(2008/07) July 2008

morning!

SY, your tiger food jar same as mine lah...

Travelling with baby
last time i went sentosa with Ethan (that is considered travelling too rite?) i brought along sterilisers, bath tub, tonnes of diapers, milk powder, hot flask, bottles, liquid detergent for washing bottles, many change of clothes and PJs, bathing toiletries, toys to keep him occupied. The flask I brought a medium size one, big enough to make milk for the nite, and small enough to carry it out for milk. I also brought along packets of nestle cereals, then of course a lot of towels, socks, teethers... and that is not all! I also brought his pillow and bolster! and of course, stroller. now, tell me how to bring Ethan overseas? hee hee....

lbt, enjoy LV! should be nice to bring your hubby and #1 there! you extending your stay there?

Qing, regards to your granny-in-law.

Psst, tell you all something.. dunno whether really my Feng Shui at home is working or wat... suddenly these two days I got many job offers... really dunno what to do.... Its like on 1 hand can get better offers but more responsibility? on other hand, dun want higher responsibility or too time consuming cos of Ethan.. you get what i mean? cannot sleep last nite..

Btw, Ethan woke up at 3 for feed, again at 5 to smile at me and want to play... could tell he keep biting hard on his gums.. could he be teething? cos he is especially clingy these few days? like i walk away only, he will cry type so i have to like stand beside his cot then he carry on smiling or playing loh... daddy kept scolding him, saying he is spoilt, but i think he is scolding him bcos he is jealous.. hee hee.. Ethan has been drooling more, but his gums still red, no lines and touch also dun feel anything leh.... so how would i know if he is teething or really feel uncomfy har? do i need to stand-by dentinox just in case?

michelle
maybe Ethan is teething leh... coz Ernest also like that these days lor... will cry when he can't see any of us lor... n he's drooling like nobody's biz lor... for me, i jus freeze more teethers to give... i try not to give dentinox unless really no choice... heehee...

but how to give frozen teethers at 5am this kind of timing leh?

Anyway, I continue to rant about my job offers. See i told hubby about those offers and that I am not keen cos I not looking to work so hard then cannot spend time with Ethan. in fact, i want to stop work if possible. GOsh! he dun allow me! say i stupid! got offer must at least hear ppl out. But i was thinking if really open the doors liao.. then need to choose, come to crossroads, very painful one.... and I dun mind going back to my old office loh.. plus my old boss already say will work something for me.. and I told my old boss if he wants me back, i want flexi hours and able to work from home. Then hubby scold me again! say why i so stupid, performance sure affected blah blah blah... I need to work harder, cannot so lax at work.. blah blah blah... why is it so hard to make him understand now that Ethan is #1 and career is #2? and that does not mean I do not do well at work mah, right? I really dun think i can take on more responsibility, i cannot be like last time, everyday work till midnite.. then Ethan how? I asked him if I am not around at nite, can he handle ethan alone? he say got his mom.. come one.. his mom dun need to rest ah? i everynite still need to wake up to feed, no need to rest ah? its like he wants the best of both worlds loh.. so easily said loh... sometimes really feel like knocking his head.. how i wish i can have supportive hubbies who allow you all to stay at home and spend time with your babies..

batgirl, i must agree that dor is very zai. From what she has described, as a mother of 3, i would probably have dashed to A&E liao!!

Dor.. thumbs up!!!

garfield, Qing, my girl loves the gerber puffs. Once she see me holding the container only she gets real excited. Erm, i thot it melts in the mouth? When i'm busy, i juz sit her in the high chair, pour the puffs on the tray, then she will feed herself. Good to let her learn how to feed herself. It's safe coz it's small & melts in the mouth. Some puffs will drop onto the chair coz can't hold properly yet. Then i pick up & & put on her tray again. Vola, she's happy gobbling up the puffs while i go do my stuff
Of course will still peep & check on her lah.

do1nk, oh so u r gonna stop pumping soon? Or still latch on? Me also stopping soon liao loh.
Ur avent is to use at home, freestyle is to bring out? U feel which one is better? How's ur ss now?

where to find patissier cake? Sorry.. i sua ku..

