(2008/07) July 2008

hiyoh..i just latched my boy on for 2 hrs!!!! he doesnt seem to drink enuff.. and now he is fussing for more! That is barely an hour away!

damn jia lat... he also has an iron jaw clamp for mouth. once you try to pull him away, you have to fight with him to get him off...

Sparrows, haha..baby when hungry really look like little bird looking for food!

Star_Xin, yeah, it sounds you got engorgement. try to massage it... to unblock the ducts... when you pump, have to make sure your breasts are empty... ie no hard lumps..

okie, gotta go look at my hungry sparrow...

thanks cellow,batgirl n lbt for the well wishes..

btw lbt,the wound is so long as i had a ruptured womb..when they opened my wound,the baby's head can already be seen..the pain was hell..
n so the long wound was to repair my ruptured womb..
n very high chance im unable to conceive again..
coz if i do,its either my womb or the baby's life..so im we r not taking the risk..

Qing....
I also want to wash hair at salon!!! But I have to use the herb water to wash, so no chance of washing at salon. I want to get a haircut too!

batgirl,
If your bb has iron jaw, use your finger to put in his mouth before you try and extract your nipple. I have to literally do that and I can feel my bb clamping down on my finger. Geez....

hi mummies...it's been ages since I last came in...still trying to adapt to baby time and handling him.. and now down with a flu.. and it's caused my milk supply to dip!

but juz wanted to say HI to everyone and so dat you know I'm still alive haha!

how are you all doing?? good I hope... I'm one week away from his fullmoon and have not done a single thing too!!

promise to write more and post a pic of my little baby Gordon soon (saved in other laptop now)

Massage for constipation,
It is anti-clockwise. Clockwise is for the wind in the stomach.

I'm so sad today. My Amenda pump has a damaged part, the part whereby the milk drip drip to the bottle. Any idea where to get spare locally? So now, I can only pump one side at a time, and it will take a longer process.

hello do1nk! welcome back, however briefly!

BBP, Qing,
so envious.... Qing can go to the salon! I feel like I am under hse arrest w the confinement.... MIL still says 40 days sm more.... :p

Ju,
*hugz* that must be a lot of news to absorb at once.

Batgirl,
Try finger-cun-syringe feeding him? That's abt e only way I can get sm rest now.. zzzzz

Doggiebb,
You sud sud la, your boy latch on still can chat!

Actually not really train but make it a habit.

Now whenever he poo, I will open up his diaper and cover his "bird" with a piece of tissue. While pressing his raised legs to the tummy, also encourage him by talking to him. When some poo come out, I will clean it up with a wet tissue.
I also dunno why, but whenever I clean it, he will poo more.
Come to think of what lbt says, he always finish his "business" with his fountain of pee.

This way, he only poo abt every 3 feeds. He sometimes also seems to wait patiently for me to help him with his "business".

I tot of going for facial today becoz tomorrow doing bb full month celebration. But no time

My hubby cannot tahan me. He complain that the confinement seems only for bb but not me.

Re: carrying bb to sleep
Maybe I'm not supposed to say this but I'm glad that I'm not alone having this 'problem'. I feel that they are just being a baby, i.e. need comfort from their parents but everyone is pressuring us to 'train' him to sleep on his own. Last night I slept sitting up while holding him in a sling but it's very hot for him even with aircon. However PD just told me today my bb cannot be to hot since he has sensitive skin. Argh!!

Dor dor,
I don't dare to do that coz scared he will roll off, even with pillows. My hubby sometimes do that on the sofa which also scares me but on the other hand, at least it makes him sleep.

Re: diaper accidents
My Jamie has poo-ed in his bath tub twice before *yuck* and today his diaper leaked when he let go one massive & explosive poo. Made a mess on my lap and the sofa *double yuck*

I read somewhere that boys have tendency to pee when their diapers are opened so the suggestion is to open, then close it again and wait for a while. But Jamie hates being changed and cries so no luxury of time to allow that

Re: sleeping while latching
What you can do is do breast compression. If baby is sleeping, tease the cheek/chin and usually he will start sucking weakly. While he is sucking, do breast compression to increase milk flow and baby will suck stronger to drink. It works with Jamie so far.

