(2008/07) July 2008

PB

very likely 1st time mothers will get episotomy. I did not sit on a float after delivery. Just be careful with your movements, and sleep on ur sides at nite to minimise pain. Hospital may give u pain killer. I took one only cos I was BF bb...

do1nk

i went shanghai a few yrs ago and went on a crazy shopping spree !! there was this famous 向陽市場 where they sell lotsa geniune-lookalike fake goods + ladies fashions items.

U know I was there with my mum and SIL for consecutive 3 days and we still thought we din cover every inch of that place ! and rem to bargain 70% off the price they quote u. it works most of the time !!

BUT BUT BUT ... this place has since closed down and I heard that the vendors actually setup another one some where else ... err not v sure, this u must ask the locals I think.

yikes...will it really hurt so much dat we gotto sit on a float? thought that was only for those who had piles/hemmorroids eeks... my friend didn't get an episiotomy and she tore in the end..but it's a judgement call by gynae right?

lbt thanks! all the shopping that I'm gonna miss out on...

sonic
my gynae also super relaxed one. he also said no need to worry when bb hasn't turned...

lbt
my mum has been going to china often cos my dad is based there now and she keeps buying stuff for my kids! she got nothing to do so always shop...

OMG labbit that's scary!!! but then again BM has high level of water right? so technically don't really need to give right? but i think old folks like to give. my babysitter already ask me to give her bottles for milk, and water.

do1nk

i think it's better to have episiotomy than tear naturally.

I had a 3cm cut from gynae cos my bb head not v big so my pain is bearable and I dont need a float.

tickling
i got it too...

and pinkbunny
was the photo taking session good?
i am still sourcing for photographer to take my preggy picture.
but cant decide. hope it is not too late.

hi qing
you also wrote to studio loft is it? cos i was next to maryann choosing my photos and saw her write 'hi qing' on her comp hehe

it was fun, yup. it took about half an hour and we spent about 1 hour choosing the photos. can prob collect in 2-3 weeks.

no la not too late. the later in your pregnancy, the better actually. then tummy bigger and more taut. but maryann is going to deliver soon liao so you'll have another photog. but also a lady, also a mummy.

because they are not guys, i didn't feel so pai say about taking the tng sar kind of photos. not completely bo cheng sa lah, like got use cloth to cover cover. quite artistic actually :D

mine i paid $160 cos i was part of the BP. now i'm not sure how much the rates are. can check their website. http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/

i will definately bring poppy back for another session! you girls keen or not? maybe we can organise a BP for this together!

pb, thanks... i will try to look out for the post... now no time to log in... n now not convenient.

re: float
i also didn't use it rgt after birth. it not so painful. i think most painful of givin birth is the labour pain lor.

but later after a few weeks i started using float. reason? reason is I kenna piles since I use all my strength to push out bb ;p

SY
ya, dr han also told me not to worry.

Fiona
i opposite from you.
i don wear bra at home.
now, don even feel like wearing panties. it always leave a mark on my skin causing discomfort. somemore, my butt got rashes. like mosquito bites loh. super itchy.

lbt

some of the vendors at xiangyang shichang have shifted to keji cheng mrt station. can get some oshkosh, carter and gym from there.

but for bb stuff, can go to this nihong guangchang (near huaihai lu). it's an underground shopping mall exclusively for bb things. got a lot of over run branded goods meant for export selling there. last year when i was mobile and still travelling for biz, i go there everytime i am in shanghai and picked up lots of good stuff. hehe!

