(2008/07) July 2008

lbt,

you managed to carry your #1 to full term? I really hope my bb can stay inside longer. Actually ya hor, smaller bb easier to push out. Ya, your gynae very encouraging.

My gynae usually very positive... but last night, he sounded really serious, and asked me to go for scan. Saw him putting down URGENT on the slip of paper. Some more hb not around with me. Then must see gynae again in 2 days' time. Suddenly the whole world looked so dark and glum. Once I saw my hb I burst out crying. Go home see my mum, cry again.

Piyoz,
Try to think on the positive side, maybe the gynea just want some assurance that bb is fine from the scan.

Sonic,
Guess they will ba.. #1 maybe too young to think that #2 is a baby. They treat it like a doll. Try to look out for them in case #1 do something funny to #2.
But of cos try to talk to #1 nicely else they will get jealous.

Lbt/Sonic,
Can kiao ka meh, I try but quite difficult leh. Maybe my tummy obstructing.

piyoz

awww... *hugs*

Apart from the placenta, they will also check the bloodflow through the cord to see if there are any restrictions or not.

but your bb is over 2kg liao so don't worry too much! my #2 is 1.7kg at 31 weeks and my gynae is actually quite pleased with me as I am quite small sized and she is saying a 2 plus kg bb is just right for me!

for my #1, i also had some placenta aging which is one of the few reasons why i was induced early too! when she was born, she was close to 2.9kg and i needed the help of the suction pump and episiotomy! aiyoo!

lbt,
cos i was tinking if #2 really goes infant care, the fees is $800/mth liowz...might as well put in one shot since 1 yr oledi spend $9.6k! *pengz*.

garfield,
got cap ah? didnt noe this...aiyo...if really every yr only max put in 1k then help how much? *sigh* imagine those childcare fees is how much liowz *pengz*.

jaslyn
forgot to ask.. are your twin look identical? would be very heart warming seeing their cute cute faces right?

delphine, doggiebb,

thanks =)

doggiebb,

1.7kg at 31 weeks is quite a good weight. not small leh.

I'm big-sized.... some more this time round, tummy quite big. But end up bb still not putting on weight...... so all the food went to me.... boo hoo hooo......

my #1 also induced early at 37 weeks at 2.78kg. but cos I had very bad swelling plus high blood pressure.

ya, gynae mentioned he wants to check bloodflow. Cos I mentioned to him bb seems to be kicking lesser these two weeks.

But last night and this morning, I paid more attention and counted the kicks.... she easily have more than 10 kicks in half a day. at least that's a good sign.

lbt
alot lighter ah.. haha..
can feel the difference once they r out..

piyoz
hope so..
they say look like me.. hehe..

*hugz*
dun worry.. its not ur fault..
dun cry so much k...
my gynea say my early birth also cant all blame on me..

lbt, SY,
i love crossing my legs while sitting down if there is nothing for me to support my feets.. if i don't cross legs, i don't know what to do with my pair of legs leh.. feeling so sianz for them.

Ehmnn.. since we all love cross legs, could it be the cause that our bbs still haven't turned till now?? ... *scratch head*

3D
hehe.. ya lor, somehow i still manage to kiao kah leh, with ease somemore...

SY,lbt,garfield,sonic,
me also going to place both #1 & #2 in our room. My #1 already been sleeping on her toddler bed which i put next to mine so that our bed like got extension, and #2 will sleep in her old playpen.

my gal will get kinda frustrated when her beauty sleep is being disturbed, hope she'll get used to her didi's crying...

serene,
why not speak to your hubby to discourage mil from fetching bb home? anyway she'll get to see bb when you all reach home mah...

my mil also gets funny ideas all the time, until my hubby also said that.

hmmm is your mil going to look after your bb? if yes, do inform her to take note of her hygiene when handling bb, can be spread by body fluid contact. maybe it would be good to avoid handling bb for the time being till bb complete all the hepatitis vaccination.

piyo

good to hear that bb is kicking.
hope ur gynae machine is faulty last nite ahah ...

i deliver my bb at 38 weeks. She chose to come out early lor ..

celeste

if really got cap, u cant put the 6K in one shot hor ?
wah infant care is really ex !!

