(2008/07) July 2008

do1nk
i take fish oil also. i think fish oil is impt for the brain development. i also take pre natal vit and calcium. that's all

do1nk
fish oil contains DHA which is good for brain development. I take fish oil throughout preg and BF period. You shld too.

In addition, I take calcium and iron pills.

Dor Dor
Congrats on passing your GD test!

Do1nk
Like what Dor Dor said, most prefer to tear rather than have an episiotomy. Docs prefer epi 'cos it's easier for them. But epi cuts into more layers than a tear. There's lots of info online.

Fish oil
I also take it while preggie and bfg. And prenatal vit and calcium.

yawn. so hard to get out of bed this morning

catherine
they have moved to pagoda st. i know they have another photog called candida. i believe she will be the one taking the pics

do1nk
i have pre nat, iron and calcium from gynae. not taking fish oil but trying to take salmon on quite a regular basis. but quite funny that you're still on folic. i'm off it cos it's a component in my pre nat pills.

fish oil - the nurses at the clinic tell me there are many different grades so you can buy them anywhere at varied prices but the compositions are different la.

dor dor
congrats on passing your test!!!

just to share - whoever is on iron pills, that contributes to constipation and it makes your sai a very weird colour

ok this is from maryann from studio loft:

<font color="0000ff">======
hi pinkbunny, usually i will ask you to wait for the Motherhood Fair (we have a booth there) from June 5-8 to see the promotions we will be offering but after a meeting with my partner yesterday, we have decided that it's time to raise our basic packages pricing. So now would be a good time for you to organise an LBS BP if you want to make good of the old pricing. you can email me if you like on this matter

when i am away on maternity leave (which will only be for 1 month la), my assistant Ashley will be around to shoot for LBS together with our new girl Charlene. during my absence there will be no Bloom shoots though.
======</font>

so i will organise a BP for 'little big shots' (for kids) for us so that we can take advantage of the lower rates ok? i believe that there is quite a long 'expiry date' to this so we can wait till our little ones are like 6 months old even, to arrange for a photo session.

will give you girls more info when i get it

PB

the changes in ur poo color is due to the unabsorbed iron, which is not good I feel. My poo was v dark color during first preg but this time round it is normal. Hopefully the iron is absorbed into my body and I do feel stronger this time (less giddy spells etc).

Hi MTBs,

Sorry to intrude!
I have a used (good condition)snuggle nest (supreme range with incline)for sale @$50. Good for travelling and for parents intending to let bb sleep on same bed. Interested mtbs, please pm me for pixs. TQ!

re: episotomy
think it really depends on how elastic our flesh is gonna stretch there, the size of baby nad the judgement call made by the gynae. if it's gonna be a moderate to big tear i would prefer to have an episotomy done as it heals better than a tear. 2 friends of mine had bad tear and took a onger time to heal and one told me she can feel the bulging scar even after months, maybe bcos the skin didn't adhere as properly as it should be.

re: lasik
yup nowadays lots of places offering cheap lasik at 2K+ but for eyes this kinda of thing better to seek more reliable and safe source. i did it in parkway eye ctr in gleneagles, the doc always gets interviewed on tv. and he's very confident and his record is very clean, none of his patients get infection post op.

re: drinking water
although my gal hates to drink water too, but i dun think it's bcos i introduce water to her late lor...my mil keeps insisting on feeding baby water but her son(my hubby) also doesn't like to drink water one leh...haha (so i think it's very individual preference lah)

fiona
no leh, my fren went to snec recently and it was quite cheap. the price really dropping. maybe i will go do next time...

PB
do u know who else will be there at the motherhood fair?

SY,
wah didn't know SNEC charges dropped so much, but alot of private practice also very cheap now. but i preferred to do it in private, very fast. by the way, i used intralase(which cost more) to do the cutting of flap and not the old method of manual keratome(use blade to cut flap open manually), so it heals faster and better result

fiona
yeah SNEC dropped alot. hee, i hope can do. always find it a hassle to wear specs...

robinsons got expo fair. anyone going?

wah...why do I feel sleepy all the time?? haha

okie I must go read up more about tearing vs episiotomy...

so far, the iron pills I'm taking doesn't give me constipation and colour of poo is normal too.. I'm not sure why I'm still taking folic acid at this stage either, but I'm surely not getting any other supplements..

for those of you taking fish oil, is it from your gynae or are you voluntarily taking it on your own too? how do we know what to get and how much to take?

didn't know robinsons having sale at expo...

hmm so is it a 4 day 15% sale at mothercare or is it a longer sale at 25%? whatever the case..think I'll go this weekend...

DorDor,
Congrats on passing your GD test.
Me too weird leh, during preggy bowel movement is smoother than pre-preggy which is good for me cos i have history of constipation since young. ever since after desiree, it is so much better.

do1nk,
you are not the only 1, me too feel sleepy everyday. whaha, how to tong till delivery.

re sleepiness
i feel sleepy in the day but can't sleep at night! everyday will auto wake up at 6.....then cannot sleep until 12am...

