(2008/07) July 2008

hi mummies..

a delayed reply to bbP on life as a part time SAHM: phew! I feel so tired.. barely have time.. feel like I've not any of the many things in my to-do-list, and it's already wed! how do you SAHM's do it...I always seem to be scrambling around like a headless chicken.. major time mgt issues..

hannaH: I use both the avent duo and the medela freestyle
think I'll reduce to one pump per day this weekend..

socks for kindermusik: orrrr... never thought of dat.. hehe thanks for the enlightenment doggiebb!

jacelyn: I saw many mummies and daddies peering in from outside..

steph: hi! long time no hear from you..and many other mummies like blackmagic..u rest well ok?

crystal: when are the HT teethers and 2nd batch arriving?

wah all of you started your bb's on stars liao? sophie so cute.. get 10 stars per day.. do you all also puree your porridge? Think maybe I should juz puree the vege.. so it's not so liquid smooth... must teach him to eat chunkier stuff soon...

smiggleP & qing: u girls work near each other huh?

i recall someone posted some recipe here.. was it the cooling pear drink? sis juz told me to try boiling pear for bbG.. though the recipes online say it's for SIMPLE cough without lots of phlegm..

smiggle

ah patissier's cake is FABULOUSLY yummy! i ordered that for talia's birthday and the guests were raving about it! but doesn't come cheap you are right!

was scanning thru past posts to look for dat recipe but anyway.. juz wanted to clarify why I would have a pole in my bathroom..(no I'm not dat kinky haha!) it's coz our place comes wiv a sunken bathtub (more like a sunken shower area to me) so they have a pole for support so silly huh.. keke

hot sleepy afternoon.. and someone's practising on his/her violin n it sounds so awful!!

hannah

toy r us have lots! can buy toy veggies, fruits. if you need pots and pans also have. i have a Little Tikes kitchen at home and my girl cooks up a storm every day!

bbG
yup we work super near each other...

smiggle
lucky u wwent back eariler. raining liao loh.and i caught a bit of the rain somemore carrying so many stuff.

heehee
i bought the stars liao. 1 bottle first...
so happy now.

doggiebb
totally agree with you...
making me drooling again...

bbG
i thought u working in RP one???
how come now become SAHM???
-ENVY-

hannah
yup, toyrus should have.
i think kiddy palace also have.
even house downstair those provision shop also have cheap cheap one la...

gals

i need advice.

I need to go Las Vegas in end April (again). haha I can't reject it the 2nd time now so die die has to go. So i want to know how to still pump overseas. I'll be going for 5-6 days.

1) First, what are the things to bring?
manual pump
bottle
lotsa milk bags
ice packs
cooler bag (to store all the packets of milk pump during the trip)

2) In hotel, I know the fridge is not cold enough to freeze the milk so how ?

3) Can i put all the milk bags in lock&lock boxes and bring up the plane and put in their freezer on the plane ? Oh ya, milk shld be keep as 100ML per bag right ?

4) how to sterilise pump abroad ?

pls help me !!!

lbt, u not using electric pump? ok for me, i place my pump in tumbleware so that i can boil water n pour in over the pump to sterlise.

but but... the milk i pump i all throw away cos it really diff to ship back lor. too much hazard for me. only 1 time i feed my son but as we r shopping the whoel day, it really diff to ensure the milk is fresh.

1) bring also a lock lock box to store your funnels

2) i chose a service apartment so that the fridge has a freezer. if not you have to ask if the hotel can freeze for you. if not, you will have to throw away the first 4 days milk and only bring back the last 2 days milk.

3) i put all my frozen milk bags in ziploc bags so that i easily whip them all out for them to inspect. Yes, would be better to store as 100ml per bag but i do 120 sometimes lah. hehe! and yes! once i get up the plane, i dashed to the air stewardess and ask her to store my milk in their freezer for me.

4) if the hotel has a microwave, you can use the medela microwave sterilising bags. if not, the lock lock box you bring to store the funnels can be used. just pour lots of boiling water onto the parts in the box.

hope this helps!

woah! Las Vegas! You work in a gaming company?

