(2008/07) July 2008

haha autumn your pill like some magical sian dan hehe. i think it will have everything la but there are some things that you may need more than others lor. like calcium.

i think hor i will try to pump out as much as i can. then if night feed, CL can feed EBM and next time papa also can feed EMB and take care of night feeds
(wishful thinking...)

but anyway, can store for 3 months mah, so might as well

Hi mummies / mummies-to-be

I have the following up for sale:

1)Disposable maternity panties - 2 pkts (5 pcs in each pack)

2)Palmer's nursing cream - used once (comes with 4 pcs of disposable breastpads)

3)Herbal bath - 10 pkts (2 sachets in each pack)

4)BN Pigeon wide neck milk bottle

5)10 pcs of Pigeon Breastpads

Interested pls email me at [email protected]

pinkie

u r right, but it is always better to feed bb fresh milk , means from out breast. for nite feeds, EBM is ok lah.

ya loh.. that's y I dun believe my gynea's words.. :p

I also wanna breastfeed this time round.. but dunno got the determination or not.. The 1st time.. within 1 mth I give up.. sooo tiring then u see the quantity of the milk, soo little.. scared bb dun get enuff.. then bopianz, gotta give formula..

U all bought the pumps oredi?? Medela PIS good mah?? Or manual better? Or buy both? *faintz*

avent manual for me!

haha labbit, i have yet to try it on my hubby! everytime think about you talking about it, i keep laughing keke.

but ya, i will pump as much as i can while i can just in case hor? remember to take all those recipes that will promote breast milk production! my CL also asked if would like to breastfeed. remember to let yours know

questions on CL - what's the minimum expectation on them? they take care of baby (bath, feed, burp, clean, sleep), they care of mummy (cook, make special bath, massage??)..my mom says they shld massage us..i never heard b4 though..

and if they cook for hubby and do housework, that is an added plus but not mandatory right?

on BF, is the recommendation to give bottled breast milk at night or make CL bring baby to latch?

pinkie

I love Avent manual too ! though can be quite tiring but u get the hang of it after a while.

autumn

always have a motor and manual pump. The motor one may break down anytime or u may be attending a meeting or course outside office, so the manual one may comes in useful.

cin_bunny

i think u can put up your request to ur CL before hand, subject to her approval right ?

if we want to rest, I guess pump out milk for nite feed is a better idea. That's the purpose of CL right ?

i think CL takes care of mum and babe but she's also there so that mum can learn how to take care of babe! while she nurses herself back to health la. but i also never heard of massaging CLs.

not sure if i would be comfortable if she came into my room at night to shove the baby at my chest... she will be sharing the room with poppy.

btw .. do have a backup CL contact on hand. I have heard of cases whereby the CL who did the disappearing act or who performed a bad job. My friend and her hubby suffer from food poisoning due to the mishandling of food by her 1st CL !!

My hubby also scared the CL will MIA after taking the deposit.. keep on calling me to call her up & check.. bthz..

I also scared but I feel its heng suay thingy.. :p

seems to be bunny domination this afternoon haha.

walau labbit. CL already so hard to find... find back up some more? gulp. i hope mine will be ok... she's my friend's nanny. as in was my friend's mum's CL (took care of my friend when she was a baby).

i've had friends who chased their CLs out of the house before the 28 days was up!

so sleepy...........

pinkie

precisely .. some cant stand the CL at all...so v scared of such ladies also. cin_bunny is right.. maybe need to get these CL companies number as backup ..

yeah..if you do google search on "confinement singapore" , it comes with list of companies who do these services in spore..some of them MOM certifed..at least got back up phone number to call

my friend also let go their nanny after 2 weeks..they cld not stand the way nanny was handling baby,,too rough they say..but they paid nanny 3 weeks salary...

lynncnl,
u r not the only one , i was ask to leave when i was 5mth preg too just keep urself happy n busy with other things eg: bb clothes n do housework....did the company pay u extra???

jsut came back from meeting

lyn,
if u r terminated within last 3 months of pregnancy, they ahve to compensate u. this is MOM rule.

re confinement nanny
think basic is take care of mummy and bb. need to talk to CL to see what else they will do. some will do basic housework and cook for hb also. so taking care of bb and mummy includes washing their stuff...

pinkbunny
did u see the 50 yummiest cakes in sunday life yesterday? choc a bloc is one of them also..
yummy....

i wanted to get one for hb's bday but he decided not to have it...

Tube with padding
Anyone got idea where to get tube with padding that fits our expanding cup size? My old tubes already expanded to their limits.

NeuroGain omega fish oil
I'm having it too. Where do you mummies normally store it? Don't know why recently my Nuerogain placed on my office desk has became softer and 'oily' on the outer, so it's becoming so smelly.. U know, that kind of fishy smell.. Nearly make me puke every time I take. Wonder it's still can be eaten or not, but sim tia, it's expensive so still force myself swallow it every morning.. Anyone got this problem?

