(2008/07) July 2008

hmm..seem that many mummies here went to be induced after detecting that the water level is low... how does the gynae check for this? makes me feel a bit worried coz mine seems to only palpate but do not do any scans at all... though I'm sure she knows what she's doing or what she should?

*being my typical kancheong self again*

Last night I dreamt that my mucus plug was released! Quickly checked this morning but there was nothing, phew! I still need time to get everything ready - cot bumper etc not washed yet!

Lbt
I also go to kinderclinic at Mt A
My #1's PD is Dr Tan, so he will be #2's PD as well. But the waiting time for him is really very terok!

PB
Yay! Your milk is in! Just keep latching, Poppy will help stimulate the ss.

For bfg mummies:
Another good bfg resource is Dr Jack Newman. His website is at www.drjacknewman.com and you can google him to get more bfg links, with videos and articles. He came to Singapore sometime last year to give bfg talks. I emailed him when I was concerned about bfg while preggie, and he replied to me within a couple of days

hi!

congrats to wai wai...

wai wai, i also have piles after havin my first bb. no one told me cos many seems dun kenna... guess we r the "lucky" ones. get some cream from yr gynae and dun keep sitting down as it aggravate it. try lying down. do soem things n forget abt it...

3D, jia you

my last vist gynae was tellin me whether i wan 6 july cos many ple wan... i ask y? he say 060708 mah

bb head is below but still not engaged... i told him i tired. then he ask me if i wanna induce... I say i hope natural bah...

Hi MTB,

I have lightly used Medela Swing pump (used for only 1mth+) for sale. The pump come with Medela Cooler Carrier and 4 bottles. Pictures as attached.

Will provide receipt and warranty. Interested, Pls PM/ SMS me at 98397101

1538949.jpg
1538950.jpg

PB
congrats on your ss coming in. dun give up. for me i still supplement cos not enough yet. my gal's drinking is very erratic. she likes to drink milk at night and she takes so long to drink. so sometimes really too tired to latch her and my cl also wants to let me rest so she just make FM.

i can't imagine what to do when cl goes back. she can take an hour to dirnk milk sometimes...

my boy also accepting mei mei now and sometimes he will sayang her. he loves to watch her poo though. very funny.

mummies who bf
do your bb poo often? mine poos so often and use pampers so fast...faintz

congrats to all mummies who've popped!!

JIA YOU on e BF-ing!! for my #1, i stoppped after a pathetic 2 weeks coz i cldn't cope with e stress and all e unhelpful comments frm my CL n MIL.. this time i'm more determined.. but i do agree with hb tt a HAPPY mummy is still e most impt as i had v bad post natal blues when i was trying to bf.. but after i let go.. i became a better mothre overall.. jia you everyone!!

Can we still go for postnatal checkup if sitll got some spotting?

Sy
my gal poo very often for the first 3wks, it seem that she will poo after every feeds and the wipes and diapers goes very fast. Althought she still poo quite frequently but is getting fewer.

Labbit
Wash nipples with SOUP!?? Giam chye tng or bak kut the? You mean SOAP si bo? Hahahahaha. Funny la you!!! I wipe with warm towel all the time and every time got nnp activity, I will squeeze out a few drops to rub around the nipple area.

Nah not going back to Mt A for checks. I go direct to Dr Edmund Koh at TB central

Re BF and pumping
Thanks for all the encouragement, girls!!!

