(2008/07) July 2008

qing in case you are interested, the cheapest i found was $398 per person incl tax for 4D3N tiger air, first hotel. i've stayed there before, the location is so-so, the rooms are not so fantastic. but if you are on tight budget, it's not that bad.

Qing,
towards last trimester, weight gain will be even faster. so maybe that's why Dr Han doesn't wan u to gain too much weight now.

my last pregnancy, i put on about 14 kg in total. most of the weight gain happened in the last trimester.

Qing,
don't worry too much. like u say, halfway there only, still got time to gain more weight.
This is the time for baby to gain weight too.

pinkbunny,
Must shop more, eat more k.

Steph,
same same. abt 1kg per month. so far baby is doing very good. So I think it is ok. don't worry k.

SY
Dr Han is like rushing everytime we visit him.

i am kinda worried as people are commenting that my tummy very small for a five months pregnancy.

and then my weight gains is so much.
so i guess the weight actually go to me instead of my baby. oh my.
my waist used to be 26"
now it's 35"

relax, qing. people can say all they want. i know people who only put on 10kg, and others who put on 20kg. babies came out between 2.5 and 3.5kg.

you 35 inches only. .. i'm 38 and counting!

Qing,

Mine is considered "small" too. I hope it stays that way lor.

Anyway mummies, i'm leaving to start enjoying my long weekends. Monday chat again.

qing
dun worry. tummy size is not = to bb size. dun be bothered abt all these comments. i have seen pple with very huge tummies and gain like 20 over kg but bb come out only 2+kg. Dr Han may seem rush but that's cos u dun have any problems mah. so it's a good thing also.

do u have a lot of water retention? it can add to the weight also.

i've found it useful to write down whatever questions you have and don't let your doctor escape until you finish asking and get all you need to know. after all you are paying for the consultation and you need peace of mind till your next appt right?

mummies, a really cool snack i've found! brand is "you are what you eat". cool cranberry cereal bars. i've never been a fan of cereal bars but i like cranberry and it was quite cheap so i bought. $6.95 for 2 packs from watsons, each pack has 6. very nice leh! and healthy. best.

half an hour more for me..........

Qing,
It's okay. As long as both you and baby are healthy, don't worry. I put on 20kg for my previous preg and baby was 3.4kg. I lost everything within three months. Put on weight again only because I am a chocoholic and MUST eat chocolate every day. ;p

youpi.... you are scaring me.... when the mood strikes i can almost finish one whole bar leh. the big kind... and the mood does strike on a rather regular basis....

me too...
i am chunking alot of chocolate lately.

pinkbunny,
i will go try it out...
buying nuts too.
they are consider healthy snacks.

me too... my on-off craving is LONG JOHN'S SILVER deep fried chicken :S for whatever reason, it always smells so good. jialat.

okie going off. see you all on mon! have a wonderful l-o-n-g weekend!!!

OMG. Please dun mention KFC.
I love fried chicken very much since preggie.
But I m thinking of durian now ... so mayb have to pester my hubby to go n buy later.

Qing,
my tummy? Big and round.
I dun really want to mention this, I always have "free" slimming session when I m pregnant.
For my #1, i gain about 3~4kg just before delivery. My gal is near 4kg, i think.
Why?? Becoz I am losing weight when I am preggie.
Now I also hope to have the "same effect".

But hor, I eat alot one. Not those dun eat this, dun eat that one.

Just say, as long as doctor say that baby is growing healthy in you, just eat and be happy.

haha mummies. i guess our next outing at balestier fish steamboat place we have to order the HA CHEONG GAI then! it's absolutely shiok :D

all this talk about KFC is making the July mummies crave for it.. think I wanna go have some this weekend too.. haha

urr durian I can't take though..I used to love them but so far the 3 times I attempted to eat it when pregnant, the aftertaste made me so sick! now I can only drool n watch when the whole family eats is..goodwood park's durian craze is back...

oh ya, PB.. I was scrolling through the archives to view the videoclip dordor put up (can't view in office) when I realised I have not answered you about my lapro.. I had endometriosis (blood cyst) which I had to remove..and did it last year..one of the factors that egged us on to try for a baby too

bluey..isn't west coast dog run so much bigger and scarier coz you never the temperament of the many other dogs there..we've been going to bishan for years so kinda know the crowd there liao..do pop by lor if you are free... ;)

okie dokie mummies go put on your shopping shoes and brace yourselves for the baby fair tomorrow! seeya!

bluey,
u didnt gain any at all?
u are the first preggie that i've heard gained least weight, ha... all you've gained go to baby liao, which is very good, no need to go massage or slimming course.

i'm a bit concerned because i gained 12kg last pregnancy, most gained during 2nd trimester. from my experience, it's hard to gain weight in 3rd trimester. now we are soon into 3rd tri liao, but only 2.5kg gained, so i'm thinking has anything goes wrong with me.. can't wait till next week check up...

