(2008/07) July 2008

celeste
hehe... my hubby bought me a coconut on sunday and kept in fridge till now too. and i just got a pack of durian from market. ok... let me try out later.. eat durian then coconut juice...
if you don't see me log in again in 24 hours time, that means.....??? :p

fiona
i got no choice coz need the client to confirm everything before i give birth mah or else later the whole project would be delay.

celeste blur
my hubby work place is in bukit merah previously where HDB office than i stay at simei it quite far away dun wan to bother him.

Dear mommies,

Will the gynae automatically order the Strep B test when we are 35-37 weeks? or we have to ask for it?

sonic...think if you keep the coconut in your fridge for so long, may not taste as soft and nice liao leh.. haha i think your durian + coconut concoction should be ok..juz dun take durian + beer they say? hahaha

fiona, what's an intravenous cannula? thought the cord blood banking's blood test is done now before we deliver so they can tell if we are suitable candidates or not?

i m oso getting abit panicky lei.. cos moi gynae neva mentions of taking things like glucose test or Strep B test.. could he hv forgotten? Oops...

fr wat i heard fr de girl fr cordlife...

cordblood banking test is done on the day of arrival at de hospital.. so for those doing cordblood banking.. rem 2 bring the kit along n pass it to the nurses.. of course, rem 2 inform cordlife abt ur admission n oso ur gynae b4 hand abt ur intention 2bank ur cordblood...

Star Xin,

Yep my gynae also never took glucose test for me and so far haven't mention the strep B test. I'm seeing him tomorrow so I'm going to ask.

about cordblood banking with cordlife - yes we will have to bring the kit, pass it to the nurse. the nurse will take blood sample for us and once the baby is delivered, we're supposed to call cordlife.

So busy these few weeks, still have lots of back log to clear... hopefully able to do so before i go on ML.

PB/Cin_bunny,
So envy you all leh, leading freedom life now.. me still struggling.

lbt,
wow.. 1.5cm dilated, very fast liao leh.. most prob a week or so nia, gettting ready bo? must be feeling so excited.

Star_xin,Cellow,Do1nk,
Nvm lah, we still have one another to support till the end of jul 08.
For Mt Alvierniers, do update if you all are going to give birth hor.. we might even meet in the hospital.

Star Xin, do1nk & SDchick
erm... my gynae also nvr mention anything abt the glucose test n the Strep B test leh... i will ask her when i go see her on the 30th lor... she also nvr check whether cervix at 35 weeks leh... tink alot of the tests n checks is dependent on the gynae one lor... tink got alot of stuff to ask her during next visit after information from all of u gals lor...

dustee,
enjoy ur ML
Seems like many starting ML liowz. I still thinking if i shld start at 39wks if I have not popped yet. Cos getting quite tired these few days...*sigh*.

sonic,
haha....so farnie...so tomorrow morning i must check if u active here? *lol*

Serene,
Wah...tats very far..i think not very nice to ask him come back tabao lunch for u bah

StarXin, SDChick,
My gynae took my blood test last week. But so far he never do Strep B test for me. I remember for my #1 also never do Strep B test. Also never check cervix dilated anot...haahaa

Starxin,
After delivery, cos sometime the duration from admin to delivery can be very long rite. But no harm if call early hor.

gals

I did my Strep B test yest. Have not got the results yet. Gynae says shld do from 35/36 weeks onwards.

Yest he checked and say I have wet discharge but not yellowish. I think it's due to bb's wt. Today I see myself in the mirror, wah my tummy v low ....dunno how long I can tahan !

Is there any signs that the baby is coming? Any special feelings? I don't feel any difference now and a week before?

Star Xin, Rain

Yep I called the hotline no and they said after delivery. I also puzzled. I thought should collect asap mah... Anyways, I will call again next week to confirm again. Maybe different operator have diff answer.

Awww those of you who are already on ML - I'm so envious!!!! I only have 8 weeks ML, so I'm trying to maximise my ML. I may have to use Annual Leave to get another 2-3 weeks.

