(2008/07) July 2008

JSP,
I nua for almost 3 yrs liowz.....think its time to get back on my feet and finish up my studies. 4 more modules to go...haha. Thats y am thinking of going 9wks ML only, then after that attend full day lessons on Monday from 9.30-6pm then its machiam like working so at least the lesson hrs dont eat into my time with my family

i cleaned off my pedi already. sigh. miss my beautiful toe nails. hahahaha.

not sure what i'm gonna do now that i'm starting ML tmr. probably just catch up on sleep (cannot sleep at night, but afternoon can nap like pig) and pack baby stuffs.

at week 37, can go facial or not? massage? what kind of decadence can i indulge in?

SY, yeah i started ML early partly to force pple around me to start to share out my scope of work. this other pregnant colleague, she was working OT till the day she delivered, some more during maternity leave they called her up to follow up on some work!!!! some work colleagues very uncooperative lor.

celeste
oic... if u alrdy drag for so long then i tink its time to complete it once n for all lor...

re nail polish
reminder from dustee tat its also time for me to remove my nail polish n let my nails take a breather... heehee...

re uncooperative colleagues
i tink some pple are just like tat lor... tatz y i'm also trying to get a part-time staff to come in ASAP so that she will be familiar before i go on ML... hopefully no one will call me during my ML... coz i dun tink i'll have the time n energy to entertain them lor...

Hi mummies, sorry to intrude. I'm form April Thread

Desitin Creamy

I am ordering from drugstore tomoro. Any mummies need more of this? If interested, pls transfer to POSB savings: 032- 29853-2 and indicate your nick. (Shipping cost to be advised)
Collection: City hall / Tanah Merah Mrt

Nick:
Qty:
Price: (USD 4.69 * Qty) *1.45
Collection place:

bluey
i went to expo this morn n walked communic asia n broadcastasia.
really tiring. u shd go check out the LG booth. really nice

re ML
i used to think i wil take only 8 weeks but afer that really can't bear to go back....

re: colleagues and ML
my colleagues are good enuf that they are already taking the workload off me, and work-shadowing wat i do... instead i feel bad for adding to their workload

yea knock off liao... speak to all u mummies tmr morning

Hi mummies, sorry to intrude. I am from April thread.

I letting go the following:
1) avent manual pump (lightly used) at $50
2) 2 box of NUK breast pads BN - 24pcs per box at $10
3) 1 pack of Huggies dry (used a few pcs)- 84pcs size M at $12
3) 2 packs of pamper comfort BN but open already-58pcs size M at $10 per pack

My girl is wearing Mamypoko size M, the diapes cutting are small compared to Mamypoko size M.

Please PM me if you are interested.

SDchick
I bought liao from the Wheelock outlet. $71. Don’t tell me it’s too ex… I think it’s already discounted. Ya, comfy
and then went for pedi after so my feet are very happy today! Maybe next time can pool together to buy from footshopping! Oh my gosh, I think I have just found a new love!!!! Better go check out Royal Sporting House out while there is the sale. Thanks for the kang tao!

Fiona
Me too! I thought 36 fit me well but the lady said my toes were almost touching the edge so I took 37. More comfy but they looked so much longer. Not cute anymore. But ok la, want to hiao but comfort is more important hor?

Celeste
My fake birkies (courtesy of suan lam market in Bangkok) lasted 2 years keke. Let’s see how long the real ones will last! I think the grip is good la. With my normal market slippers, I always scared I will slip and fall.

Dustee
Thanks for the tip! Yup I found liao
so so so? Joining the ML gang tomorrow?

JSP
Give you one more pat on the back for the bag! My hospital bag now even got a papa component! Today hubby said to me ‘oh I must remember to bring all my star trek episodes so can watch when we’re in labour’. I told him I will throw his ipod into the bedpan if I see it in the delivery suite

ML
My reason for going on ML early? So that I can have time to myself!!! I love it. Yesterday hubby and I went for excursion. Today went shopping, pedi, cooked nice dinner. Tomorrow have lunch with my dad, then facial (facial not with dad la). Thurs and Fri hubby take half day to spend with me. Figured after poppy comes then we won’t have the luxury of time to our own that much anymore, so I want to enjoy now first to eliminate the possibility of resentment against poppy!

