(2008/07) July 2008

Here are some useful information about BF (how to store EBM)
mime_msword.gif
Guidance to store EBM -1
What are the LLLI guidelines for storing my pumped milk-1.doc (26.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

wow xiaoyang that routine is very strict wor!!!

hey girls, my CL's hand phone is quite loud and it's sometimes in poppy's room... would it be offensive if i asked her to turn down the vol? i said once 'wah so loud your tone!' cos it rang when we were having dinner and i really got a shock. and she said 'ya i don't know how to lower it'. when i asked if she'd like me to lower for her, she said don't need. now wondering if i should do it secretly when she's in the toilet or what.... sekali it's in chinese. alamak.

xiaoyang: wow..thanks for the articles.. you are delivering at MtA right? do you drive to Jurong Island? lucky now dun have to take the boat but can drive thru liao..otherwise more risky huh..

PB: haha I'm trying to be koot lat.. like top student wannabe mah... try to find out as much as I can since I'm here waiting for my turn.. and being the typical kancheong spider me.. if wait til it happens, I'll surely be very panicky wan *blush*

keke.. maybe you should pretend to startle (in a very kwa zhang manner) the next time her hp rings again..then act blur and ask again why so loud lor haha

hahah..yeah...i think i having nesting instinct same like you Star...

just finished damp dusting the room

going to lay the bedsheets next

and cover with a big bedsheet to prevent dust from accumulating.....

nesting instinct or a paranoid mother to be...hehehe

damn tiring...

Tomorrow will take a break and rest...

Bluey, Dr Paul did say can stimulate the nipples if want to bring about labour. Maybe you'd like to give it a try ;) Thot he'll be back tmw? Or he'll only officially start work on Wed?

do1nk. orr, so tang kui and pig liver will make ss drop ah? Now i know why liao lah. I've told my cl DUN put them into my food liao!

PB, if i were u, i'll tell her direct loh.

batgirl,

i changed moi bedsheets on sat.. 2day do laundry.. wash pillow n bolster 4 CL, wash floor cloths.. sterilising de milk bottles.. n hopefuli if got energy 2 wash moi 3 hamster cages later..

so tiring... but i 2 used 2 trying 2 do s much s i can when i m free.. else once i nua- it is all de way nua liao.. hahaha..

jaiyou 2 ur cleaning.. but dun overwork though.. afterall u r nearer 2 de EDD den me..

hannah...I gathered these info from somewhere leh...dunno 100% accurate or not... but I'll juz play safe.. dun like pig liver anyway haha

PB
my CL have ask me to lower the volume of her mobile the other day when she came. I also dun like my cl carry my bb while using the hp coz it not gd for the bb.

do1nk
i'm still taking the fish oil while BF i have check wih my gyane in fact is gd to take coz everything goes to the BF.

Baby bouns
today manage to sneak out fm the house to go bank to ask the officer to endorse on the form n also bought a pair of 3 quarter pants for this sat full mth celebration.... realise i cant fit into my clothes sigh

eh no one answered my question leh...which caterer is the one wiv dat irresistable curry chicken? hehe makes a big difference when deciding...

and who do you all usually invite for the fullmoon party and who gets cakes?

hubby seem to wanna invite the whole world but I'm not keen.. paranoid mummy dun want little baby to be passed around among many (urrk.. clean or not?) hands...

re: CLs and handphones
PB, what's stopping you from telling her directly to lower the volume and to put her HP in one corner whilst she is near poppy leh?

re: Pig liver
I love eating pig liver leh. Why why why is it one of the foods that reduces breast milk supply....

batgirl and star_xin,
wah, so hardworking, cleaning the house already... i just leave it to my part time cleaner who comes once a week and close my eyes if i think the hse is too dirty. All the bedsheets and stuff wait for MIL to arrive, then wash for the CL - heh. Mayb i self-justify.. now sterilise the milk bottles also no use, later they will only be germy again. Come back fm hospital then get the CL to sterilise la...

