(2008/07) July 2008

garfield, lbt... i found the dry shampoo in guardian... thanks for telling me! but i hope my hubby can help to convince MIL to let me wash my hair haha.

SY... *pat pat... don't think too much about hb's comment, keep a happy mind so baby will be happy too

piyoz... congrats! do update us when u recover

bluey
Hahahha so funny but true ur "Tok about them ... Might trigger early delivery because they make wife angry"

lbt
Actually I think it is only my hubby cos sometimes he talk really no head n no tail but I've come to 'understand' n will ignore that part. I will jus tease him that our kids will 1 day tell ppl that their Papa talk nonsense if he doesn't change....keke
Sometimes I talk innocant talk to hubby until no head no tail I will tell him to forget it dun ans me anymore cos I dun wanna get more fedup.....hahaha
N he can still look so blur......sigh

pinkbunny
They have a shop at Wheelock Place 2nd level n Cityhall basement. Isetan should have leh but its only 1 range there. Very comfy I wear it for both pregnancies n after.

pinkbunny
ya lor..
better to get more.. hehe
ya.. better use diapers at nite..
if not wake up at nite to change cloth diapers..
later not enough sleep..

Btw mummies,

how does the braxton hicks feel like?
I'm feeling cramps and slight sharp pains at the bottom at times now and can literally feel bb pushing downwards...

Heard from my fren...when ur cervix is dliated, u feel like wanting to poo-poo, is it true?

hi PB..

3.3kg for me have to c-sect as my first babe is ard 3.4 n i dilated poorly even aft inducing for 3 days..so the gynae says mite be my pelvic area small for baby to b out..he prefers my baby to b 3kg for normal birth.

and as donating blood cord..i donate the blood immediately aft childbirth wat i meant was the next day aft giving birth,the staff will come a pay u a visit at the ward 2 c how u r doing..hehe

as for back pain,if the pain persists for hours or days n fm the back the pain moves to ur lower tummy,it seems to be like labour pain..u will not miss the pain..coz some will be able to feel it n the lucky ones doesnt.

as for post natal massages,
those who have not booked,better do it asap..
n if ur massage lady is 1 of the popular ones,they mite be full booked till dec..
n u also can request for the lady tat u wanted to use a massage oil tat is less smellier(but let her noe in advancelah)
they will massage ur breasts to help u clear the blocked ducts n make sure u will have a gd milk flow..tat will be really helpful for breastfeeding mummies..
i've booked for a 10 day session per day $50.
u cud book a 3,5,7,10 days..its up to u..but the massage lady will recommend u hw many days needed.
for malays,we r encouraged to bathe evryday coz we need to maintain the body hygiene.can wash hair somemore..hahaha..but we will be discouraged from drinking too much water as they say if u drink too much water during confinement.we can't lose the flabbiness..

sorry ladies for the long post

anyway
congrats piyoz n dunt forget to update us here...

yawn. good morning from a very sleepy bunny. too hot to sleep even with AC. got up to turn the temp down in the middle of the night, then fell asleep and woke up again cos too hot.... after tossing and turning for 1 hour i realised that my hubby had turned the temp up again. grrr.

reminder to all mummies: remember to get aircon serviced before confinement, just in case!!!

fiona
apply jamu oil to forehead? for what ah? sounds funny!

ju
wow 3 days even after inducing? sayang sayang...

dor dor
thanks!!! i will go check out wheelock tomorrow
didn't see at isetan - maybe should open my eyes bigger! cos got sale mah hehe

jaslyn
ya, me too, thinking the same way. with diapers, at least we can sleep more hehe.

Good morning mummies
(even as I type this salutation, I am thinking tis very similar to the Charlie's Angels greeting Charlie the voice that comes out of a box... anyway)

PB, besides wheelock place, Tanglin shopping centre also got Birkenstock store. 3rd or 4th level. Alternatively the NZ brand Kumrfs at the store Heel & Toe also is good for the poor battered feet... Pedi is still the best way to pamper the feet.

Ju, wah, the public cord bank pple so caring ah...

