(2008/07) July 2008

Pillow
Are you letting your baby sleep on pillows yet? i have been using napkin as his "pillow".. last nite my hubby say seems like it is time to get him proper pillow. Just now saw a latex "contour" pillow (centre one hollow) selling at $39.90, not too high, so think Ethan can use it now, but is that too ex for a baby pillow? latex pillow can wash and sun one?

cs,

toking about babycenter ... they accept only US credit card.
The last spree I happily consolidate orders for babycenter but later found that we can only buy thru' concierge. We will be charge 5% more.

Me busy working now, if you need more info, email me or catch me @ the gathering. Tell u more later

sonic,
yea i start with using bjorn bcos it's so much easier to put the baby inside, and i change to the sling later on when baby's getting too heavy for my shoulders and back. and with the sling it's so much better for them to explore things with their hands too, while i can support the weight on my hip.

PB,
getting tips from poppy is a great idea, but we won't be joining the gathering since i'll be celebrating my hubby's birthday

smiggle,
your baby's routine is so good...it's pretty hard for me to maintain my boy's routine since i'm back at work...and it's all a mess now.

Thanks for the tips mummies !

Michelle
I dont have MC discount card, but Im getting from MC, can I borrow your membership number boh?

Dani has been using Babysafe latex pillow since she was abt a month old. The center has this depression for the head. The neck is properly supported too. Got it from Kiddy Palace.

bluey
Thanks for the info ! Think I'll drop the idea of getting one online, will go get from local shops. Sadly I cant make it to the gathering but have bai-twor do1nk to pass you the 1 tub of calendula cream
Thanks for your help on CB cream !

Hannahl
I didnt get the tray cos ... actually I dont know why leh. Maybe cos I dont need it now. But now that you've mentioned, the tray can be bought seperately anot huh?

ok I PM you my membership number. see if can get discount or not (may not get for some items).

Hannahl, i bot it with the tray thinking that when he is more stable, he can sit on the bumbo for his feeding or just place his toys in front of him to play..

Cellow,
*pat pat* 3000+ email!!! How to sort them out!

Hannahl,
I bought without tray. I was thinking to buy with tray, then my hb said - what are you going to use the tray for? errrrr my mind goes blank when he asked that so we went for the one without. Maybe for bb to play - i'll just use the playmat. for her to eat.. I already have high chair. So no use lor.

Michelle,
I have the babysafe latex pillow too, but I thought that one is a little hard for my bb. I bought another light weight latex from taiwan, PUKU PETIT brand, seems to be better and softer. Bought it at Carrefour for $39.00 the bigger one is $49.00

dor dor
For the notes, no choice lehz.
I used to scroll up down too. But very texting lehz.

Snl
Oh.
We are same same.
But hor, bb rachel doesn't look overweight.
What abt urs?

SNL
I used Gina Ford as a loose guide for #1, to get his naps and feeding times into a routine. But he never slept on his own because I would nurse him to sleep. I was uncomfortable with letting him cry it out.

RHS
Did Jamie cry a lot? I agree that problems with naps are more difficult to solve than those for night-time sleep. For the past few days my darling has been napping in half hour stretches only, and napped a total of one and a half hours yesterday! In the end he couldn't fall asleep at night, even after a marathon nursing session, and only went to bed at 9.45pm
Today he napped for three hours, and went to bed by 7.30pm

CS
My boy also wakes at the slightest noise, even when I am carrying him to sleep.

When he is not sleeping, I pop him into the bouncer or leave him on the bed to admire his hands. I also read to him or show him flashcards when I am not being lazy.

Carrying bb to sleep
Am I the only one who still has to carry bb to sleep and thoughout the nap? Sigh!

Michelle
I use the flat, rectangular Babysafe latex pillow, not the 'donut' one.

Hannahl
I didn't get the tray 'cos it doesn't seem necessary. I'll be holding bb's food in my hand when feeing him anyway, and once he can sit upright, he will be in the high chair for feeds.