And also, to sleep all I want! Really, my body is thanking me for all the rest I’m getting these days
If I work work work until my water bag burst, I sure will feel very upset and frustrated one cos haven’t hand over work, no time to relax etc.

baby updates: 2.3kg at 36weeks... small hoh? start to get panic liao, got to really eat A LOT of durians!!

re uncooperative colleagues
very unfortunately that majority of my colleagues are belong to this group too. they still haven't got coverer for me. i jokingly told them that what if i give birth early, nobody can covers my duties. then they said they will call me, warned me to keep my mobile ON all the times.. sigh..

piyoz jiayou! you should have pop already by now?

sonic
don't care! just go and don't turn your phone on!!! i knew a girl who was still on her blackberry in the delivery suite. walau eh.

did not log in few days. so many postings to catch up...

wah piyoz shd b pop liao hor.. congrats on arrival of bbM.... i wanna see her photo~!

hi hi do1nk! like PB says, i think we r really enjoying our pre ML ;)..it's soo HOT so i catch up on sleep with short naps in the afternoon..that way, come nite, not soo exhausted..also, my mom visiting so today we had tai tai breakfast at DOME dempsey Hill,, then came back and nap .then went Vivo and shopped at Daiso :D

oh for mummies looking for the fan cover, daiso sells..only 2 bucks too!

hi sonic -so nice get to eat durians! but make sure drink lots of water cos of heat outside and inside ;)

aiyo so much to talk ah u gals !!

me see gynae today

on the monitor, bb's weight is 3.2kg at 36+ weeks. aahhaha gynae is very conservative and did a physical chk on my tummy. Wow the way he shake my tummy like nobody's biz and then say .. "ok bb shld be 3kg"

then did a Strep B test and he checked my cervix. Well i am 1.5 cm dilated lor ! ho ho ho ho ho ...

but he says cervix is still thick so can tahan at least 1+ week more. So we shall wait and see

And he encouraged me to walk more lor .. so that labour would be easy. I am still hoping for a drug free labour !!

oh oh and gynae say my gal's head is at the pelvis and she is very low already !!

no wonder lah, can feel my breast detached from the tummy and tummy and thighs has reunited again !

then after visit, went to ellenborough market cafe for a buffet lunch with hubb and my gal... ehe damn shiok !

PB,
yup comfort is still more important

i've just been to see Dr Douglas Ong, my the other private clinic gynae(1st child delivered by him) and guess what? my baby is also ard 3.2-3.3kg at 37 wks and head is very low, so i was told better to induce by next week bcos my gal shoulder got stuck when she was born 3.68kg at 39 wks. so i'm gg to start my ML a week earlier than planned after all.

this thurs seeing my sgh gynae will tell him what his "shifu" has said.

lbt,
*high five* it'll be our turn soon

Fiona

wait .. ur gal means ur first child ? so ur gynae is afraid the same thing will happen to #2 ah ??

oh yeah *hi-5* to u too !

lbt,
yup my gal is first child. ya lor he recorded that i'm capped at delivering baby ard that weight or else same thing may happen and i may even end up with c-sect.

cin bunny,

i was actually hoping to have as natural a birth as possible but still have to go through induction again...but no choice bcos bb is big and my amniotic fluid still alot, so most likely baby very comfy inside and won't want to come out one lor...