delphine

I kiao kar like a man lor . hehe get it ?

piyoz,
dun worry...your baby may gain more during these coming weeks.

re: cda account
the promo for 2% only last for august till sep 08 ar? then we have to quickly put in the 6k is it? then other ppl who gave birth after that period dun get to enjoy this benefit hor?

piyoz,
dont go and think too much about this because its not what we can control. Must imptly try to stay cheerful and look on the bright side
sometimes it might juz be that the scanning machine is not very accurate...mabbe that time at 33weeks the weight they overestimate? *hugz*

piyoz
don't worry. my bb also weighing 1.7kg at 32wks. it's perfect weight according to my gynae. he's not worried at all when i told him i just ate normally, in fact sometimes too lazy to eat, so far only gained 6.5kg throughout.

as for counting bb movement, sometimes you might be too busy, didn't notice bb moving. that's why might mistaken bb moving lesser.

I want to buy these ...
Anyone got better suggestion like where to get it in singapore, cheaper or alternatives?

EZ Heat Reusable Rechargeable Hand Warmer
For warming up of frozen breast milk when go "jalan jalan".
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-EZ-Heat-Reusable-Rechargeable-Hand-Warmer_W0QQitemZ260238875181QQihZ016QQcategoryZ36439QQrdZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1638Q2em118Q2el1247

Lansinoh 20435 Breastmilk Storage Bags, 25-Count Boxes (Pack of 4)
For storage of breast milk.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000FKHMGU/ref=s9sims_c4_at2?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-4&pf_rd_r=0XDBDG3RANYQZ2E52YS5&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=372728601&pf_rd_i=507846

thanks ladies.....

ya, hopefully gynae's machine faulty last night. hee hee...... keep talking my gal to guai guai stay inside..... must grow bigger.

bluey,

quite a no of mummies organise BP for lansinoh milkbags.

I ordered before, and each box of 25 bags cost around $11 (after adding in postage).

Otherwise, you can try the WTS section where some mummies will sell their leftover boxes at cheaper rates.

Today
So today I called the clinic and the nurse asked me to go down for appt just to check la. Was put on a machine to monitor contractions. That was for 20 minutes. I could hear her heartbeat throughout, and 'womb sounds' so I was actually hearing what she was hearing! Quite cool
Doc said it could have been the diahorrea (hubby got it too. The diahorrea, not the contractions. We suspect it's from the curry veg we had 2 nights ago) that provoked the contractions and that everything was fine. But he did give me some medicine for the diahorrea and even though I insisted that I was already OK and the diahorrea had stopped, he gave me the day off to rest PLUS tomorrow. Well, it would have been rude if I had refused right? So I'm going to stay home and have a nice day to myself tomorrow
Like you all say, gynae really very powerful! Just wondering if my co will accept gynae MC or not though. Hmmm.

Oh btw I told him I felt 5 very uncomfortable contractions last night within 2 hours and he said that’s NORMAL. What??!!

Re fish oil
I got dhaxtra softgel from gynae. $53 for 30 capsules. And it says “concentrations of DHA in brain tissue increase three to fivefold during the last 3 months of pregnancy and by as much again in the first 3 months of life” so whoever hasn’t started and would like to, it’s not too late

Re epi and epi
I’m with Youpi. I’ll go with the flow

Re measurements
I’m still about 39 inches. I’ve been it for a very long time. Stomach looks bigger but still the same measurement. Strange. Maybe now more ‘filled’? But haha IKEA ruler good ya? ;) Seems like it’s becoming quite a valuable tool to a lot of people. Ok who wants, I have a lot, can send to you, just pay me postage haha

Jaslyn
Wow really lovely names your princesses have!

Do1nk
Ya space cakes are like magic mushrooms but BIGGER! Keke. I didn’t try cos was only there 2 days then fly back liao. Wait kena caught at airport ah

Re insurance
I am super blur about this…. BUT I think it means one thing la. Poppy definitely have to be registered as Singapore citizen to be able to claim all benefits ya?

Piyoz
You’re not a lousy mum. Cheer up. Maybe your baby is just being calm?

