(2008/07) July 2008

mummies, thanks for the tips on stoller !

PB
your dialogue so farnie. LOL.
Do you know the model boh?

do1nk
You're going to the gathering yah? Can do me a favour please?
I pass you a tub of calendula cream then you help me to pass it to bluey can?
Pleeeeeaaaasssseeeee ~~~~~~~ Pretty pleassseeeee ~~~~

Sorry MIA for so long ... too many posts to read to catch up neh ...

Re. gathering, smiggleprincess, I have transferred the money to you. Transaction # 1931850000. (can't believe how dumb I was. Added smiggleprincess to my payee list and activated her... Got a transaction # right? I stare at it and wonder, shucks how much did I transfer?! *Shocked* then realise I have not transferred anything yet!!!! Siao liaoz.)

Hey PB, sorry ah so late then reply. I took domperidone to increase supply. Worked for me but not until like 2 or 3 times more la... just maybe 20 ml more per session (4 sessions a day so total abt 80 ml more per day) ... Got 1 week supply from my gynae. Wondering where can I get more myself? Lazy to go back see gynea for that leh ... Anyone know if I take more will increase further or not? Coz gg back work on 31 Oct scared my ss will decrease ...

PB u very funny leh ... lie on the floor in shopping centre?! haha ... U very qin lao .. I nowadays too lazy to latch on coz bb li xun is also lazy.. suckle suckle suckle (note: only 3 times ah) then SLEEP! SMILE! IN DREAMLAND! sianz ... so I only pump 4 times a day

PB, let me know if the tea works ah! Its not too expensive.

Doggiebb, I know paragon and United sq have vitakids. Can check them out.

Peppermintt, my house is at JW St 62! We are super near! But now I still at my mum's place @ CCK ... will be shifting home soon la (sad sad) the end of my comfortable life (here mum cook for me eat everyday leh) We can meet up then!!!

See everyone at the gathering!!

And due to my limited memory, never reply to all posts (summert, you very li hai can reply to everyone ... I can only remember selective posts ...)

Someone said giving birth will take away 3% of our brain memory .. but I say it is taking away 30%! Can see significant decrease in memory space of my limited brain ... sigh like this go back work sure kanna scolded one lo...

(To illustrate my point: I told my ah ma 5 mins back that I will go and keep the bb basin after I wear the clothes for li xun... BUT after I finish wearing for her, I totally forgot that I have to go and keep it... Just sat down in front of com and started typing typing .... .... until I overheard mum and ah ma conversation then realise that DIE! Haven't keep yet! SIANZ! Memory is fading fading fading and failing meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ... ... )

Haha.. Jacelyn, you super funny.
Anyway, you too lazy to latch, I too lazy to pump. My boy sometimes one whole morning only sleep half an hour. How to have breakfast and pump in half hour? Aiyah, so I latch lor.

PB,
You can lie down and latch? So li hai! I suck terribly at that. Always kena latching problems if I lie down. Sometimes I really really wanna just lie down and let my boy latch until happy. Then I can take nap also. Sigh.

delphine... ooops... paiseh to get your bb's name wrongly :p u also living SK/punggol area? sure let's have a gathering for northeast babies!! anyone?

summert... bring your bb out with hubby! my MIL said that her friend's grandchild did not go out of house frequently, end up have phobia to leave home

cheryl... my PD recommend introducing solid food when bb reach 6 months

bb milk intake
just for your info: my bb's PD said that the required daily milk intake is 120 ml x weight (kg)

jacelyn ... r u sure only 30%

I think mine is 50% gone per child birth.
As I always tell my hubby, I am brainless (since I have 2 kids) now so dun blame me for making stupid decision.
My hubby will stare at me, "WHAT!"

But really, after first child birth, memory power drop ... then got myself some supplement for "brain food". Got a bit better and now lagi worse after 2 child birth.
Recently I got this book from popular titled : Train your brain. Hope it works.

waiwai
Northeast covers which area huh? Am a Geograhpy student but can never get my N,S,E,W right.

Bringing babies out
How often do you guys bring bb out?
So far Ive only been to PD, once to the mall with hb and once to Hwa Xia. Boh liao.
The massage lady at Hwa Xia said to bring Dani out more often cos she was quite startled by the amt of noise at the shop.

PB, ya, i went vitakids & got the milk tea. So far no improvement. U leh? Did u buy the supplements?

I called the chinatown shop on the bumbo seat. They dun sell the tray leh. Anyone know where sells the cheapest?