Re: sleep pattern
Jamie also behaved very well in the first 2 weeks, i.e. always slept after milk. Dunno why it suddenly change. Ppl say it gets better after 6 weeks so I'm really looking forward to that.

Jus now was the 1st time I see a bb merlion. sigh......never happen with my #1 before so was soo shocked when my girl jus puked out her milk all over me. Like tap jus spurt out. Doesn't help that hubby wasn't home yet.
Also dunno wat made her merlion out her milk like that leh.

Qing
U have to get used to it 1 lah. I tell u lor next time ur girl wear dress top to toe in pink will still have ppl asking u if she is a boy 1. This is life dunno why so many pajiao ppl around....hahaha
I also celebrating next 2 days. Actually sat is my fil own thing lah dun bother Sun then is my friends. Relatives I all bochap for #2 save money n save my trouble.

ju
Aiyoh sound so kong bu. But so long as u n ur son are fine its a good thing liao right.

RHS
Urrrr yah feels a bit dangerous if they roll off right. So actually I sleep at an angle....hehe
Sort of already position tilted to 1 side n I make sure my elbow of the hand that is on bb already resting on the pillow.
Think so long as u are sure bb will land comfortably at ur side n u are comfortable with the idea then okie lor. Even though I do this myself I dun allow my hubby to let bb sleep at his chest. Cos he is the dead to the whole kind of person I dun dare to take the risk with him.

princesses in pink
yeah yeah, i also dress my baby in pink all over, and i get pple asking 'your boy how big ah?' and i give them the '.....' face.

bb at 6 weeks
went to pd this week, and bb is 4.5kg at 6 weeks old. then pd say, around 4.5kg, should only feed 90ml per 3 hrs. should not feed more. so i pump out, feed her only 90ml and she's crying the house down! so now think, maybe her marathon sessions at the nnp means she's been drinking a lot more -_- sigh. what to do now? last night spent almost 2hrs after each feed to walk her up and down the room till it's time for the next feed. sigh.

doggiebb,
i think milia is just white dots and found mostly on nose and cheeks? Acne has red inflammation and some even has pus inside. Seb has baby acne now, am monitoring and if worse will bring to PD.
How do you chat while your baby is latching ah? I also wanna learn.

Mommies, when do you first bring your babies to the PD? I have yet to make the first appointment and Seb will be one month next week.

Qing

dont worry abt the weight issue. Hey u r only abt a month after delivery leh. Just continue to BF and watch our diet, i believe we can slim down. But dont go on diet ah !

Btw, we have not seen Rachel's photo right?

do1nk

I was still thinking of you this morning, wonder when you will come online !

And yes, pls post a photo of Gordon !!

re:poo poo

my Rianne also poo abt 3-4 times a day and she will do a Massive business once a day, the rest are just normal amount. Like bluey, I will hold her legs and talk to her and do the "ngggg" sound to encourage her.

Bluey
we adults also finish our business with pee pee also mah, so same applies for bb. make sense ?

Rianne has her 2nd does of Hep B jab yest and wow she was such a brave gal. Did not cry at all unlike her sister. She weighs 4.65kg at 5 weeks. Not bad ah .. put on 1.5Kg since birth. Maybe I have hi-fat milk this time round hehehe

Ju

gosh ! your story is scary !!
so this is your 2nd child right ? i think the most important thing is you are well now to take care of your children !

your wound must be very painful, anyone helping u at home ?

cellow,
you mentioned your bb sleeps nerly all the time mah.. so thot can ask you for some tips coz my boy won't sleep. think i see he got eye bags liao

steph

did u burp the bb before he sleep ? that time my Rianne always take short naps becos she was awaken by the milk flowing out of her mouth. Now I ensure she is burped and elevated her bed. She can sleep for long now.

oh i see, steph...
Once he is fed and cleaned up, then he sleeps lor... today he is acting up and fretting. so little time for myself...

