(2008/07) July 2008

pinkbunny

for the sake of ur bb and wanting to deliver naturally, u wont be afraid of the labour pains. trust me ! ahha

cos u confirm delivering MT A ? who knows we may see each other there ! i'll look for the pink-est mother there ! ha !

ling

TMC charges abt $100 (before GST). I wont be doing 3d scan cos no medical benefits. I guess East Shore is generally more expensive.

Dont worry abt tummy. Ur tummy may grow at an exponential rate very soon!

mine is as big as 6-7 mths according to some mothers. probably this is my 2nd pregnancy. some ppl even ask if I am having twins ! aiyo so pai say....

JMON

i also like the red dates tea leh ! I can finish one big pot of it everyday

labbit
ya we are due about the same time! we exchange handphone numbers la, then can sms to let each other know what ward keke. or if neighbouring delivery suites, can shout jia you jia you to each other hehe

an amazing thought came to me out of the blue - here we are waiting anxiously for each appointment to see our baby, but that's all we do. wait. (ok, and buy things). but while we're doing this, our baby is actually doing so much work and going through so many changes. isn't it amazing?

pinkbunny
it is at shun li industrial park or something like that. the place not that cheap leh actually.

re bb movements
can feel the movements getting stronger and stronger. really quite fun.

re tummy size
tummy size doesn't indicate size of bb. as long as bb growing well, no need to worry abt tummy size.

pinkbunny

ok onz! exchange when the due date is nearer ya ?

but in delivery ward must switch off all hps else interfere with the CTG machine that monitors our contractions and bb heartbeat. But there is a telephone beside the bed in the suite.

labbit
alamak when admitted then sms la. or i just shout out in delivery suite "LEHBEEEEEET!!!!!!!! are you here?" hehe.

SY
really? not that cheap? maybe i just go see see la. cannot go through motherhood and not go there right? hehe. oh as you mention it, i think i CAN feel the movements getting stronger! like not so tentative anymore. hehe

pinkbunny

ok lah, then i will shout "PINNNNNNNNKIIEEEEEE push harder !!"

ya rem to bargain when u r there .. they give discounts one.

aiyo! talking about big tummy! mine is like humongous! HUGE HUGE HUGE! *huddle together with lbt*

i went to read up on circumcision, looks like there are a lot of articles saying that it is not necessary also. Dunno what to think now.

i will be delivering at TMC again, the last time, quite like it. the foodie was esp nice, even got those BU soups! then my friends who visited me commented that the 1-bedder I was in, looks like a hotel room, not a hospital room.

Pink bunny,
me too deliver my ger at Mt A..
yes you can hear the mummies scream from the outside while waiting for your turn to go into the delivery suites. afterwhich, quite ok leh.. cannot hear anything(or no mummies in labour?).

announcement
lao niang's waist is 39inches! but i only put on about 4kg i think. doggie, i can join the sumo club with you?

delphine
you are scaring me!! or maybe when they wheel me up to the delivery suite i already start screaming, then i wont let other people scare me

i think lbt meant to bargain at the baby kingdom, not the delivery suite. Think if bargain at delivery suite, we at the losing end.

pinkbunny
no lah, that place is not a must go. in fact, i din like one of the places. they dun have all the brands either. i only got my car seat from one of them. unless u can bargain there, think not too worth it

doggiebb
it is really not nec to circumcise your bb. intiialyl i also think shd do it but then no good reason to do it also. unless your PD says need to do it for medical reasons (eg his penis keeps geting infection cos the foreskin too tight or too thick to clean properly).

Re: Bloom photography
-------------------------------------------------
LATEST UPDATE: 4 more MTBs to meet get CD with all the shots at $200 instead of 250!!!
-------------------------------------------------
Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For photos that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

If there are more than 15 MTBS who sign up for the bloom BP, the CD containing all the shots can be bought at $200 instead of $250. If we only have 10 mtbs, the previous offer still stands

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy (Apr mtb)
2. Yo (Apr mtb)
3. Gervynne (Apr mtb)
4. Wish Come True (May mtb)
5. Piyo (Jun mtb)
6. Veniz (Jun mtb)
7. Mogudog (Jun mtb)
8. Chewy (Apr mtb)
9. Jer (?? mtb)
10. Juin (May mtb)
11. Serene123(Apr mtb)

***Anyone else?? 4 more to reach the min. 15 for the $200 offer!!! ***

pink bunny,
then you will be scareing other mummies 1st..