Question - Should I only pump when I feel engorged? Or in regular intervals? Supply still very little, asking hubby to buy fenugreek for me later (thanks for the rec, girls!). very happy to announce that poppy is latching on more. And when I carry her, she automatically turns to my nnp and opens her mouth. Awwwww
but I don’t think she’s drinking enough directly from me (I don’t think so cos the output is very little even when I pump) so still supplement with FM after each feed. No choice or else the poor girl will be hungry

Very tired these 2 days (body tired but mind alert) cos initially we just let her sleep sleep sleep until she wake up to cry. Sometimes can sleep more than 5-6 hours. Then cry very violently, cannot latch on then we both frustrated. So now we try to wake her every 3 hours and her mood is better. But for mummy so tiring cos no time to rest – she wake up, try to latch on, then I feed the previously expressed BM, then FM then play play with her, she fall asleep, I try to rest or get some things done, and next thing I know, time to pump again :S

Re dreams
How come give birth already I still got funny dreams ah? I dreamt I looked in the mirror and I was going bald. Yikes!

Garfield and wai wai
I also got piles
got it during pregnancy, was on a bit of medicine and given cream. It was bleeding and painful!!! Gynae said public toilet paper is the worst. Cos so rough. Best is to wash :S but I always bring my own tissue hehe. Bleeding stopped within 2 days of taking the med, but cream I still continue to apply. With all the pushing, it came back again so gynae said just continue to apply the cream.

SY
I can understand!!!! CL keep saying she will make FM so let me rest but I want to try to get poppy to latch on leh! But end up I also very tired. So try to cham siong, and I pump out instead. Mt A lactation nurse said 4-5am milk is the best so try to get up to pump then. Poor hubby have to sleep with the light on hehe.

Re recording
Was it labbit who gave the recording table ah? I’m recording her input and output every day. So far she PS about 2-3 times a day and pee maybe about 4-6 times. Wonder if Mt A will release her poo/pee/feed records cos they also did it when she was there

SY
yeah my bb poo v often leh when she drink BF leh but the CL is v common using of pampers also fast but still okay per day abt 6pc to 8 pc. nw NTUC having offer leh for bb items so can grab pampers to store yeah....

this morning my bb vomit a bit of her milk after she burp. it happen 2nd time last nite once this morning once, has any bb have this ?

PB,

dun give up! jiayou! glad 2 hear tat ms is coming in.. tink dis is wat chinese pple call 'xian ku hou tian', so do persevere...

Delphine,

waiting 4 ur updates...

doggiebb,
i m oso in moi 37 weeks tmr.. n hee.. i dreamt tat gynae ask me go deliver dis wed aftr checkup.. haha...

star xin

my appt this wed. so exciting! i still dreaming of 15 july. but last round gynae already said water is reducing. so have to see this wed how's the water level! i really dun mind delivering liao! NO MORE PATIENCE to wait liao! lalala!

Thanks to those who give me advices.
But my breast still leaks even after pumping~ not pump long enough is it?

Just to update everyone here,
My boy can be discharged today. Miss him at home but then sleepless nights will be here again.

Serene
My ger also have this problem but the nurse at polyclinic say is normal and ok as long the bb did not merlion. She say the bb is still small and so their stomach is not that strong yet.

doggiebb - 15 july is ur edd?? tt's when i scheduled my c-sect.. but may have to push fwd e date coz bb is v low already.. so pending this tues checkup..

Congrats Waiwai and thanks for sharing your birth story... wah both you and HB were crying in happiness ah...

reading all the b-feeding stories now. kinda agree w Sparrows that b-milk will only come in 1-5 days. my fren who just gave birth also supplemented during the 1st 3 days w FM, now her supply came in already

PB,
happy for u that your ms came in liao....

SY, how many diapers are u going thro a day now?? i only got 2 packs of mamy poko newborn diapers... now thinking shd buy some more or not.

Aiya, do1nk, you are not being kan cheong... i also got a lot of things to ask, but work filling up my limited brain cells, and somehow never get around to organising the qns on screen. Better u ask then

... disappearing to earn my salary now.... work is both a blessing and a curse.

omg.. am i d only weird one here? my ss came in on 4th day, managed to pump up to 80 ml both sides but then lately (2weeks on), ss seem to have dropped again.. din even feel engorged breasts at all.. now whenever i pump, ss seems to have dropped.. hais.. what's wrong? n i've been religiously drinkin soups to increase supply..

any one can give advice on d decrease in supply?
feeling so miserable now..hais

Caithlyn,
I agree (with 10 fingers and 10 toes + Cedric's 10 fingers and 10 toes as well)! B-feeding is good for bb, but in the end, it is one Part of overall mothering.