doggiebb,
ya, must learn fm u how to msn and feed bb at same time, useful skill to learn

sparrows,
did u have a PD for Seb at NUH when he was born? if yes, then can go back to the same PD, if not, then any other PD will do - best to call and make appmt first, tell them tis to chk on newborn developments... and since Seb is nearly a month, prob need vaccinations too?

lbt,
ha? what PM speech? National Day rally ha? PILs and HB were watching the Olympics opening ceremony, so the sole TV was occupied.

re: bb understanding words
from noon ystday to this morning's feeds, Cedric refused, absolutely refused to latch onto my breast. bo pian, cannot starve him, gotta finger feed. today's noon feeding quite funny, in btwn crying, HB took him away to give him a talking-to... i can hear every word... then Cedric came back and just stone in my arms, din cry but din do anything either.
Reckon he understands every single word his Daddy said, and this is his protest. MIL popped in, said nx time he will SULK in his room when ever we scold him.... Amusing in the midst of all the frustation!

do1nk : you having your full month party next weekend? So you will be celebrating before the actual full month huh?

Does anybody know if full month shd celebrate before or after huh?

Cellow : I tried to syringe feed him (to prevent nipple confusion), but it was too tough. He keeps spitting the milk out and crying crying for milk, in then end we used bottles... so much for nipple confusion... my boy still wants the nipple...but now i mostly express for him, at least i know how much he is drinking.

batgirl,
yours is the opposite of my situation. my little one seems to prefer the syringe now to latching onto and sucking directly - so sad. the 1st time he drank fm syringe, i nearly wanted to cry

cellow, bbp
i go those house downstairs one. not good one lehz.
now, my hair uper dry loh.
30 days still wash hair also not very oily.
downstairs salon is those aunty go one loh. no standard one.

Cellow

Easy lah! Must have breastfeeding pillow then use the football hold then with the boy kiap under one arm, the other hand is free to chat.

Oh regarding nipple confusion, my CL who has 20 years experience told me in the past spoon feed, cup feed, syringe feed used to be very popular in order to avoid this so called nipple confusion. But she said she has this personal experience many times that babies subjected to all that ends up no knowing how to suckle or refused to suckle cos those methods make milk drinking so easy. Just swallow. No need to suck at all. So giving the bottle may not be as bad as we think. Both my bbs were intro to bottles so early and both have no prob latching or drinking from bottle. And bbs not exposed to bottless early may reject bottle later and FTWM cannot afford that. I have seen at least 2 or 3 mummies with bbs in the same mth as my #1 who latch exclusively whose bbs rather starve than have the bottle cos they were introduced to bottles very late.

My boy was also a perfect angel in the first 2 weeks then 3rd wk feed liao dunwan sleep, fuss fuss. Well according to my CL its the BCG "coming" out. Those few nites dunwan sleep and must be carried all the time. She told me tat she can feel the little BCG bump coming out on his bum bum so my angel shld be coming back liao! *fingers crossed*

cellow
actually can bottle feed.
but you must not be the one feeding the baby.
baby will understand one. like your hubby bottle feed her. she will 'smell out' the different between both.

ibt
i finally succeed. above a picture of baby rachel

It seem like many babies had seen PD and gt their jab quite early. I had scheduled but it is when my gal is 2mths old. Does it makes a difference?

batgirl, my mum sd the full mth shd celebrate before.

doggiebb, my no.1 was total latch on since birth.Gt a very very difficult time intro bottle to him when i nd to go back to work soon.He simply refuses to drink from bottle and rather starve himself. Haiz...things gt better when we changed to latex teats. So now we intro bottles to my gal early to avoid such situation again.

doggiebb,
haiz, my Cedric on the 3rd day was happily sucking out of bottle already - no worries there. my concern is more than he doesnt wanna latch.

bonnygal,
i wish i had your problem! :p

Ju,
Congrats. Rest well. Glad to hear that both you and your baby are safe. Btw, did you feel pain on your previous c-section wound during labor? How long is your labor before ended to c-section? What is the reason for c-section for your #1?

Are you wearing tummy binder? It really help to support the wound area.