Mt A not bad, the stuff are friendly and the other time i opted for 1 bedder with companion but they dun have any more rooms. so gave me 2 bedded room to myself. My hubby "gain" lor he sleep on the normal bed as a companion.

haha our two rabbit mummies are very entertaining today... *picture 2 frisky bunnies holding hands skipping about*

think there's a 3rd bunny mummy here right (cin bunny)? keke

think we gotto do our research soon (on prices) before we head for the taka and expo baby sale coming up soon... anyone considered gettting playpen or cot or both?

heard many saying cots turn out to be white elephants, and cost more.. but somehow seem more sturdy to me...

delphine
haha. ya that's my strategy. scare before being scared. i think we'll go for 4 bedder. save money la. i told my husband never mind you dont' stay with me. you go home and sleep and gather energy cos when i get home it will be your turn to take care of the baby!

do1nk
very naughty ah you!! hehe yes there is cin bunny too. me too i'll get a cot but not playpen. my friend was just saying ikea cot not good cos mummy got to bend down very low to pick the baby up. what a shame. i actually already pick out the one i wanted! see how.

labbit
let's flash our bug teeth to do1nk and shake our furry bunny tails at her!

I'm from the Dec 2007 thread and I have some unused items to sell.

1. 7 packets of Da Feng Ai (herbs for bathing)
2. 1 box of pigeon breast pads + 4 loose pieces
3. 1 can of Friso Gold milk powder (900g)

All 3 items bundled together selling for $38.

Alternatively, item 1. and 2. bundled selling for $18. Not sold separately

Item 3. alone selling for $23.

Please email [email protected] if interested. Thanks!

do1nk
for me, i feel my cot turned out to be white elephant and not very flexible ( as in cannot move to where i want easily). in the end my cot only used for nap time and my boy sleeps on mattress at night.

on hindsight, i may not get cot...

cot
oh i remember seeing at my friend's house, her daughter is now almost 2, and she's sleeping in a bed that used to be a cot. very nice leh! i go ask where she buy from

haha when I previously had to stay in for my surgery.. had to opt for one bedder and get my hubby to bunk in wiv me coz was scared of..... nurse floating in without legs...eeks!! I'm one of those super big scaredy cats... so think I'm still gonna go for a one bedder this time round... *blush*

which bed are you eyeing, pinkbunny?? ya..agree we must get those whose height can be adjusted based on age of baby.. you mean all of ikea's cots can't do that?

i dont like cot either. the kids outgrow cot very fast, within months. my playpen is from my niece. She slept until 2 yrs plus before it was pass to me.

and if u use cot, need to protect the wood surrounding. for playpen dont need.

do1nk
i also scared of hantu.

bed at ikea? cot you mean? baby cot, brown colour one. about $200+. 2 adjustable heights but according to my friend the lower one is too low. i dunno, maybe i go take a look again. wait for sale! everything wait for sale!!

the cot/bed i think is not from ikea. the one i saw from ikea is a cot cot.

hello ladies!

there's this other place along Balestier Road that sells a wide range of strollers and baby car seats. it's spacious and many models of several brands for the strollers. location linked below. ground floor at Leong On Building. Sorry i forgot the company's name. Price for the model that i was interested in is same as those offered at Baby Kingdom (Kaki Bukit)

http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel.php?ismap=1&starmode=0&star=1&buildingid=16924&masterid=1&x=29433.3454&y=34440.7063&level=6?196,339

chope, playpen is it the one with the netting around? and the baby kind of lies on the floor? how to lift them out? we must climb in ah? sorry, a bit blur.

btw mummies, any of you have dry mouth? these few days i feel my mouth very dry and i scared got stale breath. even though i brush and floss after lunch every day

Cot / playpen
As mentioned b4, i'll be getting cot w/wheels, similar to the one that hb threw away after using for all my 3 kids. Cots more sturdy n with convertable type, last longer. Kiddy Palace selling 2 brands, 1 - Lucky Baby for $329 w/bedg sets + mattress. Another (not sure of brand) cost about $359.

hey steph, we passed it a few times and noted it looked very much like baby kingdom/ baby hyperstore too and wanted to pop by some day to check it out..

pinkbunny, as long as the higher height is deep enough to cater to a standing baby, should be ok right? the lower height is when the baby grows into a toddler.. we won't need to bend over to carry them out liao? not sure...

playpen should be the same thing coz nowadays comes wiv these adjustable heights too (some even have rocker at the bottom so you can rock the whole playpen, but doesn't seem practical huh) the only diff is that playpen is soft and probably broader?

