(2008/07) July 2008

doggiebb, can I have your agent's number too? Just to keep for future reference. Thanks!

JSP,

Yup, never see me before. cos it's my first time joining you all for the outing.

Re: purees and blenders.
Do we chop the fruits up and blend it in the
blender till smooth? Need to put water when blending? also hor use those blender that we use to make juice can?
I know the Ulike blender is the small kind right? it's the can make the soyabean blender right? orange in color one.

BBP,

same. think my hb will rather i spend time shopping then bugging him. but sometimes he will still nag saying i buy too much things, hse no place to put. hehhee

CS

PM-ed you!

Rayna

yup! it's that small orange blender. we only use it for baby's food so that it's cleaner that way. it has different blades for different stuff as well.

Morning mummies haven post here for a long time (as usual - think i am like super lazy) .. just got time to read and then close the small screen on my work place com :p

SY, JX so fast got 2 teeth liaoz wor! Li xun still no sign of tooth growing yet ... though my mum keep insisting hers will be fast coz we can see the teeth marks on her gums liaoz.

Re puree, I think I am super lazy. Haven let bb tried any puree yet. Just intro cereals to her and I think she love it. Gave her 40 ml on top of her usual milk (but 1 hr later) and after she finish it, still cry for more. So think maybe reduce her milk a bit then give more cereal.

Re. jab, brought bb to her 3rd jab. She was brave! Never cry. but now that part of her thigh like slightly swollen.

Hey Doggiebb, for myanmese helpers, they are good to take care of bbs only? How abt house work? And how much are they paid ah? My sis's helper seems to be thinking of leaving liaoz .. can give me your agent's contact too? Keep for reference.

doggiebb
can PM me ur maid agent's contact as well??? juz in case really need to get one lor... heehee... thanks hor...

Rayna
so far, for apple, i cut it into cubes and then add enuff water to cover the apple b4 cooking it... i usually keep the water left from cooking the apple for thinning of the puree... the leftover water i'll chill it n drink lor... coz quite sweet lor... heehee... most of the fruits except banana & avocado needs to be cooked b4 puree... budden think will try steaming sweet potato tomolo n see if easier anot lor...

ms doggiebb - pls PM me maid agent contact..thanks.

bluey, doggiebb - oki, will check out axis and dlink..both can view via internet ya ;)

also, do you install the camera for your bedroom and maid's room or just the common areas?
- i assume baby's room is a yes.

jacelyn

so far they are ok to take care of bbs and doing housework. I think to take care of babies, you need someone who is shan4 liang2 (kind) and mine definitely is. in fact i think she is more patient with my babies than i am with them. As for housework, when she first came, she wasn't used to my expectations of hygiene level but that can be taught. She is paid $300 per month with one off day.

so far the two complaints i have heard about myanmese helpers are their English and some being not so bright. but their medium of instruction at school is english, just that when they first come, they are not used to our accent. I had a white board where i will write down my instructions, they can read and understand better.

but the myamnese helpers all hired by me and friends are not Burmese but the minority christian group called kayins. they are a prosecuted minority in myanmar and i would say most of them treasure the chance to be able to work overseas to earn money for their families.

and their race is very hardy, for instance my helper and my friend's helper who just came like 3 months ago declined our offer for them to call home. and i did not hear about any of them crying or missing home. they look very fair and pleasant and generally very softspoken and mild too. so if you are thinking of getting a myanmese helper, i would recommend getting the kayins, at least my experience with them has been good.

jacelyn, jsp, cinbunny

PM-ed!

bluey
me la, i asked abt the M1 and singtel mobile livecam.. its only meant for hp la.. cannot view via pc... agrhhhh
think have to go buy dlink.. not cheap.. buy two cost abt $600..

cin bunny, my maid agent is family fren.. not bad though small biz.. 6466456, look for Jennifer, recommended by Joycelyn

Isetan
haven decide to take off in mornin or noon..
cos wanna buy certain things that are coupon cut out and oos very fast..

I gave up catching all the posts! Its like running marathon!

