waiwai you asked before what was my mi jue to get poppy to sleep? i've been thinking about it and here are some things i usually do.
1) put her to bed at the same time every night (after her last feed)
2) stick to the same routine (sponge bath then feed)
3) when it's close to bed time, no over stimulation. no reading to her, no bouncing around, no jumpy singing (stick to slower numbers if want to sing). i don't talk to her in excited tones. my logic is that if she thinks there is something exciting happening, she won't want to sleep. want to be kaypoh and part of the fun
4) put her in the cot and if she fusses, let her fuss. put chup chup in her mouth if she fusses. if she spits out, i just put it back in. sooner or later, after being left alone, she'll get bored and just konk off
i hope this helps!
re helper at meal times
today i told her during lunch outside that she eats first but eat fast so that i can pass poppy to her if she needs to be fed. but today i had poppy in the bjorn cos she was SO tired and cranky after the <font color="0000ff">photoshoot*</font> that i didn't wnat to risk waking her by transferring her into other arms. but the helper - if you are told off by your employer, do you not htink you should eat fast anyway? still play with her beehoon. aiyoh
angeline
oh good point about why should i eat cold food while she eats hot food. actually my one track mind was only thinking if it's tze char then if i eat first, i won't get to eat all the dishes LOL
hey i don't mind if you join us la! the more the merrier. i guess we could all just re-divide the cost, since catered food usually comes in big amounts and i'm sure we won't be able to finish anyway. mummies?
<font color="0000ff">*we went to studio loft for our shoot today. poppy decided to wake up at 8am today instead of the usual 6am so our timing all kok up and she didn't have time to nap before so was a really grumpy bunny. she wore bumblebee outfit so she was a crying bumblebee LOL</font>
doggie
thanks for the tip! stupid question: Myanmese helpers are OK with spoken english? ie no need PHD but won't need to use flashcards and hand gestures? (insert image of PB here making monkey movements)
SDchick
oh my gosh! dare to show temper?!
just now another episode. she just opened the door and went outside to water the plants and sweep outside.
me: a_____, i would rather that you tell me next time before you go out of the house
she: but marm i just (mumble mumble something) -
me: i know, but next time just tell me first
those of you who have been to my place know that it's relatively private cos i got no neighbour and it's on the top floor. but what if it's along the corridor kind? then got pai lang come into my house and attack me how? nevertheless, should still ask for permission, no?
oh, best. at photoshoot, the photog also say she very ho mia. when poppy cry she never do ANYTHING lor. then we brought a toy like squeezy got noise kind to get poppy's attention when taking photo. so i asked her to squeeze it. she just put it behind her back and walk around with it. HUH??? to me that is a very DUH thing
garfield
maybe you have joined the 'must feed at home' club? at least you are not in the 'must latch on only when lying down' club! haha. maybe you and i can have parking space next to each other in shopping centre? LOL
hannah
hope your new helper will be ok!!! from doggiebb's exp, i'm rather swayed to looking for a Myanmese lady! wah! $888 leh! happening. congrats ah? so how would you spend the money??
michelle
sayang! hope you get better soon. drink loads of water! i don't think you are being possessive. it's your baby so of course you feel that way. i told my mum when it came to naming poppy that she's had her share of naming 4 children so she got no say in mine! but that's a bit diff la. and MIL is a bit harder to tell than mum... maybe you can just say you miss ethan cos you work then want to spend more time with him, even if it's just sleeping? and also, a regular routine would be more comforting for him instead of sleeping all around the world? like what JSP say, tell her 'oh mum, you also tired from looking after him all day. i take over la! you go and rest la!'
summer
how did you make your hubby decide what you wanted! cool sia!!! quick give lessons!
fiona
hahahaha the way you talk about my helper! yes i think i should be more strict. i have started talking to her more curtly. not rudely, but just straight and to the point. i've thought about it actually. i can handle the housework or get a weekend helper. but it's the meals that are really bothering me. i would like home cooked meals but it's so time consuming lor. and the washing up after. i hate that and hubby hates that he has to do it when he gets home. but having said that, now that poppy's timing is more stable, i do find that she's easier to handle and i am not running around like a mad woman all the time anymore. my helper has ALOT of free time. but how, cannot just refund what, right? <font color="ff0000">can or not? anyone knows?</font>
dordor!!!
you are so full of talent leh! can make shoes can make sling. you best la! re the hairstyle... poppy's head is also not a bush lor hello? LOL
cellow
hubby and i went out alone last weekend for wedding dinner. not really a date but it was nice to go out as a couple
no flowers for me but hubby buys chocolates la. does that count? haha. that's why i cannot lose the last 4kg of pregnancy weight.