(2008/07) July 2008

serene
some of the old folks may do things quite differently from us. better check with the nurses whether it will hurt newborn skin.

Dual pump/dd & ss
Add my 2 cents... Yes, it's a dd & ss thing. As long as you latch/pump often, ss is sure to come in and stay strong. For those with one pump, not dual, it's still okay. I would tandem pump sometimes (ie. while baby is on one breast, I pump the other) and that gets the letdown very fast and very often as both sides are mutually stimulated. If not, I would pump one side, then the other. Could still get good ss that way. In fact, I just threw out a whole freezer-ful of overdue breastmilk that I had pumped for #1! Too bad, cannot keep. So sayang...

Re bb haircut
We did not cut #1's hair until he was about 18 months old. It was lovely, very soft, wavy and curly at the ends. After cutting, it's not so soft anymore

SY
My boy is also a hairy baby - hairy tot now

PB
No, having #1 in delivery room will make me more at ease, actually

oh rgd bf ... gals just be careful initially.

i think i was holding my baby in the wrong position during latching that I hurt my wrist. It was v v v painful and when I carry my ger, it hurts alot. apparently a few of my frens kana too.

i went to chinese physician to correct the prob and was asked to wear a wrist guard for quite some time before the problem goes away.

so be careful ...

youpi

that time, i threw away lotsa frozen EBM too !! my hard work ...

serene,
you can try applying breastmilk to the eyebrows, that's what i heard from other mummies to thicken the hair.

and i didn't shave my gal's hair at full mth too(despite the elderly advice from my hubby side) bcos she got so much hair i can't bear to, only snipped a bit at the back. my friend who shaved her gal's hair didn't grow more or grow long either..so she said no use one...

do1nk,
i considered circumcision too but it seems all too painful to my hubby who objected the idea..haha. but i ever seen doctor who anyhow cut the foreskin for the baby until i'm worried it will affect the proper growth of the penis.

lbt
not really lah. the only reason we started thinking abt it was cos my hb's colleague's son needed to go for it. so i was thinking whether shd let my son do it for hygeine purpose but after finding out more, we decide that since he got no medical reason to do it, then just leave it

youpi,lbt,
throw away EBM more "sim tia" than pouring FM away hor? my heart always ache when my gal cannot finish her EBM last time...bcos pump until nipple sore leh...

last time i stock up alot of EBM but my gal only preferred the fresh one, end up i gave it to someone who got a premature baby in NICU as she was too stressful to produce milk.

serene,

my mil also put liquor onto my hb hair last time... now i find v thick (say many hair) but also got white hair...

i couldn't bear to shave my boy hair till now...
just let it grow naturally. but i did practice pulling my boy nose to make it sharper during his first mth or 2... hahhaa

youpi
my ss not good leh though i was pumping regularly. so i really hope to bf more successfully this time. think i din pump early enough cos i tot my latch was correct but turned out my latch was wrong.

do1nk,

I love my freestyle.
Actually those who wanna see it, we can arrange if we are nearby.

I have used a 2nd hand PIS for #1. By using it for 3 months and sold it off, I "pay" about $50/-.

As for #2, decided to try try this new model.
Intend to carry it to office, so light weight is important.
For PIS, I feel that it is still a bit too heavy.

Compare to the price I ship from US, the price of this in Singapore is #$$%%!!

http://www.firstfewyears.com.sg/warehouse/detail.htm?ProductID=BFBP%2D1

pinkbunny
thanks!!
hehe.. so far I cant find and birthmark or mole leh..
I was telling my hubby if they really have a birth mark at their backside..
then everytime I will have to look at their backside to tell them apart.. he say I siao..haha

garfield
I express my milk then bring to the hospital for them..
cant bf yet..
think I will be tired when they return home..

Serene
I wont shave their hair..
just cut abit.. yi si yi si..
dun bear to cut... hehe..

sally
thanks!!

re EBM
still dun have much BM leh..
every 3 hrs express so little only..

jaslyn

dont give up .. it is normal for first few days. just keep pumping !!

i know some mothers wear different 腳連 to differentiate the twins.

jaslyn,
identical twins very difficult to identify who is who hor...but so cute! think you'll eventually find the teeny weeny difference to tell them apart.

