(2008/07) July 2008

morning ladies

dordor,
yuppies....the moderator replied me and say because i advertise...*pengz*....its not like i am spamming threads *sigh*. cos I thought since i am chatting here so its okies one mah. I explained to her liowz and hope she will reinstate my account *sigh*

youpi,
minced pork...hmmzz, mabbe i try that then mabbe put in a bit of marinate inside the minced pork prob taste better

jmon
wow your bb is big...

sonic
dun worry too much. they change a lot one. when they start to eat outside food, they sure eat all kinds of stuff. i m sure he will want to chew french fries..hee

SY,
haha...my ger loves french fries, give her french fries she can chew all the way *lol*

do1nk,
for lighting can go Balestier there, a lot of lighting shops...must walk around and compare prices cos the difference can be quite substantial!

Tat time our contractor recommend one lighting shop to us...aiyoh the price kind exp, then we walk around and source manage to find another shop selling cheaper

Toking abt children taking food ... I always think that it is good to let them try different kinds of food (of course, with supervision in case of allergy) so that they could explore the "world of taste". My gal is a glutton on fine food esp... maybe just like her parent

I have a niece whose parent always say .... this one not suitable for children consumption, that one not good for them. In the end, what happen ... his son(4 yrs old) can "only eat" rice and vegetables now. Any other food he eat or try, he will vomit.

Oh lbt ... now i know why I need to attend lesson, you just need to take exam.
Anyway, now just taken my $5 per person "free" lunch ... getting sleepy now.

1st child can claim child relief of $2000. then maid levy relief is 2x of what you paid in 2007.

and if your child is taken care by grandparents/grandparents in law, can claim grandparents care taker relief of $3000

Pain:

bunny-mummies.. i don't think it's heartburn or bra leh.. i only feel the pain when i'm out shopping or standing too long. the pain is lesser when i bend forward a bit. but so weird right... walk with a slouch :S

dor_dor, i don't think it's baby poking also coz my baby still kicking near lower abdomen.

and today tummy feels especially tight and bloated yet feel hungry... wassup with me this week?! like so much discomfort

Pork:
mummies, you can try the "waist" meat... most tender part but more expensive lah.

it just occurred to me... pigs got waist one meh?!?! hehehehe... but that's what i hear from my mum and colleague.. they call it "yao1 rou4" heheh...

haha ya...this "waist" pork and treadfin are the good stuffs for babies and little kids and even moms in confinement I heard...

if our mum is taking care of 2 kids, can both my SIL and me claim for grandparent care giver relief? anyone knows?

think there's one more: working mom relief... 5% for first kid (and more for subsequent kids I think)

Jmon,
Aiya... then i missed the grandparents care taker relief.
But have the same question as do1nk, either one can claim or both can claim in the event my MIL is taking care of my gal and my SIL's children.

JMON

oic .. next tue is my 28 weeks chkup too. hehe will update all.

delphine

aiyo last yr I dunno abt grandparents relief leh .. ok i will login and file...

so sleepy after lunch... I need to go stand by the espresso machine to sniff at some coffee beans

for those having your 2nd kid, can get 10k tax rebate too right?

help...

i been eatin quite alot lately... hmm after main meal a snack? not sure it craving. yesterday v full n guilty. now after chicken rice, i eat half a butterfly... the other half n my bread eatin later...

do1nk

ahah u r funny.

yes we have 10k tax rebate .. woo hoo !!!

garfield

this is the time we will gain lotsa wt ... scary !

do1nk,
What I read is if you have your 2nd child before you turn 28 yrs old you get 20k tax rebate
. I tink if over 28 yrs old its 15k tax rebate rite?

Hi JMON...

Fr the weight chart, think 28 weeks and bb 1kg is avg la cos the chart sy tat at week 28 will br aroung 1005gm... From crown to heel how many CM?

