(2008/07) July 2008

celeste
not yet but i think not much chance for her to turn. i can still feel her head on the left side.

i also, keep asking hb whether i shd rest earlier. he just said u tahan one more week. then if i ever make a comment that got backache etc, he will react very angrily one. dunno what's his problem.

lbt,
ya i fully agree! Imagine if u ask the guy to work f/t, handle household stuffs, get pregnant handle kids etc i think they will "crash"! But most of them expect us woman to be able to hold the fort!!

RHS
initally at home i dun wear bra so easier to feed bb...leak then jsut change t-shirt..

i dun think my MIL even made an effort to remember. she has asked like 3 times and the most recent one she even said how come it's not august...so i also dun wan to say anything abt it to her. my hb also knows that his mum doesn't really care much but i guess he also dun care whether she cares or not.

SY,
Oic...mine is even though head at the bottom liowz but last friday gynae said head havent engaged yet...dont wish to think too much also
Precisely thats wat i felt lor...i told hb mabbe shld rest a few days for our body to be tuned to the labour. I cannot imagine working whole day in the daytime then at nite suddenly rush to labour ward to deliver, imagine so tired liowz still have to go thru labour w/o having proper rest
These few days he also never massage for me or anything even though i complain i am tired n aching.

SY, celeste

dont think too much .. just prep ourselves for bb delivery ok ?

btw rem to check if your bb heartbeat has matured i.e. the heartbeat shld have slowed down and pumping at the same rate as us.

lbt,
sometimes i juz tell myself mabbe becos now we oledi 1 toddler running arnd at home so he is prob tired also and since he is helping out with most of my hsework thats y he doesnt have the energy to "entertain" me liowz. *sigh*

As for checking of bb heartbeat that one only can be done at gynae's side?

i always hear the bb heartbeat from gynae scan machine.

Do ?

cos gynae will ensure it has matured by this time.

I have a fren whose bb heartbeat remains fast even after delivery. But months later, the heart seems to be functioning well w/o any major problems.

u see from my gal's pic.. u can see the freq of the heart pumping .. so it was very fast initially then now it is not as freq and has stabilised.

1509035.jpg

Cellow,

I've purchased the bumper playmat from that baby shop in chinatown, only a difference of $9 dollars for size 1850X1250 mm (bp at $110, store at $119). I bought the parklon brand, cuz the lg prime brand is a little rougher compared to the parklon one.

Rayna,
I did post the spreadsheet. here's the spreadsheet again.<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
BB schedule
Feed and sleep schedule.xls (27.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

lbt
i'm also due 9th july (like pb) and also delivering at mah. but actually hoping baby comes earlier. don't want to wait till edd then gynae sure suggest induce one

lying down
i thought lying down supposed to help with my aches and pains, but these days i actually have problems getting up and getting out of bed coz after some time lying, the pelvic area starts to hurt. sigh.

SNL
Thanks very much! Coincidently I already decided on Dr Koh yesterday when I found out that he also does rounds at Mt A

Just now CL came over to pass me the herbs (so sweet la she) and I asked her about the pail. She said ‘aiyah I got a lot! You don’t buy, I give you’ awwww. I heart her!

Cellow
Haha how come your hubby wake up at 3am to play with baby??

Garfield
They sent me a letter 1 week from my birthday. I think we will have 1 month to get it done. Don’t worry, you register for it either online or by post. I play cheat, use old photo cos I don’t want to see the big nose on my IC for the next 10 years hahahaha. Yesterday hubby and I compared photos. Everything the same. Face shape, eyes, smile…. Except the big gas mask on my face hehe

Do1nk
I THINK it was fake contractions ba. Actually ok, just to share. At last gynae check, he said fake contractions/pre labour contractions could feel like the real thing, and come regularly for a few hours and then go away completely. So just take note ok?

Delphine
Where are you? Popped already is it? But your EDD is end jul right? Or you just busy at work?

