(2008/07) July 2008

batgirl
can try to give thicker. need to train them to chew. i try not to make it too smooth. i realise she can chew when i dun mash well.

tess mummy
no idea how avo taste cos i dun like haha..but i will give it cos it's good.

Gathering
On on, thank you PB for texting me. See you all later
I'll bring something from Old Chang Kee, k?

Bb in a/c
Mine too. Both have slept in a/c since birth. And nap in a/c as well. They both sleep better that way, somehow. So do I!

CS
Congrats on Dani calling "Ma!"
LOL on your hb choosing the Ergo but not carrying it.

Tess mummy
Avocado - the ripe ones are very smooth, not bitter at all.

who's taking public transport? can walk fm mrt? or which bus to take, smigglep? wat time will u be there tessmummy?

morning all...

think i will try to come by with caitlyn.. hee.. but i wil only get there earliest 230pm ok??

wat else can i get for food? and for how many pax??

doink - i sld be takng public transport..

anyone gg frm e west side? haha

CS and JSP
why got special playmat link between ernest and dani huh? aiyoh!

botak gathering at smiggle's place
i think we better not go. poppy's fever is all gone (yay!) but coughing a bit and we don't want to pass to all the other babies. aiyah. already take out the ingredients to defrost. guess bluebunny and i will have triple servings of tom yum udon tonight!

wah i am missing so much good food! ngor hiang some more!

do1nk
smiggle's place can walk from tiong bahru mrt station. just cross over from tiong bahru plaza and you will see jalan membina. walk into it and you will see a school on your right. just keep walking and in about 2-3 minutes, depending on the length of your legs, you will see her block. 118B. http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel_id_1/travel_site_11815/5/

so sorry huh girls. i'll host the next one

CS
my PD says put aircon to 26 degrees is ok. but wear longs to sleep lor. day time if i put poppy in ac room i don't let her wear longs but put a light blankie over her

re avocado
i eat until want to gag. cos poppy didn't want to eat, no appetite, so i thought aiyoh better not let it go to waste cos so ex right? $1.50 per fruit leh! so i ate it. blended. made puke face with each mouthful :|

tess mummy,
No need for baby to poo everyday. Declan sometimes misses one day, but wah, next day like poo 3 times. Think making up for lost poo. Haha!

Re Avocado:
How to choose? Or just anyhow ham tam, pray & hope it tastes good? That's probably what I'm going to do the next time I buy avocado.

do1nk,
I taking public transport. Yup yup, can walk from MRT.

PB,
Wah, super detailed instructions...

PB,
u not comin ah
want to eat the tomyum udon leh...
can teach how to make??
Avocado u have to put condensed milk or gula melaka one la...

Gatherin
Mummies, are there enough food anot???
wait u all come my place and get hungry without the tomyam udon...

gathering

yalo, still thinking wan to eat the udon .

yaya ,me taking mrt

smiggleprincess
ur lvl got lift? thinking of bring stroller

avocado
i heard from don know where that it taste bitter but anyway , who can teach how to choose ? i see all so dark green.if enough time , i will drop by to buy and all bb can try.

haha girls, i can still cook it if someone wants to come and pick it up! how? let me know la. thru sms. whoever can pick up from my place before going to smiggle's house. but i need time to cook it hor. so sms by 1130 ok?

avo - i just ask the fruitstall guy 'ripe already? can eat already?' haha

okok

later i passby the fruitstall nearby ur place n buy .hope they got sell cause my house only ntuc supermaket sell those fruit stall don have .

gd to hear that got lift.so c u all later

tess mummy, opposite tiong bahru plaza there is block 18 jln membina. it is 4 storeys high with hair salons and clinics in clear view. on the ground floor, next to the multi storey carpark there is a fruit shop. i'm pretty sure they have avocados there

btw, flashback: who was it that liked the coconut from this stall during pregnancy ah?
such a long time ago hor?

avocado
seem to be a pretty 'hot' food for babies huh.

pinkbunny
hope poppy is ok...

and yes, i remember that coconut episode too.
but i havent tried it still.