Do1nk - you so discipline! sniff sniff only..i drank a glass at lunch :D

I also eating a lot lately..mummies with 1st kid expecting NO 2, do you notice rapid weight gain in 3rd tri or is most of weight gain in 2nd tri?

cin_bunny

hmm i am still trying to maintain the wt gain ... heeh I cant ans ur qns cos haven go to 3rd tri leh

celeste

I think it's 10k not 15K leh.

steph
as bb expands, bb will move up and the whole area will push agst your ribs. i get pain like gastric pain often and my gynae says it's due to bb pushing up. the kicks are still in lower abdomen area though

re tax rebate
i will be 29 when i have my second kid. got any tax rebate?

do1nk
i can recom u lighting shop at geylang call vlux lighting quite reasonable price ltaly design but taiwan price, as for the curtain i can recom my aunty to u. can PM me for more details if u wan o know where to get cheaper things

Hello july mummies, my first post here ever, hehe.

i'm due early july, and this is my first baby. and i'm starting to panic coz i feel totally unprepared for baby's arrival.

all i have bought so far is a stroller and a baby cot. i think i desperately need to buck up fast on baby preparations.

i'm going through the insomniac phase recently, totally unable to sleep at night. am like a zombie in the office. (but a very well-fed and fat zombie)

Hi dustee,
Welcome here

Haha..me also a bit of zombie lah...handling my no. 1 at nite and also nowadays waking up cos bladder seems to get full quite fast *sigh*

celeste,
ya lor, I find that the tax benefits they have before the baby bonus is introduced is even better than what we have now. I have a colleague who has 3 kids is enjoying better tax benefits than I do if I'm going to have 4 kids now. Don't know what is the govt's thinking, they encourage people to have more kids yet reducing the benefits.

in fact, those stay home mums are worse. They don't get anything when they choose to stay home and sacrifice for their family.

SY
haha... agree with u that my boy will definitely wants to chew fries if we let him try when he's older..

dustee,
welcome to our thread. Try to have a glass of milk before going to bed to avoid becoming zombie during day time...

hi mummies..
so busy today..

about the $20k rebate..
when my mum gave birth to youngest my brother 13 yrs ago..
there was this thing.. then until now then she no need to pay income tax..so gd hor..
now no more liao..

welcome dustee!
me also like zombie..
so tired in the morn..

sonic,
yes i fully agree. I find that they shld have tax benefits for sahm! Cos they are contributing to the society too by helping to take care of the kids. I guess becos u always see the govt encouraging mothers to return to the workforce thats y they prob never tot of giving incentives to sahm *sigh*

I still tot so happie i prob can quality for the 20k rebate cos still tot they having this 28 yrs and below will get more rebate thingy *lol*...my dreams are dashed! Haha

Also, I feel that they topping up $ hor...like 2nd child u put in 6k govt topup 6k does not help much also (its like have better than nothing only) cos i was counting, infantcare after subsidy is $800, imagine 1 yr oledi $9600, so the total of 6k (our own) + 6k(govt) one can only last like 15 mths of infantcare fees? *sigh*
Wonder how much they charge all these childcare or infantcare rental hor, they shld charge cheaper if its for these purpose then prob we wont be charged so high fees

dustee
hihi, welcome
no need to panic. actualy dun need to get too much stuff. just get the basic stuff. bottles, mittens booties etc. will post the link for the list. actually u dun need to get everything in the list. some stuff no chance to use one....

lbt
thanks for the link!

Wah so busy. On course all day.

Robinsons sale
Oh Robinsons sale is only for members today and tomorrow? Non members cannot go? If non member go, but don’t get member discount can or not? Anyone knows?

curtains and lights
Haha do1nk mine almost all from ikea. Walked around geylang and balestier but in the end only bought two lights from geylang – for master bedroom and storeroom, and for laundry area it’s normal fluorescent one from neighbourhood zao huo dian. The rest from ikea. Lightbulbs also – energy saving! Want me to take photo of my house and show you?

JMON
Yay congrats on having a good appt! baby is growing well!

kids foods
Just want to share with you girls. One of my friends only fed her daughter organic foods when she started going on solids. And when she tried to start her with non organics, daughter couldn’t take it and got sick. So I think from the start, should just start them off ‘normal’ foods la. Just my opinion

claims
JMON, “1st child can claim child relief of $2000”… this one is claimed how ah? Is it the one that can only claim automatically from MCYS when child is 1 year old? And how will they know child is being looked after by grandparents?