Pinkbunny
That day I was joking to hubby cos I will bring the PSP in my hospital bag ma.
So jus asked him since labour not so fast 1 mah will he be playing the PSP when I am in the labour ward waiting for delivery. N he can jus ans me YES!!
Angry lor I already told him I want him to be massaging my back during labour this time liao he can still tell me he will be playing PSP.

lbt
Ur gynea still can tell u can tahan how long more. I like in suspence......sigh
N I hate the feeling waiting n waiting n waiting......haha
But my gynea said mine still quite high dunno how long I gotta wait....sigh

Fiona
1 of my friend also her son shoulder was stuck alittle during natural birth so during her #2 time gotta watch her weight abit cos gynea say if bigger then her #1 confirm gotta c-sec else will kanna stuck.

So exciting so many popping soon....hehe

morning mummies...
seems like all the jul bb are popping in jun lor... went for my gynae checkup on mon... doc say bb head is down but not engaged yet so gotta wait lor...

morning

so many Jul bbs popping soon - looks like all the bbs want to come out to see mummy and daddy! think in the end, only left delphine + star_xin + me during the later part of Jul

Off to meetings - 2nd day out of 3-day w/shop.

my bb head is also down liao but not engaged. I call public cord bank liao n was told on tat day, mummy must take blood samples from arm... gurp...

but thinkin of it, wat is this pain compared to labour pain... haha but hor, scare i keep moving while they draw out blood...

wow sems like so many bb going to pop soon!

today will be seeing gynae. hope that my bb's head has turned though i dun think so.... can still feel her head on the left side.

i have been having a lot of unpleasant dreams lately. really affecting my sleep. think too stressed at work. really in a dilema whether to start ML early.....

good morning, mummies.. feeling more rested today though I woke up 3 times last nite..

rain..that's exactly why I'm taking my 3 months all at one go..coz I know when I go back to work, I'll be totally swamped even if I'm only working 3 day weeks.. will use my annual leave for the PD visits...

wah Cin_bunny...dats really tai-tai living..sounds so relaxing and therapeutic... makes me yearn to go on leave too now.. haha but looks like I'll be hanging around wiv the late birds like 3D and cellow as I'm only planning to go on my ML from 21st onwards (EDD 25th)

Fan cover @ Daiso: this comes in sizes right? plain or cutezie ones? must remember to look out for it if I happen to be nearby

LBT: wah looks like you are all set to deliver...your little girl seems a good size huh..I do hope mine will be above 3kg but not too big too in case he has problems coming out! haha u know I'm having the nehneh-thigh problem now too and my clothes get all crumpled at the lap area.. can't tell the diff but a colleague commented that my very high tummy has descended! *gulp*

dor dor

yeah gynae did the estimate based on the cervix check and since my gal is already quite low, he say upon 37 weeks could be anytime ? i wanted to have a scanned pic of her but gynae cant even see her face already. She is stucked in my pelvic liao ahahha

do1nk
ya my #2 is much bigger than #1. #1 was only 2.44kg. I also dont know why but I know my body is stronger after the 1st confinement.

morning ladies

dustee, JSP,
Think I shld also clean off my nail polish liowz....so sad...1wk+ ago just do nice nice with small white flowers...hehe :p

PB,
Wah....even the fake birkies lasted so long! Me thinking of "investing" in a comfy pair of weekend or casual slippers kind...will drop by Royal Sporting House this weekend to see if possible...hehe

sonic,
I feel like eating the durian puffs from goodwood park hotel. My hb havent go buy for me yet. Think this weekend must nag at him to buy...hehe :p

delphine, cellow, do1nk,

seems like the others are all popping so fast le... makes me feel nervous liao.. lucki i still hv the few of u 2 hold on together....

celeste, my hb bought durian chocolate for me... i wonder is it nice...

i love the real durian... i try durian mochi from 4 seasons too... not bad... all these to increase my bb weight too hahaha... cos i think mine is the smallest so far here accordingly to weeks...

she now 2.1 at 35 weeks... v small rgt? this time round i walk more n carry more cos got a son liao.

today on bed rest coz tummy still pain after eating medicine fm gynae....dun noe my bb can wait till next week tue which due 36weeks....

tonite got to meet client in the evening dun noe till wat time before i give birth....

garfield,
woah...durian chocolate...sounds yummy!!
Me also thinking mabbe shld buy those D24 durians to eat? But scared too heaty lehz...now must really be careful cos cannot fall sick during the last lap!!!