Jaslyn,
Agree. Diaper during the night, nappy for the day... gotta go hunting for diapers... (as opposed to leisurely shopping)

do1nk,
Good you are feeling better

lbt,
hahaha. my HB also veri veri sensitive one. like u said, good that he is sensitive to my needs and next time, bb's needs as well.. bad that he can sulk for long time if not teased out of bad mood

Wah, bluey, ready to go for #2 after your facial + haircut + pedi leh...
ML started already ah?

Ok time to start work. Whole day meetings today, target to go home at 530pm!

morning mummies...

so sleepy and tired coz couldn't sleep well again..ribs were hurting and had to resort to sleeping in sitting position..

feet feeling tender again this morning and now... my wedding band can't fit into my finger anymore! but strange...it's my knuckle that has expanded and not my finger? hehehe

anyway...back at work and got lots to clear *groan*

how are the tai-tai mummies on ML doing?? should turn airconditioning to the max, draw all curtains and sleep in till noon!! hehehe

morning ladies

Re : Leg Cramp
Early this morning woke up with left ankle there having bad cramps!!! Shout to hb to come he tot i going into labour or what and run into the bedroom...ahahaha

Re : Hubbies
ahaha....so my hb is not the only one that is like block of wood. You know mine hor....we married for 5 yrs i complain for 5 yrs he never once brought me to those romantic dining place for any sort of celebration. I told me I already sianz liowz....say so long he no action also. Are SG guys all like that? Sometimes I feel that we ladies need to handle hsehold well, need to work, need to care for kids, getting pregnant etc wonder if they do appreciate us for all that? *sigh*
Like last nite the first thing my hb do when he reach home is go play with my #1, then when i was lying on the bed watching the news he came over and sayang my tummy n talk to #2 *sigh*. I am the last lor....he just ask me tired anot need massage anot fullstop then he drift off to sleep *pengz*

bluey,
can do pedi before delivery ah? Cos I remember they say labour ward u not supposed to have any nail polishes on? Unless u meant only pedi w/o painting nail colors?

PB,
My hb says he want to "service" the aircon himself this week. My bedroom one also not as cold as the other 2 bedrooms cos we frequently use it *lol*. I was telling him he better not spoil the aircon!

morning mummies

re hubbies
i tink its abit hard for men to understand lor... so i'll constantly remind my HB tat i'm carrying a watermelon n walking ard... n then i'll ask him to try it for 1 day lor... then he'll laugh coz quite funi...

re massage
was nvr a fan of massage... scared of the oil n also feels tickish lor... maybe will nt get any...

re washing of bb stuffs
have started washing bb cot sheets yesterday... clothes maybe will wait till next week to wash lor...

re ML
PB and cin bunny... enjoy the start of ur ML...

re aircon
my HB has been cleaning the aircon filter quite often for our room so so far so gd lor... as for the bb room, will get him to clean the filter 2 weeks b4 edd lor... usually tats wat we do instead of getting someone to service lor...

piyoz
have a safe and fast delivery.... we all jia you for u lor...

thanks cellow

where is this elusive Heel & Toe shop!!!

do1nk
well ONE tai tai bunny just woke up (again) hehe.

celeste
cheer up, maybe he is not the kind to show emotions cos he's shy. i think alot of guys are like that. he want to service the aircon himself? wah... very good! i hope he doesn't spoil it! haha, then you jialt! keke. touch wood

JSP
me too. last night i told my hubby ok tomorrow you put your weights in your bag and you carry around all day. he said 'cannot la, my students will laugh at me'. cheh. so many excuses one. and that's not even 10kg lor. that's why the responsibility of having the baby is ours. cos we are stronger and more responsible!

PB,
yup me been planning to service my aircon this or next week eventhough i just did a couple of mths ago, dun want it to go cranky on me during confinement(too important liao) hahahaha....

re: jamu on forehead
jamu is not really an oil, it will dry up and does look funny with a patch of muddy colour stuff on your forehead, but it's supposed to help get rid of wind in the head. if your massage lady is good and experience, she'll do it for you. then next time you won't have headache and sleep better

re: hubbies
think all hubby are more or less similar lah...but i dun wait for him to do things one lor...to let myself enjoy, i'm usually the one who does the planning dun need to wait for him (or else make myself miserable for nothing). i'll arrange for nice dinner with cosy ambience, go massage together if possible, buy tics to catch a show we like, etc. as my hubby is a very quiet person while i'm more proactive so i dun mind lor..