Cellow
Good that ur hb compliment on ur new hair colour.
Then when ur aunt officially bbsit bb cedric, how much will u be paying her?

CS
I bought Combi cos the wheels is smaller and the front wheels can rotate 360 degrees. Bought it at kiddy palace at ard $2++. Cant rem liao.

Crystal
Yes, we are spending more time on other pp kids than our own, that’s what I felt too. That’s why sometimes I m thinking if I shd be sahm instead.

Serene
Hey thanks, where do u stay again? East? What I am worried is if infant care centre called while I’m at work that my bb needs to be sent home cos sick etc then how??

PB
Ya, will be calling up agency to chk on available nanny around my area. But that is provided hb has no objection of a nanny over his mummy.

Hey u funi lar.. lie on the floor of the shopping centre! LOL! Maybe now u try to sit up and latch see if poppy still wants?

Jacelyn
Me not li hai lar… cos me use MS Word, read one post reply one post. Like that no need to scroll up and down. Hee

My memory also fading.. most of the time if i forgot to record down, i cant even remember how much bb drank the previous feed. there was once very funi, i was sleeping on sofa then hb woke me up (Cos bb awake, as usual lar, he cant feed bb meh must wake me up!), then for that few seconds, i looked at him, and wondering who this man was!! Haha! early senile i wonder..

bringing bb out

I think we should try to bring bb out as much as we can as this gives them stimulation as well as prepare them for the real outside world...can help prevent them from being too timid and shy next time.

waiwai

bishan is northeast bo?

bluey

yeah! i used to be very good with names! it's like when i see someone i haven't seen in a while, instantly a name will pop out. Now, i have to struggle even with names of colleagues sometimes! aiyooo!

jacelyn

thanks! your gynae only gave you 1 week's supply of domperidone? I read on the web that it needs about 3 weeks at least before real improvement can be seen. I am still hesitant to use drug to up supply. Did you suffer any side effects like headache, cramps or dry mouth?

PB
Michelle and myself went to the habourfront outlet too. I did call to book but when I went there, seems like dont have too cos they didnt verify my name and time for booking *scratch-head*
I think its cos the "turn-over" for each tub is quite fast. Thou unlimited time to swim but parents normally scoup their babies up after 15mins. So if didnt make booking, then just wait for abt 15mins for a tub to be available.

summert

Maybe this weekend will go to Shun Li to look at strollers.

Your hb havent decide whether or not to get a nanny?
You're looking at day or overnight?

Stroller:
I'm still using my 1st girl's aprica stroller for my bb. so after keeping for 8 years, it's finally used again. I had to bring it down to aprica to maintain the wheels, and they did it for me at no extra charge. They're very good, they still have the padding for an 8-year old model kkk..

Ooh if want to buy combi, you can also go to Baby Kingdom at kaki bukit. they're the distributor, so probably can negotiate. If not mistaken the chinatown shop also sells combi and peg perego.

I just realize hwa xia also has an outlet at plaza sing. I'll check it out one of these days.

OOh I had my first menses yesterday. alamak, it's super heavy!!! Is it normal? I had to change my pad every 2 hrs leh. And I used the night time super maxi, thick one. @_@

I'm trying fenugreek also, been 2 days. so far haven't seen improvement. Hopefully will see soon.

hi hi smiggleprincess

I managed to find another couple friend whose baby born July 4th to join us for gathering..so they will take over JSP's slot. I will transfer $56 to you tonight ok!

CS
hb said it's up to me, but u know lar, he actually wants his mum over. If nanny, i am looking for day nanny, se bu de put bb overnight.

summert,
i stay in the east at simei ....

jacelyn,
my gp the other time recom me metoclopramide which is similar to domperidone to increase supply when i run out of the medicine i go to the counter n buy the lady will ask me how many weeks supply i wan i will ask for 1 mth or more it $4 for 10 tablets.....

bringing baby out
i always bring my kacey out but when ppl passby her kacey will smile back to them but if ppl come closer to her n talk to her she will start to cry n look for me ......my mum say it coz i too sticky with her liao than my hubby will say yeah lor "ni kan kan wo kan ni kan kan wo"(u c me, i c u) can someone help me on how i can let kacey not scare to stranger ???

