(2008/07) July 2008

lbt
Ur BM got alot hor....hehe
Cos mine dun leak 1 leh......hahaha
So I was wondering also when ppl say their breast will leak when taking hot shower. But good lah I dun need breastpads....keke

do1nk
Okie actually I bought normal BIG bags to use as diaperbag....hehe
Must look glam also ma.....hehe
I love big bags cos can stuff alot of things in n makes me look smaller......wahahaha
I actually ordered a Carter's diaper bag from BP but waited for like 2 mths n still haven arrived so I sian liao ask the organiser to refund me instead.
Meanwhile I got my cousin to help me buy an XL Agnes B bag from Japan n I jus ordered the Stella Macartney LSS waiting for it to arrive......hahahaha

sonic
Try not to look behind lor......hahaha
I guess I've had them for so long n knowing they won't disappear I jus dun think about them anymore. I still wear short skirts....hehe
I think so long as they dun get worse its okie for me already.
I'm still thinking of the Isetan Pte sale next week....HOW!!...haha

I was worried about that too n my friend actually told me the contractions will be sluggish n asked me to walk/squat more when nearing EDD. But I asked my gynea n she says the pills will only take effect for 8hrs. N according to her she's gonna stop my pills early at 34wks.
Which I'm not sure if its considered early cos I delievered my #1 at 36wks ma. So which is why I sort of only take the pills 2 times a day at most....hehe

Blurmummy
Urmmmmmmmm of cos staying at home whole day is very boring so u can try to bring bb out for short periods once u are comfortable. Maybe starting with other ppl around n once u can cope it will be like normal.
I used to bring my son out shopping alone nearly everyday even when I jus got preg. Now then I tone down cos ban by gynea n I get tired very easily.
Wat I do is I make sure hubby will come n fetch me after his work finis so worse come to worse find some place to sit down n rest till hubby comes lor.....hehehe

Maybe for me its easier to give up cos I dun go facial or gym. Holidays compromise abit lor anyway with the kids abit limited n we also dun travel alot before we married.
But this forum is very addictive lor esp the sprees n all I dun buy branded bags before I was a SAHM. NOW I have afew.....hahaha

Pinkbunny
U starting BP aah for the shoes??....hehe
I jus saw ur email(went into my spam) n I'm thinking which shoes to get they r all so pretty....hehehe
Will wait for ur BP then.

For those mummies who are using normal nappies may i know you all wash by hand or washing machine? I tell my husband i will use washing machine but he tell me no one do that. He ask me to wash by hand.

wah blurmummy you wake up so early!!! i will use nappy liner. then just phiew! throw the sai away hehe

happy mothers day to everyone. both for mums with kids already and those expecting them (can consider liao la!)

i just want to give special kudos to mums who already have kids... i already feel very very tired now just being myself and taking care of big kid (hubby), but you girls still find the strength and energy to run after small ones while balancing a little pumpkin inside you. very pei fu. kowtow....

so here's to all mums. may we always have the strength to stand by our kids, the wisdom to teach them right from wrong, and the patience to accept what we cannot change

wow ... SAHM ... envy.

Double-boil is actually easier but waste a fair bit of electricity.

Brought 1 claypot last sale but found that it is too small to cook soup so now have to get a bigger 1.

PB,

We ladies actually adapts to environment fast ... is sort of like mommy instint born in us naturally. U will learn how to balance your life with all the kudos (including hubby)

Dun worry too much about it and pei fu us. U will soon be able to do it, maybe even with more kids.

blurmummy,

Think most pple use washing machine to wash nappies..... no one handwash la..... machine spin dry already, then will dry very fast. With bb feeding every 2 hours, no time to hand wash!!!!

I wash with Pigeon baby detergent.... all the stains (from poo) will go away easily.

Nappy liner... yes yes..... like what PB says.... can throw the sai away..... less stains to wash. Nappy liner supposedly provides a barrier between urine and bb's bum. But every time bb urine, nappy so wet... we'll quickly change for him already.

Pinkbunny
This few days baby kick till i can't zZZ if not i will not wake up so early.

