(2008/07) July 2008

Garfield,
I'm working full time now, so it's going to be very difficult to pump every 2 hours. I would probably get only 5 ml if I do that.
When I was still at home, I pumped every 3 hrs but the yield is still very small. I also used Avent manual pump. Before that I used the medela manual - event worse.

Lucky my family members are all supportive. My hb said, just pump until the last drop lor. if later don't have anymore, then don't have. Don't feel bad cuz bb also grow on formula.

No privacy when pumping
HA?! why are all these pple coming to watch show? might as well ask them to buy tix and bring the popcorn as well :p

- I actually said that when everyone and their mothers crowded into one small room when I was changing Cedric's poo diaper during his 1st mth celebration -

Qing,
big sayang... dun get angry w yourself lor. think need to wash the carpet bah to get rid of the smell.

Special note to BBP's HB,
you better close the door each time bbp pumps.. how can u expose your wife to your younger bros and / or parents, esp your dad? cannot cannot...

SDchick,
Oh dun give up! even a little is better than nothing at all.

CS,
Haiz. But I thought your MIL quite ok one?

Jacelyn,
hi-5! smtimes I also think FM is so easy, BF is so difficult, why do I put myself through this? then i will mentally list down all the reasons that BM is better for bb and me. that helps me to BF one more day, taking it one day at a time

do1nk,
mmmz. yea mayb Cedric had growth spurt when i wasnt looking. Gordon shd b heavier and taller too now!

PB, looking forward to the day Cedric says MAMA too
happy for you

Gathering venue
I vote Simei! but ok w CCK too.

<font color="purple">
Fiona
You got 400 ml per pump. How long is your pumping interval? 3 hours? Don’t stop, breast milk is the best. When you stop, you will feel that actually breastfeeding is not tired at all.

Missysz
My boss is married with 2 kids. His kids are 20+

Frozen breast milk got more nutrient than formula. BM is easy to digest hence the nutrients are also easier to be absorbed. Latch on is the best followed by chilled BM then frozen BM. Frozen BM got no immunity unlike chilled BM.

Garfield
My baby also meaty and his meat is hard.

SDchick
Your hb is so supportive. My hb said, why so difficult you breastfeeding. Go feed formula. But I am quite stubborn, never let my helper feed baby with formula. I feel that hubby is ridiculous, I got enough BM why need to feed formula?

fiona,
watever u decide, b happy abt it
... listening to others can mess up the mind, so do wat u think is best for your family!

summert
On the 3rd day, Im able to pump 80ml within 30mins but I pump to reduce engorgement so threw it away cos Ive already stop BF due to eating too much ginger, didnt want it to cause Dani to have jaundice.

Yep, Dani flip herself on her side on stayed in that position to sleep.

cellow
MIL, she's okay but abit gong. She's not those street smart auntie, have been a housewife her whole life, always at home so at times she's abit slow.

michelletan
i used to use medela bags. but very shiong ah.
so i switch to pigeon. so i use scotch tape to stick loh.
who knows. the tape not sticky enough.

star
you boss a bit sicko lehz.
is he married?

peppermintt
i encounter that too.
why they like huh?
go and give born one loh.
i really hate it when they see me BF or EBM.
but i am those keep inside type i wont ask them to go away but after that i will stared at my hubby and scold him instead. vex anger on him. he quite poor thing la. always kanna scolding from me for no reason or for the slight mistake he made. but cant help it, i little bit pek chek liao.

peppermint

yeah I like Dr Ngiam too. i always have a long list of qns for him and he's a very reassuring PD.

gals, back to work today and I am pumping now.

boss ask me to go for a biz trip end oct leh ! how ?

my 1st biz trip and still need to pump ! hai ...

lbt, wow quite troublesome to pump n bring back rgt? hmmm but wasted if pump n throw...

