(2008/07) July 2008

Baby jabs
I choose 5-in-1 jab instead of 6-in-1 jab. The polyclinic nurse told me that 6-in-1 jab will get fever around 38C whilst 5-in-1 jab is around 37.5C

Just to share on bleeding, a few days ago, my flow suddenly became so heavy that my Maxi pad couldn't tahan lor. Just kept flowing. I practically had to RUN to the toilet. Wah lau, I think 3 pads also not enough to handle that flow. Anyway, much better now, but still having flow.

Any mummies using cloth diapers? My MIL insists on using cloth diapers so less rash. But hor, I can only bathe once a day with the herby water. So you tell me how to carry baby??

bbp
buy those cloth diaper cover..
so that when u carry wont leak out..
that time I also like that..
and at least u can bathe once a day..
me only bathe 3 times during my confinement..
so smelly.. hehe

jaslyn

shld not be bleeding again, better call ur gynae again. scare got any infection ... take care ok!

PB

wah ur mensus finish oredi ? my first natural birth, I had it for abt 5 weeks.
Now I am still spotting a bit , damn sian, so draggy.

hey the two bunnies conversation is so cute ! wow look at sophie's size !!

dor dor

ur FIL really irritating leh. If he ask, u ask him " why, you want to feed for me is it?" ahhaha ok joking .. pls dont ask him ok ?

steph

i also give pacifier to my gal, still dunno she confused or not. But she dont take to pacifier all the time.

as long as you r the one who make the bb sleep at nite, bb will be close to you. Just ensure bb dont sleep with MIL. Bb are smart, they know who is the mother and who is not. DOnt worry ok ?

bbp
yup get the nappy covers. and use nappy liner also. i'm using both disposable and cloth. cloth once wet, poppy will wake up. so at night we put on disposable so she can sleep longer.

when she's about 5kg we will put her on bumwear. not so hot as normal nappies i think. cos normal one ALOT of cloth la!

cin bunny

tks for the feedback on nepia diapers. I used S, M and L before. But dun think my Rianne can fit S leh. newborn really very small ah ? I think only applies to your sophie ehhehe

lbt

my boi still wear nb leh. but he not beri big lah.

PB

the wee indicator are those lines on the diaper that will turn blue if there is wee wee.

Most prob will go for 6 in 1 for jabs cos cant bear to see bb suffer so many pokes..
I regret giving 5 in 1 for #1, everytime she cries make me feel so heart pain.

Jaslyn,
My bb is 5 weeks old. He wake up his own every 2 hours for milk. I breastfeed him.

If you are total bfg, you are not supposed to get menses so early.

After c-section, I was bleeding for 1 month stop for 1 day, then suddenly fresh red color again for few days and then stop.

You'd better seek your gynae's advise.

jaslyn, pinkbunny,
We got nappy covers and liners... but dunno why the stupid nappy covers always on the 2nd floor. Climb up and climb down. Aiyoh. If there's ever a next time, I'm so doing my confinement at my mom's place. One-storey HDB flat = good!

Waaah two bunnies together!! So cuteeeeee. Wow baby Sophie is really well fed! Feels like pinching both babies' cheeks! *pinches*

Jaslyn & bbp,
You better call your gynae. Mine is quite long, it just become brownish recently. while wondering I stumped upon this article.
http://www.babycenter.com/0_postpartum-late-hemorrhage_1456138.bc
Hopefully it's nothing serious.

Cloth diapers
Frankly I find cloth diapers will make bb more prone to rashes. Imagine if bb didn't cry and we woke up late to change her, she'll be wet allover with urine, or even with poo. Further more, we'll be using more water to wash, and bb wets so many times a day. I personally think disposable is cleaner since it really absorb the urine well. Put the diaper rash cream every change and bb's bum should be nice and without rash.

Vaccination
I'm also going for 6 in 1 shot. At first I'm concerned about bb having fever, but my pd said, hardly happen now. the reason pd said bb can have fever for jabs is because the vaccine is not so pure. but then the technology nowadays ensure that the vaccines are very well produced and the purity is very good. so chances for bb to have fever is very small.

PB, doggiebb

tks ! ya I will order 2 newborn and 2 S size from Nepia agent. kam sia !

ahhhhhhhhh weather is very very very hot !! I can't even tahan wearing my binder !!

1 more day to end of confinement !! woo hoo !
1600722.gif

lbt

ONE MORE DAY!! *slowly turning green*

how long are you going to continue wearing the binder huh?

the wound just looks like a thin black line now but when i stretch hor, i feel a tightness there! how's your wound healing?

my gynae gave me this silicon sheet to put on the wound, supposed to help prevent keloids cos i am very prone to keloids, hope this will really help!

lbt,
I very envious!!! I also want my confinement to end tomorrow! I feel so dirty, sweaty, sticky that I haven't even taken my binder out of the packaging yet....