I am from March thread. I am letting go of my DOM at half price and home made rice wine at $5 each due to overstocking. Let me know if you are interested. Hp: 97461185

SY,PB,
just a note, if you gals decide to do lasik, have to wait till your eyes/eyesight stabilise after a few months post breastfeeding, bcos it'll also be an affecting factor

labbit
oh is it? change in colour means not absorbed?? then how to make it absorb ah?

fiona
you mind sending me that letter you were talking about? about lasik?

SY
nope i've not called anyone about motherhood fair. busy ler.

re sleepiness
i'm sleepy towards end of the work day but quite awake when actually in bed. i think it's cos i have to get up 3-4 times to pee before falling asleep. then now, standard, will wake up at 3-4am, go pee, and then feel hungry so must eat

lately been getting the ear throbbing thing again (can hear my heart beating in my left ear)

fiona
thanks for the reminder about lasik
yup yup will wait. think at least 9 months - 1 year. today my eyes very kuai. contacts so comfy

PB

maybe can try to take ur iron pills with orange juice. It does helps in absorption of iron into your body. and eat more red meat too !

really? iron pills with orange juice helps? okie! will try, thanks

not a fan of red meat, plus hubby doesn't eat so it's a bit tough. but i take beetroot juice alot, and tomatoes and carrots!!! wondering if i am turning orange haha

yup, lbt is right...heard that before... n u may already know: dun take your calcium pills or drink milk/soya a couple of hours before and after taking your iron pills coz it will deter your body from absorbing the iron..so my gynae told me to drink milk in the morning, and take my iron pills in the evening...

wah..I've always been so tempted to go for lasik, but never had the guts to put my only pair of eyes under dat kinda risk...

fish oil: neurogain huh...and what's the dosage like? okie I will ask my cover gynae (my gynae going on holiday soon) next visit...if he dun give, I go get my own....

PB,
no letter on lasik leh, actually i mean do you want the info of the clinic i went to lah, but i posted it here liao...hehe

hope all of you have a nice weekend!

do1nk
WHAT? don't take calcium tabs or drink soy milk after iron pills? i do that every morning??!!!!

haha ya hor, sometimes i think hmmm bad eyesight is better than no eyesight right? ...

Fish oil
my gynae has give me the fish oil fm 4mth n above as he told me it gd for the bb brain so till nw i still taking it.
currently eating folic acid, fish oil, iron n calcuim....

SY
robinson sales at expo when is it starting ???i didnt rec anything

Hehe thanx mummies...Enjoying my ice cream now.....hahaha

pinkbunny
My gynea told me my iron pills will not cos much constipation 1. But now I still abit scared to take cos after vomiting(all water cos before food) yest I keep burping something smelly....eeeeeee

do1nk
Think normally ur gynea should have. I think the 1s for prenatal are more ex cos the composition is more. Mine cos me $45 per box.
N since u are taking for bb I think better to take the brand ur gynea intro rather then take outside brand n bb gets less of it.

labbit
gulp i dont' remember!!!

re constipation
hmm i heard that generally iron tablets are heaty and thus cause constipation. but then again i AM eating alot of chocolate too haha. why don't you take your tablets after food? i always take WITH food hehe

re fish oil
nurse at gynae clinic was recommending fish oil but she said it's up to me, if i don't want, can also get through salmon. but i have neglected salmon intake for a while so better start on the tablets la hehe

SY,
Thanks for the Pigeon lobang. When will prices go up? I will definitely stock up 'cos I am still using their stuff!

Mothercare sale
Really 25% until 25 May at Harbourfront? If anyone goes, can confirm before that date please? Then I will go. If not, very far lah. Thank you!

Fish oil
Gynae also gave me Neurogain, and the nurses told me to continue taking while bfg too. I think quite a number of us are taking that.

Fiona,
I got mine from Bliss Confinement. It's been mentioned in one of the threads somewhere here and you can find it online. It's my first CL, so I have no idea what to expect. I just want to have someone around to help me out when I need, and to take care of the cooking. She won't have to do might feeds etc since I co-sleep and breastfeed, so I want her to take care of things properly during the day.

pinkbunny
Actually hor dunno if u believe the chinese stuff lah but starting of preg we can take alot of heaty stuff but not cooling stuff right. Now nearing end of pregnancy our body is starting to be heaty liao so we cannot take so much heaty stuff anymore.
I think that's why we can take coconut also so better try not to take so much chocolates cos heaty aah.

My last preg bout 8mths my FIL still make the chix soup with dunno wat for me to drink n its so heaty lor. The next day onwards I keep feeling so heaty n got alot of phlegm keep having to clear my throat n all the way till I gave birth leh. My water bag also jus nice broke when I 'Ahem' to clear my throat.....hahaha
That's why I tot I had incontinence...hehe

So this time I more wary liao dun wanna have the stupid phlegm again.