MOrning mummies,

Re: postnatal massage
There are some threads on this in the forum, with recommendations. Must search lah. I was quite interested in this one: http://www.goldwellness.com/index.html but it is over my budget.

PB,
There are BIrkie sprees on the spree forum sometimes, you can try getting from there 'cos it will be cheaper.

i didn't sleep much last night too 0_0 feel like i can pose like kung-fu panda already, with my dark eye circles. then crawl into office, feel sooooooo tired and sleepy, wondering how productive i'm actually going to be. sigh.

my colleague just came back to work from her maternity leave. she said she was induced, and subsequently the doctor broke her water bag for her and it was super painful. and that before she took the epidural she was screaming in pain.

how ah, hear all these painful accounts, a bit losing heart in trying for total natural birth. scared leh. maybe give face and scream for a few hours then tell husband to instruct for epidural if my face turn blue or purple? hmmm.

oh yeah, so my colleague told me lots of stuff. she didn't get a confinement lady, and she started washing stuff (so her fingers were always dipped in cold water) and then really after a few days they were stiff and painful. so she said for our confinement, even if we're going to bathe etc, must use hot water ah.

maybe even brush teeth also need hot water.

Haha PB, I am walking around in slippers from Ikea! The other one I like is Clarks. The designs aren't great, but I like the support and comfort.

PB, I thought I saw 20-40% off Birkies at all royal sporting house outlets, including the ones at Plaza Sing, Isetan Shaw house, as well as takashimaya. Centrepoint also have a boutique. I'm a fan of birkies, they're very comfortable. I used to bought it from www.footshopping.com together with friends, cuz if buy at $250, shipping is free. Prices are cheaper buy 30-40 SGD.

i loveeeeeeeeeee birkies. the sandals type not allowed for office, but since i'm a pregnant whale and i had swollen feet from second trimester, i just started wearing them to the office anyhow. everyday. what a life-saver. (though it does look a bit weird with office wear)

but maybe coz i'm just wearing that one pair so intensively, they are starting to smell.
oops.

Ahhh I'm also wearing them to office and I do not care if I look weird hehe. It's so comfy I dun want to use any other sandals.

Birkies ....
Never use them before. Actually wanna try crocs, but I think they look funny with my office wear.

Have been using Clark for both my preggies.
Moment I knew I have #2, I rush to buy 2 pair of Clark shoes.

youpi,
just to share...the massage lady you mentioned her strokes are good but she talks too much and loud and complains alot during the session. i did my prenatal massage once with the place and it's really ex.

re: shoes
i like crocs, very comfy and non slip. but too bad i can't wear them to work. i'm in btw sizes too(my feet no flesh but very long), so the sales person recommended me a size which looks bigger but very comfy.

PB,
Haizz...but me very farnie mah...no matter wat secretly hoping one day he will plan something romantic and surprise for me *lol*
As for servicing of aircon last time i tink sch holiday he got to help out before so he say he knows how to do simple servicing...donno how true *hiak hiak*

dustee,
Birkies really very comfy to wear? Been thinking of getting a pair but quite exp woh...but heavy-duty? As in can wear for very long? Hehe, if can last quite long then can consider getting a pair

re hospital bag
finally... i've started to put things into my hospital bag lor... at least did sometink... so i shall give myself a pat on the back lor...

birkies
yeah celeste, they can last very long, they are my feet-savers for this pregnancy! but in our humid weather, if you don't wear for maybe a month, might grow mould (happened to my old pair) eeeks.

jsp and hospital
hehe i also put in 2 bras and one pair of pjs into my hospital bag. so now i need to buy another pair of pjs first, and wash before i put in!

pinkbunnyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
have you found your pink rompers? just saw them in GAP (centrepoint) plain pink short-sleeved rompers. $25 but GAP having 50% off all baby/toddler items till end of GSS.

maternity leave
i think i can start my leave tomorrow!!! woohooo!!!!