Bonnygal
I use Pigeon peristaltic nipple for my bb. Heard that this nipple is similar to our nipple, thus, it will avoid nipple confusion. Pray hard that my boy will be happily drink from bottle and latch on.

I intro bottle to my bb at 6 weeks and start to pump hardly too. Now, I am worried if bb will refuse frozen milk. Hopefully, he will not.

Doggie,
Never heard that BCG bump can cause baby to be fussy before. Meaning if the bump is out, baby will not be fussy anymore?

well that was what my CL said. And I realized my boy today was much better, not so cranky compared to the last 2 or 3 days.

Sparrows
Our bbs due for their 2nd hep B jab at 1st mth so u check when is the date given in the health booklet then book to go down for their jab.

batgirl
By right if very strict cannot celebrate after the actual date (in chinese calender somemore).

Qing
Rachel after haircut also still got ALOT of hair leh.
Can show before n after pics anot...hehe

Nipple confusion
Okie I have read before someone's pd actually commented that we actually see our babies too 'up'.
That actually dun have nipple confusion 1 our bbs not so smart. So again 2 sides of the coin see which u believe in.
I actually intro the bottle to my #1 after 1week cos I pump out 1 feed per day to see how much milk I have so that feed I will feed him in bottle while I pump n keep in fridge for the next day.
No nipple confusion at all n when I was tired of pumping n washing the stuff after 1 mth I jus latch totally. N he was fine with both bottle or latch direct.
But I do have friends who like doggie bb mention intro bottle late n bb refuse to drink from bottle so very hard for the mummies cos they had to go back to work.

I let Ember wear my hairband so she looks more girly. But my dad ask me why I tie a string on her head....sigh
1623946.jpg

1st time wearing a dress n Korkor so sweet carrying her.
(Pssss...pinkbunny see the pink tights?? hehe)
1623947.jpg

sleep pattern:
i oso noticed bb is nt sleeping well in de 3rd week lei.. he used 2 wake up every 3hrs timely 4 milk.. nw despite giving him an additional 20ml, fr the original 80ml.. he is waking up every 2-2.5 hrs depending.. n he makes a lot of noise in his sleep.. fussing n likes 2 be carried..
is it reali de bcg?? cos nt chix essence 4 me.. cos i dun take..

milk supply:
horrible right breast is hurting so badli tat warm compress n massage dun help.. n it seems nt able 2 pdce milk le.. sad.. 1 breast down 4 bb.. wat's de number n website 2 de breastfeeding hotline?? sm1 saves me b4 it becums permanent damage..

haircut:
i went out 2 hv an haircut 2day but salon was unexpectedli closed.. n ya.. i m still doing moi confinement but moi CL says ok 2 go out.. basicalli she dun care.. n tmr i m catching a movie..b4 it becomes history when i m all busy w bb..

star_xin
Maybe try warm towel n let bb latch direct. Bb much more efficient then pump might be able to help. Think u better solve ur boob problem fast dun let it turn into something more serious.

Did a search n got this from
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/alternative-breastfeeding-help.html

Hospital Contact
KK Women's & Children's Hospital
(during office hours)* Ask-a-Nurse -- 1900-5568773
Lactation Services -- 62934044
National University Hospital* 6772 5955
Singapore General Hospital 6321 4530 / 31
Mt Elizabeth Hospital* 6731 2180 / 82
Mt Alvernia Hospital* 6347 6641 / 9839 9477
Gleneagles Hospital* 6470 5852
Thomson Medical Centre* 91193502
East Shore Hospital 6340 8681 / 84
Raffles Hospital 6311 1516

Private Practice IBCLC

IBCLC Contact
Doris Fok (First IBCLC in Singapore and Asia)
Hp 96387660
(8.30am to 5.30pm Mon-Sat)

Betty Lee (IBCLC)
Hp 98330170
Pg 93180276

Christina Kwek (IBCLC)
Hp 93679293
(Breastfeeding classes available)

KW Chew (IBCLC) Hp 98158283

dordor,
If only nipple confusion were a myth!
HAve seen w my own eyes how happy little boy was sucking fm a bottle - macam like ah... finally dun have to work so hard for milk.
The good news is that the last 3 feeds, he has been latching on direct
and it only took 5 mins!