KFC? long john silver?

i'm very 'guai' le, dare not touch fast food,... haha.. maybe i should 'misbehave' abit, so more weight gained? hehe...

SY
yeah, kids will get fever after taking MMR jab. some even got fake measles. that's wat i initially thought my boy has when first few rashes developed, but PD said those are not.

at what age when you brought your son to dentist? i'm afraid he doesn't want to open his mouth at his age now..

even when we brush teeth for him now, he only open his mouth for 10 seconds, afterwhich he will bite us to protest...

delphine
i didn't let my boy brush teeth with toothpaste yet, he will sure swallow all of them, even though they are edible, but not too good to add toothpaste as part of his meal.. :p

delphine .. tks for helping to remove the pic.

QIng

I went to gynae visit today too and was warned abt my wt gain too ! I gained 2.3kg !! siao liao .. I keep saying cham cham .. but gynae say not very cham lah . just control this coming mth ehhee

heng he never ask me what I eat ... my ans will be DURIANS !!

oh my bb weighs 740g at 24 weeks. How many weeks are u now ?

re:milk bottle for newborns

that time I only bgt abt 3 NUK ones and 2 small Avent ones. Tried both and my ger takes NUK better. The Avent one seems to big for new born. I observed it for my 2 nephews too. The milk tends to roll out of their mouth.

delphine

you can put your nick as 3Ds and 1d .... 3 big D and i small D hehe so not 4D lah !
so ur 2nd one is a gal too ? what will be her name ?

oh ya some dentist recommended that we dont use toothpaste for kids who are too young cos they dont know how to spit the toothpaste out. ANd it may becomes a habit. So just brush with water can already.

youpi

my gal took MMR and she has no fever. I think those jabs after 1 yr old shld not cause any fever already leh. I always ask my PD after each jab and he always assure me shld NOT have fever.

Thanks gals for making me feel welcomed!

Youpi
Our sons can be good friends. So u are now how many weeks? I'm in 22 weeks.

Weight gain: Wow....some of u all really amazing. can gain little weight and yet baby growing well. I every month also put on 2 kg so till now is 10kg+ le bah....hope can lose weight like my no1

Pinkbunny u so good! can go BKK. We also planning to go but after one trip to BKK with my son then at 18 months, my hubby doesn't dare to bring him along again cos that trip is the most tiring trip we had. U gg with ur DH only? Enjoy your shopping spree! Tks for the info that still can travel from now till 32 weeks.

SY, wow u know how to drive. So good. I haven't get my license though I wan to learn. Lazy bah. Ya...I felt the same too. Breathless if I carry him for some time.

pinkbunny
I was still gonna ask u to stay Pathumwan Princess cos its linked to MBK ma. I go BKK must stay there only cos I really like the room n the convinence.....hehehe
Shop too much jus go back hotel room to throw all the stuff refresh abit n shop again....wahahaha

Qing
I was married at 22 also leh. So not that young lah jus that it might be a bit too fast n rush for u. U still trying to settle in everything. Dun think so much lah chuan dao qiao tou zhi ran zhi.
I stayed with my inlaws for a yr before we got enough money in CPF to buy our own flat. I know it doesn't feel as confortable as ur own hse but u must think u r now married liao got your own family already. Our room used to have everything mini fridge, tv, com, toilet. So its still okie for me to jus stay inside the whole day. Jus think of ur bb okie n how happy u will be when she's born okie.
Jus tell ur hubby to imagine how it feels for him to move in to ur family lor cos that's exactly how u feel right now ma.

JMON
probably u can PM me for ur contact i can help u design n provide a quotation for u if you dun mind( i work as a freelance interior designer not any big company but have mine only sub con to do all the work)

Qing,
really envy u leh can gain so much weight, in fact i been eating a lot but till to date onlt gain 3kg gynae always shake his head ask me did u eat or not??? i always ans YES a lot but only 3 meals didnt eat junk food or tibits coz baby seem dun like when i eat junk food will contribute all to the toilet bowl.(hahaha)
i read fm a book saying that eating too much junk food is not gd for baby n mother ....

but i love subway sandwiches if my FAVOURITE gyane say cant eating too much rice n bread or else next time to slim down quite diffcult

Baby fair at EXPO
i'm going today .....will leave my house at 11am hahahah

Blessed holiday to the Christian mamas and happy shopping to all hot mamas!!

