(2008/07) July 2008

today went to gynae check
jaslyn, had to have breakfast before mah, that's why up so early! oh so cute, we managed to get a picture of her smiling at us! it was such a nice big grin hehe. gynae says she's a happy baby. yay. she's facing down now, and all on my right side. about 700g. me, 55kg.

everything is a-ok!

dor dor, jeanyard,
i prefer poke fingers than OGTT leh. Not so much of 'blood lost' and no need to have the ugly sweet drink.

pelvic pains
I have that too!! Don't know why it's only happens when lying on my left in bed. When I move to right, it's so much comfortable. But it's advisable to sleep on the left right?

sometimes i feel the pain at both side of my waist too while walking too... i don't have that during my #1 time. sigh, old liao.. here pain there pain.

dor dor
chicken pox vaccine - that time the nurse also told me the same. but i've checked wtih my gynae, he said since i'm tested positive to chicken pox immunity, hence even there is breakout from my son after he has taken the jab, i won't get it, hence it's safe for my little one inside me. so i'm thinking to bring my son for the jab before i give birth. at least my #2 is protected inside. otherwise, when #2 is out, she will be too young and vulnerable to it if my boy really develop breakout then and possibility to pass it to her is higher. why not you talk to your gynae first?

Mummies, not sure if any of you interested on this, a seminar organised by Dumex on Motherhood, called The Art of Motherhood Made Easy Seminar

http://www.dumex.com.sg/newsletter/motherhood_seminar.html

dor dor,
i'm eating Meiqi crackers now. v hungry every 3 hrs.
must cheat, no choice cos the nurse at KKH will force me to eat white rice if I kena high sugar again during their diet program.
poking fingers is like kimakaze or committing suicide = self inflicting pain.

Re: pre natal massage
yah, I go for mine every week for $30/hr. Can do without it.

Hi Jeanyard,
Where do you go for prenatal massage? I am thinking of going but the one that I found is $70! Yours is very affordable compared to that! Thanks!

Pelvic pains
I think it is because your ligaments etc are stretching and expanding for baby's growth, that's why you feel some pain. I don't have that - 2nd baby, guess everything got all stretched out already the first time! But I do have groin pain sometimes. I think it's due to pressure when I carry heavy loads (like ds1, groceries, weekly marketing etc). Does anyone have that?

Pinkbunny
My son kiss tummy cute hor I'm jus crossing fingers he dun flip my top in public to kiss baby....hahaha
Urs is 3D scan?? So nice can see her smile. Probably she has ur bunny genes ma....hehehe
Mine was 2D scan n saw her round little head facing the screen so sweet. N hubby says he can see that she has lots of hair!!! On a 2D scan....wahahaha
Wat powerful eyes he has...Wahaaha

Sonic
I've never kanna chickenpox before n haven not taken the vaccine as well so I dun think I have the immunity....hehe
U rather poke fingers?? Wah u very brave leh...hehehe
Cos last time whenever I had to poke my finger I would complain to hubby. N then complain all my fingers kanna poke already got hole lah this lah that lah....hehe
Cos I simply hate needles so glucose test or watever blood test I jus hate it.

Re pelvic pain
My pain is constantly there leh jus slight discomfort or painful. Wonder why leh dun remember having it during my #1 or at least not so soon leh. N I'm not that old yet leh....sigh
Putting me off future pregnancies already.

Btw I was kanna jab on the backside cos of my spotting n I am ALLERGIC to that stupid jab. Now my backside got 1 big hard lump discolored too n it gets super itchy sometimes....Arggghhhh
Wat I go through for #2 man. #1 was simply a breeze compared.

Jeanyard
I tot cannot take too much white rice cos it has alot of sugar???
I hate the poking finger esp poke liao not enough blood. Wah piang eeh then must poke another finger again......hahahha
KK still got diet program aah?? My gynea jus get her assistant to tell me wat food to avoid nia but I never over the level before so abit not happy I still gotta poke n poke n poke....haha

Hope this time round we all dun KANNA GD AT ALL. NONE OF US IN JULY THREAD!!!
Pray pray......hehe

Youpi
Urrrrmmmm ur groin pain is situated where aah??? Think I abit off on anatomy liao.....hehe
Cos I'm wondering if we r actually talking about the same part leh.....hehe

Pinkbunny
Any yoga movements to relief the pelvic pain??

hey youpi
groin pains you're getting so early! i thought it'd be much later when the baby is heavier :S better take care ok?

dor dor
ya got movements but since i'm not a yoga teacher, better don't kaypoh and share all the acrobatic acts hor? keke. but i've found that sitting with my feet together, does lessen the pain. i do that when i'm watching tv

very funny, i can imagine like those cartoon when you poke all your fingers then when you drink water, it leaks through all the holes hehe.

ok one of the things i learnt at last week's ante natal class (which was on nutrition). today's hot topic is "calcium"

according to the nutritionist, we (expectant mothers) need 900-1300 mg of calcium a day. and why this is very important (esp to non milk drinkers like me) is that even if we don't take enough calcium, our babies will come out just fine. BECAUSE THEY TAKE THE CALCIUM FROM US and we end up with high chance of oestoperosis.