Every night my tummy is very hard, just below the breast. So hard to breathe and sleep! I guess baby's head not engaged yet right?

Stiffening of Tummi:
erm... tink SDchick is experiencing BH bah... moi tummi often gets hardened up oso.. den smtimes sharp sharp tummi become squarish n all stiff.. so weird.. den usu when we breathe, the tummi will like expand.. but at those stiffening moments... it like has no space so becomes difficult 2 breathe.. erm...

Engagement:
dun noe abt de engagement part tho..
heard if engaged will feel like walking w a ball in btw? so u hv tat feeling?

ML:
I WANT TO GO ON ML TOO!!! SOB>>> dun wanna work!!!

ML
star xin, me also feel like gg ML soon lor... budden, my edd is 21 jul so tink still got a long way to go... rather use the ML to spend more time wif bb lor so oni taking on the 39th week... unless bb decides to pop early then much better lor... anyway, gynae jus told me on mon tat bb head is down but not yet engaged...

stiffening of tummi
i tot its BH too as i'm also experiencing it from time to time like wat star sin described... last time tot was eat too full so feel bloated... after much information from the experienced mummies here then realised it was BH lor...

Ooh it's BH!! weird that it happen only at night - like 7 pm+. at first I thought I ate too much Lols.

I don't have that feeling (walking w a ball in btw) cuz my tummy is not really low yet (that's what my mom and friend said).

wow the posts so fast

celeste, yup gynae say is fine but i the one worry cos i dun wan her to come out too small...

my #1 is 3.3 kg so i guess this one will be below def.

PB, 3 test tubes??? omg... the lady told me is little... i never given blood donation b4...
argh... can't they take my bottom blood?? ;p sounds gross but dun waste mah... hahaha

anyway, i hope i have the courage cos it meaningful to donate.

dustee
I quit my job once I was preg with #1. I think our own mums are more concerned about other things ie. if we still giving them allowance if we quit that kind of issues lor.
My mum is still nagging me to go find work. In fact I didn't even tell her when I quit or preg with #2....haha
But sometimes dun really understand their mindset lor cos she was also a sahm only started working in recent yrs. I mean shouldn't she be happy her sil can afford to let her own daughter stay home n dun need to work meh??

SY
Think if u so stress might as well take ML earlier. Then u can accompany ur son too. Now I feel is my son's last few weeks of being an only child liao no more after #2 arrives.
Maybe u on leave not so stress ur bb might jus turn head down??....hehe

Pinkbunny
For brikenstock hor I think u should go down physically to check out the price n the online 1. Cos for the pair that I bought it was not cheaper online plus the 1 in the store got diamonds online 1 dun have. So even though hubby's pair was like $30 cheaper online I decided to jus buy off the shelf instead since I'm going to buy mine.

anyone having menstruation like cramps ?
i have been having it these few days. gynae say bb pressing on it.

v lethargic leh .. but still got so much work to do !

garfield,
Actually i feel like taking ML earlier also...cos cannot imagine with #2 out will be super busy. So shld take few days off to rest n relax!!! *lol*

As for bb size I think as long as healthy can liowz bah, when they pops can fatten them up one...hehe

do1nk,garfield,
intravenous cannula is a tiny tube(the needle will be removed once tube is in) inserted into your vein, where the drip is connected if you need one. usually it's set on the back of your palm. so tell them to collect the blood samples from there 1st.

serene,
then you better set off early for the appt so dun have to rush. try to be as relax as possible.

dor dor,
same here lah...when i told my dad abt not working he also made comments, think they more concern abt the allowance part.

hi hi mummies

do1nk - i think the fan net fits 3-35 cm..there wer like 3 colours, blue, white and purple..with cute animal icon picture in the middle. i got the white with duck pix one

youpi - hehe, yes, it has been ages for me too to take a break from work and do the tai tai thingy! today, took my mom to watch kungfu panda (so nice, senior citizens only pay $4 on weekdays at cathay!!)..and i swear she laughed the loudest in the whole cinema filled with kids..lol..but it was nice to see her enjoy

SDchick - actually, i also only have 8 weeks paid ML but dont care lor..take no pay leave..:p

dustee - welcome to ML leave club :D..agree that raining, so shld not hv to do errands..hehehe

Cin bunny,

Yep I'm also thinking of taking no pay leave, but dunno whether my boss will allow me to take or not. He said taking Annual Leave is fine, but dunno about no pay leave.