Re: Episiotomy
Mine didn't hurt so I did not need to sit on a float. I was running, crossing legs etc the next day. The nurses kept scolding me and telling me "Slow down! You just gave birth!"
Hopefully if I need one this time, it will be the same! *cross everything!*

Qing,
I went to The Studio Loft to take pictures when ds1 was one year old. Had a good experience and some really nice pictures
There are quite a number of photographers who are advertising on the biz section of SMH. You can check them out and see which suits you best.

youpi
i changed checked with them,
they are offering $250.
but must mention SMH then got this price.

and hor, i don want my hubby to know which forum i go too. always talk bad about him. later he angry.

qing
maybe your panties too tight? try to wear cotton to let your backside breathe. i find that sometimes if i wear thong/g-string, then backside may be itchy cos of the material of the pants.

but at home wear hubby's boxers very shiok. leng leng (loose) and liang liang (cooling) hehe

youpi
ok on, if organise BP for studio loft, will share with everyone here!

PB
no harm giving them water. it is a good habit to train them from young to drink water.

re epi
i felt it is painful leh. plus i got UTI during that time. so in the end i think the whole area very sore...

new favourite snack - APOLLO pandan layer cake. bought from CK (do1nk, take note!), one HUGE packet with many small packets inside. less than $5 i think. :D

btw do1nk yesterday we were at CK then i took a photo, intending to post here to show you, then hubby said 'i thought you took a photo for your friend before already?'. hmmm. is it ah?

no la.. u have not posted pic yet keke...maybe you have another blur friend who asked before? kekeke

wah...si beh sleepy man... sun so bright some more.. feeling lazy... wanna go home early to do more unpacking for the baby

wetwipes: if we get them now...won't dry up meh by the time baby is out to use it... i've got another 9 more weeks to go??

hey wonder how jaslyn is wiv her twins...did she go for c-sec liao ah?

PB it is !!

doggie i wasnt having any kid when I went shanghai so I didnt source for kids stuff. but if I go again, i make i will !!

PB,... yeeee.. I cant imagine I wear my hubby's boxers hehehe

PB
my mum now in BJ and she can't stop shopping also.....

do1nk
no, the wet wipes won't dry. i have some that i got since last year and still never dry.....

do1nk
haha blur friend about CK? i think you're the only one! haha. i'll post for you tonight.

i think wet wipes won't dry up if not open ba?

jaslyn... so early meh? not sure leh

labbit
now i very gian to go to shanghai.... hehe.

alamak of course i wear his boxers that have been WASHED lor!!! anyway comfort is key here! i take until he complain haha.

poppy is shaking her backside now, saying hello to all aunties here hehe

lbt,
your baby hasn't turn as well? hmn.. my gynae said it's advisable not to over do it, cos it may hurt our back badly. 10 mins a day before sleep will be good.

rain,
ya, it's hard to estimate how much the final hospital bill amount will be. but every hospital should have the price for most basic package for normal delivery (ie vaginal delivery w/o epi w/o vacuum etc). that's the minimum we have to pay.

raffles hospital arh, my friend who had given birth there last year told me that raffles has the cheapest delivery package among all pte hospital leh. maybe you can have a check with them.

re episiotomy
not very painful to me so i didn't use the float. but i kenna hemorrhoids too, in the end i sit on a soft pillow wherever i go. the stubborn piles took so long to subside...

sonic

haven as of last chkup.
ok i try to do it tonite .. after my gal sleep, else she like to imitate what I do.

re silky PJ

seems like everybody is stocking up silky PJs.
do you ladies intend to wear it only during bed time or whole day during confinement month?

thought it's better to wear cotton or sweat absorbant materials since the weather is so hot.

lbt
haha.. you gal is another cutie one. she may ask you to wrap a cushion or something on her tummy so she will look exactly like you when she does that hor... hehe..

haha thanks PB!

so far I've only pinched hubby's tee shirts to wear...mine dun have silky boxers..hmm maybe I should get some for myself hor..

eh my little baby tends to move around this kinda timing too.. and when I'm on trains and buses..

feeling peckish..must raid office pantry one more time before going home...

do1nk
eh woman! nobody said anything about silky boxer shorts la!

sonic
i'm more thinking of wearing at hospital
the spaghetti strapped ones may be a bit indecent. the long shirt ones with the bear bear prints are quite ugly. haha.