PB
Poppy is going to be baptised soon? I'm still undecided on godparents for bb so we've not done anything yet. My #1 was only baptised at 6 months thanks to his procrastinating parents.

Facebook
I've sent invitation to those in july mummies group... add me

Michelle... i use the 120ml x weight formula since PD says bb a bit heavy :p

delphine... me sengkang! northeast gathering... i'm fine with weekends or public holiday as i'm working now... how about u?
who else north-easterners??

cheryl... u also sengkang? me too

Jacelyn... sometimes my bb also cries when we remove the bottle from her mouth after she finish the last drop of milk... PD says maybe she wants to bite something, or she has colic... also dunno why

replying post
i'm using IE6, so press ctrl-n to open another new window to reply

oops i did it again!
after pumping in office, i use hot water to rinse the pump parts. yesterday was my 2nd time pouring HOT water ON MY HAND instead of onto the pump!!! OUCH!!!! now whole back of my left hand is "medium-done"... think my hands coordination have some problem, can't aim properly

Cellow
Control A + del :D

Youpi
Yup poppy is getting baptized on 2 nov. *anyone wants to come?* her godparents are my husband’s bro, and his gf, both of whom love poppy to bits. But since they are not going to be here, we have proxy godparents, our friends. I gotta do it soon cos i don’t want poppy to outgrow the beautiful baptism gown! (did I tell you girls the background of it? Very sweet one). If not, I guess I would procrastinate too hehe

Waiwai
Why don’t you buy the medela bags? Then can use microwave to sterilize your pump parts

looking forward to meeting you all at the gathering!!

PB
jx dun sleep a lot in the day so dunno why can't sleep at night..sian. then #1 got fever last evening...really busy night!

SNL
my kids take turns to wake one..really sickening at times. got one night i was awake from 2+...

re sleeping
my bb also needs to be carried to sleep most of the time. dunno why but these few days she hates to be put down. will cry when we put her down so got to keep carrying her!!

waiwai
that sounds really painful!!

Youpi
If we carry him, Jamie doesn't cry much. Just now we were quite surprised that he didn't cry when we put him to bed at 8pm. He cried when I put him down but immediately went quiet and played with his hands once I left his room. He fell asleep in 7 mins!! I do hope this is not just one time luck
We decided to do nap training later as we are worry if he doesn't nap well, he'll be cranky at night. Your bb couldn't sleep after marathon nursing? Wow, I thought nursing is the surefire, ultimate weapon to put bb to sleep. I guess that shows how much nap and night sleep are related.

Carrying bb to sleep
Nope, you're not the only one
But we are happy with his night sleep progress that I don't mind carrying him a little longer for naps.

dear all..
woahs, overwhelming response to fb.. hahha.. i'll try to remember everyone's face n names... but dun mind me if i address u by d wrong name during gathering.. *hiaks*

btw, anyone has cheong choon's number? sorry, i saw it somewhere but hard to track back d posts.. those who went to cheong choon, did anyone see fisher price rainforest jumperoo?? price pls?

waiwai:
do b more careful when handling hot water ar.. aiyos..

pb:
wah, cant wait 4 u to post pics wif poppy wearing her baptism gown..

smiggleprincess
hi, is ur acct number: 1313****2? i already transfered to u on 14th oct. ref number: 8042... but i think i mistakenly smsed to serene instead.. ahha.. pls inform me if u did not receive my payment for 2 pax.. keke.. im a blur mummy

CS
Thanks so much! I will contact her tmr.

But then hor, just now hb keeps saying wants his mum to take care of bb. Now I also hesitant cos every morning when I wake up and see bb frank still sleeping, I will start to think when my work starts and if bb is taken care of by nanny, then I got to wake him up from his beauty sleep. Very heartache to wake bb up like that.

Re FB
whats the group's name arh?