I am thinking of getting a blender too.. Ulike can get from any department store?

btw, are your babies screaming? Ethan is responding to us, screaming back to us like having a conversation.. especially when we do flash cards to him.. he will ah ah ah after every word we flash.. I am so worried he will scream till his throat hurts!

doggie.. is your helper new in Spore? can I intro mine and yours as friends then they can hang out during their off days... I prefer my helper to hang out with fellow myanmese, rather than fili who are more wild and open minded...

it is true that myanmese are more kind and mild natured.. patient too...

doggiebb
thanks ger...

michelle
ernest also leh... when i talking to HB, he would be screaming as if wanting to join in the conversation like tat lor... kinda funny lor... for Ulike blender, i noe isetan got sell not sure abt the other dept stores thou... i think i should start showing him flash cards again lor (lazy mummy)... =P

michelle

mine has been in singapore for 2 years already. Is yours a christian? because for mine, her off days she goes to church and then to peninsular plaza to send money and buy her strange myanmese food stuff. muahaha! when she comes back she would insist to prepare those strange salads for us. glupz! luckily some of them taste not so bad! if yours is, then in feb, perhaps they can go hang out together. mine get off days the first sunday of every month.

next month she is going back for 2 weeks home leave. I was so worried that she wants to go back already. in fact she sent all her money back for her family to buy a rubber plantation, but because the trees need 4 years to grow, so she was alright to stay another 2 years.

oh, my helper is a buddhist.. and on off days she will also go peninsular plaza and then buy lots of myanmese food stuff! I love their salads! esp those with the white fungus, you tried that?? she get off days last sunday of every month... mine has been in Spore for 8 yrs already! previously she was working in a nursing home... great - so lets set up a gathering and we bring both our helpers?!?

ya! I agree completely!

CinB, hope you will be successful in getting a myanmese helper! we can "triple date" and let them mix with one another we know they wont be led astray..

I think robinsons have Ulike. maybe tangs or OG shld have also. i ever saw them in 1 of these 3 dept stores. if not hor, try those market stalls. those that they set up table kind. sometimes have.
i haven't start my bb on solids yet. trying to delay. but when i brought her for her jab on sun, PD asked me to start liao. cos she's not taking her milk regularly. My gal like not interested in drinking milk liao. always want to play onli.

michelle,

my bb always also want to join in conversation. she's like that since 4 mths old. always want to talk to you also. very kaypoh one. and nowadays she found a new hobby. she like to raise up her right hand, then open and close her fist. then admire her own palm. like looking at her newly done manicure like that. damn funny lor.

michelle,
wat flash cards do you buy for Ethan? now this lazy mummy thinking that i shd flash card Cedric as well. running out of new ideas... a sign of how desparate we are.... HB sang Ole ole ole to Cedric ystday in honour of Sunday's soccer match (which Singapore unfortunately lost!). Funny bcz i m the soccer fan, whereas HB is not!

Rayna....
i see your name below mine in the bandana bibs BP
.... my purchase was influenced by bb Ember's cute pix, yours too?

I am using the GD baby reading and maths kits.. so will flash both words and dot cards and equations to Ethan now.. my MIL very busy flashing cards at home everyday leh....

cellow
I bought the Baby Einstein flashcard as well as Alpahbet book for Dani. Not to make her a super baby but just to keep her busy and not eh eh eh so much. kekeke.

Michelle
wah good leh your MIL....

CS,
The combi wipes - I bought before and it's not that exp. it's in the range of $10-15 bucks for a 3 pack large wipes. Bought it at kiddy palace.

Potato puree - dun use blender to puree hor.. must mash using sieve. Cuz potato got starch and if we use blender it will become quite sticky.

Bumper playmat
Parklon and LG - LG ones got more texture, while Parklon one less texture. The auntie at the shop where I bough it from said a number of customers said the buyers dun really like the LG ones because of more texture. If you have time you can go to the chinatown shop, the auntie carries both brands and I actually can touch and feel them. I agree with her so bought myself a parklon.

my bb 6mth+ liao but still no sign of tooth growing yet i just check his gum nothing leh...

by the way how you all make the puree if store in the freezer then how to feed the bb?