Re kiao kar
Like delphine, my tummy is in the way so I kiao like a man :D sonic, haha ya ya you. I cannot cross like a lady. If I want to try really hard, I have to lift my stomach with left hand, use right hand to bring ankle over to right leg and PULL it down, and even so, my body is slanted to left so can stay max 1 minute nia cos so uncomfortable haha

i finally made it through the work day!

and tonight must start fasting from midnight coz doing the glucose/diabetes test tmr
sigh. if i eat supper at 11.30pm, not considered cheating hor. sure faint tmr morning since have to wait till second blood test around 11am before i can eat. double sigh.

piyoz, ganbatte, don't think about it so much, babies are really very resilient. and scan machines not correct one, can be off by 20% and all that. *pat pat*

PB

glad to know u r ok .. but what does LS gotta do with contractions ??? still dont quite get it.

dustee

jia you for the test tmr !! eheh still want to eat till 2359 ?

HI hi mummies..

me waiting for hubby to finish work so finally hv time to read all the many posts!

Jas - congrats on baby twin girls and so happy to hear they are doing well ..do post pix soon..twins soo cute ;))

piyoz - dont be sad oki..try to stay cheerful ..actually baby more than 2kgs sounds ok :D..mine was 1.9kgs at 31 weeks .

hmm, any mummies know how often we get to know the weight of our babies? i see gynae nearly every week now but only at week 31, she told me the weight of baby..now week 34, still hv not mentioned anything since...

dustee - all the best..i did GD test last friday and right after, went to indulge in B&J ice cream (banana split with 3 scoops!! shared with friend)..then monday, gynae called said results not good..jia lat! now hv to prick myself with needle after every meal to test blood..sigh..sorry, not trying to scare u..am sure yr results will be gd

Do1nk - erm, great world city has a shop selling baby cribs..i think the shop is next to vHive. hv you checked kiddy palace, baby avenue at balestier?

piyoz..

dun be too upset.. i had the same kind of feeling when my bb was tested w high risk down syndrome few mths back.. n i can understand de uprising of emotions..

but fr the experience of those who have given birth b4, i tink the weight of ur baby is fine and ok, so pls do not stress urself 2 much..

to the rest:
btw, when supposed 2 do the glucose test? i super blur lei.. dun noe got such things until after reading so much...

anione doing cordblood banking 4 ur bb?

labbit
not sure. maybe it was stressing my stomach? gynae said 'whatever you eat, sure got some rubbish floating around one'. oops. he seems to know i've been eating alot of rubbish *innocent face*

anyway, got tomorrow off, cannot complain!!! but got so much work to do.... argh. should i take it or not.... how often we get MC for not being sickie??!! it's like getting year end bonus leh

Piyoz
*pat pat* Some babies gain a lot more in the last trimester. Maybe yours is one of them. Don't worry until there is actually something to worry about hor. My #1 was 1.2kg at 30 weeks, when he finally came out at 41 weeks, he was 3.3kg. I didn't even eat a single durian 'cos I hate them. But I did eat a lot of chocolate and B&J ice cream

Dustee
So good, your fasting starts from midnight? For my GD test I had to fast from 10pm the night before, then only got to eat after the entire testing session was over, at 11am the next day! After that I ate a lot of chocolate! ;p

Celeste
Which infant care is $800? The one that I checked out last time when I was still working and wondering whether to put #1 in cost $1,300+ AFTER the working mum subsidy!

piyoz
oops i don't know why i read wrongly. but hey don't worry, like what some of the mummies say, alot of babies' weights surge during the last trimester. don't feel stressed. it'll affect your baby. just be happy mum!

hi pinkbunny,
I'm also taking the dhaxtra softgel but my gynae selling at $60 for 30 capsules. sigh .. read on some threads their gynae only selling $45 and they complain ex

cin bunny,
I also failed my Glucose test. waiting to see gynae and dietician this fri. So i quickly eat durian today before I get restricted. :p

Going to see my baby tomorrow ...

Since it's school holiday, my baby's "big" sister will get a chance to see him.

