(2008/07) July 2008

PB

gao nan du huh? hehe! but it work wonders for me everytime wor! my CL who is like super experienced swears by it also wor!

i managed to pump 90 mil at 2.30am last night! wah so happy! then 3 hrs later at 5.30am, aigoo back to 60ml again! *sob*

during the day, the boi wanna latch every 2 hrs now, i think maybe the milk can only last him 2 hrs! aiyo! my poor neh neh! going to fall off liao!

Pinkbunny,
let us and all Jul 08 mummies kameba.. we can make it de.

actually though some bu man about CL but I will usually feel sad when they are about to leave cos night feed will be done by myself liao, no more sweet dream till sun shine in.
These few days train myself to wake up in the middle of night to pump so next time just latch bb when she wake up for milk.

Step,
dun cry ok.. i am like that also for #1 when doing confinement at my MIL house. too emotional, little little things i cry. Dun take their comment too hard.
Now no more this kind of situation cos this time round am doing confinement at my mum;s place.
Mummy is the greatest!!!

RHS,

Calendula cream can be used for many purposes, diaper rash, eczema, cradle cap etc. It relieves burning and itching. I used it on my bb bottom when hers is red and also on her body where she has small rashes.

It really saddens me to look at the cute face with rashes all over... hikssss. But be positive! It will go away.. it's just slowwwwww. Keep the face clean and wipe with cotton balls dipped in cooled boiled water!

The jab is definitely cheaper at polyclinic but since the queue is long I don't want to bring bb there. BB still so young and the place is full of sick people.

PB... same here, going to handle bb alone from next week... pray hard she will not "chu" pattern

steph... don't be sad. at least u got CL to console u... the first 2 weeks i got a bit post-natal depression, kept crying too... my MIL NEVER console me at all. she even told FIL that i got anxious so easily. it's okie not to console me, but i feel unhappy that she commented me like that. thank god my mum came over to my house to "counsel" me then i felt better.

feeding
how much EBM to give 1 month old bb per feed?

frustrations is in de air!!!! i wanna pull moi hair!!!!

1st: CL pissing me off..
ask me this ask me tat.. baby when feed ah? den i ask her wash steriliser w white vinegar n water.. she says dun nid.. 2day i spotcheck den de metal got marks tat i had 2 do it moiself..

i do moi own laundry.. n hubby's..

den.. if drink milo put de cup there 2 wash.. 1/2 hr still dere.. ended up i do moiself..

den massage.. she complained 2 hubbi tat i left oily footprints everiwhere.. f*** man.. den mop lah.. end up hubbi do de mopping..

2nd: Mummi pissing me off..

initialli thot of distributing cakes 4 mum's siblings cos they live west side mite be inconvenient 2 cum.. den mum says i big small eye do buffet 4 hubbi's side but nt theirs..

so we decided on buffet.. ask her help me do headcount den she says... muz follow CL calendar.. den intialli bb borned on 17 jul, juz nice 16 aug is sat mah.. she says shld be 14 aug or do 1 week ahead National day... i superbli pissed off..

nw she says i neva attend cousin's baby shower when she neva even informed me.. this is so pissing.. i reali dun noe wat 2 do!!!!!!!!!!!

gals, dont panic ok !!

maybe u can try to put baby within ur sight while you relax in the living room. So u can watch TV and relax urself, while ur baby is lying beside u.

star xin

cool down cool down. hai it is always these issues that causes arguments and misunderstandings.

kan kai yi dian and you'll be happier.

so ur full mth celebration how ? do both sides on the same day ?

waiwai - not sure if e package price is still e same now.. but for my boy, it's $306 for 3 6-in-1 jabs n a mmr jab.. no more additional consultation charge or medicine charge.. all inclusive liao..

evon - yupz, i think tt's e full name.. not too sure leh.. paiseh..

PD vs GP.. actually hor, my PD was e one who told me tt jabs can go GP n take.. cheaper! haha..but when bb is ill, i will go PD..

anyone using NEPIA newborn diapers ?

is it good ? it comes with the urine indicator right ?

if it's gd, I want to order from agent, but dont know shld I order another 4 packs or 2 packs of newborn and 2 packs of S ?