What I did was:

(1) Bring milk bags
(2) Bring 2-4 bottles to pump the milk into
(3) Bring Ice Pack + Ice box
(4) Bring Lock and Lock container
(5) Bring Bottle Brush and detergent

i will pump into the bottles then transfer to the bags (I did not follow 100ml rule, but then I was in Bangkok, you are going to the US, better follow..:p)

I ask the front desk to freeze the milk bags for me.

I wash the pumps, put them in lock and lock container. Before I pump, I boil water, sterilise them, pour away the water then pump.

At the customs,

(1) Declare to the X Ray guy you have got liquid in your bags but they are BM.

(2) In Thailand, they will open up to inspect, then they escort you to the Xray machine and run your milk and breast pump thru the x Ray Machine, then you are cleared.

(3) In the airplane, I ask the stewardess to freeze it for me.

doggiebb, batgirl

muaks !!

eheh i bring manual pump cos I need to pump once during my conference so dun wan to run around looking for a power pt like a crazy woman
and US power voltage is different also.

i maybe bringing my elder gal so I may mix my EBM with her FM so maybe dun feel so wasted.

but now.. i need to let rianne try out FM in case she reject my frozen supply. siannnnnn

lbt, if u bringin yr elder gal, it ez to feed her instead of keeping it n sending back here. but if u ensure tat fridge is v cold then it safe.

another qn is have u use yr manual pump yet? better start practising! I also brought along my manual pump tat time n in the end, it a white elephant... cos my hands gave way... too tiring. so in the end, i brought my dual pump out. though heavier but at least i can pump fast n quick.

garfield

yes, I've used my manual pump whenever I am out for meetings or courses, so not a problem with that
tks for reminding though !!

labbit,
las vegas!!!
I did everything similar to Batgirl. Only I brought an additional thing - Fridge to Go - along. I checked in the frozen EBM in the FTG into the luggage. Save me fm being hassled at the Jakarta airport metal detector gates.

Fridge to Go kept the frozen milk rock hard. Colleague once shared that her milk arrived still frozen from London to SG!

I think garfield has a point abt manual vs electric pump though. You can use the universal adaptor for your electric pump ah....

Good luck on feeding Rianne FM these few days!

VIVA LAS VEGAS!!! Woo Hoo... when you going har?? conference/seminar is it????

I am told to go Colorado, but i said NOOOOOOooooo! hee hee...

Ethan gave the sobby, pitiful, pout face with some whining when I waved goodbye to him this morning, while he was on his tricycle (his fav toy now) downstairs... It was sooo hard to leave him behind for work nowadays... I still have this achy feeling! Can't wait to go home..

lbt
u gg Las Vegas?? budden on biz trip veri sian one lor... u bring rachel huh??

michelle
Ernest would be happily looking at everything ard him but us when we wave him goodbye in the morning lor... dunno shld be happy or sad lor...

lbt,
FTG doesnt last 3 years? or your EBM in the FTG would survive the flight from Las Vegas back to SG? i blur.

JSP,
just think of Ernest being diplomatic... hehe. he knows who is gonna be w him during the day!

a big SORRY for my lack of response oN HT.. believe it anot.. my gal fell ill again just as she was recovering frm her flu..

HT UPDATES

have put in our orders as i was told that stocks only coming in 2-3 weeks from arrvial of e last round.. so my assumption is tt our stocks sld be in latest next week k??

ACCT DETAILS:
POSB Savings: 038-37497-4

for those who wanna tt for e first rd..

bbp - can i get a sophie giraffe too??? thanks!

JSP, Cellow,
Think we just got to accept that our babies are diplomats/politicians la. They smile at everybody one. Haha.

smiggle,
Hey, thought you bought the teether 2nd-hand from Qing already? Not yet?
The teether is handmade in the French Alps using natural rubber from the Hevea Tree and decorated using non-toxic food paint, It's also BPA and Phthalates free, and complies with US safety requirements of ATSM F963.
*Alamak, I sound like some salesperson.*
Anyway, food paints are temporary, so the coloring will definitely come off after heavy usage either due to chewing or cleaning.