Doggiebb,
Haha mayb your dream is a SIGN!

Note to little boy Cedric... (yea now progress to talking to him out loud liao)
Next time, you suck fast fast ie efficiently, go to sleep fast fast also. Ok? Good boy.

pb,

my gynae still tell me it normal n tat my piles wasn't so bad as i have thot.

but it was terrible for tat whole mth... i now think also scare. i ask gynae n mum y nobody warn me , at least i push less harder mah

talkin abt cl, my cl damn dishonest. now refuse to return me my deposit. anyway, i m v firm not to use her at all liao. i rather do it myself

caitlyn

no no my edd is 28 jul but i am hoping by 15 jul which is 38 weeks can give birth liao.

cellow

i just love 15 jul lor. such a nice date!

PB

ahhaha oops ... how can I make such a mistake ???

anyway my bb jaundice went up a bit .. rented the machine to do light therapy at home.

her weight has increased a bit so that's good news for me.

today I was pressing on my areola and my milk actually SHOOT OUT ! ahhaha din know I have so much milk now.

hi mumies,

My nipple also got sore the last time i bf my daughter..I even got bleeding. That time..got to stop bf for a day..then continue again. U can actually got the nipple shield..from Medala or avent..put it on your nipple and let ur bb suckle..then it is not so painful. Can still continue to bf..no problem.

PB,
Just sent ur the bf article..take a look

thanks alot xiaoyang!

labbit
i like to see in the breastpump when got milk squirting out. hehe. so bian tai hor?

re jaundice
PD mentioned during hospital stay that it's common for jaundice to go up after a few days. poppy started out with no jaundice but now got a bit. he said sun her at 8am and 5pm, wearing diapers. about 10 minutes enough liao. other times the sun rays are too strong. just put baby next to window can liao. and cover eyes

PB
shd pump at regular intervals. for me i do latching and pumping. if she wants to latch at the time i m supposed to pump, i latch or even pump at the same time. if she sleeps and misses the timing, i pump. as long as she drinks, doesn't matter whether it's pump out or latch cos very impt to send signal to our body to produce milk now.

serene
my bb also got throw out milk. depends on what kind. got projectile motion or not? if got, then need to watch more closely. it is common of them to regurgitate milk now cos their food pipe very short. a bit never mind

re poo
yeah mine already finish 2 packs of pampers...siong man

re nipple pain
PB, our breasts will feel a tingling sensation when it's time to feed or near feed or even when bb cries. u will feel something one

cheryl
did u empty your breast well? if not, your body will decrease the milk ss

thanx mummies for warm wishes & advice!

garfield, PB: would the pile go away by itself? went to see gynae today he gave me painkiller, anti-biotic & cream. need to get a swimming float haha :p

i'm very depressed now, bb got jaundice since 3rd day... despite of effort to bf my bb and sun-tan, bb is hospitalised today to receive photo-therapy... heart pain
when we received call from her PD tat she needs to be hospitalised, both hubby and i cried... bf her b4 admitting into hospital, when we reached there the nurse asked me to bf again... then i pumped another 60 ml immediately for tonite feed... think mind power helps bf, i think about her and my milk flows like tap... miss her very much now

nipple pain: my both nipples sore and crack and bleed... everytime bb latch on i gotta grab my pillow and bite my lips...

bb poo: when i bf bb, many times she would poo at the same time... input and output together... the consumption of nappy is super fast!

Cellow,

Just sent your the BF articles..take a look...