I'll be seeing my gynae tomorrow for check-up so will mention the strange profuse bleeding to him. Hopefully it's a one-off and nothing serious. After all, I am still alive.... :p

doggiebb

yeeeeeeee u dare to stretch the wound ??? I only have this CONAZOLE cream and antibiotics from gynae. I apply the cream twice daily.

i wore the binder for almost one whole mth already. It does helps a lot initially when the wound is still painful. Now I guess it's more for slimming purpose ?

but i took it out these 2 days cos I was perspiring like a pig ! oink oink !

actually i dont feel anything on my wound already. btw ask u, can we sit on the floor or squat? Do u think I can carry my #1 ?

bbp
wah u r so positive !
how long more is your confinement ?

Doggiebb,
What kind of silicon sheet? Have a picture? I am also very prone to keloids but my gynae only put plaster on the stitches. Did not give me anything even cream.

aftn all...

PB - nice work on e commentary.. e 2 bunny bbs are sooo cute..

lbt - u did c-sect also rite? i already carried my #1.. but when i did, felt pain in abdomen so may not be tt advisable.. i did c-sect on 10 jul.. i stopped wearing e binder after a week..

lbt, i've used the Nepia newborn diapers. Yes, it has an urine indicator. I find that it's good, just ordered yesterday, they are delivering today, very fast
I ordered 1 newborn, 3 size S.

lbt,
I still have about 2 more weeks to go. My prison sentence ends 15 Aug.

Why so many people graduating from confinement liao? Sob sob..I oso want!

The 2 baby bunnies are so cute! Love sophie bunny's thunder thighs!!!! my boi's two legs still looking like twigs at the moment!

Cloth nappy
I tried using cloth nappy on my #1 the last time and he broke out into rash... he was fine with disposable. So, dun dare to try again for #2 this time round.

Star Xin
You can try applying aloe vera gel on the bites...

I've speed read thru the old posts and some bbs are having heat rash, you can try aloe vera too. M boy had very bad rash on his neck the other day, I used aloe on him and the rash started subsiding and now after 2 days, almost gone liao.

i waiting for my confinement to end too! can't stand herbal water n keep eating the same old food... it nice but quite sian to eat lor.

re: lochia
I got 1 time also bleed alot... keep changin pads then i go look for gynae. he say still ok. then tat day got one big discharge (look like pig liver) came out!!! can u imagine? I call my mum n she say it good tat the blood clot came out. it is this thing that cause mensual cramp. hope nxt time my pms not so painful like last time.

Jas, if the flow still v heavy for 2 or 3 days, u better go see gynae. better to see him than go hospital.

PB, the photos super cute!!!! nxt time we have gathering n there will be so many gals bbs hehe

starxin, dun get too stress. I was lucky my maid help me. I made rgt decision to sack my cf lady... i think if she come, sure quarrel 1.

bbp, haha prison sentence!! Hahaha

mine end 9 aug! i hope so hahah cos my full mth will be tat day!
but i haven't invite n order the food yet.... i hope no surcharge on national day...

bbp
Don't be sad... mine also still got 2 more weeks.

The weather is really NOT helping! So warm everyday!!! What happened to the rain that came during my first few days of confinement!!!!

pb and cin
haha so cute your two little princess bunnies are already hopping together!!!

taking care of bb alone
i've been alone since first week coz didn't get CL and mother stopped coming to help coz she found out she couldn't stand my mil. sigh. it's really very tiring. feed, change diaper, then wash things and do some house stuff, then time to feed next round again. then at night bb pomfret always wakes up and my husband can sleep through it all, so nighttime it's still all me.

so for a while back there, trying to recover from the delivery, no confinement tonics, no rest, and not knowing how to take care of baby, plus breastfeeding woes, really kinda got me blue.

BUT i'm surviving, so it does definitely get easier. so all july mummies jia you!!!

breastfeeding
pb, yeah my nipple area where the bb latched on will be lighter when she just finished.

isn't breastfeeding.... like a private thing? EVERY single visitor comes to the house and asks 'breastfeeding?' and then maybe they look at your breasts ......

baby weight
alamak my pomfret only 3.6kg last week (4 weeks old) once again my paedia hinted at 'breastfeeding is good, but don't do it at baby's health expense. supplement when necc' -_- hmph

lbt and SDchick
got my gynea liao..
he say should be nothing serious considering my c section was on 24th May.. so long already..
he say if I cant tahan the flow..
will need to go back for an injection..
but the injection will affect milk flow..
so I decided not to take and monitor..

