(2008/07) July 2008

steph,
My scheduled csec is 28th july

re: pumping
any mummies using Swing ? Any good reviews ?

lbt,
I also think afternoon sun is too hot and more harmful to skin than morning sun.

SY,
Breast should feel much softer when baby drinks most of the milk.

Sonic,
My breast are different sizes and the bigger one produce more. It's normal to have different 'output' from each breast.

PB,
So your PD said afternoon sun is ok? Hmm .. maybe I should try to sunbathe him in the afternoon for a short while. Afraid his skin will be damaged leh.

Re: reflux
Jamie only regurgitate occasionally. Thankfully he doesn't need to be burped as the wind comes from the other end most of the time

Doggiebb,
Congrats on baby Thaddeus' arrival! Hope your wound recover soon.

Re: stitches
Went to gynae for checkup today and he said it's healing nicely and should come off next week

If only my piles heal as fast ... it's darn painful to pass motion now

RHS,

My PD also said it's best around 8-9 am and 5-6 pm. after subathing, rub the baby skin with lotion. I also gave my bb water (very little)

Doggiebb
Congrats! You sound like you're in good spirits!

Xiaoyang
Jia you! By this time tomorrow you'll be holding baby in your arms!

Cellow
Apparently baby has decided to follow in kor kor's footsteps, as kor kor did not emerge until one week after his EDD ;p

Hannahl
I still feel as hot... or even hotter!

Sheila
Am very impressed that you have four! Mummies with a lot of kids tell me that it gets easier as the older ones help in the looking after of the little ones... I still can't imagine myself in the same situation! I take my hat off to you

Doggiebb,
Congrats on the arrival of your little Thaddeus!
Post a pix when you are next able to log on....

Cin_bunny,
I agree with Serene on the amt. $20 when she arrives, and most prob another $20 when she leaves... Depends on how happy you are w her performance on the job. But I wont give her more than $60 when she leaves! rationale being that she is already paid her salary, so this is an extra.

Hi Karen, welcome to the forum and this thread.

Xiaoyang and Star_xin,
You are next! Hmmz, star_xin, most likely you are already pushing bb down right at this very moment.... *excited

PS. Geylang Lor 33 Ban Mian was lovely :-~ heh

Hannahl, envy u to gain back pre-pregnancy weight so fast. now i feel regret to not watching my diet & gained too much weight haizz... i thk u shd go for the post natal massage as it did helped to shrink the tummy with the wrapping. after that u can use a abdominal binder or corset.Im alternately using both now.

wah long time never log in so many of u have popped...envy envy..

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL NEW MUMMIES...

hi Cellow..

me too havent pop yet..
having bad aches evry morning..feels like yest i ran 2.4km..hahha..just have to take it easy n bear wif it lor..
sum more have to take care of my 1yr old son..aiyah..very tiring...
went for gynae check up..having irregular contractions (painful leh but bearable )but too bad im not dilated n my gynae is against of me giving birth naturally due to my previous c-sect..in case there's uterine rupture..

lets see how it goes..

Share with u ladies my son carrying his bb sister.

1565822.jpg

N little Ember
1565823.jpg

Enya
Aiyah u should have posted earlier then I dun need to order myself n we could have saved even more.

Hi morning gals ... "reporting" in TMC

Thank you so much for all the encouragement.

Abt why the nurse knew abt internal bleeding who in turn called in Dr Laiuw ... my water bag is burst by gynae for induce. I think it is abt 3 hrs after the induce, the placenta break down and the critical moment starts. The nurse discovered I was bleeding profusely.
As for the cord, I think it was entangled in the first place, that is why my boy have irregular heart beat during the CTG tests.

The first "walk" down the bed is soooooooo painful yesterday. AFter that immediately got the binder from the hosptial. My hubby first reaction was why it looks like those osim sliming belt one.

Today morning feeling so much better. Will post the photos when i get back home.

As for the bill, does worried me a bit but ... the smile from my boy is priceless

Bluey,
You sound much chirpier today... That's good to hear
Take care of yourself and rest well!

eeeeee, Dordor, your son and Ember got the same cheeky nose, so cute....

Ju,
Your gynae not pro-VBAC? Perhaps chasing your son will equal the effect of long walks, and bring on labour leh. Fingers crossed for you!

