(2008/07) July 2008

goodie morning!

PB: I wanna buy soft books from babysoft too! when are you ordering? already have 2 at the moment... my 1 yr old niece tore up a lot of her board books so we resorted back to cloth books and those waterproof ones dat she can read in her bathtub haha

DORDOR: wat...so what diaper bag did you get? one thing about using normal big bags is that they do not have the many compartments so your things may end up being all messed up inside right? That's one of the reasons why I've never really like big bags even when not preggie..can never find my stuffs inside...

PLACENTA PATE: eeks! not me, for sure! No one can even get me to eat scary looking things like frog legs or black skinned chicken (that looks like an alien!)

BB WEIGHT: sigh.. my very conventional gynae has not been scanning my baby..only listening to his heartbeat so I have no idea how big my little one is, but I've put on at least 12kg now (wk29)

STORING CORDBLOOD: decided not to store with Cordlife or Stemcord but to donate my baby's cordblood to the SG CORDBLOOD BANK..what about you girls?

Yoga Class
I have check with my club they mention if i were to bf it not advisable for hot yoga only normal yoga would be better but hor hot yoga tend to lose weight easily than normal yoga ....

BB safe latext mattress
u can actually get it fm OG or robinson if i'm not wrong OG having 20% discount but not sure till when ....in fact i got it fm OG bu have to air it for a few days before using coz it has v strong latext smell....

dor dor
dunno leh. he very funny. he said abt 10 days earlier. then i ask whether it will be end june. he said definitely not june. so i narrowed the dates down to 1 or 2 Jul..funny hor. let's see whether he will be accurate or not

PB
dun hang those hanging toys too early. bb may end up cross eye.

what i did was to paste some pic beside the cot instead....

piggy
no worries. my gal was only 700g at 28 weeks but now at 31 weeks she caught up. i can feel she past 3 weeks got growth spurt cos i suddnely eat much more than usual

bluey
1kg at 28 weeks is normal weight.

hmm, for my first maid, i got no one to supervise also but at that time i din even have camera! only got it much later.

re bb safe latx mattress
the smell can be quite strong. when i bought the kid's pillow for my boy, he refused to use it cos of the smell. but i guess if your bb use it right from the start, they won't really mind...

do1nk
i already signed up with cordlife.

serene,
what lbt said is true, your boobies will be leaking in the heat...hehe

do1nk,
i've been wanting to donate cordblood to the public bank but the 1st child i delivered in MAH in 2006 and they dun do the collection there, think this round should be no prob bcos delivery will be in SGH.

labbit
======

funny la you, always put these funny images in our minds! oh last week my ante natal class the nurse said if you intend to BF, don't put soap on your neh nehs when showering. cos the milk contains antisepctic or something that keeps it clean. soap removes it. and after each BF/expressing session, rub a bit of the milk on your nipples to prevent them from cracking.

musical toy
======

yup pull on string then got music one! i will hang on the cot's rail. tom and steph got? ok i go check it out later! never see before leh. mobile i hang over changing table to keep her occupied when we change her
oh which reminds me. another thing to do .... got to install the mobile....

do1nk
======

maybe we take the cloth book compilation offline?
i only want one book. the dino one - have written to them to clarify language (it says it is in french but the pic all shows english?) but no reply yet!

hey if any mummy wants, i have the following coupons from giant:

all coupons are applicable even when item is on promo

- $1 off frisco gold 3, risshield with AA, DHA & SA. got 4 coupons, each can buy 4 units. 1.8kg promo valid till 12 june

- $1 off enfapro A+ stage 2 follow up milk powder 900g. 1 coupon (valid for 4 units), valid till 12 june

- $1 off enfagrow A+ stage 3 growing-up milk powder with added choline, vanilla, 900g 2 coupon (valid for 4 units each), valid till 12 june

- $1 off enfakid A+ stage 4 growing up milk powder with added choline, 1.8kg. 1 coupon (valid for 4 units each), valid till 12 june

- 50 cents off HUGGIES dry comfort disposable baby diapers jumbo pack (M66s/L60s/XL54S). 2 coupons (valid for 4 units each), valid till 12 june

