(2008/07) July 2008

serene,
may i suggest, since all the mummies coming for the gathering alrdy paid for the catering. why not take the additional amount from late comers like me to order the extra servings? then in this way don't have to make a refund to everyone. what do the rest of the mummies think of this suggestion?

fiona!
super funny about your #1 and her motion detector la! i can imagine you and your hubby like in those bank burgler movie in skintight black suits trying to siam the laser beams LOL

aiyah my hubby sometimes has very boy boy sense of humour. sometimes he joke then i make a one-kind of face and say 'eh, very nerdy leh' then he say 'ya i also know! i like!' keke

re golf
any mummy keen to pick up? i went with colleagues once to driving range and found it to be a great stress reliever :D but then soon after, i got preggie, so didn't continue. would like to though!

SY
JX so funny! maybe she will like to eat fruits next time?

re brown rice cereal
wah i tell you girls ah. my hubby damn on leh. i also surprised. the other day he came back and he brought TWO boxes of brown rice cereal leh! wah wah.

re the makan at the gathering
i suggest we keep to the original number of pax for the ordering. i have never been to a party where the food was finished. always very sayang, got alot of leftover kind. and like missy say, we sure will be yakking away lor! LOL. or maybe the hubbies will wolf down all the food keke

just now went to red star dim sum (as you all know that was what i was craving in the delivery suite!!!) with old friends. i was BFing poppy so my friend put things on my spoon then i just eat. i told her she makes a very good papa haha.

oh yes you all read correctly!!! BFing poppy! SUCCESS!!! successful no-lie-down BF and in public, under the nursing wrap some more! i think she sleepy and still a bit stoned so whatever i did she just blur blur let me. hehe. no fussing, just nicely latched on. good girl!!!

btw mummies, are your babies waking up later these days? poppy changing her waking up time liao. used to be 6am. now sometimes 7, sometimes 8

SY
hai ya.
i cant view the web from office lehz.
super interested in getting more storage bags.

serene
can you post the menu again?

PB, lucky you. poppy already sleeping thru the nite, and now waking up later somemore... *envy*. did u increase her intake in the day cos it seems she can last longer without milk?
Congrats on latching successfully, in public somemore... while eating somemore... kudos!

PB,
that's a good gal poppy! i wish Lucien would sleep thru soon...i wish he'll wake up later in the morning...just have to wait patiently for all that to happen bah..

ohhh...i am usually the crappy one but i must have spread some of the crappiness to my hubby over the yrs...now i hear funny comments from him too

Menu for the Gathering
http://www.neogarden.com.sg/buffet_harvest.cfm
1)Fried Mee Hoon
2)Mushroom Broccoli
3)Sze chuan fish
4)Curry chicken
5)Cereal prawn
6)Breaded scallops & sotong yu tiao
7)mini choclate eclair
8)sago honeydew
9)fruit punch

presently i order 30 pax afraid it might not be enough ....we would still collect the amount fm those late comers as suggest fm fiona and add in additional portion....if i add in e helpers in it would be 40 pax in total should i order for 32 pax increase another 2 pax ?????

wow, so many posts!

Tired out fm work, and it's only wed
Pumped only once at work today, super hard rocks in front of me now - LOL

michelle
no leh never really increase her intake. i usually make 150ml of water + 5 scoops and she takes however much she wants. for the longest time it was about 120ml but these days she seem to be finishing the whole thing. with the powder it adds up to about 165-170ml

doggiebb!
the clips are sooooooooooo cute! and i am soooooooooo impressed that the seller managed to clip on a baby with poppy's hairstyle!!!!!!!!!!!!!! there is hope for my little baldilocks!!!! no need to be deprived of hairclips!!!

PB

yes!!! and cheap!!! BUY BUY BUY!!! *evil laughs*

cellow

I know! it's only Wed and I feel as washed out as a rag!

Serene

sorry for the inconvenience! think in order not to complicate matters, I will just come with the husband then.

serene,

it was stated in their catalogue that the food will be given 10% more that the order.
so don really have to add on.

summert... can enlighten me what is the "whisper method" about? thanks

SY... for night weaning, actually i asked PD and she said it is okie to wean when bb reach 5kg..