Pinkbunny, I oso use a safety pin to pin on my bra so that I wont forget which nnp for next feed we are 真聪明

2day went out to have BK breakfast haha...Finally my confinement ending soon. *Hurray* how shall i celebrate?

Hi All Mummies,

Sorry to interupt,

I have a pack of size M Nepia Diapers (unopened) for sale, letting go at $17.00 ( NEG ), collection at west side.Interested pls PM me.

Thank You

bonnygal,
You're so lucky! When's your confinement ending? I've already started a list of things-to-eat-when-my-confinement-ends. The list already contains 3 items liao and I STILL have 2 more weeks to go....

bonnygal

shiok ah !

though I have lotsa things I want to eat, but have to be cautious cos we are BF-ing our little ones now.

my confinement will end this sun *yeah*
wat shall i include my list? hmmm.....
ice cream?dim dum?....

lbt, i agree with u that have to watch our diet since we are BF-ing. i will try to avoid spicy, hot food. i intend to BF till my gal is 6mths old. hopefully my ss can last till then.

waiwai
i also got use the rice wine
i was instructed to use the rice wine to wash my hands and face before i touch tap water.

bathing only use the herbal water.
can't water to bath tml. i can only bath every 4 days.

baby jab
polyclinic sure cheaper but have to queue and go back many times. so i think i am going for the PD one. but the package cost $450 and you only need to jab 3 times. at 2 months, 4 and 6 months. i'm doing in KKH.

baby on sarong
my mil puts baby on sarong to sleep.
is it safe? she is only 18days old nia.

feeding
i put every feed into book record.
i will record the time and the duration of the feed. i also record the no. of times she urine and poo poo. easier to monitor.

anyhow,
i just got to know from my mil that even after my confinement i also cannot wash hair everyday.
haiz.

bonnygal
so good your confinement ending this sun.
i still have one more week to go.
mil order that i go downstair hair salon to wash my hair. but the day before i can use the herbal water to wash my hair too. can;t wait till next thursday for my hair washing.

and hor,
after confinement i can't eat what i want to.
they say must after 40days. i can't help it but there is a alot of crap loh. this one cannot that one cannot.
because of the many heaty stuff i take daily,
i am soon going to hae sore throat liao. mouth ulcer already out liao. throat also a bit pain liao.

Qing

i think 18 days are too young to be in a sarong. I only put my gal in sarong when she hits 4th mth.

baby jabs

dont forget abt the optional jabs like PREVNAR (for pneumoccocal), ROTARIX (for ROTAVIRUS), Chicken Pox (2 doses), Flu (2 doses). Need to include them in your costing as well.

bonnygal

if u can pump in ofc, I am sure u can BF for 6mths. I also set my target to min 6 months for #2. I BF #1 for abt 10 mths. Jia you jia you !

Btw is ur bb jaundice better now ?

Qing

i was like u during my first confinement. I had v bad ulcers too, then i told my mum I need to take plain water, which I did. Did u ?
try to nap when u can, I guess partly also becos I lack of sleep due to night feeds.

Aiyo, so many confinement rules

About bb jabs, i intend to go to PD instead of ployclinic.Though i hv to pay more but the waiting time is shorter.thk PD is better than GP as they are more specialised, rite.

lbt, thanx for ur concern. she is discharged from polyclinic on her jaundice *phew* no more blood test and worries.

bonnygal
my girl is also finally off from the frequent polyclinic visit.
jaundice byebye...

ibt
i did sometimes take a few sip of plain water when they are not watching. and i do nap when she sleep loh.

die liao.
the sarong issue how?
i did tell my hubby abt putting her in the sarong too early. then they keep the sarong. today take out again. haiz.
she always sudden cry at this timing ma so is today. so i was carrying her then mil came in and say want to put her on sarong. claim the weather is too hot today, put sarong better.