umm haven't quite decided, but i think i have enough PJs to wear 24/7 la.

re tube bras
hey if anyone is looking, i bought some at tangs yesterday. cheap! impressions/jockey brand.

ok i had a funny thought last night:
if gymnasts are pregnant, do you think they will still be able to do splits with dua ba tor?

another random thought brought to you by pinkbunny

PB,
i spent ard 4K for my lasik both eyes, ok during procedure only experience discomfort such as tearing after the LA worn off, but i took the med doc gave me and slept through most of the time when back home, by the time i woke up to in still eyedrops i can see without specs liao although still a bit blur, then next day can see quite clearly. if you want recommendation, i'll send you an email on which doctor i visited, he's very popular and real nice guy.

re: episotomy
i had it the 1st time but as i was bleeding so much and kept changing pads totally forgot about the float, and by the time i'm home, the wound is not so painful but it's really comfy to sit on one.

re: silk PJ
hehe...bcos i'm going to stay in the aircon rm whole day.

re: photoshoot
i brought my gal to studio loft for CNY promo shoot when she was ard 6 mths old bah...very nicely taken.

i just saw the drinking water article. i also disapprove giving my baby water if i'm fully breastfeeding. i had very bad experience when my gal was less than a mth old, passed her to mil while i had my postnatal massage, she anyhow gave my gal alot of water and from that incident onwards, my gal started being colicky and she would merlion her whole milk feed out everytime. so now i'm going to warn her not to do it again to my boy.

PB
think u got the most PJs among all.

re tube bras
me interested leh. cheap arh? the design/cutting nice boh? are they big enough to fit our expanding boobies? still searching for XXXL tube bras...

SY
that's what i thought lor. cos seeing all of them stocking up silky PJs makes me 'xin yang yang' to get some too.. but i thought about sweating during confinement month hor.. got to pause for a while..

i was wearing my hubby t-shirts and survived the last confinement..

re bb drink water

i didn't manage to bf my boy so i did give him water since FM is heaty. he has been drinking water since he was a month old, maybe that's why he likes water very much even until now. i think just give them moderately according to their ages and milk intakes bah.

ahh drink water!

I breastfed my ger until she was 7.5 mths old and i intro water a little bit late and boy did i regret that! when she was about 7 or 8 mths, she hated water! i had to use rosehip, camomile specially from italy to entice her to drink! and she would only drink a few mouthfuls!

i persisted and luckily she is drinking a lot more water now. so for #2, i plan to intro water a little earlier even though i am breastfeeding so that he would take to water a little more readily!

doggiebb, sonic

i think not true leh. I BF my gal till 9+ mths and I only give water when she takes FM and she has water parade everyday leh.

btw anyone has frequent bowel movements now ? i do leh ...

ooh got the ans:

"almost all prenatal vitamins have a stool softner in them. Add the fact that we're eating more fruits and vegi's and you like me may end up with more trips to the bath room."

photograph
seem like studio loft quite good.
going to consider and pester hubby for it.

hubby boxer.
heehee, might steal his and wear tonight. maybe will feel better

fiona
hey thanks. where did you do yours? 4k sounds reasonable. btw your degree deep deep or not? mine about 500 each eye. should be ok la hor? eh lasik can get mc or not

re aircon
ya me too. will be staying in aircon room all day hehe. already warned hubby about the electricity bill

sonic
ah.... i not only got the most PJs, i got the most diapers too

re tube bras
flee sai one.

doggie
wah your girl got high class taste buds sia!!! must import from italy some more! hehe so cute!

re sai times
ummm i go as regularly as before preggie times. but ummm gek like mad but output not satisfying

Sonic,
^5
I also 'steal' hb's T-shirts to wear 'cos they're the only ones that fit over the bump! Also wore his tees during the last confinement, and I overwore his favourite U2 one until it had holes in it and we had to throw it out!