IBT
OH NO NO NO.
my mil always like to any how give Rachel stuff.
there was once, she wanted to give her prawn cracker loh.
say small small piece nia was easy for her to suck the 'SALT'
i was so angry

then how,
this one even more angry.
they wanted to feed for "PRAWN NOODLE" i disagree say prawn lehz.
then she replied: 'when you BM that time you also got eat prawn noddle right"
i almost wanted to slap her loh.
what nonsense...
what is BREAST MILK and what is direct PRAWN MEE.

so, after seeing ur post before i sleep,
i told my hubby,
"please tell ur mother that we are only suppose to feed her 'baby food'"
i bluff him say that i read a one case the baby ate too much non baby food then kanna kidney problem.
like that then they will scared.

sometimes when i give her eat chee chong fan they say too plain must add a bit of the sauce for her.
haiz...

ever since she start solid, they always give her 'RUBBISH'.

CS
ya, mine sleep in a/c room since birth
but hor, we always let her wear long sleeve and long pants and no socks, if not is those suit that cover toes ones.
used to use the dreambag too, but the a/c not blowing at us directly so not very cold. have remove dreambag. and she loves to kick the blanket away.
everytime i touch her hands or legs not cold so i ok loh.
before 3 month old, we even put on mitten and socks.

and WOW to her calling you MAMA.
thats the best that can ever happen.
so happy for you too.

my poor bb is having mild diahorrea... PD said shd be due to bb eating dirty stuff (she puts everything into her mouth) or dirty hands... sobz

waiwai
hope XP recover soon! keep her hydrated! diahorrea will lose alot of water one.

ok it is 1.05pm and nobody has showed up at my doorstep so i guess everyone got hte message :D

girls, just now i got a big shock. PD told us to look out for patchy rash cos that's a sign of dengue. then poppy had 2 - on her tummy and thigh! mummy panic. luckily it is just pressure from her nappy cover. phew.

cin_bunny
sophie has huge thighs

Qing, my gal also dun like the square taggies from starmambo. Threw it away
I bought 2 some more..

Celeste has been saying mamamama, mamamama several times in the day. Maybe that's what i usually say to her when i pick her up/talk to her. And yes, when i walk away, she'll shout for me!! And very loving to rest her head on my chest. And, whenever she's on her tummy & i'm lying next to her, she'll give that very sweet smile & rest to my side with her head delibearately leaning on me. Oh.. so sweet to have daughters!!!
Though my boys were fun to be with, somehow they are juz different

hankie method
wonder if we need to stick to the same hankie? For the texture & feel? Last time my nephew when small also used the hankie for comfort. Imagine a small boy carrying hankie wherever he goes..

youpi, woa u slinged #1 till how big? No back ache meh?

Anyone using slow cooker to cook porridge for bb? Or juz cook with the pot?

youpi, my girl deslikes the healthy times cereals, tried brown rice & barley. Zip her mouth. But she likes frisocream. Can eat very fast.

Hi all..
I am quite new here in this forum..hehe..
Your babies all eat porridge le ar?mine dont even wanna drink his milk..only like water..so he dont look like 7mths..

PB... hope Poppy get well soon

stupid me, thought xuan pei is teething so has mild diahorrea, then wait after 5 days then bring her to PD... bad mama

during my last pregnancy i lost appetite during 1st trimester, this time round i have super good appetite, keep eating, except sometimes have night sickness, but can still eat after "merlion-ing"... so strange

Hannah,

My mum will be using slow cooker to cook the porridge. she say like that easier. no need to worry forget that the porridge is cooking.

Waiwai,

That's what happened when i was pregnant. Merlion liao still can eat. felt quite er xin with myself at that time. cos after i merlion, i think of what to eat, then go merlion again. hahahah.
Hope you feel better soon. Hang on. it will pass soon. =)

afternoon mummies... busy the whole morning lor...

dor dor
Ernest hor also slp mostly in aircon room lor... unless like rain the whole day then we can dun on aircon... budden if aircon not on usually we dress him super light one lor... budden he still perspire lor...

PB
poppy okie liao?? poor thing leh... so u ask the stall uncle to choose for u huh?? heehee... budden i prefer to buy from cold storage leh... seems like quality better leh...

