(2008/07) July 2008

SNL
i'm not making my own cakes! please, i'm not so kut lat. i'm buying the cakes! hehe. but buying everything separately then putting them together myself (+ family)

dunno if hubby is planning anything lomantik. i've learnt not to ask
tomorrow i got gynae appt then after that we're going for crab dinner with family. see la. still got the afternoon free for him to plan something

sonic
OMG why your colleague so insensitive one? i would have said 'er xin meh? i like leh. at least more fasionable than the tents some people wear'.

re big nose
haiz. you know yesterday i told off my colleague for saying my nose big right? today i took photo for my new IC* and i realised that hmmm. it does look quite big lor. but that still didn't mean she could say it so blatantly right?

*cos gahmen send me mail and say "PB, you are old liao, must change your IC liao". actually when i saw the envelope i dio chua cos i thought they write to tell me i am harbouring illegal immigrant (my hubby with no EP)

happy birthday pb!

i'm at 36 weeks now. haven't think of bb name (other than nickname baby pomfret) , haven't washed bb's clothes, blankets, nappies and stuff.

haven't packed hospital bag.

eeeks. panic.

sonic
if you are able to check the price of the bottlecaps, can share please? i also got bottles from a kind mummy, but need to buy caps. gam xia!!

PB
tot oni change IC when 30 yrs old?? i tot u oni 29 tis year???

re big nose
tink my nose also getting bigger by the day lor... realised it this morn while i was dressing up to go to work lor... so far no one has been so insensitive to say my nose getting bigger... but if have i also dun care one lor...
hahaha...

JSP
sigh. i have been 29 for 364 days liao.

i always thought my nose no diff cos not very small to begin with. but today i saw the photo i realised i was kidding myself haha. never mind la. it will go back to normal

sterilization
after i sterilize my bottles, if i don't use them within the next few hours, how should i keep them? my friend told me she keeps her in the fridge, even if they are empty.

i think maybe i should test my sterilizer first hor? find something to sterilize tonight.

Sonic:
Wah your colleague should mind her own business. "er xin" is so rude to say. Whatever we wear - as long as we like it and comfortable to us - should be okay.

Diaper
Any mommies tried GOON diaper before? good or not and is it comparable to pampers?

dustee
i'm at 34 weeks now... got reminded by my colleague to start packing my hospital bag tis morn... heehee... will buck up tis weekend n pack the tins needed tat has been bought... me also another one tat has not wash bb tins... need to hurry hurry liao lor...

JSP, PB, Sdchick,

Ya lor, quite insensitive word that she used, somemore she said it in front of everybody leh, the rest looked at me weirdly. think she doesn't know how to appreciate the new fashion lor.. she's at least 15yr older than me. But I will still wear what I like.

PB
You are born in 1978?

No problem on the bottle caps. But let me find out the pharmacy name from labbit first, then coax my hubby to bring me there and buy.

Hmnnn... Wait, I thought you are also seeing your gynae at Mt A? You should know the pharmacy name right?

dustee
my sterilizer is the pigeon one and i think after sterilizing, if don't open the cover, can just leave the bottles inside.

JSP
slowly slowly pack la. most of us pack in stages
mine pack until 7 7 8 8 liao. just need to throw in hubby's jacket. i told him he wear it in delivery suite then when he go home and i stay at hospital, to leave it with me, so i can still smell his smell *blush*

which reminds me. still got to buy more snacks cos he has been happily eating those that i bought to bring

hiya mummies...went to see my gynae today.. waited 1.5hrs to see him (replacement gynae, coz mine's on holiday!) for 2 minutes.. uneventful.. juz heard baby's heartbeat, was palpated and confirm baby's still downward lying but not engaged yet.... but I put on 3kg in the past 3wks though I did not eat a lot.. haha

wah you girls seem to be able to cook well too ah..another missing talent of mine..dat makes me less of a woman.. but I sure do love watching Jamie Oliver, Kylie Kwong and Nigella Lawson! they make it look so simple and effortless and yummy!

crab beehoon: YUMM!! the milky soupy kind?

oh ya...I got my pump liao! yayy! but looks so cheem.. I need to go back and read the manual and learn how to assemble and use it!

paging for bluey: can I ask what kinda adaptor do we have to go get and where huh? have you tried your pump out? how is it??

sonic
i've been going to Mt A for the ante natal classes. but everytime go is just to there, head to the class, then go home liao hehe. my gynae is not based there.

yes la 1978 la. no need to say until so loud la shhhhh.

do1nk
aiyoh liking to cook doesn't make us more womanly la, siao! i find myself very auntie actually keke. closet auntie.

crab beehoon: oh yes the milky soup kind! i cannot wait!!!!!