qing, u use tape for bag then how u transport home?won't yr bag move when u on the move? now i use Avent cups n screw tightly. cos i used the glass bottles b4 n the caps give way

oh paiseh qing, i get wat u mean... u tape onto pump rgt? then pigeon bags got seal? actually i still haven't figure out my bags... haha

bbp

i am the mudder with the south park kid lor!

more south park pics

south park kid

not sure if fox is still selling that! but you are SO right! so difficult to get nice stuff for boys! i shop until so sian!

still think it's so much more enjoyable shopping for my ger!

lbt

can one can one! i also pump and brought back milk when travelling. just need a bit more planning!

inspired by Serene and CS, i bought a netted bouncer and Cedric is now happily playing on it! yay! reduce 1 handed typing liao

CS,
oic. as long as she doesnt anyhow wander into the room when u r pumping lor... My mum hsewife most of her life, but she is def a street smart auntie! bring up 4 kids on a single income... i salute my mum.

Qing,
U stocking up breastpad? I got abt 5 to 6 boxes can i sell to you i bought it during sales think $8 per box leh i not BF anymore coz no more milk liao ...me so sad

gathering
July'08 Mummies Gathering...
Date : 27 Oct'08 (is a public holiday)
Time : Lunch Time (1pm to 5pm)
Venue : Simei Green
1) Serene, HB n bb kacey
2) missysz, HB, bb jonas
3) qing, HB n bb Rachel
4) CS, HB &amp; bb Dani
5) JSP, HB &amp; bb Ernest
6) Michelle, HB (TBD) &amp; bb Ethan
7) doggiebb, HB, bb Talia and Thaddeus
8) Cellow, HB (TBD) and bb Cedric
9)Smiggleprincess,HB and bb Kayden
10) Jacelyn, HB (TBD) and bb Li Xun
11) Phyllis, HB and bb Adriena
12) cin bunny, HB and bb sophie
13) sy, HB, jing heng and bb jing xuan
14) THE PHOON FAMILY (me, hubby, Rachel, Rianne and helper)
15) pinkbunny, bluebunny, poppy bunny <- will leave helper at parents place
16) sonic, HB, bb xavier and bb anne
17) waiwai, HB and bb xuan pei

Hi mummies the caters which one u guys prefer???
Qing can u be in charge of the caters coz my membership of NEO garden have expire liao ...
Can we settle on NEO Garden???

garfield,
re: pigeon milk bags. tink starxin posted a comprehensive how-to-use instructions translated fm japanese orig

serene
you no more BF liao ar? Dont be sad kay cos at least you still BF for a period. Me leh, only 2 days!

So now bb on total FM ma? If so, which brand you using?

cellow
wah, your mum very wei da. Me salute her too !

lbt,

i tot of surfing when i m pumping in office ... but the first day i discovered that there is no signal there.
Now end up, I always day-dream when I pump in office. Dunno do what.

gathering
1) Serene, HB n bb kacey
2) missysz, HB, bb jonas
3) qing, HB n bb Rachel
4) CS, HB &amp; bb Dani
18) bluey, HB, zhun yeng, bb zhun lin and helper

im feeling v pek chek now, yet got no one to talk to! arhhggg!!

bb has been cranky since yest. this morning took nap for half an hr then refused to sleep after that! imagine for 2 feeding sessions, he only nap for one hour! tried to put him on his fav yaolan but he twist and turn n refused, simply refused to sleep there. so put him in his cot with aircon switched on (thot he was hot) but he wailed louder and louder. so carried him out to the playmat but he still cry. so i gave him milk, ok, he drank but only 110 (instead of the usual 140). since he doesnt wan to sleep, i ma-shen him but got to change his top twice, one for urine another for merlion! argghhh!

then thot of my hb happily meeting his frens for lunch cum kopi just now i more pek chek! he even called just now and asked if i want to eat dinner or not, of cos lar!! looking after bb took away so much of my energy and calories, so damn hungry lor! so i told him sacastically, "no need lar", he said u not hungry meh, i said "of cos hungry lar, wat a qn!" then he said he's not hungry so he's not getting for himself so i said "ok lor, i will share the bread with u for dinner". and he actually said ok! now he just came home, and really empty-handed lor!!! stupid man!