Different strokes for different bbs gua.

dor dor..
thanks for the help..i was 2 lazy 2 search 4 it n i concussed after grieving 4 moi 'gone' nnp...

had a busy day today.. tidying up mess CL has created..wiping de shelfings of de bb cabinet which has become sticky w shower gel.. n sweet tat attracted mani ants.. n haiz.. apparently she lost quite a no. of hankys n 2 booties fr 2 different sets... i pengz!!!

but it will be over soon.. hee.. finali!!

star xin

aiyo ur CL also one kind leh !!

Qing

ur Rachel looks very alert ! ya she got lotsa hair like my 2 gals too. I guess u only trim the sides right ?

aiyah gals dun scare me, i only intend to intro bottle next week, prob 1 feed per day first cos dunno how much I can pump out and still dunno how much Rianne drinks.

Bonnygal,
Dun worry, most prob you are going for the 6 in 1 jab where the 1st jab will be bb 2nd month. Me too have not bring denise for jab yet after she is discharged from the hospital.

Doggiebb,
After seeing your post, i went and look at my bb BCG, a bit red and swell, somemore got pus. Yesterday look again, the pus is gone and left a little depression which i think cause her pain. these few days again having diffcult times with her. She will just cry for nothing.

Pink Bunny,
Guess you will right!! I miss the routine of my work rather than the actual work.
well, we have to pass through this phase.

Dor Dor,
Ember looks so sweet with the little bow.. and kor kor very stable in carrying mei mei hor..
good that Damien is a deep sleeper.. wouldnt get disturbed so easily.

re: BCG jab

i never noticed such swelling for both my gals leh, or is becos I am not observant ?

u mean it will swell after so long ?

'Un-putdown-able' baby
Is yours like mine? *sigh!*

Sleeping (or rather, NOT sleeping baby)
Dunno whether it is his 3rd week growth spurt, but he is practically every hour! He'll wake after 45 minutes to an hour and scream to be fed. Then I have to start the entire latch-feed-carry cycle for another 2 hours before he goes down for another one hour. Argh!

Dor Dor
It sounds like you have everything sorted out even though you have two at home, and no help. I hope I'll be half as competent when my CL leaves! Right now I have to get her to hold baby while he sleeps so that I can eat, or bathe #1 etc. Any tips to share? Even though this is #2 I feel like it's #1 all over again!

hi pp! I'm new here! But i've been deligently following the thread since 5 aug.

a little intro of myself. my boy is 1 month 2 days old, my mil staying with us and my CL leaving on coming tuesday.

my boy also needs to be carried all the time and we resort to buying manual sarung when he was just 2 weeks old. but the thing is, he needs pp to rock his sarung otherwise he will cry. so it's actually v tiring even with sarung too. didnt want to get electric sarung cos of the current.

my boy also doesnt drink much, can drink as little as 20ml then refuse to drink.. then CL will try again some time later and if we're lucky he will drink 60ml. otherwise he will just "ehk ehk" and simply not want to drink.

sigh.. i got prob with my mil too. and after CL leaves i will be stuck with my mil and my bb who needs 100% attention.

youpi,
mine also a "un-putdown-able' baby... :p

dor dor,
i like the way your boy carrying his little mei-mei, so cute yet steady.
btw, your Ember also quite 'solid' to be carried lah. i bet she must be somewhere 90% percentile.. rite?

re BCG jab
thought swelling happens wihtin one week after the jab taken. BCG is given on 2nd day after birth, so the bump should have came out earlier right?

re baby crying for nothing
my gal has been like that for the past two weeks. but these few days is getting worse. she's almost crying her lung out! so loud and high pitch! all kind of coaxing do seem to stop her. sigh.

