(2008/07) July 2008

SNL
i did ask him abt the Strep B test. he said no need to do but if i wan he will do it. i think i will go ahead and ask him to do.

yup still seeing him once every 2 weeks. think after next appt may be once a week. u?

cellow
no prob. i like to take herbal stuff so i must ask all these to make sure can take.

i also used to cook before #1 comes but now really no chance. hee, so can only look ard for easy to cook recipes and ask my maid to try...

re aches
this morn the pain down there came back again. think my gal shifting back to her fav left position again....haiz

last night i knocked out at 730. actually could have slept even earlier but hubby said eat dinner first la. i was almost falling asleep in my food.

now i am still sleepy. if that is possible :D

SY
simply her magazine usually has easy and nice recipes. and i'm not sure but one of the magazines has a recipe book out. about A5 size one. and popular has a series of recipe books also, A5 size, lesss than $5. i've found them to be quite good. i have some... ok alot if you (or anyone) wants to borrow!

JSP
my fingers also. cannot form a fist in the mornings.

cellow
i'm the opposite. when i cook dinner i feel like a very typical mum hehe. like very wen nuan jia ting like that. if you are considering tingkat, we are currently using kim's kitchen (just stopped it cos when i'm on ML i will cook, and then it will be confinement food liao) and we both like it most of the time.

re confinement food
my mum feels i should continue confinement as long as i can i.e. > 28 days. so i'm considering ordering confinement food after CL leaves. anyone got good recommendations? heard natal essentials is good but someone was saying that they sneakily add MSG? *shudder*

my colleagues so sweet, bought me a set of bumwear and gave me a cookbook. oh, it's a good one. if any of you is interested, they got it from borders: ORGANIC BABY AND TODDLER COOKBOOK - EASY RECIPES FOR NATURAL FOOD BY LIZZIE VANN.

just to share about organic food. a friend of mine only gave her daughter organic food and when she tried to switch to 'normal' food, her daugther developed allergies. in my humble opinion, i think we should mix. cos it's impossible to live your whole life only eating organic foods. so might as well introduce to baby early as well.

todays' mind your body got an article on what to give bb for weaning. things like apple, oats and carrots are good.

it's also good to give fish oil.

good to give fruits and vege like orange, tomatoes, sweet potatoes and broccoli

PB
ya lor... now not so bad liao... usually worst when juz woke up...

re confinement food
u can try yo cook some simple dishes lor... juz add more ginger can alrdy... my mum used to cook ginger fried rice... like normal fried rice but she chopped the ginger until small small then fry it with rice and egg... can add other things if u wan but dun add also veri nice... also can try mee suah with pig kidney soup...

morning ladies

PB,
Neo Garden quite gd...portion quite gd also. I think baby full mth is 15 or 20%. I had them for my #1's full-mth and first bday ;)

garfield,
so far tat day my ger keep playing the vtech laptop at toys-r-us. The design i bought is similar to real laptop cos its got the real keyboard with those like touchpad mousepad and comes with attached mouse *lol* at least it can keep her entertained for sometime bah..hehe :p

StarXin,
wah...2.4kag at 32 weeks!! Big!!! *lol*

Re : Hospital Admission Letter
Most of u all got it liowz ah? My gynae havent given me yet...I guess this friday when i visit him bah. I remember last round for #1 he gave me when i was 37 wks or so *lol*

PB
hi 5, i have lots of cookbooks too! i used to collect them and i printed a lot of recipes online also. good place for recipes is mumcentre website.

i was also thinking of taking confinement food for longer time. some pple say must take for 40 days

re organic food,
i dun believe in the whole diet being organic and most experts say u dun need to turn the whole diet organic. in fact u can search on the web and only certain fruits/vege will be recommended for organic. general rule is brightly colored fruits better to take organic (peach, strawberries, apples etc), vege like spinach better to take organic as well. fruits/vege with inedible skin like bananas are fine.