Goodness of Bird nest
You gals reminded me about this, my mum told me abt something good that bird nest has done to her. Whenever she's starting to have to flu or runny nose, she quickly have some bird nest, then the flu will just go away instantly!! I haven't tried that yet **touch wood** don't want to have flu now...

dor dor
Poke fingers to me is just simply 'sap sap water' lah, if compared to labour pain, poke fingers is nothing man! Hehe

re confinement nanny
nowadays the good CLs is really hard to find. my friend complained that her after her CL settled the lunch, she will go for a nap. even though baby is crying, she simply boh chap. get my friend to take care instead. her CL said she must nap, otherwise she doesn't have energy to cook dinner... my friend bo bian lor..

another one i heard is a CL that my friend's neighbour engaged. She is like a supervisor to the maid, she only cooks, rest of the things she commanding the maid to do… as if they hired her as a maid supervisor…

Sometimes, really pay $ to get frustration… But there are still good CLs around though, all depends on luck I guess.

Mummies, as i'll be giving up on BF-ing. I'll be selling the following:

1) Medela Mini Electric Plus Breastpump (dual)
Slightly used for less than 2 weeks. Purchased at $305. Willing to let go at $220(neg).
With box, manual and warranty unfilled.
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/medela-mini-electric-plus-breastpump.html

2)"Pigeon - Fridge-to-go" Breastmilk cooler
Brand New, Unused.
Purchased at $59.90. Willing to let go at $50.00.
http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/news.html

3)"Pigeon - Breastmilk storage bottles" (3 piece pack)
Brand New, Unused
Purchased at $15.20. Willing to let go at $12.00

4) PIGEON Disposable Breast Pads
unopened
Willing to let go at $6.00

Interested, pls pm or email me at [email protected]

Thanks !

sonic
tube bra. i bought one pair from giant. no size kind. $6.90 only cannot complain much la but not much support. like boobies got mind of their own, don't want to stick together and be good friends kind you know? hehe.

just now at NTUC stocked up on MOO ice cream (high calcium!) and cheese (high calcium!). my hubby shook his head and asked me not to go overboard with the calcium thing. but walau i don't want to be a fragile brittle old woman at 60 leh!

healthy eating
day 2 of seriously healthy eating for me. now munching on apple. i feel like an animal. like horse or rabbit or something :S according to Mt A's nutritionist, apples and oranges are good sources of dietary fibre that will help with the toilet going process.

and i had cheese and soy milk at breakfast too! but still very sleepy haha.

for those of us who were wondering about sleeping on our backs:

Why am I supposed to sleep on my left side?
There's no harm in sleeping on your right side, but lying on your left side or tilted to the left is the best way to ensure proper circulation. It takes all the pressure off of the vena cava — the vein that returns blood from your lower body to your heart. This vein runs along the right side of your spine and may be compressed by your growing uterus when you sleep on your back. Compression of the vena cava can cause decreased blood flow to the placenta and baby. If you end up flat on your back in the night, don't panic: Women who do suffer from a compressed vena cava will likely unconsciously shift positions in their sleep to take the pressure off the vein, says Dr. Mark Taslimi, a professor of obstetrics and gynecology at Lucille Packard Children's Hospital in Palo Alto, California.

dreaming of giving birth
hey anyone has dreamt of giving birth yet? last night i dreamt i gave birth while standing up then then when i was kissing my baby (alot of dark hair!) i wondered where my hubby was and why he was not taking photos, and then i saw him in the corner of the room, making coffee haha

sonic
i put my neurogain on the table. if u really scared it will spoil, keep it in fridge better. mine also got the oily smell but i just force it down also..hee

pinkbunny
this calcium thing is quite true. i ever read an article that our body is like a bank. when we are young, we must deposit the calcium. once past a certain age (i think it was like 30 or something), the deposit not very effective. so even if u start taking calcium supplements at 40 or 50, it won't work so well already.

but i think dun overdo also lah...

yeah sleeping on your left side is better for bb.

i haven dreamt of giving birth yet. too tired every night....and sometimes my boy sitll wakes up so no time to dream!

i'll be 29 for about 2 more months. got time to 'bank in' my calcium? haha.

about the neurogain tablets... i think it's the same for most tablets like that. better to store in a cool dry place, like a cabinet or a drawer. i also used to leave all my tablets on the computer tablet. but there's heat around with the CPU and sunlight etc. and that affects. also, each bottle usually comes with a pack of silicon or something. leave it in there. it helps to absorb the moisture

pinkie

it's v normal for 1st time mothers to dream of giving birth and breastfeeding the babies. I had it too when I was pregnant in 2005. Now that we have been through it, I dont have such dreams anymore

try not to lie on ur right as the womb is pressing on our liver.

gd morning ladies

I am ahblur here...donno y my account kenna suspended so I create another account to come in. Emailed moderator but they havent replied

morning mummies

Re CL:
seems like getting a gd CL also very difficult..
hope my CL dun give me any prob..