Yeah..all mummies that breastfeeding, remember to empty your breast after bf...normally i will still continue to pump out the remaining milk after bf my bb...this will help to increase the supply

waiwai & other grauduated mummies,
congrats and hang on for BF~! supply will flow in if continue to pump or latch on at regular intervals

waiwai,
dun b sad. tat time my girl had her photo-therapy numerous times. jaudince wld go away one

oh my...
i am still waiting...
so anxious.
that i even dreamt of my waterbag burst loh...
everytime wake up in the middle of the night for toilet will also check if the bed is wet.

anyway mummies from KKH.
what is given?
my hosiptal bag is getting really very packed le.
some advice please.

Thanks, xiaoyang!

re: jaundice
My medical doc fren specialising in dermatology (spelling looks wrong... but nvm, tis the medical specialist in skin) says research shows Asian bbs are more prone to jaundice. There is some pigment in the skin. So not due to lack of b-milk or any element in the b-milk / FM.

So Waiwai,
Hang in there!

Qing,
i recalled the following items which kkh would give, some of the things i cant remember liao. hee..

kkh wld give 2 packs of Kotex maternity pads, toiletories (except for C class ward), 1 pack of NB Pamper diapers, 1 pack of J&J wet wipes, 1 pack of 5 disposable panties & a hosp goodie bags (incl. NB/S size diaper samples from various brands - Drypers, Huggies, Mummy poko, magazines, brochures, etc).

no need to bring too many things. for my case, i bring my own toiletories, clothes for myself & bb on the day of discharge, nursing bra, my disposable panties. tats all.

SY
So cute ur son loves watching mei mei Poo???...hahaha

Pinkbunny
Congrats on BM kicking in. Actually when bb latch hor seems to empty the boobs better the pump. That's wat I heard lah.
Anyway the best part of bf is u get hungry alot so u can eat n eat n eat n nor put on weight......hahaha
I was so worried when I was stopping BF last time cosmy appetiate was very good n I was worried I would put on alot of weight once I stop but I was already preg lah so....hehhe

Waiwai
Nipple crack or bleed use the nipple shield n always put on some BM after it will recover very fast. DUn jus 'ren' the pain cos it will only get worse if u dun let ur nipple rest n recover.

Weight check
He is now 2.8kg approx. BB still swimming around in his still-full tank. Will not be this week - phew! bcz gynae is away fm tmr till 12 Jul.
I have only gained 9kg so far... tis irritating hearing all the well-meaning aunties around say ha? so little wgt gain ah, better eat more durian for a healthy bb orrh. Yes yes I know I was the 1st to say ignore them, but somehow today they are getting to me... sighz.

Star_xin,
So according to your dream, delivery is tmr la!

wai wai
my bb does that too. when i latch her, she will poo. i keep wondering why so funny one...and she uses up the pampers so fast

if your nipples are painful and bleeding, u may wan to check your latch. and apply some breastmilk on it after u latch.

dun be too upset. my #1 also had high level of jaundice but luckily just missed being admitted. it is really quite common. hope your bb goes home soon.

qing
Jmon gave u a pretty comprehensive list of what KK wd give. actually my hospital bag very empty one and i din even use the things i bring to hospital. the only thing i took out was mittens and booties. other than that i din really empty my bag..haha. oh yah i did use a pair of bedroom slippers that i pack. the rest i never touch at all. then just bring a set of clothes for bb to go home and swaddling blanket.

dor dor
yes everytime mei mei poos he will quickly go and call CL to tell her then he will sure follow them to watch. even during meal times..hha

cellow
the weight gain is good. ignor those aunties!!

morning gals,

I am still "nuaing" at home awaiting for "pain" to come.
Every morning, I was like hoping "Will it be today?"

Wasted all my ML at home ... but the only console is that I spend lots of time with my #1.

So happy and excited to see all the breastfeeding "news reports". I would hope to join in soon.