Morn mummies,
Dun koe i "duo xin" or what, have you all noticed that there is a LOT of preggies around??
not talking about new town like seng kang or punggol but everywhere...
just got to know that 2 of my ex-classmate/collegue also preggies.. gov smiling away liao.

Pink bunny,
your tummy really look jiam leh... hope poppy dun give you a BIG surprise.

Dor Dor,
haiz, same boat with you. Last weekend, when i am in a lift with a maid, she ask me your one twin ar... twin issit??
I say no lah, just one!!
My tummy that big meh?? then why till now still got pple dun gave up seat on MRT leh.

Celeste
i realised neo garden qutie ex. when my SIL ordered for housewarming, though she thinks cheaper than the one i normally ordered but me and my mil realised the portions are really small. so actually work out to be more ex.

morning all,

no la, me not yet deliver...... no need to bed rest also. Back to normal daily routine now. Working hard to clear work before going on leave on 23 June.

RE: NEO GARDEN
I've used Neo Garden quite a few times. Like it for their mini-buffet. Food is good. Portion for itemised things are small.... eg siew mai for 20 pax really come only 20 pieces. But for bee hoon, fried rice, portion is big.

For bigger crowd, can try YSL catering. My family like their food too.

delphine
hehe there is a real term for it but i don't remember. we tend to notice people in the same situation. eg if you buy a honda civic, then you will suddenly notice alot of them on the roads!

ya ler. remember i said before i don't know what to do with kuku bird in a diaper? ahahahaha.

re buffet
i'm looking at mum's kitchen's menus. look good. slurp!!

piyoz
remember to rest well also ok?

SY
me too! print so many and very hard to store ler. i am thinking of making a recipe book for poppy next time. of all our fav recipes.

youpi/SY
www.allrecipes.com also good

my hubby ask me to enjoy the last few weeks of having people give up seat to me on mrt hehe

SY,
So far I order hor the portions are quite gd for Neo gardens and somemore with the 15% discount and their service i think its quite worth the $. And the food is not bad too
. Most prob will still stick with them for #2's full-mth. I think its worth it if with the 15% discount. Otherwise it wont be considered that cheap. Ur SIL order for housewarming one no discount rite?

re: hospital admission letter,
I kiasu, late May book single room at Mt A liao, so this monday, my gynae gave me the confirmation of admission letter. and sms confirmation of admission was last week. all set to go...!

HB funny behaviours,
besides hiding coffee/tea, HB wanted to chuck whole box of nappy liners (150 pieces!!! siao ta bor) into my hospital bag. think he is crazy... bb where got poo/pee so much in 2-3 days... snuck out in middle of night after he sleep to put only 10 pieces.
Anyone else got HB funny behaviour stories to share??

re: 1st month celebration
wah, really planning ahead leh. this is another thing i havent really thot abt...

Delphine,
Me + HB got theory on why soooooo many preggies around... Last Oct/Nov, stock mkt going upwards like crazy, economic sentiment good, pple think 'ok la, good time to make babies'... so a lot of babies over this jul/aug period.

Validity of theory will depend on whether there are so many nov/dec babies as feb/mar08 was volatile times in stock mkt, ppty mkt etc. Now inflation rearing its ugly head, so next yr Q1 shd have even fewer babies.

heh, u can see i love economics! :p

cellow
your hubby is damn funny!!!!! mine demonstrated a bit of nesting a few weeks ago by clearing out drawers hehe.

re 1st month
i need to plan early cos i'm intending to do my own cake box of goodies :D so must buy the materials before go on ML mah. and my parents very gao tu one so must ask them early early who they want to invite then i can prepare the number of boxes.

v funny your economics theory of why so many babies!!! for me, i think it's cos we were on holiday in october then less stress, more fertile or what :D. poppy is MADE IN CHINA ahahahaha.