ok next, whenever he knock off from work, i will give him some time to rest cos i know he's also working. But in the end, he just log on to pc and games, leaving me to feed and entertain frank. even when i passed frank's unfinished milk bottle to him to chk on the amt remaining, he will tell me the amt then just leave the bottle on his desk and continue playing games or watching tv or anything else except washing. if i tell him to do this and that, he will sure say then ask his mother to come back to sg to help out lor, which i dont want!

so pissed! enough of complain, now i need to go get dinner for MYSELF.

remember crazy me brought 40 x 80ml medela storage bottles.

Now I only use about 15 of them as everytime I pump, the milk will be finish up the next feeding time.

It is very good for transporting as it has screw tight cap and it is light weight.

I can let go abt 20 of them. So who intersted in some can pm me. I think I should be stopping bf soon too ... very little milk supply.

http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/detail.htm?ProductID=BF%2D27&amp;id=605755877

bluey, u the one who buy the medela advanced handsfree rgt? i also got spare glass bottles. luckily never get more. anyway i hope to bf as long as i can.

cellow, think i heard the guide b4 but i never see. but mine is firstfew years... so not sure sama.

summert, dun be angry... my hb like yrs. he watches tv or play games anytime he wans. he not like us. will check on kids first n then free then play. they direcly play until we nag at them to stop. like a kid. tonite he goin out w his frens lor. then actually tomolo he also planning one but he was kind enough to ask me along... but when i reject, he say "dun say i never ask u ah"
wun tahan.

garfield,

yup ... i m the one. But i never use glass bottle becoz I feel that it a bit heavy to carry around.

Still trying my best to pump ... till my last drop

wah bluey, youve got 40 bottles ah?!! And I thot my 11 bottles are alot... haa haa...

summert
My stupid hb also like yours. Happily go out meet friends for drinks while Ive to stay at home like maid like that, gotta wait til he's home then can have my dinner cos he ta-bao for me by then I already starving already!

When back from work, he also just park his arse on the bar stool to use com, ask him to help me and he'll take ages to come to me.

Maybe your hb is trying to make you gave in and ask your MIL back?

hey garfield,
m currently using 1st few years too! now i store one 180-200ml pack every 2-3 days. mostly no time and smtimes lazy to pump la.
jst share w u wat i do la (pure fyi). open the bag, pour the milk in, squeeze out as much air as possible before lying it on its front/back in the freezer. flat packing easier to store.
when thawing, leave at rm temp till the ice crystals are semi melted then chuck back into the chiller - this reduces the fishy smell. then pour out fm the spout. i dun cut the bag or anything like that when using.

summert,
wow. your hb... i also dun know wat to say. hope u get sm decent dinner at least... ah i know, send him downstairs to tapau food for u!
a hungry woman is an angrier woman.

bluey,
that ws certainly a LOT of bottles! u went bk to work, then stress so MS dropping izzit? try try to relax a bit lor

bluey
wow,
you bought so many bottles.
also have medela storage bottle. but i don use think.
they come together with the pump package.

garfield
my office got fridge.
so i freeze them then put in cooler bag bring home loh. (now, it is occupied with all my EBM)the freezer is mine. and hor, even ppl knock against me also no problem. i can even use that to hit ppl loh.
heehee.

serene,
what brand you using for the breast pads?
i am using pigoen ones.

doggiebb
clever you.
i always don know what to do loh.
very bored. alone in the super cold room.
stared at the pump and watch the milk splash out.
i should download some movie too.
thanks for your idea.

super busy at work today. i only managed to pump once. now, i have 2 hard rock. almost 8 hrs no pump liao.
sometime really worried like that don know supply will drop or not.
and i am still in the office.

oh...

garfield.
pigoen got ziplock.
and you must fold and seal with a sticker.

i don really like. somemore god mil complain not user friendly.
i bought some lansinoh bags.
haven reach yet. so yet to try.
hear it got 2 zip lock. and can stand.
medela ones are good but way to expensive liao.
lansinoh looks like medela just that it cant be tape.

