(2008/07) July 2008

bluey
yeah my concern was also if my boy fall asleep seating in car seat. i got a graco one for him with back support one.

PB
officially it's 8 years old then no need car seat but really depends on size as well.

oh, then myabe Mt A not so strict. i heard GlenE very strict

lbt
i tot maxi has those for infant one? not meant for new born?

wow Bluey, sounds like a very good and tempting deal huh (your pump).. you managed to buy when USD was very low (dats why u didn't kena charged GST?) should I go get a better pump now or wait n see what my supply is like? but by then, gotto rush to get...n I thought we should juz perservere n keep pumping (dun care whether got supply or not) to get it going?

BH: still not too sure how to tell if it's this or not (it's painless right) not so good to have it too often coz dats signs that we may go into labour soon? keke PB u ready or not???

hi phyllis, we are mostly due in july here.. r u a july mommy too?

SY

i did ask around and all sales men tell me Maxi Cosi is meant for 4 mths and abv ONLY, so I bgt Britax.

PB

ya but u dont owe a car right, so no pt buying a car seat, unless ur dad ferry you very often. Else v waste of $ and space in the car.

When ur kids are bigger, u cant fit in car seat lah. U will let them sit on booster seat.

SY

me too .. so ma fan to own more than 1 car seat.

i think Britax one is good lah ..

re preparedness
do1nk, i guess i'm quite prepared la. at least i know poppy will have clothes to wear haha. i thought BH occurs throughout the pregnancy, it's just that we can feel it more toward the end?

are you prepared, girls? i guess i have now shifted from being scared scared scared to resigning myself to the unescapable la. whether i resist it or not, whether i'm scared or not, this little girl will still have to come out. and no point worrying about things i don't know about. so like many other things in my life, i will JUST WING IT! haha

hehe miss do1nk, seems that you are asking more and more questions of late. becoming kanchiong? hehe

labbit
ya lor. in SG we will not buy a car. but the prob is my father kind of insists he wants to fetch us home. he would feel very sad, like not doing his grandfatherly duty by not fetching us back. but but... very silly for me to buy a car seat just for that ONE TIME USAGE right? ok fair enough that my bro's kid will start using it in sept onwards but then what? (a) i force him to buy early so that i can use? or (b) i got to buy one to give to him and then 'borrow' for that one occasion? headache.

think i'll just NOT get one, and if the Mt A nurses don't let us go into the car then really bo bian, i'll take a taxi back la. seems to be the most viable option

welcome, phyllis

PB,
woohoo...you are the towel queen :p
you won't really use much when your child is few months older unless she keeps drooling due to teething. but towel no expiry date so more also never mind lah

re: car seat
me also using britax royale, i find it great bcos my gal very willing to sit in it even throughout our driving trip to genting, very comfortable and it's suitable for infants till 18 kg. bought it during robinson's sale, worth it.

PB

ya I think no pt buying for one car ride. The most important thing is to put on seat belt for yourself when you carry the baby. I do that when my bb is not sitting in the car seat when she was v small.

but can understand ur dad's good intention lah ...

PB,
dun worry abt the car seat, if you take cab or own car even if you dun have a car seat nobody will stop you from getting on it. if you take cab also no car seat one mah...

eventhough i have a car seat, i'll also carry my newborn during the ride home, dun want to struggle with putting a fragile newborn in a car seat, we may hurt the little fellow instead.

re: BH
yday suddenly i felt tightness on my abdomen, and it was kinda uncomfortable and lasted for a while, think that's BH? i didn't quite know what it's like bcos i didn't experience it during my 1st pregnancy.

re: washing bb's clothes
aiya me blur mummy, washed the wrong batch of clothes(6-12 mths), then realise it should have been the 0-3/6 mths, never mind will wash again this coming weekend.

fiona
i like the way you say 'towels no expiry date' keke.

labbit
no no don't get me wrong. i am not being ungrateful! of course i understand my dad's good intention. but it's just very silly to have to buy a seat for one occasion.

fiona
yup i also agree. cab also no car seat. so double standard hor? newborn, of course i want to hold her and cuddle her and sayang her all the time!!! sigh if everything cannot then i will just walk home la!

*pink brain wondering how long it will take to walk from Mt A to tiong bahru*

lbt, fiona
think we all using the same one? hee, mine also the royale one. so comfy right...

but i planning to switch my boy out of it soon so that #2 can have it. now the only headache is the car will be really tight at the back adn hb keeps wanting to change car!!

PB
no pt buying one for the car ride. what are u going to do with it after that?

do1nk,

I understand breast milk is some kind like "supply n demand" thing.

But I know that stress is very important ... I personally experience it.
I have a fair bit of supply for #1 but when I went back to work ... stress out ... no supply.

So must be very relax mood when do pumping. The new medela model seems to come with this fexi shield ... very comfortable compared to the hard breast shield.

Btw, if you are looking at the model I brought, singapore dealer dun carry it yet. So faulty, dunno where to repair. If you buy other PIS model, you have to get the power adaptor.

