(2008/07) July 2008

think I finally know what braxton hicks contractions are like...coz I recently felt parts of my tummy going into a funny shape and hardening...yet it doesn't feel like any part of my little baby jabbing into me...

doesn't mean I may go into labour soon right, though my uterus is practising now... *gulp*

had the runs too yesterday and that made me feel a bit worried hehe

I'M NOT READY YET!!!!

SY
huh? calcium also cannot take with milk? wah biang. so shd take my calcium+iron with orange juice at night?

re MJ
i love it i love it i love it! but very hard to find kakis la, now all my friends married with kids liao.

dor dor
online one no shiok la. must feel the tiles then got kick hehe. sigh wondering if i will be one of those crazy women who polish tiles everyday wor

do1nk
haha you will be our ang dao tng lady ah? sure or not? stand in front of the stove even hotter ah! keke.

poppy's laundry alot of pink pink hor? keke. not just me la. my MIL also buy pink stuff

do1nk
if the contractions get too regular better call your gynae..

PB
i thought calcium cannot take with milk..anyway i try not to take any of these with milk just to be safe.

JMON

congratssssssssssss!! very happy for to hear abt Adeline's progress and I can feel how positive you are throughout the whole ordeal !!

PB

u know u made me SUPER GIAN when you mention mahjong. But I cant play lah .. dont really
have the luxury to sit there for hours leh ...

SY

why calcium canot take with milk ? tot all contains calcium ?

but definitely iron + calcium is NO-NO.

JMON
Congrats!! That's really great news!

Catherine
I think it's the combination of baby's weight pressing down and our joints become more loose and relaxed during pregnancy.

Jmon,
Congrats on A's growing well.. glad that she can be home very soon.

PB,
Me too a fan of mahjong but diffcult lah now with 1 kid.

lbt
dunno leh. i just dun take anything with milk just in case....

catherine
i thikn it's not really like a shift in EDD. cos EDD is realyl based on your LMP and when bb comes out depends on a lot of factors like bb size etc so i guess it will shift along the way

blurmummy
i dunno why he still say small but i thikn the size is good enough for me liao. too big i also scared of long labor....

SY,
dono lei. i read on the threads that some MTBs mention about shifts to their EDD dates. I asked my gynae she said EDD is most accurate measured at 1st trimester 9-12 weeks. So she said the date she gave me is the most accurate. So I'm just curious how come some MTBs come back from their visit and mention changes in EDD.

ok ok. so calcium and iron don't go together. ok got it. so will take my calcium in morning with milk, iron at night with OJ. confusing sia

today i tried to lie down for a nap then i propped my feet and i thought i could feel poppy slide backwards toward me. gravity? but it was scary.

today did poppy's towel wash hehe. wah i didn't realise i have FIFTY small towels. MIL sent 16, i bought the gerber ones and had some small ones i had forgotten i bought together with big ones for her baths. so i guess now that makes me towel queen too? haha

yesterday looking at her clothes on the gala, i was thinking 'hmm hubby is right. she has alot of clothes'. but i never admit to him

catherine
i remember for my first one my gynae did change the date by 2 days. subsequently, he din change the date then. anyway, most of the time bb dun realyl follow the EDD date. he said 90% of bb are early...

u know hor, up till now my MIL cannot remember when i m due thouhg it is only abt 6-7 weeks away. that day on sat she still ask me for like the 3rd time and when i said july, she actualyl ask me isn't it august? sometimes really feel quite pissed. then for my sil who is only a few weeks pregnant, she can even come and tell me the exact date. i dun think she will forget the date a few months down the road. for mine, she has asked like a few times and still cannot remember. realyl can't stand it sometimes.

I have additional brand new NUK premium bottles and Bfree bottles from 1st month celebration gifts.

2 NUK premium bottles are at 300ml each = blue and green coloured bottle cap. Selling at $10 each.

2 Bfree bottles are at 260ml each, comes with the cleaning kit and 2 additional teats sellling at $15 each.

Please pm me if you need further information.

SY
sudah la. no point getting angry. be happy mummy for the sake of your baby ok?

maybe since she is so forgetful, it's good because then she won't pressure you to do certain things that she feels are absolutely necessary toward the end of pregnancy?

i always sms my parents and my sister (poppy's godma) to share countdown with them hehe.

so sleepy now....