Cordlife:
That time the staff told me to call them once admitted to hospital leh... confused... i put the kit in my hospital bag liao. Anyway the staff said they got standby kits in TMC, not sure about other hospitals.

Strep B test:
i asked my gynae about it and he said the test is optional... so i think i'm not going to do since he doesn't sound like very important leh

Dustee
Woo hoo! Welcome to tai tai club! This time is for you to do your stuff la. Enjoy that time cos baby time will never end when baby comes! That’s my logic anyway
Today I met papa for lunch and then went for facial. Shiok.

Wow lucky you that your hubby ask you to be a SAHM. I would love to. But see how it works out la. Cos I don’t want to have to ask for money to go for facial and massage *blink blink*

Fiona
Wow I must remember that tip! Take blood specimen from intravenous cannula. Groovy :D

Sonic
I’m the opposite I guess. I was very career minded until this little one came along. Totally changed me! Eh your coconut could be a bit old liao leh! Tomorrow you better come in and update if you’re not off to pop ah! Us preggies cannot take any major surprises hor hehe

Re info on strep b test etc
Haha I also blur blur, most things I hear from you girls one. Hehe. Thanks for the support, mummies!

JSP
I also never did a glucose test I think. But every visit got pee on the stick (do you girls find it’s harder and harder to aim on the bloody small stick with the stomach blocking the view?!!!) so maybe from there they can tell if I need glucose test? Or from triple test??? Strep B he mentioned a vaginal test but didn’t say specifically “strep B”.

Garfield
Me too. I would feel horrible if the only thing standing between me and this lovely gesture is my stupid fear for needles. So just grit it and go for it la! Kempate!!!!!!!!

Dor dor
WAH birkies got DIAMOND one ah? Wah biang!!!!

Labbit
Re no pay leave: I think it’s dependant on company and bosses ba. Mine is ok. But then again I didn’t take. I took annual leave. After ML. So I have 10 Mondays free after the 3 month stretch…. That means back to work full time (5 day weeks) in end nov…. then 2 weeks later taking 3 weeks off to go visit hubby’s family hehe. But this one I already told my boss and dept LAST YEAR even before I got preggie. Cos every year the rest of them been going for 2 weeks or 3 weeks during xmas time and I tahan. So this year it’s my turn. Just so happen that got ML in between.

PB

good for u ! u shld take a break lah.

waiwai

the strep b test is impt leh. What if the preggie is infected and the bb pass through the infected canal ? Thought if it is serious, it may affect the bb's eyes ??

anyway the test only cost me $32.

PB
same as u lor... tummy so big n blockin view so jus agar agar aim n make sure the tip of the strip is wet lor... oni way to tell whether aim properly anot lor...

re no pay leave
i tink some co will impose some restriction on no pay leave or even affect bonus n appraisal lor... for me, still got some AL so won't be takin NPL... will utilise some to spend time with bb n HB in dec lor... also, need to bring forward leave to next yr as planning for a holiday maybe after CNY lor...

re Strep B test
will need to remind myself n HB to check with gynae on whether need to take the test anot lor... gg to see her in 2 weeks time... so if she dun order the test for me then will ask her lor...

hi Lbt - no pay leave affects appraisal? darn, now i know why i dont get promoted *wink* ..lol, kidding..actually, we apply for leave from the computer and somehow, no one knows if you are on annual leave or no pay leave :p

cin bunny

ya that's what I thought, unless it's for a very good reason. Otherwise our AL shld be able to cover.

your boss and HR will knows the type of leave u take mah .. right ? ;)

hi Lbt

last time i checked with my boss, she says she has no idea i even take no pay..haha..HR knows but HR does not to appraisal with us

fiona.. never knew we could draw blood from dat needle hehe..thought it was only for the drip...thanks for the info..

but again..isn't the blood test done before the actual day itself to test if we are suitable candidates or not?