Pinkbunny
I tot poppy already got ALOT of clothes??.....hehehehe
But its never enough hor....keke

Jaslyn
U siong leh got 2 to handle.

bluey
Yap polyclinic is much much cheaper co u dun have to pay consulation fees ma.
N since we stay so near hor give u a tip. GO AMK POLYCLINIC!!
Cos dun even have to queue lor jus call make appt for the hep B n once reach I normally leave there within 30mins. Fast bor.
Cos below 2 they got pirioty. Even if need to let doc check also can jump queue 1...hehe
Cos go PD normally gotta wait quite long so scared they will kanna any virus there.

Waiwai
Oh heng lah I tot ur mil stay with u all then jialat....hehe
Yah lor hubby also must learn everything ma most impt is changing diaper....hehe

Starxin
Cool down......Ur Cl very bad leh she take money to be supervisor there aah.
Aiyah ur mum n my mum same pattern 1 lah. That's why now hor I learn liao I not inviting relatives for bb 1st mth. I very easy I told my mum I will post vouchers.....hahaha
Then I do a small 1 for my own friends at home....hehe

Doggiebb
Just to confirm – is it put baby on lap, sitting, then back and forth (for her) and at the same time, rotate, like bring her close to your body, then to your left, then away from your body, then to your right… is it? I tried that leh, no result :S

Congrats on your supply! Don’t stress about it la ;)

Bbp
Congrats on your successful latching! Very nice right, the feeling of success?

Star xin
You have to relax!! Now you just concentrate on resting. And baby. Everything else just close one eye. My CL also always leave my kitchen counter wet and do things not the way I usually do but just ignore. Focus on what is important. Hugs

Waiwai
High five. We keep each other going ok?
I will nap when poppy naps in her room next week. So confirm can hear her if she cries. Reminder to self – make sure to test baby monitor so can use at night

Labbit
Poppy is using nepia newborn I think. Or s, I dunno hehe. But got pee indicator meh? I didn’t know that. But the cutting is good lor

I also drink plain water. But boiled and mix with hot water. So I only drink that and red dates tea lor. And one mug of coffee :D ok ok I also tao tao drank a bit of pepsi from my hubby

Bonnygal
Hehe safety pin cheap and good :D celebrate ending of confinement? Wasn’t your BK breakfast celebration liao? Hehe.

Dor dor
Tao yan you! Ya she got a lot of clothes hehe. Some haven’t even wear yet!

Re doing everything
Girls, must not think you can do everything or have to do everything ok? Just now my hubby came home and poppy cried so he went to see her and I left them in living room together to comp and later nap a bit. Must take time off for yourself ok? Or else will go crazy one. And you need to rest also

Re after confinement
CL ask me to try to continue bathing with herbal water if I can until 40 days! At least with warm water la, cannot bathe cold water. And try to cook confinement food for myself. On Sunday she will go market and buy stuff for me and pack individually in freezer, and she chop up a whole truckload of ginger for me and fried with sesame oil, said I can use next week. Every time she come back from market, I ask her ‘wah, market still got any more ginger left or not?’ hehe

back from hospital

My birth story very simple cos csec

28/07
9sm Admit GlenE. Go to newly renovated floor. Wah.. so nice. Got LCD tv somemore.. but was very hungry cos cannot eat and drink.
11am Nurse came to shave and change to robe and wait.
12pm Bed came to bring me to operating theatre. Hubby went along.
12.10pm Went into operation area, bid hubby goodbye cos he cannot go inside. Met Anaesthetist. went into operating theatre.
12.20pm Gynae call say she be late.. so I chit chat with the nurses inside. Anaesthetist took my blood for cordlife. And also inject my hand for the drip. Painful..
12.45pm Anaesthetist said to give me oxygen ... hmmm .. so nice .. Anaesthetist took my hand again, said gyane is coming.. I took a look at him holding my hand preparing to inject, then the nurse ask me.. "is pure oxygen nice ? what does it smell like" I said "nice.. got abit lemon smell"
<knock>
13.25pm Baby Bernice born (but i still sleeping) She was pushed out to hubby and family .. I remember my gynae asking me "wake up.. finish already" I looked at her .. then she asked me "painful" .. I said "yes" .. then dozed off. woke up hubby was trying to wake me up in the lift back to the room "is baby ok ? pretty ?" I asked .. then dozed off ...

