(2008/07) July 2008

PB,
wat kind of workout can we do at amore? i wanna go but... i'm only free on 7th cos thats the only day i'm doing morning shift. let me know how k?

Summert,
so funny leh.. ur hb muz still be in la la land when he hear u say white lizard/cockroach. hahaa...

Summert,
Ok la, at least cockroach & lizards are pests. If I try to wake my hb, he will probably mumble something about networks and hardware, then go back to sleep again.

haha.. yah i think he was still in his la la land then.. oh it's spelt as COCKroach hor i was thinking for few seconds how to spell it .. see wat pregnancy has done to moi's spelling ability too..

SDchick
cayden does the same thing too! not sure d reason though... he can keep doing that for minutes...
then me n hubby will just quietly kneel beside his cot n watch him rub his face, stop when we put our hands on his arm, then he start rubbing again when we lift off.. actually quite funny.. like watching a video clip on
loop mode.. keep looping n looping.. hiaks..

bbp
wah, so near!! im at blk 230!!

jsp
okies, got ya msg¬!

pb
poppy's such a darling in her baptism gown.. n her cake looks so yummy n colourful!!!

teething
any mummies bought teething toys for your babies yet? ahha, i tnk i'm super kiasu lor..
he haven show signs of teething yet (nor flipping) n i've already given him his 1st teether..
couldnt resist it lah.. so cute.. looks like ice-cream

there's another one resembling a chocolate bar... both combi teether selling at kiddy palace..

1852036.jpg

bg
wish i could bring cayden for his 1st picnic session.. but got to work on both days..u ladies enjoy yaself!

dustee, PB,
Same here, I'm SAHM but sometimes I wonder if my baby is better off in infant care. At least they should do educational stuff each day for the babies. Me, usually just dangle rattles in front of Jamie or plonk him in his baby gym coz I dunno what else to do. Haiz ... of course I miss my paycheck too, but not the office politics, kekeke .. As for 'mom knows best', no matter what or how well we do, I'm sure our kids will think that way

Hannah,
The scootababy is retailed at USD119 exclusive of shipping. Dunno how much will it be in local shops. It's rather expensive and that why I want to see the real thing first before buying.

PB
i need to bring my helper along too. if do lunch, i will prob go pick my boy up then join u gals. let me know. cos outdoors in the afternoon a bit warm for the bb unless we look for an area with some shade.

any bb teething? jx has been really cranky. last night she woke at 11pm, 1am, 3 am and couldn't sleep till 5am. at 4.30 i got really fed up and left her to cry and told her i m angry. she cried and screamed until hb came out to living room and asked whats wrong. then he tried to pacify her but she refused. finally i gave in and carried her and told her i m not angry and she stopped. funny right...

i suspect she's teething but not sure. really cranky.

RHS, dustee, PB
i also dunno what to do with jx sometimes though i m a second time mum! actually i think bb benefit most from us talking to them. so if u dunno what to do, just talk or sing. they pick things up from our voices and also rhythm.

i will flash some black/white pic that i have or do some exercise with her as i sing.

today she's very funny. my #1 was singing and jx couldn't stop chuckling. she really adores the bro i feel. every single thing that he does she will laugh. he raised his hand and she also laughed

I am new here. Dun usually post here cos very busy with 3kids. Happen that now cannot zzz so juz kaypo here. Juz wanna share my view abt feeding bb. I am the supporter of Super Baby Food. So far it really serve me well for my 2 older dd. It provide mth by mth guide on wat to feed the bb even very details guide on how to prepare the food. But i must say the food are more westen kind that if you have parents or in laws ard they just cannot accept it. Use a lot of freezing method. Another good book i like is feed your child right. It is more asia even teach u how to make fishball!!!Talk abt this i better recall back all my books n do my revision for dd3 now. HTH cheers

Hannahl
Yah alot of things to go shopping but okie la take it as my weekly exercise lor.....hehehe
Better then stuck at home right...haha

hehehe I'm trying to imagine ur son saying "fourrrr"...hahaha

PB
Ember says alot of "Ai" So I will jus keep asking her U 'ai' Mama is it? then wait for her to say "ai" then love Papa, love kor kor......hahaha

dustee
U need to go SHOPPING!!!!
As in bring bb walk outside shopping not online. Can jio me also if u dun mind my noisy #1....hahaha

bluey
I heard its VERY good leh.

cellow, i got what u mean liao, never thot of using toothpicks

bebepod also good lah, not so common as compared to bumbo, then console yourself that cedric gets to sit on a brand new one lor
Ya, must be very sim tia for u.

