(2008/07) July 2008

stephania
the dual medela electric pump is different from PIS. think the suction is different also.

lbt
hee i completely get no milk when i use avent. PIS was much better for me. so i also a great supporter. in fact i always recommend that to my frens. 2 of my frens also went to buy it last year.

good luck on your detailed scan!!

SY:
oic.. oh well, i bought liao so just use till it breaks down then see how lor

doggiebb:
now that you mentioned, you have a very good point on the back support for the baby. thanks! didn't think of that!

stephanie

i am not sure but reviews from experienced mum is that it doesnt last long enough for us to BF babies totally for 1 year. Like I say even the gal at the service centre agree with me.

do u want to change ur pump ?

pinkbunny

ya cos I latch day and nite and still pump 3-4 times day. initially I pump more than that to establish supply cos my ger dont latch well. I pump exactly at 3 hours interval so it is abt 7-8 times a day leh. The pump then broke down abt 5-6 mths later.

SY

ya some mothers I know cannot use certain pumps. I have a fren who cant achieve letdown using any pumps !! but when the ger latch, she is able to drink from breast for quite a while. funny ya ?

lbt:
with the comments, i want to change but not sure isetan allow or not. some more its promotion item :p it's ok la. i just use first lor. maybe i be more hardworking and BF baby myself.. keeping my fingers crossed.

BF for 1 year!!!? wow!!! 好伟大的妈妈!

steph

ya u try out first. there is one thing to note. after each pump, we shld detached the funnel and let the pump runs for a few minutes. It will push out any water droplets found in the rubber "straw" like thing that attached the funnel to the pump. I believe water went into my pump that's why it is spoilt.

SY what u call that ah ?

breast pumps
stupid question: got sizes or not? like 34B, 36C... or one size fits all? this weekend going KL i go check out if got medela PIS at cheaper price!

breastfeeding
i think i'll try to do it for one year at most. see how ah. see if my breasts allow me to or not!

dreams
remember i said i dreamt about my baby? i told my mother and she said she dreamt about me before i was born too! it was nature's way of 'ultrascan' cos last time don't have hehe

lbt, many many thanks for the tip!!

one more qn.. must we sterilise the rubber tubing together with the milk bottles before we use ?! pai seh.. i'm totally clueless...

Steph

same as delphine I only sterilise the funnels and valves. The tube is just wash it with boiled water and let it air dry.

pinkbunny

yes the funnel comes in sizes. The default one that comes with medela is a bit small for me, and it rubs on my areola and makes it painful. So i bought a larger one from FIrst Few Years at KKH.

oH steph, just rem to flush the water droplets away and I think the pump can last longer.

Pumps
For FTWM like me, i will usually have 2 pumps - the electrical and manual. Electrical mainly for home use where electrical point is always within reach. I heard Medela Swing is good n its only abt $300+. For manual, i use for expressing on the go, mainly during office hours. Dont want to express with the zz.zz.zz. sound that can be heard by others, right. Previously used Avent manual but a few friends of mine tried Pigeon's New Manual Pump n they swear by it now.

bf
pinkbunny, the more u let ur bb latch on, the more ur breasts will produce milk. As Mrs Wong Boh Boi, a famous n senior lactation consultant in TMC ever said, ur breasts are like a factory not warehouse. They do not store but produce, so the more demand, the more supply will be.

sheila
FTWM =....? first time working mum is it? my office has a nursing room so i don't think the zzz zzz will be very noticable. or at least i hope! medela swing is single or twin? sorry for the many question!!!

so regardless of how much you express, it is the actual breastfeeding that will keep the supply going, right?

btw i think i might have shared before - i'm going to get a t-shirt set for my baby and me. mine will say "SUPPLY, 24 hours!" and hers will say "DEMAND, 24 hours!" haha. got the idea from mothers en vogue shop i think. but the set is like $79 so i'll print my own!!

lbt
my bb refused to latch and i was pumping throughout the whole day initially. he only started latching at 5 months. very siong. hopefully this time round, can latch successfully

stephanie
maybe u try out the pump first lor. or call isetan to see whether can exchange. since u getting something of higher value, maybe they will aloow?

lbt
u referring to the tubing is it? my tubing got so dirty that i need to get replacements

re sterilising
i only sterilise the parts that come into contact with the milk. anything else i dun sterilise.

stephanie
you're so sweet
not really going alone... i'm taking the morning bus, then spend the day with my colleagues in KL for meetings, then my husband will take the evening bus and join me at the hotel. the hotel is very near the office, and it has a shopping centre attached so i will just hang out there by myself. should be ok lor. time past very fast when i shop!!