PB
haha, i store them in so many files and they are like all over the place.

hmm, this morn on the train, no one gave up seat to me!! sigh, doesn't happen everytime.

Celeste
i dunno whether she got discount. prob not. but the food definitly not enough and my mil was making noise abt it.

cellow
your hb so funny. no need to bring nappy liners to hospital cos they use diapers there!!

i haven plan the 1st month yet. my son did 4 celebrations. so dunno how e going to do it this time round.

Re : Neo Garden buffet
The baby full mth is 15%. Members not sure if got additional 5% off.
http://www.neogarden.com.sg/promotions.cfm
I got this menu for my ger's 1yrold bday last time

http://www.neogarden.com.sg/buffet_deluxe.cfm

cellow,
u so cute...haha...u work in finance industry? But cannot like that count. Economy even though booming for 1 yr also cannot make bb just like that...bb is long-term planning *lol*. Was telling hb STI might drop below 3000 pts! COE will follow suit also.

SY
ya ya. i roped in my family to help. ah bu will buy the AKK and make the red eggs. cupcakes i will order from chin mee chin, papa will help to collect. sister will print sticker with poppy's details and photo and paste on box. hubby and i will go and buy the box from SKP. then all hands on deck to help to pack. 50 boxes only what.

oh now i got major craving for hot dog bun (the kind that people sell with kaya bun and sugar bun).

I have the following brand new medala product for sale :

1. Medala storage bottle pack (3 bottles in a box)
- $25.20

2. Medala spare parts, Valves & Membranes - $24.40

3. Medala Nipple Cream (Big tube) - $15.40

Interested, pls email to [email protected]

Juz bought them at the bb fair at expo, with receipt to show. Selling coz my sis have extra for me liao.

cellow,

your hb so cute..... so pro nappies.... can ask him to help with the washing and folding of nappies when baby arrives home.

you book your one-bedder at Mt A so early? But then again, won't know exact date of admission, right? Subject to availability.

PB,
thanks.... ya, always try to lie down whenever I'm at home. Now like queen at home, anytime I want to eat or sleep, sure get what I want.

your 1st month so personalised!!!! Your relatives and friends will be so happy to receive the cakes =)

I'll probably order from MELROSE..... like their butter cake.... yum yum.

SY,
How come your son did 4 celebrations??? many relatives and friends? Must be really tired after all that.

Good morning! Wah, so many posts already!

Re: excursions
Thanks for the additional suggestions, mummies and MTBs!
Yup, we go to the parks too - all the parks and nature places in SIngapore included under that heading lah, instead of listing them out one by one. Have not been to HortPark yet though. Maybe next week, hehe.

Cellow,
Your economics theory of babies is actually historically accurate isn't it?

Dor Dor,
My #1 is 2.5yo now. Talk about shopping carts: I got one of those ah soh-type shopping trolleys thinking I could use it for marketing - yes, I am very auntie these days - but never got to use it 'cos he took it as a new toy! So now it has his other toys in it and he pushes it around the house!

i went for check up yesterday gynae say my baby head really went very down liao so anytime can give birth liao .... but gynae say hopefully after 24 june'08by than bb would be 36weeks) would be the best time coz nw bb only 34weeks at 2.6kg.Everyday weep morning ard 3am onwards will experience pain till 10am.

Re: catering confinement food
I used Natal Essentials during #1's time but yes, read somewhere that they have started to add in MSG, and read somewhere else that the standard and quality has dropped. You can check out www.newbaby.com.sg as well.

SY
Ya, my family like to do this kind of hands on thing one. And their hand-leg quite fast also haha.