Now with 2 weeks appointment seems like just yesterday when I visited the gynae.

catherine
wonder if got BP for dhaxtra or not! haha.

star_xin
nah. we decided we wouldn't go for cord banking. but check with your gynae. i know ours has a special price, even better than promo prices. yours may too.

delphine
we never strike 4D leh. faster dream of me again leh keke

catherine,

it seems like cordlife is the onli option around here... but do u tink it is necessary? maybe i m a more kia-si mummi so thot kip juz in case.. but like not mani pple kiping lei..

star_xin,
you can go with cordlife or stemcord. I think the prices are quite similar. I don't know if it's really necessary but to me I take it like a form of insurance. Nothing is for sure in life. And if you miss this chance there wont be another one unless you have a 2nd baby. And medical science is improving everyday, you really dono what the cord blood can do in the future.
you're never too ks as a mummy

Catherine - durian very very high glucose one..lol..! oki, as bad as my B&J feast. now very poor thing cos can only watch hubby eat all the desserts :p

piyoz
dun worry too much. sometimes their growth will slow down in the last few weeks. i think your hb shouldn't make such insensitive comments. as the mothers we are even more worried. never mind, come in here and feel better.

actually some bb put on more weight outside the womb so not necessary better for bb to stay inside longer. if towards the end bb is not growing much in the womb, usually better to deliver bb and let bb gain weight thru taking milk.

sonic
hmm, i shall try to remember not to cross my legs. yesteryda i tried the exercise and this morning woke up super aching near the V area. dunno whether it is cos i do wrongly....

star xin
i signed #1 with stemcord and #2 with cordlife. even more ks right...haha..cos we feel shd diversify and hb is very insistent on storing cordblood.

just a reminder: don't forget to include your pills in your hospital bag. like fish oil tablets, we still have to continue eating after giving birth ya?

since i'm home today i will continue packing my hospital bag, making poppy's cloth book and wash her stuff :D so the day is not wasted!

Fiona
i dun dare directly to tell my hubby that i dun want his mum to pick the bb i just indirectly saying that since ur mum cant walk properly to support herself isnt it dangerous to carry the bb.... than my hubby answer would be we shall c how on that day when it comes....
i wouldnt be letting my mil to take care of my bb i would be a SAHM till bb abt 6mth than go out to work....

presently my mil taking care of my sil the twins of course with maid but the way she handle the bb i also cant stand...probably after my birth i try not to go my mil place

coconut juice
does anyone know how much should we drink before birth ? is it everyday drink or wat???

PB
are you gathering all the mummies contact no ?? i try tp PM u but it seem my com cant leh

serene
dun need to say too much one. your hb will sure give u some non commital answer. my hb always does that. it's more on the actual day u see how it goes. maybe can get your mum to come to hospital to pick u up also?

coconut juice shd be taken like once a week. not everyday.

morning ladies

sonic,
woah...so envies only put on 6.5kg! I weighed myself 2 days ago put on 10kg liowz

piyoz,
the milk bags 25 in a box costs $11? Thats a bit exp? I remember buying my Avent milk bags got 100 bags inside also $10+ if i didnt remember wrongly.

youpi,
u sure $1300+ after working mom subsidy? I think even if you put in those branded ones like MMI or Pats Schoolhouse after subsidy is bout 1.1k only? Cos full-time working mom got $400 subsidy lehz
. The 1.3k+ one u looked at is which one?
The infantcare i looking at is the one i put my ger for her childcare now. Its neighbourhood type. Before subsidy is 1.2k, after subsidy is $800 which i find quite exp liowz!

SY
i dun wish to bother my mum coz she say would visit me at my home when i'm discharge ... i told my mum abt my mil she just ask me to talk to my hubby ......

morning mummies..

3MTH MATERNITY LEAVE: in order to be eligible for this, our bb has to be a S'porean too right?

Hi Cin_Bunny, you attended the wed/thurs class last week? the sunday one was quite empty and we got to practise with baby dolls haha

BB COTS: will check out BB ave and the shop @ GWC again.. think that's the one dat carries the stokke sleepi (we like! but the price is so cut-throat)

GYNAE VISITS: mine's still once every 3-weekly.. and I dun even get to scan and weigh my baby every visit..