PB... hey thanks for the article
really envy u that poppy can sleep through the night and now sleep a bit longer so u can have more rest too

after complaining after my hb, actually come to think about it, he is a very nice hubby
1. he buys grocery after work
2. he does most of housework since i was pregnant, until now.. keke
3. whenever i throw temper, he is patient with me
4. during confinement, he pat bb to sleep most of time at night so i can rest
5. whenever i not happy with MIL on the way she handles bb, he is supportive to me and tries to talk to his mum
6. most impt, he shares the responsibility of taking care of bb

my medium-done hand
as i was telling u gals i scalded my hand while washing pump with hot water, now got a few blisters and super itchy... scare will got scar leh... so sad

Thks all mummies 4 the compliments..well, i'm using Pisaca 3 to create the collage..can just download the sofeware online..then, import the photos, choose the photo..then create the collage..very simple..dont need to use photoshop..very tedious..

SY, i'm currently using this milk egg breastmilk storage bag..not bad..good quality n cheap in price..i ordered it thru singapore motherhood forum under BP..

fiona
yeah man, quite hard to convince my hb of anything one...

she really loves the fruits and the pic. i can leave her in cot for abt 5-10 min when i need to do something else esp when need to settle #1.

rain
i like healthy times cereal. some NTUC will have it.

missyz
think i will want to get the milk bags. how many u wan?

qing
u want to get? maybe we share our order?

PB
your poppy so good. mine still wake up so early. sometimes i really wish my kids can wake up later...

waiwai
jx used to sleep thru then suddenly din wan to sleep thru. so i asked PD and he said he feels that it's abit young. but of cos if she can sleep thru i will be more than happy!

re milkbags
any mummies want to order as well?

My boy likes to rotate alots..now he can turns 360 deg in the cot..i still haven't place the bumper yet cos it is quite hot..but guess i will need to do it soon cos occasially his leg will stuck in between the rail of the cot...

Re:Bedrail
Which mummies that want to get the bedrail? Last month the Isetan got sales..the Safety 1 bedrail only selling @ $39.90 instead of $79.90..is a good buy..i got 4 of them..hehe..perhaps can just look out for the promotion again...

Re: BB sleep thru
Really envy those mummies that can have a sweet dream at nite..my boy still wake up 2x , ard 1+ and 3+ at nite for milk..if i'm lucky, he can finish the milk within 10 mins then i still have chance to sleep..there was one time that he took 1 hr to finish the milk..by the time i oledy have to wake up to pump and after that get ready to work liao...still zombie till now...can't survive without chicken essence everyday..

Re: Bb want to be carried all the time
My boy always wanted to be carried..he will shown 'fainted' face when being carried..but once being put on the bed, he will start to scream on top of his voice..then stop instantly after being carried...and back to his 'fainted face'...

mommies, thanks for your views on naming of boy's body parts. guess i will use the correct term, penis and scortum.

Fiona
my boy just pooed today, didnt cry, his poo is ok, yellow colour, his poo is yi tiao yi tiao, normal but not hard. normal? but then need to ng ng him for a while b4 he poo. now still undecided if i shd chg FM liao.

waiwai
baby whisperer method quoted from lbt's post:
When bb falls asleep for the 1st 5-10mins, whisper gently into your bb ears. Tell him/her what you want her to be e.g. wake up at 6am to drink milk, dont fuss when drink milk, dont fuss when sleeping etc etc. It works. They are in the sub-conscious mind for the 1st 5-10mins before they go into deep sleep.

Gathering

Last CAll..Those haven paid pls do so by tomolo k..
Will check acc tomolo.

U all might also wanna think of how we can get together for a group photo.. There is nothing for the babies to lie on...

Serene, can u tell me the mode of payment and how much???

sorry gals, i very much wld like to join the gathering but something crop up.. i cannot go.. sob sob
next gathering let me noe.. i will try my best to join.. sorry sorry...

PB
U not going gathering leh cos confirm can't even get to chat or eat or do anything cos alone with my #1 n #2 ma.
I know that song!!!.......hehehe
Ember wakes at 12pm......hehehe

Dor Dor,
wah.. envy sia.. Ember wakes up at 12pm. remember damien also like that. how you train ar?

Xiaoyang,
me me looking for bedrail. Thanks for your info. but the safty first bedrail cant use on my bed.

PB,
poppy drinks a good amount, maybe that's why can sleep thru the nite hor...Lucien only takes 120ml with 4 scoops, but recently got show sign of increase, and last nite he managed to sleep 6 hrs straight before "eh eh" for milk at 6.50am. hope he'll slowly tune towards total sleep thru soon.

waiwai,
wahhhh...you cooked your hand ar! try not to scratch it. if you are using calendula cream on baby, now you can use it for your wound, will heal faster.