Re CL advice
Ok just to share, today my CL said:
- Try to avoid carrots now
- Eat more fruit and veg (except carrots I guess)
- Drink barley water
- Avoid alcohol and sesame oil
- Drink plenty of water
She also said my stomach very low liao. Any time liao. So should hubby and I stand by the front door holding the hospital bag and looking at our watch every 2 minutes asking Poppy “how? Now? Are you ready?”. I can imagine her saying “wait ah… I swim around a bit more first… very shiok…” hehe

SY
Sayang sayang. Don’t get angry ok? Not good for your baby. Tell your hubby you need his support la. #2 or #3 or #10 still is his child, so he still got to support you mah!

xiaoyang
Wah you work at jurong island! Better take ML sia!

re ML
I think it’s up to individual… cos my gynae is the one who told me NOT to take so early cos he said I will just be spending my time doing nothing and disturbing my hubby asking him ‘what you want to do today? What you want for lunch?’ etc. but I didn’t listen to him cos I know I want to have “me time”. Ended up, I took, and he said ‘good idea, cos your water retention went down cos you are so much more relaxed now and your kidneys got time to work’. Ha!

labbit
Kempate! I also opting for drug free! Ok maybe ‘trying’ would be a better word

re baby position
Just to share – yoga teacher says if baby head is already down, squatting often will help to encourage baby to get engaged. No need to squat all the way down cos that’s very tiring right? Can just have upper body straight and legs quite wide open and bent knees. Like riding on horse but wider.

bluey
Talking about photos, something happened to my dad that was quite funny. Many years ago when he was in his 30s he applied for a visa to some country then he hiao, sent a photo of himself in his 20s. the embassy of that country wrote back to him and said “mr tan, can you please send a RECENT photo?” ahahahaha.

Also tell you girls another thing that was very funny. My mother told me last night that they forgot to wash my brother’s baby clothes when he was to be discharged from hospital. So my father washed the night before, and it could not dry in time. Doctor asked my mother ‘mrs tan, is your husband coming to fetch you?’. My ah bu said “yes doctor, but the baby’s clothes are not dry yet so my husband is in the toilet using the handdryer to dry them”. So funny la!

Thanks, SDchick!

Actually I was online so late last night due to work telecons. So I do wat I do when it comes to not concentrating - go online to window shop, and put in my purchase for the bumper playmat BP... PB is right, shd wait for frens to give la, budden so cute and I was sooooooo bored w the work telecons.

Re: Head Position
How to feel where the head position is? 3 weeks back de doc press press n he noes it is at left bottom.. but i dun noe hw 2 tell

Re:Baby's weird position
Dun noe if u gals experienced it.. but then hor.. smtimes i turn 1 side..den the baby like bulge out tat side.. den turn the other side.. it bulge the other side.. makes me tink izzit baby detached fr smwhere so falling freeli.. how huh?

Hubby's weird behaviour:
HB is behving weirdli again.. past few days been tapping n telling baby tat we r seeing him tmr.. den last nite go new place 4 makan.. he asks if baby happi tat we went new place? weird hor?

My weird Behaviour:
tmr i m going 4 moi 35 weeks check-up..i was asking hubbi wat if doc says next day go admit 4 delivery?? hee... m i tinking 2 much???

Eh, I am guai with some foods but I still indulge in junk food, chocolate and chips lah. No need to see me so 'up' *grin*

Bunnies and the mummies joining them at Mortons
Have a wonderful time!

Bluey,
If I interpret "eat my own meat" correctly, we are the same age, hehe. Or you are one generation younger than I am.

Dear All mummies,

My birth story:
Saturday nite, was secretly hoping bb will be born on my birthday but think it's harder than strike toto. anyway, decided to try to induce myself at night.

According to Yoga teacher, saying "ohmmm" will cause contraction and early birth. so tried it a few times at night anyway. Felt sthg funny but passed it off as braxton hicks.

Sunday morning: happy birthday to myself.Decided not to go out celebrate bd.
10am feel cramps with 5mins interval but no show, no water bag. Don't think i'm giving birth....

10.45am: siao leow, "braxton hicks" feels just too regular and painful. Start calling HB (not with me) but no car with him.
quickly showered (had mild diahhorea) and remove contact lense, cut finger nails.

12pm: HB came with car, drove at 100km/h,
12.30pm: parked and wheel me to delivery ward.
already 7cm dilated, staff refused to give epi although I practically begged for it. no drip given, insisted I start pushing.

between 12.30 to 12.57pm: went into a new level of existence of half-dead, half-alive, just want to give up cos the pain is unbearable.

Gave birth after 5 pushes (?)Lost count. HB saw and thought it's a boy. doc confirmed it's girl.