So u compare the risk, lor.

hey pinkbunny,

i thot since if u have only 1 ocasion to use the car seat. dun buy lah, u can try using the sarong sling to carry ur baby too... Not sure if the nurses encourage or not, but i thot its juz going home... dun make urself so stress up.

SY

yes yes same one .. grey one right ? in fact i still put a stroller pad over it , easy to take out and wash.

My gal also sit in the car seat for whole journey.

for my #2 I also v fan now. I may use the infant carrier for the first few mths , then wait for my niece or whoever is kind enough to donate to me ehhehe

fiona
i also digged out all the clothes yesterday to pack. told hb to keep all the 6 months and above up in the cupboard first and only take 6 months and below. if not really a lot of clothes lying ard...

lbt
mine is like blue one...i dun put the stroller pad over it....

your 2 kids quite close in age is it?

i hope my boy wont be bu she de his car seat man..haha

phyllis
of course i don't mind using sarong sling. in fact i want to! but it's just that i heard Mt A won't allow lor. if go home by car, must have car seat. anyway, i'll check again.

so mummies who are expecting #2, does it mean you will have two car seats in your car? then you sit in the middle behind, flanked by 2 kids and hubby drive? just curious

Hi Bluey,

You can find the Medela fressdtyle pump at First Few Years in Paragon. But yours is a fantastic buy. I saw it and it costs almost $1000. So i settled for the PIS model at $549.

do1nk
i saw cloth book at popular at bras besar. but it was left at cashier so not sure from which section. hehe. i also got a set of 5 small books from isetan last week. $30 i think. 2 cloth, 2 board books, 1 bath book
FYI

afternoon ladies

JMON,
Congrats on A's progress

Re : CarSeat
Those with 2nd child. How do you all place the 2 carseats or planning to? Cos mine is a sedan so if I place 2 carseats behind usually there wont be enuff space to sit an adult cos those carseats are big and bulky!. If I place 1 carseat in front 1 behind then I wont get to sit in front *lol* So how do u all resolve this?

SY

they are of 2 yrs gap. Anyway ur boy still small, still need car seat right ?

PB

I may move my car seat to the front so my #1 can sit in front with her fav daddy.

then me maid and #2 will be behind.

lbt
i shifting my boy to booster seat. u can shift your #1 also right?

re car seat arrangement
i did think of putting one in front and one behind but hb doesn't like the idea cos it means he will have to drive all the time as he can't sit behind with maid right?

so my next best idea is to put one car seat at one side and booster seat at the other and the adult seat in between cos need to jaga both right? can't possibly only jaga one.

re books
popular got book fair at expo now.

SY

then it is diff to get into the car leh ...

cannot put booster yet, my #1 big enough. Will be very dangerous. I still put her in car seat.

i think I will put the #2 car seat in the mid of the car then me and maid sit at two ends of the car. easier to get into car too.

SY,
Sit like that adult how to squeeze into the car? Cos need to bypass the carseat to get to the middle seat? A bit difficult lehz

lbt,
Mine also cannot put booster...cos booster is for 3 yro and above I think.

lbt, celeste
cos booster not so bulky so can still go in first before putting the kid into the booster

yeah it is more by weight and height of the child. i can't put 2 car seats for sure. and it has been harder to get my boy into the car seat cos he has grown much taller recently.

my hb not keen to put one in front. actually my fren said not very safe cos got airbag. so maybe need to disable the airbag first?

think it is recommended that kids be 18kg to be in booster. but a lot of pple i know have put their 2 year old kid in booster already

PB,
hard to imagine a woman post delivery taking a stroll home leh....hahaha. you'll regret the moment you walk from ward till dowstairs bcos you'll can't wait to bring your poppy home

i delivered in MAH before, never heard that won't let you go back without car seat leh, last time i carried all the way too...no worries k?

SY,
i've packed all my gal's clothes in zip lock bag according to sizes when i didn't use them, now taking them out batch by batch...hehe

re: sitting position in car
wa sei...all the combination i saw you all posted make my eyes "shoot bird" liao...
for me, if i'm driving, i'll put my gal besides me and the baby will be in the car seat behind bah. but if hubby's driving, we'll all take the back seat, bcos my gal must be near to me de, very sticky.

SY
I think my baby is also lying horizontally now, cos I'm also feeling that she is kicking me hard everytime I lie on my sides. End up I'm unconsciously sleeping on my back these few days…
lets do the head-down butt-up exercise to encourage bb's head to face down…

re car seat
SY, me too having the blue Britax Safe and Sound car seat for my boy.

And I have same headache as lbt and celeste. my boy still young, can't get him booster seat now, so thinking to get a toddler seat for him, and the Britax will be for #2. but that means I will have TWO bulky car seats in the car. And the problem on seat arrangement also making me very FAN.

lbt, I thought we can't put infant car seat in the middle of the back seat as there is nothing to support the car seat, that's very dangerous too.

by the way, anyone know if we could place the toddler car seat on the front seat? is that againts the law?