PB
ha, my MIL not forgetful hor. when she has things to be done, she always ask me to do one....she din forget my SIL's edd. can stil come and tell me exact date somemore which is in Jan...donkey months away. sometimes not trying to compare but i just feel that my MIL really one kind one lor. that time for their housewarming, she even go and ask my sil to tell me to order their buffet for them. none of my biz what and i told hb i won't go and do it since they always so last min. my hb also told me not to do it cos it's really none of my biz.

i already close both eyes liao. the less she rememebr the better then i can do what i wan. best is she dun come and disturb me too much..haha...

it's monday again *groan* could barely get out of bed! not sure if I've been walking too much or wat but the ball of my feet is really hurting much more now..and I noticed in the mornings when I first need to get out of bed, I can barely stand on my two feet..yet it doesn't look puffy fat to me..

PYJAMAS FM CHINATOWN: PB I must apologise for hounding you with chinatown directions so often.. anyway think I went to a different one yesterday (coz hawker ctr was on ground floor, and the clothes shops were on 2nd & 3rd floor) and it's across the st from where CK was.. anyway the silky ones I saw were super auntie looking..and I ended up buying a cartoony (bob dog) cotton pair of top and long pants one for only $7

MOTHERCARE SALE @ HARBOURFRONT: didn't buy a single thing.. the only cot which suit us (no wheels either) was sold out..think they have only one piece for each? So I'm still baby-cot-less.. sigh.. mothercare BB clothes r not very cheap I feel, even with the discount..the only thing worth getting are their 5 pack rompers..

MPHOSIS SALE: this one is 50% storewide! no wonder so many people inside..got 2 tops from there..the big and loose and stretchy kinds dat we can wear wiv leggings! yayy! I've been running out of clothes to wear..yet it's like towards the end of our pregnancy liao so dun quite feel like paying a lot for clothes...

ROBINSONS SALE @ EXPO: how long will this be on? Anyone went?

MAXICOSI CABRIOFIX: anyone interested? I have 2 wiv me right now (one from sis and one from friend) so gonna put one up for sale..

PB: is dat a pink bathrobe from carters you got for poppy? did you get it from BKK?? I got one for my niece last year..tot it's juz so cute! sigh..little girl clothes are so cute...

BB CLOTHES: what have you all gotten so far? more of newborn ones or the bigger sizes for 3-6 or 6-12 kinds..what do newborn or 0-3mth olds wear when going out? I have a couple of long sleeve tees and a pair of white long pants liao.. would they need cargo shorts you reckon? the white button front or rompers are for wearing at home right?

ONLINE SHOPPING: anyone? dordor you do and you even organise your own sprees issit?

do1nk
i went to the robinsons sale.
until 1st june. not too bad. but if u wan to buy nursery stuff not much choice

i do sprees sometimes but usually amg frens. if u interested i keep u informed next time

oh online shopping!

I LURVE LURVE LURVE!!!

ordered tons of shoes (SKR, Pedoodles), clothes (GAP, GYM) etc with my kakis before!

when the time comes, we must order for our bbs too!

do1nk
aiyah you went to people's park hawker centre la. you have to be on the side of CK dept store, that one then got chinatown hawker centre, then you will find the silk PJs. so how, will you venture there again?

i bought a bathrobe for poppy yes but it's for a slightly older baby so i haven't washed it yet. you peeped into my drawer is it? hehe

re painful feet
my heels have been rather painful of late. maybe you are bending forward, do1nk, and i am bending backwards? hehe. but every time i realise it, i consciously try to balance my weight evenly on heel and ball

re stupid remarks
another colleague asked "so when are you due?... classic sign of pregnancy. swollen nose! must be a boy! har? girl ah? ok never mind, can try again".

do these idiots think they are being very witty or what?

i'm a big fan of any kind of shopping! online or physical :D keep me updated of sprees too!!!

btw for those of you who are keen, i am awaiting for maryann from studio loft to give me some details on the studio loft little big shots (for our kids) BP. will keep you girls updated

thank you mummies... bbA also cant wait to see her other frens who will pop soon

i will be seeing gynae this afternoon and hopefully the report of y i popped so early will be out soon...

as in photo, did not take pic in KKH. BUT.... will update here soon right after she's home
so stay tune!

kor kor have not seen her yet so dont know how he would response to his little sis..hope he wont be so jealous LOLzzz

me resting well at home but was very tired for past few days cos keep shopping. i hv to shop cos i m going back to work in 2 weeks time (9 June is the day) & i wont have much time to shop cos need to handover job b4 i go to another Dept where the office near to Tanglin Mall...