- 50 cents off HUGGIES pull up pants (M42s/L36s/XL30s/XXL24s). 2 coupons (valid for 4 units each), valid till 12 june

i can send to anyone who wants
but limited to you guys in this thread only la

PB,
can i have the coupons for huggies dry comfort and huggies pull up pants? my gal currently using these 2 range. i'll pay for the postage. thanks

PB

yeah i was taught the same thing in MAH ante natal class. I always massage my areola with EBM after each latch/pump so no crack at all ! breast milk is just amazing. and I dont use any nipple creams too.

do1nk
======

yup confirmed getting the dino book. let me know what you want then we can combined la

labbit
======

yay good to know that time spent at ante natal class not wasted!! wah breast milk sounds very amazing hor? maybe it's like those qing chun siao lian goh, can make facial mask some more haha

OMG situation
======

ladies.... guess what.... just realised that next week i'll be at 32 weeks... and that means EIGHT MONTHS PREGGIE LIAO!!!!! OMG OMG OMG!

HR haven't come back to me on how many DAYS of maternity leave we get yet. but i did find out that they will 'force' us to go 1 week before EDD. in case.

dor dor
I went to see GP, hoping to ask for some cream for the veins, but he told me cream doesn’t help, must go for surgery to get rid of them… wah… so scary, I don’t want to do surgery just becos of that…. Guess I have to behave myself now, no more shopping.. GSS is coming… 

The anti-contraction pills
Just curious, after having that, doesn’t it make your labour longer? Cos I’m thinking since your body already has this anti substance, will it still working against contraction when come to true labour time?

bluey,
1kg at 28 wks is alright I thought? Cos according to the chart , it’s perfect weight leh. Mine also weights 1kg at 28wks… no worries la.
http://www.babycenter.com/average-fetal-length-weight-chart

tummy rash
for those who has this problem, can apply calamine lotion. It’s safe for preggies, and the result is almost immediate for me, itchness stop and rashes disappeared. i got it from my GP instead of getting from pharmacy, just to play safe.

Serene
Do you know if OG's 20% apply to the mattress? I was at Robinson but BB Safe got no 20% off.

Sonic
Thanks. Will go check with the mommy!

SY
Yah, the latext mattress and pillow got pretty strong smell. Maybe you can try washing the pillow for your boy? It does help with the smell.

thanks sonic. i bought calamine lotion from guardian just now. now wondering if i can reach my rash or maybe have to ask colleague to help haha.

someone tell me how does braxton hicks feel? cos i've been feeling my tummy tightening and relaxing quite regularly today. like she wants to come out! scary scary.

Dor Dor

Thank i will try to think positive but you don't feel boring staying at home

Pinkbunny

You are right have to give up alot of things no facial, no gym, no holidays plus cannot go anyway as i want but as Dor Dor said must think positive

on the other hand, watching your child grow up, being able to cook nutritious food for her, seeing her smile when you pick her up from school.... priceless

PB

yes I think u have BH contractions. They are normal, preparing the body for labour. But if gets too freq like say 6-8 times a day, then inform ur gynae ok ? i was on Sabutomol medication for #1 cos my BH contractions was v freq at week 30. Gynae checked cervix, say got a bit bit contractions .. so ask me minimise movements.

labbit
=====

oh so exciting! but so scary also. umm when you say 6-8 times, does it mean 1 time = relax + contract, or 1 time = a few minutes of relax + contract??

oh ... 1kg @ 28 weeks is ok.

I see a lot of you mentioned 1+kg so I tot mine is too small.

I did not really monitor my baby weight of my #1 so still blur blur.

Next week, going for checkup and have to pay deposit for my delivery charges.

I keep telling my hubby that I have this feeling that my baby is eager to come out ... maybe Jun. I wonder why??

thanks labbit. actually it happened 2-3 times i think when i was walking back from lunch to office...

oh the website says it might be caused to dehydartion too. think that's what i am cos sick.