2.1 at 35wks...as long as gynae say its fine then no problems
Somemore it depends on our body build also. Like my height and pelvic bone I think at max can take up to 3.5kg baby bah.
My #2 this time round is bout 2.6 at 36wks also not really big. Gynae estimate when delivery is bout 3kg range. Smaller than my #1 last time at 3.36kg. I guess becos we tired with #1 so not so much rest tats y #2 smaller?

Serene,
Take gd care. Monday evening while i walking back home after work also tummy pain then i slow down my walking pace then okies liowz. *hugz*

PB
yes, i've decided - OFF my mobile. once i'm on ML, anything office related is non of my biz! hehe...

SY
dun worry. i too often feel that my bb's head on my right side, but thank God yesterday my gynae has confirmed that she has already turned! yeah!! so excited. and guess what my gynae seems even more excited than me as he keeps saying 'yeah..hurray.." when he did the scan for me. haha....
so, i guess maybe tat's her little butt, not head...

also, dun stress yourself out, especially on work. family/baby always come first ok.

garfield,
mine 2.3kg at 36wk, not too far from yours lah. we must eat more durian okie.. for the sake of our bbs (haha...good excuse)

wah lbt, fiona, your bbs too so kan cheong to come out arh.. hehe... so many july bbs are kan cheong bbs ya. but your bbs are indeed big enough.

fiona,
how come you are seeing two gynae?

celeste
if afraid too heaty to take durian, maybe can drink coconut juice after that? durian is heaty but coconut is cooling.. so should be ok to take both bah.

hmn..we can start taking coconut juice now..

Labbit!!!!!!!!!!
OMG so excitement!!!!!!!!!!!! At 36+ weeks he never check my cervix leh. This Friday should I just ask him to check? Better la hor? Or else wait I walk walk walk then Poppy’s arm suddenly drop out how? Haha

Hey me too, nnp and tummy not friend anymore! And I realized that the top 1/3 of my tummy is kang kang now! Like deflated basket ball.

Fiona
Argh you also? Oh my gosh this is so exciting!!!!!!!!!!!!!! More and more little ones are coming into the world!!! Your girl’s shoulder got stuck during delivery? Then how? Still managed to push through or did you have to go for emergency-c?

Coincidently I told poppy last night ‘try to squeeze your shoulders a bit when you come out ok? So it’s easier for mummy ok?’. Hubby just laughed.

Dor dor
Haha hubbies ah. Really very char tao sometimes one! I told him 3 very important things he must remember:
1. Try to make me relaxed and happy. His response: I will do bacon dance for you in the delivery suite (for those of you who don’t know what that is, think about how bacon sizzles and moves when you fry it in the pan)
2. If I go crazy and cannot think and he knows I am in a lot of pain, then please ask me if I want epi, cos I don’t want the nurses asking and asking until it is the absolute last minute
3. When poppy is coming out, he has to be by MY side, not looking at what’s going on down under. Cos (a) I don’t want him to think of me as a character from Aliens or Terminator and (b) Poppy has the support of the gynae and nurses, but I need HIS support

Garfield
Ya they said they will take 3 test tubes worth of blood. 40ml or something. The lady asked if I was ok with it. I said I’m not a big fan of needles but should be ok la. Shouldn’t let that stop me from donating but don’t hope to see me at blood bank anytime soon. And I think the amount is a bit lesser than when gynae took for triple test.

Re dreams
Me too have been having weird (and scary) dreams!
http://www.babycenter.com/0_deciphering-your-pregnancy-dreams_7569.bc?scid=momspreg_20080617:2&pe=2UuNAGM
http://www.babycenter.com/404_how-and-why-does-pregnancy-affect-dreams_7585.bc?scid=momspreg_20080617:2&pe=2UuNAGM

serene
hang in there!!!