Star..
oic..
actually wake up and drink every 2 hrs is gd..
but then we will get very tired

bbp..
get someone to take for u..
so u dun have to climb up and down..
when I m doing my confinement..
I also lazy to go down to the 1st floor to take stuffs as I sleep in the bedroom on the 3rd floor..also becos they say c section cant climb up and down..
so always shout for whoever in the house to take for me...hehe

bbp
I'm using the Jorubi brand of aloe vera gel. You can get it at Watson's or Guardian... I'm not so sure about the banana boat brand one 'cos not tried it before. But if it is also aloe vera gel, guess you can use on your boy. Aloe is pretty mild and natural, so good for their sensitive skin.

dustee,
I thought breastfeeding was a private thing until the baby came along. Then everyone ask until I numb liao. Worse is when there was no milk and people ask "Breastfeeding?". Then my answer is "trying".

Jaslyn,
Paiseh leh. Cos not my house.. my in-laws. If my own house, I would have no qualms shouting. Then my hubby is one of 3 boys, so I think they all shout very loud until abit deaf one. So sometimes I shout and nobody answers, I just go and take myself.

SNL,
Thanks! Will try it out.. hope it works!

Jaslyn
Glad to know that your gynae said that it is not something serious.

Garfield
Your description of your discharge is quite graphic and gross!

Dustee
*pat pat*... must be hard on you!!! perhaps you can try and express your milk for the feed that is around 9-11plus at night and ask your hubby to help with that feed? Then you can go and sleep earlier and get some more rest.

What about your MIL? Is she still around since you said your mom went home 'cos couldn't stand her. Could she help you with some of the work?

dustee,
you need to ask for help. I had tired myself out looking after bb alone (esp feeding and expressing) that the tiredness drove me into near depression. and I just feel like crying.
now with everyone's help, it's much better.

bbp,
for neck rash, get gaia lotion or cream (the one with calendula) from Gardian or California baby cream with calendula from oversea spree in this forum. work like miracle!

bbp
No problem. If you're unsure, just test out the gel on a small part of his rash to see if got any adverse reaction. Hope it works for him too.

dustee
ur MIL dun help u ah?

bbp..
understand..
maybe let ur hubby know to tell ur MIL tro put the cover on the 1st floor...

SNL
ya lor.. a relief..
just now cant find him
gan jiong ah..

pleased to report that Cedric is now latching 100 % BF
BUT it takes up to one hour
. During that time, MIL, CL and me take turns to sayang, cajole, do watever it takes to calm him down to suck. I dunno how many x I said 'good boy, tongue down, open mouth big big, yes you can do it' over the past few days liao.

dustee,
give your PD the killer stare.... and pls girl, get some help if possible... even parttime come and do sm washing of bottles also good.

Jaslyn,
how u doing now?

gathering of bunny bbs so cute. I oso wanna bring my Cedric!

Star_xin, patz abt the CL.

strangely i m quite enjoying confinement now... got excuse not to get out of bed except to feed bb and myself - hahaha.

how much yr bb drinkin now? my G been drinkin sometimes irregularly... as she get hungry fast if she poo... then if she sleepy, she sleep n never cry...

but each time she drink 70ml. if direct latch, i not sure.

now i pump around 140ml 4 hrly,... is it v little? how to increase? i try to wake up in the nite but sometime i sleep thru n wake up only around 5 plus or 6....

jas, yup gynar gave me injection at buttocks.it was to make my uterus contract more n let out blood...

snl, u can imagine my fear when i saw it.... i told my hb but hb cannot see cos it happen in public toilet

hi mommies, can i join? my baby boy was born on 23 july.
he was abt 2 weeks early, EDD was 9 Aug. heh.

I understand from a mom in the aug thread that someone here is selling the medela PIS breastpump. i am interested but have no time to read thr the archive. can that mommy contact me via PM pls? many thanks.

my mil got spine sclerosis (not sure if spelled correctly) so her backbone's bent like an S. thus she cannot carry baby. and cannot really bend over. and she also goes out almost everyday anyway.

there's maid at least, but she's already doing housework (coz mil very particular) from 5am till 10pm the whole day. at least laundry and stuff i don't need to do. just wash bottles and take care my own room, bathing baby, etc.

just find it hard to find time to pump. coz pump halfway baby may poop or wet herself, or fuss. then must wash and sterilize. and feed baby. so no time to nap when she sleeps.

i'm really starting to look like that panda in the MTM ad with the eye circles.

garfield,
What an apt description! Pig Liver! I totally understand what you mean cos I had it too. Told my hubby it was the size of a peach and he said how come you never keep for me to see? Of cos he was joking cos I think he'll faint or be totally grossed out by it. I was actually quite mesmerised by it... didn't think I had so much "crap" inside me.

cellow
I m fine thaanks!
just abit uncomfortable lor..
cos really very wet..
and sit down scare will overflow..
even when I just change the pad..

garfield
injection is to let out more blood.
not to stop ah??

