Maybe for bb xun, dun bring her out to crowded places for the time being. Ur cousin in law still has bm for bb xun? No one to help u?Can she still eat & drink her milk? Take care.

Morning all!

wow waiwai, so fast last gynae visit already? when are you due?

Crystal,
if you organizing JG let me know can. would like to join if can make it.

Re: Yoghurt
i rem some of you gave your bbs yoghurt, can i know how we give them? I tot yoghurt needs to be kept in the fridge? Do we need to like thaw it first? Cos if not will the youghurt be too cold for them?

waiwai

actually the first week of confinement is the most most crucial one. that is when you shld lie down most of the time and eat really good BU stuff. why don't you try to get another CL, perhaps call rena's one or try to source some more through recommendations (CL really really have to get through recommendations from pple who have used them). if you manage to find then tell your grandma-in-law that because hers can't come in time you found another one. i think that is a very legitimate reason.

colostrum

i also recently bought the childlife colostrum from a spree. am trying it now. am told that buying it here from GNC is like so much more expensive.

JG

When I spoke to them , this lady Debra told me that they don't do private trials anymore as pple who joined those classes actually don't really signed up, i guess compared to pple who go to existing classes. i have slotted myself into an existing class already due to my own limited available time slots but if crystal manage to get them to organise one, i would be keen to join too. hehe!

Batgirl,

My nursery book versions seems different.

A big fat hen
Dig & delve
maids a-courting
maids in the kitchen
maids a-waiting
my plate's empty

Rayna
i got the Baby Yoplait yogurt (for babies from 6 months of age) for my boy recently. 4 small tubs in a packaging. 2 x banana and 2 x vanilla. its a bit sour and my baby also cringed his face but i have read that some bbs really love it. can add mango or other fruit to sweeten it i guess. i think can just serve cold, directly from the fridge. dont leave it outside as it will contaminate w bacteria just liek milk. HTHs.

wow so many posts! can't write much cos poppy is in her playpen talking to me. (which is quite loud! lol)

smiggle
i got just enough swim diapers to bring to bintan so cannot give you, sorry
but maybe next time we can share a pack? i bought from cold storage at great world

yoghurt
me too, i give yogplait. poppy makes a face but sometimes she does eat. but never finish so i gulp it down after. but good idea to mix with fruit! we can also give natural yoghurt i think. it's much cheaper

colostrum
what's that for?

labbit
got go casino? hehe. hey i forgot to ask you. did you receive the sterilisation bag i sent to you? good or not? i sent you the munchkin one is it? i have not used that yet. only used the medela one.

crystal
yes yes will def quote caitlyn's name! but we will go for pm class. morning class is nap time la. i'd rather she take shorter pm nap than am nap. hehe.

food jars
if any of you are keen, i heard ONLY ORGANICS at harbourfront (opp gymboree) has not too pricey food jars. organic of course. heard their baby bolognaise is yummy.

waiwai, congrats firstly. ya i also think first wk is crucial as this is yr second child so u need the extra help? if cl not there, any1 cna help u? cos u got to see if yr no1 is clingy or not when u back.

I fire my own cl when she last min tell me she cna't make it for the first few days of EDD.

JG,

I not sure if little G enjoys this noe at this stage... i think my elder one will appreciate it more. i thinking of waiting till 1 yr plus then bring her try...

Hannahl,

Thanks for your concern. Actually we have been confined at home for the past 1 month liaoz. So other then gg to see doc we never bring her anywhere! I think she might have caught the virus from my 5YO niece who is attending school. Coz both my 1YO niece and bb xun got bronchitis. So should be from the sis.

I think I will buy the colostrum powder for her to try after she recover. Any one know of any spree?

Calling PB, u wanna all my supplements? Goat Rue and mother love more milk plus - both left half bottle. And the mother milk tea left with alot. All give u? Let me know how u wanna collect from me ah. Or we can do another RP lunch =)

hi hi... poor bb Xun. sayang sayang.. how is the ventilation at your house or the care-taker's house? have to make sure it is airy so that bacteria do not breed or stay in the house. else one person spread to another... especially with kids around.. very easy to catch. Also, do you wash the toys a few times a day? may wanna do so too especially if they are shared, and even if not, should do it so that the virus do not stay. Actually, being confined at home that has the virus may not be a good idea.. going out for fresh air may help.. like the park (with lots of trees) or botanic gardens. ALso, you may wish to buy those anti-bacteria to spray at home as well.. hope bb Xun recovers quick quick!!