Hi Cheryl,
here's the contact: Cheong Choon store. blk 34 #03-132 Upper Cross Street phone 65323855
I didn't see as the store is pretty small, packed with stuff. But you can call and ask, they can quote you the price.

Carrying bb to sleep:
definitely moi!!! during the day my helper carried her to sleep.

smiggleprincess,
i'm sorry for the delay. Have just transferred $28 to your POSB SAVINGS 131-37213-2. I sent from UOB so i think need at least 2 working days for u to receive. Do check and let me know when you received yeah. Many thanks!

summert,
the group name is july mummies.

CS
They zhang da le dun sleep so much liao. Ember also now daytime awake most of the time.

Buying from overseas hor think the shipping not that cheap lor my LSS bag shipping was $100+ leh can u imagine. I heard big boxes go by comgateway cheaper but I never used them before still only with vpost for now.
I guess u have to agar use them a few times then will get more used to buying. N actually the mahuan part is not vpost lor its buy from the merchants. Cos those like Gap/ON u actually have to demand the bank to add in a USA address as an alternative add under ur debit or credit card before u can buy online. Cos they only allow purchase from US addy Creditcards.

BUMBO seat
Wanna check aah I forgot if it was mentioned lah so pardon me k. Does toy r us sell the bumbo seat?? Or anywhere in Forum?? Cos I have a $50 voucher so tot of getting the bumbo using the voucher.

CS,
agree w Dordor that they seem to be sleeping less now. anyhow, Cedric used to sleep in short snatches during the day and drive me crazy.

PB,
when i read that u had the image of lying down in shopping centre to latch, laugh until i stomachache.... no i din delete all 3000+ emails. luckily used filters before i went on ML, so v quickly sorted out which were useful and which were not. now down to abt 50 really useful emails.
Hey wat a coincidence. Cedric getting baptised on 2 Nov too. East Coast road church....
Yours is Zion road church right, if i rem correctly.

Carrying bb to sleep
Very very rarely then Cedric will slp by himself. He fusses a lot (eh eh eh sounds) when he wants to slp but cannot. So I either nurse him to slp or get Daddy to carry him to slp - smtimes both!

Summert,
Dun heartache! Yesterday when I went to work, I nursed when I woke up (Cedric still snoozing but he managed to still latch on - amazing), ate bfast, got ready for the day, and nursed again jst before we went out. When i left him w helper at aunt's place, he was still sleepy.

Oh oh, I realised that he smells the most baby-ish when he just woke up fm sleep, or is in snooze mode. Aww, so nice.

Dordor,
Aargh. Thanks to Ember and her tights, I have caught the online shopping bug. Wallet now lighter by quite a bit!

Rhs,
Glad that Jamie is keeping more regular hours now!

Waiwai,
Oh dear, sayang... so painful!

Garfield,
Oh no... wat is wrong w little son? fever aft vaccination?

Sleeping
ssssshhhhh.... Cedric slept thro from 11pm to ~5am before he woke up to nurse.... ::now dun tell him i told u::.... ssssshhhhh

aaaarggh
Diaper accident. Cedric smhow managed to kick off his diaper and poo onto our bed! sm more laundry to do.....

hi momzies..

work + travelling (stay so far away) + baby + nite feeds = mummy going nuts!

almost fell off the bed when I fell asleep while pumping milk last nite.. and was jolted awake very hard haha

pretty cupcakes are so irresistable huh? we had some from cupcakemomma for bbG's full month party.. can see pics in FB

oops the little one is up!

JSP,Qing,CS,BBP,Cheryl,Cin_Bunny,SY,Sept03Bribe,

added u gals on facebook.. muz accept hor.. so i can put faces to the names n nicks here...

Re sleeping
Hey girls, actually I think poppy is sleeping more now leh. Once morning nap, one afternoon nap. Sometimes can be 3 hours! Maybe she uses sleep as an avenue of escape from mama’s reading? LOL

Cellow
East coast road church? Holy family? I was baptized there! Yup, poppy will be baptized at church of st bernardette. You having a party after? We’re inviting people over for finger food.