so we need that much of calcium a day, and if you divide it into 3 portions (for 3 meals), it's actually quite do-able.

eg this morning for me, i had 1 tall glass of NTUC soy milk (with hi calcium!). so that's about 200mg of calcium liao (check the package to find out how much calcium there is per serving). and my calcium tablet is 300mg. so for today, 500mg gao dim liao.

after lunch or at tea break i will take some yoghurt or cheese. and at dinner i will try to take either broccoli, tofu, sardines, ikan bilis. all good sources for calcium.

how much to eat? 2 tbsp ikan bilis = 1 portion liao! (and we need 3 portions a day).

very important ok, girls? for the sake of our own bones!

interesting thought: bird's nest is high in calcium and protein and minerals! if you're wondering why bird's saliva is so high in these things, one school of thought is that when they fly around, they eat fish and they eat all parts of the fish (thus absorbing the calcium from fish's bones, and protein and minerals from fish). then that same saliva is used to make nests.

yesterday i popped by popular and JL sale.
hmm, actually i think the popular sale not bad but i was with my son and he din really let me flip the stuff cos he suddenly said he wanted to poo! only managed to grab 3 chinese books.

JL sale i think also not bad but again cos with my son, i din manage to grab too much stuff. think got a lot of household stuff.

pinkbunny
i din know bird nest got so much value. always feel that it's not much nutrition. in fact, a lot of pple feel eating too much bird nest is no good for bb.

i m also a non milk drinker. just dun like milk.....

i think my calcium tablet is 625 gm...not too sure whether that's all calcium or not.

jaslyn
some studies show that bb may have sensitive skin or worsen allergies if the mother takes too much bird nest. not sure how true but take in moderation lah.

i din take much for my frist pregnancy anyway.

wow, quite morning for all?

birds nest is one of those things that has always been big question mark. some say it's good for baby's skin, some say it's too cooling etc. i guess it's up to you la

about the bird's saliva thing, hey i'm just repeating what the mt A nutritionist said

nope, metro fair, didn't make it in the end. metro is only at sengkang now is it? where else got outlet ah? and how to get metro card? (hehe so auntie!)

oh ya. ok i will check out paragon. but sale still on or not ah?

nah i can't apply for credit cards - "bad credit limit" (long story that involves my mata/super gangster ex boyfriend)

pinkbunny
metro is now at paragon, sengkang and woodlands..
think the sale is until 14th..
the card u can go UOB website..
think the min income is different from normal credit cards leh...

ya lor.. I also always thought birdnest is gd for bb skin..
cos my mum say must eat so my gers will mei mei..hehe..

SY
oic..
cos I dunno if its worth to go anot..
cos all the way go until paragon..
and cant walk too long now liao..
so sian..
everyday at home..

last sat been to gynae... now bb weight abt 700g n her legs are on my right... hehe

she keep opening mouth like drinkin water.

jaslyn
ya my problem is that banks won't give me a credit card even though i meet all the requirements. last time young and stupid, bought a car with the **** then when we broke up he didn't pay for the car anymore but since he kept the car, i didn't want to have anything to do with it and for some reason we couldn't sell it bla bla. so every month i would receive red letter from bank. that's why i've been blacklisted. so now must ask hubby to apply then give me supp card. really like xiao lao po...

garfield
me too! last sat at gynae, bb also about 700g and she is on my right too! high five! she kept smiling keke. so cute.

hi mummies..

mua's super duper busy but still alive..

sneezed hard last nite and tummy hurt badly after dat! hope all is ok! and it was juz the muscles contracting!

rain..you can still call to see if anymore slots are left for pre-natal classes right... u never know..thought it would be useful for first time mums like us... ;)

dang.. my gynae does not scan on every visit, so can't tell how big my little one is now...

do1nk,

i think the pain u experience is normal..
as long as no blood discharge. actually 2nd birth onwards more ligament pains... my gynae says.

i hate sneezing hard these days... will get urine incontinence liao .... back to those days

had to do more pevic exercise liao.

garfield
i'm at 27 weeks this week
so cute la opening and closing mouth! at our first scan, so cute la, she waved at us! hehe

do1nk
hello! must take care okie? busy also must take time to rest hor. ya me too, sometimes sneeze so hard that tummy hurts but gynae says it's ok. no way we could hurt baby through sneezes/coughs. phew.

but i find it very strange that you don't get scans at every appt though

kegal exercises
must do 60-80 times a day wor...

anyone has recommendation for shoulder massage for preggies ? I have an aching shoulder

and for non 1st time mummies... while doing ur confinement, how r u going to cook for ur #1 ? CL only takes care of u and ur newborn. and our #1 cant take our food, too heaty !!

Me too.. when sneezing hard, hurts...

U all really do kegal exercise daily?? :p Or am I the only lazy bum here... Haha.