Piyoz
Now i know what to do thank

blurmummy
I dun use nappy for my son at all cos I dun wanna stress with washing nappies. Wanna concentrate on baby.
Hubby was the 1 who wanted to use nappies for bb so I told him he got to wash them cos I'm not going to do it.....hehehe
Anyway I'm the 1 caring for our kids not him ma why should he be bothered about wat I use.

blurmummy
Force?? then ask him to take care of his bb himself lor......hahaha
We r the ones who are taking care of the bb so we should be the 1 calling the shots ma. Must be doing wat we are comfortable doing right.
Else u keep doing wat ppl tell u to do until U will also be blur so jus do wat u feel is right wat matters most is to keep ur sanity n u n bb happy.

happy mother's day!!

re mobile on cot
i heard not good for eyes. can become crossed eye so dun hang too early.

re SAHM
i raelly hoping to become one after #2! already missed out on #1 and dun wan to miss out on #2! of cos i will miss the easier life of working and the freedom as well but i thnk for now, i can try to give it up. hb did say maybe will get rid of the maid though...so hope i can cope. actualyl i look forward to it. cos feel that without a maid, i have more control over my household. with a maid ard, i tend not to check my fridge etc...

re bb movements
mine also very active until i can't take it sometimes...i do hope she wil be a sleepy baby though..hee

SY
So decided already?? Ur hubby willing to relent n let u sah?? Congrats....hehe

re bb movement
If really follow same pattern after birth then I sure die cos now bb most active at night n in the early morns.......jialat n I still hopping I can sleep in during the 1st few mths....hahaha
My bb movements getting more n more uncomfortable but I am hopping its becos she is trying to turn though.....sigh

morning ladies

Re : Bb size
Went to gynae last friday. Estimated 31 wks 4 days and weighs bout 1.65kg liowZ! 3 weeks ago I went was only 1.05kg...hmmzz, bb put on around 600g in 3 wks! But I guess all these is agatagat one also. Woah...which means I shld be 32 wks today liowz...so fast

PB,
How come ur HR so farnie? Me that time work until the Friday then the coming Monday went to induce *lol* Which means I work until bouat 39wks 4 or 5 days and induced at 40wks! *lol*

baby movements are really cute now
but sometimes can be a bit uncomfortable. esp when it's sudden and big!

any mummy interested? i have a form for 'free frisomum 400g' which is supposed to be formula for pregnant / breastfeeding mums. you just have to fill it up and fax it to friso then they will send you a coupon for you to collect at guardian pharmacy. whoever is keen please let me know if not i will give out to other mums in the forum

celeste
i think cos in retail, we walk alot so they want to minimise any potential dramas! btw i checked and they said it's 12 weeks x 5 cos technically weekends are still weekends, so it's 60, not 84 days that i can apply to take.

PB,
U work in retail? Hehe...got any discount if we buy from u anot? But must ask what kind of pdt u selling first...hehe

So ur HR count by weekdays not including weekends thats y u have 60 days only.

SY,
Congrats to u!
Me thinking of sahm also...hb agree with it too but i very worried i will go gilaz handling 2 kids...ahahah

Re : Bb Movements
Ya, sometimes feel so farnie now....and then at times feel machiam like bb "scratching" us with their fingers or wat kind of feeling...*lol*

Re : Getting sick
Haizz...me now also a bit of coughing n phglem...guess bad weather nowadays

celeste
sure, got discount. if you are my mother or my father, my husband or my kids
. otherwise cannot la, i'll get fired

better rest well. i'm just beginning to recover from my cold.

good morning mummies!

re: baby movement
yup it does feel kinda uncomfortable now. i also felt the dunno it's toes or fingers going against our uterus inside...if i lie on my back, can see a part of baby's body protrude out alot when he stretches, cute but can be scary also leh :p

re: maternity leave
PB, you mean working in retail dun have the extra govt paid leave? for most of us it's 56 days from co and another 28 days from govt, that's why it make up to 84 days.

oh pinkie ah

talking about cot mobile, i recommend this one.

http://www.tinylove.com/toy.aspx?toyId=66

my ger loves this tiny love symphony-in-motion mobile. i don't think there will be any problem with being cock eyed (well my ger is not) as it is constantly moving and this tiny love movements are very varied, not just going round and round, there are stuff falling down and jiggling all over the place. hehe!