Drinking water
I tbf my son until 2 months ago. Introduced him to water when he was 7/8 months, when we started semi-solids. He was reluctant at first, but took to it very happily after I gave him the Pigeon Mag Mag straw cup to use. He liked drinking from the straw, so he drank more. Because he was breastfeeding very often throughout the day as well, he never drank as much water as non-bf kiddos. But never had any problems with peeing or pooing. In fact, he always had a lot of both!

pinkbunny,
you took your pics from studio loft ? They still at near orchard there ? I met maryann before cos they were sourcing for another studio location. Who will be the other photographer ?

pigeon stuff going to increase in price. so if u using pigeon, good to stock up now. just to share.

re drinking water
my boy din like to drink water when young so i think i will intro water early this time. must make it a good habit. but like youpi's one, once change to straw, he found it interesting and start drinking more...

re lasik
now the price dropped a lot already. i think can do both eyes at 2K plus...

Re: Episiotomy
I didn't have 1 cos mine was a small tear. Think u can talk with ur gynea about it if u want or not n see wat they say lor.
For me I didn't want an episiotomy if possible but cos I gave birth early never talked about anything with my gynea at all. N thankfully she opted to let me tear naturally n mine was a small tear cos bb was small. I was going up n down the bed after delivery no pain n my aunties were the ones who keep going "DUN MOVE DUN MOVE"
I didn't even take the pain killers once I was discharged.
Hopefully this time delivery will be the same lah.

lbt
My bowel movements during preg are more smooth then before preg. Guess I'm 1 of the weird ones....haha

wah i thought to tear down there is worse than having an episiotomy?

prenatal vits: what are you girls taking? my gynae only gave me folic acid and iron pills.. wonder if I should take my own fish oil? good for baby's brains? any idea anyone?

hi ladies, sorry to disturb.
I will be holding garage sale tis sunday.
Do come if interested!
<font color="ff6000"> <font size="+1">
GARAGE SALES!!!
ALL ARE WELCOME!!!</font></font>
<font color="0000ff"> <font size="+1">
Date: May 25, 2008 (Sunday)
Time: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Venue: 9 Simei St. 4
#10-02 Simei Green Condo
Singapore 529865</font></font>
Payment Mode: Cash Only

Details:
Items starting from $0.50 available!
Just a peek at what will be up for sale:

Household
- 29" Panasonic Flat Screen TV
- Queen-sized Wooden Bedroom Set (Guest Room)
- Glass Coffee Table
- Standing Oscillating Fans
- Brand New (in box) 3-tier Food Steamer

Baby / Children's Accessories &amp; Toys
- Cot Bedding Set (Used twice)
- Millk Bottles (Almost New &amp; Used
conditions)
- Girls' Dressing Table set...

and MUCH MORE!

Btw I so happy I cleared my GD blood test...Yipeee

do1nk
Think if u do a search n readup on the internet there are some who are very pro on NO Episiotomy.
N I find got alot of diff views lah jus see which u n ur gynea more comfortable with.
For me cos I already dislike needles. I cannot imagine some 1 taking something to cut me. N my sis told me she can 'feel' the cut.
So for me I rather not get cut cos scared....hehe

Vits wise - I'm taking Fish Oil, Calcium n jus from yest Iron cos gynea say I abit anemic. But I suddenly vomited this afternoon after taking the pills......sigh
1st time for this preg somemore dunno is it the Iron pills.

Fish oil is for the brains. But not proven yet though....hehe
My gynea told me the proven 1 is us taking fish oil while BFing bb. So now they KS preg also take liao.

so it's even better to take fish oil while bf-ing? hmm..ok I must ask my gynae at my next visit...thanks!

sardine's supposed to be good too right (but can't recall for what).. darn.. I asked for a sardine puff and I'm munching thru a VERY SPICY potato curry puff now...grr...