for pumping, well, more or less got used to it liao.. now everytime can pump 120ml from both sides. but sometimes will oversleep and cant wake up at night to pump :p

oh ya, bbA was weighted at 1.94kg yesterday... 2kg is on the way liao

oh pinkie, just sharing between ourselves.

i did shots with both studio loft and foto-u for my #1.

we chose studio loft first because we like their style but after we did with foto-u (david) later, we realised how different it was. Maryann wasn't as engaging, most probably also perhaps she was preggie then. so she made no effort to make the bb laugh, to entertain the bb, but with David, he was so farnie, running ard with a toy to make my ger laugh, and the shots with him, my ger looked so happy! even my helper was telling me, aiyo! why this one so different and so much better?

just some confidential sharing here. but would like to qualify, the shots with maryann turned out quite nice too, just that i guess the personality of the photographer was really very different.

PB

i agree with u .. these ppl v idiotic. Arent their mothers woman too ? siao !

JMON

ya i also want to know why u go back to work so fast ?

oh doggiebb, thanks for sharing!

i was pretty comfortable with her cos i just did my bloom shots with her. but ya, it's worth considering
she was preggie too when i did my shots, so i kinda felt bad that she was squatting, standing, up and down, moving all around. i found her to be professional but hubby felt like he was being instructed like 'ok you stand here, ok daddy stand there, ok daddy out of picture, ok daddy hold mummy like this' hehe.

where is foto-u? got their webbie?

re car seat
hey gals silly question. is there a special kind of car seat for infants? cos my dad wants to pick us up from hospital and we'd need a car seat for that (so double standard hor, if we take taxi, we would carry her anyway right? taxi got car seat meh?). and i thought maybe after, can give the seat to my bro who's baby is due in sept.

SY,

I also like to do online shopping.
If you do spree, drop me an email.

Feel very guilty ... but I prepare very little nice clothing for #2.

I wanna get Wii games, breastmilk bag @ amazon but hoping to accumulate more things to buy first.
Once baby is born, I will be on online shopping spree again for baby clothes.

But I very "pang tang" one, so heed elderly advice not to get too much baby things when they are not born.

Oh yes ... the new medela breastpump is wonderful. Compare to the PIS I used for #1, this is lightweight yet powerful. Somemore with LCD.
Those who dun have a breast pump can consider if you dun mind the hassle of getting it from US.
For the power adaptor, u just need a $3 plug converter and can use already.

Jmon,
Congrats on little bbA's progress

Bb's going out
Ds1 wore onesies or shirts with diapers and pants, anything that gives easy access to the crotch area for easy changing of the diaper.

PB.
You are towel queen!

pinkie

foto-u is also in the biz thread. maybe you could just take a look. hehe!

car seat

you can either get those for infants up to 1 year old or get those which is convertible and can sit up to 4 years old i think. we got the infant one up to 1 year old and later change to a toddler seat for up to 4 or 5 years old.

Car seats
Yes, there are different types. The Maxi Cosi Cabriofix is a rear-facing infant car seat that can take babies from 0-13kg. There are also toddler seats and combination seats that can hold a child from 0-18 kg (that's from birth to about 4 years).

I was looking at all the options in Mothercare @ Harbourfront yesterday and getting very confused!

SY/lbt,

cos i cannot stay at home 3 full mth, plus i hv works to handover before i move to new office.

some more when bbA goes home, i need to take care of her and sometimes she needs to go back to kkh for checkup. tats y i only take 2mth 1st.

ok going to feed the kor kor and pumping liao... chat tonite

CHINATOWN: urr..dun think I'll be braving the heat and the crowds again..actually tried hunting for pyjamas at places like la senza and women's secret..but those are for skinny women lah sigh...

ONLINE SHOPPING: kinda addictive huh..and it's like credit cards..u dun realise how much you have bought! hehe where's a good place to go hunt for nice newborn clothes..

POPPY'S BATHROBE: haha PB I've got bionic eyes huh it's scary! no lah..thought I saw it hanging among your pic of poppy's laundry mah..

YOUPI: dang! haha what colour did you get?

CAR SEAT: wah...PB, get one juz for the ride home from hospital? But I guess it's good to be safe..newborn/infant carseats are slightly different (more reclined) from those for toddlers (more upright) if I'm right..I know the maxicosi webby shows the different car seats for infants vs toddler vs kids u can go take a look...

thanks doggiebb!

