(2008/07) July 2008

steph
i don't feel pain but i feel tightness. and i seriously don't think it's the bra.

haha bluey and labbit
so cute, your baby give you reminders to feed him!
my girl doesn't really do that. but when i eat then she's usually quite happy hehe.

JMON,
take gd care...cos weather these days not very gd. Yesterday brought my ger to see doctor...clinic open for only 10mins oledi got 6 patients in the queue! *pengz*

pinkie

i realise that gals are glutton ! my gal is one ... she cant resist food. and i observe gals around me are like that too .. ehhee so u observer if ur babyD is one too !

but seriously I rather they are one than not. can imagine if the kid is not interested in food ? faint man ..

everybody! please go out and grab a meiji yoghurt today! it is absolutely delicious! my fav is the mixed berry flavour. it is cheap (70-80 cents each), healthy, and i have to say it.... high in calcium!

go go go!

pink bunny,

don't eat too much yoghurt.
it has a lot of bacteria.
eat too much not very good.
somemore, best consume once you take out of the fridge.

lbt
Definitely will share with u all here if I manage to find the XXXLLLL tube bra...

braxton hicks - I'm having it too... Started about two weeks ago liao. I got it quite often during my #1, my tummy always shaped differently becos of it. But I was not given mc to relax at home leh..

pinkbunny
Boobies don't want to be friends arh.. but they will grow and stick together so close if we got engorgement later... very naughty ya.

Neurogain
Initially I keep it in fridge, but out of sight out of mind, always forget to take. So I leave it on my working desk, then I won't miss it mah. I didn't put it near PC though, and the silica bag is very well kept in the bottle leh, just don't know why they turn wet and oily. Maybe night time office aircon is off, temperature went up I guess.

lbt
I'm the one who faints long time ago... my boy is one of them who is not interested in food at all, even till now... *shake head*

sonic

eheh yeah keep me informed !

ya i realise boys are like that. So what does he likes ? My PD always says just give the kids whatever theyr want .. even if they only like fried Chicken wings ! To him, at least the kid eats. It's just a bit oilier, that's all. Weird thinking ya ? eheh my PD is that cool. Sometimes I complain bb dont like milk, he also says milk is not a necessity in their food intake. He always emphasize that solid food is more impt than milk.

lbt,
actually i tink what your PD said is correct. As long as they willing to eat then let them eat
Especially if they are more picky then they prefer certain food, at least u let them eat those food better than they refuse to eat rite?

My ger is those kind of rubbish bin, anything also eat except drinking plain water
so difficult to get her to drink plain water!

celeste

ya lor .. so I heed his advice. to me, as long as it is not too salty I am ok.and i try to cook for my gal as much as possible. well, lucky for me is that she takes meat, vege and plain water v well. Not much of a worry to me. But I cant say how long will this last ahhaha ..

lbt,
how old is ur ger? Sometimes i wonder how come my ger hor...occasionally refuse to bite those slices of pork that i cook in porridge for her. Wonder is she lazy or what. But give her those fried chicken from kfc she dont mind biting! *pengz*
Actually my gynae also say same thing lah. He say as long as u like juz eat wat u like dont bother bout healthy food anot
Better than not eating! Especially during 1st trim when I had bad MS this time round

lbt

guess nobody would have able to guess what my boy likes most. It's water! yes, he likes plain water.

my boy doesn't like milk since he's 3mos. We tried many ways to make him drink, we thought nightmare will be gone when we introduce solids when he's 6mos. who knows he simply hates to eat. again we coax and force him eat. Till now, he's ok to drink milk provided we hold the bottle for him. As for porridge, he takes one hour to finish his porridge, and he just swallow but not chewing his food. So we got to blend food/fruits for him. otherwise, he protests and zips his mouth. very hard to feed him.