Doggiebb,
I also have the Tiny Love Symphony-in-Motion mobile, but mine is the shapes one, not farmyard animals. It plays Mozart, Bach,and Beethoven. Ds1 loved it and would reach out and tug at it or kick it or push at it with his hands when he was little

SY.
Congrats on being 'promoted' to SAHM-status! You'll be deserving of $23,000 per month, as reported in yesterday's papers!
I am probably going the other direction though - will probably have to start looking for a job next year

Gynae appts
My next gynae appt in in 3 weeks, not 4. Which means countdown time! From three weeks, to two, then one week, then every day... This pregnancy has gone past so fast!

youpi
ya countdown time indeed!!! stress... cos got so much work i want to clear before going on leave!

been having a few dreams about giving birth lately. and very vivid. i woke up screaming EPI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! my husband dio chuak hehe

paisay but I'm gonna ask another question that may sound stupid:

ok..previously we were talking about BRAXTON HICKS and some of you say it feels like part of your stomach has gone out of shape and is much harder than the other parts for a few sec/min?

now..how do you tell if that slightly funny bump that feels harder...is not your baby pressing against your stomach..eg like his limb pressing there and making your tummy protrude out for a while?

to cut my lor-sor-ness short... how do you tell if it's a braxton hicks or your baby/ baby's limbs?

*blush*

having a bit of a tummy upset since last nite too and getting a bit worried..praying it's the prata I ate and nothing else...I'm not ready! I'm not ready! I dun even have a cot or most of my baby stuffs yet..... *panic*

SY
sorry i rember u post the hospital packed bag list before but i unable to find fm the previous thread could u post again. thanks u so much

was wondering since I am choosing c-sec so I probably dont need to go for antenatal classes right ? cos it teaches mainly breathing exercises etc. I only need to attend the parent craft classes which is about how to take care of baby. I saw in the gleneagles brochure that during your stay in the hospital, they have classes everyday to attend. So I probably don't need to call them now right ?

catherine,

i not sure abt gleneagles but tmc also offer bf and takin care of bb classes everyday at certain time. so if u miss one, u can go for the next day 1.

re sahm
no no not confirmed yet. my hb changes his mind like a woman! sometimes he will talk like he willing sometimes he will say no..anyway, i will just go ahead and do it for a while..haha. just tell him i can't find a job.

yeah i saw that article. i told him i won't ever make 23K a month doin what i m doing now!

celesteblur
your hb agree!? that's good. mine is very half hearted one...

he thinks i more useful working outside.

PB
you feel your tummy hardening during contractions. a bit like cramps. those movements where your tummy goes out of shape i tot it's due more to movements? it is quite different from the tummy hardening.

serene
i got the list from mumcentre website. let me go and find again.

HOW HIGH DO YOU ELEVATE YOUR LEGS:

U know how they say we should try to elevate our legs when sitting down, to reduce water retention and to put less stress on them so we don't get varicose veins right?
-> what I did was to put this big box below my table so I can actually lift my legs up as high as my bum seating level

Then recently I read in babycenter that some babies are born facing frontwards (they should be facing backwards right?) and to avoid this we should not elevate our legs such that knees are higher than bum level (tilting pelvis, hence may cost baby to face frontwards?)

so now I'm lost...do I elevate my legs or not.. and does this mean I should not let my knees go higher than my bum level?

*blush* hope this is not another stupid question from me...

hehe SY, it was do1nk who asked about hardening tummy la.

do1nk, for me, at work, i put my feet up about half a foot, and rest on the ankles. at home when i'm on the sofa i put feet up on coffee table/pouffe. when i sleep, i put my entire calves downwards (all the way down to feet) on cushions.

don't kua zhang and go and stand on your head ok? hehe. seriously, if higher than bum, it would be very uncomfortable right?

SY
i think most hubbies feel a bit scared to be sole breadwinner ba. mine, i want to 'downgrade' in the company also he scared liao. mouth say 'ok, stay at home' but from his expression i can tell that he's worried la. the only financial exchange he can see from me staying home is the babysitter fee that we don't need to pay lor.

but i see it in a bigger picture. like can cook for baby and watch baby grow. to me, i can be effective at work but at the end of the day, though i can chart my progress, it's still just a job. but if i am at home, then i get to enjoy the progress of my baby with her

pinkbunny is seriously considering to be sahm!