JMON
good idea. glad everything is well with bbA

re car seat
oh i'm so confused. and i think it's really silly that i have to buy a car seat to use ONCE. and i'd feel bad if i had to ask my bro to buy his car seat early just so i could borrow it for poppy to be fetched home from hospital. so might as well take taxi home... argh.

youpi
towel queen takes a bow :D but but in my defence, MIL bought 16... so i only got 34.... and since poppy will need to use them until she is 3 or 4 years old and i didn't wash all of them so.... not so bad la hor? keke

youpi

the infant one i got is the maxi-cosi one. cost me about maybe $290-$300? i can't rem! wahaha! not sure if they have different pattern one. but it's rear facing and takes up to 13kg i think.

oh i must have left out the "WILL change"
. we are still looking out for a toddler seat. am looking at maxi-cosi as well. those with the seat belt attached to the chair and the booster seat cannot be detach one. those look more sturdy.

BREAST PUMP: anyone used the one from phillips avent before? is it good? I currently have one but it looks flimsy..wonder if that's the reason why my sis could barely get any milk out..how much did your PIS cost you BLuey?

TOWELS: PB, you are referring to the little mini hankies right? should be ok to have dat many right...since u can use it as a bib for burping, use it to wipe saliva, use as a washcloth when bathing... I even use this for myself when I wash my face, and use it on my doggie after his meals hahaha!

car seat ruling: I find it kinda weird too that BB doesn't have to be in in one when in cabs but must be, when in a personal car..how strict are they actually coz I know my nephew rides in our car without one..

PB

i dont recommend to put newborn in a car seat. in a infant carrier would be more suitable. Anyway .. it is only a car ride home, carry ur gal lah.

I do have a car seat that can take 0-4 yrs, but I only let my gal sit on it when she was abt 4-5 mths. That's when I feel she is more steady with her head and back.

do1nk
yup the little hankies for bathing, burping, wiping etc.

re car seat
ya lor, i find it very double standard that in taxi, don't need.

labbit
cannot leh. i heard the nurses will not let you go if you don't have a car seat! i also would prefer to carry her. but my papa wants to come and fetch leh. headache!!!

PB
infant car seat is different. it is rear facing. toddler car seat is forward facing.

bluey
sure, will drop u email if i do sprees. hee i m not pantang. for my #1, i already start buying things so early. if mil knows sure scream at me one. but now my mil more influenced by us and less pantang already.

for #2, i got mainly clothes for her. nothing else already.

re car seat
i got a convertible one. one that can be used when infant and also when toddler. abt 400 i think. brand is safe and sound.

Infant car seat
Doggiebb, I think you and Do1nk and I have the same one. I got the Maxi Cosi Cabriofix 'cos it can be fitted using the car's existing seat belt. So I can carry bb in it even when we take taxis out (sure will for all the bb checkups and vacs at the PD's), and not just for that one trip home.

Toddler car seat
Doggiebb, I was looking at the Maxi Cosi and the Britax ones. Both look good. Both are expensive too! But M'care was having a sale on the Maxi Cosi Priori, for $280.

Breast pump
I have the Avent Manual. It worked well for me with ds1 and I could get let down quite often. So I'll be using it again. That reminds me - must go dig it out and check that I still have all the parts!

PB
i know for GlenE, u must have car seat for bb when discharged. think other hospital not so strict. is yours GlenE?

my boy was in the car seat when less than month old. hee, must train early mah.

PB

can lah , MT A not strict leh. I also carry my ger that time.

SY, I have using Britax Safe and Sound too. I dont rem Maxi cosi has car seat for newborns. I rem it was from 4th mth onwards.

PB, i had BH dunno since how many weeks ago liao

... abt my breastpump

I got my medela New Freestyle breastpump from Add A Little Love www.AddALittleLove.com @ US$290 (including domestic shipping $5).
As for vPOST shipping is about $83 for my set.
But you might be charge GST (7%) for the items by vPOST since the cost is above SGD$400. But mine was not charged.

Last week got my #1 a new Maxicosi car seat @ paya lebar (?). The place where they claim wholesale price.
I would suggest not to buy those seat booster w/o the "side panel". My gal like to sleep in the car but with seat booster, I have to support her thru the whole car journey.
Buy those with back support ...
I got this model XP model which is abt $199. It claim that can seat till 12yrs old. The XR model (latest) is abt $340.

alamak labbit, my first child what. of course excited la! not sure whether last time i felt or not. but now it's like stomach ache. but no more liao. about 10 seconds or so only.

Not really, lah.

But if your 12 yr old small small size one. It is better to be in the car seat. But for most by 8 yr old cannot fit into the car seat liao.