Hannah,
Fisherprice should have those kitchen sets right? But dunno if it's the big types that you're looking for.

temp-SAHM reporting.. the little one was so tired today but didn't wanna nap since 1pm.. n juz now he couldn't take it anymore.. fell alseeP on helper's shoulders at 730pm so had to quickly nebulise, feed medicine, and when I was changing his diaper and putting on his pyjamas.. major cry..

dunno why but nowadays must carry him to sleep.. arrgh! n i was so happy he learnt to fall asleep by himself previously.. will wake a few times at nite to cry too.. will he ever revert back to his good habits...

Hannah
Little Tikes, Step 2, Fisherprice all have the kitchen set. There are some cartoon character ones as well, like the Dora kitchen set.

Garfield
My boy also loves his kitchen set and anything to do with cooking or baking or food preparation!

JSP
hey thanks for the trip tips!

project heh mee
i may not be on cos it's my wedding anniversary
maybe meeting lao gong for lunch. so fast... i remember last year i posted what i did for wedding anni. huan dao zui zui zui, buy cupcakes from chin mee chin at katong....

smiggle!
you buy one 'guiness book of records for world's biggest cake' is it! why so ex!!! i better lick the plate after hor.

do1nk
sunken bath .... does it mean the bottom of your bath area is in your downstairs neighbour's house?

garfield
it's me that is staying at TB

labbit
buy medela sterilising bags. can sterilise in microwave

the kitchen set sounds fun. i look forward to poppy playing with them! hannah i think bluey rented a dora one for her girl

ok very big news. no i am not pregnant. today is the first time i consciously let poppy fall asleep without me. ie without latching on! cos i went for my belly dancing class right? then i came home, hub already fed her ebm. but she was still crying. so i made fm and passed to him then he gave to her. after that she was crying in cot then he go and sayang her then she fell asleep!!!!!!!!!!! he asked me how it felt. i said "LIBERATING!". but quite funny. when he was feeding her, i went to take off my contact lenses then remembered my bak gia were in the room, on the bedside table. he was feeding poppy on the bed. so i had to crawl next to the bed to retrieve them so that she wouldn't see me and fuss!

Recycle Your Reading - Used books become new reads at the Book Exchange!

Date: Sat, 25 Apr 2009
Time: 10.30am to 6pm
Venue: The Plaza, National Library Building,100 Victoria Street

3 easy steps to exchange your used books for new reads:
1. Bring your used books to any Public Library from 11 to 24 April, 11am to 8pm. On 25 April, used
books are accepted only at the National Library Building.
2. Drop off your used books and get a book exchange coupon indicating one-for-one exchange for the
books accepted.
3. Bring your coupon to The Plaza, National Library Building, on 25 April to redeem for used books
dropped off by other book lovers.

Terms and Conditions:
1. Each person can exchange up to a maximum of 30 used books. There is no age limit for
participation.
2. We accept children's and adults' fiction and non-fiction books (eg. cookbooks, travel guides and
romance novels) in any of the four official languages. We also accept used library books bought
from previous Library Book Sales. Textbooks, magazines and audio-visual materials will not be
accepted.
3. Used books for exchange should be in relatively good physical condition.
4. Only coupons issued with a Book Exchange stamp are valid. Please check your coupons carefully
after they are issued to you.
5. Coupons issued are transferable. You may pass them on to your family members or friends to help
you redeem.
6. Lost coupons are not replaceable. You are advised to keep your coupons properly till the event on
25 April.
7. Plastic/carrier bags and delivery service will not be provided on Sat, 25 April. You are advised
to bring your own carrier bags and/or arrange for transportation of books redeemed.

For enquiries, please call NLB Helpdesk at 6332 3255 or email: [email protected]

Note: NLB reserves the right to change the terms and conditions at any time.

Hannah

Yeah yeah! Mine is the big little tikes kitchen set. I bought it at aprisin. Was about $230 or $240 I cant rem. I thought u were referring to the accessories needed for the kitchen.

cellow

i mean .. even a few hours only and my EBM is not very cold when it was in FTG. So i stopped using it this time round.