Celeste
your gal doesn't like water huh.. my boy can drink as much as his little tummy could holds, sometimes we got to force taking the water away from him.. Of cos he will cry lor.

sonic,
drink too much also cannot, drink too little also cannot...headache hor? My ger dont like water....thats y she very easy to get those sore throat etc
*sigh*

hi all, thanks for concern...

been LS-ing 1 week, also dont know what happened. me and hb eat the same thing leh but he's ok. will ask gynae later lor.. ok i need to ciao.

update tonight/tmr...

sonic

my ger is coming to 20 months. surprisingly she chews quite well even though her molars are not out. I will cut the pork into small pieces and she will eat. I guess need to only use certain parts of the pork which is softer. I usually use "ba tao". Hmm what is that in english ah ?

or u can cook the bak kut cos it will be v soft and easier to chew. sometimes I minced the "ba tao" and stew it then v easy to chew too. can try that bah ..

and same as ur boy, my ger can drink plain water non stop. must stop her at times .. so when she see her water bottle, she ask me for water.

btw I got a fren's son whose teeth are ALL out when he was before 18 mths old and he refused to chew too. Dont know why also.

I guess u have to start slow ... maybe u can stop blending food for him cos it may become a habit oredi ... try semi soft food first like minced meat, mash potato, boiled carrots etc ...

lbt,
But farnie thing is give my ger those kfc fried chicken anytime she will bite n chew! *lol* I wonder is it becos i put the pork in the porridge to make then the pork no taste liowz? *sigh* sometimes she will eat a little sometimes dont want to eat

so many posts!!!

Jmon
so sorry to hear abt your grandfather. do take care. no wonder i haven seen u online.

lbt
u already start to feel teh contractions? better dun work so much....

re chewing
do u give your kids other stuff to let them practise chewing? things lke biscuits, fruits etc all good for practicing chewing.

dun give food that is too fine cos it will be a habit....

SY,
My ger can chew apples, pear, fried beehoon or those fried rice also...but when it comes to chewing pork from those porridge she usually only willing to eat a little *sigh* I guess she prefers those food with stronger taste, mabbe i shld marinate my pork? Ahahaha

alamak celeste! got no taste maybe that's why she don't like la!!! or maybe you can put minced pork instead? then it will be easier? marinated...

celeste
your gal is very good already, can chew so many type of food. Maybe she doesn't like pork, that's why she doesn't want to chew? Or it might be too hard for her liao?

If your gal doesn't like plain water becos it's too plain, then try giving her fruit juice, at least soothe her sore throat.

SY, lbt
I agreed with you that it could be that my boy gets used to blended food, that's why developing a habit refusing to chew. But he's very 'guo4 feng4', even banana he also doesn't want to chew. and he will never wants to put things into his mouth, when we give him biscuits, he rather smashed them with his fingers or stamps on it.

pinkbunny
what grant are u talking about? Baby bonus?? If baby bonus, no need to apply, MCYS will send u a letter upon birth registration of your baby.

sonic

when my gal was 7 mths old, I gave her bb biscuits oredi. then progress to other bb biscuits. all these makes her chew and train her gums.

celeste
maybe the pork not much taste. anyway, i think whether they eat the pork from the porridge or not, not that impt. sometimes i will give him a bit but usually he won't finish the meat also, unless it's fish.

i dun marinate the meat. my boy is quite used to bland food since young so he's ok. cos he doesn't take outside food until he's much older.

sonic,
give him some time lor. there was a period of time when my boy will spit out anything he considers too hard. but now he's ok to chew. does he take rice? once they start to take rice, they sure will have to chew.

i do give biscuits and fruits to practice chewing.

sonic
really? MYCS so clever, they know we give birth? wah. hehe.

actually i was thinking along the lines of income tax. having house/baby, can claim something is it? i didn't know leh. file my report liao

lbt
Haha... that's the catch. When my boy is 7mos, we are still struggling to put porridge into his mouth, as long as he swallow the porridge we are happy already, dare not even dream of giving biscuit.

