(2008/07) July 2008

SY
ya lor..
they dun know dun want to ask..
always yes only..
and my mum's maid also always say she swear she never do this or that...
listen also pek chek..

coconut jelly, finally found it! didn't know what i was looking for so i asked. felt a bit stupid asking actually cos i didn't know what it was called so just asked for the 'coconut jelly thing'. the guy said GOT! THERE! but err... i only see coconuts.... YA LA THAT'S THE ONE LA!!!

wah very nice. and hubby so not shy, helped himself to so much :S

1373193.jpg

morning mummies

pinkbunny
looks nice leh!
can eat coconut ah?
my mum say cannot eat leh..kenna ban..

this morn feeling lousy..
backache and tummy not feeling well..
got the feeling wana go toilet but nothing..

morning mummies...moving day is drawing near!

Hi Sonic...hope you can sort things out with your maid...like the rest said, think better not to force her to stay..and better to change now than later closer to delivery date.

As for moving, we are not people who pantang such things.. but for the sake of my parents and my IL's I will be staying in the room or bringing my dog out for a walk when the movers arrive with the boxes lor..

PB you finally found the coconut jelly! heheh nice right? me and my dog love it too! but dunno how to choose... one or two may be the "older" coconut where the flesh is not as soft and nice.. but still very nice overall haha

Jaslyn.. I guess they say coconut may be too cooling but as long as you do not over eat should be ok?

jaslyn
we can eat coconut nearer delivery. supposed to help in being less bloody. dunno how true but i like coconuts!

what do u mean by tummy not feeling well? like wan to pass motion?

do1nk
maybe bah..
make me wana go but the dessert liao..hehe

heard from my uncle that eating coconut during last trimester can help reduce bb's "eye shit"
dun noe true anot leh..
he say his sons dun have cos he let his wife eat..

wah had bak chang this morning for breakfast. shiok
but now feel very bloated keke.

coconut, i heard it makes the babies 'cleaner'. dunno if it means less bloody (but then nurses will clean right? so what's the diff?) or the baby will have less skin infections or what.

but i heard that it should be the green coconuts not the brown ones. dunno, dunno. my mother says she's never heard of this thing.

i also like coconuts. but some people say liang. like most things, just take in moderation is the safest?

do1nk, must choose one ah? i just asked the guy to get one for me hehe. wah it's really nice. the flesh is infused with jelly. my fav part is scraping the flesh off the 'cover' at the end hehe.

then after, i was thinking, eh quite nice the husk, can we do something with it? grow plants maybe? my husband say i siao. but so cute mah the 'shell'....

sonic,
i agree with rest of the mummies, think it's advisable to change your maid now than later, since she's alrdy not so keen and sounded kinda lazy from your description.

honestly we can never know exactly what a maid thinks, for mine(she's my 4th one alrdy), recently told me she wants to transfer bcos can't stand my mil, but when i explored further then found out it's bcos she's worried about the delivery of my 2nd one and that she'll have an increase in workload. but i told her we'll handle the baby, she'll just have to concentrate on housework(which is why i employ one in the 1st place), then did she apologise to me. and i'm very sure it's the next door neighbour's maid who taught her this nonsense and how to lie.

so never trust a maid completely no matter how good they are.

jaslyn,
me also been having tummy ache, been experiencing lao sai for couple of days, think i ate too much papaya :p

PB,
I love this coconut jelly! pls pls tell me where you bought it! the last time i had this was in a thai food restaurant.

do1nk,
i also hide in the room or wherever i can't see the moving furniture..hehe

fiona
======

actually it was recommended by evon
opposite tiong bahru plaza there is a 4-story block, filled with shops. mostly clinics, hair salons, there is a 7-eleven on the ground floor. at the extreme left of this block is a fruit shop. the fruit shop extends out of its premise, and overflows towards the car park. the coconuts are displayed there. just ask the guys if you don't see them (they will be thinking 'walau why so many pregnant women coming here?' hehe)

Jaslyn, SY, do1nk, fiona

thanks for your advices.

u know what, just when I wanted to call my agent up at night, she suddenly said she changed her mind and wanted to stay instead. I went ahead to call agent though, the agent gets her indo trainer spoke to her, it seems that she's paiseh cos she lied to me initially, so she felt ashamed and wanted to leave. Then again, she thought about it, she wants to correct her mistake and continue to work for me and she swears she will work very hard and never repeat her mistakes anymore.

although I was ready to send her back, but since she wants to stay, I think I will just give her another chance, monitor her works for few more days, if she doesn't show improvement, then I send her back lor. Just feel that she's quite poor thing, kena scolded quite badly by the trainer. Hopefully I didn't invite any trouble to myself. **crossed finger**

Jaslyn
Hope u will get a good maid this weekend.