I would love to learn to cook if I had the time to...

so which place sells yummy crab beehoon? The best I've tried so far is at AMK ave 3 blk 232

Do you know DON Pie? They have this too but a more herbal version of it...

wah..I feel like eating crabs now too...

PB
tink tonite will try to find a suitable bag 1st lor... like wat u say, pack in stages not so xiong hor... alrdy had a list of the tins to bring... juz need to kut lat abit to sit down n do it hor...

re cooking
me also nvr a gd cook... juz follow the instructions in cookbook n abit of instinct lor... alwys see my mum cook last time so might have abit of talent inherted... hahaha...

re crab beehoon
juz had tat 2 weeks ago... super nice... me like the one at amk one... alwys go there when feel like having... but alwys super long queue so gotta go early lor...

do1nk
dun like the Don Pie version... eat alrdy super thirsty... tink they put alot of MSG lor... me also like the amk one... heehee... seems like july preggies got quite similar cravings hor...

sonic,
your colleague is a chicken (!!) (no no i m not calling her nasty names, will explain what i mean in nx para).

An analogy was made during one of those motivational talks that coys seem to like sending us to. The analogy is we are all born as eagles but if we stick with the chickens then they will influence us to think that like them, although we have wings we will never be able to fly. In other words we will never reach our full potential.

You can tell the chickens from the eagles in your life rather easily. If you have an idea or business plan, the chickens will be the ones to discourage you and instead of being supportive and look at things in a more constructive and positive manner, they will tell you 1001 ways why your idea will fail and you should just be happy and contented with what you have and where you are now.

During pregnancy, it is all so easy to separate the eagles and the chickens. The eagles are very nice and genuniely excited for us being pregnant. They will share with me all their experiences, 1st hand or otherwise, and tell me not to overwork etc etc.

And then there is the other group of pple. They are also genuinely happy for us. Unfortunately they do not know the negative impact their stories / comments have on a pregnant lady.

If the incidents / actions are not preventable by the mummies in the first place why bring it up? To me unless it is something that we can learn from and take the necessary precautions otherwise these people should not be mentioning such stories. Their intentions may be good but all they achieve are leaving the mummies to wonder whether something similar will happen to their babies.

I dissuade pple from continuing their stories / comments as soon as I sense negativity. Politely tell them that I have been hearing too many horror stories and it is directly affecting me and baby so unless it has a happy ending I am not interested.

Long post - insensitive comments get me riled.

PB
no worries lah, born 1978 is very very young wat, cos me also 1978.. hee..

ic.. so u don't get to go Mt A every time. alright, will let you know after I found out.
lbt, where are you?

dustee,
me too leave the bottles in the sterilisers after sterilising. Will take them out one by one when I need to use. After all taken out/used, I will put the all used + washed bottles in again to sterilise. Will accumulate all and sterilise at one time rather than sterilise one by one.

Youpi & PB:
Happy Birthday in Advance!!!