<back> could hear all the commotion from the family going goo goo gaa gaa over Bernice.

"baby got double-eye lids?" I asked .. and dozed off again..

whole day was spent dozing off and on from sleep. Kinda knew what was going on but just couldnt get myself to be sober. Finally at about 8pm, I forced myself to wake up .. took ginger water.. talked abit, and finally looked at my baby
tried to bf her .. but she was quite sleepy too..

ohh I tell you, somethings dont say pantang .. baby was very sweet and quiet 1st day, then someone commented, "wah baby so guai .. never cry" .. that's it. The next day till now, she's been crying quite alot. Esp during feeding, i think cos the milk hasnt come in so she's gotten impatient.

Today finally can squeeze some liquid out from breast, gynae say it's mix of colestrum and milk, but it seems still not enuf for baby. She cry and cry. suck until my nipples very pain. she can suck for like 40mins on the breast, doze off and when u try to unlatch her , she will suck again.. LC say her suckle is good, just need to wait for milk to come. But her latch will from good slowly slowly end up only left with the nipple and she happily suck to sleep. Damn painful.

I gave her fm for the nights in the hopsital so i can rest. Just now got home and bf her on and off since 4pm - 6pm until she so angry and i felt so bad i gave her 40ml of fm. then now she happily sleeping le..

update later need to go have dinner now while she sleeping

Jaslyn, Dor Dor,
I am also one panda eyes. Bb need to be feed every 2 hours regardless day and nite.

Can't you believe that I fall sick on my 30+ days confinement period? I went to see GP since I was afraid that I was suffering from throat infection. My throat is ok. GP only prescribed me Panadol. I guessed I catch cold. Suddenly I felt very cold and feverish after washing my hair with cold water. If your CL asked you to take care till 40 days, just follow. Don't be like me.

my confinement ended liao! been so busy wihtout a cl. my gal doesn't sleep in the day. torture man cos hard to juggle number 1.

star
mine also feed every 2 hours. even at night. but past 2 nights, she din wake up 2 hourly so i hope she stay like that.

i also fell sick during confinement cos my boy fell sick and passed it to me.

so depressed...

baby is supposed 2 drink milk at 830pm but he's still sleeping..so CL went 2 do laundry..baby crying at 840 4 milk..but still she insists on finishing laundry 1st..

yes.. i can feed de baby moiself but when she go marketing w hubbi, i will make it a point 2 thaw milk when time is near.. den heat up when he cries, at least no nid wak e 4 2 long..

end up.. baby sucks on pacifier until 9pm den got 2 be fed.. feel so much like asking her 2 pack up n go home..

silentli tearing tinking y she treat moi baby like tat? shldn't baby be 1st priority?? tell hubbi oso no use...

doggiebb, tks 4 the feedbk on nepia ! I'll order soon.

Starxin, sayang sayang. Juz ren a while mre n ur cl will go bk liao. Thk no pt argue wif her nw, at least u still need her help during this period. Cheer up ok !

I am oso a panda. My gal drink 2hrly day n nite. Sometime it does stretch beyond 2 hr. Anyway the orh bak kak is already there.

i oso fell sick. in the hospital somemore. Dunno which kuku went to turn down the aircon in the middle of the night to 20 degrees. By the time I woke up (cos cold).. too late liao.

mummies please take good care of yourselves esp during confinement. i had the start of a cold too cos i was almost half naked while trying to work the pump and sitting under the fan while my boobs were still drying from the hot compress. CL made ginger juice for me (very nasty but just drink la!) and wansui drink and the sore throat (touch wood) didn't explode into something bigger.

haha bbp i was in a 4 bedder and i think at diff times of night we all snuck up to change temp! hehe

BF
i noticed my aerola is diff colour. like i can tell the area that goes into poppy's mouth cos the colour is lighter. anyone has this too? and i got a bit of bleeding
so pain. but one nipple only so i will pump for that side and BF from the other.

