(2008/07) July 2008

SY,
haha you also getting a sign

SY, PB,
i'm those who can't really stand being at home all the time, so i try to bring my gal out on sat when i'm not working(but hubby working). think i'll be so bored to be stuck at home during confinement

hi mummies...finally got baby bedding from aussino..walking's definitely a chore now huh...feet starts to ache after a few hours...I feel like an ah sor, sitting down whenever I have an opportunity to hehe..

ok i realised that it's nicer to say i walk like a penguin rather than ogre hehe.

today at dinner i moved the chair closer to the dining table and forgot i was so big so stomach hit table :S

wow today i did so many things! went to katong to get cupcakes and boxes to make 'mock up' of my full month package. then i almost forgot the reason why i bought those cupcakes ... i kept eating and eating them haha. note to self: when buying for actual full month packing, better buffer 20 more

then went to kiddy palace at parkway (sale sale sale everywhere! but for skinnies, not fat cows) and bought a net for a small bathtub. the kind that allows bb to lie on during bath time.

hannal

i did asked the staff from KP but they dont know too.

i booked my post natal massage already but need to call her again after I deliver.

after birth, do we need to 'bind' our stomachs? or just let it hang loose? i have some colleagues who still have saggy stomachs now, years after they have given birth.

then a friend told me she did jamu wraps herself at home.

Wah dustee you are super duper early man, sleepless in Singapore ah. Re: binding stomachs, I think better bind gua...

Hannahl, Lbt,
I also booked my post-natal massage liao. Super kiasu, booked in Dec already :p

re: energy level
Spent a good portion of time ystday watching the 1st season of Heroes, also went to watch Prince Caspian at Plaza Sing.
HB wanted to save on parking, so ended up parking car in Fort Canning. Reckon we can only do this before the boy is out.
Overall energy level still quite high.

re: ML
will start when I pop, so I tell little boy, you can come one week early but no earlier, bcz Mummy still has work stuff 2 finish ok...
hopefully he listens and gets the msg

re: hair
Now thinking whether better to cut short or leave at shoulder length so that can tie up... haiz, decisions, decisions.

re: buying things
Loot over the weekend - one tollyjoy steam steriliser, some more bb bottles. Reminds me gotta test the Medela double electric b-pump that my colleague gave me (woohoo, good to have frenly colleagues - lots of free stuff)

dustee
i also feel like starting ML. a lot of pain cos of the weight and i can't sleep at night..sigh. but i have no coverer!! and my boss still making me go for so many external meetings...sigh...

fiona
dunno leh. after that yesterday felt so tired.....

mumies
really quite pissed with hb. he made a comment that really pissed me off. yesterday was up since 8am and din take afternoon nap or anything but was trying to pack stuff. then after putting my boy to bed at night at 10+ ( i fell asleep while doing that) when i came out of the room i just commented that i felt tired. immediately he shot back at me and said ' u better go take bed rest lah i sick of hearing u say all this.' so angry with him. i told him i dun even have the right to comment that i feel tired? so pissed that i din wan to ask him to help with anything at all. took my own hospital bag down from the cupboard etc. dunno what's wrong with him.

morning ladies

Re : Feeling Tired
Nowadays like getting more n tired tired....even though now hb does most of the hsework but i still feel like nua-ing around. Like this morning practically dragging myself to work *sigh*

Re : BAbys Weight
Went for gynae appt last friday. Baby at 36wks around 2.6kg. I asked gynae this time round #2 smaller than #1 ah. Haha...cos #1 when born was 3.36kg. Gynae commented #2 prob around 3kg when born bah....somemore I think i lost bout 1+kg within 2 weeks but since bb is growing so no concerns...*sigh*. I still targetting hopefully #2 comes out around 3-3.3kg

Re : Leg cramps
Me recent few days starting to feel crampy around the left pelvic bone area. Donno whats wrong. Wondering is it becos I still carrying my ger and walk around at times *sigh*. Cos imagine the additional weight from pregnancy and weight from my ger prob my legs too sore from all this thats y the cramps? Anyone also like tat?

SY,
I think maybe cos u all have a maid so ur hb dont expect u to be "tired". Cos they never pregnant before so they donno how tiring it is to carry a ball around lah. Like my hb recent 2-3 weeks he finally started doing most of the hsework so that I wont be so tired, otherwise i really wonder how to cope with hsework + my ger + my job *sigh*.