Do u all get alot of white milky discharge?? It's normal rite??

hi autumn

tks ... ya think not every CL agree to it.

it's normal to have more discharge now. it shld be ok as long as it is not yellowish/greenish and smells.

labbit
i also think CL can cook extra. cos some cook extra for hubby also right? and it's not the same thing? btw. what does CL herself eat? just curious

autumn
nope, when i remember then i do haha. but just do on the way to work or at the office lor i guess. for the sake of our future and keeping ourselves dry! hehe. the other day i choked on something then very jialat. on top cannot breathe but below need to tahan in case leak.

repeat after me girls, I WILL DO MY KEGALS! hehe

side topic: meiji yoghurt is good! 195mg of calcium per cup! (as you can see, calcium is my new fav topic)

eh... Really? But to cook for kids, shld not be much of a hassle for CL mah... Aiyoh.. True.. some CL very geigao one...

How old is ur child?? If order tingkat wasteful??

Calcium.... Which brand of calcium/iron/fish oil is good for mums?? Haha. I wanna get but hate to take so many pills... And I dun believe my gynea's prenatal vits has everything in it.. :p

pinkie, autumn

the confinement food is very heaty with ginger and rice wine so not suitable for my #1. She is turning 20 mths v soon.

Even adults like us cannot take it .. I rem I had ulcers for the 1st few days of my confinement cos our body are not used to such food and rem we cant take plain water, only red dates tea !!

so hor .. now I was thinking how to cook for my #2. I hope that she eats home cooked food everyday.

hmm maybe CL will fix something for herself bah ? maybe cook a bigger share but for her own portion she dont add so much ginger and rice wine. Maybe I can ask her to do that so my gal can share my food.

autumn
your gynae doesn't give you calcium tablets? not the multi vitamin one. i get calcium as part of my ante natal package (and haemoglobin iron and multi vitamin). fish oil i take scotts cod liver oil

also, take foods that are high in the things you need lor. for products high in calcium, see my morning post

ya labbit if she is cooking 'normal' level of heatyness kind of food for herself, should be ok to cook a bit more for your girl ba? wait got too much rice wine then your girl mabok la! hehe

ask u all gals, is CL supposed to wash our clothes too? wat if we have maid at home?

I thought since we payin them so much, they shld do it rgt??

Hi.

Im new here. but im very sad because i force to resigned this month.. my EDD is 23 Jun 2008. so my maternity leave will be forfeited ..

bunny,
He said his prenatal vits has EVERTHING. But if I want, I can still take more.. Duhz.. where got so good stuffs.. :p

lbt,
20mths can take noodles soup oredi or soup & rice.. erm.. just ask ur hubby do the marketing and if ur CL dun want to help out, u can put all ingredients in the slow cooker to cook the soup..

garfield,
CL is supposed to wash mum & baby clothes. If she ask the maid to wash, then u ask her if can deduct $100 from her salary loh. :p Somemore got maid, she dun need to wash, wipe the kitchen.. Then wat she do? Just cook & look after baby?

1bt,

oic okie. at least ask b4 i ask her or else she offended jia lat rgt?
cos i tot wash bb as well as my clothes.

lynncnl, sad to hear this. y u force to resign? can u report them to manpower if no reason??

Lynncnl,
Sorry to hear that.. but co. can force to resign when u're so near EDD ar?? Black heart leh.. based on wat grounds.. duhz..

autumn,
tat wat i think n tat is why need to check w u gals first before i jump any conclusion. in fact, i heard of some CL still do household chores like cleaning the house which I didn't expect her to do liao. so q: she just look after bb then if bb nap, wat she do?? hehe
cos i met mine already but forgotten to ask her. my fren say tat time she never wash her clothes cos she got maid. but i think i rather let CL do it since her pay is much more than my maid. fair rgt?

garfield

think u r right lor .. CL is being a lot leh ... not a small sum. So I think cooking, taking care of newborn and washing bb clothes is reasonable.

btw for those mummies who intend to latch fully for 1st month, nite feeding how ? ask CL to wake up us to latch bb ?

hi Lynncnl

sorry to hear about ur termination. Did u report to MOM ?

lbt,

i think u can request for CL to wake u up for direct latch at nite.

wat i will do this time is i pump out my milk and ask CL to feed him EBM.

garfield,
ya.. CL salary so high, shld let her do the washing.. coz I asked some of the CLs, all say they wash mum's clothes too.. so I tot its the norm.. Hee.

lbt,
I also dinking of this prob.. but we can also express out rite? or no good to express..?? Then.. do u sleep with the CL & ur baby? or just put baby together with CL??

CL
labbit i think better jiang qing chu with your CL before she start hor? but i didn't really check with mine... their main role is to help take care of mum (which is primarily in terms of cooking), and baby. so they are not maids but i've heard that CLs do help with housework. not sure if it's part of job scope or just cos they are helpful. yes it's a high price but it's also a big responsibility. that's what i feel la.

lynn
so sorry to hear about your termination! how can they force you to resign... it could be against the law i think if they ask you to go after they find out you are preggie.

MJ
chope i know i asked before but who plays ah? want to play one time before we pop? not with kachang or kueh chee please...

gals

I think i shld leave the hsework to maid since I will engaging one. CL for me and bb can liao. CL need to rest also since she wakes up at nite.

ya think will express out at nite for nite feeds.