lbt- nola, she wears clothes in house but just that she just pooed so i had to change her clothes and decided to take a pix of her chubbiness ;)

oh, I used nepia too..but now S size already..the NB size is very snug..so you might want to consider getting S size instead of NB

sophie bunny came to play with poppy bunny today! here's the story:

poppy told a joke and sophie thought it was boring
1599859.jpg

then they got into a serious conversation. politics i think
1599860.jpg

sophie bunny: huh? really?
poppy bunny: uh huh. for real
1599861.jpg

sophie bunny: bleah. bluff
1599862.jpg

"oh look! a cute guy!" both bunnies kekenan lurus
1599863.jpg

poppy bunny: ok i'm tired, i sleep first. thanks for coming, bunny friend
1599864.jpg

*disclaimer: all photos were 100% natural and not posed

PB - lol..u da** cow funnee..but seriously, the sight of the two bunnies on the same crib holding mittens was wayy too cute!!! pls give extra kisses to poppy bunny for letting sophie bunny sleep on her crib ya ;)

Catherine
Guess now bb keep latching very long cos ur milk jus coming in so its in very little quantity n very slowly so bb keep latching for the little little bit of milk. Anyway that was wat the nurse told me during my last night at TMC cos my bb keep latching n when wanna push her back to nursery she will cry for milk again....sigh

Star
Huh U wash hair with cold water?? Dun lah even wash also must blow dry the hair until totally dry 1 leh. So everytime blow my hair dry liao I also start perspiring already.

pinkbunny
Hmmmmm lighter color?? Luck sek aah cos poppy suck too long??......hehehe
Paisey cannot resist....haha
Alamak bleeding aah must take care very painful 1 hor. But I realised once our nipples recover from the soreness it can withstand anything already. Ummm maybe exceptfor bites..hehe

Wah can see the size diff when the 2 bunnies are together....hehe

Cinbunny
Sophie very well fed huh....hehe

SO sian of my FIL.

Last time for my #1 everytime he sees me he will ask. "How many times he drink at night??" N "When will u stop feeding him night feeds?"
Very irritating lor n he can ask me that for like 6 mths or longer.

N now he start asking the same thing again. Started immediately in the hospital once #2 was born. "How many times she wake for milk last night??"
N if I purposly dun answer directly by telling him "Dunno never count she wake I feed lor"
Then he will still keep asking 2 times?? 3 times??
Damn irritating leh. He's not even the 1 feeding why keep asking. So wat if she wakes or not for milk.

SY,
Pssst, glad to hear that there is some improvement on your bb's feeding schedule.

Dor Dor,
I thought my confinement has ended. My baby is full month already. Maybe I am lack of rest too. I blowed dry my hair.

Bunnies!!
wow, 1st ever bb meeting in Jul thread.
can see sophie is really well fed and pink bunny, you are so funny with the commentary.

oh my.. cutie bunny baby gathering??? hee... so cute!!!

my confinement still another 2 weeks to go.. so today.. go out.. 2 c gynae muz reali wlk ard a bit else going 2 collect dust fr home liao..

n w de nonsense fr mum n CL, it's juz a matter of time i reali flare up...

yest baby darius got bites fr dun noe ants or mosquitoes.. haiz.. wat 2 apply on them? i c olredi so sim-tia n de CL still says wait until next appt den ask PD which is at least 2 weeks away.. so dumb...

baby jabs: paiseh.. i like a bit off.. but what the 6-in-1 jabs about? when nid 2 take???

star xin

aiyoo! your CL hor! tsk tsk! of cos baby shld be first priority!

my CL hor, the last time she left i cried for 2 days hor! cos she was so dependable, such an encouragement when my milk wasn't enough and her food! i think this time when she leaves in 2 weeks time, i am going to cry again! *sob sob*

the 6-in-1 or 5-in-1 jabs are compulsory. i can't quite remember what are the schedules like but when you bring bb for the 1 mth jab, i am sure you can find out. I am letting my boi take the 5-in-1 as it has a lesser chance of developing fever. I will also be giving him the pneumococcal and rotavirus.