SY,
mine is always wants to look at me & he'll talk loudly too, and he'll cry or make noise once i walk away, so hubby suggested out of jest to paste a photo of me besides his bed....hahaha

xiaoyang,
thanks for the tip, i'll try to make a collage too

your boy so cute...once carried very shiok mah...so give a sleepy face lor

summert,
actually the poo sounds normal, but you've bought a new tin of milk powder alrdy? if so, it's actually ok to try out the new one, maybe it will give a better result? if it does then you can stick with the new one, if not then you can decide to go back to the present brand.

Gosh, today's traffic is awful.. those who needs to commute (like me from east to west).. sayang. Those who does not need to commute, enjoy your late sleep-in cos the weather is great for sleeping in!! Goooooood Morning!

delphine, after what you wrote about denise.. I think i should start looking for a bedrail too.... let me know of any good lobang..

Fiona, Ethan is drinking 170ml of EBM about 3-4 hourly, but he still woke up at 3am last nite for 100ml and then again at 6am (latch on) and then at 745am for 140ml.... I already cannot TBF him since like weeks ago.... sigh...

michelle,
Morning! oh yes the traffic always s**ks during rainy days...haiz. certainly wish i'm in my cosy bed snuggling up with my gal...hehe

michelle,
hahaha...Ethan is stocking up ar? maybe it's growth spurt? we very funny hor, when they drink less we gets worried, when they drink more we tak boleh tahan :p

smiggleP

Do you have a bumper mat? if you have, just lay a ground sheet or many black trash bags and then put the bumper mat on top for the bbs to lie on.

I could bring mine but since i am now not bringing my helper. maybe a bit hard with just me and hb and two bbs. The mat is NOT light

who else is driving and has a bumper mat and an extra pair of hands around to lug the mat out?

PB

you spent money too? hehe!

fiona, ya hor.. I prefer baby drinking more lah! only need more green papaya soup loh.. haha.. anyway, I also plan to start introducing formula cos I plan to stop after 6 months mah... just as well...

doggiebb, sorry i got no bumper mat.. this is the next thing I need to convince my hubby to buy.. so if there is one to show him.. that will be great! muahahaha...

Smiggleprincess
i will sms u the mode of payment ...

Today Kacey manage to finish the whole bowl of rice cereal which i prepare for her ....And gd news she mange to flip to her tummy n than turn to her back ....me n hubby manage to witness it ....so happy

goooooooood morning mummies!
wai wai
http://www.johnsonsbaby.com/Sleep/default.html

xiaoyang
wow your boy is a full clock now! 360 degrees? li hai!!! LOL about the 'fainted face'

dordor
you mean i can't go gathering or you can't go? typo is it? cos i can go leh hehe. aiyah you ah. we can help to look after what! never mind la, next time you join us la. or we put food in your spoon then you self feed :D

you got sing to ember the song? i sing to poppy LOL. for those who understand hokkien, i try to type:

orh nee ku kok kanna
chap jee hueh cho ah ma
ah ma tng ah ma teh
ah ma tao chia ang ku kueh!

doggiebb
you still dare to say? ya la, spent money la!!!

tip for mummies whose babies do not like to have their noses cleaned: do it when they are asleep!

yesterday fought with ah lao
cos when helper arrived, we bought her a calling card to call home to bao ping an. then one day i brought her out to my friend's place and she chatted with my friend's helper. it was through that channel that i found out she put the calling card in her pocket and into the washing machine. so the numbers faded then cannot use.

so i told hubby cos it was strange that she would still ask to use the phone after that happened. i got a big shock when he said 'ya i know, i bought her another calling card'. i was very upset that i never talk to him the whole evening (i so zee zhah, it took alot of determination to not talk ok!!!).

i don't know why i was so upset. was it because i felt like they shared a secret on purpose? or because he 'went over my head' and did it? (cos we agreed that all instructions and money should come from me) or that he is so kanchiong about being a good employer to her (i lagi more pu hueh cos he is so bochup about so many other things in the house).

to him he feels that if cannot use then should get another since it was a mistake. fair enough but to me i think we have already done something extra for her, and she didn't appreciate it enough to keep it safe, mistake or not, so should we really do another extra thing on top of the original extra? it's only $10 but isn't it the principle of it? we are not a charity organisation and she is not here on holiday!

i know it's only been 3 weeks but i think i really cannot tahan to have another person living in my house. a stranger. though it's nice that the floors are magically cleaned every day (they have never been this clean) and meals are cooked and i don't have to do the dishes. perhaps it is a trade off lor. it's not worth me being so mang zang and upset all the time and worse, quarrelling with hubby about it!