Mothercare sale
I think not all items are 25% off. And the 15% off storewide got small print 'terms &amp; conditions apply'. The ads is on their website http://www.mothercare.com.sg

Groin pain
Mine is only on the right side, dunno why. When I wake up at night to go to the loo I walk like cowboy.

BB position
The heaviest part of a baby is the bum. So going on all four with your own bum raised high will help BB to rotate head down with the help of gravity.

RHS,
I got groin pain too .. was telling gynae today .. I feel like i rode a horse to come see you. she said it's quite normal. but i didnt ask why lei. anyone knows ?

ah fiona ok ok no prob

nah, do1nk
1440375.jpg

got model posing at the doorway some more

dor dor
don't take chocolate? .... really? .... can you see my tears reaching your house doorstep?

catherine
you so funny! hehe. i also got groin pain
not really pain, but like sng sng like that. baby's head getting comfy in pelvic area i guess.

youpi
check the sales/promo thread. someone posted a mailer from mothercare

and the robinsons one:
http://www.singapore-expo.com.sg/events/events_calendar_event066.php

this evening we washed some of poppy's clothes. so cute, all hanging now
hubby said 'wow they are all so small. i can walk under them without having anything stuck on my head'

Pinkbunny
Not dun take lah I also cannot stop taking them myself. License to take freely expiring soon leh.....hahaha
Jus have to moderate lor cos body turning heaty liao. Worse is deliver liao still body abit too heaty very cham 1 u know. Cos confinement food is SUPER heaty 1.

Catherine
Last time I had pain on my left side for the longest time. Gynea said I might have pulled a muscle. N I really tot I did cos hubby drives BIG lorry ma n I gotta climb up so tot might have pulled it while climbing.
BUT BUT BUT now no pain already cos my bb has turned head down.
Gynea say cos last time bb's butt was at my left side ma....arghhhhhh
N she made me worry about the pulled 'muscle' for so long. I even worry that it will still be painful after birth.

btw I also washed bb's clothes today. N stupid hubby instead of hanging the clothes keep asking my son to go over n play with the clothes. Cos he says he wanna compare it with my son's size now with the bb clothes.....sigh

hello all....

updates! updates!

yesterday bbA's doc in charge updated me that bbA might be able to go home in 1-2weeks time...

she's progressing well except suckling on bottles. she tends to forget abt breathing while suckling or forget abt swallowing while suckling.. doc said it's normal cos bb normally learns how to suck from 34weeks onwards.. her weight on 23 May is 1.9kg

keke thanks PB! *blush* if I still can't spot CK from afar...dunno wat to say about myself man...kekeke

Hi Jmon! Dats great news about bbA!! bet you can't wait to bring her home...do you have any pictures of her yet?? must share with us..is her little brother excited? how are you coping at home? resting well?

wow JMON that's really good news!! glad that she's doing so well!

delphine
i dreamt of you! dreamt i was at your house, and talked to desiree AND HER TWIN SISTER while you were complaining to YOUR MAID about something. then i went to the kitchen to get a drink but all the cups were dirty (haha sorry man, i cannot control what's in my dreams!) and then your hubby arrived home. very strange!!

do1nk
if you really cannot see CK hor, i also don't know waht to say haha. just in front of this entrance is the bus stop. and opposite it is the old pearl's hill police station. if you exit from chinatown mrt station, you will be to the RIGHT of the police station.

re nesting
my hubby is clearing drawers now! papas will also kena attacked by nesting syndrome? haha. and ta da, poppy's little outfits all hanging to dry. couldn't stop laughing when we were hanging them cos so cute la!
1441152.jpg

girls,
i know i have asked before but since now got some new mummies who have recently joined us, i will try my luck again...

ANYONE WANTS TO PLAY MAHJONG ONE LAST TIME WHILE OUR TUMMIES CAN STILL FIT UNDER TABLE? hehe. i don't mind offering my humble home. i stay at tiong bahru so should be quite convenient from all directions

Jmon
Really good news. Bb Adeline can go home n see korkor soon.
btw did ur gynea say anything about ur early birth n wat caused it??

Pinkbunny
U really like MJ hor......hehehe
U would like my inlaws man they have MJ session every Sat n Sun weekdays as well. But hubby n I dun play at all....hehe
Dun worry lah during confinement u can jio the mummies n play ONLINE......hehehe

re robinsons sale at expo
it started on 22nd. i popped by yesterday. if u looking for nursery stuff, not too great variety but the cosmetics and fragrances not bad if u use brands like biotherm and lancome. i had only a short time to browse so din really buy much

PB
u shd never take milk with calcium/iron pills.

youpi
not sure when will prices go up but it sounds like next week or pretty soon...

Jmon
congrats that adeline can go home!!

PB
i wan to play...but we need to find common time leh

i went for my check up. bb is now 2.1kg @ 33 weeks. gynae still say small but i tot sounds ok to me...

my bb's head still not down. her head and legs still on the left and i think that's causing me the pain...

whoa...check out the poppy laundry!

MJ: I can't play either...but can be your coffee &amp; titbits lady if you like haha

*sweating buckets on a HOT saturday afternoon*