Oh my gosh! How did cedric kick off his diaper! Power!!

Waiwai
One pack I bought got 5, I think it was $15. I got 3 more unused ones. Each one can use 20 times. You want? I sell you 2? Let me know, I can bring to the gathering

Do1nk
Ya lor. So pretty the cupcakes! How much you paid for them ah?

I selected the $9.60 set.. meaning $9.60 for 6 cupcakes.. they turned out smaller than I expected hehe but still as pretty...will send you something ;)

been trying to reshuffle bb's schedule coz he sleeps only one long stretch of 5 - 6 hours and is back to his 3 hourly cycle after that..after his 7/8pm feed, he'd play for an hour then go to sleep.. and will wake at about 12/1am to feed.. then it's 3 hourly after dat so i gotto wake up a few times in the nite to feed! so now I wake him at 11pm to feed again, and pray he sleeps til 4plus when I gotto get up to pump too..

how r ur babies sleeping thru now? I know some of you lucky devils have bb's sleeping thru the nite liao right? how long before I can join u all too...

I MISSED ETHAN'S FIRST FLIP!!! Boo Hoo Hoo... just now put him to sleep on his side... 10 min later came in to check, he was on his tummy!!!! I am so happy he flipped, but so sad i missed it!!! boo hoo hoo hoo hoo....

SD, I bot the PUKU pillow.. like the texture and the size..

Wai Wai.. aiyo.. i also almost always scald my hand when sterilising, so now i always put the funnel in the container upright, then pour hot water on it into the container.. my hands are safe from scalding... apply some cream else u get blister!

don't worry michelle. sayang sayang...

eh girls, really, buy the medela bags. much more convenient. i used them so much at the office. now i use at home too if everything's already been sterilised and i don't wnat to just put the pumps in to re-sterilise everything.

girls, do you wake up with painful feet? like very stiff

thanks do1nk. look forward to your 'something'! btw... i am one of those devils hehe

sdchick
thanks 4 the contact.. will call n check up.

cellow
wah, what was cedric doing? so lihai, slp until diapers drop off? keke. cute!

do1nk
hais, dun worry, i'm like you too! cayden still wakes up at least once in mid of night 4 feeds.. n best thing, he seems to like poo-ing in d mid of nite around 3, 4am.. so haf to wake up once to change his diapers n another time to feed him... tiring..

bbD had his 1st dose of 5-in-1 yest.. n he has been sleeping since.. i had 2 wake him up 4 feeds.. n i m kiasi mummi, once the temp abit abv 37 den i give him de 6-hrly fever medicine tat doc gave.. is this normal??

U know, sometimes i really find that i'm torturing myself for nothing.

My bb already sleeping thru the nite since she was two mths old (pai seh, in fact, my two other boys also
. But i'm the pity one still got to stay up to pump at 11pm plus then sleep at 12 plus after washing & sterilising all the bottles & stuff. When settled down to oink, almost 1am liao. Then gotta peel myself off the bed to pump at 5-6am again. I was thinking if dun bf, so ho mia right? I have to be gut lat, coz not enuf for my celeste lah.

Those mummies that hv stopped bf, what's the reason that makes u stop? Not much milk, inconvenient,tired?

Erm, i'm really feeling v helpless lately. Celeste has been fussing over almost all her milk feeds. Juz dun wan to drink at all. So got to use all sorts of distractions. Music, toys, songs, play with her, etc, etc. Still, dun want to drink most of the time, or drink very little, like 50ml nia.. My precious ebm leh..

Headache. She's already quite small, now still dun wan milk...

So most of my time spent juz to make her finish her milk, so tired coz not enuf sleep for quite some time liao.