JSP
Aiyah also cos I am giam siap soh la keke. If buy 50 boxes at $10 each, that’s $500. If I do it on my own, it’s fun time with family plus I pay half the price nia. And can spend quality time with family some more. After that chia them for good tze char, everyone happy

Serene
I keep my fingers crossed for you!!

youpi
thanks for newbaby contact!

labbit
aiyah my hubby's EP under appeal now and MOM so kind to give his co 2 weeks grace to sort it out. so he won't be on ML with me
but early july he got term break so still good la!

maybe next week i will 'force' him to spend one day with me. would be nice to go pak tor on a non crowded week day

Serene,
*tinkerbell fairy dust*
i send msg to your bb, tell it to only come out at least 3 weeks later, must grow well inside mummy's tummy, dun kick so hard, mummy carry u very xin ku ok...

PB
thanks, i was telling ny hubby it really a pain to me right nw. but i got no choice to hold till 24 june coz the new confinement lady which i look for is only available after 24 june ...sigh

cellow
tinkerball fairy dust! funny la you!

can i have some of that fairy dust too? when i want to have magically clean hair during confinement?

JSP/Piyoz/cellow
thanks for ur well wishes but i think my bb cant wait to come out coz she know that mummy n daddy has bought a lot of nice things for her n also a lot of ppl have been waiting for her arrival since 2 weeks ago.....

Piyoz
gynae didnt say i have to be on bed rest... i can still go shopping... hehehe was telling mny hubby this weekend want go shopping to enjoy

Celest,
yea yea started off in finance industry, but lifestyle too hectic, now _relatively_ nua in a corporate.. i like econs and numbers and of course $$$ :p hopefully little boy got some numerical acumen fm me. actually dun really care wat he does la, sekali one day he turns to me and says 'mummy, i want to draw cartoons for a living' ok lor

piyoz,
Re: Mt A one-bedder choice
subj to availability of course... indicate preference only mah. hvnt decided if want water birth or not, think less trauma for bb floating in amniotic fluid to b born into water... budden. only one Mt A delivery suite got water birth facilities.

youpi,
think my economic theory of babies quite accurate qua. see if the 2008 birth stats support my theory lor. but PB's theory of noticing honda cars when buy new honda also works lor.

Re: 1st mth celebration.
colleagues and frens will get bengawan solo cake vouchers....! cheaper and easier and more convenient... family ah, this one gotta ask my parents and PIL liao. dunno wat they expect

PB, unfortuately the tinkerbell fairy dust not so powder-ful as to magically clean our hair during confinement... ew, i cannot imagine my hair after one month of dry shampoos. both my mum and MIL will be watching like hawks.... gr!

serene,
I also hope my bb stays inside till after 23 June, cos having birthday celebrations for #1 on 22 June. heee hee......

ya ya.... go shopping and relax. Will be quite a while before we can go shopping once the little one arrives.

Cellow,
I see.... you planning for water birth. Must share birth story then.....

cellow
your hubby really funny la!!! oh... i mis-read. you said 150 nappy liners. i thought you meant 150 DIAPERS. kua kua kua... hehe

now i feel like nesting.... tonight i'm going to buy a big CD holder and slot all our homeless CDs in there. hehe.

just now so cute - i saw one guy pushing a trolley with a 3 or 4 year old boy in it. then the papa was asking 'why? how come? why like that? but why?'. the boy was very irritated haha.

youpi
fun singapore - of course! i sent you an sms to check if you're ok to meet tomorrow morning. unless you got special birthday plans?

PB,
Sorry, was making lunch and did not hear the beep of the phone. SMS you back liao

Serene,
Talk to baby and tell him/her to stay in mummy... bb will kwai kwai stay one

aiyah i walked out to the washroom then saw my colleagues preparing bday cake for me at the pantry area! hilarious!!!!!!! they all scolded me for spoiling the surprise but but but.... they know i pee like 100 times an hour what!

PB, happy birthday!
you wanted to track what is the pee count for today rite? just for the sheer heck of it, i m doing so too... Pee count is currently 5.

150 diapers!?!?!? cannot imagine....