SY,
pat pat. y'know like i cannot sleep at night, so my hb can't tell coz he snores away like a whole sty of piglets. then when he's awake i would want to sleep. so quite a few times he said 'you're always sleeping' which made me ultra ultra ultra mad.

but emo lah, then i just cried. i think what celeste says is true, men can never really understand what we're going through.

this lady in my antenatal class last week, said she's trying to go for a natural birth, and wants her husband to understand how much pain she has to go through. but i'm thinking, they know you're in pain, but probably part of them will also think 'if it's me i wouldn't be screaming so much'

first day of ML! shiok :D

catherine
i'll be buying. not so kut lat to bake my own! my oven too small anyway.

hannahl
20% for kiddy palace is for members. non members enjoy 15% but dunno when it will end sorry

dustee
i think the malay massage lady will bind for you right?

cellow
re hair, i think it's best not to do anything drastic now cos our bodies and face shapes have changed quite a bit ya? the worst that can happen is after we pop and a not so nice hair cut will make us sink deeper into post natal depression

SY
sayang sayang. you tell your hubby la. carrying an additional 10-14kg around all the time is bound to make one tired right? whenever mine makes any sarcastic comments like 'huh? foot massage again? but i just gave you yesterday!', i will say 'i don't take a break from carrying your daughter you know'. sometimes they just need to know that they have a choice to take breaks and we don't!

first day of ML! shiok :D

catherine
i'll be buying. not so kut lat to bake my own! my oven too small anyway.

hannahl
20% for kiddy palace is for members. non members enjoy 15% but dunno when it will end sorry

dustee
i think the malay massage lady will bind for you right?

cellow
re hair, i think it's best not to do anything drastic now cos our bodies and face shapes have changed quite a bit ya? the worst that can happen is after we pop and a not so nice hair cut will make us sink deeper into post natal depression

SY
sayang sayang. you tell your hubby la. carrying an additional 10-14kg around all the time is bound to make one tired right? whenever mine makes any sarcastic comments like 'huh? foot massage again? but i just gave you yesterday!', i will say 'i don't take a break from carrying your daughter you know'. sometimes they just need to know that they have a choice to take breaks and we don't!

re cloth diapers
mummies who have put their #1s totally (or almost totally) on clothies, how many do you use? i think i have 20. enough?

SY
guys will never know how we feel.

post-natal massage
i also booked liao.
but was thinking since cannot bath then hor sure very oily loh.
when massage sure put oil or something one ma.
then how?
somemore it is everyday affair lehz.
i think i will die.

nursing bras
ladies, how many nursing bras do we need?
currently i have 4.
and hor, where to get better quality ones?
the one i got from perfect mum not very good lehz. then KP one size too small for me le.

wow.. so mani mummies awake earli in de morning.. i m de nua-est as i juz got awoken by a call.. not on ML yet.. juz trying 2 catch sleep 4 de last part of moi school holidays..

walking:
not been walking ard much.. nowadays dun even feel like going out if hubbi neva fetch cos it's a core walking around..

backaches:
been getting sm bad backaches at the lower of moi spine... feel so old liddat.. haiz...

hsehold chores:
haiz... me still hving 2 do most hsehold chores except sweep n mop which he does once in de blue moon.. so still tiring...

SY
just ignore ur hubby..
my hubby also sometimes will be like that.. siao one..
just relax dun get angry now cos of ur little one k..

pinkbunny
I bought 60 cloth diapers for my gers and at night I use pampers.. my maid still must wash everyday.. cos they really use alot during the day ah..

Evon,
Back cramp will delivery anytime? I dont tink so bah...i got backache for few weeks liowz *lol*

StarXin,
Take gd care. Me now mostly doing laundry stuffs and taking care of my #1 only. Sweep/mop flr + wash toilet is hb's task now liowz. Changing of bedsheets sometimes still done by me or hb *lol*. But at least he tookover like 50% of my hsehold chores for past 2-3 weeks...ahahah

Re: men
*pat pat all mummies* they will never understand 'cos they are not going through it themselves. If they had to, they'd probably be complaining ALL THE TIME!