CS
usually Ernest slp in aircon room with his dreambag and shortsleeve romper... last time b4 i bought the dreambag, he wears long pants plus shortsleeve tshirt lor... coz he super scared of heat one lor...

waiwai
hopes bb xp is feeling better and recovers soon...

missyz,

why cannot feed brocolli puree? My gal had already eaten it lei. even my PD also say can eat lei. bought my gal there early this mth. and PD says most veg, our bbs can take liao. just rem to remove the cuticles can liao.

rayna,
does your gal like brocoli puree? how do u make it? just steam and blend? do u freeze it?
oh, a aug mommy commented that wholesomebabyfood website advised to feed brocoli later.

missysz,

my gal hor, for now ate everything we fed her. buahahhaa....
i boil it for a while then mash it thru a sieve. i don't freeze my gal's food. i do it daily for her. cos now she only eat semi solid once a day.

Hannahl
yah yah Dani too! She'll come lean on my lap or on my chest when Im lying down to watch tv.. I thot she fell asleep thats why but no, cos I heard some sounds from her. That felt really really sweet

Qing
PRAWN CRACKERS! PRAWN MEE! OMG... is your MIL not thinking or what! How can she feed your baby such things especially seafood?!! Yah, you should scare them with scary stuffs so that she'll stop it. Tell your hubby, should this continue, if any thing such as an allergy happens (choi! choi! choi!) then dont blame you when you get nasty.

eh very nice leh the bag!!!

speaking of sweet daughters, poppy also! she likes to wriggle up close to me in bed. of course that gives me very little space but it's so sweet

aiyoh so fed up with bluebunny just now. i was latching her on, hoping that she would sleep. the room was nice and dim and cool. then he came into the room and PIAKed on the light switch (you know you can either switch on gently or PIAK it right?) and the whole room became so bright and needless to say, poppy was alert lor. she was already 99% asleep from the 15 mins of latching/rolling around

i was so fed up i put her in her cot and when she made noise i said 'she's calling for you.'

men so don't appreciate how hard it is to put a baby to bed. so how can we expect them to understand sore nipples. grrrr

how did today's botak gathering go? show photos!

gathering:
u know what ... the moment I put my boy into the car seat @ smiggle's carpark, my boy gave a me WIDE smile.
He really dun give me face ... haizz.

Thank you smiggleprincess for being such a great host.

bluey
your son so funny. it's ok lah. prep him for next gathering.

smiggle
thanks for hosting us!!

PB
glad that poppy is alright now.

today jx really naughty in car seat. kept screaming. think really need to train her again

qing
yeah come up with some scary story abt feeding adult food to bb. i really dislike it when the old folks keep saying things like they are very poor thing eating plain food. i used to get that a lot and i really tell my il to shut up. i will say that nothing ke lian abt it as they are eating good stuff!

Qing
Older generation n us regarding food for bb very diff 1.
But the prawn cracker n noodles 1 abit too much lah. Maybe jus tell them those strong flavour n salty food after 1 yr old then can give. Tell them doc say 1 lor.....hehehe
But then I think your mil will still do things her way 1 hor?

I always try to sian sia shou wei qiang. If I see food or anticipate someone will try to feed I will purposely say loudly. "Aiyoh so sweet CANNOT lah she still so young" Then hor dun wait jus walk away with bb. Act gong lor cos you stay with them ma wat to do.

CS
Happy hor.....hehe
I still waiting n praying Ember call MAMA 1st before Papa. 1 day earlier I also happy so long as call me 1st can liao.....hahaha

Girls sweet hor. Ember will kiss me when I ask her but only me n D she will kiss.....hehehe
N this morn she woke 1st n she touched my face so I woke with her staring in my face...hehe

JSP
At least Ernest still can lor. D is no aircon cannot sleep.....hahaha
I told hubby next time D go n be ah gua peng.....work in office lor hehehe

crystal
there was a period my gal kept waking up & cry till we carry her back to sleep. Then after a while start all over again. U won't be able to imagine my agony then. Super tired loh. Juz managed to sleep when i've settled her, then she starts to cry again.

cellow.. cedric super duper cute & handsome!!! Hey, still feizai lah
Wonder who is the feinui here? Sophie?? Rachel?? Oh, dustee's pomfret??
Definitely not mine!!

morning mummies... super happy coz morning meeting cancelled... heehee...

bluey
u mean he not smiling thru out the gathering?? budden he so cute lor... Ernest last time will slp everytime we go out lor... so we guess he dun like entertaining... juz like his dad lor...kekeke...