Oh ya, my current maid will finish her contract with me end of this mth. She's not going home, will transfer to another employer. When she leaves, do i still need to pay her 1 way air ticket money? My agent said need to. Anyone know how much is the ticket to manila?

Haiz, talk about this maid really makes me angry. I asked that she cook green papaya soup for me every sat. Juz now i asked her, she said didn't buy coz no $ liao. I was so angry, no $ dun know how to tell me meh??? ( i trust her v much. Put $ in the container for her to do marketing & buy things for the house. I never check how she spent the $. No $ i top up, that's all).

And do u let ur maid sit on our sofas? I do, but she's been sitting till like the house is hers. Sit on the L-shape sofa & put her legs up
Then juz now she sat at the side with both legs raised up, buttocks outside the edge, so i asked why she sit until like that. She look at me, smiled & said, can't sit like that ah? I was so angry & said YA! Then later i regret saying & asking her all those things. My children in her hands when i'm not in leh.. Wait she angry how.. Haiz...

Ok, vent enuf liao.. Maybe not enuf sleep so that's why pek chek v easily

breastfeed
i have stopped bf after my child 1st mth.. milk supply super super low.. got take supplements oso no use n somemore i tried so hard till i got
cracked nippless... very pain hehe..

hannahl
ur maid so daring? hmm mayb u can tell her not to sit on the sofa? very sianz hor.. got maid oso headache.. no maid oso heahache..

star_xin
tat day my boy went for his jab too.. i more kiasu.. he comes home only i give him take the fever medication.. my mum says juz to prevent him from getting fever.. hehe..

online spree?
r u gals going on an online spree??

gathering?
is there a gathering going on that i have missed? hehe...

facebook?
can add me to the grp too? angeline08 is my nick

sweaty hands
recently i notice my boy has sweaty hands n feets.. i wonder if this is normal??

teething?
how do i noe if my boy is teething? he is now 3 mth plus n having playing with his tongue, drool a lot of salivia n like to nibble on my shoulder when i carry him n he's been taking very little milk..

Oh hannah I can understand. Sometimes I also tink what am I doing up at 4am watching nonsense on tv, and somemore cannot even hear what they are saying because the pump is so loud, and everyone else is asleep. If don’t BF so much easier right? But for the sake of poppy I hang on. I keep telling myself got milk is a good thing. And I remember how demoralized I was in the beginning when I didn’t have any. So every night I do it!!!

Oh no, your maid should not sit like that!!! Maybe she thinks that she’s going off already that’s why can do whatever she wants? Then how after she leaves, you getting another?

Angeline
So rightly put. Got maid also headache, no maid also headache!!

Just now poppy napping then eh eh a bit when I went out of the room. Hubby so proud of himself, stopped his computer game and told me ‘she was fussing and I managed to calm her down’. But 2 minutes later she eh eh again and since I was back in the room, it was my job again. he really thinks that he do that one time, he is the hero of the house leh. *shake head*

smiggleprincess
well 27th oct ah.. sld b alright for me.. mayb u wan send me more details to my email acct [email protected]

multiply?
juz now i was lying on my bed resting n suddenly i was thinking.. cld i have known some of you thru multiply already? hehe.. any1 of you into multiply? mayb can add me to ur multiply too.. my nick is angeline08 n i update jayden things very frequently.. hehe

i forgot - go swimming at hwa xia... wear what ah? nekkid ah? thinking of going tomorrow with poppy to harbourfront one but dunno what time. don't make appt, can just show up TA DA, I WANT TO SWIM?

hannah: about helper sitting on sofa. mine likes to sit with leg up on the bed. like doing sit ups like that, and then lean back propped on pillows. no doubt her bed in her room, but she shares with poppy, and the bed is in plain sight when the door is open.

fair enough that it is her space. but if you know that people can see you, would you still do it? i wouldn't... just like i wouldn't bring spaghetti tie tie tops as pyjamas to my place of employment even if it's just to wear to sleep.

these little things bother me still even though she is very good at cleaning and takes instructions rather well for cooking.

pinkbunny,
go hwa xia swimming baby is naked 1.. jayden just go last mon.. hehe.. the water is warm for baby juz like their water during bathing.. hehe..