about your isetan breast pump, better to give isetan a call cos like you say, promo items usually they are more reluctant

pinkbunny
FTWM - Full-time working mum. Unlike ur office, mine do not have a nursing room. We will use any vacant room available or even the executive rest room (single but large w tap)!
Swing is single pump. Based on past experience, the moment i was at the door, my bb can smell my presence n cried non-stop till i bf him/her. So, bf one side, express the other...

sy
i've read abt bb in-born instincts n learned something that has helped me during bf. For non-1st time mummies that ever bf, u may recall that there were some instances that bb too hungry n hving difficulty in latching, right. Then both mummy n bb will get frustated. Based on the bk, i will lean back slightly, put my bb face-down on my chest near breast. BB will move head left n right looking for nipple n automatically will latch perfectly on their own. Once latch, u may shift ur body 2 sitting position back...

wow sheila. feed one side, express the other! good idea! so cute, the way you describe the process to 'lure' baby to latch on
i cannot wait to see my baby's cute little face!!!

shelia
yeah i din expect bf to be so tough. me and my boy will get so frustrated. i will try that tactic next time if i have problems.

Pinkbunny,
I'm not sure of the name but there is one very good fishhead charcoal steamboat there and near Caltex. Very good. Like it because can also order other many dishes which are also very nice.

Medela PIS,
Think if order in bulk will have discount???? How often do you need to pump in the day? Worry cos my office doesn't have those nursery room.

Food
Talk abt food.... i'm very hungry already... sigh.. have to wait for boss to finish meeting first then all go to lunch together....hungry....

pinkbunny, sy
hope that method works for u all like it did wonders for my #2 & #3. That method is one of the surviving skills that is inborn with bb, similar to hand grip.

rain
yes yes yes yes that's my favourite fish steamboat in the world!!!!! batang fish slices. mmm mmm! the ha cheong gai is also good. oh yum!

breastfeeding
you know, on tv and in movies they never show that breastfeeding can be so challenging. it's always like so easy hor? sigh.

Pink Bunny,
Mind to share the address?? cos i live near balestier, never heard of this fish head steamboat leh.
You are making me hungry...

sure delphine
http://www.hungrygowhere.com/singapore/whampoa_food_street_keng_fish_head_steamboat_eating_house_balestier/
the reviews are pretty mixed. and i usually react straightaway to MSG by having pain in my knees. i don't get that with this place. it's about $40 for the fish steamboat, and $5 or $10 for refills of fish. i enjoy it every time. it's a family favourite!

if i remember correctly the ha cheong gai only comes with mid joint wings, which i like! and the sauce for the heh cho is also good. sweet and thick. veg i think we have the sambal kangkong usually but not memorable. there's veg in the soup anyway

wah i promote it so much, maybe i should get a discount when i go there the next time. alamak now i'm making myself hungry!!!

Sheila

tks for the BF tip !!

pinkbunny
it is not easy to BF. most mother gave up before they went back to work. so have to persevere.

and it is not easy to latch and pump at the same time, very messy one leh. The milk dripped is very sticky and we smell like a cow !

u have to be mentally prepared if u want to BF for long. Cos u have to lug the ice pack and pump where ever u go. For eg if I want to go out, i need to ensure the place I am going has a nursing room. SOme shopping malls may not have.

when u go for courses, u also need to chk if they have nursing rooms etc.

some mothers always skip the session to pump due to work. so their supply will drop very fast.

good luck !

bfing! *shudders*

first few weeks were hell! the nei neis were so painful that i went ard with my pjs open. can't even bear to have my pjs brush against them, let alone wear a bra. and getting bloody milk while pumping was the scariest thing!

but after that it got better, and I persisted until 7.5 mths. but I must say pumping in the office is really challenging, what with meetings and telephone calls all the time!

bloody milk???? doggiebb, that sounds scary!!! can imagine if pump at desk then talking to suppliers and got lawnmower sound in the background haha.

pinkbunny

ya some ppl get sore nipples and in the end the skin around the areola peel off and bleed.

and also the blocked ducts which causes fever to me twice.

lucky for me my company has a nursing room shared by all BF-ing mothers.

heard many stories about BF-ing too and how it's not as easy as it seems...even scary stories about blocked ducts and bad engorgement...hope we all dun have problems when our baby's out..

haha doggiebb so you were walking around wiv an exposed chest at home?? then you gotto keep your curtains drawn at all times?? I definitely won't have this privilege (not to even mention going round bra-less) as I'm staying with my in-laws....

wonder if it's hygienic to express milk in the washroom... we don't have nursing rooms here either..and my meeting rooms are the kinds with glass walls...

pinkbunny
must be mentally prepared that bf may be tough. some have it easy but most have it hard. i wasn't mentally prepared and really had a tough time. but i managed to do it for nearly 10 months.

do1nk
hee, i also tend to go braless at home during that time. more convenient also.

lbt
last time my office no nursing room so got to use a vacant room. when my colelague saw the state of the room, they even comment that so tough to pump there. small space only.

but i did feel that becos of bf, my boy recovers fast from his illnesses now. so for 2nd one, i hope to do for more than a year.

do1nk

ya that's whY i say must be mentally prepared and hope all of us can support each other during BF.