Re coconut jelly

I had this before in Malaysia. Didn't know that it can be found in Sing too. Yeah, it's very nice... but sinful leh.. But never mind lah, have it once in a blue moon esp now we have all the good excuses to back us up, should be fine..

green coconuts / brown coconut?
Think green one is 'young' coconut, we can drink the juice and eat the flesh raw. But the brown one would be too ripe/'old', so normally people will just take the flesh out and squeeze out the coconut milk... So we should get the young coconut (green). I remembered I had one young coconut once a day starting from week 36/37 in my previous pregnancy...
old wives tales - drink young coconut helps to 'clean up' baby when baby pass thru the birth canal... So the birthing process will be very smooth.. My labour was short, 5 hours only, so I don't know whether I should give credit to the coconuts or not?!

Fiona
better dun eat so much papaya ah..
must take care..
me tummyache but nothing came out leh..
then inside like "spinning"
so sian...

for the last 2 days didn't get seat on public transport... both times is infront of men n they can see my tummy... prob i m just fat or something...

1st time is infront of a man who was seating w his gf or wife... 2nd time is a malay man who keep lookin at my tummy n do nothing.

normally i get seats on my own so i didn't have chance of ple offerin seats... but anyway, sporeans dun give up seats to ple who need them more... sigh.

garfield
======

*hugs*. don't worry, when your stomach is more obvious, more people will give up their seats. if it's not very obvious, i think sometimes they are afraid of appearing to be insulting. "WHAT, YOU SAYING I FAT?" in case they give up their seats to non preggie ladies.

this morning a young malay army boy just stood up in front of me on the train, leaving an empty seat. the first time for me that someone does that. usually they will tap me or gesture. but this one was very 'shuang kuai'. like 'oh this lady needs a seat, i don't need to make a big show of it, i just stand up and walk away'. so sweet. but i always make it a point to acknowledge and say thanks when i accept, and once more if i alight before them.

coconut
======

so hor, if we get normal (non jellyfied) coconuts, we should get young or old.... and just drink or eat flesh also?

garfield,
i am worse than you.
some aunties i encounter in the train really spoil my mood for the whole day.
yesterday, when the train approach, everyone is waiting patiently for people to get off the train. this stupid aunty no. 1 thought she is already late so very big ah. shouted "excuse me" and pushed thru from behind and squeeze in front of me while people are still trying to get out of the train. can't she wait. when she finally get in, she start to stare at her watch.

then came aunty no 2.
she was the one squeezing and pushing thru thru escalator. she manage to squeeze in front of me but almost fall. so she thought it is my fault. she turn around, stared at me & my precious then start scold me "tummy so big still squeeze people". i was so angry that i didnt know how to react but just scold her back "stupid" only. then got so angry with myself for not making a big fuss over it. so yuan wang loh.

pinkbunny
should get the young one
the flesh is softer and smoother.

old coconut is mostly those you sell in the market. good for making kueh.

sonic
i had coconut also but my labour took so long...

i also like coconuts. the talk abt it making me crave for it...

just try out the maid for a few more days and see how. actually depends on whether they need money. some of the maids dun really need the family but come here to look look see see. like that the attitude won't be very good.

qing
u mean that auntie actually said that? my gosh....so rude. dun worry. even if u dun make a fuss abt it, pple ard will still think she shouldn't have said that. it's just like when i wasn't preggy and when i see pple not giving up their seats, i also shake head at these pple.

qing, u also v poor thing...

yes i do experience them but i just ignore...

i dun normally take trains. but if i take, i realise some ple r really kiasu... even waiting for lift too... they will normally overtake me (i came earlier than them), n then once the train or lift door open, they rush in...
so i dun squeeze w them n had to wait for the next one cos I scare my tummy squash by them.