Sheila, convertible meaning can convert into a child's bed?

me not experiencing dry mouth, but have a mouth full of ulcers now and at the verge of getting a sore throat..

skin still breaking out and peeling, and i have the mask of pregnancy (darkened skin at certain parts)
ugly mummy I am

Convertible cot
A cot with 3 or 4 adjustable heights that can transform from baby cot to playpen. Also with removable sides, cot can convert to child bed.

do1ink:

according to the salesgirl there, one of them (kingdom/hyperstore - forgot which one) supplies the strollers. i prefer to go balestier coz it's so spacious and so many models of the strollers and car seats on display. the other 2 places were so cramped when i went last sunday.

Playpen
i quite like the playpen (something like this http://kiddybee.com/index.php?main_page=popup_image&pID=163&zenid=37f789ffed1e8f1e8976b981b34b5040 ) but not sure if they're sturdy enough.

any comments?

Stephanie,

There is a very good fishhead charcoal stall there, think opposite the place. Is it there?

Balestier is nearer to my place.

shelia
my cot is convertible but somehow when hb lowered the cot to adjust the height, the screws got stuck and now cannot convert. and i need the cot for number 2 so thinking of just getting a bed for #1. or maybe just let everyone sleep mattress...haha

re baby place at balestier
i passed by it before too. looks like baby kingdom kind of shop.

Rain,

I'm not sure abt the fishhead stall. if you're driving, turn left into a small lane right after you passed Caltex. entrance to the building is right at the end of the road.

SY,
the shop has got more variety on strollers and car seats. for other baby stuff think baby kingdom has got more.

there's enough space for you to push the strollers around the shop! hehee..

hi hi mummies

me counting down the minutes till time to knock off from work
..wanted to share that Chomel is having sale and I bought 3 tops for less than $20 each
...does not look like maternity clothes but can definitely be used as one type.

bb movement : last 3 days can feel a lot more..so exciting! initially at the bottom, near pelvic bone area - now move the middle..wonder what she's doing in there

talking to baby : hubby says 20 weeks is good time to start talking to baby..I asked him, say what? he says, no idea..just talk to her ..heehee ;)

buying baby items : wahhh, you all soo ON! i hv not bought anything except for baby clothes :p, now beginning to feel kan cheong ;)

stephanie
the playpen looks nice! but how to lift a small baby from there? do you have to climb in?

do1nk
don't worry... the mask of pregnancy will disappear after pregnancy. still chio ok? sayang, sayang.

rain
are you referring to ah kheng fish steamboat? oh my gosh it is my favourite fish steamboat in the world!!! i love!!! now i got craving for it!

cin bunny
no la where got on. i only bought stroller and clothes! going to check on breast pump soon. recommendation from mummy network is medela twin pumps, electric one

PInkbunny - yes, heard that medela twin pumps (PIS?) is a good one but brand new is like $700! so maybe buy 2nd hand or buy from US :D

where's ah kheng steamboat? I only know the whampoa one at Ah Hood road (balestier)

wah!! all this talk about steamboat making me hungry...where where?? tell us all!

I've not bought anything at all yet for my little baby...not even clothes..

about breast pumps, think better to go for the electric one, coz my sis who had very little supply...used a manual one til her fingers were badly cramp...

cin bunny
$700??!!! siao!!! oh gosh. yes ah hood road one = ah kheng. not sure if it is the owner's name or the shop's name.

do1nk
yep i also heard from friends who bought manual one. very siong. reason to buy twin one is cos when you're pumping one breast, the other one will leak also. don't waste mah!

do1nk,
Yeah~ my EDD is 28 July. Very close to yours

Having the same problem as you - skin peeling, esp area near my mouth n my lips peel oso. Every morning like eat liao never wipe my mouth like that looks very ugly.