The still un-named baby #2 has jaundice so we rented the bilibed from the PD. It breaks my heart to see him on it 'cos - obviously - he hates it! Sigh! Can only keep telling myself "it's good for him"...

PB & Cin_bunny
Your baby bunnies gathering is soooooooooo cute!

Cellow
Can brush baby's mouth with your nipple to entice him to open up? Sometimes I squeeze out a bit of bm first then brush, so he knows what's coming, and will open up 'cos he wants it.

Dor Dor
Your pirncess as a pea in a pod is very very very cute! Those cheeks!

I don't know how to post photos here. I've tried, but always get the message that they are too big. And I have no idea how to make them smaller leh. #1 is still a little suspect of #2, I feel, but he is slowly getting used to the situation...

Mummies with confinement ladies
What exactly does your CL do? Mine is very 'eng' it seems. Apart from cooking meals and brewing that longan drink for me, she helps with laundry. That's all. There is nothing for her to do after 8+pm as I am TBF-ing and not expressing. She gets more sleep than I do! And she does not have to brew any bathing water for me as I bathe with #1 and use normal tap water. Is she supposed to be doing more? I think she is very bored! I often see her sit on her bed or on a chair, and stare into outer space.

SY
*sayang* When #2 takes a nap, I am either entertaining #1 or clearing up the things that have been used, or catching 40 winks for myself. Do try to rest as much as you can! (Aren't we all telling each other this?!

the weather is so hot these days... still got 2 more weeks to go to end my confinement. i'm doing 40days confinement, seems like most of you only doing 30 days hor?

cinbunny,
wow, judging from sophie's size, your BM very "powderful leh... hehe..

re bf
garfield, me too manage to pump 140-150ml 4 hrly. there was once i managed to pump 200ml from both breasts, was so happy and telling myself that "ok, now can slowly lengthen the pumping session to 5hrly then 6 hrly liao."... who knows the supply suddenly dropped to 90-120ml the next day... my boobs so sensitive leh, now i learnt that never never even "think to be lazy"...else supply drop!

re milk leaking
i'm so frustrating with the leaking... now boobies leak milk every 30 mins or so leh.. leak till soak thru breasts pads and my bras till my shirts all wet... so uncomfortable. most importantly feel so sayang seeing the milk gone to waste feeding my shirts/bras/pads instead. anyone of you have this problem?

re baby sudden crying for no reason
my bb also crying for no reason, somemore at fix timing everyday, ie. 12am till 5am... can imagine how panda look i am now.. i guess this is caused by colic right? so tired, have been 2 weeks already, sometimes i feel like so pek chek, throw tantrum on my hubby, poor hubby everyday kena scolded by me...

re bleeding
i still have some light staining on and off during day time, especially after each pumping session. other than that, most of the time i am seeing brownish stain.

++++++Community Announcement ++++++

WBW Breastfeeding Event at Mt Alvernia Hospital:

Venue: Mount Alvernia Hospital (Lecture Room, Level 1 Khoo Block)
Date: Saturday, 2 August 2008 at 10.30am

Open to all breastfeeding mothers (babies at any age).
Admission/Participation is FREE.
All participating mothers will be entitled to a Goodie Bag.

PROGRAMME

10.00 Registration
10.30 Welcome & Introduction
10.35 Breastfeeding: The Working Mother’s Challenge (Sister Kang Phaik Gaik)
10.45 My Breastfeeding Experience as a Working Mother (Lynnette Low)
10.50 My Breastfeeding Experience as a Working Mother(Sarah Quek)
10.55 Mothers get ready to latch on babies
11.00 Mass Synchronised Breastfeeding
11.05 Light refreshments & Collection of Goodie Bags
12.00 End

To register/enquiries, please email [email protected] or call 9839-9477.

http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/

oh garfield,
talking abt the "pig liver" that you passed out, it's not blood clot, in fact it's waterbag membrance or retained placenta that was not taken out completely at 3rd stage of delivery. i had that too during my #1, really gave me a big scare when i saw the big piece "drop" from me into the toilet bowl. scary.

you must tell your gynae when you have your #3 later, so that he/she will make sure everything is out completely.

hope everything is ok for you now.