then got few times on train, it was v crowded n i not standin in front of seats so i can understand why no 1 offer u see.

but these 2 experiences really piss me off. cos the first couple stay near my home! i think thye shld know i preg... the second one is i wearin a maternity top ah! i guess the man is more tired than me. he not carryin any stuff. n i also standing in front so unless i really slim lar...

anyway, just vent... hehe

all e tok abt mrt makes me feel tt i quite heng..

i dun usually take mrt but so far every single time i do, there will be a kind person who gives up his/her seat to me.. but e embarrassing thing, it's always those slightly older folks (maybe ard early 50s) tt do so.. n they will insist i sit..

caitlyn

no choice have to take train to work.
sitting in the bus for toolong my back can't tahan. so always have this kind of weird people.

there was once this old ah pei want to give his seat to me loh. i smiled and rejected. i think he need it more than i do loh. he look almost 80 +++ le. then despite seeing this, no one stand and give me a seat. so pathetic singaporeans.

PB
get the young one. normally I will drink the juice and eat flesh as well.. Just drink juice not very shiok mah.

SY
Really arh? Maybe I'm just plain lucky to have short labour lah. Pray that this time round will be shorter, as my stomach is practising braxton hicks quite often liao. Gynae told me, when it comes very often and early, that's mean our labour will be shorter, and we will be due earlier.

On the maid, yeah give her chance to mend her mistakes lor.

Qing,
No point waste your time on those inconsiderate people. Most of the time I would rather walk sideways to 'siam' them, just in case they accidently pushed me. I will also avoid crowded train. If really bo bian when I'm rushing to somewhere, got to board and stand in the crowded train, I will use my handbag and another hand to protect my tummy, in case people push/squeeze towards me.

Got once, nobody offer me seat when I'm standing right in front of a row of young people sitting down in the train, I overheard two ladies standing behind me that saying "oh.. So poor thing, this pregnant lady is not offered a seat, sigh..." I was quite delighted when I heard this.
Then when they saw someone sitting far from me stand up and alight., they quickly signal me and said it very loud, go and sit there.. so that nobody dare to occupy that seat. Glad as they 'jian4 yi4 yong3 wei2, ba2 dao1 xian1 zhu4', but on the hand quite embarassing... hehe..

sonic

is it true ?
my 1st preg I had braxtons hick v early too. My labour was abt 5 hrs then. now I had it once in a while ... gynae says it will become more and more frequent till labour time.

as for coconut .. I am not really a fan. but my MIL forbid me taking it, say too liang for us. Instead she made barley drink for me before I deliver.

like what PB says .. even if bb come out not as clean, the nurse will clean too so i really dont know what is the logic behind taking coconut ???

check with any mummies buying yao lan for the baby ? last nite my hubby ask me when i intend to go shop for yao lan.

coconut
we can drink coconut so early mah ? i rember my mum telling me only can drink it ard 35 to 38 weeks is it true?

i also dun really fancy coconut. for my first one, i didn't eat n i was overdue. but my labour is short. i dunno i heard ple say eat coconut, also will induce labour n tat is y take during the last 2 wks. not too early.

i drank barley though.

so i shall see this second one.

you all make me wanna take a train down to Tb just to have that coconut jelly. it sound really interesting loh.

oh my
sonic
what many week are u in now?
i still don have braxtons hick lehz.
i am in week 28 le.
and i don wan to have long long labour.

re coconut
hee, think it's an excuse for us to eat it cos it's so shiok...

serene
i m agst using yao lan cos i dun wan my bb to be to used to it and need to be rock to sleep. for my #1 my MIL insist on using it but i refused....

re braxton hicks
u mean it means shorter labour? i dun think i got a lot of braxton hicks.....

garfield,
but i thought barley also 'liang' lehz

they say cant have too much 'liang' thing
haiz.
sometimes very sian one.
this cannot that cannot

want to eat orange also cannot
eat banana also cannot

is there a saying eat durian during pregnancy wont get heatiness?

SY
ya lor..
I also dun wana my bbs to sleep in yao lan..
if not when they r outside.. it will be difficult to let them sleep as they will need u to rock them..
how m I going to rock 2 leh.. so better dun..

re braxton hicks
until now I still dun know how it feels like leh..
I m in week 30 liao..