Cin_Bunny..your mom sounds like a very fun person..watching kungfu panda wiv u...

haha we all have problems peeing on a stick now.. I juz agak agak wave it around so am sure to kena the stick wan haha

stomach cramps:
dun noe y.. hving tummi pains like stomach cramps.. den while lying down.. de tummi like olmost flattened.. so damn scared...

do1nk
haha agak agak wave it around!!!

re NPL
we are only allowed to take if we use up AL. i guess that makes sense

star
you had stressful day at work maybe?

girls, today at facial, the extraction was painful at times and so cute, poppy woke up to kick! like 'EH! don't bully my mummy!' hehe

hi do1nk - well, it was a toss up between taking her to sentosa and watching movie..naturally i push for movie cos it's too hot to tour sentosa :D..

star - take care and if you really worried, then go see doc oki...

it has been a long time since i log in. btw, it's 3wks since i have given birth...now everything is more in place, and ready for my baby first month celebration.

btw, my massage lady is really good. i got her 5 consecutive days from my second week and i am getting her to come this week as well cos i really need a good massage.

if anyone is keen can contact her, but she is very busy.

only $32 per 1hr session, and pay only on the fifth session.

so far very good. she also do slimming one. which i am now asking her to do for me. $35 per session.

anyone interested can contact her, mona 90260085.

the only thing is that you need to follow her timing cos her schedule really packed.
but really worthwhile.

congrats jenny
wow your massage lady sounds like a bargain!

re engagement
hey girls, my tailbone hurts more than usual and i feel some sort of pressure pressing downwards. engaged liao ah? cannot wait till friday to find out!!!

garfield,PB,do1nk,
no prob ;) blood will only be collected on the day we go deliver, so this way we all won't fear being poked more than once. like what the cord blood coordinator said, our comfort and welfare is still more important

star,
are you ok? is the cramps coming in regular interval?

re: peeing on urine stix
i've had hard time aiming properly too haha...my gynae even mentioned dat my feet won't get wet if it rains bcos of the shelter above(my tummy's really big...haha)

Youpi
Sobs.....I have it too failed my swap test....so sad. Didn't do for #1 cos he too early.
My swap test on last wed leh n the nurse even tell me if never call me by Fri means I cleared the test. N today got miss call from the clinic they tell me I have to go back for the antibiotics.....sigh

Pinkbunny
Yah lah the 'diamonds' on the buckle lor.....hehe
Nicer ma more glam......haha

hello mummies!

ML
see i have to start ML early coz i'm so insomniac 0_0 even last time go to school also not so hardworking to wake up so early , and now's the time to take it easy and i'm awake by 5am plus.... i asked my boss about UPL and he made noise. said if one mother starts to ask for it, and they approve, all other mothers might ask for it too and other pple will be unhappy -_- duh

which is why now have to consider quitting after ML to be sahm, then if really cannot tahan being at home 24/7 with baby then find new job lor. sigh.

sian hor, work so long with this company then tell me this kind of thing. so no feeling.

lbt and pb
labbit, my gynae said the menstrual-like cramps are also part of BH contractions. if get too regular means also ready for labour!

pb, tailbone pain could also be a sign of labour!

wah dustee is up at wee hours... but the good thing is dat you can back to bed at 8am and sleep til noon!

juz had my prata & teh halia breakfast...yum....

dordor..those diamond studded birkies...heidi klum series issit? hehe

youpi & dordor: wat test did you fail? the strep B huh? means there's some infection issit? shouldn't be too bad right? juz have to take antibiotics and be strapped down during labour right?? *pat pat*