Serene,
U funny leh... go to bank, on the way also can manage to buy smthing. queen of retail therapy man

do1nk,
getting cakes - I very mercenary one... everyone who gives me money in the form of ang pows! and / or gifts for little boy or me.

inviting to first mth party - hmm. this one will be just relatives. frens are separate... so invitation list ultimately deps on parents and PILs (for me, not so much PIL as I am sure there will be another round back in MY, which I am NOT organising hehehe)
different families, different protocols bah.
think your HB just wants to announce his child's birth to all...

lbt,
So after using bilibed, Rianne was tested again? My paed said I don't have to test Jamie again. But until now he's still slightly yellow although not as bad as before. Pray the next few days will be sunny.

bluey,
Few things to try to induce labor: eat spicy food, nipple stimulation, perineal massage, walking. Two days before I delivered, I ate super spicy food my friend cooked. Dunno if that's really the thing that triggered my labor.

PB,
I think it's ok to ask your CL to lower down the volume. But better ask her rather than secretly do it coz not nice if she finds out you are touching her phone without her knowledge.

Hi Mummies...

Does any of your bb got heat rash alrdy? Any idea wat to apply in order to reduce the rash? Or will it goes off itself?

hi lbt

which package from neo garden is recommended?

can i check usually what is the average amount of BM does a newborn take? is 2-3 oz too much, too little? how much is formula?

do1nk,
no special reason. just didnt want to go thru the labor. My csec is 14 days away. on the 28th. I wanted epi but cos of my fibroid so my gynae told me to go under GA.

Xiaoyang,
Is that routine from Gina Ford? It sounds very familiar... no, I did not try it ;p

Bluey
Can try the saying "OMMM" thingy as well? Who did it work for?

Do1nk
There were a few fabulous curry chickens mentioned... I only recall Neo Garden 'cos that's the one that I liked.

Re: passing baby around
For the whole of the first month, I did not let anyone touch #1, ecxept me and hb. I was paranoid about germs and I said that I wanted him to get used to his parent's touch first before exposing him to other people. I can be thick-skinned about things so I did not care what anyone said.

Re: fish oil
I continued taking it while bfg #1. The benefits all go to baby via bm so it's good for both of you!

Nesting mummies
I am in awe! I was never a nester, not even with #1. I hate housework! But I am very good at telling hb what should be done so that he can do it, hehe! Actually hb is nesting on my behalf. He converted the toddler bed back into a cot over the weekend, and cleared out old newspapers and other junk

blocked milk duct
saw the GP today, it is a blocked duct, and starting to become mastitis already, coz i'm having a slight fever. sigh. so she asked me to try to keep massaging today first (which i've been doing all day, but the lump like not getting smaller) and if by tmr it doesn't clear, she'd put me on antibiotics.

if i'm on antibiotics means have to stop breastfeeding baby
boohoo.

sigh, already trying so hard and ss not fantastic, and STILL can get blocked milk duct. duh.

hi ladies! im a MTB due in September. May I know if any of you gave birth via elective c-section at east shore? if so, can you share how much did your bill come up to be (with or without surgeon's fee), and how much did you pay in cash after medisave?

re hp
she never use when with baby. in fact she ask me not to either. which is good. ya i think the next time when it rings i will tell her la. but she's a little hard of hearing so maybe that's why it's on so loud

cin bunny
poppy takes about 80ml of FM at each feed. but hor if you give BM she will just stop when she's full la!!!

re vitamins etc
i'm still taking my pre natal ones! gynae says good to continue. plus fish oil.

dustee
sayang sayang take care ok? what is mastitis?

I was informed by the clinic that Dr Paul can only do the induce for me on Thu ... He can't get back in time.
Sian.

Well ... actually I prefer the date of Wed. SOme might ask why ... becoz I do read chinese Bazi one.