PB, my friend water the plants with the excess ebm

gd morning,

the work pressures are making me emo and hormonal. girls, any links on post natal depression to share? i wonder if i m post natally depressed now.... doesnt help that HB and I had a little tiff on Sunday, and we are in that funny space where both of us are tip-toeing ard each other.

Oh! Cedric slept fm 10pm to 430am last night. Better than waking up twice a night, but mummy din manage to sleep till midnight, so onli 4.5 hrs uninterrupted sleep.

re: Botanic Gardens
I wanna go too! but wkg la...

re: jealous of helper
I brought this up at dinner table last night. MIL imm knows what I m talking abt and assured me it is entirely normal to feel this way. HB took a _little_ bit longer to catch up, then tried to talk logic into me.... MEN!
A 4-time mummy colleague summed up this feeling best - "I dun really know wat I want, but I want things done MY way." Then she laughed and told me she meditates before every bedtime.

hannahi,
watering plants w excess ebm?!? wat a waste! ya at least Cedric sits on new orange bebepod. Bought orange as unisex colour. heh.
I never thot of using toothpicks too, one of my colleague mummies taught me bcz I was complaining

michelle,
if you refer this link hor http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkstorage.html on EBM storage and handling, actually fresh EBM can store in the fridge section for up to 8 days leh. I try to give within 1-2 days la, but last weekend, I worked at home on Friday so Cedric only drank Thu's EBM on Mon. 4 days old already! no lao sai at all.

Talking bb talk
PB, dordor,
Cedric still does the ang ger talk leh. No M sounds, no Ai sounds. And he talks a lot when latching on! Eat and talk at same time... I tell him not to talk when his mouth is full :D finish his meal, then he can talk properly. Sounds like what my own ah bu told me last time.

summert
bb ernest using huggies ultra & dry comfort... i prefer ultra coz doesnt give my boi diaper rash... better absorbency but more ex...

SY, PB
PM me if outing confirm... maybe we can go there earlier coz nowadays weather quite unpredictable lor... hot at 1 moment & pouring the next min...

PB,
can i join u guys to BG coz nw at home only both of us coz hubby went for reservist till next week n it quite bored for both us to stay at home. both of us have being going shopping since monday to tampinese mall bought a lot of rubbish n clothes home .....but wat time u guy going??

SY,
u going as well can hitch a ride fm u ??

Dor Dor,
sms me also if u going shopping huh coz those friends of mine with kids all working only me not working so sad . . sob sob dun have firends can join me for shoppng spree ...
dustee can join us as well right ???

Wah...
So envy u all SAHMs...

I be workin til 1pm for two weeks. then its back to full day work>>>

PB, i dont mind joinin BG but will be after my work, think it will be too late...

Helper
Yup, my helper name is Diana Ross cos her dad is a fan!!!
She looks ok, quite hard workin..
BTW, how long is a good time frame before she goes independent alone at home with baby?? I was thinkin abt two months...

Mummies with babies sleeping through the night, Ethan's last feed was 8pm (80ml) and he din drink milk the whole nite till this morning. I changed his diaper before I left for work, AND IT WAS DRY! He did not Pee AT ALL after the change from 8pm last nite. IS THIS NORMAL? Is there something wrong?? My MIL say it could be because he did not drink milk.. so it is ok??? or not??

Cellow, oh EBM can keep for so long in the fridge? i always thought it is 48 hours, so i threw away a pack of 170ml ytday. This morning found another half bottle (about 50ml) and also discarded... ARGH!!

These few days cos of Ethan fussing during feed times, i started to have doubts over my EBM. I always feel that the EBM smells wierd after warming.. but when i ask my hubby to smell, he says it is normal milk smell.. dunno is it me or wat.. really not much confidence in my milk quality.. cos Ethan also poo like 3-4 times a day.. and last nite he din pee.. is it cos my milk is no good? In my mind i keep doubting my milk, and a few times i wanted to give him FM le... how ah? how ah??

morning all..

been super busy so hardly log in..

there's a BG outing on fri?? can i join in too? but i gotta bring MIL along.. hee.. so can bring #1..

smiggle.. diana ross!! LOLOLOL!! I have never even leave my maid alone at home before, (since Jul), all the more I would never leave her alone with Ethan, maybe except 20min when I need to go in the room to pump and Ethan is sleeping outside, and my inlaws are not around....

SY

My boy is teething. I can see the white thingie on his lower gum. After my post few days ago with do1nk or dor dor (sorry I mix both of your nick) about biting nipple, when I went home I see the white thingie on his gum.

My kids always teething at 4 months. #1 boy also sprouted teeth about the same time. But #1 boy's milestones are quite advance in everything, flip, crawl, talk, and walk. Only late to sit up due to big baby.