Qing,
don't worry too much. like dor_dor said, things will work out somehow. you still have a lot of people who love and care about you ;)

SY, Rain,
my wgt b4 pregnancy was ard 42kg and now 47kg so shd be ok right?? i ate a lot during 1st tri. but recently been eating lesser coz feels full very fast. then snack in between meals.

Pinkbunny,
is the cranberry cereal bars really nice? i saw many times wanted to buy & try but i'm not into cereal bars and worry too sweet. the one you bought is the Oceanspray brand is it?

Youpi, Qing
think chocolate got caffeine right? can't eat too much. i love chocolates but have been controlling cannot eat too much

SY,
you drive ar !? me too and seat belt getting uncomfortable. when do you intend to stop driving? think i'll drive as long as got space for my tummy! hahaha...

Expo Fair:
LEAVING NOW!!! cheong arrr... hahah ...

shiiiiiok this morning wake up at almost 10am! hehe.

serene
haha junk food is never good for ANYONE, pregnant or not!

steph
i have tried a few cereal bars cos hubby always eats. he's much healthier than me. but i've never liked the taste. but this particular one i like. it's called "YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT" (the brand) and it is cranberry flavour. dunno where else will have but i bought mine for 2 packs at $6.95 at watson's at forum. each pack inside got 6 bars

baby fair at expo
how did you find it, mummies that went? i felt very blur there. spent about 2 hours just walking around in a daze. i find that big crowds does this to me now. had similar experience at isetan sale. in the end only signed up for mailing list at nestle, parkway health. feel like very shi bai like that. only bought baby sling from moms in mind ($35 for cotton one, $45 for satin/silk one). bumwear's deal is good too but my colleagues are buying for me so i didn't get anything.

pureen booth like got quite good prices but they seem to bring in very little stock. very fast finish. i was there about 2 plus. $4.80 for nappy liners (100), $13.80 for S diapers (48), about $15 for cloth nappines (10 or 12 can't remember).

never mind. dinner will cheer me up. going to have fish steamboat at balestier! to mark my bro's end of delinquency and welcome into big bad responsible world of adulthood

sigh. putting our parenting caps on, we're thinking that $800 to BKK is not worth it and that's equivalent X packets of diapers. and also, thanks to this pregnancy mind and mood, a few days ago i was jumping up and down thinking about BKK and now i'm thinking again, stomach so big already, could be dangerous la in big crowds.

sigh. restrictions of parenthood!

hey there pinkbunny,

at least you bought a baby sling. i went 1 round and left. it was too crowded and can't really get past the crowds at the "popular stalls". in the end collected some pamphlets and went off to taka fair hehehe...

ya man it was so crowded i was walking around and i felt like i was on drugs. couldn't concentrate at all!

btw separate topic mothers en vogue seem to be having sale: http://www.mothersenvogue.com/

nursing tops
should we buy one size bigger than we are now?

nursing bras
should we buy one cup bigger than we are now?

Hi Annie,
I am 23 weeks now

Baby Fair
I never saw so many aggressive pregnant women before! Saw so many with stomachs waaaay bigger than mine, pushing and shoving through the crowd! I ended up only buying a Babysafe pillow for ds1, then went to the airport for lunch and so that he could watch planes -one of his favourite past-times.

Mothers En Vogue
I have some of their tops. I like their stuff as the material seems to be of a better quality than at other stores. Design-wise, also better. They don't look like typical nursing tops.

Nursing bras
Can wait till third tri to buy. You'll get a better gauge of your size then. I expanded two sizes both ways - around the underbust, and cup. It was quite shocking as I never expected to have milk-filled, porn-star sized boobs!

Pinkbunny,
OMG, I have been thinking of HAR CHEONG GAI for the past two weeks! Where is this Balestier fish steamboat place?! And LJS has deep-fried chicken? I never knew! Must go and check out already.

youpi

hahaha eh can I join ur club of the "porn star lookalike pregnant mummy" ? oops sounds so R(A) ! hahaha

u r not alone .. I cant imagine when my breasts start to fill with milk ! oh my gosh !!

i bgt 2 new bras from Sorella too .... and wow they are big ! ahhahaha

pinkbunny

if u buy now, usually they will recommend u to get 2 sizes bigger. No joke when u have boobs full of milk early in the morning... and *drip drip drip* leaking all the way ahahha

seriously? buy 2 sizes bigger? so if i'm usually 75B, i should get a 75D? wow my husband will be so happy. but seriously, the boobs are great but the rest of the body is so clumsy! haha.

hey mummies i got a free sample of ANMUM materna from the hospital. been intending to share this but keep forgetting. i'm really quite anti milk (i can't stand the smell) so does anyone want? it's powder form. free la.

don't worry don't worry. before you all scold me, i'm getting my calcium through calcium tablets and chocolate milk.

still plenty more of the weekend to go. shiok :D

Me very unlike pinkbunny.
I drink ANMUM from the day I knew I was pregnant.
Even when I m not preganant, I would take Anlene.