Wai wai
So cute the way you say it. Input and output at the same time
poppy has to stop her feed when there is bum action. My husband said “what to do, she’s a princess mah, everything must be clean”. *shake head lovingly at this little girl*

like dor dor says, the nurses at Mt A also told me to squeeze out some BM to rub around nipple area after pumping to prevent them from getting cracked

Update
Mummies! This morning we had a successful latch on feeding session!!!! But only half an hour so not sure if she got her fill. I’m guessing not even though she fell asleep and had a satisfied look on her face. But we’ll see how long the feed can last la.

But I was sooooooooo tired cos last night I was up at 3.30am to pump, then as I finished at 4.30am, she woke up. Just as I put the bottle in the fridge. So fed her until 5.15am, by the time I went back to sleep at about 5.45am I was damn tired liao. I got up at 7 plus cos hubby was getting ready for work then I said ok ok I will pump while poppy still sleeping. but CL said since got milk now, might as well try to latch on direct. But I scared wait poppy hungry and grouchy then end up we both frustrated again. So we decided ok we will wake her at 830 and try. Sekali 830 she wake up by herself and cry. So I tried. Success is so sweet

Thanks for the tip xiaoyang. I will remember to continue to pump!!! see you all later! Moo time!

PB

ya ur CL is right ... keep the pump if u think ur supply is in. It's such a breeze to just latch ... FUSS FREE !! I am sure ur bb is contented after the latch else she wont fall sleep.

usually when my rianne poos during feed, I let her. Cos sometimes they will stop and poo again. and u need to ensure she pass motion, that means she has finished all her business. I prefer that she finish her whole feed then change her diapers lah else it becomes a habit to her that she must be kept clean all the time.

hi July Mummies

sorry to interrupt.

Can anyone of you share with me their malay massage lady. their service and contact number. I am asking on behalf of my friend which going to due this month.

It's so nice to hear all the successful bfg stories. Keep it up, mummies! You're doing great!

Re: jaundice
Waiwai, don't be sad. My #1 was in hospital for one week due to jaundice. I stayed on as well, with him. Another mummy, my next door neighbour in the maternity ward, did the same thing. Like SY says, jaundice is quite common here.

Re: Bfg hunger
Yes, it's normal to feel hungrier when you breastfeed. Your body uses up energy (about 500 calories per day?) to make bm, that's why mummies who bf tend to lose weight quite fast

SY

i did not pump cos I know my supply is more than demand. I scared wait I pump, my supply will shoot up then end up bad engorgement. I will pump from 2nd mth onwards and intro bottle to bb then ...

bfg hunger

yes I was always hungry when I bf #1 hence i did not manage to lose all wt from pregnancy.

this time round my hunger is quite controlled. oh and guess what, I lost abt 3kg within a few days. I think I am losing water ....cos I still look the same ! ahha

wai wai,

the piles pain will slowly go away by itself soon, maybe after the 1 mth. it will get better so do take the antibio n cream. i also sit on float! it helps! hehe

thanx mummies for consoling me

my gal is a milk tank, in hospital now and she can drink 5 times of 50 ml formula since she admitted yesterday evening... so sad that i declare my baby is not on total breastfeeding liao... no choice since hospital say i can't stay there with her to direct feed. before i left her last nite i could only manage to express 60 ml that can tahan for one meal only... actually i expressed more than that, but didn't hold the pump properly and pour some on the floor, what a waste!! each single drop counts!! :p

miss my baby so much! going to see her in afternoon, need to try my best to express more milk for her... feel like i'm a cow when expressing milk hahaha... my hubby is amazed that milk can "shoot" out like water gun when i pump!

garfield... i'm sitting on a float now hehe
oh it takes a month for the pile pain to go away? hmm... any idea how to get rid of the pile? every time go toilet do big biz feel like fighting a battle, very scary! piles piles go away!!

graduated mummies... do your tummy get smaller? mine still look like a few months pregnant... then my MIL keeps asking me how come my tummy still so big... feel so....... (speechless)