So I gave up on the idea of induce. Let natural take its own course and wait for my appt on fri.

my hubby very cheeky ... whole nite ask me need his help to induce or not. Cannot tahan him. Try to be funny but no help at all.

rhs, i still went bk to pd to test the jaundice level. It went down to 7.4, lower than the level when rianne was discharged. So pd say can return the bilibed. Then i sun bath her the past 2 days n she dont look so yellow nw.

Cin bunny
I thk there is a 15% discount for full mth celebratn which is only applicable to certain menu. I thk it depends on the amt per pax then u can still customise the menu. I havent ordered. Btw i will b celebrating on 2nd aug. U ?

hi lbt

yes aug 2nd
..same as u and PB la..hehehe

u tried neo garden b4 for no 1?

hi dustee

do take care..rest more ya!

hi bluey

hang in there..soon will see little one..exciting!!

cin bunny,

my baby for BM takes 100ml... whilst FM takes 80ml... think BM less filling for my boy... get's hungry every 2-2 1/2 hr... but FM can take 3 hrs before any signs... =)

Yeah..the routine sounds very strict..i also never follow...just to share..

Youpi,
I'm not sure if it is from Gina Ford leh..i got it somewhere 2 yrs back when i have my #1.

Cellow,
Thanks for the information on VBAC and oxytocin

PB,
i think u can straightaway tell ur CL dun place or use hp near to ur bb..i'm very strict on it..
The last time i asked my CL to put her hp in the living hall...I also forbid anyone to on the tv when bb is in the hall. ..radiation from TV and hp is very bad to bb

cin bunny...

not all the time... recently in her 2-3 weeks, her supply drop to 70-80ml... not enuff for baby... =) we'll try to give alternate BM &amp; FM to Baby... thus being able to provide 100ml every 6 hours... only at night, give FM to sustain baby from waking up too often...

updates from sparrows!

'after a gruelling 24 hour labour and emergency c-section, our not so little 4kg boy had to be dug out to see us! more updates soon'

wow. poor sparrow worked so hard! big round of applause for her and major congrats!

My turn to be sleepless in Singapore. Woke up since 430am cannot sleep, listen to Mozart CD and the entire Nutcracker suite fm Tchaikovsky. Hey if I cannot sleep, might as well stimulate little boy's brain yea - heh.

Congrats to Sparrows! and great, you can finally paint the walls blue and buy blue babywear. One of the courageous ones who din wanna know the sex of bb beforehand....

Dustee,
Glad to hear that it is not a lump, just blocked milk duct. Hmm, does ur doc know u r breastfeeding so the medicine needs to be tailored accordingly for you? There are antibiotics on the mkt that are still safe to tk while breastfeeding wat.
Tip for suspected Mastitis from "The Womanly Art of Breastfeeding - La Leche League International" (1) Apply heat (2) Get plenty of rest (3) Nurse often. And also nothing is more impt at this time than nursing bb promfret!

PB,
Mastitis is a big word for breast infection.

re: jaundice and PD
RHS,
Your PD very pro-breastfeeding, allow you to bring home the bilibed to treat your Jamie's jaundice... who is your PD?

Bluey,
Not so long now... your HB is cheeky!

re: questions questions
Like do1nk, this whole process really feels like studying for exams... fm labour positions to birthing to breastfeeding and newborn care. Hope we all pass the papers with As! Fingers crossed.

Now to start the day with a nice mushroom &amp; cheese omelette....

Youpi,
I normally hate housework except for laundry! HB is the one sweeping the floor and must mop floor twice kind (once with cleaning detergent and once with just water). He used to nag me but I just smile, say ok, and do nothing... eventually he gave up - heheheh.

Food cravings
Woke up this morning w planning the whole day's menu in my head though... top of the list is ice-cream - which during confinment month cannot eat!

wow! Sparrows finally gave birth to a whopping 4kg baby boy! didn't look like there was a big baby in there huh? congrats to her! can't wait to hear all about it and see her little baby..

more cutezie baby pics!