Last nite ethan woke at 1.45 (to drink) and 5am (difficulty getting back to sleep).. I went to bed early last nite before him (cos of my flu), and hubby took care of his last feed, in the end he only drank 60ml. Ok, that is not the main point. The thing is, at 5am when Ethan woke as he kept tossing and turning in his cot, i heard him and woke up to carry him.. also made some milk for him, but he drank only a little. At this point, hubby said again that if this little boy is not up for milk, put him in the playpen in another room. I replied in a stern and steady voice "NO". I mean, wouldnt our first instinct be to comfort and try to get Ethan back to sleep? I definitely wont think of forsaking him and put him in another room so that he does not disturb us! Am i not seeing something that may cause hubby to make such remark??????? coupled with the super bad jam on PIE that made me late for a meeting.. I am in a super grouchy bad mood... GRRRRRRR

wah lau
My colleague had pains in her tummy and we tot she gonna deliver. so we sent her to hospital and just got back office lor..
she not havin contractions yet lei.

jacelyn
thanks! i'll take you up on your offer. RP lunch sounds great. next week ok? after i come back from bintan
but goat rue got funny smell or not ah? hehe

anyone wants to join for RP lunch?

michelle
wash toys a few times a day? gulp. i think i wash once a week....

i totally agree with you. if he's up at 5 and cannot sleep, i think putting him back to bed is the most logical. rather than let him play! if not he might start to think that (gasp!) 5am is play time and do that everyday!!!

Thanks Missyz and cin bunny. i'll buy some for Megan to try. the fruits we add in must also mash right? My gal only got 1 tooth. so we still got to mash her food. =) but she quite good with her 1 tooth. she can somehow bit of a bit of her slice of apple hahhaa...

michelle,

wash toys a few times a day? oops, i think i only wash some toys once a week. some toys after buying, wash first time, then i never wash liao. i only use the wet tissue to clean it.

oops...am i putting my gal in danger?

I think you need to let your hb knows that u need to put Ethan to sleep at 5am. if not like what PB says. he will wake up everyday at 5am to play. then u all will be panda liao.
last time when Megan still wakes up for night feed, my hb likes to play with her for a while after her feed. i always scold him. says cannot do that cos she will tot every nite can do it. then we will be very xin ku. lucky hb cooperative if not i think my mum will suffer. cos my mum is looking after Megan at nite also.

Smiggle i must say you are the best coz you know all the lobangs and freebies!

Michelle, haiz my mum is taking care of both of them. I was around to help out that day and I know that it is almost impossible to separate their toys and to keep cleaning them. So I also keep quiet la. I know my mum will try her best. If is other people, I will surely say liaoz.

PB, ok then I bring all of them to office ...

Now me also coughing. Got alot of medicine from doc. and 1 day MC for tomorrow to rest at home. Hope everyone recovers soon!!!

Anyone spreeing from iherb?

RP lunch.. count me in too.. here got 1-for-1 lunches? where?

michelle: my hubby sometimes say insenstive things like dat too, coz he's someone who cannot be disturbed when sleeping.. but I'd shoot him a dirty look and give him a piece of my mind too.. and tell him never to say that again haha.. but i shrug it off after dat coz sometimes they r sleepy they r not fully conscious? .. hmmph! give him chance.. if not I would have whacked jialat jialat liao haha.. men! hmmph! so dun be disheartened.. u r not alone..

attempted to take passport pic liao? thought you have brought ethan overseas before.. hence the famous sought after inflatable tub..keke

PB: colostrum is what we had in our mummy's milk to build up antibodies in our little baby... same thing lor..

jacelyn: dun think it's the BF-ing part dat caused bbxun to get the cough coz bbG also got it while he was still on BM..

cellow, the SATA check-up not that cheap leh. Only urine test & body check-up, or including x ray? Coz i think i didn't pay that much leh? The time when x ray is needed, i brought my maid to a govt polyclinic. Mine also around $20+ nia leh
U can check with nearby polyclinics on the costs.

Jacelyn, I think can turn on air con lah. Those kids that got admitted to hospital also sleep in air con wards right? Coz last time when my #1 got admitted due to rotavirus, the same ward also has a child that coughs quite badly. A humidifier is good though. Good to service aircon regulary also.

cellow, congrats that Cedric is finally MOVING!!!

Jacelyn, yes, the colostrum is good. My boys are taking the chewables one. Haven given to my girl though.

Cellow,

Cedric crawls on four now? or using tummy? Can Cedric sit up himself now? Josh can't.

Josh also start to crawl on tummy in the living room.

Jacelyn,

The weather is so bad recently. Josh (full breastfed baby) also down with fever, flu and cough. I applied half day leave and brought him to see PD yesterday.