I tried to express milk in washroom as I was out of ofc. Hai .. i was using a manual one and do it as fast as I can cos I really dont feel comfy. usually I will cover the toilet bowl and sit on it to pump.

SY

same same !! in fact my ger recovers within 1 day from flu/cough or fever. Very amazing !! and some say BF babies are smarter too !

i will definitely BF my #2, at least for 6 mths if I can. my 1st one was bf for 9.5 mths...

lbt
yeah, so i think it is impt to bf and will wan to do it again.

hee dunno whether they will be smarter but hope so lah. i also heard of that before but actually hard to tell whether it's true or not right? my boy picks up things very fast. usually i just need to teach once or twice and he will remember. he even knows how to further elaborate or enhance what i teach him. tot that's quite good for his age already.

rain
yeah let's encourage one another. last time i wd have given up on bf if not for the encouragement of the mummies in the forum. really helped me to overcome those tough weeks.

yeah do1nk

walking around with neineis exposed! dun care liao! so pain!

pinkie

yeah! the nipples were so sore that they bled and the milk just turned red! so scary! and because i was latching, had to use a nipple shield, but still so painful! i would say the delivery was nothing compared to the sore neineis! *shudder again*

then the first few days before the milk comes in, when you only get that 10ml, 20ml, aiyoo so demoralising! i kept logging on to see how the rest are doing and get encouragement!

SY

ya same goes for my ger. I gave her instruction once and she remembers it when I repeat the same thing days later. Ya cant tell if it's our BM hor ? hehe

doggiebb

hehehe .. ya everyone was comparing how much we can pump each session but I think that's v stressful. if not enough just top up with formula milk. dont give ourselves too much stress. then slowly build up supply.

bf-ing sounds really scary now :S

on, let's encourage each other!!

funny question - what do you do when you are expressing? i'm presuming it takes a while, like half an hour? you read a book? do your work? stare into space? i don't mean to be rude, just curious

pinkbunny

i always bring a newspaper of magazine with me. when I am not too focus on pumping, I get letdown easily and milk will flooooowww

errrr...

how to read a book? i wish i can! i use a dual pump. then gotta hold on using 2 hands! sometimes gotta kiap using one hand and use the other hand to press the lumps!

but i rem the first 3 mths at home, i expressed in front of PC...i was watching some downloaded drama i think...hehehe!

lbt
Give me five... i, too, would express in washroom w toilet seat down when no rm available.
As u've mentioned, it is important to b mentally prepared on obstacles of bf, so when the obstacles do surface, u understand better n can easily overcome it. I've bf #2 for 18mth n #3 for 20mth, hope i could bf #4 longer.

benefits of bf
besides being cleverer, bf bb usually has higher immune system. My hb n family has history of asthma, my nephews all hv symptons of asthma n occassionally need to be on puff. As asthma is a bit hereditary, i chose to bf my bb to build up their immune. So far, none of my kids showed any signs of asthma...

i really admire those mummies to whom bf comes so naturally. i was having lunch with someone and she brought her baby and 3 year old along. suddenly i noticed the baby's face was partially covered by my lunch kaki's top, and realised she was bf! like it was so natural and easy.

pinkbunny
Me no time to read or idle s expressing in between working hours. So, one hand expressing, the other massaging the breast. Once 3 bottles r achieved, that's it for each session.

pinkbunny
Dont be surprised. Once u get the hang of it, u may even bf while shopping. That's what i did previously with the help of the sling, so no one will notice..

Sheila

sud sud leh u !!

to me, building the immunity is also my first priority to BF my baby.

when kids are sick, parents are affected also.

doggibb

i raise my legs a bit to support both funnels then my hands are free to flip the mag.

Sheila, actually i still dont know how to massage my breasts hahaah

lbt
Not that difficult leh... while expressing, just press the hard part / lump (build-up milk) of ur breast in ciruclar motions, it will breakdown the build-up faster. Once that particular area is not hard, go ard to find another one...

ou xiang, ou xiang.

btw where to buy the slings from and how much huh? the sarong kind. i feel the ones at moms-in-mind are a bit pricey.