SY
Ya lor, can't really force him to bite, cos he will choke and end up vomit everything out. Unfortunately I can't find any food that he likes to train him chewing, cos he only likes water. Just give him time to learn slowly lor.

He doesn't take rice. Only porridge with vege/meat, and fruits that blend well.

hey just thinking - is there a possibility that kids don't like certain food because you didn't eat those foods when you were preggie?

pinkbunny
i guess govt system all linked up one, that's how they got the info from ICA when you do birth registration.

income tax relief
u can claim child relief, working mother relief, grantparent caregiver relief (if your mum or dad help to take care of your baby).
notes: some reliefs do emphasize that baby MUST be citizen,then u can claim.

pinkie

u will apply for the baby bonus when u registered ur bb birth cert. that's how they know u've given birth

No income tax rebate for 1st child. Applicable for 2nd child onwards.

sonic

nvm give ur boy some more time .. I believe this is only a passing phase so it's a difficult time for u.

pinkie
i think there is relation. My col's wife dont take vege during pregnancy and the boy hates vege.

My SIL dont take much steam fish and her gal shuns it too.

Jmon,
Sorry to hear about your grandfather. Hope you're feeling a little better - tummywise too!

Sonic,
You could try giving something that he already likes, but not completely mashed up, so he'll have more of an incentive to eat it? My ds1 was still tbf at 7 mths, only started eating porridge at about 8/9 mths, Then when he was 1+, suddenly developed an interest in what we were eating and from then on, refused porridge, will only eat rice with our food. In between, he loved (and still does) baked/boiled potatoes with broccoli and carrots, and very lightly made tuna sandwiches.

Celeste,
For pork, I usually use minced. If not, I use pork ribs that have been stewed till tender, or the same in soup, so it's been boiled till soft. I shred the meat into small bits for my boy to eat and he loves it.

Chocolate cakes
Does anyone like those from Temptations at Katong? I LOVE LOVE LOVE their cakes and am surprised that they were not included in the Sunday Times list!

sonic
maybe u want to try having some meals with him? let him see u take rice etc and chew. sometimes they will want to follow us.

dun force him lor. dun wan him to associate any negative feelings with eating. besides kids go thru phases with food.

lbt
hmm, my boy takes food that i dun like as well..haha. i believe it's also a matter of exposure when they are young. i always regret not letting my boy try more stuff when he was below 1. now that he's older, he will say this one nice, that one not nice and be more picky...

SY

ya I also v scared when one day my gal refuse certain food so I try to let her eat as many variety as possible especially vege !!!

hi girls
if anyone is in the mood for some shopping tomorrow, PM me!
robinsons got baby sale. and of course if you got robinsons sale all the better! but as to which outlet, let's take that offline

lbt
yeah man. lucky my boy loves vege. but there was a period of time when he kept refusing his brocoli. now ok liao.

i keep diary of what i give him so next time for #2 easier to plan the meals...

pinkbunny
robinsons got bb sale??

Sonic
I get my tube bra with padding from Spring maternity. It feels abit thick to me cos its like a T-shirt but I normally wear it exposed like a tube so okie for me lah. Easy to BF as well.
I'm very diff from u leh....hehe
Cos to me labour pain is only that 1 single time after tat its OVER no more....hehehe
N we tend to forget it right after bb is out so to me its still okie worth it. But the poke fingers gotta poke n poke everyday somemore 1 day so many times. I was so glad when bb was out at 36 wks cos I only poke for 1 mth....hahaha

Celeste
Were u the 1 who posted saying u have a website selling maternity clothes is it??
I think that is why they suspend u. 1 of my friend kanna before also. Jus let them know that U are not aware that u not supposed to post it like that.
Think someone email moderator about it but than its been quite long since u posted ur link right??

Jmon
Take care okie.