Maid check up
I also paid about $20+ with neighbourhood GP.
To-date, never bring maid for x-ray. Why some of your maids here need x-ray?

toys washing.. I meant for bb xun lah.. since she oredi sick, and then babies around her also sick.. by right should wash the toys before passing to them to play.. else the virus sure spread.. I dun wash toys many times too.. but get my helper to do so once a day, including playmat. so for bb xun, gotto take extra care cos she is weaker and have not recovered after so long mah... if your baby has been ok so far based on your "wash once a week".. then ok lah.. when they are sick, cleanliness and hygiene makes a difference loh... that;s what i thought lah..

no lah, never brought ethan overseas before... only been to sentosa.. hee hee.. anyway, all the places that i want to go are fully booked, looks like i need to stay at home or just go to picnic, zoo, botanic gardens... etc loh.. sigh sigh sigh...

Thanks everyone for the concern! ok so Star and Do1nk just made me feel a bit not so guilty ...

Michelle ok will go back and sterilise all the toys tonight!!

Hannahl think air con got a bit of effect .. coz when bb xun was in it last night she was coughing badly. Once out she did not cough so much BUT perspire tonnes coz of the hot weather. So bo bian, got to put her back to air con else also cannot sleep. I just asked doc and she say can keep a bit of window open to keep the room more humid so that she will not cough (and me too) too much.. will try tonight see if it will be better

PB, u order? Then i tobang u iherb. Oh goat rue ... hmm i dun remember got smell leh. I just swallow.. never taste.

RP lunch: WHEN??!
Date:
Time: 12 noon
Venue:
1) Jacelyn
2) PB
3) Do1nk
4) Smiggle

Ok someone fill in the blank. I am fine on all days except Friday :p

Jacelyn

our aircon at home is very dirty or they recycle the air again and again.
in hospital there are filters to ensure that virus are killed.
so when my doctor tell me to get purifier i totally agree. then my aircon will not recycle dirty air!
i agree to open windows when coughin. but u shld separate urself and bb xun sleepin together. cos she too vulnerable. even if u get better, the virus is still in you mah.

RP lunch: WHEN??!
Date: 30 April?
Time: 12 noon
Venue:
1) Jacelyn
2) PB
3) Do1nk
4) Smiggle

coffee club, swensen all got one-for-one lei..

1-for-1 Treats at Coffee Club with UOB Cards (Offer valid for UOB credit cardholders only.)
Now until Friday, 29th May 2009

Enjoy 1-for-1 Main Course at Coffee Club.

Valid from Mondays to Fridays, except public holidays. Available at all Coffee Club outlets except Capital Square and Wheelock Place K2.

Also, receive $10 Coffee Club voucher with every $30 spent. Available at all Coffee Club outlets.

Offer valid for UOB credit cardholders only.

Smiggle, agree on air purifier but got to research a bit on it first .. u buy from where ah? Online at the link u showed me? Or at a major shop like harvey norman?

Will try to sleep separately from bb... ... must think of how to arrange. The thing is, I dun quite trust hubby leh .. he can just sleep throughout the night without waking up to check temperature ... then my mum needs alot of energy to take care of the 2 sick bbs during the day so I dun wanna trouble her at night. I also scared the virus pass here and there then bb xun wun get well. Headache ah.

Wow coffee club and swensens sounds good leh! 30th April ok. THink by then i will have recovered!!! *fingers crossed*

Oh yah Do1nk, I just checked out the colostrum powder at GNC, wow very expensive wor. 78 bucks .. even with 20% is 62. iherb selling at 20+ USD so converted to SGD + shipping think should be still cheaper to buy online hor?

yup,
i bought from allercare. they got very good product knowlegde and customer service. i did my research before i bought. must have hepa dunno wat la, anti mite la, easy to maintain la, harvey norman don have air purifier for health purposes.in spore, not many healthcare shops specialise in air purifiers
a quality one costs from $600 onwards.
Pls dont get the one from OSIM, also dont work.
most hospitals use honeywell.
my austin healthmate is for homeuse.
if u dont want buy i can loan u mine. u can try first lor.

Smiggle ok let me check it out again. Hmmm 600 bucks quite expensive. Let me consult hubby first. He is the $$ payer :p is it big ah? heavy?
nvm la u loan me then u use what?

Doggiebb, ok haha .. think its really much cheaper. Errm pai seh to say but i never order from US website before!!!!! So got to find someone to leech :p (who ah?) or got to figure it out ... hmmm mmmm

air filter ... the honeywell one is good. I have one which last me for many years. I got it when I brought my dogs becoz I let him sleep with us. My doggies are 8 yrs old now.