Hannah,
I feel as hot now as in June. The little heater within is really working overtime now.... Wahlau, you regain your pre-preggie wgt already!! amazing leh you.

morning ladies

Re : Jaundice
Actually above 15 not necessary need phototherapy. My boy went back PD during the 1 week routine visit and was 17.7 but PD never ask him to be hospitalised. We were allowed to bring him home and "sun" him using the morning sun around those 9-10am kind

RE : Losing Weight
I still left with bout 4-5kg to go before my pre-pregnancy weight *sigh*. Wondering when will I be able to lose all.

Re : Constipation
Any of u all having difficulties? Me even though can poo but quite hard and sometimes a bit of blood in it!
Have been eating apples and occasionally bananas but does not seem to work very well. What other kinds of fruits can we take during confinement hah?

wow bluey, thk u have to thank the nurse ! Anyway try to get off the bed and walk. It does helps. When bf ur boy, mayb u can lie down or put him on a pillow if u prefer cradle hold position.

labbit,
oh.. Sheng Yu.. a kind of fish you take to help wound heal faster!? okok i also dunno the english name for that fish hehe..

my friend was charged for the natural AND c-section surgery and she opted for 1 bedder and her baby had jaundice so stayed a couple of days more. i suppose that's why her bill was so expensive.

Bluey,
sorry... didn't mean to scare you with the bill my friend paid :p but glad to hear that you're feeling much better now. so the binder really helps? maybe will get one too.

3Ds,
when she close her eyes, the "line" very long lor... not big ar? she has single or double eye lid? anyway, she's still a beauty ;)

doggiebb,
Congrats!! no pain no pain.. rest well...

Catherine,
your c-sec date same as your edd? your gynae didn't ask you choose an earlier date?? my gynae gave me the week b4 my edd to choose 1 day. also good coz can see baby earlier.
did your gynae ask you to monitor baby's movements?

Cellow,
you're not alone ar!! i can't sit too long coz baby will move into weird position and strain my tummy, my lower abdomen, press on my bladder, jab me left right centre, back aches, etc etc... sleep also feel tummy very heavy... then i tell baby guai lah.. dun torture mummy like that.. jab me some more you come out i jab you back.. hehehe..

these few days cloudy so not too hot but kinda humid so had the fan on whole day.

Celeste,
my gynae asked me to eat mandarin orange when i complain abt constipation. told him older folks say eat liao got wind. he explained got wind coz got a lot of fibre mah. you check with your cl or elders first. dun think apples are much help.

hey mummies... wanna ask u all... i never get malay massage lady, but still want to reduce my tummy size asap. does binder work? how long do i need to wear everyday?

Youpi
Thanks for the recommendations for the calendula cream!

Labbit
Poppy regurgitated some milk yesterday on a few occasions too so I was a bit worried. CL says it could be too much milk so we gave her lesser powder and now she’s all better. Phew. Poppy also doesn’t like to burp but hiccups a lot! PD gave us “ridwind” in case she keeps too much wind in her tummy.

Cellow
Thanks thanks thanks!!!

Hannah
It’s not really a rash, just a few little spots. Don’t want to bring her out more than necessary la cos of germs outside. Would prefer to keep her home for the next month plus

I also don’t feel as hot as when I was preggie. I think the weather is very kind to us for July! I also don’t bathe everyday but like you, turn on fan and aircon and wash hair with herbal water. I’m singing every time I step out of the shower after having a nice bath cos it feels sooooooo good!!!

Delphine
So sweet! The batik top was the girls’ papa’s one? Awwww….

Re beansprout pillow
I got one for poppy which is from ‘cheeky bonbon’. Bought it at the taka baby fair earlier this year but I think isetan scotts also has. Don’t remember how much. But ya, it makes them feel safe and protected.

Congrats to doggiebb!!!!

RHS
PD says 8am and 5pm sun. not afternoon la. Too harsh.

Re CL angpow
Oops. I gave $50 when she came leh. Sh*t. if I give her less when she leaves then she will think I think she didn’t do a good job… alamak.

Dor dor
Awww so sweet!!! Kor kor really love his meimei hor?
poppy also has those mittens hehe.

Re breastfeeding
I don’t get engorged (cos nnp too small? Or maybe too little milk
) nnp but I do feel my nipples like tingling when it’s time to pump. is that normal ah? A bit achy.

Congrats bluey. Glad you are feeling better!!

Re binder
My massage lady came for 7 days, binded me with the traditional binding thingie (1 corset like thingie and then long cloth that went round and round my body) and then she bought me the “FITS-ALL Abdominal binder from unity healthcare and I used that after she left. Tummy almost back to normal size but still flabby la. Even when suck in also flabby. Bleah. A lot of work to do! But after confinement la. Better make use of that gym membership again!!!