Steph
Poking ur ribs?? Is it bb??
Cos bb should be able to kick ur ribs area already.

lbt
My son chews his food quite fast too but must see if he wants to eat it anot. Cos when we eat roast duck we will give him pieces of the meat. But sometimes some chicken or wat he dun like he will chew n chew n then give back to us....hahaha

Toddlers food
----------------------------
Alamak u all complain ur kids not eating much. Mine hor....hahahaha
He choose the good food ah. That day we went for buffeut at Kushin-bo. Initially he was eating the toufu, soba these kind of things. Then he saw me eating the crab n jialat he wants me to feed him the crab. After eating reject his toufu n starts aiming at our food.....hahaha
So I tell hubby its worth it to bring him for buffeut now cos he eats ALOT n he chooses the good n expensive food....wahaha
But he's greedy like his parents lah so sort of eats almost anything....hehhee
But he got his bad days as well lah sometimes will reject his porridge but sometimes jus plain porridge with carrot he will finis it up. Cannot phantom his mood sometimes.

wah dor dor, your boy got character sia! hehe.

SY
think robinsons got nursery sale.

and if anyone is interested, got this from isetan: (great living sale)

1346068.jpg

1346069.jpg

pinkbunny,
robinson sales start fm today but 9 n 10 is for members who will get special discount for their cards. It better u go to the one at centrepoint coz more baby stuff to choose.

morning gals.. went MIA for awhile.. hee.. weekend went bintan for getaway with hb n bb.. came back mc mon n tues.. haha.. too tired out i think.. =)

someone here wanted to go bintan rite? i stayed at angsana resort.. nice place.. not much to do but relax/swim/go beach.. hee

dor dor
yeah the kids really know how to choose the good food. but i tend not to give seafood so early cos my boy has sensitive nose. i only started letting him try those with seafood like after he is 2.

hee, i m pretty strict with his outside food adventures cos scared he won't take his home cooked food!

pinkbunny
hee, i dun think i will go lah. atually i dun need much stuff but can't resist the word sale.....

morning mummies...

great singapore sale starts end may right? Think I gotto wait til then before I can resume shopping (for both baby and house).. now must start packing and throwing out stuff first...

was wondering if I could ask you girls who have gotten your own place and done it up...any idea where or who we can go to for curtains and lightings?

think my baby cot will have to be pushed beside our bed in the middle of our room in future coz there's no space by any walls to push it against..seems kinda awkward huh?

do1nk
i went to lighting centre for my lights. not very cheap though. for curtains i go to this place in bukit timah plaza. quality and work is good but also not very cheap. if u wan, PM me for the curtain contact. my mum has been going there for years that's why i went. my curtains 3 years liao and still very new.

hi all...

morning.... went to see gynae y'day. think i got gastric. given the med liao.. i put on 2.5kg last mth and now 58.5kg
and bb now is abt 1kg.

good morning. three more days to weekend..

lbt
ya lor, will give him more time. I'm always telling myself that since he can now accept milk pretty well, as compared to he was always on milk strike when he was younger.. I believe he will accept more foods and love to eat eventually.

SY
Hehe.. We always purposely eat in front of him. I even chew super slow to demostrate to him how to chew. He seems quite keen, and his mouth will start the munching motion.. But once I put the food near his mouth, he ran away. think he just simply hate to put things into his mouth.

But hor, last night I bought some wax crayon for him to scribble, he suddenly put the crayon into his mouth... frighten me man!

youpi
I know what u mean. But too bad my boy doesn't like anything except water.
I'm just hoping one fine day he suddenly develop interest to eat adult food by himself.. hehe.. kids always give us surprises.

dor dor
U got tube bra from spring maternity? How come I missed that when I was in their Suntec outlet... Easy to BF also? Won't it be too tight for u?

Err..? I only gets to poke finger ONCE if I fail my urine test during my gynae visit. U have to poke at home for a MONTH?? No wonder u hate it. How come u need to poke so many times? Does that only happen if confirm you got GD?

hey, I like your son leh. If my boy loves to eat, I don't mind bringing him to buffet every week... Haha..

JMON
WOW... 1kg liao? So big already, your baby is the champion in july thread leh.