SY
Ernest also dun like to be in the car seat one... budden we make it a pt nvr to carry him even if he screams so that he knws that he will not get his way... budden muz be super patient n 'deaf' lor... heehee...

Qing
ur MIL really scary leh... u better warn ur HB on the terrible consequences of such food for such a small bb lor...

dor dor
girls really veri sweet hor... u all say until i super gian for a ger lor... budden Ernest sometimes also quite sweet lor... when i carry him, he'll lean his face on my face... and when i'm lying down on the bed wif him, he'll come touch my face lor... budden its the chor lor kind... kekeke...

if no aircon then i must keep the celling fan on plus a standing fan blowing at him lor... if not he'll scream if he sweat lor... ah gua peng gd leh... dun need to suffer somemore office hrs lor...

hannahl
for the taggy, i even sew on some ruffles to make it more interesting loh.
but she still don want.
haiz...
waste my money.

CS
so sweeet of her.

and YES to all these NO-NO blacklisted food.
they still give even i say no.

and the bag is really nice

SY / PB
sometime i envy you all so much.
being a SAHM, can supervise baby 24/7
can control what goes into your baby mouth and what not.

it is very hard for me to control what she eats.
especially when i am not at home.

ya loh dor dor.
i really dislike my mil.
i don know why i dislike mil but acutally like his god mom more.
actually the one looking after baby is his god mom.

kissing
everytime i say kiss kiss. she will stay put and let me kiss.
last time don know she will open her mouth thought got something to eat loh.

JSP
i like told me the same thing twice liao. once a day.

I did not make it to the gathering! I took leave and was stuck at home the whole day cos the stupid contractor came late and tore my wall apart, and the whole house was in a mess, and i din ask helper to come over thinking i am going for botak gathering and I had to CLEAN THE HOUSE ON MY OWN with Ethan REFUSING TO SLEEP until 3.30pm!

I AM DEAD TIRED!!!

HOW DO YOU ALL SAHM DO IT?????

I have shifted into my new house, my helper does not stay with me. she stays with my IL, so helper will only come over twice a week to clean the house. Every nite I have to wash Ethan's bottles and clothes.

Last nite ethan threw up his milk (my own fault) and he dirtied his PJ and his bed and I have to clean the mattress...

This morning woke up super early to send ethan to IL place then drive halfway round Spore to come to work...

I AM VERY TIRED and I STILL HAVE 15 (not 10 counted wrongly) OTAH in my fridge!

Despite all that, I still love my own home than to stay in with my IL... I have sooooo much space...

<font color="red"><font size="+2">IMPT ANNOUNCEMENT
MUMMIES, PLEASE DON'T IGNORE THIS !!!</font></font>

when in the car with your baby, please please remember to LOCK the DOOR
more for mummies and daddies who take cabs.

this incident is REAL
my dad, a cab driver encounter this.

as usual this young couple with their 1-2years old baby flagged his cab.
strange enough, the wife sit in front. then the father and baby sit behind.
he was playing with the door handle and manage to open the door when my dad did a turn.
when doing a turn, the door is sure to open and the baby FLEW OUT.
FLEW OUT OF THE CAR !!!!
luckily the father is fast enough to pull the baby back and close the door.

the couple actually laugh LOL and joke about it after.
my dad scolded them.
how are you still able to joke about it, when your child might just die there.
he already 'miao leng han' liao the parent still xiao de zu.

imagine if it is the wife who sit behind, not enough strength or fast enough.
the baby might have just fell out to the road loh.

my dad say, fell off wont die but imagine a car comes from behind.
there goes the baby.

now, he very scared liao.
see people with children onboard, he auto lock the door.

SO REMEMBER TO LOCK THE DOOR.
Children reaction is just too fast for us.