I've juz rented a FP kitchen set. For my boys to play lah

oh ya, that is not all, this morning when ethan woke both of us up, and that when i walked away he will cry right? then hubby say, see, now you spend so little time with him, he is already so spoilt. Imagine you take care of him day and nite, he will turn out to be even more spoilt! ARRRGGGHHH!! So frustrating to hear such comments at this kind of hour! I think i am giving him silent treatment today! Hummph!

michelle
your hb is exactly like mine! these are the exact things he used to say last time. he will say things like my kids stick to me so much so i shdn't be at home or they will stick to me more! and he also agst me turning part time or work at home etc etc but now no choice cos maid cannot handle.

i think men like to talk like that but if really no choice they will compromise somewhere. now my hb is ok with the idea of me turning part time liao. but it took me a long time before i reach this stage...3 years...haha

JSP,
try out the tiger jar. it actualyl works well esp for travelling and bringing out

re travelling overseas
i went with my boy to australia when he was 10 months and when he was 22 months. so quite different.

when he was 10 months i brought loads of diapers (unless u know where to buy them overseas), one tin of milk to stand by (i din open in the end cos was still bf), milk bottles, cereal and a small slow cooker. went to aussie supermarket to buy chicken, vege etc cos i stayed in service apt and can cook.

as for japan at 22 months, totally different, just let him eat what we wat so much easier

michelle
hahaha... i dun mean at 5am lah... during the day dear... at nite, i think he juz need his pacifier and slp lor... heehee...

dun be so upset... my hubby the exact opposite lor... say better if work relak jack one lor... i think he's juz concern abt ur career... talk to him slowly lor... coz for me is alwys family 1st and working is more for my own spending and not too dependent on my HB... i guess he juz need some time to get used to the idea that u r no longer so career minded lor... relak ger, its thurs liao... heehee...

Hannahl
patissier got website so go take a look lor... one of their shop is somewhere at mohd sultan area...

Morning mummies, been sick for the whole week liaoz ... and today finally go on MC ... bb xun's virus is so strong.

Michelle, man are like that. On one hand they want a kid and then still want the wife to work + take good care of the bb ... we are not super woman la. But i also agree with SY, when bo bian time, they will compromise.
I can understand your situation. I was in such situation before (but things didnt work out in the end and i was sad actually .. haha think we have a workaholic side of us) just follow your heart. And u have to tell your hubby to support u la in whatever u choose. The flexi hours one sounds good sia. I was also comtemplating to tell my boss to give me flexi hours but now the hang qing so bad, scarly he feel that I am dispensable and axe me how? so dun dare to say anyhing. Everyday just pretend to be busy lo. Knock off on time

Re gg overseas, me now trying to stock up on some stuff that we will potentially need for our trip in May. Kia su hor .. scared last min too gan jiong then miss out on things.

Qing, what is the star thing?? bb xun has a boring mummy that only feeds her milk + cereal + mi hu thats all. Nothing else!!

Tiger jar, from the picture looks like mine but i got to go home and find mine to confirm if it is the same one. Me now at mum's home. I remember the one i have comes with a spoon but looks taller than in the picture leh .. i tot it is quite big

Kindermusik - 5 April
How?
On?

Gymboree free trial
think must call them and ask when can go for free trial..

Overseas
haiz.. wish can bring kayden go london lei but hubby don wanna go...

jacelyn
we bought our jars together during one of the isetan pte sale one rite?? its the same as SY if that is the one u refering to lor... and the stars Qing was talking abt are called Gerber Stars... like honey stars but meant for children... can be found at some ntuc & cold storage lor...

hi smiggles

me me, on for april 5, 10am. I copied the last list and can mummies pls add or remove themselves according to which date they prefer

Date: 5 April (sun)
Time: 10 am
Price: $25.47

1. do1nk & bbG (5 of 12 also can)
2. cin_bunny & sophie (5th April, cos away easter weekend)
4. SY & Jx
5. Garfield & G (5 or 12 april fine)
6. qing & Barbie (5 April boz 12th not in SG)
7. Michelle and Ethan (5 or 12 also can)
8. doggiebb and FZT (5 or 12 also can)
9. mapleaf & Dora
10. cellow and FZC (prefer 5 apr bcz not easter!)
11. Jacelyn & bb xun
12. bbp & declan (5 or 12 also can)
13. dustee & pomfret
14. smiggleprincess & kayden