Discharged the next day.

re hubbies
Haha ya they can really drive us up the wall. That’s why I invented operation fat cow! He was actually very nice to me all weekend which made me feel guilty for doing it to him but he kept asking me ‘I thought you got surprise for me?’. Poor boy. Didn’t know what he was asking for. So I put one bag of rice into a haversack, and made him wear it in the front, then squeezed cushion in between. Then I purposely ask him to do a lot of my normal every day things. Stand up, sit down, climb up, climb down, pick up things from the floor, squat, sit on toilet bowl… haha. In the end he tahan ½ hour only, said very xin ku liao. But it gave him a good idea lor.

About them not feeling the pain, I used to tell him ‘try to imagine squeezing a pea out of your kuku. You see pain or not?’. Then he can understand. Please lor, we are like squeezing a watermelon out of us.

labbit
I agree with you. If men were to be the ones carrying the baby, I tell you, we would pack the hospital bag for them, and maybe even find the strength to carry them if they pengsan from the pain! Haha. I also say that’s why there is no term “SAHF”
RHS
Hehe your hubby sounds like the kanchiong type! I told mine if he don’t know what to do, just sit next to me and stroke my hair can liao. But knowing me, I sure say ‘don’t mess up my hair leh’ hahahahah. I think I will use many ah soh ORH PINs during delivery and confinement.

dustee
Me too, hope no need to induce!

SY
will go see again..

guys r guys lor..
my hubby also cant remember my EDD..
every time ask me when people ask him..
when I m pregnant he will ask me now and then..
today which week ah.. my youngest bro can remember better than him..
just listen and try to forget k..
*hugz*

Celeste,

Actually the nurse said will do CTG for me started from 36 weeks onward. Can monitor bb heartbeat and see if i have any contraction or bb distress..I did the CTG when i was 31 weeks cos i involved in the bus accident on my way to office...so..gynae said play safe..to check on bb lol..the CTG oledy in the package mah..

PB,
yeah..working in jurong island..but staying in punggol. Dun have intention to start my ML earlier lol..cos hb also working in west side..if ask him to rush from west to punggol even far lol...

lbt &amp; PB,
Wah..our EDD so close lah..see if we can meet at MAH..u guys opt for how many bedded? Me opt for 2 bedded..

pinkbunny,
agreed with you on HB driving us mad. My hb took his sweet time even my mum told him I'm having contractions. He still asked about time intervals but for my mum, it's just INTUITION.
imagine he took his time, I would have given birth at home!!
now think about, I feel so lucky. I was in such pain that I broke out in cold sweat and trembling.

PB: Your confinement nanny ask u to drink barley? Coz i once watch a taiwan medical variety show before the chinese doc say during pregnant better avoid drinking barley coz it will cause ur 'zi gong' (womb) to 'shrink'... but now u r almost giving birth liao, so the confinement nanny maybe ask u to drink barley to speed up the process?

star
i think maybe your hubby is showing his excitement in different ways. some hubbies feel like we are giving too much attention to the baby and they feel neglected and turn into big babies themselves hehe.

re head position
ah nia, that's why the doctor is the doctor and we are just the ones housing the babies! hehe. poppy always got her but shoving into my stomach, quite standard.

welcome back jeanyard!!!
congrats!!!!!!!! wow, so documentary style! hehe. wow... 5 mins interval is very tight!!!

Jeanyard,

Congrats! That was fast! I'm really impressed that you felt no pain even though you were 7cm dilated already! How did you manage to get discharged so fast?

pb,

aiya i dun really have RECENT decent photo really... the last one is taken in 2005... hahahha cos after marriage i gain weight cos 1st preg gain 20kg! then haven't lose all again preg again...

i thot i got chance to lose my weight after this preg but 1 mth? alemak...

my recent ic is quite some time ago when schooling... dun look like me hahaha... i nearly cannot get thr custom in malaysia the other time.

btw, any mummies kids here drinking NAN step 3 from 10 mth onwards? I got 4 samples expiring in Sep i think (2 in one box)... if u interested, just pay me postage fee n i send to u.

xiaoyang
me and labbit opted for 4 bedder. if you join us, we just need one more kaki for mahjong haha

nini
dunno what her logic is for asking me to drink barley! it was one of the things she said when already walking from my front door haha

lbt,
wah...ur scan come with the heartbeat thingy ah. My gynae's scanner one i never heart any heartbeat lehz..mabbe his is those lousier version or he never on the heartbeat thingy? *lol*. So next visit i will ask him on this heartbeat thingy i guess

Jeanyard,
So bb shares same bday as u? Woah, from your timeline seems like ur whole labour is bout 3 hrs only! How long did ur #1 labour last? My hb is hoping mine is at max 3 hrs also *pengz* cos my #1 induced one lasted bout 6 hrs in total.

xiaoyang,
so ur CTG is in the package. Mine i think no include CTG prob thats y gynae never ask me to do?