JSP, Michelle

yeah going for a 2.5 days of conference. me and hubby v keen to bring rachel along but my mum says she too young to appreciate anything and has offered to take care of her. But i feel she already knows a lot of things. I brought her to watch Disney Princesses on ice 2 weeks ago and we can still discuss abt the show till now. She remembers what she saw, the colors, the names of the characters etc. I wanted to bring her to the disney and Universal studios at LV leh ... well.. let's see how again.

lbt,
oh ok! i must run my own experiment w my FTG then. see how long the frozen EBM can tahan before starting to thaw. just in case i kena called on short notice to go overseas far far away (unlikely in this era of cost cutting)

midweek pak tor
escaped w HB to pak tor over dinner just now! sit by the river side at Robertson Quay and watch the waves go by... actually he was also watching the ladies jogging - hehe

doggiebb,
where and wat is aprisin? dept store ah.

re tiger jar
this is the one that i have.

http://www.usa.tiger-corporation.com/commodity/stainless_steel/lineup.html#mcwp

very easy to use. if u wan to bring porridge out, just boil abt 5-10 min then pour it in when boiling it will continue to cook. this is not the thermal magic cooker.

tess
ok then we arrange to go for weekday class.

any mummies wan to go for weekday class?

kindermusik weekday trial
1. sy
2. tess mummy

cellow
your hb and my hb can shake hands. he din allow me ot sign my boy for any classes. so all i cd do was to bring him to diff trial class

re gymboree
when is the free trial class?

re aprisin
it is a baby store. they have website also. sell quite a lot of little tikes stuff

crystal
how much is mine? need to arrange for my fren to get the things from u.

pb
can borrow your ah lao to come pat pomfret to sleep? or at least teach my ah lao how to do it? my ah lao really really really hopeless at getting baby to sleep.

kindermusik
sorry ladies, pls take me out from 5th and 12th april. because i get baptized this easter (yay!) so 5th april i have some pre-baptism thingie in church, and then 12th april my hubby is playing the organ for the morning mass, so both days i cannot.

national library
great! thanks pb for posting that. i just unpacked all my lifetime's worth of possessions and have about 200 books to give away. will be good for me to pass the coupons to other pple.

Batgirl
Thanx.....but ummmmm my #1 also had his fair share of falls but none of them ever made me worried. Cos his is jus the normal fall, cry, stop. Back to normal kind.

cellow
hehe, that was what I felt after I attended a trial with #1. Maybe cos I'm a sahm ma so after class I jus told my hubby, its the same thing I do with bb at home ma so no point paying jus to go there n do it.

Hannahl
She seems mostly okie now so dun think I will bring her to see pd jus for that plus not much contact with floor direct. But I jus have a need to know why she reacted that way. Must jot it down as something to ask pd on next visit. Thanx

Garfield
I've been giving Ember gerber stars for quite awhile already n she loves them. I will use them plus those xiao man tou, jus put afew on her table to feed herself while I eat my lunch or dinner.

Traveling with bb
If dun mind hor I would suggest lugging along a 1 litre bottle of sg water. Cos some ppl will be 'shui tu bu fu' so with bbs I rather be safe n bring along SG water jus for bb's milk n water. Anyway jus bring there finis it dun bring back liao ma.

mummies morning
Today a bit eariler then usually ah ma in law had breathing difficulty just went to hospital via ambulance
Took half day leave to help out a bit at home.
Alrhough I don really know much abt things at home but the least I can do is look after barbie.
Hope she is well enough to be discharge soon.

qing,
hope your grandmother in law is ok. hopefully things will settle down a bit at home soon. and barbie's and your routine can go back to normal soon.

dustee,
u wanna borrow my ah lao to pat pomfret to sleep? he has been practising w Cedric since birth
so now v accomplished already. got good and bad days of course. on the whole, he is much better than me at getting Cedric to sleep.

morning mummies... its finally Thurs liao... yippee!!

bbp
ya lor... at least i got some 'me' time lor... not so sticky so i can do things w/o him... heehee...

PB
u r most welcome... juz need to type oni mah...

Hannahl
toy r us got a lot of such kitchen sets... go take a look...

lbt
i think diff kids develop diffly lor... but i think most kids cant exactly remember things done before the age of 3 lor...

SY
i also have the same food jar lor... will try ur method then... thanks for the tips...

Qing
send my regards to ur grandma-in-law hor... take care hor...