Date: 12 April (sun)

2. batgirl & wuffy (I like this nre nick of his!) (12 April ... 5th i in msia, Qing Ming Festival)
4. SY & Jx

9. mapleaf & Dora
11. Jacelyn & bb xun
13. dustee & pomfret

qing, best regards to granny-in-law

re: stars

wow so many of u started the stars liao. ya i also thot it a good time but then y she doesn't eat it... i think b4 the star can melt, she swallow liao...
i also thot the star can melt lor so i gave. who knows she vomit n one auntie saw n told me i shouldn't give n luckily she never choke... feel so bad abt it...

Probably it's a Singaporean thing, but I realised mothers/wives are expected to work as hard as the fathers/husbands nowadays.

I must admit with SG's high standard of living, it's difficult sustaining on single income, unless the breadwinner is earning a lot or the family is thrifty enough. With high costs such as cars and care of our children, I can somewhat understand why some of your hubbies felt pretty uncomfortable supporting the family all (or mostly) by himself.

I overcome the internal struggles only after quite a while too, after feeling comfortable for our current arrangement. Still, it really ain't easy to sustain as our family grows bigger.

Ok i edited mine. I will prefer 5 april cos know more mummies there keke thanks! though 12 april is fine w me too. anyway i took out 12 april so tat not so confusing.

Date: 5 April (sun)

2. cin_bunny & sophie (5th April, cos away easter weekend)
4. SY & Jx
6. qing & Barbie (5 April boz 12th not in SG)
9. mapleaf & Dora
10. cellow and FZC (prefer 5 apr bcz not easter!)
11. Jacelyn & bb xun
13. dustee & pomfret

Date: 12 April (sun)

2. batgirl & wuffy (I like this nre nick of his!) (12 April ... 5th i in msia, Qing Ming Festival)
4. SY & Jx

9. mapleaf & Dora
11. Jacelyn & bb xun
13. dustee & pomfret

I am not even asking to Stop work now! (in fact i am still bonded). I am only asking to have more flexibility at work, or not to seek even higher appointment with higher workload. Cannot meh? Grrrr.....

eh... went to Declan's FB and he is sooooooooooo cute!!!! and mr bbp also very funny guy!! I love the climbing the stairs vidoe.. hilarious... actually the whining part that calls out mamamamama then papapapap is also very very cute... i am soooo looking forward to meeting Declan!!!

The puff and xiao man tou that you all are talking about. can give to bb who are bogay? Safe enough for them?

Wanted to buy some for Megan.But she bogay. i scare she choke on it.

Re: Patissier

wow so cool the cakes. i think i'll get the profitroles or the cupcake for my gal's birthday.

hi michelle - think your hubby misunderstood you maybe..anyway, talk to him again when he is in more reasonable mood lor ;)

updates : am going to pick up my myammese maid in an hour's time..wish me luck!!!

qing
hope your ah ma in law gets better soon. and yay you get to enjoy playing with barbie for half a day!

dor dor
i think i would do just that! bring a bottle of water!

dustee
haha nooooooooo way. he is an extremely prized possession in my house now! lol

tiger jar
oh i have that one too! so that is the one that can cook porridge? cool :p

freezing teethers
something i found out. when things are frozen, they condense when taken out of freezer right? (duh). so poppy's clothes get very wet and cold if she's biting on those teethers. so i try to just put in fridge instead of freezer.

michelle
that's a tough call. very hard to excel in one without sacrificing the other (child vs career). some companies, like my ex one, they can't be flexible when it comes to work hours or responsibility. not that they don't want to, but if they do it for one, they have to do for all.

jacelyn
oh hope you and bb xun get well soon!

silly mummy
i was cooking potato+carrot+corn+peas for poppy's lunch then i came to the comp. happily type away then i went to kitchen and thought 'wah so nice, smell of french fries!'. sekali everything was burnt. some more i cheliap cheliap xin xin ku ku pluck the corn one
so got to re-cook
silly mummy indeed!