Working mum relief… how to claim! So… I already file my income tax… does it mean not applicable for anything liao? Boo hoo. House also I never claim for anything. Argh!!!!!!!

pig waist
Ya ya! I heard about it! “yeo bak”! but ya very ex. And I never buy before hehe. I just buy chia bak. But maybe for poppy next time I will buy yeo bak la

do1nk
Agree with cin-bunny, you are very kuai!!! I drank kopi liao today. And I even found my new favourite snack. CHEETOS. It’s like cheezels, but in twisties shape. Very shiok 

dustee
Welcome. Some of us here also very blur, don’t worry
many first time mummies

calcium
day 3 of my high calcium intake day and i'm happy to announce that i've not gotten leg cramps! last night i could feel like "oh the cramps are coming!" a few times then prepared myself but they never fully erupted into cramps!

re ikea
actually find that ikea stuff nowadays also not cheap too....

pinkbunny
my 2 cents worth. some foods may be worth going organic. there are certain foods that have higher levels of pesticides. of cos , shd not go organic on all stuff. if your fren only gave organic food, then that's also qutie extreme right. my boy did take some organic stuff also but i mix lor. i only gave some organic brown rice and sometimes i buy organic vege. in general, the rule is that fruits/vege that are redder/orange tend to have higher level of pesticides to keep their apperance nice eg strawberries, peach etc. but for fruits like bananas, kiwis, watermelons with inedible skin, it is relatively safe.

just sharing what i learn...

so u thikn calcium and leg cramps related? i heard before got some relation lah. but dunno how true.

celeste
wow, u are not even 28?? so young...
don't be sad, you and your hubby still can enjoy the $20k tax rebate when you have your 3rd baby... regardless of your age. If you intend to have 4, then you would have accumulated $50k tax rebate... no worry of tax paying lor. hehe..

celeste - keke.. i also thot i cd get 20k tax rebate lor!! too bad..

pinkbunny - think tmr sld be preview robinson sale.. need e card then got discount..i'll be gg down tmr so if u need to get anything i can help u pay first.. =) above $150 (if i dun rem wrongly) got free delivery.. i luffed cheetos during my first preg too.. =)

SY
ya lor she went 100% organic. a bit extreme la

leg cramps... lack of calcium was one of the reasons i heard. but my main reason for watching my calcium intake was the fear of oestoperosis la. but good that is also helps to get rid of the leg cramps! my husband is quite scared when i slap him backside in the middle of the night to massage my legs haha. once he even fell asleep while massaging me halfway. just sitting on the bed with his hands still on my leg haha

thanks caitlyn but i got date to go tonight to see see look look liao
wow cheetos. i filled a small bowl and my hand just automatically go from bowl to mouth, bowl to mouth, never stop one leh! hehe

pinkbunny - no prob.. if u see anything u want, n no one to help u buy, just let me noe.. tmr i can help u get.. =) just let me noe.. i dun bother to fill a small bowl, i just eat e whole packet!

sonic,
no lah...i a bit kelong...i born in 1979 one mah, but bday in Oct, so technically speaking i havent turn 29 when i no. 2 pops....*lol*...so was still crossing my fingers will get that rebate but seems like stay contented with 10k bah *lol*

Aiyo....i going to stop at 2...SG too xiong to have 3 kids unless if i strike TOTO 1 million? Ahahah *lol*

caitlyn,
how old are u?

Celeste
agree with u..
spore very difficult to have 3 kids..
my hubby still trying to ask me to give birth to no. 3 after my twins..
I say no more.. he angry.. haiz..

yoghurt,

is it true that preg woman cant take yoghurt???
my hubby scold me last nite ask me to stop eating ... but it my favourite

jsalyn -if ur hb confident of raising 3 kids, maybe u can consider?? for me, i dun mind 3, but not possible finanacially n my hb dun want.. haha

haha you girls r so fast to praise me... i succumbed to one SMALL cup from the machine.. but read somewhere that the smell of it perks us up more than the drink itself hehe

PB: wah maybe they should make you the spokesperson for ikea haha! the only problems I have about ikea stuffs is that they dun last long in my hands... I've stuffed so many clothes and books in the cupboards that the back board has fallen apart and my things r all falling into the gaps behind now haha