PB
hehe… I have this weird imagination… you wearing your silky PJ playing MJ…. just like the landlord lady featured in the HK comedian star, Chao's KungFu movie. (can't remember the name liao) hehe..

sonic
with a cigarette hanging from the corner of my mouth, and my hair in rollers? ahahahaha. i think i know the show. the ending is very corny one right, alot of people playing on the beach with big winning cards? haha.

sonic
can remind me how to do the exercise?

i only heard that not safe to place toddler seat in front cos of airbag. dun think it's agst the law. a lot of pple do that.

yeah this car thing is really driving me nuts cos hb keeps wanting to change car. so now my booster seat not installed yet cos i m sure this changing car thing will be brought up if i wan to put the booster seat in the car.

fiona
your gal not in car seat? or u just keep shifting the car seat abt?

my son is very good. he can sit by himself while i m driving alone. in fact i told hb he behaves better alone with me.

sonic

can put car seat in front. if u want to disable airbag, need to go workshop and do. we also consider abt the air bag and they do our survey with frens/cols. All say shld not be a prob ... so DRIVE SAFELY lah !!

ya I know cannot put the car seat in the middle cos no support, so still thinking...

separate topic.... NAPISAN
mummies who use this for your cloth diapers, where to buy from huh? i've tried 2 medical halls, NTUC and sheng shiong, all don't have.

I think we can disable the airbag by removing the fuses in the fusebox. But it better to confirm with workshop.

I also thinking very hard how to put the child seats.

My hubby tot of changing car but I told him later. Save the $$ first.

Baby car seat cannot put in the middle as you need the support. So maybe have to get the maid to sit in the middle.

Very "ma fan"..

Batgirl,

I din know they are selling this model in singapore. $1000!!
But really must admit ... very light-weight and shield very comfortable.

bluey

same.. we tot of changing car but seriously I am not keen. gotta restart the car loan all over again. so gotta makeshift with what we have now.

but I not comfy with maid sit beside the car seat, I rather sit in the middle and maid sit in the corner.

SY,lbt
So booster is by weight....that time i got check before but forgot...but 18kg? Aiyo..my ger donno when then reach 18kg. Usually at least 3-4 yrs old then 18kg? Cos I was tinking if put in booster when they havent reach that size is a bit dangerous?

bluey,
I didnt know baby car seat cannot put in the middle...hmmzz...so can only put by both sides lor? *pengz*

Celeste

child in booster seat is only secure by the belt at the waist level. I find it dangerous for kids < 4 yrs old. I put safety first !!!

KungFu Hustle.. yeah that's the one.. very funny movie.

SY
on the exercise, some mummies here recommended on fours, with your butt lifted slightly higher. The method my gynae has taught me is lying flat on bed first, then put two pillows under your butt to elevate your butt. Both have same effect as both make us raise our butt higher to dis-engage baby from sitting on pelvic. I find that the latter is easier cos you are lying down mah.

Aiyoo.. all men are the same. My hubby also keeps saying to change to 7-seater MPV becos of the car seat problem. Instead of solving problem, they tend to create more problem -- spending more unnecessary money!

Hehe.. Now I know why so many MPVs on the road even most singaporean family have two only kids.

lbt
Maybe I'm very kiasi type. I still don't feel comfortable putting toddler seat in front leh. think I won't go disable the airbag, find it lacking another layer of protection if someone else sitting in front.

I also tot of putting my #1 car seat in front.

But my hubby say he feels like a taxi driver if my gal(#1) is not sitting with him.

Somemore ... my gal watch TV behind. faint

lbt,
same here...bought another car seat liowz
My fren that time got lobang got a safety 1st carseat at $99 only! Then this one will be for #1, then #2 will sit current car seat cos current one is for 2mths and above. The new carseat is more for 6/9mths and above i tink. But headache over how to place the carseats *lol*

celeste
Oh.. so not all men think/act alike.. your hubby is exception.. You are the one instead asking to change car.. hehe..

sonic

eh I tried ur method, actually v siong . cos I feel breathless and backache after that hahaa

eh I wont disable the air bag lah !! but no choice but to put #1 in front else I really no space ... Unless upgrade !!

then we went to see Honda Stream and Toyota Wish .. the boot so small, still need to fold down 2 of the the last row of seats to make space. Then upgrade to MPV just to cater for 1 additional seat ONLY ?? BO HUA right ???

sonic,
hehe...cos hb look at the $$$$ section *lol*. He says drive the kids like weekend only. Then change new car need to do new car loan again...he say very sianz abt this...haha..cos we left abt 4 yrs for our current car loan only. *lol*

lbt,
u went to see honda stream also! Hehe...i also looked at that...but then fuel consumption is like 12km/litre then somemore road tax more exp, insurance more exp also...*lol*. Hb everyday drive from Boon Keng to Tuas so we need a good fuel efficient car otherwise petrol now so exp *sigh*...tats y hb ended up decide not to change car yet