Fiona
ya lor..
difficult...
yep..
so everytime after I finish talking to them..
when they r sleeping..
I will look ard to find.. haha..

Fiona

yes yes i typed "JIAO LIAN" = anklet lah !

ehehhe ..

jaslyn

will u dress them alike when they are older ?

got different school of thoughts. some say shld treat them as individuals and dress them differently.

lbt,

hehehe...same thot *wink*

can ask SY how she feels about being a twin

my cousins (twins) although they were dressed similar and attended same classes in schools during younger times, and even work in same company, but they are actually quite different in personality.

Re cutting hair/shaving head: Put martell on head? Wow I never heard of that before! I don’t think I will shave poppy la. Au naturel hehe

Re BF: don’t forget also got a few recipes to explore that are supposed to increase our supply?
ya labbit, my physiotherapist was also saying there’s a certain way to carry baby when BF. But I forgot liao hehe. Better ask again. I also bought the ‘my breast friend’ pillow thing. Hope it will help! I also scared back pain. OK but what I remmeber the nurses say is to always bring baby to you, not nnp to baby.

Re BM: ok time for a stupid question from me. I’ve got some glass bottles from another mummy in the forum but they’re like so small leh. Like brands essence of chicken kind of bottle you know? Our BM is going to be THAT little? Or each time we feed baby, we’ll need more than one bottle worth? If we put baby to nnp then they’ll know when to stop, that one I can understand. But when we feed them EBM, how will we know how much to de freeze? Guo lai mama, please advise!

Garfield
Haha ya now that you mention it, nose pulling!! I hope poppy has her papa’s nose. But if she gets a blob like mine then I will pull it everyday :S

Jaslyn
Hehe don’t worry, you will soon be able to tell them apart
so funny la you! I can imagine when they’re asleep this mummy is probing them and poking them around to find birthmark/mole hehe

Re going crazy
Just now I was folding nappies and talking to Poppy then I realized. Uh oh. I sound like crazy woman! Cos I think she was sleeping then no response so it was like I was talking to myself. hehe

jaslyn
make sure when u pump u empty your breasts completely. it will help to simulate supply.

think after a while u can differentiate them. will be different in temperament. me and my sis quite different in temperament as bb. my mum says my sis much more difficult.

twins got pros and cons. must really be sensitive to their feelings. esp when they get older. must try hard not to compare and must take care not to hurt either of their feelings.

we were always dressed the same when young. cute mah. in fact nowadays u see a lot of pple dressing siblings of different age in same clothes...

me and my sis were in same classes throughout primary till uni except for pri 2, sec 1 and JC. hee....so u can imagine...

PB,
for a start will have to trial and error with how much expressed milk to feed newborn, and we won't have extra milk for storage yet, most likely all will be fed. i usually pump out direct into the avent bottles with teats attached, then bring out to warm for next feed.

as for freezing breast milk, depends on our established supply. and also it's better to store in small quantity so that non of the EBM will be wasted, as you can take out to thaw according to how much your baby is drinking, but has to be consumed within 24hrs. but i do find the size of the chicken essence bottle too small. hope that helps

PB
cos my boy was bottle fed from the start i know how much he drinks. when i expressed i will pour into the bottles the exact amt and then store in fridge. so each time he wants to drink, i will warm up one bottle.

if u really wan to know how much bb drinks then u need to express and feed from bottle.

thanks fiona and SY

i'd like to feed her from nnp in the day and maybe express so that hubby can take over some night feeds. wishful thinking?

re body temp
hey mummies like to ask... a while ago we were all hot hot hot right? but recently i have started to feel not so hot, and cold sometimes as well. it's like my body temp has gone back to normal. i.e. hot when weather is hot, cold when weather is cold. like a normal person. anyone experiencing this too?

re akan datang
heard from some of my colleagues that when we start to lose weight, it's one of the signs that baby is getting ready.

my mum also says that another sign is when your pelvic area feels sng sng.

quite exciting! but ready just means 'ready' la, not like TOMORROW you know?