Wai wai you got to wear it as long and often as you can wor! After the massage lady binded me for the FIRST DAY I could see the diff liao. When I got home I still looked 5 months preggie. After she binded me and removed it after the first day I looked 3 months preggie.

hi gals!

My birth story rather short...

The last checkup my cervix didn't open n i thot my second bb will be deliver again by induce. that was sat. n gynae still ask me to choose induce date n i chose fri cos my bd haha. thot maybe she wanted it after all...

then sun nite after watchin show, i went to sleep...
around 1 plus, feel tummy uncomfortable but thot it normal so try to sleep.

4 a.m: couldn't sleep. feel back ache. keep sitting up and then when pain goes off, i lie down again
4- 4.30 : feel the pain like mensual cramp n start to nervous liao. wake hb up. hb say "oh need to go hospital liao ah?"
4.30 -5 : try to contact gynae but also monitor my contractions. it seems every 5 min......
5 plus: After gynae told me to rush to hospital, i still take my time to go... hahahhaa by then the pain quite intense n i still wait for pain to go off then i walk or do other things.
5 plus to 6: arrive hospital n nurse check n realise my cervix is 7 cm open! nurse say labour gotta be short n i was immed transfer to labour ward.

waterbag burst in labour ward. by then 8 cm open...
7: bb gal comes out

she had quite high level Jaudice but luckily was within n doctor allow me to bring her home. this sat check up again so now busy feedin her w BM and FM as they say must let her pass alot of urine. she very sleepy too.

for now, i tryin to pump out my milk too... supply not much.,.. most is 60ml only.

bluey, just read yr post on birth story. dun be too sad, as long as the bb is fine.

though my second birth, i act felt the pain when bb come out this time round... but i wasn't on epi... i was screaming n my hb was still registrating! i was crying n nurse comforted me n told me to leave my energy to push later. so scary.

congrats garfield and starxin !!

now I am having sore nipple on my left breast. and I tot I saw a small white thing that looks like a mini pimple.

gulp ! wonder if that's normal.

PB

so does the mitten trick works on poppy ?

aiyo my Rianne hiccups a few times a day too and will regurgitate some milk for sure.

btw u gals still sun bath ur bb ah ? I see Rianne looks very rosy now .. and sometimes I am quite lazy to wake up at 8am .. will nua until 9+ then wake up....so will miss the morning sun bathing for her.

found this on the website:

The white hardened spot that you described is a milk blister, and it may be caused by a plug, such as a granule of thickened milk, blocking the milk flow near the opening to the nipple or a think layer of skin blocking the opening of a milk duct form the outside. The treatment is the same; you need to apply very warm compresses and then immediately put your baby to the breast (if you are not going to nurse your baby, you may need to express in this case). The heat will cause the duct to expand slightly which may allow the plug to pass through. The heat will also thin the skin and the force of the let-down or milk ejection will be strong enough to open up the blister. If this treatment by yourself does not help, suggest you go to a doctor to open up the blister as doing it yourself may result in an infection.

garfield

ya very diff to catch the sun now. It is still quite sunny here at Sengkang in the morning but I am too lazy. oops !

congrats star_xin!!! woah your EDD later than mine..but you have beat me to the delivery room!

Like Youpi, my baby is happy inside me...no signs of wanting to come out....
tomorrow my EDD liao.... but no action at all..

Now i need to decide my next course of action... Induce or C-Section, if baby is late.... They don't want me to wait too long as my baby is big...3.4 kg last week liao....

sigh sigh.... baby oh baby...please come out soon....

Hi, I understand that i may be in the wrong thread. But just need to find a lady from IDB forum that has given deposit to this confinement lady called ah jiao and is due for delivery this end july. The CL was recommended to me by cherie from IDB forum. she came to my house on 12 june when my baby was born. I agree to employ her for 2 months for 3.1k. Actually, i was not very pleased with her service and i'm not the type that post bad things about ppl cos i noe she still need to make a living as a confinement lady. However, when i pass her her pay, i miscalculated . she actually left in 17july, i miscalculated and gave her 450 extra. she calculated the pay and didnt say she was given more. after she left, my grandma asked me how much i gave her and realised our mistake. I tried calling her the whole of last nite. When she hear my voice, she press away my phone. and subsequently offed the phone. Then this morning, when i try again, i finally got thru, i wasnt given a chance to speak, she offed the phone again.
I guess ill never be able to get back my money again. Given this dishonesty of hers, I decided to post this thread about her. I understand she got another job through the website IDB forum at the end of tis month. the kind soul who employed her, pls call me at 92361111. btw this auntie name is ah jiao and her no is 020162923050. . we can arrange in a way whereby it will not affect her attitude during your confinement period.