PB,
Usually 7cm dilated means prob going to give birth within 1-2 hrs liowz so they wont recommend let u take epi one. For my #1 i was 7-8cm dilated and telling nurse i wanna epidural cos really painful. she told me no need liowz cos by the time the anaesthetist come i would have given birth *lol*
tats y its gd to decide if u wanna opt epidural earlier

garfield
shhhh... the recentest one i found was a 2006 one haha. or you go to a digital photo studio and then ask them to click and drag and make your face long long and skinny skinny before printing? keke.

lbt, my #1 is boy. now gal. don't think I want to try #3 cos very painful. 1st one no feel cos checked in early for epidural.

To those mums with low threshold of pain (like you can't tahan those menstral cramp every mth), better go early and get epi.

epidural
yeah i'm told that once you are dilated to a certain stage (maybe 7cm) they won't give epidural anymore. not sure why lah, but it's standard practice.

so if you're opting for natural, you just need to tahan till 7cm , coz after that, no matter how you beg they won't give you epi anymore :D hehe so i hope i can scream till 7cm lah. then no option to choose epi liao, then natural all the way lor.

dustee,
tat time my hb was monitoring the contraction monitor. He say when reach 90+ i was in such pain that my face simply scringed! Haha. Then when it drops to 20+ i looked okies. So i guess if you can tahanz like until 80 or wat then shld be able to tahanz thru whole labour *lol*

I was telling hb i wish to have epi this time round is also becos i wanna see wat everyone is doing how gynae deliver etc. Cos for #1 i was so "high" on the gas till i was half mabok donno wat is happening

my MIL also make barley for me every week now.
and I have been taking it once in a while during preg so no problem lah !

Jeanyard ... eh .. say OHMMMM really induce birth ? I thought only doing BD will ? eheheh

celeste

i rem I tahan until 100+ or 200 I cant rem .. but I tell my hubby dont talk to me cos I dun want to talk to him or ans him ! i just concentrate on taking deeep deeep breathe when contraction hits peak ! ahha

dustee,
Haha....i was holding my hb's arms on one side and squeezing his arms. Lucky never blue-black *lol*

lbt,
100+ or 200! Got so high one ah? I also donno. Cos i think there are 2 readings, one is higher side reading one is lower side reading. I think hb say when i was pushing bb out that time the highest reading was 90+ or so. *lol*

I only noe the luffing gas is gd, the nurse still commended me on breathing correctly! haha

Jaslyn,
7cm they won't give epi leow. cos too late. I think 5cm or less then they will give.

nini, PB,
I drank barley but don't find it "cooling". mainly to quench thirst.

youpi,
I feel pain but thought I was over-reacting on braxton hicks. somemore the pain is sharp, not like my first one, like mentrual cramp. Discharge is after 24hr, so it's just 1 day event for me at hospital. think this time the medical bill should be quite cheap since no epidural :p

Celeste,
for my #1, don't know what is labour cos was busy sleeping after epidural...

SY, you can try saying ohmm, if you really want to give birth but it must be low tone and induce some internal "vibration" in your womb. don't think it'll work immediately but sort of helps.

yep, me still excited after delivery cos bb same BD as me and didn't sleep for the next 12hr after that.

jeanyard

u sud sud lah !! IDOL IDOL ! hehe

eh btw, did u tear naturally or u had episotomy ? i just want to know is it painful during stitching since u dont have epi ?

Jeanyard,
Wow really inspired by your birth story... I will oso say ohmmm when the time comes

Both your #1 and #2 settling into each other? how r u feeling?

PB, hahaha, your parents are comedians man.

BB movement
This morning sit down at desk for whole morning doing boring boring work paper. Cedric kicked me at 11am - to remind me to get up and move gua - and din stop till I put both hands on him, stroke him and talk to him. Super dey pau attention seeking boy!

lbt,
my HB told me they will cut during my contraction. they won't allow you to tear (unless you give birth in taxi or shopping centre bah)
The stitching is also damn painful lor, it's a long sharp pain. the pain killer they injected didn't help. doc also keep pressing on my urinary glands, and that hurts.
I can't tahan pain.