Serene,
Re: Gathering...
I dunno if i can still make it on 27th Oct cos my work roster is not out yet. Will cfm asap wif u k?

Missing Baby
Now back to work for a few days, I'm missing my Adriena so much... only get to see her on webcam at nite if my sis comes online... so sad.

Summert,
Dun be angry... my hb also like that. Muz scream like mad woman to him then he will do wat u tell him and STOP! cannot automatic. Tell him to heat chilled milk and he can do wrongly... waste my milk in the end!
Anyway, rembr to eat well k? bb Frank needs ur nutrients.

hi momzies.. wah lotsa posts huh..

exercise: any of you doing any? feel so lazy.. I've lost 15 out of the 17kg put on, but still sporting a tummy n somehow my bottom feels bigger (can't pull up some bottoms!) think my arms are bigger too now..

bb bathing: mine enjoys his bath now, but will still cry when I clean his tongue, wipe his face and now he doesn't quite enjoy washing hair anymore too...

peppermintt: hi! wah you gave evan lots of jabs this time round? Gordon juz had his 5-in-1 and rotavirus, PD advised to take pneumococal later.. how's evan's fever now? sponge him and dress him in light clothing? sayang.. hope he gets better soon

white patches: thanks for the info..so should be ok to leave it right? MIL was talking about rubbing garlic on it..not keen to do that to poor little baby..

cellow: hi.. gordon's now 6kg and 61cm tall @ 2.5months old on tues...what about cedric? wah...who commented dat he looks like louis khoo ah? hehehe

bottlecaps: where can we get these from ah? TMC phamarcy ah?

sweaty feet: any of your bb has this? mine does and feet will be cold n clammy when I try to make him go bootie-less..

precious BM: haha my weirdo hubby also somehow dun appreciate how precious BM is.. always leave a few drops when feeding bb.. and he once told me I should throw out the BM in fridge (recently pumped for the next 24 hours feed) to clear stock so bb can get freshly pumped milk instead of those pumped a few hours ago..is he NUTS??

freezing BM: everyone using milk bags? anyone using those pigeon/medela plastic storage bottles? should be ok right coz box says for freezer storage too...

eh how come I'm missing from the latest list:

gathering
1) Serene, HB n bb kacey
2) missysz, HB, bb jonas
3) qing, HB n bb Rachel
4) CS, HB &amp; bb Dani
19) do1nk, HB &amp; bb Gordon

do1nk.
i having been using storage bags to freeze them.
so far so good.
bottles, never use. i feel that they take up too much space.

I am using the "plastics" bottles for storage.
I have so little milk, bags quite wasteful.

Qing,

Mine is different from the ones from the pump. Mine is cute cute like test tube.

Garfield
Thanks, I felt better after coming going out (to buy dinner and fairprice not to enjoy sigh). Ur hb and mine quite the same, also likes going out. But then if u also going out with hb tmr, then ur bb how??

CS
Hey sama sama, waiting for hb to ta-bao dinner back is such a long wait lor. Even when he’s back home early, I still need to wait for 1-2 hrs for him to get his arse out of that seat to go out and ta-bao. Don’t they know we need energy to handle bb??! Men!

I dun think he’s doing these to get his mum to come back bah? Don’t think he’s that scheming unless his mum tells him so??

Cellow
I went out to ta-bao dinner, dun wan to depend on him. Huh! When I got home he said bb cried after I left, think he had a hard time coaxing him. Hope now he knows it’s not easy lookg after bb lor.