PB
recerntly i do feel cold at times. my gynae did mention before that u either feel hot hot or cold cold...

u just went for your checkup right? think wd not be like tmr lah..

glucose test
oh, i survived my midnight-12pm starvation for the glucose test *strut* and was so tired out i slept the entire afternoon away (lucky gynae give mc) BUT the baby pomfret is weighing 2.5kg at 34 weeks, so STILL got worry about diabetes. sigh. will only know the results tomorrow. urrrrr does that mean tonight i should quickly eat all the ice cream and drink all the coke i want ah? hehe.

breast pump
i bought the ameda one. er, coz a colleague recommended. but i don't know how i'm gonna store any extra BM. like pinkbunny i also hope to be able to start expressing soon so that hubby got chance to bottle-feed.

coconut
i also heard drink coconut make your birth easy but then my pantang mum say too liang so no good, but i ownself very gian leh. but once i bought one from ntuc, wah, had to come home to 'chop' open myself....then i a bit off liao.

Fiona
last time I always say I want have twins..
but I always tell my hubby say say only..
where got so accurate...
who knows really true lor...

lbt
I bought some clothes that are the same..
sometimes dress them the same sometimes no lor..
ya.. must treat them differently..
but then its just cute to dress alike.. hehe..

pinkbunny
ya lor..will slowly try to tell them apart..
hehe.. think the nurses also must be thinking what m I doing.. haha..

SY
ok.. I always pump until no milk liao then stop.
takes about 1/2hr ah..

ya lor.. cant compare them..
wah.. all the while same class..
ur teachers can tell u both apart?

jaslyn

ya if I were u, i would love to see them in the same dresses too ! so cute ...

see now I have having 2nd gal, the tot of having same outfit came to my mind too !

fiona,

have you tried the sensible lines milk trays before? it does sound 'not too bad' and definitely more economical than buying those special disposable freezer bags.

do1nk
thought you might find this useful:
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Brand</TD><TD>Before disc</TD><TD>Buy from </TD></TR><TR><TD>Medela Swing electric/battery</TD><TD></TD><TD>Baby Hypermart </TD></TR><TR><TD>Medela mini electric plus</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Medela mini electric plus</TD><TD>305.60</TD><TD>Tangs </TD></TR><TR><TD>medela manual </TD><TD>50.90</TD><TD>Tangs </TD></TR><TR><TD>medela harmony </TD><TD>101.8</TD><TD>Tangs </TD></TR><TR><TD>medela mini electric </TD><TD>193.5</TD><TD>Tangs </TD></TR><TR><TD>medela mini electric </TD><TD>101.80</TD><TD>Mustafa </TD></TR><TR><TD>medela mini electric </TD><TD></TD><TD>Tangs </TD></TR><TR><TD>avent isis manual</TD><TD>91.6</TD><TD>Tangs </TD></TR><TR><TD>avent isis manual $91.60 </TD><TD>91.60</TD><TD>Kiddy Palace </TD></TR><TR><TD>avent isis manual </TD><TD></TD><TD>Tangs </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

btw i got an avent manual and my colleague lent me a medela something. maybe i should use BOTH at the same time? haha. moooooo

dustee
hey sometimes ntuc sells the already chopped one. as in they cut a nice hole on the top liao

dun buy the medela electric ... very noisy.
Want a cheaper option, use ameda.

I understand if use milk tray, the frozen stick is too long for avent bottles. You can also use ice cube tray (covered ones).

Expressed milk is good for us ... so at night you can get hubby to feed. else hubby will just throw the baby to you as baby need to latch on. Very tiring one.

After some consideration, especially that it is inconvenient to bring a milk tray/cube tray to office, I decide to get these.

http://addalittlelove.com/3_ounce_storage_collection_bottle.html

Bag are quite wasteful especially initially, milk only come out little little bit. Big bottle of frozen milk also take very long to defroze/thaw.

Myself should be getting about 30 bottles in total.

Also getting these ...

EZ Heat Reusable Rechargeable Hand Warmer
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-EZ-Heat-Reusable-Rechargeable-Hand-Warmer_W0QQitemZ260238875181QQihZ016QQcategoryZ36439QQrdZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1638Q2em118Q2el1247

Any1 intrested to buy together, email/PM me. Else I should be placing the order this weekend. Or maybe start an overseas spree.

Jaslyn,

Its like that to have twins... my fren also dress her 2 twin sons the same.
Last time my mum also dress me and my younger sis the same (even though we r not twins). hahaha...

Hey Mummies..

Sorry i muz really ask u all a stupid qn...

How do u all store the EBM into freezer? i mean in small portion or all together for the day? And where do u store the milk into?