Michelle,
I think it's because he didn't drink much. My bb also like that, her last feed is 10.30 pm and by the time I changed her diaper early morning, her diaper is dry. As long as his diaper is wet during the day, I think it should be okay.

Why don't you try tasting the EBM after you warm it? if it doesn't taste sour, should be okay.

Smiggleprincess,
When #1 was still a baby, my MIL stayed with us until she's 6 months. I made sure that my helper did whatever I told her to do with regards to baby. after 6months, my MIL went back home and bb is left with helper as both me and hb work. I'll just have to trust her lor.

ohhhh i missed so much on the postings :p

wah you all going shopping together ar? that's cool!

me, hubby and #1 heading to Genting tmr, so poor Lucien is left in mil's care while we are away, sure gonna miss him!

Yesterday i went to "suan ming", as in Bazi analysis that kind in chinatown...wa liao very "zun" leh till i bit scared. and i burnt a big hole in my pocket again lor bcos i need to worship "guan yin". but i thought $$ can be earned again, the safety of my family esp my children is the most important lor...i'm becoming more and more auntie liao...

PB,
i heard alot about the ikea survey on class 95, it sounded very interesting. i'll go check it out!

re: cereal
last time when i fed my #1 cereal i mix with my EBM, but dun add too much bcos EBM tends to make the cereal more runny.

re: infant care
saw that some of you mentioned the alternative care. i would advise not to if you can afford to take care of baby at home bcos there will only be 1 caregiver to a few other babies in the ctr. the chances of catching virus risk is higher, and most importantly, there's really nothing much to teach to an infant at this age, and i dun think they would be that nice or can be bothered to lor, they'll only take care of basic needs. I'm sure we will do a better job then them in caring for our kids.

re:excess ebm
think it's a better if used for facial, apply on your bb's eyebrow for hair growth, wash hair...all these better than water plants leh...hahaha

cheryl,
cayden looks so cute with the ice cream teether.

Star,
Wah so fast already teething ya. My #1 also teething when she was 3 months old. My hb and I scrambled to find all types of teat and finally we found pigeon - orthodontic ones (not produced anymore). When using this one she didn't cry during feeding.

Hope my bb, who is now also fussy when drinking, not teething so early. I checked her gum, it's not red and swollen.

Oh yeah, those who's going to leave bb with helper,
You have to remind helper over and over again not to pull bb's hand (esp when bb is older). My helper did that when my #1 was 1.5 years old and she dislocated her elbow. Also, not to shake bb, even when playing.

summert,
Lucien does that too, he'll push my hand or the bottle away if he doesn't want to drink, if i persisted he'll turn his head till very sideways or push teats out with his tongue.

hannahl,
hmmm...the milk fats would usually come off quite easily after swirling leh...or else if you store in bottle one then try to warm it first before transferring. but dun add water melt it.

Michelletan

Chilled BM and Frozen BM smell are different. Initially, I also thought that my chilled BM turned bad. It smells awfull and threw away 150 ml. It didn't taste sour at all.

Oops double post.

my bb will have a second 5-1 jab this sat. Hopefully no fever this time. Probably will give Pneumcoccal also.

After searching from the internet, I found that my bb behavior during sleep is called Rhythmic movement disorder.Sounded so scary but it's pretty normal.

ya, I was reading it too.. but m not so sure of my case is it a case of lipase present... anyway, I think i want to try to chuck my milk in another corner of the fridge and see if it improves... meanwhile, should i feed him FM just to be safe? or continue with EBM? I AM VERY STRESSED!!

Mummies going to BG, I think PB and JSP are both using huggies? take a shot of your babies in Huggies together and then send it in to Huggies.com.sg to win more huggies diapers!!

summert, he picks up broken english also leh
so farnie lah ur hubby LOL

RHS, u know when will scootababy come to s'pore? My sis is in US now, she asked me to order then send to her place there, then pass to me in christmas when she's back home. Still thinking

come to think of it, it should not be a storage problem, cos when i first take it out of the fridge, it smells normal, it only smells different after it is warmed. Do you mummies face the same thing? HELP!!!

cellow
it's normal to be jealous of helper. for my #1 i really felt the same way as u. go out and work and then come home and he is closer to helper. but as they grow older, things will change. no worries abt it

serene,
i may not have car on fri so will prob take cab. if yes, i dun mind swinging by your place.

Helper
And here i was thinkin after two mths can leave her alone with baby..
Im quite worried that they dunno how to make baby finish the milk la..

SD
can u explain more on Rhythmic movement disorder? Maybe Kayden has it too..

PB
Wanna fix a time so tat everyone knows whether can make it or not?

michelle,
oops sorry to remind you of that incident :p
think it's perfectly fine to carry on with feeding your EBM, dun worry too much about it k? sometimes it does smell diff but as long as it doesn't smell sour/fermented then should be alright.

re: Huggies
my kids also using Huggies leh...go back take pic of them in it huh?