Sonic
Ya lor. I told my colleagues call if they want NOW because one poppy comes, I will not entertain any of their calls. Told my boss also haha

celeste blur
thanks i tot of asking my hubby to come home to take care of my needs today like buy lunch n so on ...
but afraid that he bz with work today dun dare to speak up .....

durian cake probably u might wan ask hubby to get u the durian cake(jane cake station) at jalan kayu it v nice especially when u put in the freezer.

sonic
in fact we can actually start to drink coconut juice fm week 33 leh that wat i heard fm my mum but nw already stop liao coz it too liang for me

PB,

Glad you like the birkies. They're really superb (at least for me). In fact, my whole family use birkies, from HB, my mom and oso my girl.

Wah so many babies going to see the world very soon! So excited. I'm excited myself, but a little scared too. I had a c-section for my first, however, I didn't experience any pain before the operation so I really don't know how labor pain feels like *shivers*

Coconut juice good for expecting mommy? why?

re-read my post and realised I said nehneh-thighs..yikes..if my nehnehs can touch my thighs..geez I'd be some cavewoman liao! haha meant to say tummy-thighs melted into one...

3 test tubes of blood for cord blood testing? alamak.. here goes again..*trembling arm*

all this talk about durians...I still can't take the smell lah...why?? used to love durians so much..especially the soft bitter ones.. sigh..

coconut: how much should we be drinking? My MIL said one per day (isn't dat a bit too much?)

serene, how are you feeling? wat kinda tummy pains are you experiencing?

star xin: ya lor..when everyone has gone off to deliver and pump milk..the few of us will be left to entertain each other...

birkies: can't wear them to work.. maybe we should do a spree ourselves huh if many of us are keen to get them....

do1nk
hilarious! cavewoman or those african tribe kind? hahahahah.

don't worry la. when we did our triple test, also like that one. and the blood taken for cord blood testing is less than that! (and this is spoken by a needle fearer ok!)

wah 1 coconut a day! that sounds like alot! i think i drink about 1 a week thereabouts.

re birkies
if anyone organising a spress, count me in!!! but let's go check out royal sporting house first ok? maybe prices are about the same cos got sale.

girls who go off to pop, don't forget to come back and post pictures of your little angels ok?

sonic
i also dun wan to stress but really cannot help it. my boss nagging every day and now that i m going off very soon, really need to clear my things up. he even expects us to work over weekends, read our stuff at night etc...

re coconut
like PB, i'm also taking coconut juice abt once or twice a week... quite cooling for the recent hot weather lor... it shld be good for clearing of all the heaty stuffs tat we have been taking for the past mths lor... heard tat bb tends to be cleaner if got take coconut juice lor... but as alwys, take in moderation lor...

re birkies
me not into birkies... but more into crocs lor... find birkies abit too ex lor... can buy fake ones from Bangkok at less than $10 lor... but if u gals interested, can check out the royal sporting hse at Macperson coz saw a big sale sign last weekend lor...

Sonic,
Got a question to ask you, hope you can help. You had Strep B for your first pregnancy right? What happened during delivery? Were you on drip the whole time? Could you get out of bed or did you have to stay in it all the time? I am asking 'cos I have it! Didn't have for #1, so I have no idea what will happen.

Cin_bunny,
Wah tai tai living sounds sooooooooooo good! I can't even remember the last time I indulged like that.