Evon,
No need to apply anything for the heat rash, it will go by itself. For my baby, I just wipe with water twice a day.

dustee,
Hang in there. Hopefully you don't have to take antibiotics
You can apply hot compress first before massaging or do it in the shower.

bluey,
Maybe can try your hubby's help, hugs before drugs

lbt,
Wow, Rianne's jaundice was quick to go. Good for her. Jamie is still slightly yellow until now. But since the PD didn't ask us to go for re-test, we'd just try to sunbathe him as much as possible.

sparrow,
Congrats! That's a big baby! Mine is already difficult to push out so hats off to you.

cellow,
Our PD is Dr. Belinda Murugasu. We intentionally chose her because we wanted to delay Hep B &amp; BCG vaccination and also because she's pro-breastfeeding. I have thyroid problem and she also said I could continue BF even when taking thyroid medicine.
Thanks for the BF link!

Re: sucking
Lately Jamie is very slow at sucking. He would wake up hungry and crying, latch ferociously, but once he's at the breast, he would only suck hard few times and doze off so the sucking turns weak. Sometimes I can't rouse him up even after jiggling my breast, tickling his feet, threaten to break the suck, etc. Anyone has similar problem?

Serene, on the bb bonus, need to go bank to get it endorsed? Which form? I only called them for the bank and branch no. leh.

cinbunny, my bb drinking about 60-70 ml of ebm each time, fomula also. I'm not sure abt the rest of the bb though.

catherine, so if u hv contractions before 28 Jul, touch wood, u'll end up with c-section too?

dustee, since it's a blocked milk duct, why dun u see a LC to get it cleared? Can Dun take antibiotics first?

Bluey, u mean he'll only be back on thur? Thot air-tkts all settled in adv liao? Woa, he really has a long break this time
Dun know if he'll just rush thru &amp; send me off asap when i see him this thur for change of dressing..

Since u so keen to deliver asap, why dun let hubby help leh? Try lah..

Woa sparrows, 4kg... Must be very tough for her..

RHS, why do u want to delay the vacination leh?

RHS
hugs before drugs! i like that!

RHS
me too. at least you can get jamie to suckle. when poppy cries big time from hunger she would refuse totally. so i resort to the bottle.

now that she's been bathed, cleaned, fed, mummy can rest a bit
but not too long cos need to pump soon!

for those of you who have problems burping baby, my PD recommended RIDWIND.

update from sparrows
'baby in ICU, still haven't seen him yet except for the short while just after c. will update you gals soon! thanks for all your encouragement!
'

Sparrows,

Congratulation to your big baby...by the way, how come bb in ICU?? Must keep us update hor...

Can i asked was is the meaning of 'OMMM'..soli har...sounds a bit naive to ask such a question..

Me today back to work..guess tomolo will be starting my ML liao lah...cos will be seeing my gynae on thursday and schedule to induce on fri..

Hanaahi
it the pink form which reuqire the bank details. the other day i called up the mcys baby bouns dept the lady told me to get the form endorsed by the bank before submitting to them.

Cin bunny
i order the neo excellence menu it $12.99 per pax i order for 70 pax but there 2 trip of delivery 1st trip 40 pax for my mil relatives than 2nd trip for me n hubby friends. there a 15% discount for bb full mth than i'm their mmber got additional 5% discount.

my bb drink abt 110ml to 120ml per feed on either FM or BM every 2 to 2.5 hours. In fact she drink quite a lot but i still dun have enough BM for her per day only can pump abt 110ml per pump fm both breast

cOngRats tO sPaRrOws! fLy sPaRrOW fLy (hEe.. fR sOmE nUrSery rhYmE)... aPplAuSe fOr hEr cOurAge n 4kG bOy!!! i M rEalli iMprEsSed!!