CORDBLOOD BANKING: decided to donate to Singapore CordBlood Bank instead of storing it privately coz I've beeen told it's highly unlikely that our baby would use their own cordblood should any problems occur..so donating it sounds more worthwhile..

PB: wah got the day off ah? doing more poppy laundry?

COCONUT JUICE: ya..me wanna know too...how much do we need to drink this during the last month?

LOWER RIGHT PAINS: wah...lately been getting this very bad 'muscle-pulling' kinda pain on my lower right pelvic area where the big belly meets the thigh.. what's that?

Hi Serene,
Both my mum and MIL say coconut juice can onli drink one coconut a week. Supposed to be cooling so that after birth bb will not be so 'heaty' and also big plus is simulate b-milk production! Dun drink everyday ah... too cooling.

Hi pinkbunny,
Thanks for the reminder on packing fish oil tablets and other multivits in hospital bag. Tonight when I go home, I will put them in str away! Kiasu. Bb due only end jul, but my bag is nearly packed liao... :p

celesteblur
i gained a lot of weight last 2 weeks too. 1 kg in 1 week. terrible...

i think pats schoolhouse is not childcare so no subsidy. but MMI may have.

serene
dun think too much. tink it's also the hormones making u think a lot. last time when i ahving #1 i also like that. think a lot but now learn to close one eye. mil can say what they like but on actualy day, things can be different one.

do1nk
yes for 3rd month, bb must be singapore. if not, not entitled to it.

re cordblood
your bb may not need to use but can store for siblings or parents? i did read before that u seldom end up using your own cordblood so i guess good to store 2 siblings one.

cellow
i tot they say drink coconut juice so that the birth less bloody? dunno how true.

i have the names and numbers of all the girls who joined us for the first outing so if anyone wants to add on to the list can just drop me a mail at [email protected]
not sure why my PM is not working?

serene
i agree with SY. ask your mum along la. but then again your MIL is also hao xin want to help la.

re coconut juice
technically lao gong always take half from me so i guess that means i can drink with him twice a week to make up 1 coconut? kekekekeke

re face/complexion
any of you noticed that your complexion has been changing? for me it started out oily in 1st tri i think, then very nice in 2nd, and now back to oily girl again

re 'advisors'
just now an old friend called me to dish out some advice on delivery and share her process with me. i thought the whole gesture was sweet but she kept saying things to scare me that i totally turned off after a while. like 'you MUST take epi or else it will be VERY painful'. i said 'i will try la. and i've been taking pre natal yoga so i hope that helps somehow' and she said 'you will forget all these things one, no use one'. i can accept that i will probably forget amidst all the excitement but i think some encouragement would be nice, esp from a guo lai ren. hai...

oh and for first time mummies, perhaps it is a good idea to do a dry run of 'what happens when water bag bursts'. as suggested by my hubby's colleague. he said when his wife's bag burst, she kanchiong, and he also kanchiong, and both running around the house like siao lang haha.

do1nk
hey why don't you ask your gynae la. she should be able to tell you baby weight. and yes i am doing poppy laundry
just did 2nd batch of nappies (now all clean and white and flapping in the wind hehe) and now washing her bumwear covers and inserts.

dunno about your pain leh, sorry. mine is backside, and due to pelvic area opening.

cellow
welcome! stimulate BM production? wow! that's cool
yeah no worries about the pills - we all remind each other about stuff. and we all make each other more kanchiong also sometimes. right, mummies? keke. but hor, if you put your pills in straightaway, don't you need to take them NOW? haha. just add it in your list so you won't forget lor

re coconut
ya i heard that birth will be 'cleaner'. and baby will be cleaner. like no flaky skin etc. i guess.

re weight gain
i've gained 1kg in the past week and about 13kg so far! and yesterday i used the ikea measuring tape and haha finally it's 40 inches now

PB
your complexion will keep changing cos of the hormones

this pregnancy, mine is not too bad. last one was terrible. then after u give birth, will still have changes. plus the lack of sleep etc....

PB

for both my preg, my skin is very good. maybe becos I carrying 2 gals. my col told me my skin is very radiant during pregnancy .. even my beautician can see the difference ! eheh

btw I am abt 43inch now !! v big ah !