Aiyooo my bb is sooo fussy during feeding (she is bottle fed). She would suck 2-3 times, and then starting to scream and cry. after like 1/2 hr of refusing, she will finally drink, but then she will be asleep and finish the whole bottle in 1 hr. Sometimes she didn't even finish the milk. This happens at every feeding. I've changed the teat, loosen the cap, everything. Should I change the formula? This crying fit only started last week, prior to that she's okay. Now her milk intake is reduced, from 800+ ml per day to only like 600 ml per day. So confusing!!! I thought she was teething, but unlikely. The only time she didn't cry is when I feed her at 7 am cuz she's too sleepy. But even the 7 am feed - she only wants about 90 ml, afterwards she will start to shake her head furiously. I'm at loss!!!

serene
i think kacey is starting to recognise pple liao n think its normal for most babies lor...

re bringing baby out
me has been bringing baby out almost every other day and every weekend coz his mummy is those kind cannot stay at home whole day one lor... so far bb ernest did not show signs that he is scared of strangers yet... budden when he sees pple in the lift, he will just stare at other pple for veri long without smiling lor...

cin_bunny
ur frd child same b'day as ernest??? so qiao leh... somemore take over my slot lor... anyway thanks leh... if not i super guilty of the last minute changes lor... heehee...

SD
bb ernest was also like this for a period of time a few weeks ago lor... suck 2-3 times then start to scream like i torturing him like tat lor... then have to pacify him and pat him to slp b4 he starts to drink again lor... then after tat he would suck veri slowly n takes abt 1 hr or so to finish the milk... initially tot is the teat or the milk powder budden it doesn't happen at every feed lor... recently, he's much better liao... dun fuss so much but the screaming had stopped n usually finish his milk within half an hr to 45 mins lor... i tink some bb will go thru this stage of screaming when being fed lor... just monitor for awhile more n see how lor...

Menses,
Ya ya, me too had it for the 1st time after delivery two days ago and it was super duper heavy... today back to normal already... got a scared thot i got some other internal bleeding... and i think the MS also affect a little le..

bring baby out
i bring baby out every weekend, so far brought him to T3 several times cos he really likes to look at the lights, and it is spacious, lots of food and not too far from where i stay.. my boy is also very familiar with Parkway liao and the isetan nursery room.. cos hor, he likes to POO each time he goes out!!sometimes i will bring him to my mum place, my aunt place, then a lot of ppl will crowd around him, then i go out with hubby hee hee.. so far he ok loh... I read that babies need to be stimulated with different environment for their different pathway to the brain to be trained so i guess we should not only keep baby at home all the time.. sometimes go downstairs for a walk at the park is good too...

stroller
I am using BonBeBe Freestar stroller. Got it free from Taka baby fair so just use. it is not fully reclinable, so baby keep slipping down (no good for newborn). but din want to spend more money getting another one.. so far only let him use when he falls asleep outside and when we having dinner.. most of the time, we carry him on carrier or pupsik pouch. that's why hubby say the stroller is a mobile bed cum trolley to put our bags.... hee..

SD, my boy is going through the same thing! he usually drinks 900-1000ml a day.. now reduce to 700+ only.. he usually finishes 150-170ml in 15min, now he only takes about 100ml and then will use his tongue to play with the teat.. or he will shake his head and shut his mouth real tight, want to force down also cannot.. i recently wasted so much BM loh.. his nite feed is worse, sometimes can cry so loud due to hunger, then only take 50-60ml. so now i give formula at midnite, when I waste the milk, i not so heartache... he started this pattern after his vaccine.. not sure if they are related..

SD, Dani too.

Recently she's been refusing to drink which she never does it before. She has always been a big drinker and take only 5mins to finish her 120ml. But just this week, she suckle abit then use her tongue to push teat out. I push teat back and she give me that want-to-gag face. There's always a balance of 50ml. Ive been wondering whats wrong with her too.

Earlier on, she kept pushing the teat out but I dont care, burped her then stuff it back in. Repeated routine til she finished her bottle. She took 30mins ah.

Also she's been napping alot lesser since this week. Tried all sorts of ways to pacify her to sleep but simply cant.

I really dont know whats wrong with her.
Its making me go bananas.
For once, Im glad that Im going back to work next Mon.

michelletan,
i did as my pd before does vaccine affect bb drinking pattern? She mention it wouldnt affect the bb at all.

re: bringing bb out
i bring her out almost everyday to eastpoint to buy my lunch leh .... kacey too sticky with me liao sigh .... i love her being with me but sometime i really need a break.

yeah kacey do recognise ppl when i go my parent home she fine with my parents carry her n play with her on the other hand at my pil home she will cry n scream when my pil carry her i have to calm her down, my mil will sit beside me start to ask: " let mama carry can"? I got no choice LOL let her carry before i could pass to her kacey will start to cry n show unhappinese on her face .....