so later will call the agency to seek their advice - how to minimise my losses. wish me luck

PB, oh no.... oh no... dun give your ah lao the silent treatment... you have to tell him that it is ok if he wants to do something or give something to the maid, BUT he has to tell you first, OR do it through you no matter how insignificant the case may be. Else, the maid will go "behind" your back all the time.. I am sure he understands if you tell him nicely about it, sometimes men jus needs to know and follow instructions. To them, it may be "no big deal"... my hubby does not even ask my helper to do things.. everything is done through me or my MIL. I also told my MIL if she gives her anything, it has to be "through" me cos I am the employer... or in my presence so she knows I "approve" of it.. anyway, dun wait for any more triggering events to do what you need to do.. trust your instincts and 6th sense and good luck!

missysz, Ethan is 13 wk this week... I also saw the bumber spree, but like the Bumbo case, nothing beats seeing the real thing..

I suppose we will all bring strollers? then we can line them up in the strollers in a circle and then take a sky photo?

michelle,
hahah ya lor drink more better

PB,
just to share...usually my new maid would turn up with their own calling card then subsequently they ask me to help them buy and it's usually from their own pocket money, i dun pay for it lor. and i got one who came with her own mobile phone so no prob. pls dun be upset liao.

serene,
wah bb kacey also turn back and forth liao...when is lucien ever gonna turn neh?

sigh fiona. i know. i just thought FIRST TIME i will be nice and make her feel comfortable mah. that's why i was pissed at hubby for buying the 2nd. we never intended to buy more.

michelle, i so understand what you mean by 'to them, it may be no big deal'!!!!!

Fiona,
haha.. you will be very busy when lucien starts to turn.

Pink Bunny,
Hugz hugz.. dun be upset. Men sometime just dun know what they do could have upset us. Just tell him nicely, you are both the employer of the helper. And whatever relating to the helper, have to discuss with each other before action.

Michelle,
Just saw one in kiddy palace safety first bed rail (1side) selling at S49.90. Is your bed those with frame at the side, if yes then could not use the bed rail. The frame has to be level with the mattress (eg, on top of one another).
Am still looking for alternatives.

Serene,
Congrats kacey starting on solid. Turns 4 month liao?

serene... so happy kacey flipped and turned!! and u saw it!!! ethan oni did it once and i missed it... anyway, nowadays he has a new pattern. when he wakes at 3am, he will not eh eh like he used to, but instead stamp his feet several times on the cot. until i went to him... he will smile innocently and as tho he is damn happy his little trick of drawing my attention works... makes us so willing to wake up to serve him loh! hahaha...

Morning...

Gotta go interview maids... Haiz... tedious......

Bumper mat

I have one, but dont think can put so many babies.. at least need two...

Solids
Kayden saw the dietitian yesterday and she recommended solids at abt 6mths. Reason: Allergies and other illness that comes along with certain food... The bigger your babies, the more immune they are.

Flippin
Haiz.. The physiotherapist saw Kayden abit slow in flippin.. He is 3mths and 1wk now. Must do more exercise at home..

payment received via ibankin
cellow
PB
bluey
youpi
jacelyn
dustee
doggie
cinbunny
missyz
Alicia Leow(your nick pls)
fiona chin

via atm
i dont hav the transaction ref leh..
but i guess
14 oct-cheryl/blakmagic
15 oct-Qing
16 oct-Michelletan
16 oct-Sonic
20 oct-Serene
22 oct-which mummy tt and never sms me?
pls pls indicate your nick when u transfer for ib and sms me for atm

Serene, cinbunny is the one who transfer $56. JSP how?

smiggleprincess,
cinbunny is taking over JSP slot she bringing her friends....

missysz,
kacey is turning 4mth tomolo 24 Oct ...She start on rice cereal since last sun, i feed her with spoon. I bought the combi sets with spoon n fork quite easy to use coz it seem like design for right hander coz it has a angle easy to feed, she took her rice cereal at 9.30am than ard 10.30am she eh eh for her milk she drink 150ml ...i was quite shocked ......
lately she seem to gain weight me cant carry her for long have to use the sling to pat pat her sleep.

michelletan,
dun think i bring stroller i would sling kacey there coz i going alone with kacey n walk to smiggleprincess home it a walkling distance fm my home ....