PB

it did says that ?
i am not sure but I always drink lotsa water during pregnancy. always feel thirsty then go pee so often within an hour .. so tiring ...

hehe ya. on the portion of 'how to feel better' i think.

i'm drinking super alot too. did i tell you girls that from wed morning, when i came back from doc, all the way to this morning, i slept almost all the way through... except waking up to pee/cough/eat!!!

SNL
the 20% applies to the latex matress i just check but i bought it 2 to 3 mth ago last wk went OG check also got 20%.... just saw BHG also having sales but dun noe they sell the latex matress or not ....

PB
I also experience BH these few says what i did was i drink 100 plus n it really me to replenish my water intake.

hospital bag
how many sets of bb clothes do we need to pack ??
and also how many sets of miteen?

SNL
i bought from her too! cheap and very soft
ya me too not related to the seller but i really find her way of working very good. she's very patient, and unfazzled even though we ask so many questions hehe

serene
really? 100 plus? but already drinking alot of water leh. now drinking some gek huay cos my throat really painful
lozenges also not helping

Serene
Oh goody! on 20% off at OG ah... will go and see...

If I remember correctly, I only pack 1 set of clothes for the bb for going home. As for mittens and booties, a few sets I think... anyway, the hospital wrap them up very tightly, their hands and legs won't get exposed one... so, even if you don't have mittens and booties is still ok. But do bring along a pair for bringing the bb home.

PB
You also bought ah! I was very happy when I received the hankies... quality was way better than expected lor, given the price... yah, she quite good even though so many queries were flying about!

PB
dun put those mobile. those toys with music one ok but not those mobile hanging over the cot. at least not the first few months.

SNL
i just left it on his bed and after a few weeks he ok with the pillow. think just need the smell to go away

re braxton hicks
if the contractions are too regular, must let gynae know abt it.

serene
i only packed one set of bb clothes cos other times bb will be wearing the hospital ones.

OG at orchard got baby section or not ah?

isetan - not sure, they've not sent me anything yet.

SNL
ya i also bought! i just opened to touch touch abit then seal back the package hehe. cos want to keep them clean until open to wash for use. she very zai la, everything answer so calmly. if me, i sure blur one! oh me too, bought gerber and the other brand, the china one hehe

speaking of which, i starting BP next week! all kakis here must support support a bit ah!

yaya SY
i also scared wait fall on her head!

baby movements
she's really moving so much these days and big movements too. when my hubby feels them he will open his eyes very big and say very excitedly 'WOW DID YOU FEEL THAT?'. and i just nod like 'please la, suaku, i feel it all the time' haha.

washing nappies
for those mummies who are using normal nappies - don't use bleach right? but normal detergent or baby detergent?

Am back from gynae! Bb at 30 weeks is 1.4kg. Gynae says is average. And I passed the glucose test, so can still eat chocolates! Heng ah!

Sales
Great Singapore Sale is starting soon right? So we still have one chance to get the things that we missed out on. At the Robinsons sale, the Allerhand backpack was going for $88+, down from $120+ I think. But only in the red/navy blue colour,

Bbsafe latex mattress & pillows
There's a smell? I did not have that problem, whether with the mattress or the kid's pillow leh.

Rashes on tummy
PB, the PUPPP is worst-case scenario lah. I know someone who had it and who was itching like mad until baby was delivered. If it is heat rash - probably is, considering the weather these days - then no need to worry

SY

is it becos the mobile toys are bad for eyes ah ? that's what I heard lah.

PB, ur hubby understand "sua ku" meh ? haha

my gal move a lot too. Like as if she dont need to sleep like that ! my gyane says their movement in and our of the womb will be the same leh ... means means ... my gal is very ACTIVE !!! oh no !!

but but I rather have an active bb than a quiet one.

youpi

congrats on passing the test !!

Blurmummy,
I became SAHM atfter ds1 was born. I think it was one of the best decisions I have ever made in my life. Yes, must give up a lot, but the reward is being with your child and witnessing every step of his development and discovery, and building an amazing bond. It's such a privilege to be able to do all that

That said, I must admit that I do miss the freedom of having $$ to spend on whatever I like, massages, facials, etc. We do go on holidays, but only to closer Asian destinations, and for short trips.