Qing
ya lor..
always I eat things..
my mum will tell me this cannot eat that cannot eat..
then when my mum not ard..
want to be naughty..
wana eat ice cream..
kenna stare by hubby..
very sian..

evon
========

haha seems that you have started coconut frenzy! honestly it's nice but i don't see myself craving for it. so qing, don't need to take train all the way keke. only if you are in the area la!

qing
======

i know what you mean. sometimes very angry with strangers but just at that point in time don't know what to say .... until 10 minutes later. by that time, say already very fan ying chi dun! haha.

braxton hicks
======

experienced mummies, can explain what the feeling is like? is it like stomach become hard hard? pain or not?

water bag burst
======

i was at the class last weekend and they said that it's like peeing but you can't control the flow. supposed to be odourless and colourless. if got smell/colour then report to gynae. maybe baby is in stress.

then yesterday in the shower i was wondering - so much water in the shower... what if my water bag burst when i'm in the shower... how will i know ah?

another random question brought to you by pinkbunny

PB,
thanks for the info.
hahaha...think when you are drying yourself up after shower, you'll realise how come still got water trickling down in between...ahhh that must be water bag burst liao...keke

jaslyn,
still got tummy discomfort, maybe you wanna check it out with your doctor?

qing,
the woman...no must call her "ah soh"! she's so rude! sometimes we too shock at that moment forget what to say. i also kena once when i went to the hospital ward, the stupid ward clerk pushed her chair(with wheels) back and knocked into my tummy (and she knows i'm behind her lor). i gave out a gasp and held on to the chair, and all she did was turn around and scolded me saying, " how am i supposed to look behind?" i got so upset that i sms my hubby and he called the ward manager up to complain. and many other incidents when aunties bang into me with their marketing trolleys, so now i a bit biased against aunties.

serene,
i'm also against using yao lan...will encounter difficulty putting them to sleep if outside your home. i also insisted and never use for my 1st one.

<u>Yao Lan</u>
actually i let my #1 sleep in yao lan.
Reason being:
1) to make their head rounder(dun koe how true but just try lor)
2) they sleep longer in yao lan
3) Switching her from yao lan to bb cot/play pen permanently is still consider a breeze for me as night time, will still let her sleep either in bb cot/play pen.

Afternoon mummies!

Maids
We should give them second chance. Just imagine them as one of our new co-worker/subordinate who just joined our company. Sure, they make a lot of mistake since they have different experience and background. What we should do is to help them adjust faster. This will reduce stress on both parties - maid and us. Example: As a start, if they are forgetful, ask them to write down daily schedule. That's what i did to all my maids. For new ones, they will hv reservations upon seeing their employers are expecting a child soon - whether they can cope up additional tasks or not, etc, etc. For this, i suggest we tell them directly not to worry too much, as for the first 2mths we will handle baby solely and not them. I dont know abt u mummies but i will prefer to handle my young &amp; fragile baby during 1st 2mths during my maternity leave.

I am so busy the last weeks.....

Coconuts,
We are in the last trimester, so should be able to take it. Maybe for the 7th mth is 1 time fornightly, then 8th mth 1 time per week, etc.
Also hear that it helps to "wash" the baby. Anyway if you take it in moderation, also not that liang

Maid,
Headache..... Dunno if want or not. Haiz.

morning ladies

I am back from my Bintan trip!!! But aiyo...tiring siah....cos preggie and still have to chase after an active toddler! Machiam like not taking any break...ahahah

lbt
dunno le, that's what my gynae said when I told him abt braxtons hick lor. I have it quite often now, at least once a day. I told my hubby, better pack our bag sooner, just in case **touch wood**

for coconut, it’s very liang indeed. tat's why many preggie have it only towards last few weeks, sort of induce labour lor. Many said it does help, but some like garfield said it doesn't work leh, so the logic might not apply to everyone I guess...