PB,
y dun u give up the helper since u r SAHM u can actually divide the house chores btw u n ur hubby..
Since I'm a SAHM the house chores is mostly done by my hubby, he will put the clothes in for washing twice a wk, vaccum n mop e floor every sun,wash the toilet every wk,every nite he will change boil n change the hot water inside the flask.
For me i will be in charge of washing kacey clothes n take care of her.during the daytime i will use the magic clean to wipe the whole house floor when kacey is asleep.

PB,

Dun be angry. Like that get old very fast one.
Change your maid. If you can get a good helper, you will not be so pek chek.
Dun quarrel with your hubby over maid, not worth it.

Maid experience:
For your maid, you dun have a good impression on her ... so dun keep her.
If you have good impression on a maid, small little mistake she do, you will be more tolerant. This is human nature.
Like my new maid, although she has a bit of attitude, she take good care of my kids (she has to handle 2 children and cook is not easy)
She saw me taking gnc supplements so she ask me on info about it. After reading some info I print for her, she told me she wanna get some supplements too and she will pay from her salary.
Yesterday, the stuffs arrive, she check with me how much $, I just told her the cost and also tell her that she would not have to pay for it.
But I clearly state to her, it is becoz she has taken care of my family well and it's her birthday end of this month. It is not much $$ also.

For my case, I really have to treat her nice as my kids are in her hands. But if you are there to supervise her, you can treat them stricter.

My former maid called me that she wants to come back and work for us ... well... she chose to leave for "greener grass". I told her sorry as I can''t simply ask my current maid to go, right? And my current maid is quite good.

Hubby:
As for my hubby, our agreement is that he has no "business" with the maid in any matters. I also told my maid this from day 1 ... "everything must go thru' me. Bypass me, no salary becoz I am paying for your salary."

zonked and tired out mummy reporting in ... *yawn*

Serene,
Your HB is very cooperative

re: hubba h-h-hubby
1. He walks away fm arguing w me when I am being unreasonable and emo.
2. Before helper came, he used to hang the bb laundry, wash dishes, wash and sterilise my pump eqmt and bottles, clear the rubbish - all done daily. Sometimes mop/sweep the floor too! hardworking HB

3. He drives me to work, and back fm work so that I dun hafta take bus or drive myself (I dun like driving during peak hours)
4. He buys me flowers

5. He carries bb to sleep.
6. When my wrists were / are hurting, he carries the hefty little one when we go out.
7. He changes Cedric's wet nappies and dirty diapers.
8. He plays w Cedric and makes him happy. Quite a sight to hear them both chuckling away.
9. He sings to Cedric even though it is universally (!!) acknowledged his singing voice is... well... shall i say not pitch-perfect?

10. He earns money to provide for Cedric and my needs. Although I m FTWM, must appreciate his financial contribution to hsehold also mah.

PB,
Sighz. Mayb he not local, and helpers are more equal in Canada? Not here and not w Filipinos hor. Must let them know you are boss. Kindness doled out in small portions, not all at once, sekali take for granted.

Gathering bb pix!
So bring strollers or bring bumbo to gathering?

PB,

oh ... 1 more suggestion for you to consider. Get part time cleaner. Maybe get them to visit your house twice weekly (3hrs), then u dun have to do so much housework and keep your privacy.

I engage part time cleaner when I have no children. They come over once a week. At least I dun have to do so much housework in the weekends.

PB,
you should consider part time cleaner like bluey suggested. i used to get one to come during the weekend and with just 2 adults and a bb, your place won't be too messy bah..but of course for a leave in maid, it's actually more worth in terms of $$ spent but only thing is having to stand living with a stranger and her nonsense (if any) lah...

delphine,
that's true...i'll just let lucien takes his time and let myself relak a bit 1st.

re: hubby
my hubby also doesn't have any dealings with our maid, he doesn't even talk to her lor (he's a quiet man)..and the agency lady boss also told us alot of stories abt those maid either getting involved with the men or excused them for molestation...so frightening

serene
divide chores with hubby? i wish! he doesn't sweep floor, doesn't mop. we've been together i think 5 years liao, he sweep floor maybe 5 times. mop maybe twice. cos he spilt something. so he only mop that area :|

seldom fold clothes. i do the laundry. he doesn't mind doing but if i'm at home, i can dry it out in the sun mah. if i cook, he will wash, but complain alot

bluey
part time cleaner worked great for us. we took once a week, but my biggest challenge is cooking for meals - lunch for myself, dinner for hubby and i.

but yes, pek chek about this is no way to live!!!!

cellow
i think that they are more humane toward their helpers in canada yes. but then again, i think their helpers are not so one kind! i feel that i am reacting to her actions. so i'm not fully to blame even though i feel guilty about it sometimes.