Youpi,
i been talking ton her since she was in breech position 3 mths back than she turn, than talk to her everynite ask her be guai guai stay im mummy tummy till due date ....actually my gynae previous told me bb would come out quite early coz of water bag is quite full of water n bb doent have much space to move ard liao so nw the water bag is tight trying to push the bb out .... today the pain is terrible tot of telling the gynae i dun wish to wait liao i'm suffering .....

cellow,
ya....hectic lifestyle got not time for family

Last time i used to work in those IT software houses somtimes when rushing projects no day no night *sigh*

piyoz,
ur #1 born on 22 June? Hehe, my ger born on 20th June 2006 *lol*. Thinking wanna have celebration for her anot. Cos oledi buy barney cake for her to celebrate at ILs hse, then buy another barney cake for her to celebrate at her childcare on her actual day. Think i am spoiling her with all the barney! *lol*. So thinking mabbe me and hb celebrate with her with a mini 300gram cake at home on her actual day :p

PB,
Happy bday!
so nice of ur colleagues.

PB
Happy Birthday! How come you're not on leave today to celebrate with hubby? Is he doing anything lomantic with you? Remembered your efforts for his birthday a few months back.

I also salute you for making your own 1st mth cakes! It sounds lots of fun with your family helping out!

Serene
Hope your bb will stay in your tummy! Perhaps you should not walk too much as walking aids in labour. Don't squat also...

SY
I'm coming to my 34 weeks... perhaps he'll start seeing me weekly after this week's appt.

delphine,
I always wanted to ask but forget - how to claim the extra $450 from medisave with the antenatal visit bills? Do we submit them to the nurse during our registration with hospital or do it directly with the respective authority? I didn't claim that during my #1 cos I was not told about this.

lbt
I remember you mentioned that pharmacy at Mt A has glass bottle plastic lids. May I know the name of the pharmacy? Or there is only ONE pharmacy there which I can easily see when I'm there? Never been to Mt A, wanna go down to get some lids as a kind mummy passed me some glass bottles without caps.

PB
Happy birthday! So sweet of your colleagues..

Abt the photo taking.. Good posing.. I will get my hubby to take one for me too.

Mummies, just wanna to share something my colleague telling me...
I was wearing a similar top like PB wearing in the photo. It's tight fitting, so my sharp tummy becomes very obvious. Then one colleague (she's mother too) was telling me that 'eer.. the way you dress is so er xin" why don't you wear those loose dress (I think she's referring to those PJ style maternity dress during her time)

I told her that the top is very comforting, it's not as tight and it's supporting my tummy pretty well.. I like it. Then she goes like 'aiyooo.......' I'm not angry with her but somehow still don't like the words she used on me lor - "er xin"... sigh..

serene,
I know it might be very tough on you, but try to tahan lor. Although you can induce to bring the bb out now anytime since you are in full term liao, but still better to let her stay inside for longer. Just wait for the sign lor.

Maybe lying down flat will make you more comfy?

tomorrow, tomorrow. my bday is tomorrow. SAME AS YOUPI so don't forget to wish her also ok?

so sweet, they ta pao lunch from soup kitchen for me, and there was a huge triple choc cake (i didn't dare to tell them i'm trying to cut down on choc and heaty stuff) and we ended off with everybody asking me to pick numbers on red paper haha. 4D syndicate, these guys!

cellow
you so kuai, tracking your pee breaks! hehe. i forgot. tomorrow, tomorrow... today i think err about 10 liao.

Happy Birthday, PB!!!
how come working on ur bday?? HB got surprises for u??

sonic
i also receive similar comments from some colleagues too... budden i juz wear wat i tink is comfy lor... HB also say so long as me like can liao...

serene
try to bear with it for awhile more lor... tell bb to be kwai kwai so mummy will sayang her n buy more toys for her... girls usually more kwai one...

re lunch
heehee... me juz got back from lunch... had a super nice plate of hor fun... yum yum... with lots of vege, egg, prawns and fish... u gals had ur lunch liao???