SY
Yeah, my gynae told me braxton hicks is actually a rehearsal of actual labour contraction. So if we got more rehearsal prior to due date, the womb is more ready for the actual one to kick in. So it really helps. As for 2nd time mums, as the womb has already gone thru labour contraction, we will feel the rehearsal more often.

qing
am also in 28 weeks. maybe this is your first pregnancy, it may not comes so early. or probably it came but you might not notice cos they are not painful. You could only feel slight hardening of your tummy, sometimes your tummy will shape differently.. Like mine, sometimes will appear squarish, sometimes slanted abit to one side, sometimes even show a triangle shape. Very funny ones.

celeste
======

hehe look on the bright side. no need slimming programme, your little one will keep you active! keke.

about rude aunties in trains
======

agree with fiona! must call them AH SOH! something like "ah soh, when you are walking, please bring your eyes hor!". too challenging to type out the whole sentence in hokkien la! hehe. that's if you want to act the tough lady part.

but if you want to play the part of the frail preggie woman, then must make ko lian face and make contact with as many other passengers as possible so they will all GIN at the ah soh hehe.

i hate it when i'm already standing at the doors waiting for the train and when it arrives, the people arround me instinctively take 2 steps forward and block the entrance. hubby says take it as a compliment cos from back, i don't look preggie. sigh ok. don't angry don't angry.

sonic
======

hehe funny shaped tummy sounds very... funny! right now i only get bumps here and there when she is stretching. and sometimes tummy quakes when it's trembling.

tummy hardening.... but my tummy is always hard leh! maybe from eating too much?

aiyo sonic,
dun scare me cos these few days, my tummy also not feeling good, sometime cramp, sometime pain. dun koe what happen. yesterday again in pain in the middle of night. then tell hubby, and he said dun tell me you are going in labour hor. I say "CHOY"
Haiz, now see you all post, scare liao leh somemore my hubby will be laeving tonight for france for 10 days.. *shiver*

re braxton hicks
my tummy makes funny shapes but i dunno whether it is braxton hicks. tot it's just bb moving. i only remmeber tummy hardening means contractions.

qing, jaslyn
actually i dun face so much restrictions in what i eat. only cannot eat raw stuff. the rest i still eat. drink barley, chrysanthemum etc all like normal. no one stop me aslo he.

celeste
hihi, hope at least u have some fun!

dephine

my #1 sleep in yao lan too. and yes my reasoning is the same as urs. My gal sleep in her playpen at nite too. No prob with that. Even on sundays at my MIL hse, she sleep on mattress for nap.

when using yao lan just make sure dont rock until bb goes into deep sleep. then the bb wont get addicted.

in fact with yao lan, bb sleep much longer even with a lot of noises like TV, thunder etc. ..

hey speaking of thunder, during one yoga class it was raining and the teacher actually asked us to put blanket around our stomachs. wow, even now baby can hear thunder and be scared by it!

we bought a pillow from 'cheeky bon bon' during taka fair, and it's supposed to 'imitate' mummy's arm so we'll put on poppy when she sleep so she'll feel safe. and it also advises us to try to put our 'smell' on it for extra sense of security. so now i'm sleeping with a small pillow on my stomach too hehe.

delphine
======

happily taking your birds nest every day?

GSS! got this from another thread:

The Great Singapore Sale is back, and the whole of Singapore is abuzz with attractive offers, tempting rewards and exciting events!

From 25 May to 22 July 2007, join us for an eight-week “shopathon” and enjoy discounts of up to 70% on just about anything, anywhere. From the central shopping belt of Orchard Road and Marina Bay to the shopping precincts in the Heartlands, you’ll find fantastic value on fashion, watches, jewellery, electronics and more!

And specially for MasterCard cardholders, delectable dining offers and priceless shopping rewards await you.

It’s a sale like no other and a definite opportunity to indulge in some retail therapy while enjoying lifestyle treats lined up for this period.

Check out the Sale highlights in this Website. For more information:

Call the Official Information Hotline: CitySearch™ 1900 7-777-777
7am – 11pm daily • Charges @ 60¢ per call (subject to prevailing GST)*
Or call the 24-Hour Touristline: 1800 736 2000 (toll-free in Singapore)

lbt,
haha.. that's our purpose right, to make the bb sleep longer.
we need our beauty sleep.

pink bunny,
oh yes, everynight before i sleep. but hor like quite addictive leh, 1 spoon like not enough cos taste so yummy.