Angie, since she's leaving soon, forget it lah. She's been sitting on my sofa since 4 yrs ago
Now dun know if i shd let my new maid sit. A bit ngeow right, if i say can't sit?

PB, yah, got a new maid to replace my current one. Headache to start all over again.. Sian. Now still can't decide whether to bring maid & bb to mama house everyday. We dun drive & there's only 1 bus to her house, abt 30mins ride..

smiggle, my heart so pain after going thru your blog... He's really a strong boy...

PB, poppy shares the same room with your maid??? U dun mind ah?

Me is extreme, all 3 kids in my room. Heee..

I juz bought a 2nd hand ameda usa version pump from a mummy in this forum. Wa piang the socket & adaptor added together heavier than the motor.. Sian liao. I was actually hoping to get a lighter pump to bring out. Now all add up as heavy as my avent duo.. Haiz..

PB... thanks for the offer... but i can't attend the gathering... anyway thanks
how do u manage to make poppy sleep through the night? *envy... my bb still wakes once at around 4-5am for feed

smiggleprincess... kayden is such a brave boy!

I went for my first pilates session today. The receptionist/studio manager(?) did not recognise me because - quoting her here -
"you've put on so much weight!" *ARGH!*

Smiggleprincess
You and Kayden have been through a lot. Like the other mummies say, he's a strong and brave boy!

Carrying bb to sleep
What I meant was, I still have to carry bb throughout his nap. Cannot put down one
But at night, can lah, thank goodness!

Do1nk, Cheryl
Joining the supperclub: I am also up multiple times in the middle of the night, either to feed or to change poop-y diapers.

Cellow
Wah, first time I head bb can kick off his diaper! Does Cedric move a lot in his sleep?

Do1nk
Maybe you can try to slowly wean the night feeds? That's what I'm going to do with Jamie once he's sleeping well at night. From what I read, 3-4 mth old baby usually still need 1 dream feed at night (usually ard 11pm) until they are 5 mth old. The method that I'm going to use is to nurse 1 minute less each night (or give less and less milk for bottle-fed bb) until they are completely weaned off.

Sweaty hands/feet
Jamie's feet are also sweaty! Not sure abt his hands coz now most of the times they are wet with saliva. I think this is normal as my niece had the same thing and her doc said it's ok.

Hannah
Technically it’s poppy’s room cos all her stuff is there. But poppy sleeps with us at night. We have 2 cots
re sitting on sofa, I guess it’s ok la. But with all my parents’ helpers over the last 10 years, none of them really sit with us and watch tv. They usually pull up the dining chair.

Waiwai
I didn’t do anything! She just did it by herself! Just has her last feed by 10pm latest (mostly it’s 8 plus) then knock out till 6am

Youpi
Oh what a thing to say! So insensitive!!!!! It happened to me too. On a day when I thought I looked particularly slim, an auntie (with a whole load of spare tyre herself) said ‘you haven’t really you’re your weight hor?’ I said ‘actually I’ve lost a lot already!’ she said ‘you’ve got a long way more to go haven’t you?’ grrrr

I'm new here & my baby Talon is also born in July with sensitive skin. PD recommend Pysiogel. Anyone can advise where can I buy it other than thru PD?

Missysz
Thanks, I have added u liao.

Cellow
Ya bb looks very serene and “bb-ish” when sleeping. That’s why I have no heart to wake bb up.

Wow, cedric so strongto kick off his diaper?! Hmm what brand u using?

Starxin
Yah, same here, when bb frank took his rota/pneumo/5-in1, the next morning his temp went up to 37.2 and we gave him the med. Then his temp really bring down to normal. So I guess it’s ok.