PB

the bunny babies SOOO CUTEEEE!!!

wait for meeeeee! i also wanna go for gathering!

Star..
ur bb cry for milk or u call ur bb up??

my jie jie cry last night until 3am..
I so sleeply this morn..

those mummies who have given birth b4..
can I check regarding menses after birth..
gynea say suppose when BF no menses..
but mine came..nevermind..
the flow is heavier than the one after my c section..
I have to change every 1 to 2 hrs! using those ones for night..
then when go toilet like flowing down like that..
isit common ah??

lbt,
think my bb confused liao. at first he refused to latch coz he thot we giving him pacifier again. dunno to think he smart or confused haha... but after tasting the milk, he like hungry hippo latch and suck so hard.. both my nipples sore but tahan and let him latch at least once a day.

mil staying with us. she's a nice lady lah. but she's never handle babies b4, not even her own son. and after hearing what she did when she was pregnant right up to giving birth, and knowing her tendency to indulge in extremes, i just don't trust her to babysit or handle my bb. even cl commented don't think mil can handle if left alone with bb. most likely will take cover at my parents' place for at least 2 weeks after cl leaves. but hb not happy with this arrangement. and he's rather upset that i can't "accept" his mum's help with bb. like cl advise, most important now is my health and bb's well-being, no time and energy to consider hb and mil's feelings.

bbp,
i only worry bb next time only look for grandma and not mama.. but my friend assured me.. children will always be close to their parents woah... maybe i worry too much or see my mil very up hehehe...

3Ds,
you can' be further from the truth. my mum's has been buying groceries and herbs etc and taking bus to my place every other day. feel very very bad coz she asked me to go over for my confinement but i didn't coz hb not happy...

star_xin,
my hb still hasn't decide on the full month celebration!! sometimes we just have to take things into our own hands. you decide then you tell them what you want. i know it's not easy. i encountered same problem for my wedding. my bro also kena sabo by my mum for his son's full month party. end up have to order KFC for his friends. now i say only give cakes to both sides' relatives and my friends, hb want party for his friends only. great! he settle himself! hehehe...

i carry or feed bb whenever cl bz.. coz i can bond with my son mah

Catherine,
Congrats! dun worry abt ss. lactation consultant said baby got reserves for 3 days. keep on latching bb whenever she wants. while in hospital, i let my bb latch on for up to 1 hr even at night! and ss came in early 3rd day morning!

Pinkbunny,
yet again... your pix and commentaries gave me a great start to the day! plus.. mil not at home! woohooo...

dor_dor,
thot usually the grandmas are the loh soh ones.. your FIL also very cute hehe.. next time you ask him lor.. you at night wake up how many times to pee :p Joking niah... haha..

Jaslyn,
you better call your gynae now!! bleeding like that dun play play!

Doggiebb/star_xin,
It's the same effect for both 5 in 1 and 6 in 1.
The diff is the frequency and no of of jab.

5 in 1
5 jabs in 6 month.
(1,3,4,5,6)

6 in 1
3 jabs in 6 months
(2,4,6)

dor dor
i think you are right - lak sek!!!! better liao my nnp. pumping is ok but i dare not latch her on. aiyah ignore your FIL la. he keep asking, you keep answering the same thing lor. if he continue then just say 'really cannot remember. i am too tired liao. cos i take care by myself'. hehe

re bleeding
eh mine finish already leh. long time no more liao. i think all in all lasted 2 weeks to 2.5 weeks nia. you all still bleeding ah

steph
your CL is right. got to tell your hubby la. now most impt is you and your baby!!

re the funny photos
it's the models that gave me the inspiration cos they are two funny bunnies la! hor, cin bunny? hehe. got hold hands some more leh, got see or not?!

re nepia pee indicator
ok, super blur. where is the indicator?

pinkbunny
mine lasted 1 mth + after my c section..
then ended for about 2 weeks then came again..
at 1st is a bit only.. then suddenly from yesterday.. the flow is so heavy that I have never had b4 lor..