Fiona, lbt
All the best for delivery! Look forward to reading all your stories and seeing pictures of your little ones soon!

sonic,
haha..smart move...take coconut juice cooling then durian heaty? But will tummyache anot *lol*

I bought a coconut last Sat put in the fridge until now havent open to drink and i am coming to 37wks liowz! *pengz*

Serene,
if ur hb workplace is near ur hse then i tink still can request lah...if we dont get pampered now when baby comes out he will be pampering baby and not us! *lol*

do1nk,
Actually i heard not too much also...i tink one coconut per week is gd

i started on my ML today! yay! then hubby just said 'make sure you wash all the bb things today, and pack all your stuff too' and nag and nag and nag. ehhhhh actually i was more planning on going for a good lunch by myself and then maybe catching a movie hehe. squeeze in a nap before and after. hehe. looks like going to rain anyway *innocent blink* so not good day to wash bb things.

piyoz
wonder how long her induced labour is. should she be discharged today already? so exciting! hope it was all smooth for her.

my colleague had her water bag burst by the doctor (coz her baby seemed in distress) and she said that was superrrrrr painful.

stay at home mums
for those mummies here who are sahm, when did you start? immed once #1 is born, or only a bit later, like when they are maybe 6 months old? my hb wants me to quit after ML. my own mum says should keep working. so conflicted leh.

dustee
my gynae burst my water bag also. not really painful lah. i tot it will be but it wasn't too bad.

i m surprised your mum not supportive of u staying at home. actually best is to start after ML right? then bb no need to adjsut to a different caregiver while u waiting to quit....

Dustee,

Enjoy your ML

I became sahm when bb was 5 mths. Went back to work after 3 mths of ML, while hb took leave to take care of bb. We had been looking for a nanny for the longest time, but could not find a satisfactory one nearby. So I decided to quit and be sahm.

Why does your hb want you to quit and be sahm?

my hb thinks a mother is the best care-giver instead of a nanny or a maid or even the grandparents. then i told him, i'm not sure i can handle the pressures of being a full time mum and he says, if i don't try i would never know.

and also he says my job pays me so little -_-

dor dor,
thanks for sharing your friend's exp. so i think it's a good idea i go induce before bb hit the mark, as shoulder gets stuck may cause dislocation.

sonic,
the private gynae delivered my 1st bb and i seen him till my 5th mth during this pregnancy, but bcos i work in sgh and got staff benefit so i'll be delivering in sgh, that's why i have 2 gynaes :p

PB,
i still managed to push bb out with the help of forcep. but it's dangerous if got stuck and wouldn't budge...
your hubby really humorous...hahaha

garfield,PB,do1nk,
i'll request for the blood specimen to be taken from the intravenous cannula, which they will insert anyway. so i won't be poked again.

youpi,
thanks, will keep you gals updated. now family is choosing a date for the induction.

Sy,
dun be stress, it can be the butt and not the head of your bb lying on the side. and if you really feel like taking ML early to rest just go ahead. dun tired yourself out ok?

serene,
you not feeling well still got to meet client ar? is it better if you get total rest till you pop?

SY
i also have a insensitive boss like yours. but i keep hinting him that family is my first priority lor, of cos i will make sure i have done my duties well within office hour, but dun expect me to go beyond that like staying late or come back during weekends ..so sometimes he also got to 'ren' me. think as long as we just got to make ourselves clear and firm.
i'm not career-minded lah.

dustee,
i was a sahm for my 1st child from start of pregnancy till she's abt 7 mths old. I think it's worth a try and see whether you find it suitable for you or not since your hubby gave the suggestion. for me, i personally felt better when i dun have to face my child 24/7(i get easily agitated at home), so coming back out to work was a choice which i find suited me more.

youpi
yes, i had Strep B during my #1. my gyane put me on drip with antibiotics once i'm in delivery suite. becos i was induced during #1, so the drip started immediately when inducation starts. they replenished the antibiotics once every 4 hours thoughout, until baby is out.
hmn.. i didn't get out of bed during labour that time, but i think we can but must push along the drip stand lor.
no worries, just got to make sure you remind your midwife or gynae to put on the antibiotics drip for you once you are in delivery suite.. the earliest you are on drip, the better it is.

my gyane didn't check for me this round, he suggested to put me on drip still due to my history, just incase.