Re: postnatal massage
i booked already. the massage lady will usually provide a binder and bind you up tight like a trussed up chicken after the massage. the tighter the better, apparently, but i could not ta-han last time and took it out after like two hours. this time i will try to keep it on for a longer time as i want to lose weight and fit into my pre-preg clothes again! And i will bathe as i don't want to get the oil on my baby!

Celeste
You don't have a PT helper?

sy, i read abt yr hb. it normal... men will not listen to our prob w/o solution. when we say, we just wan him to listen, but they thought we wan solution. i also being nag at my hb to sleep early now.

hi morning everyone! my MIL is going to help me during confinement, last nite i asked her about washing hair and bathing, she said CANNOT! i suddenly feel like shaving my hair hahaha!!! How to tahan if don't wash hair and bath??!

confinement:
tat time moi hb offer his mum 2 n they were saying 100 days no wash n bath.. den i look at dem..'u all waiting 4 flies 2 come, izzit?' den i chop chop ask ard 4 CL... lucki can find else kena stuck..

waiwai,

u go buy the powder shampoo from guardian.. think soem1 recommend here too.

bath still can lar... ask her can bath herbal... it madness if dun bath esp in July!!!

Qing

i bought some of my nursing bras from OIO. but they can be quite expensive but I like the quality.

SY

dont be sad. hai men are just so ignorant. but you have a helper at home right ? if can, try to involve ur hubby in the hsework. Else he may not know how difficult it was. and ask ur boy to pester him more ehhehe let him feel the need to take care of the kid as well !!

Wai wai

i did not wash my hair that freq during my last confinement too. I used the dry shampoo everyday and I just bundle up my hair with a hairband. Looks super ah soh lor .. but since I am at home and not many visitors I dont care lah.

i am feeling v tired .. but sstill make it a pt to bring my ger out on weekends cos I know I wont have so much time for her when #2 is out. Brought her to the seletar animal resort .. but so disappointed.. so few animals only ...

oh btw someone was asking how long shld the confinement be ?

i think it is still 30 days, but my mum cook the confinement dishes for me for 40 days. She says it is better .. I dont mind lah, I quite like the food though

my post natal massage lady was telling me those malay ladies had the binder on for 40 days ! and we chinese only did 5 days !

SY,
*sayang*...just ignore your hub's remark. is he always like dat or could he be troubled over some of his personal issues? sometimes men weird weird one lah...

my hubby was very happy yday i went out to buy breakfast for him while he jaga our gal(bcos it's fathers' day). well...i do make some small action to show that i appreciate him now and then. maybe you would like to sit down and have a nice talk with him? which must be quite a while since both of you did so after you #1 is born right?

i'm not trying to defend him, it's just that men can get quite jealous or feel neglected when children comes into the picture.

re: postnatal massage
i've booked mine too...and for the sake of beauty(i very vain de..), i would try to keep the binder on as long as possible. but i'll still bath with the herbs water after that to get rid of the oiliness(just rinse the body fast fast).

hi mummies...me at home today too but been doing the laundry and all..

aobut bathing in the herbal water...what's that for actually?? may even do away wiv dat coz so leceh... easier to have cold showers right? since weather's so warm lately too!

called my post-natal lady some months back...hope she remembers..maybe I should give her a reminder call to standby?

hospital cover for baby: I recall someone mentioned that if our baby's parents are covered under Aviva's healthshield plan, it auto covers our baby up to age 20? but both parents must be under Aviva to enjoy this huh?

FIona,
You are right. Some men do feel neglected when children come into the picture, especially if the mum is very hands-on with the child. I know my hb has felt that. So I try to do things to assure him that he is still important.

erm... i do agree sm men may feel neglected.. but hor.. we girls oso mah.. eversince i got pregnant..hb like everything oso baby 1st.. i starting 2 feel neglected... dere was once we nearli met an accident.. den he asked.. is bb ok? den i told him i m nt ok loh.. bt he onli cared abt bb...

do1nk

ya think only if both parents are under the shield plan then the bb is covered for FOC.

aiyo... we already so busy with our work and family still need to take care of the BIG baby aka hubby !! shldnt it be the other way round ??