Today no luck leh. Went to see my gynae and BB very cooperative open her legs wide wide but still, cannot confirm the gender as blocked by umbilical cord. At first my gynae said she feels is a girl but suddenly she saw smthg looks like the bird bird so might be a boy oso. haha....She tried very hard but still can't see clearly so bo pian lor got to wait for detailed scan. Really hope can find out earlier as I dunno what colour to buy when come to BB's clothes.

re BB movement
I still can't feel anything. During the scan today we can see BB doing gymnastic inside (curling her legs all the way up and nearly touch her head) but yet, I can't feel anything. Hai.....

re:breast pump

for mummies who intend to bf for long, DONT buy Medela Electric Double Pump. It is not meant for heavy usage. a lot of us using this model has problem of breast pump breaking down and sending it for repair. the gal at the service counter even got the cheek to tell me this pump cannot be use regularly !!!

if u want, yes Medela PIS is darn good and very ex lor ! yes abt $700.

I tried Avent manual too. Very very good though very tiring and can only pump one side at a time. But good to have a manual one as backup cos u wont know when your electric one will breakdown. I panic when my pump was spoilt !! And sometimes when we are out of office and need to pump, the manual one comes in handy.

hehe I just had home cooked steamboat for dinner at mum place ... yum yum

HJ
So u same EDD with me n delphine aah.
Think u want confinement lady contacts maybe can try asking earlier threads where their confinement already done can tell u if the CL is good.
Hope u find 1 soon.

"your baby can sleep even when you're wide awake"

Cool. I didn't sleep well last nite and wake up at 5am+ this morning. Worry that my lack of sleep will affect BB but seems like it is not the case.
Anyway, plan to take MC today to rest at home.

pinkie

yes yes! definitely can join the sumo club with me! i haben measured myself but i am quite sure I can't be too far away from 39 inches *shudders*

SY

I guess so too. think i will drop this idea for a a while

re: breast pump

I was using the Ameda dual and it's quite good and quite affordable at 300plus (compared to PIS's 700 plus)

re: cot

my ger is sleeping in an cot that can be converted into a toddler bed. I think it's good because the playpen does not have a solid bottom. I guess when the bb is young is still ok, but when the bb is older like 6 mths up, i feel that the soft bottom is actually not very good for the backbone development.

re pumps
i got the medela PIS and it is really very good. i bought from First few years 2 years ago. cost abt 600+. My boy refused to latch so i had to pump totally and it was indeed a lifesaver. i used the avent manual one initially and my wrists hurt like mad from the pumping. so if u really want to invest in a good one, i think the Medela PIS is good. just that it is really heavy to carry ard.

lbt
hee, thanks for that article. it is of comfort to me cos i haven been sleeping well for the past 3 weeks cos of my boy! got to wake up everynight cos he was sick.
felt a bit guilty towards my #2 that i m not sleeping well.

breast pump
WAH BIANG!!!! $700??!! i don't want to get a manual one cos i keep hearing from mummies that will be tired like siao. do any of you have 2? electric for home, and maybe small one to use at work?

labbit
when you say the medela double pump not for heavy usage, how heavy is heavy?

SY
i read in some books that if you're up and about then your baby will enjoy the gentle rocking movement (that's why when they are born they like to be rocked to sleep). when you sleep then they will wake up cos it's so still and they don't like. so don't worry. what we do on the outside doesn't affect the inside i think!

Medela Breast Pumps:
Isetan got promo. Electric Pumps plus (got 2 pumps one!) c/w 1 Cooler bag & 1 pkt disposable breast pads for S$329.00! Grab while stocks last!! i bought last week when i saw the promo! saw the same set at Baby Kingdom but didn't ask for the price. but Medela doesn't have steriliser but was told Avent steriliser can use for Medela bottles.

lbt:
Oh no... is this why they're selling the pumps so cheap!?!?!

pinkbunny:
think there's a detachable layer nearer to the top where you put the baby to nap. that's why very tempted to get the playpen coz can double up as baby cot. just not sure whether steady enough or not.

pinkbunny

heavy as in we pump 3-4 times a day as we breastfeed totally.

SY

yes yes I support PIS too. When my pump was down, I borrowed my friend's PIS pump. I tell u .. after I use PIS, i dont want to use other pumps liao ahahah my breast prefer a high class one ! ehehhe

oh seems like a lot of mothers are like me, not sleeping well. I was very very worried initially until my hubby send the article to me ! phew !!

tmr is my detailed scan !! cant wait !!

labbit
chope. sorry, blur a bit ah. as in pump 3-4 times a day on top of normal breastfeeding is it?

oh good luck for your detailed scan! i'm so excited!! mine is 1 week from now. and i bring the baby's godma with me (my sister). very excited too!!