Michelle,
Haha, Declan says hi to his FB friend Ethan

dustee,
My ah lao also can pat Declan to sleep. In fact, he also bathed him this morning at about 7 plus and took care of him until 11am. I only woke up at 11am cos me sick liao too. Wanna borrow? *grin*

PB,
Umm, I think put in fridge also will be wet leh. As long as cold, water will condense.

ah ma in law was hospitalised.
later wait till hubby off work then go see her.

and i took one day off instead.
no one is at home now. except me and barbie

finally manage to put barbie to sleep.
we struggle since 11 loh.
give milk only drink 3 oz then super tired liao still don want to sleep.

gerber puff
yesterday after lunch with smiggle
jiong to NTUC to buy.
let her try out 3 stars first.
so cute to see her trying to aim into the mouth.
starting she give the weird face, what is mummy trying to feed me with.

just now try again, she like it.

hannah
they have a wesbite.
http://www.thepatissier.com/webtop/
i tell you their cake is the best.
in term of taste and price too..

garfield
u got to watch her while she eat.
barbie will chew first. can hear the 'crunching' sound
oh, i bought the strawberry apple flavor

gymboree
i also super interested.
include me in also hor...

michelle
gymboree so expensive???

PB
wah, u so hardworking. pluck the corn one by one...
heehee...

mummies, any of you still haven't got period yet? me!

qing
ya lor. cos i don't wnat to use frozen ones mah

bbp
yup will also be wet but less wet

wah seems like alot of kiddos are eating gerber puffs!

rayna

it isn't very sweet. i chose the empress dowager flavour for my ger's cake and it is actually with a tinge of sourness. but really super delicious. worth every cent even though it was so expensive, and i didn't even go for a complicated 3D design.

Patissier
I have patronize them for abt 5yrs now and is their member...
very good service and cakes.. though i always order the meringue...
2 yrs ago my bdae, i ordered their croquembouche.. think they were one of the first few to have...

Mummies, u all can try it at Kayden's bdae.. order for u all one.. hope its enuff for everybody.. ordered the biggest one liao...

PB,
can recommend me some place at tiong bahru for supper anot??
ent into the hongkong cafe last weekend and the food so so only...

so envy u dont have menses.. so troublesome to have it back..

oh, mummy
i bought first teeth toothpaste and brush from this mummy who claim sell them.
tt the money over liao.
now she disappear liao.
don reply my email and the thread also stop liao.
HOW ???
many days liao. can i call POSB to tt the money back???
although only $9+ nia, but still my money lehz. cant be giving her for free right.

i tried the patissier cakes at a friend's birthday. it was chocolate cake, v rich and v yummy!

smiggleprincess, how much is your cake? do you have pic of the cake? i can't make it for kayden's birthday. so sorry!

qing,
whats the mommy's nick? can report to the moderator and lodge a complaint against her..well, $9+ also $. just read about your grandma-in-law..hope she is getting better now.

oh oh! just want to share what i did. cos the 3D designs are so so expensive yet I wanted something different and to enjoy the patissier's unique cake flavours. what i did was i bought the cake toppers to put on the cake and added cupcakes on the side.

2288573.jpg

smiggle

I can't wait to go to kayden's bday party!!! heh!!!

smiggleprincess,
actually behind tiong bahru market those shop house got 1 stretch of coffee shop serve v nice supper let me go find the map ........

another place is at the henderon market got sell yong toh fu e stall start only 12am v nice n always v long Q ......

Qing

can can can!

you see hor. all the sesame street characters are cake toppers. the only design is the "green grass and flowers" and they provided the 2 little barn houses. i can't quite remember but i think i ordered 2kg or 2.5kg. i think i paid close to 280 for the cake.

doggiebb,
thanks so much for sharing! the cake looked so impressive! chocolate cake? okay, so now i know what the cake toppers! haha..just design omly right? i think its to make cakes one!