Hubby's Funni Behaviour:
smimes due to moi paranoia, will ask hubbi 2 listen for bb's heartbeat or breathing.. n he will end up smiling 2 himself n say.. "baby so cute!"...

den yest he asked me 2 help him charge the digicam den while i pull de plug out, i hit a alarm clock n it ended on the floor.. he quickli rushed in n tell me 2 leave everithing alone.. can ask him 2 do instead.. den i tink.. i thot he asked me 2 do one? weird??

clothes tat we wear:
haiz.. i tink let's nt be bothered by wat other pple say as long as we r comfy in it..

pple's weird looks: i wonder if u gals realised.. but i've noticed pple staring at moi tummi like it is alienated 2 be on me.. den makes me feel so self-conscious loh.. n i realised pple nowadays getting selfish loh.. our tummies so big but nobodi bother 2 give up seats 4 us lei.. or is it jus me???

cellow,
cool down cool down.....

wow, I like this eagles and chickens theory. thanks for the encouraging post.
hmn, seem like you are not only good at econs & $$$ leh...

sonic
ya ya, very young

cellow
wow good explanation about eagles and chickens! i know mostly chickens haha

star
last time people stare at my tummy cos they wondering 'is this char bor preggie or just had a big lunch?' but now not so many stares liao. some old ah peks la. maybe they are weirdos that think it's kinky to be preggie? haha.

strangely, at 7 and 8 month i got ALOT of people giving up seats. but now quite few. even though my stomch is so much bigger now

PB
yaya... the toa payoh one is a branch frm the amk one... weekday go can make reservation so no need to queue so long if u gg late... coz the amk branch alwys super long queue if u gg after 7pm...

re tummy pains n body aches
today tummy feels very hard n painful especially when boi boi decides to do some big action stretching... havin also back aches since last week... super duper tired...

now feel super slpy... after lunch alwys like tat one lor...

... running away from clucky chickens ....

One preggie fren summed it up best, throwing her hands up dramatically in the air "aaargh, stupidity, i am surrounded by stupidity!! get away from me...." very drama queen hor

re: tummy pains n body aches
JSP, am also having them... physically tired... my sister, another weird one (she is a biologist by training) says hey everytime he stretches or kicks, he develops his joints.. ok boy, develop away! just stretch softly and smoothly ok, like yoga postures, not like sumo wrestling

star xin
me also starts to notice those strange stares lor... maybe those pple tinkin tis preggie seems like gg to give birth like anytime still outside wandering ard lor...

heehee... juz nw my colleague say moi tummy veri big... like anytime now... budden i oni supposed to be due 6 weeks later lor... hehehe... she is one of those eagles... veri nice lady n alwys sharing info... i actually noe more eagles than chickens lor... i guess its coz i like to take it tat pple all meant well...

cellow
moi boy usually quite gentle one lor... not kicking too hard or watever... but seems like he running out of space in my tummy so stretching to find a comfy position lor...

cellow
haha. i feel poppy is more like disco dancing sometimes. sometimes it's like she's doing those dances we used to do in school, swing hips left, back, right, front? hehe.

JSP
i try ler. but i'm not as wei da as you. some people, very hard to imagine they mean well when they just have one liners like "HAR? GIRL AH? AIYAH GIRL NO GOOD LA". what the hell lor....

when i hear comments like these i always tell poppy 'don't listen to them. mummy and papa love you. we're happy you're a princess so we can buy you alot of dresses' then launch into full monologue with her again haha.

PB
i not tat wei da lah... i juz use my selective listening skills lor... dun wanna get all upset over such stupid comments lor... anyway, stupidity cannot be cured one... heehee...

PB

happy happy birthday !! so nice to have poppy celebrating with u right !
aiyah hope your hubby's appeal for EP fail lah ! ahha

sonic

yes there's only one pharmacy there .. i think it's call Mt A pharmacy ? ehehe

the cap is selling at 70cent each.

PB

heard from gynae prune causes contraction .. not sure how true. I rem he told to drink little little bit if got constipation.

Sonic
in fact i'm not in full term yet nw only 34weeks my gynae dun advise to have the bb out as afrid she might not have enough oxygen will need to hospital for abt 2weeks.

i been lying on the bed whole day today expect for afternoon went to get lunch n newspaper for my hubby.

nw waiting for bb shop delivery man to delivery my things that i order on monday from the shop at chinatown. (they do deliver for order with an order of $150 n above)
items that i bought seem quite cheap:
1) wet tissues tollyjoy (70 x 3 small pkt) ~$7.90 usual price $8.50 ( i bought 2 boxes )
2) yao lan ~$80 usual price $125
3) bb laundry detergent pigeon ~ $5.50 pkt
4) pigeon liquid cleanser (refill) ~$9.00 pkt

sonic
i just told my hubby if really i cant tahan the pain till tonite that we give gynae a call n than go down to the hospital.