Paiseh... Me 1st time mum then a bit ku-ku in breastfeeding and stuff.

Jaslyn,
One of my friends has twin boys. She and her hb could not tell them apart when they were babies, so they actually used a pen to make a mark on one of the boy's feet! *LOL*

Fiona, SY,
It took me some time to get the hang of bfg and pumping, and I was very tempted to give up everyday. Cried about it as well. But I'm glad I was stubborn about me giving my bb the best, and too lazy to sterilise bottles and make FM, because everything just fell in place one day (almost two months down the road) and it was easy peasy from then on!

Re milk storage
I used Avent milkbags and the Via cups. The cups cannot be reused indefinitely so now I use them to store other things, like snacks for ds when we go out, or other small objects. The milkbags worked well enough for me and I still have a whole box leftover from last time so I'll probably be using them.

PB,
that's a good thot, that's y i latch and pumped out milk so hubby can also help me feed
We do need lots of rest after delivery.

jaslyn,
that's so nice having your dream come true ^^

dustee,
i've never use milk trays before, i used to store in freezer using the avent milk bags. but for those ready to feed ones i just pump directly into the avent milk bottles.

re: milk storage &amp; feeding
i always give my bb the fresh supply(not frozen ones) bcos frozen ebm have a lower nutrition value than fresh ones. i freeze only those extra feed i can't finish within 24hrs after i've pumped it out(just for standby).

youpi,
initially i was also very stressful about breastfeeding and pumping as well as to gauge how much baby drinks too...eventually all the hard work paid off

phyllis,
it's best to store the milk in the amount your baby drink each feed, so it's easier to thaw and warm up for feeding.

jaslyn,
congrats on the arrival of your twin girls. sweet~!

finally Adeline will be home tmr.. yay! will update her pic soon

do1nk
Yah lah that's the best jus go with the flow lah dun think so much okie....hehe
So long as u are comfy with ur gynea jus let him handle everything U jus think of ur bb can liao.

U tried the Kiddy Palace at Marina already?? They have quite a few on display.

Serene
Dun say ur mil cannot walk properly still want to carry bb home. My grand MIL also cannot walk properly still keep wanting to carry my 11kg son. N that time he 1mth he carry her to pray Wah lao see her carry so scary leh her 2 hands straight n my son in her arms like gonna roll off any moment. But nobody like want to go stand beside her incase my son falls.
I warn hubby for this time liao #2 I not gonna risk again man.

bluey
I know Price Lionheart got something like that to warm milk. Saw it at the Robinson sale at Expo got 20% selling at $30+ I think. N it comes with a pouch to put inside to warm.

cinbunny
Alamak u kanna GD aah but try to control diet lor I hate the pricking part too. HEng this pregy I am cleared for it. Else I cannot imagine my son....sigh
Now everytime I take my supplements he will ask for it n imitate me. But okie lah think positive few more week bb out can stop liao.

dustee
With u luck.

Pinkbunny/Catherine
Hey I jus checked my fish oil n mine is also Dhaxtra leh n I'm paying $45 for it(I think). Ummm think u gals better go n buy from my clinic cheaper??....hahaha
I remember when I was Bfing my son my gynea gave me calcium pills that cost me only $3+ per mth. Cheap huh!!

Pinkbunny
Trial run for waterbag burst??......hahaha
I still remember I called hubby when my waterbag burst n he keep asking me sure anot. Then after we put down the phone he called me again immediately n ask me again "sure waterbag burst aah" ....sigh
Not waterbag then wat?? I leaking urine aah....hahaha

Jaslyn
They both look so much alike .....so sweet.....awwwww
Now u making me itch to see wat my bb looks like liao.....hahaha
Think they hairy cos they r born early will shed off abit one. But ummm my niece now still abit hairy lah...keke

youpi
Think kids are not allowed in the delivery room. Guess they dun wanna scare the kids....hehehe
Cos when I was in the other room waiting to go into delivery room for #1 I heard a nurse tell a couple to bring their kid back. Cos she say something like u know wat room is it right. Dun let them be in this place something like scared they hear ppl screaming then they get scared.
I was at TMC.

SY
Me too still headach about where my #1 will be when I go for delivery......sigh
Hopefully everything goes well when I go into labour else sure cannot deliver in peace 1.