Morning mummies, came in here to 'eat snake' alittle.. keke

Ive finally subscribe Mother & Baby mag ! Got freebies somemore - 3 packs of Huggies Pull-ups Pants worth $54.

Also Ive finally applied for Isetan Privilege card ! I can vision myself taking leave to go queue up for the next Isetan Private Sale. keke..

Teether
I saw some really cute teethers at Kiddy Palace. Not sure if its Combi but it sure is real cute. Got Choco bar, ice-cream ...

Chery
Cayden looks real cute with his yummy teether !

Huggies Photo Contest
The one that I saw was 'Huggies Pull-Ups Pants Photo Contest' from Mother & Baby mag...

Snap a Photo of your child in Huggies Pull-Ups Pants with Huggies summer hat and email to win attractive prizes (worth $54).

Email photo with these details : Name, baby's name and baby's age to
by 30 Nov '08.

have been miaing for a couple of days
was down with sorethroat last week.

then monday bring baby to see a private eye specialist
before that, i realise foul smell coming out from her.
but have no idea where.
thought it was the ear but then the ear smell not the same lehz.
couldn't figure out.
until sunday, when she rub her left eye. the smell came again.
thats when i realise it is from her affected left eye.

she got an infection.
although notvery serious. but doc say boz of the lump there will cause some pain to her.
thats why she cry when i try to massage.

so heart pain loh.

then today i am sick again. must be my boss.
yesterday sick still come to work. pass the germs to me.
now i am at home.
feeling so depress loh. i don wan to fallsick. i wan to be close to my baby.

anyway later bring her for the follow up.
the lump seems less obvious.
hopefully, positive remarks will be given later.

PB
your cupcake looks delicious.
and your milo.
i wasnt even offer a cup loh.

baby rachel still havent flip. ony half way there nia.

SDchick
rachel left ear is smelly.
ppl say it might be boz of the eye.
but i very hardworking loh.
i always clean her ear.

smiggleprincess
i bought a jumperoo and exersaucer for bb rachel
cant wait to let her try on them when she turn 4 mths old.
one more week to go.

summert
i experience the same thing.
it just hang on me too.

CS
i went to dig out those gift for baby.
also start giving the teether to chew on.

and for the huggies contest.
baby must be 18 months (i think)
i was also so tempted to sign p for the mag but pull up pants don know when then will use.
still waiting for other offer.

Hi smiggleprincess,
Here's one of the info:
http://www.sleepeducation.com/Disorder.aspx?id=18
my bb will "wave" her hand furiously when sleeping on the side and can be like that for more than 30 min lor. If I hold her arm, her leg will kick soon after. If she were put on her back (lying down), her head will turn left and right all the time. This only happens when she's starting to go to sleep, only at night. Once she's in deep sleep, the movements stop. When it's almost time for morning feed, she will start doing that again. hmmmph.. This sat will go see PD, so I will ask him about it again.

There will be a motherhood exhibition at United Square 14-16 Nov.
http://www.motherhood.com.sg/

CS
the huggies contest is not from the mag but from the website one... oni for those using ultra thou...

Qing
eye infection?? bb ernest also got a small red lump near to his eyes budden yesterday bro-in-law who is a PD commented tat not serious, juz clean using boiled cooled water and see how after afew days lor...

"sayang"... drink more water n rest more if possible lor... now the weather quite xiao so tink will fall sick more easily lor...

Qing, *hugs*... I hope Rachel is feeling much better by now. Give her lots of love (which Im sure you have always given
) and she'll be a happy baby again in no time.

JSP,
ya loh...just saw must use the ultra range one...chey cannot take part liao.

Qing,
I know how that feels...my throat still got phlegm after a week and cough persisted on & off. the weather's really bad now, do take good care of yourself and get well soon.

hope rachel's infection gets cleared up soon too...help me to sayang her ok?

Mummies, you girls have started giving babies teether le arh?? Even thou not teething, dont have any white-ish stuffs at gum also can give mah?

bb rachel
everytime i massage her eye she will pull my hand away.
then all the yellow pus will come out.

fiona
i will.
but now, i also don dare to go near her too often.
i am like having a fever but the temp is 36.8 lehz.

SDchick
bb rachel also does that.
she will move her hands freely in the air with eyes close.
if you hold them she will fuss.
but only at night.

cs
i just give it to her.
let her grad and play with it loh.
since she put everything in her mouth.

JSP
What I meant was I saw the contest advert in Mother & Baby mag.. I guess they're helping to spread words on the promo...

Qing
Yes, do drink more water to bring temp down.