A question:- does excessive crying hurts the baby in anyway?

oh youpi,
re not sleeping baby
have you tried slinging your baby to make him sleeps?
i did that twice. my bb sleeps soundly in the sling. but but my shoulder hurts badly after that cos i must support his head and not very strong neck with my arm throughout. so i don't do it often, only when she doesn't sleep for long hour during that day.

Sonic
Nope, not tried slinging yet, but I know he will sleep well in the sling 'cos he did that when we had to go to the hospital to do his jaundice jab earlier this week. I've been putting that off 'cos it'll be VERY hot! Guess I'll have to try it soon... thanks for the reminder!

Totally randon questions:
1. Baby has finally nodded off to sleep after a long, long suckling session at your breast. Then he does a poop, and goes to sleep, satisfied. You have to change him even though that will wake him up and you'll have to start the entire soothing to sleep process (that can take an hour) all over again. What do you do?
2. What do you think goes through baby's mind when he is being brought towards a nipple on a breast that is larger than his head?

lbt
Rianne stopped posseting after you put her on a elevated bed? Did you do anything else? I'm asking 'cos my boy possets quite a lot. He's a grabby and greedy drinker and will take a lot of milk at my breast, then go to sleep. But he ends up dribbling milk from the sides of his mouth and waking up. I've tried sitting him up after feeding to let the milk go down first, but it's not working.

Juju
Ruptured womb! Oh my gosh! How did that happen? But thank goodness all is well for both you and your boy *Hugs*

Re time out
It is a really good thing. Yesterday hubby gave me a day off so I went for facial and hair cut. Ended up missing poppy all day but it was still nice to have time to myself
I tried to buy some clothes but everything cannot fit unless it’s those shapeless kind. Gek sim. Ended up I bought stuff for poppy haha. Bought a pink bouncer

My mum told me this ‘trick’ which I think is good but a little bit evil la. At night for the last feed, give a good big warm feed (if you are giving FM) so that baby will sleep longer. Poppy sleeps from midnight to about 4am most times. 4 hour stretches are heavenly for papa and mummy!

Oh if some of you have the situation of baby falling asleep when latched on, the Mt A nurses taught me this : play with their ears and touch their cheeks. They should wake up. I pat pat her butt sometimes. Walau sometimes she finish sucking already then just pull out on her own but still biting on at the same time! Terror!

Labbit
Thanks for massage link!

Sparrows
It could be heat rash? Try to dress him in loose clothing?

Oh btw, the other day I asked PD why poppy’s legs like a bit patchy ah? He said IT’S COS SHE’S COLD LA, MUMMY! And I felt so kuku. Apparently if you put baby in aircon room, the optimum temp is 26-27 degrees

Re babies that need to be carried to sleep while walking/shaking
Sometimes it’s cos they need a burp. CL also taught me that sometimes they are crying cos they want mummy’s nnp so I just let her latch on for a while. Sometimes she just suck suck a bit then sleep liao. The usual suspects are – dirty diaper, wind, too hot/cold, they want to manja, or they are simply tired but can’t sleep!

Dor dor
I love ember’s pink tights!!!!! And so cute in the hairband!!!

Qing
Wah after haircut still so much hair! So nice! Can style some more! Hehe

Cellow
Don’t worry. Poppy also only started latching on successfully in week 3 and now she’s a pro liao!

Last thing: learnt from PD: how to know when to increase feed (bottle): if after feed, baby still licking lips for a long time that means not enough

Yup yup, the touching of cheeks and ears work! I just tried it last night as I was finding ways to irritate my bb to make sure he had enough before dozing off. I think the ears make them especially irritated.

Pinkbunny,
My bb likes to stretch alot. My biggest fear is when he stretches midway through a latch. Wah, that one damn painful man.

I like to ask how to cope with the pumping when u r outside? Or just miss it. But then if you r gone 4 a very long time, not so gd cos ur breast will hurt rite. How?

Cellow
Not a jab to get rid of jaundice, but the heel prick test to find out the jaundice level. How is Cedric coping with his?

Rain
Can bring the pump out with you to pump and store BM for baby.

Waking baby
Playing with feet work for me. He gets very irritated and will grunt and 'complain' and continue to suckle.