PB
is it do1nk? hee i scanned throuhg too fast..

yeah i agree with u on the bigger picture but my hb can't see it....u know, it's really hard to make them see things that way i see it. in order to be SAHM and to make him feel less stress, i agree to contribute the same amt to the household as i m contributing now. not going to be easy cos it means dipping into my own savings.

i dun wan to be stressed on both sides. when i ahve something to rush, i tend to be short tempered and when my son not cooperative, i will scold him more. so these are the things i really wan to avoid. but my hb can't seem to udnerstand.

anyway yesterday my son out of the blue wished me happy mother's day. really made my day. almost teared when he said it..

hey that's really not fair to you, to continue contributing same amount! what about the effort you spend taking care of the kids? i think better talk about all these things before finally deciding ya? maybe the SAHMs here can share some advice?

so sweet your son wished you! i asked my hubby 'how, this year can celebrate or not?' he said ya sure. but then never plan anything for me. KNS. next year better have something ah!

Dear mummies, Im from the Mar Mummies forum. I am selling my medela Mini Electric Plus breast pump. Used oni for a few times. Selling bcos I haf decided not to breastfeed. Interested pls contact me at 96939779. Thanks.

PB
hope the calamine helps. oh yeah, what I normally did is, I stored the lotion in the fridge, so when I apply it on my tummy… it's so cooling and nice…

garfield
wow your card have 50% off at mothercare outlets? your are the 'platinum' member or what? Gold card member only 20% leh.
thanks for sharing, I won't be shy to ask from you if I need to get anything from mothercare later… hehe…

youpi
Congrats! You passed the glucose test arh… hehe.. I think me too leh, cos they didn't call me up after a week… no news is good news mah. So can start to eat more liao…. I've been thinking about durian….. yum yum..

dor dor
ya lor, will not look behind, anyway, can really see it myself, must use mirror. If not my sister noticed and told me, I won't know that I had it. Anyway I've sounded my hubby out, asked him how does he think of my ugly legs… he said still look okey… haha.. I sort of got clearance liao.. as long as he's fine, don't care lah. Xiao3 nu3 ren2 hoh…

SY
you are really wei3 da4, if I were you, I will tell my hubby off… hey, carry a baby for 9 months already not easy, somemore needs to take care of baby till they are old enough to be on their own.. don't forget the kids also theirs…

mummies who are going to poop in KKH
have anyone of you book your room liao? anyone staying in 4 bedded room before? I'm hestitate whether to take 1 bedded or 4 bedded…. Last time I took 1 bedded, hubby accompany me. But this time round hubby won't be rooming in as need to be at home entertain my #1. sigh, wanted 1 bedded but scared of hantu leh… :p
4 bedded a bit too crowded right? Somemore only 2 toilets available… hmn wat if I need to visit toilet often. Too bad KK has no option for 2 bedded.

Hi do1nk,

I have the same concerns as you, as I am trying for VBAC. My first pregnancy I don't know whether this is my main cause (bb in OP position). But I admit that I did elevate my legs high while I was sitting.

This time, I don't dare to elevate legs while sitting but I am wearing compression stocking.

garfield
wah your discount at mothercare is 50%?! you are my best friend now!!!!!!!! hehe

sonic
wah put in fridge some more! lagi cold and shiok sia! yes it's worked. now my rash is gone liao yay

SY, braxton hicks dun feel painful wan right? so can't tell if it's a contraction or not? anyway.. think I'll juz assume it's baby movements lah for now.. haha

PB, haha I think you are right...I exagerated huh..now dat I look at myself (sitting at my desk here) my knees are indeed not higher than my bum level but at the same level which is about 15-16 inches off the ground?

Dear mummies...

Can chk which daiper is good for boy (newborn)and can hold their urine more...

I have not started buying any yet cos was thinking for boy they usually get wet in front rite then girl then actually which diaper is best for bb boy to use?

SY & PB
I have told my hubby before that since i'm not working right nw intend to be SAHM till bb abt 6mth than after which than i will go out to find job but he told me no coz presently nw he the only one contribute to houshold expenses he find it quite tight, and i also dun have much allowance fm him as well ...sigh i'm so afraid to leave my bb with maid as well ....