CS,
The combi wipes are ok. I prefer Johnson and Johnson.

Star_xin,
I serve a little warmer than room temperature.

I am selling off my Medela Electric Plus (single) pump.. warranty till Apr 09. July mummies have "first right of refusal".. interested PM me, else will post in WTS thread end this month.

star xin/ling
my MIL will use food warmer to defrost the puree coz its frozen n will serve it alittle warmer than room temp...

Serene
congrats on bb Kacey turning 6 mths lor... she's halfway to toddlerhood liao... heehee...

haiz.. they grow so fast hor...
soon Kayden be too heavy for me too carry..
now already strugglin after 5mins...

congrats to all e babies turnin 6mths..

Its a slow day today.. cant wait to go off..
my hubby suddenly said he bought my xmas present..Im shocked!!!!
he never buy thing for me before one..
now must go hurry buy somethin for him liao..

smiggle.. wah... so nice got xmas pressie waiting for you... my hubby is xmas BD boy.. but end up he still need to buy pressie for everyone.. thus every year he also complain very bohua.. haha...

happy 6 months to Kacey! So fast hor......

Michelle,
Yah, Christmas bday boys and girls always get combined pressies one. I remember July mummies got 3 Christmas bday hubbies... yours, mine, and whose ar?

think it was JSP....

ytday hubby complained again why so many pressies under christmas tree, all belong to Ethan, but he only got 1... grumble grumble grumble..

today i went out during lunch to buy him some more small pressies since he want qty, give him qty loh.. haha.. like small boy want to compete with his own son!~ tsk tsk tsk..

michelle/bbp
yup... my HB also xmas bday boi... heehee... he chose his bday pressie long time ago liao... so juz bought him some small pressies like chocolate n stuffs lor.. me also like qty lor... its the joy of opening pressies... anyway, its the thought tat counts not the cost... heehee...

CS
$40+ for dream bag
$189 for the jumperoo (from isetan)
somemore use $100 gift voucher so only pay $89 nia

oh, the slip look so nice.
but hor MIM sling cannot be as freely like bjorn lehz.
i only find it useful for newborn and for BFing

dor dor
she say she need it lehz
how to borrow like that?
buy my own better

my bb has started rice cereal for 3 weeks, starting with Heinz, she doesn't like.. then Frisocream she also doesn't like.. was very worried when she fuss when eating creal. finally since last sat give Nestle with milk and she eats 4 tablespoons!! oh yeah no worries liao

how long can the frozen fruit puree be kept in freezer?

which blender is better? Ulike or Barun?

my bb ROLLS again!! she did it some time ago, then yesterday she did it again, my hb saw but i was in kitchen so missed the show. then today she did it again! wahaha

wah lau..
i always buy nice presents for my hubby like mont blanc pen la belt la.. he always never take care one..so i give up.. stop buyin him anythin but clothes..
He always say buy this buy that for me.. in the end NOTHING.. make me happy only..
think later just buy him boxer can liao la...

Bluey,
sorry i stil owe u $$$..
wil try to remember to transfer..

think they give me too much laughin gas in hospital, side effect is affectin my memory.

wow all talking about hb likes qty presents rather then quality.

mine just different. want quality. so difficult to buy things for him. so end up always ask him to choose himself.

smiggle, next time u just tell him. don't say onli. want go buy now. hahaha..that's what i told hb. at least now he'll think before saying buy me this buy me that then end up nothing. heheh

wai wai
the info given by the books n the website wholesomebabyfood.com, the baby food should not be stored for more than 3 mths... for me, i try to make enuff for 1 week... then come weekend will make somemore lor...

actually, my hubby likes qty AND quality... AND surprises.. everytime close to Christmas he will be hunting high and low for his pressies.. and then will try to guess what it was inside, and then I will feel pressured to buy him somemore cos he ruined the surprise... but now no more.. just 1, can guess what it is? so be it.. hahaha

talking about buying present for hb... he says he can't think of anything he wants... end up i gave him ang pao :p for my present, very easy, i just tell him what i want then he pays for it keke...

JSP... thanks for the info.. think i shall order the baby cubes from BP keke