Went to expo yesterday ... got a mattress but is OOS. So will have to collect it tomorrow prob. I m thinking of getting a new pillow for my gal as well. Quite worth it. Saw @ kiddy palace today and was more expensive.

So funny to see u all compare to porn star boobs......hahahaha
I jus keep complaining to hubby now so big. After I delieverd my son was already like 2 big hard rocks now I can't imagine after we deliever n the milk comes in will be so huge. hahaha

bluey
U so good girl drink so much milk. I only drink fresh milk n only when the mood comes. Dun really fancy them n i'm lactose intolerant so can't take much. Still comtemplating when I'm gonna try drinking the milk samples my gynea gave......hehehe

pinkbunny
U dun intend to slim down after birth aah??......Hehehe
Why u wanna get big nursing tops now. Wait till after bb's birth lor then see how much u have lost n wat size u can fit in. I lost quite a bit of weight Bfing my son n so far only have 2 nursing tops.
I like the 1 from Motherhood.com but their sizes r so big I wore the S.
Nursing bra get later when nearing edd bah better to guage the size already anyway won't be wearing them now right.

Went to Expo today... the babysafe matteress looks good, unfortunately it doesn't have the size that I require. 31 x 55 inch...

Bot a sarong sling and some baby supplies..I think i will give up shopping for a while... so tiring... :p

BTW, any of you gals bot breast pumps already? What type is good? Heard Medela is quite favoured... any comments?

Hi Pinkbunny!

I also hate the taste of milk...calcium intake thru pills and chocolate milk.. My hubby is insisting I drink milk.. *yucks*

But I do drink soy bean milk though..not sure if it has the same effect..

dor dor
choy choy choy! of course want to lose weight after giving birth!!! but thought some people say buy nursing bras later in the pregnancy so that can double up as maternity+nursing? by the time we're nursing, got no time to go out and buy already right? how ah? *scratch head*

batgirl
oh i think we bought the same sling! from moms in mind?

breast pumps
most of us bought liao during the sale (taka/isetan/tangs). check older threads, we talked alot about them hehe. i bought avent manual.

high five! calcium pills+chocolate milk! normal milk i cannot la. since young, i smell only i will vomit. choclate milk still ok. but i also have one packet (liquid kind) of anmum so i just mix with chocolate milk. cannot taste, not so bad. maybe you can try too?

soy bean milk - 2 schools of thought. my CL says drink (those from market kind), gynae says don't. *shrug*

so how, anyone wants my one packet of anmum powder bo?

the avent portion looks good but so small i can't see: http://www.robinsons.com.sg/whatson/home-kids_7mar08.htm

pinkbunny
I didn't wear nursing bra as maternity bra maybe cos last time not used to wearing those cloth non wire bras. But if u wanna wear also can lah I mean the nursing tops dun buy before u give birth cos u won't know how much weight u will lose after birth.
Dun wanna go out n buy buy online lah......hehehe

Happy Easter! sian tomorrow back to work liao.. :p

hi pinkbunny,

Yes, I bot the sling from Moms in Mind!

Will try to mix the liquid one with chocloate milk... for the powder one, i think i will try mixing with lots and lots of milo?

So tired today...maybe too much walking around yesterday...need to go zzzzzzzz......

batgirl,
there is this period whereby I dun like to drink milk. So I mixed a lot of milo with the milk and begin to eat the milk. I also tried all flavour, and meji suits me the best. Maybe u can try around the different brand of milk.

eh who is lactose intolerant ?? me too .. and I take well to Meiji fresh milk.. try ok !!

pinkbunny

can buy 1 or two nursing bras .... maybe u buy it when u r abt 7-8 mths preggie ? then easier to gauge then ..

I still drink 1 cup of Enfamama in the morning and Meiji fresh milk at nite .. . v hardworking right ? ahha kia su ... hope 2nd bb wont be as small as first one.