I haven booked my post-natal massage leh. U gals got recommendation or not? How much are the charges and how many days have u booked ah? I think i may end up with house of tradtional javanese massage leh

do1nk,
the herbal bath thingy is to help us get rid of wind too, it's a bit leh ceh but just play safe lor it's our body no matter how.

re: aviva
yup both parents must be covered then FOC for child, but the FOC one is of lower plan than the parents i think, must read the fine prints.

youpi,star,lbt,
maybe also bcos men tend to hide their feelings and not so good at expressing, so they begin to act so negative or start being harsh with their comments just to get attention (yup they are BIG babies).

i agree some men can be too extreme, everything is baby first. lucky my hubby not like that, bcos he feels without me the baby wouldn't have exist, so i am still more important(that doesn't mean he auto helps me with housework, need to ask one). but of course, now my hubby comes home always call my gal first bcos she's so daddy's gal, always knows when to manja to her daddy.

hannahl,
i booked with jamu massage but a little ex. i tried prenatal massage with house of traditional javanese massage and liked it but too bad i've alrdy paid deposit to the former.

Re : Rental of Pumps
btw, anyone noes where got rental of Medela PIS? Cos my fren is asking me abt it as she wanna rent one or get a 2nd hand one

youpi,
Ya..me no PT helper. So previously i spend Sundays doing hsework n playing with my ger. At most bring her walk around neighbourhood area only. Then we will bring her out kaikai when hb is not working on Sat

re: HBs
reading all your posts abt HBs... i also think sometimes men are weird weird one (totally agree w Fiona). just one ear in, one ear out. men also got moods one. my HB ystday v sweet to me most of the day, but also got one funny little incident.

GV movie money - can exchge for movie ticket, and there is a stub at the side for popcorn/coke ($6) + nachos (add $3) combo. HB somehow thot that the whole movie money is for the snacks only... *roll eyes* Anyway bcz I m so heavy now, he dropped me off 1st at Plaza Sing to get movie tickets. Then he went to Fort Canning to park the car. Called me halfway to buy nachos for him - I was already in Carrefour... so I just said I will buy potato chips for him la. Which I did.

Came to look for me at cinema box office. Asked me for the coupon for snacks, then black face when see only the small portion of coupon.. the big portion torn off to exchg for movie tix already wat. Still black faced when go over to snacks counter to ask if can only buy nachos. Black face continue till quite some time into the movie, still thinking abt his nachos.

Later in afternoon / evening, I had a talk w him abt feelings and reasoning. Everything sorted out and was able to enjoy the rest of the day lor.
I remind myself 'he is a man, he not used to talking abt feelings, i m prob the only person he behaves like a big baby with. luckily he is at least open enuf to behave like baby with me. after all, our bbs next time come out also cannot articulate properly wat they want rite' Feel better with him/me/us/life in general when talk to myself like that.

*shrug*

Jaslyn,
Your twins use 60 diapers a day?!
Ah oh better stock up liao... In my naive ignorance, I thot 10 is enuf!

Hi Celeste...

I also dun kw leh... Tat is wat i heard fr other mummies abt the back cramp...Hee...

U dun intend to employee maid? Who is goin to take care of ur children?

Ohh if u intend to get a PT maid, i m now using one and she stay near bt batok area, find her clean and good...

Evon,
Not getting maid again...Give up after 2 maids last time *sigh*. One lasted 6 mths with me another lasted bout 10 days only. I still think if there is nobody jaga-ing the maid its not easy to get a independent n nice maid. If I am still working #2 will prob be with nanny, #1 at childcare.
As for PT maid for the time being dont think i will be getting one. Unless cannot cope. Cos I try to treat hsework as exercise! *lol*

i also need recommendation for post-natal massage! do they all come to your house? how much should i budget for? got any using any nice lady, who can come for a trial first?

i'm breathless just walking out of office building for lunch. and equally breathless walking back. and gynae still said try to walk more to aid delivery..... alamak

Hi Celeste...

Oic... So u found nanny alrdy?

Hi dustee...

I got one massage lady but she is chinese, will be asking her to do for me. If u want u leave ur email then i send u the contact.

Evon,
Havent found nanny yet
Once #2 pops during confinement will ask hb go paste those papers around the lift lobby at my neighbourhood *sigh*

talking about hubby... during my 1st trimester my hubby a bit can't tahan me for my mood swing... after he read books about pregnancy then he is more understanding... think give hubby some readings may help!

during weekend me and hubby went to east coast take photos.. yes go all the way there just to take photos of my big tummy b4 delivery hahaha! some pple looked at me, they must think i siao one keep posing with my tummy and hubby