I really hate going to my pil place coz e place is just like mini childcare, with so many adults n kids shouting screaming make me crazy,when we back fm there kacey will pass green stool for sure. How should I tell my hubby that i dun wan to go my pil place ??

oh CS, you also face same feeding diff ah.. so i guess perhaps it is normal for babies to go through this phase... in this case can;t be related to vaccines cos Dani has not gone for any, rite? hmmm... past few days Ethan also tend to cry suddenly in the middle of his sleep and it takes a long while to calm him and then he will go back to sleep and once we put him down, after a while, will cry again... I dunno if it is cos he was used to sleeping beside me for his afternoon naps thus suddenly he sleeping alone on the bed, he does not like it? or bad dreams?

Serene, i like my boy to stick to me leh.. but he lets everybody carry him and then will smile smile smile a lot leh.... only once when we were not around, then he showed some signs of fear, cos my mom say he does not dare to open his eyes, keep "pretending" to sleep.. until he heard our voice...

rgd going back PIL place, guess u have no excuse leh.. one way is to leave kacey there and u go pah toh with hubby for a short while, then u dun nid to be there? you fang xin put kacey there alone? if not hor.. then I guess u gotto just show face and bear with it loh...

Yah Mic, Dani's been driving my nuts. Im so exhausted from trying all ways to make her drink and sleep. Very very tired. So far Dani has only taken her 2nd dose of Hep B then next Sat going for her 1st dose of 5-in-1 plus additional jabs.

Ethan so smart, knows how to 'jia shui'. LOL

Serene, me too, I'd like it if Dani were to stick to me. I selfish and greedy ma, want her all to myself.
As for avoiding in-law's place, alittle bit difficult. Perhaps go but dont let them carry Kacey?? Or use Kacey as shield, say she's always badly startled when at their place and this causes her to be cranky so not good for her.

serene/smiggleprincess.
i have transferred money over liao.
i did it over the atm machine at about 3pm.

PM me your email so that i can attach the transaction slip.

Girls
Anyone here just sent me a request on facebook, with the initials N Ng?

Doggiebb
Vitakids there is one at forum.

Jacelyn
I latch her on to keep supply going lor. But she’s been fussing quite a bit of late. So I really wonder if she’s getting any sometimes. I’m going to drink my second round of tea later
it’s $9.90 for 16 bags.

Bbp
Li hai? Haha no la. It takes a while to get a comfy position. I just lie on my side then pull poppy toward me and when she’s stuck, I will pull her lower body even more so she’s like lying on me. Then I can sleep LOL. Sometimes when she suckles then sleep, then both of us zzzzing there. But if not enough then she will eh eh then I change side lor. Ya can you imagine, me lying on takashimaya floor? Maybe I should purposely lie in front of escalator LOL

Waiwai
120ml x baby’s weight? That would be 120 x 6 for poppy. I don’t think she has 6 feeds a day. But she’s happy

Hannah
Nope I didn’t get the supplements cos I already got fenugreek. Wondering where got sell just blessed thistle. I do try to sit up and latch on but she fusses a lot. Maybe it’s the angle. Last time still can happily sit and watch tv while she suckles away. Now cannot liao

Eh today I thought aiyoh she so cute, put her hand to her ear, like making phone call. But then I realize that she’s touching her right ear a lot today. I read somewhere that it could be that it’s causing her discomfort. But no crying leh.

Summer
Me too! High five. I type in MS word then easier mah. That’s why sometimes I reply to questions that have already been answered by many mummies!

Michelle and CS
Me too, having the same thing with poppy. Like fussy when drinking leh these days. Dunno why.

Seems like most babies have been fussy with feeding. Wonder whats wrong.

PB
I read before if always scratching or tugging ears, then might be ear infection - Swimmwe's Ear or Ear Canal Infection.

But if it is not accompanied by crying, then maybe its just poppy exploring the touch of her ears.