Phyllis
Thanks, I’ve been eating outside food for dinner, don’t know got nutrients or not. But better than nothing hor. Anyway, I think men are just not automatic or rather they choose to ignore.

Wah so MANY MANY posts!

Star
Your boss is definitely weird.

Doggiebb
Your South Park kiddo is the cutest

Qing/Serene
If Qing does not want the breast pads, can I buy them off you, Serene?

Gathering
This will be my first!

1) Serene, HB n bb kacey
2) missysz, HB, bb jonas
3) qing, HB n bb Rachel
4) CS, HB &amp; bb Dani
20) sleepless youpi, HB, tantrum-y toddler, and no-nap koala bb

oh ya... no one has a small tush baby who can still fit into petpet size S? coz I got a pack n my boi can't fit into it... can pass to whoever bb can fit in them...

SDchick, missysz, garfield, star, cellow,
ya i got high supply, that's tantamount to the guilt lor...but i got over it lah...now i'm enjoying more time wif my kids, another way of being a good mummy lah which i think they prefer more to the grouchy me...

star,
i pump 6hrly bcos 3hrly i also get the same and it was more than enough of what Lucien was taking. watches tv while i pump, can relax and have better let down

missysz,
storing ebm 100-120ml in milk bag is ideal bcos too much will take much longer to thaw when you want to use them.

summert,
dun be angry ok? men thoughts go in a straight line, no bend one. must tell them directly what you want him to do or else we would be the one always pek chek, they dun get our hidden real message somehow...haiz

1) Serene, HB n bb kacey
2) missysz, HB, bb jonas
3) qing, HB n bb Rachel
4) CS, HB &amp; bb Dani
18) bluey, HB, zhun yeng, bb zhun lin (no helper)
20) sleepless youpi, HB, tantrum-y toddler, and no-nap koala bb

My hb says that we should be able to handle our 2 bbs so no need to bring helper, wor.

whew! just finished reading all the post, so many today

re hubby : i given up on expecting to hv dinner with him on weekdays cos he always come bk after 9 pm and most days after 10pm..so i usually tah pao at lunch time my dinner :D
these days getting a bit more resentful - cos I am wondering how come i hv to do everything..I pump, feed baby, wash bottles, do laundry, send baby to sitter and back, bath her, change her diapers, take her to see doc when she not well..what does hubby do?!!

re gathering : thanks so much for organising mummies..cant wait to meet you all again

hi fiona : 400ml is a lot! what do you do with all the extra BM? yr freezer got place to store all?

re pumping at office : we usually hv to sign into a book to take the key for the nursing room..the receptionist always see me and say : cow time :p..and watching movie on phone is great idea..usually i just close my eyes to rest while pumping. I really do miss my afternoon naps :D

fiona
but when it comes to men's favourite pc games, they are not straight lor.. can twist and turn. haiii

cinbunny
hey wat u r doing is exactly wat i am doing too (minus the bbsitter)! hb? oh they do entertain bb once in a while...

Wah one day only got archive liao?! Happening!

Star
Umm when I pump out it’s all very liquidy lor. But then again, how thick is thick? I also dunno hehe. YOUR BOSS ASKED TO SEE YOUR BM??? ? siao! At office last time I would just pack my bags and say ‘ok see you all later’. If they ask where I go I just say ‘to check out the nursing room lor’. Then all understand liao. It’s me who ask my (single female) colleagues ‘want to see BM?’ hahahaha

Jacelyn
Ya remember you saying your ss was pte ltd… then how you increase ah?

Girls, I read that fenugreek is best taken in combi with blessed thistle for milk ss increase. FYI (according to dr jack newman, mr breastfeeding guru)

http://www.drjacknewman.com/pdfs/Herbal%20Remedies-2008.pdf

CS
yay congrats to baby dani who turned!!! Hehe ya sometimes I also think poppy sleep like that comfy or not ah? But I guess if not comfy she would wake up and eh eh? LOL about our babies all lined up in bumbos. We should put them in a circle then maciam like WHO conference like that!!!