i'm gonna start maternity leave at the end of the month, which is another 2 wks to go...but suddenly feel so tired again, keep wanting to fall asleep at work.

dustee & Fiona
me oni starting ML on the 14 jul unless boi boi decides to see the world earlier n spare mummy all the pain n sufferings lor...

re sleepy
isn't it the usual feeling after lunch, fiona?? hehehe...

do1nk
for my first pregnancy, i went to A&E before when i had bleeding in first trimester. cos i went at night so not very cheap... but u can go to labor ward and they will monitor u.

so many posts to catch up in one morning!! went to expo this morning. think i walk too much liao....

fiona
i also planning to start ML ard the same time. planning 1st July. hope bb can wait.

ML,
Dunno when to take ler. Wanted to spend more time with baby, so I xing ku first. Wait till week 40 then take. Hope Baby wait kuai kuai inside for that day.

birkies,
At first I didn't know what are these. Looks similar to Clark. Also tot of buying crocs but then again, it is only for a while so didn't get any.

Husband,
Ya. They can be quite insensitive at times. Esp when now is the "difficult" time for us rite. Can't sleep, hot, etc. No wonder our temper so short.

re baby cot sheets
thanks for all the infor given my mummies on where to get the bb cot sheets last week... managed to get 3 sets from kiddy palace last fri... got matching pillow n bolster cases as well... really like the designs... but muz search for the sizes n designs...

dustee,
wah...really so gd? Me always keep to the same pair of casual slippers type one...hehe, may pop by and take a look

Re : Maternity Leave
So many ppl starting ML earlier? I still thinking to work until i pop...*lol*

rain, celeste
actually i wan to work until i give birth. but cannot stand the work liao cos if i dun start, they dun get coverer for me. and i need to bring the new person up to speed quickly.

ML: initialli i thot of waiting till give birth oso.. but i scared later 1st timer i kalangkabo so i took 2 weeks earlier 2 be on standby juz in case.. maybe i more scary cat la... but.. de choice is urs..

JSP,SY,
i told my boss liao that i'll be starting ML on the 30th, and even if baby really decides to come out only on my EDD 10th July, i'll still be going back to work on 13th Oct, taking 2 wks of AL to cover. so if baby arrives earlier than it's a bonus lor can spend more time with him.

re: sleepy
ya after lunch but i've been sleepy since the moment i got up...wahahaha

Fiona
me would oni be takin 8 weeks 1st... the bal 4 weeks would be taking on a weekly basis of 2 off days every week for 10 weeks... find this more practical as bb 1st yr usually need to go for more vaccinations, etc.... so i'll be gg ML on the 14 Jul (edd 21 Jul) n will be back on the 9th Sep 08... personally feel tat if nua at hm for too long veri hard to get back the momentum of working life again... heehee... super nua woman's mentality....

SY,
I think I will work till deliver cos wanna make use of my ML to do p/t studies as well as spend more time with #2 before going back to work *lol*

JSP,
I might be taking 9wks only. then the rest I will be taking mondays after coming back to work to go for 1 full day of studies every week *sigh*

JSP,
Same here. Not taking the 3rd mth straight. But then hor, my collg says then you have to prepare to work as they still expect the same output even though your workdays are shorter. Sigh~

Massage,
I haven't booked yet.

Tot of going Expo today for trade fair ...
But then tot of walking ... gave up.

Pedi:
My EDD is mid July ... so by then I should have remove my colour already.

ML,
Saving the best for last ... so wun be taking ML so early ... maybe end of June.

Must get ready first (Haircut, pedi, facial) ... hope to delivery @ 38 weeks which is end of June.

Celeste
u studying part time? quite siong rite with a bb on the way n studyin... me will be takin mondays n fri...

Rain
i tink the shorter work days weekly is oni for 2 weeks n somemore is a low season as most pple would be gg on leave so shld be quite okie... dun wori too much lor...

Evon,
If you had natural delivery. I remember can start abt 3-5 days after ur delivery. If you have CSect will be longer. I tink bout 2 weeks after delivery? I booked mine 3 mths ago liowz...haha...cos went back to my previous massage lady when she did for me after my #1.