CS... northeast includes hougang, sengkang, punggol ba... i bring my gal out quite a lot, but usually with hubby, been to orchard, city hall, tampines ikea, vivocity, etc by MRT or bus. she likes to look at pple walking around

doggiebb... haha, can consider bishan as northeast also lah

SDChick... me too, my 1st "official" menses came last week, very heavy... would it be possible that your bb has colic? that happens to my friend's bb too

PB... let's say poppy is 6kg, then she needs total 120 x 6 = 720 ml per day. if she drinks 6 times a day, then each feed is 120 ml, but if she drinks 5 times a day, then each feed is 144 ml... that's what my bb's PD said

huh, is it?? Which TCS actress? No lah ~~~

Those pix were before Dani. You should see how I looked now. I dont recognise myself anymore. LOL !!

JSP
Your profile is locked leh ~~ cannot see.

waiwai
wah, think I need to start to bring Dani out liao else she will become sua-ku aka mountain turtle.
I guess I should be in the North bah, like do1nk and summert.

Re Bringing babies out:
:p I think I bring Declan out quite often. In fact, don't ask me how many times liao cos can't keep track. Heh heh.

Jacelyn,
I read posts in one window, and reply in another window. So just need to Alt-Tab. Hope this helps

Re menses:
The way you all describe the heaviness of the menses... wah, I very scared of mine liao.

SDchick,
Just tahan. Mine also threw a fit during feedings for the past few weeks. Now better already. Worse is when direct latching.. wah, dunno how many times kena abuse liao. If bottle feed, I will walk with him round the house for maybe 10min before trying again. Tiring but bo bian. Try and see how k?

Re Facebook:
Me! [email protected]

PB,
Aiyah, I also wanna latch lying down. But I can't see! So most of the time sure latch wrongly one. So give up liao.

CS
maybe cos Dani knows she's going for jabs that's why behave like that? cos my bb frank few days b4 jab very very cranky, dun want to sleep eventhough his eyes were red and drank v little. maybe bb got hunch that they are going to experience pain liao?!

PB
Great mind thinks/works alike!

Re: Nanny
just spoke to hb. he said if want nanny then why not his mum. so i used some of the "words" that u guys taught me here. I said to him if we got conflicts and show black face, then wont the tense situation and he's sandwoched btn us that we had previously back again?? he kept quiet lor, but then he said if want nanny can, but must be from someone we know, cannot from agency cos he's scared bb will be ill-treated etc. So that makes it v difficult for me to find a nanny. Anyway, if really cant find a nanny we know and mil comes back, if we ever have argument, i'm going to tell him "See, i told u rite!!"

So rite now i can only ask ard my frens' mums which is highly unlikely. sigh.

re going out
aiyo i think my Frank is v sua ku! So far he only been to TMC (7days old), clinic (6 weeks old) and last Fri to clinic again for jabs.

I also want to bring him out but my conservative hb said outside got virus lar this that. Then say bb has whole life to go out why so eager. Think he is simply lazy to go out with bb lor. MEN!

CS,
I'm feeding her with Enfalac A+

Glad that I'm not alone with fussy baby. It's just that sometimes cannot tahan lor... she will stop crying immediately if we take out the teat. put pacifier she will suck suck suck then no milk coming out, keep sucking and didn't cry. I'm sooo puzzled. She's just dun want to drink.

JSP
Friendster... says Private Profile

SD
Dani's on Enfalac A+ too.

Just fed Dani on a very empty stomach, she finished everything. I still dont understand why.

bbp
You're on my Facebook liao. Its Daphane Ng yah? I agar-agar cos I saw bb Declan's name. hehehe

Waiwai
Ah ok I understand! Thanks!! As you can see, mathematics not my best subject LOL

Re bringing baby out
Mummies who have not done too much of this, perhaps it will be good to start off with places that have baby rooms
or else wait kalang kabut

Bbp
Can’t see when lying down? Eh both of you are on your sides leh, not you on your back then you carry bb superman style hor! Can la, just agak agak shove your nnp in the direction of bb’s mouth then let bb find your nipple la!

Qing, bbp, JSP and CS added you in facebook liao!

just now my mum came to visit. which was great cos i was going crazy from no interaction. can't really talk to helper. don't want to be too friendly. then CL also came. so nice! but the 2 of them ganged up against me to 'force' me to shave poppy's head at 4 months. saying that it will make her hair grow faster and nicer

me: i sim tia leh
mum: aiyah bo neng diao nia
me: now little hair then cooling mah.
mum: shave already then even more cooling
me: but i scared shave already her head cold how?
mum: then hair will grow very fast and very thick
CL: in the meantime, squeeze out BM and rub on her head

pinkbunny slowly retreat to bunny burrow in an effort to escape evil aunties who want poppy to be a shiny head