SDchick
Hey you stopped the fish and papaya soup liao ah? Did it work for you? Must continue to drink loads of water!!! Your hubby is very sweet. Don’t feel bad ok? You are a great mummy! *hugs*

Garfield
I also like “my name is sam soon”!!!! keke. It’s super funny wor. I watched until I made my hubby get hooked until he watched without me! Haha

Qing
Oh sayang on your spilt EBM
I used to pump directly into the pigeon bag but I think it’s a bit risky. So now pump into 2 bottles (one on each side). May waste a few drops but better than if I never hold the bag tight the drop. Gulp! just now was at taka, pigeon milk bags at 20%. Grab!!!

Michelle
Eh next time taka sale must go with you sia. Got so mucho discounto (unshy bunny ownself invite)

Fiona
You are right about helper. Hubby said I should give her more chances, like maybe when I’m around she is stressed and cannot be natural with poppy. So I let her be with poppy a little more today and I found that she’s actually ok, just that she doesn’t do things the exact same way I do. And she’s very good when it comes to housework. Like no need to teach about electrical appliances kind and takes initiative. Ok la. Shan zai shan zai

400ml+ per session!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Let me see, how many days do I have to pump to reach that? … too many to calculate LOL

Bbp
You are so funny the way you describe chest moving but no sound come out!!! Hehe. Ya ya, of course if poppy is close to helper I will feel jealous. I just want to be able to have a bit of life sometimes and go out for yoga or something and know that I can bang sim and leave poppy in her care for like 3 hours kind know what I mean? Anyway, meantime I just go yoga when hubby can take over my shift lor

Doggiebb
Wah. Clever. Watch movies! I used to just stare at the milk squirting out. Very therapeutic leh haha. Or yawn and doze off LOL

Do1nk
Poppy also has clammy feet. At first I thought eh? I never wipe dry meh, after the bath?

Summer
Eh I realized that I didn’t have a bleb when I thought I did, and guess what? NOW I DO LOR. (*^&amp;^$&amp;%)( when I was BFing today I realized I had a white spot on my nipple. Like lak sek. Then after that I saw there was a small bump, white colour one. Gulp. Tomorrow go buy needle. I scared!!!! *shiver* mummies who have done it before, prick for how long? It will burst immediately? I very scared pain one leh! (funny to hear that from one who has given birth? LOL) I scared wait I introduce germs or what into my nnp then how?!

I understand about your hubby!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Today we went out to taka (to meet dor dor! Thanks leh, you are my ou xiang, can manage 2 kids on your own). Then hubby took damn long like one hour to buy his shoes. Until poppy hungry. So went to coffee bean where we can get hot water to warm the water to make milk. So I said ‘ok you get hot water, helper feed her, I go supermarket’ cos like 630pm liao and we have our dinner all marinated at home, just missing some ingredients. Who knows, my hubby still gelek gelek go and see coffee beans lor! Poppy crying leh. I carrying her leh. He is researching on what beans are best leh. Wa kau.

I said ‘eh, poppy always comes first leh’. He said ‘ya but I haven’t order my coffee yet, they won’t give me hot water’. (**^$^#^() in the end I asked them for hot water, helper made the milk and fed her, and by the time hubby got back with his coffee, poppy already drink half. And I came back from supermarket in like 10 mins.

One word.

MEN!

bluey

no wireless network in nursing room???

i shifted to 4th floor now so I just walked two floors down to nursing room. Very convenient and got network somemore. I only use this time to read the forum.

doggiebb

yeah I also have a cooler bag to transport the bag like I did for #1.

At least some of my colleagues are also BF, so I surf net and gossip at the same time. Very fun !

PB

ahaha i was imagining the scene with u and bluebunny ! Cool down .. i dont think MEN fully understand us and how to take care of babies.

bluey

can I take 2 of your bottles ? u let me know if u come over my side. I pass u the DVD as well.