Re dreaming:
I havent dream of giving birth yet also..
maybe soon as in 27+ weeks liao..hehe..

pinkbunny,
i also donno...dont even understand what "law" did i break *pengz*. Sometimes I think if moderator wanna suspend account they should at least email the account holder to tell them why they suspend rite? *sigh*

*Yawn* ... hi gals
Do you feel sleepy recently? I keep yawning for these few days ...
To make things worst, I am attending company course for these few weeks and I hate sitting there, listening to "lectures". Worst than working.

Yesterday, when I went home, I fell asleep (sleeping on my back). When I woke up and tried to sit up, my back hurts a lot.
Does your back hurts when you sleep on your back??

bluey
sleeping on your back will cause some strain cos of the nerves that are there. if you sleep on your back, put a bolster/high pillow under your knees to lessen the strain

me too getting very sleepy recently. and a bit slow mo! hehe.

labbit
what does it feel like huh? i've been getting some pains but dunno if it's anything to be worried about. i read that braxton hicks starts from 6 weeks! but only toward the end that we start feeling them

FYI
benefits of sleeping on left : your baby gets freshest oxygen from your heart. fresh blood gets pumped out to the left side first then goes down and around the body, and then up, thorugh the right, and back to heart to get repumped. so if you sleep on the right, the blood+oxygen would have gone through your whole body liao. (bio class!)

but seriously, i think whatever side you are comfortable with and you can sleep in!

lbt..
how many weeks r u in??
when I was ard 20 weeks hor..
my gynea started asking me where I have contractions anot liao..
then he touch my tummy say dun have..

bluey,
I've been feeling sleepy ever since i preggie *lol* mabbe its also becos I sleep a bit late and have to tend to my ger's needs.
As for backache...if I stand or walk too long I will get backache
Especially when i take MRT from boon keng to JurEast! *sigh*

bluey

u are at the 3 weeks course is it ?

eheh I am exempted but will need to take the test .. so will see u again

pinkie

braxton hicks contractions is tighening at the tummy. It is not painful at all, just discomfort.

If u had it like 2-3 times a day it is normal. last pregnancy, I had it 6-8 times a day at week 30 .. gynae chk my cervix and say I had v slight contractions !!! then I was given MC to restrict my movements.

hi all....

long time no 'see'!!!

have been busy... grandfather passed away last week, then clear backlogs in office then suffering gastric flu/LS-ing/'windy' stomach since last week... sian~! dont know what happened.

later going for gynae appt.

JMON
sorry to hear of your loss, dear *hugs* try to keep happy and don't think too much ok? for the sake of your baby

labbit
not sure what i'm feeling but alot of strange things. like her kicks are sometimes a bit different also. sometimes borderlining on a bit painful!

sleepyness
wah yesterday i was at NTUC and suddenly felt like I NEED TO SLEEP NOW! at 830pm. then by the time go home, shower and dunno do what then EH? how come 11pm liao? kua kua kua...

lbt/pinkbunny,

me ok lah. everyone's life back to normal lor.. me now no time to think of other things. wake up come to work, 6pm go home take care ah boy, dinner, tv then sleep. hahaha.. very routine hor, like robot liao...

need to find out from gynae wat happen to tummy later..

Hello mummies..

Jmon,
my condolences. what's with your tummy? you feeling ok??

Sleep:
i'm sleepy now too but can't find a comfortable position at work desk to nap
trying to hold off the caffine fix hehehe...

Pain:
anyone feel any pain just under the breast where our ribs are?? i kept feeling such pain whenever i walk or stand too long... it's like something poking at my ribs ...

Hi MTB,
Feeling aching? Water retention? I am chinese doing traditional Indoesian massage for pre and post natal. Pls call 93809764 for more info.

lbt,

Yup... the 3 weeks course.
Well ... take it as 3 weeks of free lunch, lor?
They did not give me opt for exemption

But the content hor, really put me to sleep ..zzzz

Now near mealtime, i will kenna kick one as if he inside very hungry. Late a bit in mealtime only, he will go on kicking "strike".
Last time my #1 not like that one.

Bluey

eheh ya man I was lucky to be exempted .. cant stand the boredom there .. but haven start studying for the test. So boring ...

eh same as u, if I am hungry, my gal will kick one ! glutton ! eheh

hi steph

i get those pains too
..i think it's heart burn..not very sure but it's very painful and sometimes, it's like i can't breathe or even walk :p...