labbit
hey poppy likes bathing more and more so no need to try mitten trick

batgirl
you never take bluey's advice and ask your hubby to 'help you induce'? hehe

Steph,
Heh... He also jabs me left right centre but think he's got little space now, so the jabs are not so strong as last month. I tell him... Mummy today carrying you very backache, next time you good boy ok, feed and eat properly, suck gently and efficiently on Mummy's breasts. If you do all that, Mummy happy already.

Congrats to Star_xin and Garfield!
Garfield, in the end, your bb decided not to share birthday with you
guess your girl wanted her own bd!

Batgirl,
*sayang... Tis ok one.. in theory EDD is only estimated. Still got 2 weeks more. Full term bb is anything from 37 weeks to 42 weeks. Talk more to your bb la.... Tell him to come out today or tmr

cellow, ya lor she wans her own bd... haha also good lar... then hb no excuse ;p

Phyllis, yes we need to undress them but leave the diapers n mittens on. then cover their eyes.

i so sad the sun again hiding... no chance of suntanning again... so sian

I will like to sell away my playpen with matress. Is brand new condition. Any interested mummies, pls kindly PM me.
Selling at only $70. Thanks.

Features :
-ideal for new born.
-comes with mosquito net
-Bassinet
-Carry bag
-little prince print
-Playpen size: 43cm x 31cm x 30cm

Original Price: SGD$125.00
Mattress is $19.90 (Bot additional from kiddy palace as the orignal playpen is selling w/o mattress)
1567405.jpg

Phyllis,
u need to undress the bb when we suntan but just leave the pamper on......

BB Latching
yesterday manage to latch bb kacey for the first time she latch for abt 15 min, this morning latch abt half an hour probably shall try again this evening on my the other side of my breast.

BB full mth
tomolo celebrating bb kacey full mth whole day, today brought her to saloon to cut her hair but didnt manage to shave all as the hairdresser mention as bb head still soft so cant shave clear...

shall update bb kacey latest photo after her celebration tomolo....

cellow: definitely still having bodyaches, so difficult to sleep at nite and

doggiebb & star_xin, CONGRATS!! you've popped!

apples: thought it's the fruit we eat when we have the runs? to soften stools should be papaya, banana and the fibrous kinds like guava right? lots of vege and lots of bran?

steph: how much was your friend's bill & where did she deliver... I'm going for a single bedder..so pray that there are no complications or additional charges...

I love mummy/daddy top/mittens/booties: haha think most of us have this? good for newborns huh...

dordor: your son looks so cute carrying his meimei like dat..how's he taking to his new little sister?

mitten trick + bathing: what's this?? let them wear mittens in the bath? hehehe

batgirl..one more day to your EDD.. how's Dr TM Chua? how many bedder are you going for? we are one of the few to deliver @ NUH...

wonder how sparrow is doing...

had a false alarm today...woke up at 3am with a slightly bloody but watery discharge..about 2 tablespoonsful... and was wondering if it is the waterbag or not...couldn't sleep after dat but no more leaking after dat...but went in for the doctor to check, juz in case...turns out my waterbag is still in tact..was having contractions but still un-dilated.. wonder what that was....

steph,
My EDD is actually 15th aug and my gynae actually gave me 2 weeks ealier which is 1st aug for the csec but we didnt want cos 1st day of 7th mth so we just push back a few more days to monday, so by 7th mth can discharge. also i heard that the LC works only on weekdays.

just gave birth to my boy this evening 18 july 08 by assisted delivry with epidural afther struggle 4 20 hrs. he is 3.4 kg n 53cm long..will share my birth story later..

Starxin
CONGRATS!! Finally deliver liao dun have to keep waiting anymore.....hehe
But 7cm they still give epi aah??

Garfield
Congrats.