SNL
my gynae say can walk but if pain than lie down to ease the pain

serene...thought you were due early jul? how come onli wk34 now? (I'm wk34 and due 25jul)

food jar vs lunch jar: are they the same, juz dat lunch jar comes in a few compartments (which would be better right?) Coz I got the food jar liao...wondering if I should have gotten the lunch jar instead...

Okay, #1 and I have made one Father's Day card, three mobiles, and several drawings this afternoon and the diapers are still not here! Humphf!

Sonic, PB
Mt A only has one pharmacy, next to the lab test clinic. If you go in from the valet parking entrance (the last one on the curve, after the taxi stand), it's on your right.

Yes, Melben is the same as the AMK one! Yum Yum! *licks lips*

Dustee
My steriliser instructions say that the items remain sterilised INSIDE for up to 6 hours if not used. After that, must sterilise again.

Cellow,
Nice analogy, your chickens and eagles. Thanks for the reminder to stay positive. I think we all need that, especially now when we're in the final lap

youpi
is it the small shop that is kind of next to the waiting area? we always sit there and wait for shuttle bus hehe.

wow you sure had a big productive day!!!

serene
OMG so exciting! do keep us updated ok?

labbit
prunes - really? gulp ok i stop. anyway no more liao.

oh no i forgot to put on bra extensions today and now my bra is too tight. i cannot breathe!!!!!!!! but no more bra adventures liao hehe

Serene
u know whether the bb shop at chinatown got sell baby cot sheets anot?? looking for cheap ones coz dun tink bb will slp in cot for long...

PB,
Not the shuttle bus side, the clinics side. If you walk straight down from the cafe, with the florist on your right, past the 24-hr clinic, all the way to the end, you will see the pharmacy right in front of you.

Re: tight bras
Tell you something... because of expanded boobies and bras becoming tighter, I've mostly stopped wearing my usual bras. Now I usually wear bikini tops, 'cos they are so much more comfortable. And I wear them with tube tops so Sonic, I guess your colleague would say that I am 'er xin' as well. And yes, I also get a lot of weird stares and even some chee ko pek type stares. But I am comfortable and cool, so who cares!? ;p

re tight bras
i stopped wearing my usual bras quite sometime back lor coz too uncomfy... have switched to nursing bras coz can use after delivery lor... hahaha...

JSP, if Serene goes to the same one as i went, at blk 34, then yes, they sell cot sheets. abt $10 - $13 if i rem correctly. but design is those lao pattern kind.

rayna
thanks... i'm lookin for plain coloured ones... more simple... tink bb will oni slp in bb cot for at most 6 months oni lor... after tat jus switch to normal bed with side guards or mattress on the floor lor...

do1nk
yeah i'm due in early july but ytd gynae say i ard 34 to 35weeks didnt really hear properly my hubby always the one listen n ask gynae of those questions...

Ibt
yeah in pain in fact bb head already enganged since 2 weeks ago but my gynae doesnt want my bb to be out coz it still early....

PB
will keep u guys update ....

JSP
i think i saw some but u can try n call look for Winnie at 6532 3855. previously i bought 1 set (i think was winnie the pooh disney) fm robinson but it v expensive think abt $30 plus actually not worth.

serene
i think i know which shop u referring to

anyway, just to let u know. for pigeon liquid cleanser, the cheapest offer i can find is 2 packets 17.50. so lookout for it next time.

so bz till no time to catch up...will read slowly tonight....

cellow
salute your friend. I doubt I dare to do that... haha...

lbt, youpi
thanks.. will make a trip down to Mt A one day, before my edd.

PB
how many do you need? If not too many, maybe I can get for you as well and mail them to you?

serene
try to lie down more often. Could be your baby too heavy, sitting on your nerve or something.. Or it could be labour pain?!
check if the pain comes and goes off? If yes, time it see if it getting closer each time.