I have had to learn how to cook. Only recently learnt how to do a hardboiled egg, and to fry an omelette without burning it and leaving a burnt mess stuck to the pan. Sometimes I get cabin fever and think I will go mad facing the walls of the house. So we get out almost every day.

It's a big change if you are used to working life. But oh, definitely worth it in all the intangible ways!

thanks youpi. these little babies hor, so ma fan! wash clothes need one special detergent, nappies need one special detergent, cannot wash with papa and mama's clothes some more. hehe

oh chocolates........ i must tahan for the sake of my poor throat for a few days!!!!!!!!!

put calamine on my rash liao (thanks again sonic!). it was quite an adventure. must use mirror all, cos cannot see the bottom part of my tummy hehe

PB
Yes, OG Orchard has a small bb section... and I must emphasize SMALL.

SY
Why cannot hang ah? I hung for my no. 1... really not good for the eyes ah... jia lat!

Lbt
I think what your gynae said is true! My no. 1 loves to kick me when in my tummy. Then when he was out, always kicking and stretching his legs! His kicks were also very strong for a new born!

eh? i type type halfway then everything disappeared. got ghost or what.

i think hanging mobiles cos goyang goyang in front of babies then make them mabok that's why not good? but hoenstly, they cannot see colour until like 6 months right? so hang also no use right? and very early in their lives they can only see things very close to their faces. that's why they recognise mummy and papa's voices the most

SNL
so... not worth going ah? albert complex one is not bad. quite big.

aiyoh now coughing and blowing my nose alot. scared the force will scare my poppy...

PB

i think it's the eye coordination. Scare they focus on the object for too long then got eyes alignment prob. at newborn they can only see black red and white so buy toys of these colors.

SNL

ya lor .. so now I scared scared liao ! ahha

SNL
yeah i always go to the one at Albert complex quite ...

PB
Yeah try 100 plus i drink that for 2 days liao nw quite okay liao.
would u be doing BP for milk storage bag i will be the first one to support u

hi dordor ...

yup... the gynae did say that bb will b on the smaller size .. that's y i never take note of the weigh until i saw u gals discussin on the weigh thing ...

ya.. gg to ask her again next fri...

hello!
been doing so much OT i haven't been to the forum for over a fortnight! haiz.

last night had a nightmare that i was so stressed that i went into early labour. then wake up already really panic, coz, yeah, still haven't bought a lot of baby things yet.

mummies, how many packs of diapers should i prepare? now i only have two packs of drypers newborn (so total 56 pieces). if i see offer of pampers should i just grab the S size and all that? or would need newborn sizes for a longer time?

ehhhhh can i really be prepared for motherhood? i feel so un-maternal yet. how ah. only just started at the MAH antenatal class. (see, everything also so last min, even signing up for the class)

serene
haha no la but i think got some milk storage bag BPs going around right? i'm doing small sized things - all of us cannot fit in wan keke. aiyoh better stop talking about it, wait kena one moderator's shoe kicking a pink bunny butt out of the forum!

dustee
hehe i think i better diam diam about your diaper question. i already have super alot. got 20 cloth nappies, a bunch of bumwear, and i think 3-4 packs of goon, nepia, pampers newborn and some more S size one la de da..... hehe

hey i'm at MAH class too! but tomorrow is my last class liao. i missed #4 though so will ask if i can join the next batch. so maybe will see you then la!

garfield,
ya I also got alot of stuff at the mothercare parkway before the reno started. now the shop so small and pathetic.. only left half shop. and all very old stock.

bluey,
Isetan mid year members sale next thurs 15th May. 8.30am
shopping time !!!!

dustee,
don't worry .. I haven't even started my antenatal class. I don't know where to go :p I think will call Gleneagles to ask them. They say better go to the hospital you are delivering for the class. Is it true ?

catherine
better faster call. they get choped up fast! i know that for MAH they charge less if you sign up with them and deliver there. guess it makes sense.

happy shopping bluey
good ah, the claypot?? ok ok i better not get any funny ideas. stick with my double boiler can liao hehe.

goodnight to everyone, from pinkbunny and her fat-and-going-to-explode sausage toes!