Bluey
I tot u home liao leh. Yah see the little bb all pain gone liao hor.....hehe

Serene
Wah so fast 1st mth liao I still 1 week confinement nia 3 more wks to go......sigh

do1nk
My son abit over excited about his mei mei lor. Keep asking to carry her n will auto try to carry her when she cries. So gotta keep watch constantly.

serene
congrats on getting baby kacey to latch on! very nice and warm right, the feeling?
today i had success with poppy as well. but just comfort sucking i think. better than nothing

wow you brought her to saloon to shave her head? hweet hwew! now chio chio? hehe

hehe do1nk
practice run #2? keke. labbit was saying if baby don't like to bathe, leave mittens on when putting them in the tub then final thing to do is to remove mittens (when everything else has been washed) and then wash hands. cos they are afraid, got nothing to grab, that's why scared/don't like to bathe. for some babies la. but poppy quite likes to bathe. everyday before 9am she will cry a bit cos she wants to bathe!!!

oh tip: bathe them and give them clean diaper before feeding so they will enjoy their feed without fretting. also, if feed then bathe, all that movement may cause them to puke

congrats xiaoyang!!

oh...will make a note to try next time... the last time I saw my sis bathe her newborn..wah cry n cry must act fast....but now my little niece loves bathing and playing in the water

ya...*blush* wonder if the nurses in the delivery suite recognise me or not...but I thought better be safe than sorry..after hearing all that stories about those whose waterbag burst n still didn't realise and end up wiv distressed baby...

guess my little one think it's not time yet haha so back on the bench waiting...

xiaoyang,
congrats! wow... 20hrs?!.. no joke man. you have done a good job.

re different output from left/right breast
oic.. so it's quite common hor. my left breast produce less, so i 'talked' to her, my sis saw that, laughed at me said i siao! sigh, when i'm desperate for milk, i can do a lot of silly things.. haha..

do1nk,
don't stress yourself up.. when the time has come, you will know that it's the time. relax and wait for the sign..

hmn.. it's alright that you rush to delivery suite when you suspected something, the nurse won't laugh at you lah.. cos many of us are doing so mah... guess those nurses already get used to it. haha...

dor dor,
your boy solid leh, able to carry mei-mei and laughed until so happy... hehe..

mummies with princesses at home,
do your babies at this young age passing whitish vaginal discharge already?
i noticed my gal has quite a bit of whitish discharge leh.. quite weird to have it at this young age right?

happy weekend all!

lbt - i had nipple blisters on day 2..it was like mutiple blisters too! soo painful! lactation nurse came in and use needles to prick them
..now thankfully they are gone..hope yrs goes away soon.

congrats all mummies who recently popped..show pix show pix

Dor dor,
That's so sweet of your son
Ember is so cute!

bluey,
Indeed seeing our babies' smile beats everything, right?
Try to get plenty of rest, ok?

Celeste,
Try to eat papaya to soften the stool. I asked for stool softener from my gynae in the hospital and was given Fybogel. You can also get it from Guardian. Drink plenty of water too.

Cellow,
My perineum got 2nd degree tear. I think due to a combination of using vacuum and Jamie's head bigger than average.

Star xin,
Congrats for the arrival of baby Darius!!

Re: hot
Anyone also feel very hot when breastfeeding? I always sweat buckets when BFing that I think Jamie drinks both milk and my sweat *yuck*

lbt,
Oh no, my right nipple also got white thingy.

xiaoyang,

congrats xiaoyang! wow 20hrs!

re: diff output from left/rgt
I also experiencing it... seems like my left is more than rgt, not sure if becos i latch her more better in tat way cos normally i like to carry her head to my left.

i now try to feed her more on my rgt.... dun wan to have unbalanced B!!

Star_xin, Xiaoyang, Garfield
Congrats! Post pix!

Bluey
You sound much much chirpier! That's great!

No action despite more walking and nipple stimulation and laksa and chicken curry...

So we went to the library book sale at the expo yesterday, and got books for #1 to read. Then went to the airport to walk some more and let him look at aeroplanes.

Xiaoyang,
wow 20 hours.... good job! rest well now... u need to keep up your strength...

do1nk,
dun so kan cheong. Think you will defintiely know when the time comes to birth bb. Another day of body aches for us still waiting on the bench.... Wonder how batgirl and ju are doing w the body aches....

Changing Gynae
Put Plan B into action. Monday is gonna be the day to decide... See curr gynae 1st, check his response to my birth plan, then off to Dr Paul Tseng, and check HIS response. Jitters, but both HB and I think we are doing the right thing for Cedric. Wish me luck, mummies! that I 'know' intuitively which gynae is best for Cedric.

More Monday activities...
Photo-taking w amateur photographer fren of HB w the bump!